The Swann Inn of Beacon Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
52 Reviews

Write A Review

The Perfect Anniversary Weekend!

4.8 on July 01, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Swann Inn of Beacon this past weekend and we could not have been happier. Neil and Darlene were great. The pictures we saw online of the Swann Inn of Beacon do not do it justice. Our room was perfect and everything was super clean. Neil was willing to pick us up and take us to the train. Another highlight of our stay was the Breakfast! Darlene really outdid herself, we left to start our day on a full stomach. We recommend the Swann Inn of Beacon to anyone! We plan on going back to Beacon, NY in the Fall and we already know where we are staying. Peter Brooklyn, NY


Great breakfast

4.8 on October 25, 2013

We stayed in the tranquility room. It was huge and quiet. The best parts of our stay we're the attentive hist and their care of us. I'm gluten intolerant and they went way out of their way to accommodate me. They bought special cookies and bars. Breakfasts were fabulous, gluten-free pancakes and waffles. They even made homemade gluten free bread so I could have gluten free French toast!


Great place to stay

5 on July 20, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Swann Inn and were very pleased with everything. The beds [we stayed in the Blue Sky room] were remarkably comfortable, and our hosts thoughtfully provided oodles of those little extras that you often forget to pack. Our room does not have an attached bathroom, but they provide robes for you to use on your short trip down the hall. The room was plenty big for two of us with suitcases and gear. The inn is set back a good ways from the road and very peaceful and quiet. Breakfast was fantastic; yogurt, cereal, warm pastry, quiche, fresh fruit... all beautifully presented. 24 hour coffee, tea and snacks available. Beacon is a lovely little town, offering shopping, scenery, great restaurant choices, and of course, Dia. A great visit.


Excellent accommodations

5 on May 26, 2013

The Swann Inn was an excellent place to stay with impeccable service. The sheets were ironed, there were plenty of amenities in the room to make our stay enjoyable. We were even allowed to check in early. And the breakfast was DELICIOUS! I would recommend The Swann Inn to anyone traveling through beautiful Beacon, NY.


Friendly and comfortable

4.6 on October 12, 2012

We loved the Green Willow room. The bed is extremely comfortable an the bathroom was spacious and lovely. Both were very clean. We also loved the always-available coffee/tea/snack table available on the first floor. Breakfast was excellent. It included a triple-berry pastry, fresh fruit, yogurt, and we had an option of pumpkin-pecan or banana-nut pancakes. The pumpkin-pecan pancakes were wonderful. Neil was very friendly and helpful. While the room was very clean, some of the common spaces could use a little tlc. Overall, a great stay.


I wish I could give it 3 1/2 stars.....

3.6 on August 09, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Swann Inn of Beacon... he was much more pleased with my choice of stay than I was. I wish I could give the Inn 3.5 stars. Some parts of the inn were FABULOUS, other parts, not so much. I would definitely give our room and the breakfasts at least 4 stars, but the rest of the inn is definitely in need of some attention. I'll start with the good. What we paid per night for our room was beyond reasonable. We frequent B&Bs and Inn's very often, and I have definitely spent twice as much for a room not half as nice as ours in the past. We stayed in the Green Willow Room. It was a bit on the small side, but VERY clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I also have to say that the private bathroom was by far the largest and cleanest I've seen in a long time. There was nothing we could want for - extra shampoo, floss, Q-Tips, etc.... Overall, we were VERY pleased with our room. I enjoyed the little cart they had in the foyer, full of little treat and goodies, like tea, coffee, snacks, etc... the breakfasts (I had the quiche and my husband had pancakes) were absolutely delicious and beautifully plated, but I was left a little hungry. The eating area is very nicely decorated and inviting as well... The outside of the inn however, could use a LOT of attention... it's amazing what a fresh coat of paint can do. Also the gardens, though somewhat pretty, seemed a bit in disaray, and overgrown, and the front porch could definitely use some sprucing up. The bottom line is that the outside of the inn is not very inviting, which is unfortunate because what they have going on the inside is a gem... We rarely saw Darlene, but Neil was beyond accomodating. The inn itself is in a great location... set back off the main road, in a quite area. The Swann Inn does have the POTENTIAL to be a 5 star inn, but to me, they still have a little ways to go.


A Wonderful Escape from the Ordinary

5 on November 10, 2011

We stayed two nights in early October. Since we came on the train without a car, Neil kindly picked us up from the station, and gave us a ride whenever we needed one. The B&B is on the edge of town so the rides helped when we had luggage, but really it was only a short and pleasant walk to Main Street for shops and restaurants. And we had the added treat of a visit by a family of deer who silently entered the front yard and gazed at us while we enjoyed cups of tea on the porch at sunset. The room was lovely, the breakfast was fantastic, and the whole experience was warm and memorable.


Great place!

4.4 on May 29, 2011

Great and large room. Nice hosts. Sophisticated breafast.


Perfect relaxing break from the city

4.6 on March 07, 2011

Neil and Darleen were perfect hosts. He picked us up from the train station and dropped us back into town for dinner. The house is beautiful, and so quiet! We slept like babies, and woke to a hearty and delicious breakfast. The surprise ingredient in the cinnamon orange french toast was added entertainment... Its a pleasant 10 minute walk into town, which made for a nice stroll back after dinner. Walking up mount beacon was a lovely way to work off our breakfast and enjoy the view. Subtle touches (fresh cookies, a couple of corkscrews placed discretely in view for your use) made us feel very much like welcome house guests. We definitely recommend it for a relaxing and romantic weekend getaway.


Such hospitality!

4.2 on October 18, 2010

A group of seven of us stayed in the Tranquility room and Red Parlor room. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The food was great! Though we were asked to put in our order for breakfast the night before (we had a choice of spinach quiche, quiche lorraine, and pumpkin pancakes), Darlene let us have a taste of everything in the morning. Not to mention the fruit with sorbet and rugelach and cookies! Since we came up on a train from NYC and didn't have a car, Neil was nice enough to drive us into town and to the train station. Since there were seven of us, it would take two trips each time. It was a really great experience and Beacon is a pretty town so we'll definitely be coming back!


Better Late Than Never

5 on October 02, 2010

We actually stayed at The Swann Inn in August, but had such a wonderful experience, that we are still talking about it in October! We realized that we hadn't written a review - and here we are... We live in Manhattan, and our train ride to Beacon was nothing short of a scenic delight. Upon arriving in Beacon, we were astounded by the quiet, quaint and romantic feel. We wandered down Main Street and found our way to The Swann (although Neil, one of the gracious innkeepers offered to pick us up at the train station). We stayed in the Green Room and fell in love with the decor - especially the clawfoot tub. We were lucky to arrive in Beacon on a "Second Saturday," when galleries and shops are open later. Neil drove us into town to take advantage of the gallery openings. The following morning, we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit and french toast (with a secret ingredient!). Though we are not vegan, we noticed that the innkeepers offered vegan options for guests. Over breakfast, we were fortunate to have a wonderful conversation with Neil and Darlene who made us feel so at home...we will be back to The Swann Inn - and not soon enough!


Charming and Warm

4.6 on September 15, 2010

Stayed in the Red Room. Was very spacious and clean. Beautifully redone bathroom. The Innkeeper is very friendly and aims to please.


Oozing with character, fantastic breakfast

5 on September 07, 2010

We just returned from a weekend trip to Beacon, NY and stayed at The Swan Inn. From our experience there, we can thoroughly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. The proprietors, Darlene & Neil were friendly and accommodating, even offering to pick us up from the train station, as we weren’t traveling via car. The house is charming, and there is even a little garden to take a stroll through. We stayed in the front ground floor suite, which felt like a romantic time travel journey to a Victorian parlor. Although we were at the front of the house, it was very quiet and private. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The small en-suite bathroom (although still carrying an antique theme to its decor) was modern and the shower felt luxurious. The breakfast was fabulous! In the sunny breakfast room, we were served fruit, coffee, juice, and Darlene’s delicious (and surprisingly healthy) oat bran pancakes filled with apples and cinnamon, and a sampling as well of her equally delicious spinach quiche. Additionally, what distinguishes this B&B from the others is that staying there is a true Beacon experience, because Neil is the Director of the Bannerman Trust, which is preserving the fascinating legacy of the local Bannerman/Pollepel Island (you’ll find out about it on your visit). It sort of makes you feel like an “insider” to stay with this lovely couple, and makes for a memorable experience.


A Lovely Time

4.4 on July 01, 2010

With easy access to hiking trails, a great, clean, comfortable room, and great food, this B&B is a winner.


Swann Inn of Beacon

5 on June 22, 2010

Darleen and Neal went over and above board to accommodate us for my daughter's wedding - even inviting my daughter and husband for a 5 course breakfast though they were not staying there. Nothing was too much for them - even installing aan A/C in a guest's room at 1AM! HIGHLY recommend!


Homely Comfort

5 on June 17, 2010

Very comfortabel with friendly owners and delicious food.


"Just a Charming Experience"

5 on June 03, 2010

We recently had the opportunity to visit the Beacon area to visit our son. Our visit at The Swann Inn was one of the most enjoyable experiences we have ever had in our travels. It was such a lovely place! Not only were Neil and Darlene extremely accomidating , our room was cozy & comfortable, the food was delicious, and sitting on the front porch felt like home! The decor was lovely with so much attention to detail. I also can't help but to comment on "Polly" who made our stay so pleasant. Polly is Neil & Darlene's family pet (dog) who was absolutely charming-she really made stay so very special. The Inn is very close to the quaint shops in downtown, the Hudson River tours and great hiking trails. We really had a lovely time and highly recommend The Swann Inn for anyone looking for a great and charming place to stay! Michele & Tim


charming,quaint bed & breakfast

4.8 on May 02, 2010

The owners were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. We enjoyed our stay very much


Warm, open, perfect romantic weekend

5 on January 29, 2010

Although a little far from town, the owners were very nice and willing to get us at the train station. The house was lovely and quiet. My partner and I felt welcomed from the first minute. The breakfast was plentiful and superb. Highly recommended.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on January 25, 2010

The rooms at the Swann Inn vary in size and style and each offers comfortable lodging. The hosts are lovely - welcoming but not intrusive. The food was excellent and the access to coffee/tea all day a rare treat.


The Swann Inn Was Great!

5 on January 07, 2010

The owners are very friendly and capable hosts. Room was perfect and breakfast wonderful. They truly went out of their way to accomodate us.


Beacon Visit

4.0 on January 03, 2010

We went to Beacon to climb Mt. Beacon, as well as to get away for New Year's Eve 2010.


Lovely Place!

5 on December 30, 2009

Small, comfortable, well appointed inn. Abundant and delicious breakfasts.


Wonderful getaway

5 on November 13, 2009

Enjoyed our 2-night stay -- extremely friendly, clean & cozy. Beautifully set on the foot of Beacon Mountain, nice & private. Amazing breakfast with fruit& pancakes! Highly recommended place to stay!


A weekend in the country

5 on November 06, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Swann Inn. Our room was spacious, comfortable & very clean. Our hosts, the Caplans, were friendly, helpful and very concerned for our comfort. Breakfasts were delicious.


A great get away

4.8 on November 05, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a great get away weekend at the Swann Inn in October 2009. Darlene and Neil were extremely accommodating. We stayed in the Red Room, very relaxing, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. We started our day in the galleries on Main Street, went to lunch and then over to the Dia. Very enjoyable! Checked in at the Swann and then headed over to Cafe Amarcord on Main Street for a great dinner. Then checked out a jazz/folk concert at the Howland Arts Center. Very cool.


A great place.

5 on November 02, 2009

I stayed at Swann Inn while on a bicycle trip from Albany to Battery Park and loved it. I left very early and Neil surprised me with a packed breakfast. As I left, deer were feeding on the front lawn. Very enjoyable at a good price.


Beautiful, charming, and gracious

5 on October 30, 2009

A fantastic B&B. The Red Room was lovely, distinctive, comfortable, and spacious. The hosts could not have been more gracious and charming and even drove us around town. The breakfasts were scrumptious.


Taste of B&B "The Swann Inn of Beacon"

5 on October 21, 2009

Warm & welcoming Inn made a relaxing vacation for the Fall. Period furniture & tastefully decorated. Service & food excellent. Cordial host & hostess -- will return. Highly recommended


The Swann Inn of Beacon

5 on October 20, 2009

Traveling away from NYC is a necessity but with no car Beacon was fantastic! We have a 4-year-old child. We all had such a great time and felt so welcome. The food was amazing and the beds were even better.


Beautiful, clean and spacious

4.4 on October 19, 2009

The red room is large and luxurious. We were extremely comfortable there and it was hard to leave. The inn sits at the foot of Mt. Beacon, so if you like to hike you're in luck. It's a bit of a walk to town from the inn.


The Swann Inn of Beacon

5 on October 15, 2009

Had a wonderful time at Swann Inn. the rooms were very affordable, with charming details displaying local artists, wine glasses, plush towels & a very comfortable bed. Breakfast of orange French toast was excellent. Coffee & cookies available 24/7. Hiking trail to summit of Mt Beacon starts right outside gardens of inn. Great service & absolutely charming inn.


The Swann Inn of Beacon

5 on October 08, 2009

Beautiful place and wonderful service; the innkeepers thought of everything.


Great hospitality

5 on September 22, 2009

Beautiful house, comfortable, clean, & cozy room with private bathroom. Breakfast was great with a lovely presentation. Sit on porch and feel quiet and peaceful. Will stay there again.


Great B&B with gracious hosts

4.2 on September 03, 2009

What a great little B&B. We loved our room. It was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Neil and Darlene are so accomodating. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy even allowing our son to play with the family dog. The location is also perfect since it is close to Beacon's quaint Main Street as well as some hiking trails. We could not ask for more.


A very pleasant experience

4.0 on August 26, 2009

The owners went out of their way to provide transportation (we arrived by Amtrak). The breakfasts were wonderful!


great location for hiking!

5 on August 15, 2009

Great location for hiking but also close to town! The owners had a trail cut out from the backyard to meet up with the trails in the national park. Rooms are lovely. Neil and Darlene are very attentive and a great source for local info. We had a really great time!


A relaxing, lovely stay

5 on August 07, 2009

I stayed in the red room. It was gorgeous and immaculate. I have a bad back and was especially appreciative of the comfortable mattress. Neil and Darlene were warm, gracious and knowledgeable about the area. It was my first trip to the Hudson River Valley and found it a breathtaking area. Breakfast was a real treat. I normally don't eat breakfast, but couldn't resist the banana nut pancakes. YUM! I can't wait to return


The Swann Inn of Beacon

5 on August 03, 2009

Friendly, Accommodating and beautifully appointed home!


A total pleasure

4.8 on July 28, 2009

Staying at the Swann was an absolute delight. I didn't want to leave! Neil and Darlene were extremely gracious and their dog Pollyanna (whose portrait hangs in the entry way of the home) is too adorable for words. If you're not into dogs though, don't worry. She kept to the front yard and in the private quarters. We stayed in the blue room and it was extremely clean. Super comfy bed and cable TV (a treat since we don't have it at home). Also Darlene's French toast was perfection. All around a total pleasure.


Fabulous Place to Stay

5 on July 27, 2009

My husband and I decided to take a trip to Beacon, NY to hike and visit the Dia. I was looking for a reasonable place to stay and stumbled across The Swann Inn. We loved it. Our hosts, Neil and Darlene were lovely. The rooms were very clean, tastefully decorated with antiques and the beds comfortable. Coffee and tea is available for the making any time. Darlene is a great cook and made delicious breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit. We loved the orange cinnamon French toast. The Inn is right at the bottom of Mount Beacon. You can pick up a trail up the mountain from the property or walk about 10 minutes down the road to the trail head. It's a relatively short walk from the Inn into town. It took us about 15 minutes. There are cats and a dog on the premises. We only saw the cats in the garden and Polly the very friendly dog on the lawn. They aren't allowed in the guest quarters and common area. If you make arrangements ahead of time, Neil will pick you up from the train station, about a 10 minute drive from the inn. He's also happy to drive you into town. Just ask ahead of time. We're planning on returning for hiking in the fall.


Beacon's Best

4.6 on July 23, 2009

This sweet place is the ultimate B&B. The rooms are typical for upstate NY places, with the exception of the incredible "Red Room", which is breathtaking to say the least. There's a great garden with lots of cute benches and tables if you want to take in the lovely air, and the trailhead to hike Mt. Beacon is literally one minute away. The breakfast at Swan was absolutely amazing and the owners were incredibly thoughtful and accommodating with my wheat allergy. I can't remember the last time I went somewhere and could actually eat everything!! Highly recommend this place and can't wait to return myself!!


Generous Hospitality

4.0 on July 13, 2009

The Swann Inn is a perfect starting point for an easy weekend getaway from NYC. Neil and Darlene were not only gracious hosts, but arranged a private visit to Bannerman's Castle and had first hand knowledge of other historical sites of interest in the area. Their delicious breakfast served on the porch was styled as well as any top rated restaurant. They played a major role in our enjoyable weekend.


Wonderful Red Room

5 on June 29, 2009

The Swann Inn was a great experience with wonderful service with a personal touch. Our Red Parlor Suite had all of the amenities of a regular hotel room but with a well attended to comfort and charm!


The Best, we will be back

5 on June 15, 2009

My Wife and I decided to take a weekend trip to Beacon to hopefully experience what our friends had told us about of this sleepy little town. I have to say, we were delightfully surprised and enchanted of what we discovered. Amongst other treasures we found was The Swann Inn of Beacon Bed and Breakfast and it was definitely the highlight of our trip. Innkeepers, Neil and Darlene went out of their way to make us feel at home. Neil picked us up at the train station and even brought us into town and back to the Inn several times at his insistence. We were delighted with the breakfast we were served on the first morning (far more than the continental breakfast they advertise, lots of homemade goodies). Darlene totally went out of her way on the second morning to deliver us breakfast and to accommodate us on sleeping in until 10am on the wonderfully comfortable plush bed in the Red Parlor. She delivered our specially ordered breakfast for us right in the room. Many thanks to Neil and Darlene and we WILL be back. There are many things to do in Beacon, but don’t miss the shops, DIA or a hike up Mt beacon, History and Americana are alive in that town!!!!!


The perfect place to refresh the mind and spirit

5 on June 06, 2009

Neil and Darleen were very welcoming; their attention to detail was impressive - even providing a toothbrush for the forgetful traveler. A charming house and garden, comfortable bed and delicious breakfast.


marvelous escapade

4.4 on May 16, 2009

Beacon was a marvelous escapade from New York City and The Swann Inn was a delightful welcome. Both Neil and Darleen kindly went out of their way to make everything as comfortable as possible. The Red Room is an indulgence worth repeating, especially when it is complemented with a healthy and plentiful breakfast. I wish to express my gratitude by encouraging anyone to visit The Swan Inn. You will be respectfully treated and warmly attended.


Perfection.

5 on May 15, 2009

My friend and I decided to take a break from school and the hectic city life. We spontaneously picked Beacon. We are art majors and thought we could have our cake "Dia Beacon", and eat it too " beautiful nature." Uncertain as to where we might stay, we happened upon The Swann Inn of Beacon on BnB.com. We did not know what to expect, but we hoped for the best, seeing how the trip was planned almost overnight. Our expectations were meant to the highest extent. Neil, the inn keeper picked us up from the train staition. It was late, but he insisted. Right away I knew we were in for a great experience. Upon arrival,we were upgraded from our initial reserved room, to the "Red Room", at no extra charge! It was sooo beautiful. I wish I had brought my husband! Anyhow, the breakfast of fresh colorful fruit and banana nut pancakes, and fresh coffee was exquisite. The hike up to Mt. Beacon was to die for. The weather was perfect, the food was perfect,, and the room was the cherry on top. I highly recommend The Swan Inn of Beacon to anyone looking for a perfect, quaint, comfortable stay.


perfect getaway

5 on April 30, 2009

What a great comfortable place to hide away from NYC. The house itself has many little special touches. Its proximity to Mount Beacon made for a wonderful day of hiking. We recommend a short walk into town for a delicious meal at Sukhothai or Homespun Foods. Dia:Beacon is such a breathtaking contemporary art museum as well!! Neil and Darlene went completely out of their way to accommodate our dietary restrictions (vegan/vegetarian). Our three-course breakfast was an amazing way to start the morning. Their hospitality will definitely bring us back again.


We love the Swann Inn!

4.0 on April 23, 2009

This is one of the greatest BnBs at which I've ever had the pleasure to stay. Like the other reviews, I'm going to re-iterate the owners' (Neil and Darlene) wonderful hospitality and willingness to go the extra mile for their guests in all cases. We are vegetarians and the other guests had wheat allergies, and we were all given tailored/customized breakfasts. Moreover, Darlene even made brownies for us to munch on at night (goes great with the tea and coffee that is available all the time)---half the brownies were wheat free, while the other half were regular, that way, everyone could have a bite! We'll definitely be back if we visit Beacon again


V-day wknd

4.0 on February 16, 2009

We stayed in the blue room for a 2 night wknd away. The room was clean, large and comfortable. The innkeepers were very hospitable and more than we could ask for-they picked us up from the train station and drove us into/out of town as we needed. The inn is a few minute walk from hiking at Mount Beacon and about a 10-15 minute walk to Main Street. It's quiet and a great place to relax and the breakfast was great! Neil and Darlene even treated us for valentines day with champagne and chocolates. Highly recommended.


A delightful respite from the everyday chaos

4.6 on November 09, 2008

A beautifully appointed "home" with charming and hospitable hosts. Neil and Darlene go out of their way to make sure that you have a wonderful stay. The rooms are darling, I stayed in the blue room on a super comfy queen size bed. My sister stayed in the green room which has an attached bathroom complete with a porcelain claw foot tub/shower. Everything was just delightful we ate in the Bannerman Parlour, which has paintings of Bannerman's Castle created by a variety of well known artists. I just have to say that I wished I'd had more time to just spend the day relaxing on the porch or sitting in the garden.


The Swann Inn of Beacon

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8458316346

Visit Website »

View details

Top