Red Door Inn B & B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
119 Reviews

Write A Review

The Red Door Inn has it all

5 on July 15, 2014

We stayed for a mini vacation on a recent trip to the Finger lakes area. The Inn is thoughtfully restored and furnished by the owners and their labor of love is apparent in every detail. We enjoyed the historic aspect of the home along with the modern amenities the Carsons, Kevin and Kathryn, have included. Our room, the Field, had a rainforest shower and jacuzzi but was furnished with period pieces that did not overwhelm or interfere with comfort. Breakfasts were gourmet but not stuffy. Place settings were gracious but not intimidating. Our hosts made us feel right at home. They were knowledgeable about area attractions and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed Kevin's vision for future renovations and Kathryn's attention to details for our comfort. Be sure to stroll the grounds and see the great plantings and water feature seating under a canopy of trees that is very relaxing. We will definitely go back soon.


Red Door Inn Owners Make Your Stay Fun, Relaxed and Special

4.8 on July 13, 2014

My husband, daughter and I all three needed a place to stay to explore the New York Finger Lakes area on a family history trip. Kathryn and Kevin had an available room, their biggest room with a very large bathroom, called the Carson Room. An inflatable bed was an option for my 23 year old daughter, so we booked and hoped it would all work.Not only did it work, we had a wonderful few days as we walked through the big red door of the inn. It's hard to pinpoint all the things that made this B&B stay so special, but it had something to do with an overall feeling our hosts created. A beautiful porch for reading, a coffee maker in the hallway upstairs, a comfy King bed, Kevin's killer breakfasts, lovely flowers in the garden that I took photos of, a cozy couch to watch TV on downstairs, and enough room to stretch out and relax. It wasn't a detached, service oriented atmosphere. Instead, they made us truly feel like we were part of their own family. Kevin and Kathryn felt more like long lost siblings or friends more than any sort of innkeepers. They are warm, entertaining and fun people to be around. If privacy IS what you need, I believe their intuition will provide that as well. A diet after your stay might be necessary unless you have strong willpower. You'll enjoy Kevin's breakfast creations and the attention that Kathryn gives you as you eat. omlettes, pancakes, eggs benedict, scones,etc. Delish!!! Once the food is out, we wanted them to sit and talk with us. The most special breakfast though, was when their grandkids spent the night, a recipe for disaster for some perhaps . . . but their grandchildren were so fun to have around. They took our food orders with restaurant order pads. It was a good lesson for them and a lot of fun for us to be waited on by such well behaved polite kiddos!


Loved this place!

5 on July 08, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for the Fourth of July. It is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous. The best part was the owners. Very friendly, and went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy! Would go back in a second!


Fantastic anniversary trip

5 on July 04, 2014

Kathryn and Kevin were great hosts. Beautiful home both inside and out. Their attention to detail was noticeable and appreciated (ex: This was an anniversary trip so they provided a complementary bottle of champagne, and meals served on special anniversary plates). Kevin is a great cook and was very accommodating to our dietary needs. Will certainly return when we come back to the Finger Lakes area.


Very happy

5 on June 26, 2014

Great location, beautiful rooms, fantastic breakfast, gracious hosts and fair pricing. Going back is a no brainer.


Beautiful stay, great location

4.6 on June 23, 2014

Beautiful B&B. The pictures of the rooms don't show the best parts, the private bathrooms. They are wonderful! After breakfast on checkout day the other guests had already left and we were invited by the owners to take a look at the other rooms. They were all beautiful and you'll have a great stay no matter which one you book. The inn is on Main St. and easy to find. Great breakfast and owners were fun to talk with.


A night at the Red Door Inn

4.4 on May 22, 2014

Besides the few small dead bugs by the windows... the place was awesome. Breakfast couldn't have been more amazing. Monkey bread with fresh fruit. Followed by an egg souffle with toast and potatoes. The room was just gorgeous too. A small electric fireplace, comfortable furnishings, a big tub and unique (in a good way) shower with hot hot water.outside of the rooms was a Krueger machine for coffee, tea or hit chocolate. Wall safe, wine cooler, and so much more. Loved it.


Far and beyond what I expected....

5 on May 12, 2014

Kathryn and Kevin went far and above what we had expected.... The house was beautiful and Kevin's over the top breakfasts were wonderful.... There was so much to do, so we are booking another stay in October at the Red Door Inn..... Thank you so much....


Stay here!

5 on April 09, 2014

Hosts Kathryn and Kevin were wonderful. They had wine and a roaring fire ready for our arrival on a chilly April day. Our room was everything we expected-heated bathroom floors, fireplace and jacuzzi with a very comfortable bed. Loved having coffee right outside our room, The Carlson. Breakfast was incredible and very filling. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay.


Best Inn Ever

5 on March 29, 2014

Our stay at the Red Door Inn was very very nice. The owners re did the whole place all themselves and they did an absolutely phenomenal job! Our room was clean and beautiful and certainly comfortable with a queen size bed and two person jacuzzi. The owners were there chatting with us and getting to know us and also gave us our space to enjoy the facilities. They were a great blessing and they are incredibly kind. We got to see a tour of the building and each room is simply magnificent! We truly had a wonderful stay and would stay there a million times again. ~Chelsea and Josiah G.


Beautiful room, great breakfast!

5 on March 14, 2014

We stayed at the Red Door Inn for the second time for our anniversary. The room was beautiful and cozy. Kevin and Kathy helped with dinner recommendations and they were spot on! The breakfast was nothing short of gourmet - we could tell they took time and care in making it. I would highly recommend a stay there!


First Time B&B Stayers

5 on February 26, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Very beautiful and very inviting. Breakfast was delicious and the company Kevin & Kathy gave was a lifetime memory!


Weekend getaway!

5 on February 22, 2014

Was very impressed with this place, owners are very friendly, house is clean with the latest upgrades in our room it was called the fields , our bathroom was huge with hot tub and extra high ceiling where the rain fall shower feels like it's dropping out of the sky. The breakfast food was great too a lot of variety, and fresh quality food. Would definitely stay again. We are not wine tour people, but visited two local micro breweries twisted rail and naked dove within a mile or two.


Would Have Stayed Longer...

4.6 on November 20, 2013

The Red Door Inn is a grand old Victorian house lovingly restored by its proprietors Kevin and Kathryn Carson. Our stay was so comfortable - we had the Carson room - the breakfast served next morning superb and the repartee with the Innkeepers enjoyable. Though we were there for only one night, the Carsons made us at home and were attentive to every detail - morning coffee outside your door, internet access, cable TV, heated bathroom floors! We highly recommend this B&B if you are seeking respite from the grind.


Canandaigua Homecoming

5 on November 18, 2013

Surprised my wife with three days in the hometown of her youth on our tenth anniversary. I could not have selected two more hospitable people than Kevin and Kathryn Carson to host our visit. We felt as though we were with old friends as each day we fueled ourselves on a gourmet breakfast and locally roasted coffee. Theirs was the perfect base from which to launch on our adventures in town and along the lakes. Large well appointed rooms (ours had a jacuzzi) ensured our comfort and recovery at the end of each day. As someone who spends several nights a week in hotels all across the country, I highly recommend The Red Door Inn for peace, comfort and good company.


Nice night away!

4.0 on November 08, 2013

Wife and I were looking to get out for some alone time away from baby. We chose Canandiagua because it is close but far enough away from home. Upon arrival we noticed the outside appearance was lacking upkeep, it just didn't appear to be well taken care of. We actually arrived earlier than check in by 1.5 hours but the host was more then accommodating. She took us in and showed us to our room. We then discussed wine tasting and area attractions. We left to go do some tastings and came back with a bottle which we enjoyed in the jacuzzi (very nice)! We then went to dinner hit a few bars and made it back to the inn. The next morning we woke up and found that our heat was on 62.....very cold. Our fault I guess as she showed us the thermostat and we never looked at it again. But I would suggest setting it a bit higher knowing that guests were going to be there. We then had breakfast which was good but not spectacular. There was no options they just made the food they wanted and gave it to us. It was alright but then again I am not a fan of poached eggs and the drinking the night before also threw me off. All in all a nice getaway!


Our late summer stay

5 on November 07, 2013

We stayed at Kevin and Kathryn's lovely inn this past summer and truly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are all beautiful, the bed was super comfy and the breakfasts were delicious. We had a great time sharing wine and conversation with the innkeepers who reminded us of our college days in upstate NY. When you stay, be sure to have a cup of coffee in the pretty sun room upstairs. Kevin and Kathryn recommended a fabulous Italian restaurant in town where we had the best dinner of our vacation! Thanks for everything! Tom and Wendy Mullin


Red Door Inn Bed and Breakfast - Excellent!

4.8 on November 06, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful location and the service was excellent! The food was absolutely incredible!! Two-course, candle-lit breakfasts with beautiful background music, lovely decor, and nice china and silverware were so delightful. And the food itself was absolutely decadent!! A very comfortable setting with lovely antique decorations. We loved the rain forest shower and the Jacuzzi. We also enjoyed sitting on the couch in front of the gas fire. Kevin and Kathryn were very welcoming, very friendly, and very accommodating. They were very helpful in identifying best routes of travel and in suggesting nearby restaurants for lunches and dinners. The premises was very clean and functional (see note below) and towels were changed daily. And the location on Main Street is quiet and lovely and is within walking distance of several stores and restaurants. Our only minor complaints were that the ceiling fan in the room didn't work and that the bedspread was a little dirty and had some spots that hadn't been cleaned yet. We highly recommend the Red Door Inn Bed and Breakfast to any couple seeking a luxurious get-away!! Wonderful location for anyone visiting LDS Church History Sites in Palmyra.


great place to stay aaa++++

5 on November 06, 2013

Please share the key details about your stay.


Outstanding Weekend!

5 on October 28, 2013

The Red Door Inn was just beautiful. Kathryn and Kevin are wonderful hosts, making our stay feel like we were in our own home with family. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be coming back. We already recommended the Red Door Inn to our friends as it is really a great B&B. Rick and Julie Dzurilla


Very comforting B&B

5 on October 16, 2013

Have a wonderful stay at The Red Door Inn. Very pleasant host and hostess most wonderful breakfast and the bed was super comfortable and an amasing shower. Want to go back and take the rest of the family for a nice weekedn stay.


41st Anniversary

4.4 on October 12, 2013

Thank you Kevin and Katherine for your warm hospitality. We loved our room in your splendid old home and the breakfasts were great. Your friendly guidance on local attractions added to our enjoyment. Hope to see you again, Elaine and Tom Potter


canandaiga charm

4.6 on October 10, 2013

kathryn and kevin went above and beyond. wonderful home. the nicest people. lots of places to see, but if we go back to the area, would stay there again.


Really enjoyed our stay

4.6 on October 09, 2013

We had a great time at the Red Door Inn. Kathryn and Kevin were extremely hospitable and the breakfasts were delicious!


Comfortable Atmosphere and Appealing

5 on October 05, 2013

We have family in the area and try and stay at the Red Door when visiting. Kathryn and Kevin provide great meals and catch us up on the local happenings.


Kind and friendly owners

3.6 on October 01, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Red Door Inn and had a very enjoyable time. The owners were very nice and helpful directing us around Canandaigua to all the local hangouts. Carson room is large and updated very well.


Field Room stay

4.8 on September 25, 2013

Wonderful room.


Exquisite bed and breakfast with a comfortable atmosphere!

5 on September 18, 2013

Our party of four occupied the Carson and Eastman rooms! Kevin and Kathy have done a remarkable job renovating this home. Their hospitality was impeccable including the presentation of breakfast, and wine social! Perfect location for aviators to stay if they fly into the local airport. We will definitely return!!


Very pleasantly surprised!

5 on September 11, 2013

Never having stayed at a B&B, my husband told me to keep an open mind! I was very pleased with our stay. I fell in love with all the furnishings. We were very comfortable and very satisfied. The Inn Keeper was so hospitable, we felt very at ease. Have told many of our friends and family members about our experience! Thank you!


red door inn

4.0 on September 05, 2013

Very nice place, wonderful hosts delicious breakfast.


Comfortable and appealing

3.8 on September 01, 2013

What an impressive old house this is! We found the Red Door Inn online mid-afternoon on our arrival day, yet our hosts were agreeable to taking us at the last minute. Our room was ready, and host Kevin had excellent dinner suggestions for walk-to dining.


Great Time

5 on August 21, 2013

Looking forward to spending many weekends at The Red Door Inn ! Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated...the breakfast was superb.. and our host, Kevin, could not have been more accommodating !


Excellent place

5 on August 20, 2013

There are few bed and breakfast places that offer you the kind of service that Kathryn and Kevin do. You get tremendous meals, friendly and engaging people, five star rooms and all at a much cheaper price that some other places. You will not regret staying here at all.


Amazing place! Don't miss it!

5 on August 18, 2013

We just got home from staying at the Red Door Inn and all we can say is "wow"! The inn is clean and beautiful and our room was just gorgeous--from the Jacuzzi, rain shower, to the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (other than mine). Kathryn and Kevin are so warm and inviting. With their banter and warm conversation, you want to stay even longer--I promise. Kevin's breakfasts are delicious and filling! We are already planning another trip back! It is the perfect place to stay while visiting near by wineries or if you just want to get away from it all and visit the surrounding, beautiful city.


The perfect place to unwind and relax

4.8 on August 16, 2013

Great ambiance, great hosts, great food. Red Door Inn has one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in! Kathryn and Kevin really make their home your home. They are warm, welcoming and all around great hosts. Debbie & Herb


Urban travelers

4.4 on August 14, 2013

Very nice, mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. Hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Location was great!


Great stay

5 on August 13, 2013

Had a great time! Very cozy place and nice and welcoming hosts.


Our Stay at the Red Door Inn

4.4 on August 01, 2013

Great hosts, down to earth...made our stay fantabulous!!


Path to Niagra

4.6 on July 31, 2013

beautiful setting. great hospitality


the red door inn

4.4 on July 28, 2013

Very charming place... Great inn keepers


Had a lovely stay

5 on July 25, 2013

Spent the night while passing through. Lovely place and excellent hosts. Would stay again.


Red Door Inn B & B

4.8 on July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Red Door Inn over the July 4th holiday and weekend. The experience was excellent. The room was neat and the adjoining bathroom was spacious and included a large shower with rain and spray shower heads. Kevin and Kathryn were gracious hosts, providing local information and general good conversation. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. We will stay there again when we travel to Canandaigua. Thanks to Kevin and Kathryn for an enjoyable stay.


Would stay here again!

4.6 on July 10, 2013

We do not live far from Canandaigua but were just looking for a weekend retreat. We had a great time. We felt welcome here and the house is beautiful. It is also in a nice location near the lake. I highly recommend this B&B!


One night in Canandaigua

4.0 on July 08, 2013

Our overnight there was very comfortable. The bed was great. Also, the air conditioning was a big plus. The breakfast was good but very common.


The Red Door Inn is a great place to stay in Canandaigua

5 on June 27, 2013

Kathy and Kevin were great hosts. They went out of their way to be helpful with directions, restaurants recommendations, etc. The Carson Suite was such a romantic room and the bathroom was absolutely beautiful. The breakfasts were really good.


lovely old home

4.4 on June 27, 2013

For us, the location was perfect. The room was very nice although the window air unit was rather noisy. The atmosphere was laid back and relaxed. The owners were very friendly and helpful and breakfasts were delicious!


Two-Day Trip to the Finger Lakes

4.4 on June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Red Door Inn. Kathryn and Kevin were so nice and helpful about suggestions of where to go and what to do. Our room was very comfortable and the shower was awesome! Kevin's eggs and Kathryn's baked goods were delicious. We had a relaxing two days and would definitely do this again at the Red Door Inn B&B.


Lovely hosts

4.4 on June 13, 2013

Our hosts were amazing and very accommodating. Would definitely stay again.


Comfortable and convenient B&B.

5 on June 12, 2013

Wonderful people, comfortable stay. Would book this inn again.


Enjoyable stay in charming setting.

3.8 on June 10, 2013

The house was conveniently located just north of the town center. There were several places to dine within walking distance. The rooms had the charm of a B+B, with a very modern and spacious bathroom. Certainly a candidate for a return stay.


Great stay

4.4 on May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Field Room (~350 sq. feet), great bathroom esp. the jacuzzi (a welcomed treat after a day of touring the nearby winearies). Good location, 2 miles from Canandaigua Lake and about 30-35mins to nearby Seneca Falls / Senaca Lake. Kathryn and Kevin are fantastic, helpful and lovely. Kevin makes a really mean breakfast!!! I would def recommend. The Carson room is really cute too - would be great for couple looking for honeymoon suite.


Wonderful stay

5 on May 19, 2013

Our room was upgraded to the room with the jacuzzi tub. This was a nice surprise. Room was clean, very comfortable, and QUIET...yeah. Innkeepers were very friendly, but not intrusive. Brakfast started off great, but a liittle lackluster for main entree (basically a spanish omellette and some overcooked potatoes.) Foos was tasty, but not as "gourmet" as we sometimes get.But host did a great job serving, etc. House close to things to do. A beautiful, old town.


Great Get Away

5 on May 15, 2013

A lovely B&B, well kept, very nicely decorated. Excellent amenities. Kevin and Katherine were wonderful hosts. Thank you, JoAnne &Bert Ryan


Very nice

4.6 on May 15, 2013

The Red Door Inn was immaculately kept. The owners couldn't have been nicer.


Very pleased

5 on March 06, 2013

Kevin and Kathryn were amazing hosts. Friendly and down to earth! I highly recommend staying at their B&B.


Highly recommended! Rooms are beautiful and close to town.

4.4 on February 21, 2013

Rooms are really pretty. Bathrooms are unbelievable. prices are ok not the bet. Owners are very friendly and breakfast was Delish! One of te nicer b&b's in the area.


great little get away

4.8 on December 22, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but the accomodations were lovely and the hospitality was outstanding. The breakfast was delicious, the danish was amazing. It was the perfect little get away.


Beautifully Restored Finger Lakes Mansion

5 on November 07, 2012

Kevin and Kathryn were wonderful hosts. We were warmly welcomed for our mid-week, last minute get away. We settled into the Carson Room, which was luxurious and comfortable. Kevin gave us a tour of the entire house, which was particularly interesting to me, as I had visited there years ago when it was a chopped up set of apartments. What a transformation! Kevin is very helpful with great restaurant recommendations, and we could walk there along the historic Main Street. Breakfast was also outstanding. We would highly recommend the Red Door Inn.


Great Stay

4.4 on October 29, 2012

Beautiful home, wonderful hosts and room and exceptional breakfast. Thanks for a great stay!!


First time B&B Experience

4.6 on October 27, 2012

After going on line and searching for a B&B for a much needed getaway, I booked with the Red Door B&B. ( A first time away from home for my husband and me) When we pulled up to the lovely house, my husband was very uncomfortable and wanted to go to a hotel instead. From the moment we entered the foyer, his hesitation vanished. Great accomodations, great hosts, great food! We will be back


A treasure!

5 on October 27, 2012

JK


A gem in Canandaigua!

5 on October 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Red Door Inn for a fall getaway. What a beautiful place! The Inn was very quaint and filled with lovely things. We were warmly greeted by the innkeepers, Kevn & Kathryn Carson, with whom we shared a glass of wine and great conversation. It felt like sitting down with old friends. They were very knowledgeable about the area and offered great suggestions for dinner. We stayed in the Eastman Room - very spacious, loved the comfy bed, and the room - well, they thought of everything. Freshly brewed coffee was waiting for us outside our room in the morning. We enjoyed our breakfast as well as meeting the other guests. I'd definitely recommend the Red Door Inn upon your next visit to Canandaigua!


Quiet and Friendly

4.8 on October 22, 2012

We stayed here on the way home from a wedding, and needed a quiet break. The owners were great, we were greeted by both upon arrival. The room was beautiful, and had an incredible bathroom with a double Jacuzzi and a rain forest shower for two.....breakfast was great and gourmet...from a sweet bread treat and a souffle...juice and coffee....we will return


Lovely weekend

4.8 on October 20, 2012

We booked 3 of the 4 rooms for a September family weekend and all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were all lovely and well equipped. We stayed in the Eastman - what a comfortable bed! Kathryn and Kevin were wonderful hosts, starting us off with a glass of wine when we arrived, giving us good sightseeing and dining tips, and preparing outstanding breakfasts. Kevin has done an amazing job restoring the house, and we'd recommend a stay at this lovely B&B.


Loved the Red Door Inn!

4.0 on October 20, 2012

Kevin and Kathry;n were a delight. Breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were beautiful.


Worth going back for seconds

5 on October 17, 2012

Beautiful old house with loads of character and charm. Our hosts Kathryn and Kevin, were outstanding, they were very informative about things to do in the Finger lakes region, our first time here, to the great breakfast on Sunday. I would definitely recommend Red Door Inn to anyone going to Canandiagua, N.Y. Ron & Diana


Excellent stay

4.6 on October 11, 2012

We were warmly greeted, found a comfortable, clean room and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast! We saw some of the other rooms -- exquisite!! Would recommend this B & B to anyone!!


Charming Historic Weekend Getaway

5 on October 09, 2012

We were in Canandaigua for a wedding at the historic Granger Homestead and we decided to stay at the Red Door Inn because it was a short walk to the the wedding venue along Canandaigua's historic Main Street, which is lined with beautiful old homes. The Red Door Inn, which is typical of the many historic mansions lining Main Street, was built in 1801! It has all the charm of a historic B&B with every modern convenience and update. Between the wedding location and the B&B, it made the weekend feel like a charming historic getaway. We stayed in the Field Suite, which has a huge jacuzzi and rainforest shower, making the bathroom it's own little escape. The innkeepers, Kathryn and Kevin, are amazing. Their hospitality made us feel like we were visiting family. From the wood-burning fireplace in the sitting room to the home-cooked breakfast, our stay was cozy. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Take a trip to the New York State Wine & Culinary Center, visit a local brewery or winery, and shop at any of the antique stores located throughout the area to make your stay that much more enjoyable! This area is also known for award-winning grape pies! Fall is a great time to visit - the foliage is just breathtaking, but you can visit any time of year.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

4.8 on October 05, 2012

We stayed in the Himes Room which was smaller than the other rooms but served our needs just fine. Kathryn and Kevin were both wonderful people and very friendly. I would highly recommend staying here and would return again.


Wonderful stay

5 on September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Red Door Inn this weekend. Kevin and Kathryn, the inn keepers, were terrific hosts, welcoming us with a glass of wine and preparing gourmet breakfasts for us each morning. The rooms each have their own personality and offer a range of amenities. We stayed in the room with a jacuzzi tube and massive shower with a rain head fixture – a delight to use to wash our work week stresses away! Kevin was a terrific help with sites to see and places to eat. Kathryn regaled us with stories about this home built in the 1800s. We would highly recommend the Red Door Inn to other visitors to the area. We look forward to returning next year!


Purrfect & Amazing!

5 on September 24, 2012

Beautiful & clean house and grounds. Kathryn & Kevin were very welcoming and provided outstanding service! Food was also amazing! I will definitely be going back!


Comfortable, cute and quaint

5 on September 18, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Red Door Inn. Kathryn and Kevin are hilarious and very welcoming. We chose the smallest room, but it was plenty of space for us. Very comfortable bed -- slept great! The house it beautifully decorated, and the porch is fantastic. Definitely perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine on during a summer or fall evening. Breakfast is delicious, too -- hearty portions. Overall a great stay.


Graciously Welcoming!

5 on September 12, 2012

Will definitely return! Beautiful home, great cooking, felt welcome the moment we arrived. Very casual atmosphere, informative of the area.


"Babymoon"

4.0 on September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Red Door Inn as a getaway before the arrival of our 2nd baby. The hospitality and comfort allowed for a relaxing & pleasant stay!


Visit

5 on September 06, 2012

The innkeepers were wonderful. I will stay here again on my next visit! The inn is lovely!


What a gem.

5 on August 25, 2012

Spent one night in the Carson room at this B & B on our way to Niagara Falls. Fantastic place, lovely decor. Kevin and Kathryn wonderful hosts and we loved having drinks with them. Elaine & Carl. Sydney. Australia


Great experience!

5 on August 12, 2012

August 2012 Kathryn and Kevin are wonderful, friendly hosts! The Field room that we stayed in was spectacular! Breakfasts were delicious and creative! We especially enjoyed their laid back vibe. Anyone thinking about a B&B in this area should definetly give this one a try. Mike & Jackie


Nice to be pampered

4.6 on August 06, 2012

Kathryn and Kevin are hardworking, friendly hosts. It was clear that they wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable by going go out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Rooms were beautifully decorated, clean, and with very nice amenities (including a wine chiller!). Definitely would recommend for a romantic weekend or girls getaway.


Fantastic!

5 on August 04, 2012

A beautiful home, very hospitable -- we enjoyed our stay very much.


We loved staying at the Red Door Inn, like visiting old friends.

5 on August 01, 2012

We stayed at the Red Door Inn on the way to Niagara Falls. We had the best time there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Kathryn and Kevin were working in the garden when we arrived. The greeted us, helped us with our bags, took us up to our room, told us about the area, made dinner reservations at Eric's Office, a wonderful place "where the locals go" and so reasonable. Our room was clean, comfortable, and the best part was the huge bathroom with the jacuzzi and the slate shower. After we returned from dinner, Kevin offered us a glass of wine. We also enjoyed the breakfast cooked by Chef Kevin. By the time we left, we felt like we were visiting friends. I already told two couples to go to the Red Door Inn. We can't wait to go back. Next time, we may try the Carson Room if it is available. Howard and Sharon (from PA)


Great stay!

4.0 on February 02, 2012

We had a terrific night away from home at this B&B. Kathryn and Kevin were wonderful hosts.


Romantic Weekend!

5 on January 09, 2012

Our romantic weekend began with incredible fifty degree weather in January. We arrived to a warm welcome by Kevin, complete with a glass of wine. After a brief tour, Kevin made us reservations at Eric's. On Saturday, we had a great dinner at Casa de Pasta. We were astounded by our room. The bed was gorgeous and oh so comfortable. The bathroom provided a well needed sanctuary: a wonderful shower and so much room. Breakfast each day was delicious. We were treated to homemade blueberry muffins and cinnamon rolls. Katherine even wrapped some up so we could take them home. (My daughter had one for breakfast and proclaimed, "Mom, why can't you bake like this?") We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, but Kevin and Katherine exceeded our every expectation. Their bed and breakfast is first rate, and their hospitality was refreshing. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!


Cozy Inn, Classic Detail, Scrumptious Breakfast

4.8 on December 03, 2011

We had another wonderful stay at the Red Door Inn. The bathroom with heated tile floors and spa-like setting was perfect. The bed was like a big cloud. Breakfast made by Kevin was simply yummy. The owners are delightful and kind. Thank you for making our 11 year anniversary weekend getaway so pleasant.


Total Luxury

5 on November 07, 2011

My husband & I stayed at RDI for his birthday weekend. We were warmly greeted and cared for. Our room was amazing. Comfortable, clean & luxurious. Our hosts were helpful, intriguing, and great cooks! I would recommend this B&B to everyone!


Wonderful Getaway

5 on November 06, 2011

The Red Door Inn exceeded our expectations. The Inn was beautiful, the room was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very friendly & accommodating!


Great place to stay.

5 on October 14, 2011

We spent two nights. The house is beautiful and our room was so comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. Kevin and Kathryn are very gracious hosts. The area has so much to offer with Seneca Lake so close with its wineries. We highly recommend The Red Door Inn.


Warm and welcoming inn

4.8 on October 11, 2011

We were up for a family event and had a wonderful experience. Kathryn & Kevin are delightful hosts who have done an excellent job renovating their 1801 home. The room was very comfortable and inviting, the food was outstanding, and they were very helpful with local suggestions for dining and entertainment. Would definitely recommend!


Great weekend at the Red Door Inn!

4.0 on October 03, 2011

What a wonderful inn! It was easy to find with it's great location right on Main Street in Canandaigua and we were greeted by both innkeepers, Kevin and Kathryn. They gave us a tour and showed us to our beautiful room on the second floor. The "Eastman" was warm and inviting; beautifully appointed with traditional furniture and antiques, modern bath with tub and great body shower. We had a convenience drinks cooler in the room and it was clear the innkeepers thought of everything from the smallest amenities to the cleanliness of the room. The attention to detail was impeccable. We awoke to the the most delicious aroma of breakfast being prepared in the kitchen and had the opportunity to have a candle-lit breakfast with other guests! We can't wait to return - we highly recommend this beautiful inn!


Luxurious, romantic, relaxing

5 on August 18, 2011

An elegant bed and breakfast in a beautifully restored Victorian. Our room had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and a spacious, pampering bathroom. Great breakfasts. Can't wait to stay there again.


Red Door Inn

5 on July 31, 2011

The wine, the conversation and genuine hospitality was truly priceless.


Fun with new friends!

5 on July 05, 2011

What a beautiful home away from home. Kevin and Kathryn are the perfect hosts! Historic building with modern amenities! It felt like we were staying with relatives! Gourmet Breakfast by kevin and all the wonderful decorating by kathryn make it a place to come back to.


This inn is wonderful!!

5 on June 26, 2011

We have been to this inn twice in the last year and have had 2 wonderful experiences. The innkeepers Kevin and Kathryn have created a very elegant yet comfortable and welcoming place. Their hospitality is unmatched, the rooms are beautiful and welcoming, and the breakfast - a gourmet treat in a relaxed and beautiful setting. If you decide to actually leave the inn, the innkeepers will help you find any kind of activity that interests you in this Finger Lakes region. We highly recommend this inn and will be back again.


A lovely surprise

4.0 on June 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to wander and find last minute accommodation after an evening in Rochester. We landed on this B & B and felt it was the right place after speaking with Kevin.


Relaxing

5 on May 01, 2011

It was private, peaceful, pleasant conversation. Much to do in Canandaigua. They need to have a dog roaming around. I miss having a dog. The food was fresh , tasty, hot, fruit was fresh. It was a nice getaway.


Warm & Friendly Hosts unlike the nasty weather!

4.8 on April 17, 2011

A well needed escape weekend is what we wanted and that is what we got Plus we met the nicest innkeepers! Kevin & Kathryn were like old friends after only a few minutes. Conversations, Wine, Gourmet breakfast and some good old fashioned home improvement tips were just a few of the "extras" we got. The rooms were exceptionally well maintained and decorated. A true sense of Home away from Home and plenty of R&R. Thank you both! L&D


Wonderful place

4.0 on January 21, 2011

The Field room was great, it was our first stay at a B&B and now i want to stay at these instead of hotels. The Red Door Inn was beautiful, the room was comfortable and the bathroom in the Field room was amazing. The breakfast was very nice as well and the owners are very nice and friendly. Will come again!


Can't wait to go back!

4.0 on October 12, 2010

We were very lucky to get a room at the Red Door at the last minute. We felt very welcome as soon as we drove up the driveway and took Kevin away from his chores. He didn't mind at all. What a great restoration of a grand old house. It is decorated with the utmost charm. Believe me I know how much time and labor went into such a restoration. It is a quality job and you can tell early on it was a labor of love for Kathryn and Kevin. We felt right at home and enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning. Very quiet and comfortable stay. We'll be back.


Fantastic

5 on October 11, 2010

I loved the whole house -- decorated with great taste. Classy. Kevin and Kathryn are great people to chat with. We felt at home - I will be back in July 2011.


Mom's 80th b'day

4.0 on September 11, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at The Red Door Inn! Kathryn & Kevin have put so much time, work & love into that beautiful old home and it definately shows. The are the perfect couple for this type of profession. They welcome you with open arms and make their home feel like yours. So friendly and great hosts. Their special touches are seen throughout the home. Breakfast was great too, even though it wasnt waffles and strawberrys (just kidding Kevin.. next time) I wish them the best of luck and success.


Canandaigua Keeper

5 on August 11, 2010

My husband and I spent a night at the Red Door Inn, courtesy of our in-laws, who live nearby. Kevin and Kathryn have done a wonderful job restoring the inn, and it is obvious the time and love that they have put into it. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful! We will most definitely return again.


Last Minute Getaway

5 on August 11, 2010

For a last minute, close to home getaway, we had a great time. Good food, company and stay!


Big, Comfortable and Clean

5 on August 10, 2010

Beautiful property and rooms; very clean and comfortable; gorgeous luxury bathrooms; best breakfast I've ever had while traveling (in any country).


Simply Amazing!

5 on July 26, 2010

I can not right say enough about how great this B&B is. From the accommodations to the hospitality, I can not imagine any other inn surpassing it. The home is a beautifully restored and dates to the early 19th century. The guest rooms (stayed in the Carson room) were wonderfully furnished and exceptionally comfortable. Our room's bathroom is one of the finest of any place I have ever stayed. They have anticipated every possible need with the room, from q-tips and cotton balls in the bathroom to a stocked fridge with beer, soda and water. Remarkable room. The food both days we stayed was also terrific. Especially the Eggs Benedict (one of my favorite), which was as good as I have ever had. But what I think sets this place a part is the hospitality. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, We felt as if we were valued friends that came for a visit. We were met on the porch when we arrived. Introduced to other guest who were in the library. And promptly offered a glass of wine. While enjoying two glasses of wine with our hosts, they made suggestions (great ones at that) for dinner that night and the next and then called and made the reservations for us. After dinner on the first night we joined our hosts and other guests for drinks and champagne to toast the first anniversary of fellow guest (who stayed at the inn on their wedding night as well). The Inn keepers provided the champagne and had cute anniversary glasses for the toast. We sat talking to the other guests and hosts as if we had been old friends well into the night. The second night after returning from a birthday celebration dinner for my girlfriend, we were surprised with one of the best chocolate cakes I have had. We sang happy birthday and again enjoyed the wine and company of our hosts. The attention to detail and hospitality with out being intrusive sets The Red Door Inn apart. Simply Amazing!


Wonderful Visit

4.8 on June 16, 2010

Beautiful accommodations with great hospitality. Very relaxing and hosts were very nice and accommodating. Would visit again.


Do We Know You?

5 on June 14, 2010

We have been to numerous B&B's over the years, but never felt as comfortable as we did here. After just a few minutes, we felt as if we had known the Innkeepers for years. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as they could. It really was a pleasure.


Awesome!!!

5 on June 03, 2010

Great B&B!!! Recommend to anyone staying in this area!!!


B&B at Canandiagua, NY

5 on May 27, 2010

The Red Door Inn was a great pick to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. Accommodations are great - brand new in an old house. Owners have great stories to entertain us while having a glass of wine by the fireplace and bar. Outstanding!


Happy Anniversary to us!

4.8 on May 03, 2010

What a beautiful home in which to spend our 23rd anniversary. We have stayed at many B &B's. The Red Door Inn is definitely at the top of the list. Luxurious...gorgeous. The innkeepers? My would consider them friends! They went out of the way to help us feel welcome. We would LOVE to stay here again!


One of the Best!

5 on February 25, 2010

We've been to many B&B's and this one tops the list!


weekend of relaxation

5 on February 22, 2010

We loved this inn, very comfortable, and easy going, down to earth innkeepers, this house is so beautiful. Breakfast was delicious with very generous portions. We stayed in the Carson room, we loved this room because of the bathroom, and the best bed we ever slept in. We will never go anywhere else when we are in the area!!


Comfortable and Laid-back..wonderful!

4.8 on February 16, 2010

We rented the Carson Suite for Valentine's Day. The house has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated. The suite was clean, comfortable and inviting...Bed, linens, pillows all excellent. Bathroom and it's amenities are the tops. The hosts are happy and laid-back offering wine, treats, privacy (if so desired) and good stories! Breakfast was delicious. I have stayed in many, many places (hotels, motels, B&Bs, in other countries, etc) I do believe every host would be well-served to go spend a night with the Carson's at the Red Door Inn B&B in Canandaigua, NY. They do it right!


Phenomenal Weekend Away

5 on January 27, 2010

Lovely home, luxurious rooms, warm and friendly innkeepers, delicious breakfasts and excellent amenities.


A Place to Return to

5 on January 17, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time at this B&B this past weekend. The Inn was very warm and inviting. The company and the food were wonderful.


Happy Birthday to Me

5 on November 16, 2009

Spent two nights at this beautiful inn and loved every minute of it. Gorgeous home, both inside and out. Our hosts were welcoming, hospitable, and made us feel right at home. We have already planned another weekend to share with friends.


Stunning, Period Home- Lovely Hospitality

5 on November 15, 2009

Red Door Inn B & B is stunning. My husband and I stayed the night in the Eastman room. The owners are wonderful, caring people. The home is beyond words, cozy and full of charm. We went to many local antique shops. It was suggested to try Eric's Office for dinner. The place was casual and fun. The food (both had tenderloin) yummy. We awoke to a lovely breakfast in the morning of eggs benedict, fresh yogurt with fruit, pastries, coffee and more. It was heavenly. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We can't wait to return. What a gem. Katrina


The Inn Keeper's hospitality made us feel like family

5 on October 27, 2009

My friends and I stayed at the Red Door for a wonderful Autumn weekend. Fall foliage, Golf and a tour of Keuka Lake wineries made our weekend complete but the most memorable part of trip was our time at the Inn. Sitting by the fireplace, a glass of Finger Lakes wine in hand, enjoying the music and exchanging stories with the Inn Keepers. A true labor of love, the Before and After pictures show the restoration work that has been done so far. Everything from the Entrance way to the Dining room, Sitting rooms and Bedrooms, not to mention the owners, give you a warm warm Welcome... We enjoyed our stay so much that we started planning a return visit (for Cross-Country skiing) before we checked-out.


Serendipity Pays

5 on October 12, 2009

We suceeded with a last minute reservation following someone's last minute cancellation. What luck! Great house, great room, terrific innkeepers! Be sure to check out the before and after photos of this meticulous restoration.


A Wonderful Find

4.8 on September 24, 2009

Lovely restored 1800 home Unexpected amenities: safe, beverage cooler with beverages in our room, sun room, lots of space Gorgeous bathroom with large shower and very large jacuzzzi tub Delicious Breakfasts Very comfortable king size bed Gracious and accomodating hosts


Wow, Grandeur.....

4.8 on September 17, 2009

Breathtaking furnishings and appointments in each room. Friendly, courteous and gracious hosts. More personal attention than I experienced at other places.


Red Door Inn B & B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $210
  • Reviews (119) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5857347112

Visit Website »

View details

Top