Garden Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
76 Reviews

Write A Review

A Wonderful Visit

4.8 on October 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a friend's wedding at a nearby farm. We had a wonderful stay and the accommodations were excellent. The room was a cozy space that in spots was a little tight on head room but was great none the less. Everything was clean and tidy upon our arrival, the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on, and the breakfast was fantastic. I can't recommend this B&B enough.


Delighted, charming cottage

5 on August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay during a recent trip to Colgate University, only 15-20 minutes away. Ethel's hospitality was beyond expectations. From the personal touches to a delicious custom made breakfast, we had a delightful stay. We will be coming back for years to come.


Relaxing

5 on August 28, 2013

Wonderful hospitality. Ethel was attentive and friendly. My cooked to order breakfast was heavenly! The garden asparagus omelet was amazing.


Short but sweet

4.8 on August 27, 2013

We stayed one night. Innkeeper was very accommodating, adding fans to the windows to cool the room down. Breakfast was wonderful.


A Lovely Graduation

4.4 on June 13, 2013

The hosts placed a premium on our personal space, and offered their genuine hospitality when appropriate. Accommodations were clean, neat, and quiet. The food was farm to table...well presented, and tastefully created. I will use my son's comment regarding decor- "this home is photogenic". Ethel is a renaissance woman, replete with an operable spinning wheel, upon which she makes yarn from lamb's wool. I requested a tutorial on her operating spinning wheel, and the tutorial bore the threads of a lovely memory of our time at Graduation.


A Great Time

5 on June 12, 2013

Loved every minute...Ethel's hospitality and exquisite breakfast made staying here an absolute pleasure. Looking forward to coming back soon!


The best!

5 on January 06, 2013

Ethel makes the best breakfasts. And the room is so private and comfy. You needn 't take my word for it; have you seen reviews like these for anyplace else you have stayed, or for that matter, any place you thought about staying. Now I was here for Holiday but it is very close to Hamilton college and Colgate University. Also Turning Stone casino and the boxing hall of fame, the baseball hall of fame soccer hall of fame and so much more. Just a gem in central NY. Ethel is the greatest host offering so much more than any hotel I have stayed at. So for the price....good value!©


The Garden B&B

5 on October 06, 2012

This was our fist time staying with a B&B. Ethel has outdone herself and set our expectations high for other B&B stays. The Garden B&B was an excellent stay in a superior place with amazing dining.


A Beautiful Stay

5 on September 24, 2012

This was such an excellent way to relax after a hiking trip to the Adirondacks. Welcoming and comfortable! I would definitely recommend.


Small Town Gem

3.8 on September 24, 2012

Beautiful home. I felt very welcomed. You could choose anything for breakfast! A little noisy -- on main street.


Garden Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 22, 2012

Absolutely charming and wonderful. Hostess Ethel shows the perfect balance between concern for her guests, attention to every detail, and respect of privacy and desire to be left alone. The cottage is comfortable, well supplied and charming. The grounds are beautiful. Ethel prepares anything you want--literally ANYTHING you ask for for breakfast. We were there to drop my daughter off at Hamilton College, and Ethel even offered to watch after my daughter, since we live in California! Doesn't get much better than that. Highly recommend. And thank you Ethel!


What an amazing place!

5 on September 17, 2012

Our stay at Garden Bed & Breakfast was absolutely amazing! Ethel's attention to detail is something you do not find anywhere anymore. The meals she prepared for us had all fresh vegetables from her garden. You can't get that high quality of a homemade meal in any restaurant I have ever been to. The loft is so quaint! I felt like I was staying in an antique dollhouse. I highly recommend staying here if you like your privacy and being in a very peaceful and romantic setting! Thank you, Ethel!


Trying to find a reason to return to Deansboro!

5 on September 16, 2012

We needed a place to stay in the Hamilton area as our son was playing in a football game at Colgate. Lodging was difficult to find until my husband stumbled upon the Garden B and B. The reviews were great so we figured we would give it a try. Am I ever glad we did! You could not find a more gracious hostess than Ethel, who made our stay a very special weekend. Great food and conversation. We won't be returning for any more football games but we will try to find some way to get back to Deansboro and stay at the Garden B and B Thanks Ethel!! Rose and Dan Foehr.


Exceptional B & B

5 on September 02, 2012

Garden Bed adn Breakfast is the most outstanding place I have stayed ever. I highly recommend it for everyone.


Wonderful!

5 on July 31, 2012

Hospitality; service, cooking, attention to details -- second to none. Location quiet. Ethel is an exceptional hostess.


Great

5 on July 26, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of our car, we were graciously waited upon. A charming cottage setting and classical at breakfast were parts of our stay.


Refreshing Retreat!

5 on July 26, 2012

We planned a weekend getaway on the motorcycle and arrived at dusk, Ethel had the beautiful room warm & cozy & we wanted for nothing! Homemade breakfast fit for royalty... Thanks, Ethel! We'll be back in the summer -- Don't miss it.


Absolutely fantastic !!!!!!!!!

5 on July 04, 2012

If your looking for the best B&B in New York, than this is the place to be. Everything was fabulous. The most beautiful and quaint lil cottage you would want to stay at. Ethel was the most gracious and friendly hostess we have ever met. Beautiful grounds and the most fantastic food. How about asparagus for breakfast every morning,,,loved it!!!!!!!! Watch out for all those tiny critters(chipmunks), they eat all the strawberries.Will go back again and again.


Will come back!

4.8 on October 31, 2011

Great room, very clean and cozy. The food was delicious! Greeted by a small homebaked apple pie one day and chocolate cake the next.


Great Cottage!

4.8 on October 13, 2011

We stayed one night in the cottage while our son visited Hamilton College. The accommodations were unique and very nice. The cottage is the second floor of the outbuilding. It is really one large room a small eating area, sitting area, and double bed, plus a bathroom that is enclosed with curtains. Homemade cookies and fresh raspberries were waiting for us when we arrived, the refrigerator was stocked with milk, cream, and OJ, and there was a coffee maker and tea pot with a nice selection of teas. Ethel was very friendly and accommodating. We would love to visit again!


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on August 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. Ethel was an outstanding host and cook. The food was beyond excellent. We are planning to stay here again and highly recommend the Garden Bed and Breakfast to others.


Great Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 08, 2011

Perfect lodging for our daughter's graduation from Colgate. The accommodations were welcoming, comfortable, and we felt right at home. The homemade goodies were delicious. Ethel is a lady of many talents including being a wonderful cook. We would stay again.


Cozy and Tranquil

4.0 on September 16, 2010

This cozy little cottage was a perfect little get-away place. The breakfast prepared by Ethel were delicious, as was the dinner we ordered one evening! If you are looking to genuinely get away from everything this is the place!


Garden Bed and Breakfast

4.2 on September 14, 2010

Accommodations were great! Very comfortable owner was very helpful.


A Gem in a pretty part of upstate NY

5 on September 04, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Garden B&B for 3 nights and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The beds were very comfortable and we had an excellent, full breakfast at a time of our choosing. The Innkeeper, Ethel Whaley, was very helpful and gave us a memorable stay. We stay in quite a few B&Bs and this was right up there with the best. Stuart Cropper


Peaceful, Pretty, Relaxing

5 on August 17, 2010

What a great place to stay. The food was delicious. The cottage is private, beautiful and has all the amenities for a stress free getaway.


One of the Nicest B&B's

5 on June 24, 2010

One of the nicest B&B's I have stayed in in 50 years! Pleasant accommodating hostess (great breakfasts).


Garden B&B

5 on June 23, 2010

Unique Carriage House accommodation with great privacy. Ethyl Whaley, the innkeeper, is outstanding.


Could not ask for more!

4.8 on May 29, 2010

My family and I planned a trip to Utica NY from Richmond VA for my nephew's baptism. 3 days before we were to leave we found out we could not stay at a relatives house that we were planning on staying. My brother and sister in law took care of all the arrangements with short notice. Ethel was very friendly. She put us up when there wasn't any places to stay because of college graduations that weekend. Ethel made my family and I feel like we were at home. She did everything she could to make us comfortable. Breakfast was great! When we go back to Utica, we will make arrangements to stay there again!


Fantastic!

4.4 on May 06, 2010

Perfect from beginning to end. From the personal attention, beautiful and quaint lodgings, cozy bedding and hot shower, this is a place NOT to be missed! Highly recommend you stay here.


A great find

4.8 on December 02, 2009

Everything you would expect from a B&B and then some. Very cozy and well-decorated room with a very comfortable bed and all the amenities. Look for the farm-scene diorama! A delicious breakfast selection with efficient service. Ethel was very accommodating on timing as well. All in a good location for a great value. A couple of notes, the stairs could be tricky for some...it is a double bed...and the little B&W TV could use an upgrade...but none of these detracted from an overall great stay that we hope to repeat in the future.


Garden Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on November 09, 2009

We love staying with Ethel. her cozy hideaway, delicious meals, and homemade treats make each visit extra special. We look forward to our weekend here each fall!


Delightful!

4.2 on October 23, 2009

All the little details were as advertised--personalized service, delicious breakfast, fresh fruit and a slice of pie awaiting our arrival, etc. One could not ask for a more welcoming, intimate room. One thing that should be mentioned, however, is that this is a second floor accommodation, accessed by a narrow, outdoor, circular stairway. That is pictured in the photograph, but may come as a surprise, nonetheless. It would not be usable by someone who could not easily climb stairs.


Garden Bed and Breakfast

3.0 on October 15, 2009

Charming & comfortable


Like coming home

5 on September 03, 2009

This is the type of comfortable, welcoming, unaffected place one dreams of finding at journey's end. If your own mother could do better, you are a rare bird. As my daughter put it, "It's like Ethel read our minds in every aspect of what we needed and put it here and made it pretty."


Garden Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 01, 2009

Thank you, we had a lovely time


great as usual

3.8 on August 06, 2009

Ethel, the innkeeper, is great, as usual. She makes a great breakfast and is extremely helpful!


Very personal, comfortable & accommodating.

5 on August 03, 2009

Ethel is awonderful host and did everything to make the stay a vacation. Their cooking is great with home grown products; the room was everything one could need and the area is very convenient.


Untitled

3.2 on July 31, 2009

Accommodations are charming, but challenging to tall people (6' & 6'3") because of sloped roof. Ethel is a charming & gracious hostess.


Excellent experience all around

4.6 on July 28, 2009

A splendid place to stay. The room was comfortable and esthetically wonderful. The grounds are beautiful. Ethel took great pains to make that special difference that makes the lodging experience memorable.


we will return!

5 on July 13, 2009

Charming, immaculate B&B with a gracious host who makes fabulous breakfasts. This was our 2nd trip!


definitely recommend!

4.6 on July 02, 2009

Charming cottage room in the garden-delicious breakfast with produce from the garden.


great service

5 on June 11, 2009

Beautiful grounds. Ethel thinks of everything! Good food, too!


very charming inn

4.6 on June 03, 2009

Lovely decor! Delicious breakfast, and gracious hospitality.


lovely place

5 on May 27, 2009

lovely owner. great stay. great food.


First class service!

5 on May 11, 2009

This B&B is just superb! The owner, Ethel, has a real talent for providing excellent service and making each guest feel very special. A real value!


Unique, cozy room

3.8 on May 11, 2009

Cheerful, cozy room, upstairs in garage with spiral stair access, and skylights. Great attention to detail and breakfast made to order and delicious!


A caring, comfy place

5 on April 17, 2009

Ethel greeted us late in the evening with a warm welcome into her generous house and heart. the breakfast was such detail and excellent food, also offered with generosity. It was a pleasure to briefly call her B&B home!


A wonderful surprise

4.4 on April 07, 2009

Never expected such a delightful diamond in the ruff of Denasboro! Absolutely charming accommodations. Cozy, wonderful attention to details. Will be back!


CHarming comfort and personal care

5 on November 21, 2008

Ethel, the owner, has the right touch-gracious, warm, comfortable, and delightful. This is also true of the wonderful accommodations. Come to relax, come to feel pampered!


What a B&B Should Be!

4.8 on October 15, 2008

A wonderful stay! Ethel was such a great host. The room was more of a romantic loft. My wife & I plan to stay here every time we visit Hamilton College.


Best B&B to stay at

5 on September 17, 2008

Our stay was perfect from the day we arrived to the day we left.


Unique Loft

5 on August 19, 2008

This is a unique loft above a garage that is self contained. Innkeeper provides homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, juices all the time. Very friendly-- beautiful garden-- reasonable price. Rate it 5 stars.


Garden Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 17, 2008

Wonderful! Great food and very roomy. Landscape and pond is very nice and quiet.


Garden

5 on July 07, 2008

Love this place!


Garden B and B

4.2 on June 03, 2008

Spiral stairs a bit "dicey" while carrying baggage. 9" black and white TV set - plenty of towels, inadequate lighting, good food!


May 2008

3.8 on May 29, 2008

Ethel is most accommodating, good cook and goes with the flow. We would certainly return here again.


Charismatic Cottage

5 on May 20, 2008

Our stay was delightful. Ethel went out of her way to make our stay perfect. She is the best cook and all the food was absolutely delicious. We have already booked the cottage for another stay next year. This is a true find. I recommend the Garden Bed & Breakfast to anyone who wants a totally splendid experience.


DELIGHTFUL!!!

5 on May 19, 2008

Unfortunately we did not find Ethel's Garden B&B until our daughter's senior year at Hamilton. We would have made it our first choice on every visit. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!


Cozy and warm

3.8 on May 01, 2008

A warm friendly welcome, very comfortable bed, great breakfast. Ethel is a lovely hostess-great for a cozy place to stay while visiting Hamilton and Colgate.


Garden Bed and Breakfast

4.2 on April 22, 2008

Warm, Cozy, great hospitality. Good location near hamilton college and colgate


Quaint Hideaway

5 on April 17, 2008

The garden B&B is an amazing hideaway. The suite is beautiful


Great memories

4.4 on February 04, 2008

Early last summer we stayed in the room with the four-poster - very comfortable. The gardens are beautiful, the food delicious and the hostess (Ethel) delightful. We would not hesitate to recommend this bed-and-breakfast to any of our friends.


Quaint Hideaway.

5 on January 14, 2008

The Garden Bed and Breakfast is an amazing quaint hideaway. The food was outstanding, from the cookies to the omelettes, to the fresh raspberries. Everything was outstanding! The suite is beautiful, relaxing, and quaint, with everything you would need and want. We will be back again!


Garden B&B.

5 on December 12, 2007

Greath warmth amid low degree snow weather. Lovely hostess and delicious food. So convienant to our visiting family.


Outstanding.

5 on December 12, 2007

This is my fifth visit - it's like "coming home." Each visit gets better and better - the food is wonderful, and the owner is very thoughtful and accomodating - Love it!


Charming Guest Cottage

4.8 on October 25, 2007

Ethel has though of everything to make you feel at home. The fall colors were glorious from our window.


Artfully Decorated Sanctuary

4.8 on October 18, 2007

A private perch on the second floor of a separate cottage, this lovingly landscaped B&B offers serenity, personal service, and delightful food.


Outstanding baked goods

5 on October 16, 2007

Rural privact, comfort, and charm; great breakfasts, and outstanding baked goods.


Garden B&B.

5 on October 14, 2007

This place far exceeds expectations. It is quiet, private, has great breakfast, and is close to Hamilton Colleges.


Garden Bed and Breakfast.

5 on October 14, 2007

Loved the spiral staircase and all of the cute touches in the cottage. Breakfast was great and delivered right to the door.


Charming B & B

5 on September 10, 2007

Innkeeper, Ethel Whaley is a most gracious lady and a wonderful cook. Her homecooked breakfasts using fresh produce were delicious. The house is very tastefully decorated with antiques and is warm and inviting. The bedroom was charming and what a comfortable bed! The flower gardens and water garden are so pretty and provided the perfect spot to enjoy breakfast. This was my first stay at a B & B and it was a super experience. I would highly recommend a stay at Garden Bed and Breakfast.


Stairway to Heaven!

4.0 on August 24, 2007

Breakfast was a pleasure.Edith's hospitality and attention to detail made us feel weldome. My husban nicknamed the stairs to the entrance "stiarway to heaven" as the food and accommodations were divine!


New York's Best kept secret

5 on July 25, 2007

Fabulous bed & breakfast


Garden B&B review

5 on June 04, 2007

My wife and I stayed 3 days during my Hamilton College reunion, May 31-June 3, 2007. The Innkeeper, Ethel Whaley, is a dynamic, caring person who runs a very special B&B in all respects, including fabulous breakfasts and real attention to all your needs. The place itself is fascinating, rural and quiet. Highly recommended!


Charming getaway

5 on March 01, 2007

Our family recently stayed at the Garden B&B on a return visit, this time in the peaceful Cottage. The winter view from the second floor was serene while the inside was so cozy and warm with the glow of the gas heating stove. It feels like an English Cottage. Ethel anticipated our every need and left us with delicious treats! She even let us order what we liked for breakfast which is helpful with children. Her B&B could not have been more family friendly both times! She let our girls camp out in her living room with popcorn and movies the first time. If you are in the area, don't miss this tranquil, exceptionally lovely retreat.


Garden Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $200
  • Reviews (76) 4.7
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3158414527
Top