Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Our home away from home

5 on January 28, 2014

My family, which includes our dog, has been staying at Shaker Meadows on a regular basis during the ski season for several years now. The location is perfect, only 15 minutes away from Jiminy Peak and close to all other Berkshire ski areas and sites and restaurants the Berkshires has to offer. Jean and Sean are gems in hospitality and are very flexible with whatever needs you have. We look forward to the delicious home-cooked breakfasts each morning. We've stayed in pretty much every room on the property. Don't expect cookie cutter, institutional rooms that one can find in a chain. Each are unique and full of quirks and character. For the location, hospitality, and yummy breakfasts, Shaker Meadows is a great value. Shaker Meadows is our home away from home, and the proprietors are like family.


Great B & B!

4.8 on July 19, 2013

Our family was in town for a short stay (2 nights) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shaker Meadows. The Innkeeper, Jean was a wonderful host! She was very helpful and knowledgable about the area sights and restaurants. The breakfast meals were superb, including, but not limited to, made to order omelets, homemade scones, a variety of fresh fruits, yogurts and cereals and fresh coffee. The rooms were clean and equipped with quiet A/C units, and plenty of fresh towels and linens were provided. We stayed in the farmhouse which was equipped with a fully funtioning kitchen for those wishing to do some cooking for themselves, and perfect for a large family and/or those with extended stays. I would not hesitate to recommend Shaker Meadows to anyone staying in this lovely area of New York state and the Massachusetts Berkshires!


Shaker Meadows is a breath of fresh air...

5 on February 05, 2013

I just finished a 4 night stay at Shaker Meadows. The Innkeeper, Jean, is a gracious hostess and fabulous chef. She makes you feel at home right away. Jean accommodated my gluten free diet and cooked the most delicious gluten free muffins and pancakes. Fresh fruit, greek yogurt, along with eggs and breakfast meats which are cooked to order. The farmhouse is beautiful, clean and comfortable. I especially loved the claw foot tub. I would highly recommend Shaker Meadows to anyone. It is a great way to spoil yourself. It is convenient, central location to enjoy local skiing and sites in western Massachusetts.


Incredible value, nice place

5 on June 17, 2012

We showed up late at night to Shaker Meadows, worn out from a long trip from Virginia. They put a personalized note on our door, and we walked in. Our two kids went nuts. Nice beds, big rooms, games, coloring books, mini kitchen. We slept well that night, and our dog was loving the stillness and summer smells. The next day we had an amazing breakfast. Our kids still rave and want to go back, but we're not heading up to Montreal this summer. Shame.


Fabulous Stay in May

4.8 on May 28, 2012

Superior value for a great farmhouse, charming grounds, delicious breakfast, and over-the-top service. Just be aware that the 55-mph highway is nearby, so road noise may annoy some.


Relax in Cozy Comfort

4.8 on May 28, 2012

Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast is what B & B's are all about: comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, and friendly, helpful hosts. My family and I have been going to Shaker Meadows for just about four years now and wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Berkshires. The rooms are lovely--pretty, comfortable and very clean. You won't find antiques or scented soaps, but you will find a relaxed and friendly place to stay for the whole family--even well-behaved dogs! Shaker Meadows has a number of suites with separate bedrooms, along with kitchen/living rooms. These suites are perfect for families or groups of friends who are sight-seeing around the beautiful Berkshires, but don't want to eat out every night. The suites are also fabulous for folks who are skiing in the Berkshires; in fact, Jean and Sean can supply you with discount packages to nearby Jiminy Peake. I'm not sure if Jean's breakfasts are legendary in New Lebanon, but they should be. Simply put, she's a fabulous cook and her made-from scratch pancakes & scones, her homemade sausages, and her made to order omelettes are delicious. Add hot coffee/tea, fresh fruit and yogurt, and a variety of cereals and you are all set for a day of hiking in the mountains, touring nearby stately homes and gardens, or down hill and cross country skiing. We've gotten to know Jean Cowhig during our stays, and have decided that she is the perfect B&B hostess. She's extremely knowledgeable about the area, always happy to tend to the needs of her guests, and is truly great fun to talk with. She's a gracious hostess and we always look forward to our visits. We highly recommend the Shaker Meadows B & B!


Summer vacation

4.8 on July 20, 2011

Gorgeous scenery, spacious room, fantastic breakfast. We wished we could have stayed longer.


Terrific

5 on July 18, 2011

We have now had 2 high school reunions at Shaker Meadows -- 50th and 52nd! -- and everything was wonderful in every way. What more can one say?!


A great find

4.8 on July 17, 2011

First of all, Jean (a veteran innkeeper) is gracious, organized and accomodating. She made the perfect dinner recommendation off property, ensured the linens were right for our party, and dvd player was set up properly. Our room was as advertised (and great that it could be reserved for only one night). The piece de resistance was breakfast, and it was HEARTY: fresh fruit cup, ham & eggs, french toast, coffee and juice. Served on linens! Will definitely return here. Thanks, Jean!


Great breakfast and wonderful room! Great hospitality!

5 on October 12, 2010

Breakfast was delicious, homemade and included fresh scones to poached pears to cereals with fresh fruit to a hot entree of eggs and sausages. Nice location. Jean, the innkeeper, was excellent advised us well about the area and provided to all of our needs. Would recommend! Lovely Berkshire area B&B.


A lovely place

4.6 on August 24, 2010

We stayed at Shaker Meadows for one night in August. The Rose room was lovely, the inn clean and charming, the breakfast wonderful. The only two drawbacks were the fact that the bathroom for that room was down a steep set of 18th century stairs and the highway that goes by the inn is extremely noisey.


A great B&B close to skiing

4.6 on March 24, 2010

This is a really great B&B. Our Willow Suite was huge - living room, kitchen, bedroom and private bath. The bed has a skylight over it - great for sky gazing at night. Everything was spotless and every amenity was provided. The breakfasts were big and varied and the coffee was great. Free wi-fi in the dining room, a very helpful hostess, and close to the ski areas. We'll be back!


Excellent Choice!!!

5 on January 31, 2010

My wife was searching for B&B's in the area. We are so glad we found Shaker Meadows. We booked the Birch, but were given the Willows due to a cancellation. Could not have ask for more. Every amenity from new toothbrushes in bath, to birthday candles in the kitchen were provided. Breakfast was excellent. Could not wait until the next morning for another of Jean's omelets. Greeted with warm scones and homemade jam. Definately will return for the spring lilacs or fall foliage. Dave and Mary Ann, Poughkeepsie,NY.


Above-and-Beyond Service

5 on January 04, 2010

When I found myself stranded in a foot of snow nearby Shaker Meadows on my way back to college, I called to see if there was an available room. Not only did I get a beautiful suite, complete with everything that I could have possibly needed (including a huge movie library), but Jean also treated me to dinner and a wonderful breakfast, and even drove me back to my abandoned car in the morning. Jean went out of her way to make sure that I would be alright, and also proved to be a lovely conversationalist-- I couldn't have asked for a better hostess. I hope to return under better circumstances!


Delightful B&B "Shaker Meadows" NY Berkshires

5 on June 26, 2009

We chose Shaker Meadows from internet listings and it exceeded our expectations. Our first contact was by phone and there was a air of friendliness right away and they welcomed out dog, too. Innkeeper Jean Cowhig even gave us an upgrade. First and foremost, the entire suite was spotlessly clean. The B&B had a homely rustic look. The linens were nice. There were a lot of little touches, including the books and magazines, nice soaps, the teas, coffees and chocolate all nicely set out. Jean was always helpful and friendly; she was there to chat with us at breakfast and guide us with sightseeing. Another very good indicator was: a) a couple from Germany and b) an individual from the US (both unrelated) who have been staying at this B&B for over ten years. The day we were to leave the entire B&B was reserved for a repeat stay for an entire stage group from New York City who would be spending several days there. Repeat customers is a very good indicator of the quality and friendliness of any establishment. We are planning to visit this place twice a year. Malcolm & Mary


The Best Experience

5 on May 27, 2009

We stand there just for a one night, but it was a wonderful time. Our next vacation we are planning to spend at this place. We can strongly recommending this place to all our friends (as a couple vacation or family as well). Alan and Marina, New York


Great find!

5 on March 02, 2009

Charming home with lots of loving details at a very affordable rate, and the breakfast was so much more than the usual B&B fare,and delish.


a lovely ski weekend at Shaker Meadows

4.6 on March 02, 2009

We stayed at the farm house (a group of 9 of us) for a weekend and all had a great experience. Our room had a bed we could swim in (CA-king size or something like that), there was a fireplace, stereo, the house was charming and spacious, the breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the hostess was delightful


Whimsical and Wonderful!

5 on March 02, 2009

Our recent stay was at the Farmhouse portion of this B and B. Jean, the proprietor, greeted us upon arrival and was friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the house and the area. The 7 bedroom 3 bath house was perfect for our getaway which included 9 adults. We fully utilized the kitchen which was well stocked with plates, cups, wine glasses, cutlery and a large fridge. For breakfast we met our hosts in the dinning portion and were pleasantly surprised to find an array of breakfast foods, including fruit, eggs oatmeal and pan cakes. The hosts were open to taking request and were very accommodating. Dinner and lunch can also be requested with advance notice at very minimal costs, but breakfast was included in the room rate. At the house, a fully functioning dishwasher, toaster oven and coffee maker were also appreciated for post skiing fun. The large dinning table and sitting area were perfect for relaxation after a day at the slopes. We definitely enjoyed the experience and would love to return in the summer and see what this area offers in a different season. This 1790's farm house with genuine claw foot tub and all sorts of antique furnishings including a spindle and spinning wheel is highly recommended for history buffs!


Great price-value ratio!

4.6 on March 02, 2009

Nine of us stayed in the 6-bedroom farmhouse and skied at Jiminy Peak (15 minutes away). The farmhouse itself is a gem - quaint, cozy, clean, comfortable. We had a party Friday evening after we all arrived and another one Saturday evening after skiing. Jean's pizza recommendation was great. The fireplace created a nice ambience for board-games and long discussions. Also, breakfast Saturday and Sunday mornings was great - lovely service, delicious menu, comfortable seating. We're definitely going back!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on February 27, 2009

I had a terrific experience at Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast. My room was clean, comfortable and fun and my breakfast was delicious. But best of all was talking with the innkeeper, Jean Cowhig. She was friendly, wonderfully knowledgeable and extremely warm and helpful. I will definitely stay at Shaker Meadows again.


Wonderful Experience

4.6 on November 12, 2008

We spent 2 nights at shaker meadows b&b and it was a very well run place. The innkeeper was available at all hours and very helpful as to the attractions in the area. The rooms are well kept and the grounds were beautiful. A great value for the money.


A wonderful stay

5 on August 31, 2008

Dear Jean & Sean Wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at Shaker Meadows B & B. The Willows Suite accommodation was possibly the best we have ever had in all our travels. Large rooms, plenty of storage, lovely kitchen and to add to it all a very comfortable king size bed. Your attention to details and in giving us directions to the various places we wanted to visit was excellent. Last ,but certainly not the least, was your wonderful breakfasts. Each day a new dish and always fresh fruit and adjusting to our vegetarian needs was greatly appreciated. We would certainly give your B & B a rating of 10+ on a scale of 1 thru 10.


Child-friendly and accommodating

3.8 on August 29, 2008

Two adults and one 14 month old stayed on a Sunday night in the farmhouse - a rustic and fun place to be! For summer guests, the nearby pond is a wonderful place to swim and the innkeeper was incredibly accommodating and helpful to us.


A wonderful getaway

4.4 on August 25, 2008

I ran across this listing just a few days before I set out on a weekend trip, and Jean graciously found room for me and even offered a discount to fit my budget. The room was very nice, the breakfast was very pleasant, and most of all Jean was warm and full of helpful advice for making the most of our time in the region. You should definitely consider staying here if you are planning on visiting Tanglewood and Lenox but don't want to get roped into a pretentious place with a big bill.


Excellent!

5 on August 23, 2008

What a great stay, the farmhouse is awesomely spacious and has a wonderfully rustic Shaker aesthetic. Jean is an incredibly helpful hostess, and her generous and delicious breakfast was among the highlights of our stay. Highly recommended!


A trip back in time

4.4 on August 04, 2008

Excellent sevice and close proximity to all activities in the Berskshires. Great breakfasts and warm hospitality.


Short but very sweet stay

4.4 on July 15, 2008

Our group stayed at Shaker Meadows only one night, yet during our short stay I can safely say that Jean Cowhig was perhaps the most accommodating inn keeper I have ever had the occasion to meet. She was warm, extremely gracious and very helpful, and best of all, she made a real effort to be flexible with our plans for staying at her B&B. The rooms and bathroom facilities at the farmhouse portion of the B&B in which we stayed were clean, comfortable and charming. The beds were firm and I had a good night's sleep. Perhaps best of all was the scrumptious and large breakfast Jean cooked for us the following morning. Also, the B&B is nicely located in terms of proximity to the heart of the Berkshire events (e.g., Tanglewood, Norman Rockwell Museum, etc.). I highly recommend Shaker Meadows to persons looking for a reasonably priced and lovely B&B. Lew from Needham, MA


An Anniversary Respite

4.6 on June 10, 2008

My husband and I returned recently from a stay at Shaker Meadows in celebration of our second anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend. We were so impressed with all of the maps and local information Jean and Sean had available. For the price, our private suite was a bargain (compared to so many other B&Bs!) and included everything we needed as it had its own kitchen and living room. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and such and the private deck overlooking the property afforded us a chance to relax together and enjoy the view. And, oh, my goodness...the breakfast! We haven't had such a delicious and scrumptious breakfast since. I swear, I still dream of the almond scones, pancakes, turkey sausage, cereal, eggs, fresh fruit, ham, and potatoes! To celebrate our anniversary, Jean had a card awaiting our arrival at the breakfast table. It was such a small touch that really made our stay so special. Jean and Sean are the true spirit behind Shaker Meadows. They are fun to chat with, a wealth of information, and so respectful of your time at their bed and breakfast. If you go, don't forget to say hello to Cat, their very charming and "talkative" kitty .


A relaxing Superbowl weekend

4.4 on February 29, 2008

We were very pleased with the accommodations which worked well for our family of four with two teenage daughters. The highlight of our stay was the delicious and generous breakfast with home-baked goods. A warm thanks to the hostess who turned our weekend outing into a treat. Best regards, Heike Schneider


Can't wait to return

4.4 on February 28, 2008

It was our first time staying at a B&B. We were greeted very warmly from the start. Jean is wonderfully helpful and Sean's breakfasts were a treat. We stayed in the Spruce Suite and for the most part it was very well kept, although there were a lot of ladybugs in the room which we ultimately ignored. We only wish we had more time to spend there.


Shaker Meadows keeps us coming back!

5 on February 21, 2008

For the past 2 New Years a large group of my closest friends gather around the warmth of Shaker Meadows. Jean and Sean have made us feel so welcome. We fell in love with the cozy quaintness 'The Farmhouse' which is delightfully decorated, true to Shaker tradition. Each morning Jean cooks the most incredible breakfast that recharges us for the next beautiful day at Shaker Meadows. We keep coming back. And have the best time, every time. PS: Jean bakes amazing scones!!


A great travel decision

4.4 on February 01, 2008

Jean (Hostess) was super nice and provided us great breakfasts. Our nights were very comfortable, in a spacious yet cozy suite and our mornings were started with a beautiful breakfast worthy of any fine cafe. I would love to return with my family on our next trip to the Berkshires.


Very pleasant place to stay

4.8 on January 23, 2008

Very pleasant & accomdating Inn owner -


Ski with your kids !

3.8 on January 14, 2008

Our family trip to ski Jiminy Peak was made extra special by our stay at Shaker Meadows. Jean and Sean are welcoming, kind and helpful. They made us feel like we were the most important people they had ever had stay with them. The suites are comfortable, not fancy. The shelves are stocked with games and books and all of the extras that we would have wanted, they provided. The decor is rustic, eclectic and practical. This was perfect for us as we put on ski boots each morning and had three children playing in the suite after skiing. Jiminy Peak is a 15 minute, direct drive from Shaker Meadows and Jean offered us discount ski passes as well. The breakfast, especially the scones, was talked about my children for days. On our return trip, Jean asked my children what they would like for breakfast and they happily exclaimed, "scones". She even packed some extras for a snack at the mountain. Needless to say, Jean also made our children feel that this was a place that they could be themselves. We look forward to our next visit at the Shaker Meadows.


Very helpful host

3.4 on January 09, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. It was centrally located and the hostess was very helpful in letting us know what to see and do. I wouldn't call the Shaker Meadows Inn romantic, but it was comfortable and centrally located. The breakfasts were delicious too.


OUR FAVORITE B & B

5 on August 19, 2007

We've enjoyed everything about Shaker Meadows so much that we have spent one week of our summer vacations here for the past 6 years. We spend our days relaxing at the Queecy Lake Beach and in the evenings we attend nearby cultural events, from Tangleweed to Shakespeare, to local theater productions. Shaker Meadows gets 5 Stars from us every year!


Shaker Meadows Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $210
  • Reviews (37) 4.7
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5187949385
  • Fax 1-5187949381
Top