Asa Ransom House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

Very relaxing

4.6 on August 21, 2013

I loved how it felt that you were miles away from everything but it was in the middle of Main Street. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delightful. Everyone was very polite and helpful.


Lovely historic B&B

4.4 on August 11, 2013

My recent stay at the Asa Ransom B&B exceeded my expectations with the decor, food (both breakfast and supper) and the general helpfulness of the staff. The only problem that caused frustration for both my husband and me was the extremely feeble wifi that needed repeated refreshing, often every minute or two. If that could be remedied, I would have no problem recommending this B&B very highly.


A great stay!

4.8 on October 28, 2011

We had two rooms, both were very comfortable and one had a porch and view over the pond, very peaceful.


Bring slacks and collared shirt for dinner

4.0 on July 14, 2011

Very nice. Rooms were great, breakfast was tasty. Dinner was ok but for their definition of fine dining, I expected more especially in the service area. Really nice area in the back for sitting.


Exceptional experience

5 on June 09, 2011

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast, a gift from our daughter for my husband's 60th birthday. We loved the experience and the place and proprietors were exceptional. We look forward to staying there again.


Asa Ransom House

3.8 on June 02, 2011

Our room was cozy, the bed comfortable. We loved the extra touches; fruit & cheese, although bottle water would of been better than the filtered. Since we did not have dinner I can not comment; however, the breakfast was tasty and filling. We loved that the place was close to the airport.


Our favorite Bed and Breakfast

5 on March 07, 2011

Our stays have always been enjoyable and a very relaxing way to get away from our fast paced life. Only wish we lived closer.


Wonderful stay at the Asa Ransom House

4.8 on December 09, 2010

Over the Thanksgiving holiday, my fiancee and I stayed two nights at the Asa Ransom House's spacious Wilson Greatbatch Room. The room features a very comfortable king-sized bed, antique furniture, cozy sofa, closet (ah, the plush robes!), bathroom, and fireplace (perfect for a cold night in Western New York). When we arrived at the inn, Bob gave us a tour of the room and provided us with fresh fruit and water. The bathroom was well-stocked with supplies and had excellent ventilation. The inn is a historic property full of quaint country charm and wonderful to explore. Breakfast at the Asa Ransom House took place in the main Dining Room, and there was a nice selection of choices each morning. We also enjoyed a fine dinner there as well. The inn offers fantastic value, and I highly recommend it for anyone visiting the Buffalo area.


Wonderful breakfast

3.2 on October 15, 2010

Did not like being made to feel guilty for using BedandBreakfast.com and getting a good deal.


Awesome

5 on August 10, 2010

The Asa Ransom is a WNY treasure. Clarence, NY is a quaint town and near shopping too. They are second to none with regards to food and services.


Outstanding in all aspects

5 on August 03, 2010

This is the only Bed and Breakfast that I will stay in when I am in Clarence. I have stayed in a lot of B & B's and nothing compares to Asa Ransom.


Perfect!

5 on February 26, 2010

The Asa Ransom House is perfect in every sense of the word. Mr. Lentz and his daughter Abigail provide a home away from home atmosphere with their hospitable rooms which includes a wonderful welcome basket of NYS fruit and cheeses, in-room CD player with CDs ranging from jazz to Broadway to classical music, to well appointed rooms. Breakfast was outstanding every morning. And the evening dinner was exquisite with the dining room fully booked on weekdays by locals coming into the restaurant. I have recommended the Asa Ransom House to friends, colleagues, and professional associates and everyone has concurred that this is the greatest value & BEST B & B in the Upstate NY/ Western NY area! Linda Sullivan, Finger Lakes/ Central NY Region


Made me want to go back!

5 on August 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Asa Ransom house on the first leg of our honeymoon trip...3 glorious nights! It was also our first B&B experience ever. I was wary at first because of the reputation of a lot of B&Bs to overdo it with the antiques and frilly bedding/wallpaper, but Asa was perfect; it has fantastic accomodations (LOVED the bathroom and fireplace in our suite) and I don't even need to mention the delicious food. We told everyone about it when we got home to Illinois, and to this day, I crave their pastries in the morning. I've used Asa Ransom House as my guide to picking other B&Bs, and none have compared since. I'd go back tomorrow just so I can hold tat giant keyring again!


Anniversary at Niagara

5 on August 06, 2009

We could not have asked for more! The Asa Ransom House is truly a home away from home. Casual, comfortable, elegant, exquisite cuisine. We would definitely choose it again.


July2 2009

5 on July 02, 2009

Absolutely charming! An amazing gem nestled in a bustling world. A true memory.


wonderful celebration

4.4 on May 03, 2009

We were trying to decide what to do to celebrate our anniversary and we checked out the Asa Ransom web-site! After seeing the rooms and reading up on the Inn---we knew that is where we would go, From the phone call to reserve a room---to our check-out, everything was handled in a friendly and professional manner. The Saturday evening "feast" was wonderful as was our server, Anne. Our hostess, Abigail, was also very hospitable and friendly. I would definitely recommend Asa Ransom House to friends and family and we look forward to visiting again. Rich & Shirley Landseadel


Asa Ransom

4.0 on April 10, 2009

AHHHH...the most relaxing, exquisite, rejuvenating evening I have ever spent! Well worth the investment!


yearly celebration

4.4 on April 01, 2009

wonderful homey feeling.


Norm's Review

4.8 on March 23, 2009

It's the only place I've ever stayed that makes me feel like I never left home. Everything is unbelievable at Asa Ransom.


"Asa is awesome"

4.0 on March 21, 2009

We have been going to Asa for years.The hospitality is great and the friendships we have made are even better. Bob and Debbie Arnts


Asa Ransom House is Awesome

5 on March 12, 2009

We have enjoyed several trips to Asa Ransom House. Always a warm welcome, a lovely room and wonderful service and dining.


Ecellent Romantic Getaway

4.0 on February 25, 2009

Married late in life (we were both widowed), my husband of 2 yrs. wanted something special for our Anniversary. We had a sumptuous gourmet meal and stayed overnight in one of the quaint bedrooms. We ordered a Romance package and received a bottle of wine of our choice, a plate of fruit, cheese & crackers in our room and a bouquet of flowers on our dining table. They also discreetly put a candle in our dessert. No singing or unwanted attention. Just class all the way. Would we go back? Most definitely!!


So romantic!

4.0 on January 17, 2009

We have stayed in all but one of the rooms, and #9 twice! We love Asa Ransom and go back year after year - a favorite anniversary spot - so romantic!


Awsome

5 on January 15, 2009

This is by far the friendliest B&B I have ever stayed inn. The food is ot of this world.


None other compares

5 on December 10, 2008

Asa Ransom is the B&B by which we judge all other B&B with and so far we have not found one that exceeds the quality and comfort we find at Asa Ransom. We truly feel like pampered guests whenever we stay. Thank you!


Small town country inn close to city

4.8 on October 30, 2008

Lovely rooms with all the amenities one expects, plus bowl of fruit with cheese and crackers when are you arrive and bag of just made cookies when you leave. Wonderful gourmet breakfast included. Inn belongs to 'Green' hotels.


8 DAYS IN BUFFALO

4.2 on September 30, 2008

Found the Asa Ransom House on this website. Spoke to a friend from the area and said it was well known in the Buffalo area. We loved it! My husband and I stayed in room #5 (king size bed) and felt very comfortable during our stay. We both enjoyed the breakfasts -I especially liked the homemade granola. They also will provide you with a to-go box if you have to leave early. Our room was refreshed every day. I especially liked that every room had a private entrance so if you came in late you wouldn't be disturbing anyone. OH...and George was a sweetheart! We'd stay again if vacationing in the area!


Our Stay at the Asa Ransom House

4.2 on September 24, 2008

We spent two days at the Asa Ransom House and it was absolutely wonderful. The Inn is beautiful, the food superb, and the people in the town of Clarence are very friendly. Our room was full of awsome furniture and extras!


Extremely Pleasasnt Surprise

4.8 on August 08, 2008

This was our third visit to a Bed and Breakfast. The food was superb and the service second to none. The room (with a porch) was beautifully decorated and proved to be a totally relaxing weekend.


Charming Historic Inn with great restaurant.

4.4 on August 04, 2008

Beautifully appointed large great rooms with comfortable bed and pleanty of pillows. Lovely commonareas with puzzles and games and lots of seating. This inn not only serves breakfast but also serves gourmet dinners with humerous local wines to choose from. We loved our stay.


Stress free and totally relaxing

4.2 on July 24, 2008

Asa is a beautiful place. I wish we could go more often. The food is excellent and the staff goes above and beyond. They are incredible! We felt so pampered and relaxed. We've been there before and got our favorite room. I love the place!


Quiet Respite and Pampering Splendor

5 on July 21, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Asa Ransom House while visiting my ailing parents. Stressful and emotional upheaval were at every corner except at the Inn where we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts, classic accommodations and quiet, restful and peaceful hours.


Asa Ransom House

5 on July 17, 2008

This is a great place - we return frequently. Excellent in every respect. Also has fine dining room for dinner.


Our 4th Stay is still a charm

4.6 on July 15, 2008

Our 4th visit to this renowned B&B in the town where I grew up was as wonderful as our first stay, and all of the stories told growing up. Beautifully decorated, impeccably clean rooms with amenities. I love to have luggage racks & space for my things and sit on the furniture. The breakfasts & meals are superior to all.


TRANQUILITY

5 on July 15, 2008

Walking & exploring the gardens at this wonderful inn is like breathing in calmness. The inn itself is charming & the staff openly accommodating.


the best place to go to get away close to home

5 on June 29, 2008

My husband and I loved it! Even though we are only an hour away from home, it gave us a night of being alone and having a wonderful romantic time away from work, and home...but still close enough in case the children needed us in case of an emergency. (we have 3 older teenagers)


ASA Ransom Inn

3.4 on June 11, 2008

-


Better than ever

4.4 on June 10, 2008

My 3rd stay- Last one was at least 6 years ago. Bob has remained at the top of his game in provding a comfortable experience. The welcoming fruit and cheese plate was an unexpected pleasure.


Beautiful Getaway

5 on May 29, 2008

We stay in a different room every year and are never disappointed. The rooms are first-class. The meals are made with the freshest ingredients and our satisfaction has always been their priority. It is our perfect retreat from real life. Please be sure to pet George!


Wonderful and Relaxing

4.8 on April 21, 2008

Staff is friendly, room was immaculate and warm. Can't say enough about the food and ambiance of the entire place! Wonderful!


Wonderful

5 on April 07, 2008

The best place to stay!


Perfect!

5 on January 30, 2008

My husband brought me here on our wedding night and since then we've come back every year for our anniversary, staying in a different room each year. Upon our arrival we are always greated by George (their dog) who is very friendly and knows he's not to come into the dining areas. The rooms are beautiful, cozy and relaxing. Each room has it's own personality. The food is so good, though we've never been able to eat a whole meal. The nice thing is, they will wrap our dessert up and keep it in their refigerator until we want it. There are plenty of games, puzzles and movies if you are looking for something to do inside the B&B. The staff is so friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant and memorable. The breakfast is out of this world. Everything is fresh and oh-so-good. The grounds are kept up very nice, we always enjoy looking at the pond while sitting on the swing. Most years we see ducks, chipmunks and little frogs. When we check out, we are given very tasty chocolate chip cookies (with peanuts?) upon our departure, which we always save for later. This May will be our sixth visit to the Asa Ransom House and we look forward to it!


Just Wonderful

5 on November 30, 2007

Wow...what can I say? My great, great, great uncle would still be proud to this day! A refreshing place to stay for a day or a week!


First Anniversary Stay

5 on October 22, 2007

Every aspect of this inn is outstanding... lodging, food, atmosphere, history, etc. Innkeepers, Robert and Abigail Lenz and their staff were outstanding and very accommodating. Went above and beyond to please.


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on October 10, 2007

We have stayed at the Asa Ransom House several times, but this time was for a Christmas Party. It was delightfull as always. The folks are so accommodating/ George (the Golden) is a big plus. The food is spectacular. You can't go wrong staying here. The Blue Willow Room is our favorite.


warm getaway

4.0 on September 16, 2007

always enjoyed staying at this inn


Loved Asa Ransom house

5 on September 04, 2007

The accomodations were gorgeous, the food was outstanding and everyone was so friendly. What a beautiful place!


Nice, but food quality has changed.

3.4 on August 23, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at Asa Ransom House a number of times. The rooms are very nice. We enjoy the "Pine Grove Room" (#15) as it has a private porch. The service is excellent! The quality of the evening meal food has changed. Our "filet" went from outstanding (in the past) to mediocre at best. The breakfast remains top notch! We'll definetly return, but may go out for dinner. Great place to "hide" from the kids!!!


Asa Ransom Jewel!

5 on August 18, 2007

enjoyed everything - little details, like a cheese & fruit plate in the room and cookies for the road when we left, helped to make this an A1 experience - we'll never stay anywhere else on our future shopping trips to Buffalo!


best in western NY

4.8 on August 09, 2007

Asa Ransom House is the only place we stay in the Buffalo Area. In any attempt to try somewhere else we are always met with a stuffiness or business-like personalities. Not allowed at ARH. Always cozy in any season and close to many diversions. The in-house restaurant is top notch and that same kitchen produces yummy breakfasts. You can't ask for any more than that.


Awesome

5 on May 27, 2007

This bed and breakfast was very nice. The rooms were clean, everyone was nice, and the food was so good! I would definitely recommend this place! Make sure to pet George the dog on the way out!


great find not too far off the path

4.4 on March 05, 2007

We booked the MAP plan for the Blue Willow room for a Friday night. The staff was extremely accomodating, service was outstanding. The room was beautiful, with treasures and features abounding. Though I was a little turned off to find the window blinds not easy to operate, and held to the spindle with a piece of duct tape. Otherwise the bed was inviting, food was as expected, and overall charm of the inn was captivating. Don't forget to pet George on your way out!


Wonderful

5 on March 04, 2007

Everyone Here Was So Nice


A charming inn in upstate NY

4.8 on January 28, 2007

I loved the character of this 19th century inn and the charm found throughout its rooms. The grounds are lovely, and the dining room offers outstanding meals in the evenings. It is located near Niagara Falls.


Asa Ransom House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $98 - $330
  • Reviews (54) 4.6
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7167592315
  • Phone 1-8008412340
  • Fax 1-7167592791

Visit Website »

View details

Top