The Garrison House Reviews

Overall
3.4

View details

  • Guest room3.2
  • Services3.6
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness3.5
  • Dining3.3

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Old Fashioned Hospitality

3.4 on November 15, 2012

While the Garrison House may not be five-star quality, the owner and the welcoming feel of the place is wonderful. Compared to many other inns in the area (especially at peak season) the value was well worth it. I have to say, one of the most pleasant points about our stay at Garrison House was the cordial and friendly manner of the staff. The Gift Shoppe is really charming and the food served in the little diner on the property was really lovely ... the highlight of our visit was listening to the beautiful singing and guitar playing of a young woman in this cozy diner while we ate our lunch. It was truly a lovely stay. Thank you!


Ring Weekend

3.2 on August 29, 2012

We stayed for Ring Weekend and found it very accommodating. The continental breakfast was perfect, the location and convenience to West Point was perfect and the rooms were comfortable. Also a very reasonable rate! If I could get the Garrison House for graduation I most certainly would!!!


A-day weekend

3.4 on August 22, 2012

Location to West Point is great and the owners are very conscientious. House is pretty good shape considering it is over 200+ yrs old. Could not hang out with Cadet in small bed room but had plenty of places in common areas outside and inside.


What a wedding

4.2 on March 22, 2012

Recently attended a wedding at this place. It was beautiful, the weather was perfect, the staff was so nice. We had SUCH a good time. The food was excellent and there was so much of it! Wish I had thought of this for my wedding! It is my understanding that the price was really reasonable for the reception and we were given a 10% discount on the rooms for the weekend as wedding guests. Definitely worth a call.


Relaxing

4.2 on March 22, 2012

What a relaxing stay. House was charming and the history of it was amazing. Staff was exceptional, they went out of their way to help. Would have liked a full length mirror in our room, but otherwise had a wonderful time.


Nice

3.8 on March 22, 2012

Nice B&B conveniently located near West Point. Value was exceptional as their pricing is half of what the other hotels are charging for West Point functions. Staff was wonderful and very helpful and accommodating. Would stay again.


Really enjoyed it

4.4 on February 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Garrison House this past weekend during a weekend getaway, and we both loved it. The owner and the manager were both very friendly and even offered to go out of their way for us. The house itself was beautiful, our room was nice and the bed was very comfy. We ordered the Valentines Sweetheart Package, and the value was tremendous! Definitely a great place to stay when you want to get away from the world for a few days.


Beware!!

1.2 on December 16, 2011

My wife and I were in town for a West Point reunion in October 2011. We have stayed in several B&Bs in the area and really enjoyed them in the past. The website describes a nice typical B&B. Beware...the Garrison House is just horrible. Upon arrival they had no record of our reservation. The heat was not on, several electrical circuits did not work, the bathroom was filthy, the plaster ceiling in the kitchen has fallen in from prior storms, the bedroom smelled strongly of mold and the final straw for us was...no hot water in the bathroom. The Innkeeper was not home and the two managers would not answer their cell phones.

Innkeeper Response
This review is completely inaccurate. They did not arrive until 8:30pm when check-in is 3-6pm, with no phone call or any notice whether or not they would indeed be arriving. There was hot water in the bathroom and I showed them that the spigots were reversed, hot on right instead of left and vice versa as it is an old house with plumbing installed in the 20's. When they did not arrive by 6pm, I turned the heat down in their room thinking they would not be coming. Two and a half hours later, when they arrived, I turned up the heat and turned on the electric fireplace insert to add more warmth. They said they were going to eat and left, never complained about anything else. The next morning I put out breakfast and did not see them, assuming they slept in. Later in the day they said that they did not sleep there, but went to the Holiday Inn and wanted their money back because there was no hot water. I again took them upstairs and showed them how the spigots worked and there was indeed hot water. I explained that when reservations are made for peak times they are non-refundable.However we would be willing to offer them a gift certificate for a free stay for another time. They stated that they had paid twice what we charged for their room at the Holiday Inn and that they wanted a refund and if we did not comply they would "write bad reviews" about us "all over the web". They were given a refund in full despite our policy to the contrary. Despite this, they have posted inaccurate reviews on at least three web sites months later. As for their statement about the Innkeeper not being home, this is not a private home and there is no Innkeeper on the premises. They spoke with the Innkeeper by phone that evening. There are not two managers on site either, but an on premise caretaker who lives there. This is not a 24 hour hotel with a front desk staff.


I would not recommend.

1.6 on August 30, 2011

For the price, I would not recommend staying at The Garrison House. The room I stayed in was not particularly clean or nice looking. Also, the breakfast served in the morning consisted of Walmart baked goods, instant oatmeal, and fruit cups. It's way more expensive than it should be.


The bathroom was dirty

1.0 on August 13, 2011

There was hair and dried makeup in the bathroom sink. The continental breakfast for 3 people consisted of 2 day old rolls, 3 cups of coffee and a spotted banana. I was very disappointed in this B and B

Innkeeper Response
Mr. McGuinness- Let me first state that you did not mention in your review that you were given a 20% discount on your rooms. Secondly, the bathroom is a shared bath. I realize that the rooms that you reserved should have been the only ones that used that bathroom, however, if at some point another guest used your bathroom that is impossible to police. In addressing your concern about breakfast, there is indeed dry cereal put out along with rolls, pastries and fresh fruit on the breakfront and table, however there is also yogurt, cottage cheese, orange and tomato juice as well as water in the refrigerator so those items remain chilled and don't spoil. In this warmer weather bananas tend to "spot" rather quickly. As for coffee, when there are only a few guests we do not make an entire 12 cup pot, but have the coffee readily visible in the refrigerator next to the milk and yogurt so that in the event a guest wants more coffee, they are welcome to help themselves. It is truly unfortunate that you have skipped around to every site you can think of to post negative comments anonymously about our facility (this being the third one I have seen this week)but you did not address your concerns to either myself or the owner at the time of your stay so that your concerns could have been addressed at that time.


Very Unhappy

1.0 on July 29, 2011

We were extremely dissapointed with our stay. We have stayed in B & B's for 20 years now and this was the worst stay ever. There was no one around for breakfast, dry cereal was on the table as were old pastries that were from a box already opened and 1/2 gone. We would never stay here again!


Convenient to West Point

3.0 on March 19, 2011

Historic home, not a luxury hotel. Shared baths, small rooms, exactly as stated on website. Cereal, fruit and breads for breakfast. Less than 10 minutes to West Point's Thayer Gate.


Cozy, pleasant, and relaxing

4.0 on November 24, 2010

The rooms are small but cozy, nice for a short get away for couples. Dining area and kitchen are spacious enough to cook a decent meal. Living area is large and comfortable (had a very romantic movie night here). The parking in the front of the house and back. The front yard is big enough to play catch or frezbee and there are benches everywhere to sit and read or relax. Will definitely be back again.


Garrison House

2.6 on November 14, 2010

Needs mirror in bedroom. Bed was not made up on second day and that wasn't explained beforehand. Value was ok, not below average, because you pay for location, but the breakfast could certainly have been upgraded to pay for the relatively high cost.


What a nice surprise

4.4 on September 04, 2010

We were bone weary from driving all day and happened across this little place. What a find! Clean and comfortable, very welcoming. The bed in the Buttermilk Falls Room was extremely comfortable. Nice place.


Unbelieveable!

5 on August 27, 2010

Some people never cease to amaze me. We have stayed at this B&B twice, have reservations for two more stays in the Fall and I just got online to book for another weekend in the Spring so that we can visit our cadet at West Point and happened to see the last review. We quite possibly may have stayed the same weekend as this guest as we were there just a few weeks ago. This place is so charming and nice, and the owners and staff are as pleasant as can be. Whomever the person was who wrote that awful review must be blind, and I find it hard to believe that they ever had an old house because if they did, they would certainly recognize the original features of this home for what they are- certainly not filthy! It is also very cowardly to hide under the guise of anonymity and post a permanent review on this website rather than to complain to the owners at the time they stayed- if they did not, they only have themselves to blame for the cost of their room. As the innkeeper stated in her response, I'm sure she would have refunded their money (even if only to get rid of such a sourpuss!) All in all, follow every mother's advice- if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all!


In respectful disagreement with the last reviewer

5 on August 27, 2010

I recently stayed at this very same Inn for a few days and actually stayed in the very room the last guest speaks of. Granted, the floors were plank, but certainly not bare as there were three rugs in that room- one near the fireplace hearth which was a cute braided rug and two others that appeared of the berber type, and certainly not matted or stained. The room itself was very charming with the most comfortable bed I've slept in while traveling. The bedspread certainly was not faded, but done in the Americana style with a taupe colored bit to it instead of the usual red, white and blue. We used the fan our entire stay, (which by the way was not dirty) and it worked just fine. Our door locked without a hitch as well. We had breakfast- served very nicely with fresh fruit and yogurt, bagels, muffins, croissants, cold cereal, oatmeal, danish, coffee, and three types of juice to choose from. We were actually pleasantly surprised by the amount of food offered, not to mention that there were complimentary cold drinks available to us in the fridge at all hours so we did not have to scramble for change to put in a vending machine. Located only a little bit over 2 miles from the academy, the value was exceptional as some of the other local hotels charge upward of $300 a night for peak weekends. I think that the last reviewer was very unfair in their review as we had extensive conversations with both of the Innkeepers as well as the night manager (obviously they were somewhere to be found) and found them to be very pleasant and accommodating. I have no doubt that if anyone had lodged a complaint it would have been addressed immediately. To post such a scathing, inaccurate review for such a welcoming place I find to be just mean spirited. I intend to return and would recommend to anyone to ignore that terrible review and stay and see for yourself what a truly wonderful place it really is.


Genuinely Misleading

1.0 on August 20, 2010

Never judge an inn by website photos! The Garrison House, conveniently located a couple miles from West Point Military Academy, was a complete disappointment. When we drove into the driveway we were greeted by an abandoned hot dog cart, a yard full of weeds taller than the walls and junk littered on the porch. As a former owner of a 1767 colonial, I was prepared for uneven floors, narrow stairs and smaller rooms. However this house was in disrepair and down right dirty. All bathrooms are shared (not mentioned in website) and were filthy. The tile floor was brown with dirt, rugs matted and stained, wallpaper coming off the walls and no amenities except a few towels and a bar of soap. Our Patriot Room had bare plank floors, a tiny old TV, faded bedding and a paddle fan so covered with dirt we didn't dare turn it on. The room door didn't lock or close so it had to be open all night. In the morning we ran out of hot water in the soap scum lined claw foot tub/shower. At 7:30 am when ready for breakfast before leaving there was not a trace of coffee or food to be found. Neither was the inn keeper. We paid $179.00 for this experience. Without a doubt the worst inn we've ever stayed in and will never return.

Innkeeper Response
I am saddened that you felt this way about our Inn. We strive to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. I would like to point out a few inaccuracies in your review- we do not have an "abandoned hot dog cart", but a cart that is used daily for the sale of hot dogs, stored nightly on the property. The weeds you are speaking of may be the irises that bloomed in the Spring and now have only the green leaves left. The porch has wicker couches for seating and a table with a floral centerpiece, I am unsure of the "junk" you speak of. If you read the description of the rooms on our website, you can see that it does mention that the bathrooms are shared for each room. The tile floors you refer to as "filthy" are the original tile floors from 1924 when that portion of the house was built. At that time they did not use grout, but cement, so what you mistakenly thought of as dirt is actually the color of the cement- a very dark grey. The matted rugs you refer to- none of the throw rugs we have in the house have any type of pile to them, so matting is impossible. There are brand-new deadbolt locks on all of the doors, if you had any trouble locking your door, we certainly would have been happy to address your concern. Breakfast, depending on the day that you stayed, may have been served at 8am. If you would have liked breakfast earlier, we surely would have been happy to accommodate your request. We have both a day and night manager, someone is on site 24 hours. There is a sign on the office door as well as on the table in the house listing cell phone numbers in the event you needed assistance. It is truly unfortunate that you chose to publicly air your complaints and concerns in this venue rather than address them at the time of your stay so that we may have had the chance to address them then. If our remedy did not ease your concerns, I would certainly have been happy to refund the cost of your stay.


What a find!

5 on June 26, 2010

As I was new to this area of the Hudson Valley and my son was visiting West Point, I was looking for something close to the academy, yet affordable. This is the place. I stayed in the Rose Room which had two twin beds, perfect for us. The room was so pretty and the house very clean and nicely decorated. Of note to anyone interested, they do no raise the rates for the West Point weekends so if you are looking for something close and clean, I would recommend a stay here every time.


Awesome B & B

5 on September 24, 2009

We stayed in march of 2009 and what a great time very friendly owners, very clean and we really felt at home.They also fed us in the morning which was more than the usual.Would highly recommend as we will be returning for a stay again.


Peaceful and Comforting

4.4 on February 03, 2009

During an off time, I took a sabbatical and found the Garrison House and its wonderful owners to be just what I needed. The house was cozy but spacious. I had the added advantage of having no other guests about and enjoyed the quiet. No television only movies was nice as without the TV -- it was even more relaxing. GREAT!


Welcoming

5 on December 04, 2008

Our stay here felt just like home. The owners made us feel so welcome. The atmosphere was very laid back and relaxing. Breakfast was more than your usual "continental" with mini blueberry muffins and croissants, fruit. We will definitely be returning again and again the entire while our son is at West Point.


The Garrison House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $139 - $179
  • Reviews (22) 3.4
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8454462322
Top