Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
135 Reviews

Write A Review

My Stay at Halcyon B&B

3.8 on October 16, 2014

The farm was set in a scenic and peaceful setting. It is a tastefully renovated grand residence, with many period pieces in place. The room was very large, with high ceilings and was fitted extremely well in the bedroom area. The bathroom unfortunately contained a shower stall, which seemed out of place given the deluxe accommodations in the rest of the B&B. The breakfast fare was average, including a delicious fruit appetizer. The room was heated by a decorative gas stove, which made the room feel all the more warm and inviting. Excellent country views from the room. Overall, a pleasant stay in the country.


Warm, Friendly and Fabulous!

5 on September 29, 2014

I cannot say enough fabulous things about this incredible B&B. Location, curators, scenery and food were all absolutely superb! I only wish we didn't live so far away in Texas because this would be a place we would return to over and over. Stunning and warm.


Homely

4.0 on September 17, 2014

Beautiful place! A good place to relax and enjoy the fresh air. June prepared good breakfast and most delicious is her pumpkin pancake. I asked for her recipe and hopefully my daughter can do it.


wonderful surprise

5 on September 14, 2014

This was a wonderful surprise to find in Amsterdam. It was lovely, quiet and peaceful. We will definitely stay again. Breakfast was great and available at the time we requested. We had a nice chat with both John and June. They are gracious hosts.


excellent excellent excellent

4.8 on August 30, 2014

everything was 5 stars gail leslie


A Slice of Heaven

4.8 on August 06, 2014

June and John were gracious hosts, warm, friendly, and very accommodating. The room was spacious, meticulous, and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was large and appeared to be new. The grounds were beautiful and the room was very quiet. The farm breakfast was delicious. June made a breakfast appetizer that consisted of fresh blueberries, that she picked the day before, yogurt, and brown sugar. John made waffles with sweet corn that he picked that morning. He also made eggs and fresh ham that were delicious. I was offered another waffle that I could not finish; all this with fresh juice, skim milk, and real maple syrup. They were conveniently located near the shrine and close to local eateries in Amsterdam.


Idyllic Place to Rest

4.4 on July 28, 2014

It was a very quite, peaceful and comfortable place. Well landscaped with flowers, bushes and trees. Fresh smell of grass and hay with lightning buds illuminating the night. An idyllic country setting. The owners were a very cordial and engaging couple.


Simply Marvelous

5 on July 28, 2014

This is the most wonderful place to stay and relax for a brief stay. The owners are very gracious, the view refreshing, the rooms well appointed and comfortable and clean, food delicious!


Idllyic Inn

4.4 on July 24, 2014

The evenings were so peaceful and quiet. Great dining is available in nearby Amsterdam. June and John are friendly and helpful hosts.


A farm get-away

4.4 on July 23, 2014

B&B owners June and John were great hosts!! Generous breakfasts from their enormous garden and fruit bushes/trees kept me full. (The coffee was delicious.) I explored the area by bike and in runs, then lounged in their immaculate yard watching fireflies come out or writing in my journal. I slept like a baby in the cushy four poster bed. I highly recommend this B&B. It became my home away from home.


A PEAK EXPERIENCE

5 on July 21, 2014

A beautiful red brick farmhouse at the end of a private road surrounded by five hundred verdant acres of a working, family-owned organic farm. The peace was astonishing--nothing but birdsong. Beautiful kitchen and flower gardens. My bed and bath room were spacious and immaculate, with high-quality linens and, a big plus, excellent reading lights. June and John serve a delicious farmhouse breakfast with fresh ingredients from their garden. I was working in the area, but I would go back for a getaway.


Delightful

5 on July 09, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here while in town visiting family. We had never stayed at a B&B before, but all of the hotels in the area were booked for the weekend. We are so glad they were, so that we got to experience this wonderful place! June and John were very welcoming and wonderful to talk with. The B&B is a neat old home, and spotlessly clean! The breakfasts were delicious and different each of the 3 days we were there. Overall it was a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay! We certainly hope to be back again!


Luxury in the country

5 on October 10, 2013

Halcyon Farm B&B is located in the country, a nice pleasant drive from the stress of I-90. June is very welcoming and friendly, and fixed a fantastic breakfast. We only stayed one night, but we will stay again on our next trip to New England. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the farm itself is beautiful, remember to take your camera as the views are wonderful.


Zero Complaints!

5 on October 09, 2013

June and John were extremely nice. The room was immaculate. I left the comforter on the bed and walked around in bare feet, that's a first for me! Breakfast was great, an awesome egg and cheese quiche and probably the best tomato I've ever eaten along with bacon, coffee and pineapple. The farm was very pretty. I would definitely go back.


Hidden gem

5 on October 07, 2013

Stayed at the Inn after the Diana Krall concert in Schenectady on Oct 1st. We enjoy staying at fine B & B's when on the road. Halcyon Farms didn't disappoint. Rooms were charming, June was lovely (didn't get to meet John) and the breakfast was awesome. Took a nice walk along the Schoharie Creek and chatted with an interesting local character. Found the Inn via an internet search though we usually check the Select Registry first. Halcyon Farms isn't listed there. It should be. Only disappointment was that we were about a week too early for peak Fall foliage. Everything else was terrific. --Claudia & John


Blissful Retreat!

4.4 on October 07, 2013

Only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer! The peaceful surroundings & top notch accommodations made this our favorite stop on our week long B&B romp through upstate NY for our honeymoon. Can't wait to come back!


Farm stay for Farm Aid!

4.8 on September 27, 2013

We chose to stay at the Halcyon Farm B&B for our recent trip to SPAC for the Farm Aid benefit show. What a wonderful decision! Not only were we greeted with an exceptional home with wonderful antique furnishing and a warm and welcoming feel, the owners June and John were exceptional hosts, accommodating our needs, while filling us in on the history and detail of their working farm. Did I mention that the breakfasts were incredible and made with their own fruits and vegetables? I would definitely stay there again. Great place!!!


Vacation while at work

5 on September 11, 2013

I have stayed here several times while in Amsterdam on business. The setting is quiet and peaceful. The food is amazing and they will work with you on times of meals, especially if you have an early morning meeting. The room is always clean and very comfortable. It feels more like home than a hotel and helps with a busy travel schedule. The owners/operators are very nice and have wonderful customer service. The area offers trails, fishing, boating, and other great outdoor fun. It is located far enough away from the hustle and bustle but yet convenient to other dining and shopping.I definitely recommend this place to travelers and business people alike.


Can't wait to stay there again.

5 on September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over a weekend in early August. My family reunion is in Johnstown and we always seem to have a hard time finding a place to stay. Prior to us finding out about this B&B, we stayed with family, or in one of the local motels/hotels on route 30A, but we never truly enjoyed any place we stayed... until this year. My only regret is that I didn't discover this wonder sooner. The owners are delightful and very friendly. Their rooms are just gorgeous... as is the rest of the house and the grounds. Everything was very clean, the bed was comfortable and breakfast was yummy. It was a bit more expensive than what I would spend staying at a motel, but it was less than I had expected to pay for a B&B. It was well worth every penny. I cannot wait to stay there again the next time I need to visit. I'd recommend Halcyon Farm to anyone.


Worth the short ride from the bike path!

5 on August 16, 2013

The extra 5 miles on our bikes was well worth it to stay at this lovely farm and to meet the Leonard's. Our room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed the peaceful location.


a good choice for a beautiful experience

5 on July 30, 2013

my wife and I had a perfect experience at this B and B. John and June were perfect hosts. The room was so comfortable and homey. Breakfast was delicious and the other guests so friendly, kinda like a family setting. The attractions like howe caverns, old stone fort, fort Johnson, secret cavers, the indian museum and the black sheep antique shop were so accessible because of the farms location, which was beautiful by the way. Plenty of good restaurants were in the area. All in all I give it a 10 out of 10 rating. Christine and Michael will certainly be going back to Halcyon farm.


The place to stay in Amsterdam, NY

5 on June 27, 2013

This is a working hay farm. Beautiful location - away from the road - peaceful - lovely flower garden. The owners were delightful and accomodating. Room was perfect and very clean. Roomy bathroom. I would absolutely stay here again.


Great overnight. Could have stayed another day or two!

4.0 on June 27, 2013

Wonderful, peaceful setting. Large room, modern bathroom. Short drive to downtown Amsterdam where there is a cluster of very nice restaurants. B&B had all the local menus for our review. Our host was pleasant and helpful.


Halcyon Days with the Leonards

5 on June 13, 2013

Our stay was short and sweet, one night. The B&B is lovely. Our room was great. The owners were very hospitable. The food was great. They let us walk the grounds and take photos. June and John's breakfast was delicious and they took time with us talking about their move 30 years ago from MA and their Halcyon Farms business and of course the B&B that they opened 11 years ago. We will go again if we get the opportunity. Thank you John and June. Nancy and Tom Boyd


Great Fall Get-away

5 on October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights at Halcyon Farms. The room we stayed in, Hidden Room, was great - clean and larger than we anticipated. we particularly liked that the room temperature was under our control. The inn keepers were very accommodating for my egg allergy as well. we enjoyed our stay and intent to stay again on a future trip


Beats a Hotel

4.2 on October 10, 2012

Stay at Halcyon was booked merely as an alternative to a Hotel. We were hoping for clean and quiet only. Instead we experienced, friendly, warm, non-obtrusive Inn Keepers who checked to make certain that all of our needs were met in this wonderful B&B. Room was comfortable, clean, quiet and cozy. The property the B&B is located on was an added bonus. Our frequency of B&B stays have diminished over the years because too often we have experienced over priced lodging in drafty (or steamy) old, musty rooms and being served last weeks breakfast. Our experience at Halcyon Farm B&B renewed our faith!


fall stay -

3.8 on October 09, 2012

beautiful country setting in the country - amazing renovated farmhouse, beautifully decorated- about 10 miles to the nearest fine dining - easily accessed off the N Y S thruway


Post card country setting

4.4 on October 02, 2012

This Inn is in a beautiful secluded country setting just a few miles outside of town. A real farm (they farm mostly hay now) but if you want a quiet peacefull relaxing spot this is your ticket. The farm is down a private road so you wont hear or see any traffic, just nice beautiful maintained grounds. Our host June was very helpful and provided a fantastic breakfast. Resturants and shopping is a just quick couple of miles into the town of Amsterdam. We highly recomend a small italian restaurant in town; Petrillo's, not much to look at outside, but great atmosphere and awsome food inside!


Serene and very comfortable B&B

4.8 on October 01, 2012

One of the most comfortable B&B's that we have stayed in. It is so peaceful and the hosts June and John are truly wonderful. The breakfast that we were served was outstanding.


worth driving a little out of your way

5 on September 07, 2012

loved June and John, so friendlys, we had the Magnolia room, took three baths in the jet tub. Breakfast was amazing...slept like a baby in our king size bed.


Halcyon Farm B&B - Absolutely, totally outstanding

5 on August 27, 2012

We were in the Halcyon Suite and it was perfect. Superb linens and exceptionally clean and fresh. Our breakfasts (2 consecutive mornings) were delicious with fresh berries from their lovely garden, and use of their home-grown herbs in bread and egg dishes. June and John are great hosts. They have beautifully restored the house, most of which dates to early 19th C.; a small portion likely is late 18th C. It is filled with lovely artifacts of historical interest. We highly recommend Halcyon Farm B&B to all discerning adults; we plan to return.


A Lovely B&B Experience

4.8 on August 25, 2012

Our first experience with staying at a B&B was made even nicer by the warm hospitality of June and John Leonard. Halcyon Farm B&B is just about half way between Cooperstown, NY and Saratoga Springs, NY. We selected Halcyon Farm because of its location on our recent trip to the Cooperstown area (Baseball Hall of Fame and Glimmerglass Theater) and a stop at Saratoga Springs. Halcyon Farm offered us two lovely rooms (The Hidden Room and the Rose Room) for my family. Rooms were fastidiously clean and the bathrooms spacious, clean and well appointed. June was very helpful to us in finding a lovely restaurant for dinner the night we arrived. Upon arrival we saw a doe and her fawn out in the field. We had a first rate breakfast with delicious home made corn waffles and sausages. Gardens are lovely with beautiful flowers. If you enjoy a quiet, clean respite than Halcyon Farm is the place to be and we heartily recommend it for travelers to that area of NY State. The Connollys - stayed 8/7/2012


a rural Oasis not far from Saratoga and Sharon Springs

5 on August 05, 2012

We were delighted to find this wonderful B&B. I especially liked having a guest refrigerator available to get ice from and have a nice relaxing cocktail on the back veranda after a big day at the races. The atmosphere was serene and the rooms lovely. Breakfast was a FEAST....We will definitely go back and tell our friends.


Great stay with fabulous hosts!

4.6 on August 03, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Halcyon farms. Had our schedules not been an issue, we would have happily stayed on an extra night (or two) The room was exceptionally well cared for and clean. Every aspect of the visit was fantastic. Thank you June and John!


We'll be back!

5 on August 02, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Halcyon Farm B&B in early July and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. John and June are wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome. The house is beautifully decorated, and the surrounding area is breathtaking. The drive to Cooperstown is a little long, but since the scenery is so beautiful we didn't mind it at all. Our bed in the Rose Room was surprisingly comfortable, and the room is set up with comfortable chairs. We also enjoyed the family style dining and getting to meet our fellow guests. And the food is soooo good! Oh, those fudgy brownies.....Our only regret is that we could only stay for two nights this time. But we are looking forward to spending more time at Halcyon Farm B&B in the future. Mike and Marie Forand


Review 8/1

4.8 on August 01, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. B&B was beautiful, such gracious hosts and excellent food. Would certainly go back and recommend to others.


Wonderful first-time B&B experience!

4.8 on July 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay. June and John Leonard are down to earth people and make you feel right at home. We loved our room (Magnolia) with it's king-size comfortable bed which was very clean, as well as the bathroom (very important for me!) An inviting delicious breakfast was provided each morning. The grounds were just beautiful. What else can I say!


Relaxing oasis during a long road trip east

4.0 on July 26, 2012

If you are lucky enough to find yourself traveling through the Mohawk Valley, take the time to enjoy a unique and relaxing evening and great breakfast at the Halycon Farm B & B. Our Hidden Room has a unique history in addition to being very comfortable, quiet and clean with amazing views of the farm. What made the experience even more special was meeting and talking with June and John about the house and the farm. John even took the time to look at our travel route and make some "back road" recommendations that ultimately made our trip even more enjoyable. Our only disappointment was that we were unable to stay at the farm again during our return trip because they were booked up.


Wonderful Experience

5 on July 06, 2012

The grounds and facility were lovely and June and John are very friendly and nice! The rooms are clean and comfortable. And breakfast was delicious!


A delightful stay in Amsterdam

4.4 on July 03, 2012

Our hostess, June was so helpful, we felt at home right away. This is a quiet and beautifully maintained B&B. A little out of the way, but worth the effort to get there. Fantastic garden!


The perfect nights stay

5 on May 11, 2012

Whle traveling from Connecticut to Rochester we decided to take in some of central New York and stay the night in the Amsterdam area. Reading these reviews we decided to book the Halcyon Farm B&B. All great decisions. Our room, June's service and food were all well above our expectations. This place is truly a gem and I strongly recomend it - Outstanding!


Outstanding B&B

5 on May 08, 2012

My bridal shower was recently hosted at Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast, and I have stayed at the Bed & Breakfast in the past. The house is always decorated beautifully, and June is a wonderful hostess!


peaceful, beautiful historic home with sweeping landscapes

5 on March 25, 2012

The innkeepers were kind, friendly, warm people, but unimposing. They helped to make our stay so lovely and memorable. A blueberry pancake breakfast was brought to our room to accommodate our family needs. The house was large but at the same time full of warmth, full of beautiful antique furnishings, picturesque rooms and peaceful landscapes. It was a lovely stay for the three of us....can't wait to return....maybe in June!


Wonderful visit at the Halcyon Farm Inn

4.0 on February 22, 2012

We just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Halcyon Farm Inn outside of Amsterdam, NY. Great breakfasts, beautiful home and gracious hospitality. We highly recommend it for a most comfortable and relaxing stay.


December 2010 visit

5 on February 19, 2012

We stayed two evenings near Christmas. The house was decorated for the season. John and June were gracious hosts. We had an absolutely memorable time. We will be visiting the area again in October 2012 for the canonization o f Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha and look forward to staying at Halcyon Farm. We have stayed at a number of bed & breakfast inns across the U.S. the past 10 years and Halcyon Farm is at the top of the list.


Perfect Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 20, 2011

House was beautiful and very clean - home owners were helpful and nice - and the breakfast was perfect! Highly recommend staying here.


Wonderful Stay!

4.0 on October 10, 2011

We would love to come back to Halcyon B & B should we ever be back in the area. We have no complaints - we are 100% satisfied guests. Even the rainy day didn't spoil our enjoyment of the beautiful country setting. The Purnells


Halcyon Farms Vacation

5 on October 06, 2011

Peaceful and pleasant and the owners June and John were wonderful. Our room was very nice, bed very comfortable and we could sleep with the windows open, wonderfully quiet. The breakfast was will proportioned and delicious.


A really nice stay

5 on October 03, 2011

Heading to Boston and wanted to break the drive into two. Wanted to stay somewhere special. And I found it! Never stayed in a B&B in North America before but found this one on B&B.com, wasn't sure of it but booked it. And loved it! A nice place with great service all round. A nice drive into Amsterdam for walking and a nice dinner. We were looking for a peaceful, quiet place to start our vacation and we found it. Very enjoyable. Will keep this one in mind should we be passing that way again!


Magnolia room

4.6 on September 09, 2011

Lovely area, very quiet. The Magnolia room was large, with a wonderful bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful, we were greeted with a bowl of fresh raspberries before the bacon and waffles.


Halcyon Farm B & B

4.4 on September 04, 2011

Very nice accomadations. June and John were very friendly and hospitable. Good food and plenty of it. Lovely old farmhouse, quiet surroundings. Would stay again.


Just Lovely

4.0 on August 21, 2011

Very charming, welcoming, low key..... June was a wonderful host, we felt very comfortable and will most definitely be returning. Homemade waffles with fresh corn from the field....yum!! Was just one night, would have liked more, very relaxing, "homey" atmosphere. Highly recommend. Jacqueline Brooklyn, NY


We can't wait to go back

5 on August 09, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Halcyon Farm B&B, June and John were the most gracious hosts, our room was quite comfortable, we really didn't want to leave, but we had to. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We are already talking about our next stay there.


AMAZING!

5 on August 04, 2011

AMAZING, amazing, AmAzInG!


Incredible, more like visiting absolutley wonderful friends!

5 on July 11, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing getaway, and found the Halcyon B&B to exceed every expectation. The grounds were immaculate, as was the "house". On arrival, June gave us a brief tour and asked what time we would like breakfast, then left us to relax in comfort in a fabulously appointed room. Not a single detail left us wanting. We found a very nice restaurant nearby overlooking the Mohawk River, with wonderful food and a nice wine list as well as a live jazz band playing at a stage next door. The first morning 3 other couples also joined us for a 9am breakfast that could have been served at a fine restaurant. A Potato and Basil Fritatta, was accompanied by a wonderfully presented fresh fruit bowl, with blueberries, bananas, strawberries, and pineapple. Also there were fresh raisin scones, yogurt, a bread of some type, pomeganite juice, coffee and a nice assortment of good teas. We spent the day roaming and found a nice shop with a very cool selection of vintage and antique items for sale (and bought two end tables for a great price). We spent a wonderful evening in the parlor playing board games and enjoying the solitude. The next morning we were the only ones served at 9, although we knew others were there we found the breakfast table elegantly set for two, with a wonderful fruit bowl set garnished with a mint sprig between the table settings. Then we simply poured our coffee, juice and tea and sat down to fresh fruit. Within a few minutes June arrived and asked if we had rested well and told us that John would be in with our entree momentarily, it was heavenly. Each beautiful plate had 2 well browned potato, ham and scallion hash patties, perfectly covered by 2 sunny side eggs with fresh chive garnish. Each plate also held a large, fresh and warm blueberry muffin. Chilled butter curls were also served. Just an absolutely wonderful stay, thank you so much. We anxiously look forward to coming back, for longer!


Hidden Room

4.0 on July 05, 2011

This was my first time at a bed and breakfast, and I had a pleasant stay at Halcyon Farm. As the others mentioned, the innkeepers are very friendly and kind, and the house itself is very clean and pretty. I'll add a few tidbits that may not have made it into other reviews. The farm used to be veggies, but now it is all hay. There are restaurants just a drive over into town, but it's really nothing to rave about. The Hidden Room is very nice, with a modern bathroom and satellite tv. I believe they advertise wifi, but it really didn't work for us while we were there. The bathroom has soap, but no other shower products. There is a small area on the second floor (right off of the Hidden Room) where you can get some tea, warm up some food, or store picnic items in a small fridge. We were really just looking for a nice place to stay until the morning when we would be visiting a neighboring farm. It fit the bill.


pancake heaven

5 on July 03, 2011

We recently spent a wonderful weekend in the Vorhees room. The room was clean and bright, and temperature and humidity was perfect. After having the most blissful sleep in their comfortable bed, we woke up to the delicious smell of buckwheat pancakes. These were the most fluffy pancakes I have eaten in a long time, and there was also a generous helping of fresh fruit, homemade granola, yogurt, and chicken sausage. June was incredibly helpful with directions, providing us with maps to get to the river/canalways. After a full day of kayaking, the next morning, we were treated to french toast, fruit, sausage patties, and scrambled eggs. Both John and June were warm and hospitable, I look forward to returning in the future.


Quiet, refreshing stay with John & June!

4.8 on July 02, 2011

This B&B isjustwhatwe were looking for, quiet place to relax, walk and rest. The Magnolia room was comfortable, great bedding, comfortable furniture and the bubble tub was great! One drawback is the lack of good local restaurants. We drove 25 min. Up to Lanzi's by the Lake and enjoyed a delicious lunch outside overlooking the lake. Highly recommend Halcyon, a place of peace.


A Beautiful Farmhouse

4.0 on June 15, 2011

We booked in the Amsterdam area as a half way point between Ontario and Cape Cod. The Halcyon Farm B & B was a good choice of location, close drive to town for dinner and to the interstate for travel, yet peaceful and quiet in countryside. Our room was gorgeous - very well decorated, large, well appointed, a beautiful ensuite bathroom with lots of little luxuries. Wine glasses in our room (so many places don't think of this), we had our own wine and enjoyed it in the garden. June helped us pick a restaurant for dinner and we had a great time there. I do not exaggerate my ratings and when I give something a three that is still a high rating because I have high standards - so if you meet them it's a three. Breakfast was very good and plentiful so we took our homemade scones with us for the drive - very yummy!


Our Favorite Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 08, 2011

Again this year my husband and I had the opportunity to spend time at what has become our favorite B&B. The house is beautifully and appropriately decorated and the rural setting is a wonderful change from metropolitan chaos. Breakfast is always a real treat with local ingredients and home-baked goodies. The innkeepers are delightful and take a genuine interest in each guest. Be sure when you visit to enjoy the area with it's rich American history and beautiful scenery.


Definitely recommend

4.6 on June 06, 2011

Stayed 2 nights last week/June couldn't have been a better hostess/her breakfasts were divine especially her blueberry muffins and cottage cheese pancakes/homemade jams too!We stayed in the Hidden Room which was a big bright room with a very very comfy queen bed/ensuite bathroom very large/farmhouse beautiful/lots of history in the home/You won't be disappointed. The Digouts (Ont. Canada)


Everything and more!

5 on March 26, 2011

I had the most relaxing and peaceful time at the Halcyon Farm. I wish I could have stayed longer. The breakfasts prepared and served by June were a pure, delicious delight. If I have the opportunity to return, I would in a heartbeat. Hopefuly, the next time I go, it'll be in the fall or spring. I can only imagine how beautiful it is. I've told many of my wonderful experience and will continue in the future.


FIVE STARS!

5 on February 18, 2011

We absolutely loved it..the innkeepers have done an incredible job on this bnb and they pay attention to every detail! there are so many little extras..flowers in the room, valentine candy, treats as you check in. The rooms are lovely and clean, the bathroom was new, the bubble tub was awesome, we can't wait to return. FIVE STARS


A little slice of heaven on earth.

5 on October 24, 2010

Everything was perfect! Comfortable, quiet and relaxing. The inn keepers were extremely attentive and friendly. We only stayed one night and wished we had been able to stay longer. We will be sure to visit again.


Halycon

3.4 on October 23, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the Halycon. Its location is quiet and picturesque, the rooms are spacious and very well decorated and appointed. The hostess is welcoming, helpful and gracious. We look forward to a return visit. Charles and Anne


You Will Love This B&B!!!

5 on October 06, 2010

We stayed at the Halcyon Farm B&B for three nights in October. We had a wonderful time exploring the area and coming home to our spacious and lovely room at the Halcyon. The breakfasts were outstanding -- excellent food and presentation. My favorite was the corn waffles, which I had never had before. Our hosts were friendly and so helpful. I highly recommend this B&B -- you will not be disappointed.


Breakfast...Pancakes

4.2 on September 25, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay, I was however disappointed with the breakfast, it was just pancakes. I know it is breakfast, and they were good, I just expect something better when I am staying at a bed and breakfast.


A Charming, Delightful Inn

4.4 on September 13, 2010

A charming, delightful inn in a private, pastoral setting with delicious breakfast. June and John are the perfect hosts! We'd definitely go back.


Our first experience of BnBing !!

4.4 on September 04, 2010

Thank you June & John for a lovely overnight stay at your farm we were thrilled to find that your lovely home lived up to the photos on the internet. The room was spotlessly clean and then bed really comfortable - wish we had more time to extend our stay. Breakfast - all made from your own garden was an absolute delight - was lovely to have home cooking again. Thank you very much - the only problem was the internet did not work really well in our room - a minor inconvenience we could live with. Thank you once again.


Another wonder stay at Halcyon!

5 on August 30, 2010

Thanks again to June and John for a wonderful visit to their B & B. You couldn't ask for a better place to rest and relax. Today's breakfast was especially delicious. Fresh melon and raspberries from the garden. Herb-scrambled eggs. Corn bread. Unbelievable potatoes picked this morning from the garden (if you've never had potatoes this fresh, you don't know what you're missing). Comfortable, warm, friendly, hospitable. Can't wait to come back again!


Fantastic

4.6 on August 22, 2010

If you like country living this is a great place to stay! 500 acre of farmland. Friendly inn keepers willing to share their history. I'll go back!


Wish We Could Live Here!!

5 on August 19, 2010

My husband and I just returned from our 2nd stay at Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast. Everything about this place is warm, cozy and relaxing and the breakfasts are "out of this world delicious!" John and June are absolutely wonderful with making you feel welcome in their beautiful home. Can't wait for the next visit!


My Dream B&B

5 on August 17, 2010

We have found the B&B of our dreams nestled amid fields of grass, out in the country, a short drive from Amsterdam. The gracious, old brick house is surrounded with peach trees and colorful flowers. Our room and large bath was spotless and lovely. The house was full of family antiques but had all the latest up to date amenities. We had an afternoon cup of tea and home-made cookies. Our breakfast was extremely lavish- cantaloupe and blueberries, a wonderful onion and cheese omelet, homegrown potatoes and tomatoes, homemade corn bread and currant jelly, tea, coffee and juice, To top it all off the price was very reasonable. June and John could not have been more gracious and hospitable.We will be back for another stay.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on August 15, 2010

June and John are great, friendly hosts with great accommodations. Our stay in the Voorhees room was perfect, the only thing we could have hoped for was to stay a few more days! June was very flexible about a hectic schedule including a local wedding and late night arrival, and prepared a great breakfast to finish it all off!


Awesome

4.6 on July 30, 2010

My Husband and I spent our 28th anniversary at Halcyon Farm. It was absolutely delightful, cozy and charming. June and John are great Innkeepers and very helpful with any questions we had. The breakfast was fantastic. I would go there again in a flash. Lorraine Duncan


outstanding country retreat

4.6 on June 06, 2010

After travelling all day and knowing that the next day would be the same it was a retreat worth taking to stop at this bed and breakfast. The Vorhees room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable with excellent quality sheets and everything very clean. The room was decorated very tastefully. Our breakfast of waffles, bacon and stewed rhubarb ( our request) was presented in a tasteful manner. Our hostess June was very accomodating and conversation was wonderful. I would stay in this pastoral retreat again.


A great Get-Away!

5 on June 04, 2010

John and June Leonard are a marvelous couple and expert hosts. The farm (over two hundred acres) is beautifully situated across the river south of Amsterdam, NY. The location is a scenic dream, peaceful, big skies and rolling countrysides. My wife Peggy and I stayed there in late May 2010 while attending a weekend wedding for one of our nephews and his new bride. Upon arrival we were met by June, and shown to the guest entrance. The farmhouse is red brick, built in 1790, added to in 1819, and furnished throughout with chairs, sofas , settees, tables and more from that era. Our room was immaculate (as are the rest of the buildings and grounds), with a very comfortable bed, wide-screen TV, free hook-up to the internet, a modern bathroom, a desk and chairs. It's a smooth blending of the 1790s and the 21st Century. And the food is as good as any we've had, even at finer hotels in major cities. John and June prepare the morning meal in a large country kitchen, and serve it in the breakfast area looking out a large window, a time we looked forward to each day. John Leonard is at least a 'philosopher farmer', with a degree in Bio-Science from Cornell. His, and June's contributions to the conversation always were appreciated by everyone (Peggy's sister and brother-in law, and their daughter and her husband stayed there also). To paraphrase the Arnold S., "We'll be back!" Bill And Peggy M.


Just wondeful!

5 on May 27, 2010

In a beautiful pastoral setting, our 2 night stay was serene,sumptuous and wonderful! This historical home is beautifully restored and decorated. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and our hosts could not have been more welcoming. We have stayed at many B & Bs and the Halcyon Farm is at the top!


Lovely place to stay

4.4 on April 27, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Halcyon Farm B&B. June and John are simply lovely and made me feel quite "at home". I enjoyed it so much, I returned two weeks later announcing "I'm home!" I highly recommend this B&B.


The Great Escape

5 on December 13, 2009

Awesome, relaxing country setting. Host and hostess are wonderful. Clean and tastefully decorated. Delicious breakfast. Amsterdam NY is close by entertainment and dining. For those who like to get off the beaten path.


So awesome!

4.8 on December 09, 2009

After reading the over the top reviews of Halcyon Farm I was a little frightened that the Leonards lured their guests with promises of Bed & Breakfast delights and ended by burying them in the backyard. Weren't the reviews just a tad too good to be true? Not at all! The house is beautiful, the room extremely comfortable, June's cooking outstanding, and John's company delightful. I won't belabor the point, Halcyon Farm is all that is promised!


Until next year

4.6 on October 22, 2009

My partner and I recently returned to Halcyon Farm Bed and Breakfast for the second time, with wonderful memories from our first visit. Our expectations were more than met. John and June offer their wonderful historic home (which served as a tavern in the 1790s!); spacious and private rooms, tastefully decorated, with four poster beds, flat screened televisions, wi-fi, sitting areas, and private baths; yummy breakfasts (incorporating veggies and fruit from their own garden, along with information on growing the plants and seeds); a great collection of books to enjoy; plenty of space for hiking (500 acres!); and interesting conversation on both historical and current events. John and June are superb hosts about whom I cannot say enough good things. This working farm provides us a retreat from the stress of work coupled with the comforts of home. We hated to leave and can’t wait to return, next year, when we plan to stay longer.


amazing home

4.8 on October 21, 2009

we stayed one night and we would love to go back. The decor and funishings are fabulous and the house and grounds are spectacular. June and John are as wonderful as their home.


Best Of Our B&B Stays

5 on October 20, 2009

We are new to the B&B scene, having been timesharers for the past decade, and we stayed in four different B&B's in one week as we traveled from NH to NY Wine Country. We met gracious innkeepers all along the way, but none more gracious than John and June. They are very warm and interesting people, and our conversation over breakfast was most enjoyable. They know the area quite well, and shared some very helpful "antiqueing" advice with us for our travels. Breakfasts at the various B&B's during the week ranged from satisfactory to outstanding, and again Halcyon Farms was at the top of the list--all homemade, down to the jams, and more than we could eat, and tastefully presented. The farm is a real working treasure, and we would love to be there in "haymaking" season to smell the wonderful aroma of fresh-cut hay. The rooms are spacious, and the decorations are "right on" for the farm's atmosphere. This year, we planned B&B's around our trip to visit family in NH and some fun time in NY Wine Country. Next year, we may plan our trip to visit family around a longer stay at Halcyon. But, we are definitely planning to go back!


An outstanding place to stay

5 on October 05, 2009

The rooms were spotless, very tastefully decorated, and beautifully furnished. We LOVED the gas fireplace in the room. Very comfy beds and furnishings. We loved the location and the beautifully kept grounds. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. We would definitely stay here again on a return trip and most certainly recommend it to anyone!!


A taste of heaven

4.8 on September 19, 2009

Although our stay at Halcyon Farms B&B was in July, we had two halcyon days between storms. The peace and tranquility experienced under the welcoming pride of June and John Leonard satiated all of our senses from the historic setting in the midst of expansive fields and forest, the freshness of the garden and smell of just cut alfalfa, the informative conversations while feasting on artfully-presented scrumptious breakfasts to the comfort of the bedrooms complete with relaxing amenities - pure luxury for all the senses. What a wonderful way to learn the history of the Mohawk Valley and points beyond. There couldn’t have been a better way to launch us on our search of Dutch and English ancestors of the 1600s although I would have been content just to stay for several days. And did I mention the special treat of tasting the unique white rhutabaga and parsnips – free of “black heart”? Mmmmm! Must come back in the Indian summer.


Best and Beautiful

5 on September 09, 2009

Halcyon Farm sets the gold standard in taste, comfort and charm. June and John are wonderful hosts and the house is elegant, serene and warm. I always stay at B&Bs and Halcyon is tops. Full of light, with an evident love of history,books, flowers and comfort, combining antiques with a fresh clean airiness this working farm will have you wishing to return soon. Its heavenly.


perfection-website does not do it justice

4.8 on August 02, 2009

just back from halcyon. what a place. so beautiful. we really did not want to leave. the grounds are amazing. super views of the valley. lots of land- they have 500 acres total I think. the rooms are perfect- big, amazing 4 post beds and so super soft and comfortable. it's like elegant farmland and it's so perfect. june and john and great and I can't wait to get back there. stay in the magnolia room or halcyon room if you can- but they are all great. everything is first class


A delightful find!

5 on July 23, 2009

This is my second attempt to write a review on this fantastic bed and breakfast. Hopefully this one will take! My husband and I wanted to complete our trip to the area by just discovering what all was here. We started out in Saratoga Springs staying at lovely B and B overnight. We received great directions the next morning after a wonderful breakfast to Amsterdam. If we had followed map quest we would have missed a terrific country drive. Halcyon Farm was such an exciting find! The beauty of this working farm both inside and outside was a real pleasure to behold. Our room was very attractive, immaculate, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast looked like a picture out of Better Homes and Gardens and tasted fantastic. Conversation with our hosts was very interesting and informative too. June and John couldn't have been more gracious. We headed on down to Cooperstown with more great directions. We only scratched the surface on this trip! We hope to return next year!


Charming and Gracious Hosts

4.4 on July 15, 2009

July 2009 - The Inn is beautifully restored and accomodations are of the finest quality. Meeting and talking with June & John, however, is what will make your stay memorable.


One of the Finest B&B's In the USA

5 on June 07, 2009

My wife and I have been utilizing B&B's in Ireland and England as well as the United States for about nine years. A total of approximatly 70 nights in B&B's in that time frame. The majority if these experiences were positive but none as totally satisfying as Halcyon. The rooms are outstanding as well as the setting. June and John are great providers of interesting conversation as well as an exceptional breakfast almost always with ingredients of a local origin.We have stayed in a lot of good B&B's but rarely stay in one more than once. We have enjoyed Halcyon now for the third stay and will return as soon as we travel to the west again. Sue and Bill Fleig North Berwick, Maine


Highly Recommended!!!

5 on May 05, 2009

We rented the whole Halcyon Farm B&B for ourselves and all out of town family that came for a wedding that was in Schenectady, a 1/2 hr away, in October 2007. It was absolutely perfect. I cannot stress this enough. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was very delicious!!! The rooms are so very nicely decorated, clean and spacious. The common areas were very nice and just the ticket for family visiting. This was our first B&B experience but I don't see how it could get any better than this! Our whole family enjoyed themselves. The countryside is also beautiful and so quiet and peaceful at night! I highly highly recommend the Halcyon!!!


Perfect Getaway

5 on March 07, 2009

We cannot think of one thing that June and John could have done better! From the moment we arrived on Saturday and were offered tea or coffee with freshly baked brownies, to the delicious breakfast the next morning, our stay was delightful! Our room (Halcyon) was spacious, clean and comfortable. June and John were wonderful hosts who made us feel at home and at ease. This was the perfect weekend getaway.


Exceptionally Beautiful

5 on December 09, 2008

The Halcyon is the most tastefully decorated Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at. It compares very favourably with the finest of English inns we have known. The public rooms and guest rooms are furnished with high quality country antiques, gorgeous oriental rugs, and original art hangs on the walls. Bedding and linens are de luxe quality, and the bathroom appointments first class. The entire air of Halcyon Farm is one of beauty, comfort, and yet elegant sophistication. June and John Leonard set new standards for graciousness - truly interesting people who want your stay with them to be extraordinary. The breakfasts are not only delicious but healthy - good strong hot coffee and tea, delectable fruits, yoghurt, wonderful eggs, pancakes and John's famed parmesan potatoes. We enjoyed four wonderful days at Halcyon and are very eager to return.


Home away from home

5 on December 03, 2008

For the better part of two years I have traveled to the Amsterdam area regularly on business. The Halcyon Farm has become my base in the area. Good food, great night sleep, and near perfect hospitality keep me from looking for any other accommodations in the area. The setting is rural enough to see the Milky Way on clear nights but still close enough to the I-90 to be efficient for business in the Mohawk Vally. I highly recommend the Inn.


These folks really know the business!

5 on November 26, 2008

From the time my wife and I pulled into the long drive to the home to when we pulled out onto the main road the next day we were surrounded with the beauty of the farm and fields, a quietness we rarely hear and a collection of old farm buildings that would warm the heart of any historian. Our hosts really knew how to make us feel at home! The breakfast was a pure delight. We received a tour of the house and farm that was a wonderful insight into their world. The room was comfy, very interesting and perfect in every way. The house is incredible. They even let me drive the farm tractor around the yard at my request! We arraigned for a massage for both of us and they did not disappoint. The Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast is a delight for anyone looking for a true refuge from a busy life. Mark and Helen Vess


Sept 2008 visit

5 on November 02, 2008

We have enjoyed two visits to Halcyon Farm B & B. June and John are fabulous hosts. The inn is wonderfully comfortable--(beautifully outfitted with everything you could need). The food is creative and fantastic. The location is peaceful and calming. Would recommend a stay to anyone.


Best Weekend Getaway!

5 on October 21, 2008

Staying at Halcyon Farms was the icing on the cake after a lovely day of leaf watching and exploring Sharon Springs and the surrounding countryside. The inn and rooms are even more beautiful (and spacious) in person than the pictures show. June & John were gracious, warm and entertaining hosts who made my 50th birthday celebration extra special and something I will never forget. My husband and I will definitely be back and highly recommend this serene gem to anyone who wishes to relax and truly get-away.


One Of The Best Ever

5 on October 15, 2008

A must stay place, whether on the way or out of the way. As avid B & B goers over the years, we have never experienced such a delightful, comfortable experience. We stayed 4 nights, wished it were more. June and John are two of the most delightful and intelligent people we have ever met, in this industry and others. They make you feel right at home from the minute you step through their door. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. You may not even want to leave them. This, after almost 25 years, is the best time we have ever had at a B&b. Take the trip. It's worth it.


Blissful

4.2 on September 24, 2008

What a beautiful, peacful home in the country. The innkeepers were wonderful people. We very much enjoyed staying here and will definitely be back.


Attention Music Lovers & SPAC attendees

5 on September 04, 2008

Should SPAC prove inaccessible to you because of Saratoga Springs’ last minute terribly high hotel rates, make sure to contact June or John Leonard before giving up. Their quaint and most charming 18th century farm is at a 40-minute drive from Saratoga Springs but your sojourn will allow you a rest and pleasant walks in their beautiful countryside prior to and following your chosen performances at SPAC - http://www.spac.org/ June & John are great company at breakfast and John is likely to tell you all about the Underground Railroad activity in the region…….and on their farm !


Great Setting

4.0 on September 02, 2008

Quiet and plenty of privacy.


Wonderful B&B

5 on August 25, 2008

We recently spent 3 nights at the Halcyon Farm. The room, the setting, and the inn keepers were delightful. The room was large, well furnished with interesting antiques, and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were a treat, and conversation was easy and fun. I even learned a bit about farming (by my request). June and John are both helpful and knowledgeable (John is a true character). This is a place I will return to in the future.


Pastoral and Historic

4.4 on August 22, 2008

Halcyon is an enlarged, modernized B&B build around a 200 year old plus home, and situated in rolling hills on a working farm. It is a marvelous respite for Erie Canal cyclists (me) and others passing through this historic part of New York State. Beautiful grounds, and an easy walk to the Schoharie River. June and John were most gracious hosts, and both the breakfast and the company of our hosts were delightful. A bit pricey, but when is the last time any of us remembered the experience of a Super8 or Econolodge? For cyclists, the route south from Ft. Hunter is hilly but much easier than riding from Amsterdam. Or a phone call will get you a ride from John.


One Beautful Night

4.8 on August 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed over one night during the summer. June and John Leonard are delightful and easy. Breakfast was delicious. Halcyon Farm is a glorious place. We could have stayed much longer and would have enjoyed the peace and quiet and simple beauty of the house and grounds. June & John are hospitable without being overbearing and we felt entirely at home without feeling like we were imposing on someones private sanctuary. We will definitely return next summer.


A Week of Happy Tranquillity

5 on August 05, 2008

June Leonard greeted me with a warm smile as I moved through the Guest Entrance to Halcyon Farm Bed and Breakfast. As she led me to what is affectionately termed "The Little Room," I noticed how immaculate and impeccably furnished the home was - not overdecorated and not too sparse - but the "just right" quality that lets you know the level of love and care that have gone into creating a space for retreat as well as reflection. My room was painted a warm pale yellow, delightfully decorated with a map of Cape Cod on the wall, a high bed to climb into, a nice sized closet, a wall mounted flat screen tv, and a bright/airy bathroom w/shower. Each day I would awaken to the magical stillness of a misty country morning and the amusing sounds of geese as they waddled their way through the oxbow lake that lies to the south of the home. For a student like me, the homemade breakfast was always a special treat! Daily there was fresh fruit, sausage or bacon, corn waffles one day, delicious chocolate chip pancakes the next, all complemented by coffee and juice -- and wonderful conversation to boot. After a long day of research, I'd return to take a relaxing walk around the farm (checking on the groundhog on the north end of the barn, odd salamander that might cross my path, and to hear the ducks call to one another in the marshy area just beyond the barn), then head to my "little room" and the comforting library that was just outside it for a bit of reflection upon the events of the day. As the week went on, I became more and more convinced of the specialness of the home and grounds as well as the innkeepers. So, if you are looking to get away for a night or perhaps longer, to find a bit of inner peace in a gorgeously tranquil setting, all complemented by a certifiably authentic feeling of hospitality, Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast is most certainly the place you should go!


Charming stay

4.0 on July 23, 2008

Great hosts and a welcoming home. We particulary enjoyed the conversations around the breakfast table.


Thank you, June and John

5 on July 21, 2008

It was a wonderful visit. The innkeepers are delightful; food was awesome! Their home is warm and comfortable. Will definitely go back!


Highest recommendation

4.6 on July 20, 2008

My wife and I spent one night with June and John while biking through the region. June had recommended that John pick us up near the trail, to avoid the three-mile uphill climb to their farm. Thank goodness for that offer! Their welcome was warm, the surroundings were gorgeous, the room sumptuous. When I had a couple of mechanical challenges with my biking gear, John went out of his way to find what I needed. These are charming and brainy people; a delight to talk with. The four of us chatted over a prolonged and delicious breakfast. I don't know when we'll be back in the area, but we'll be more likely to return because we'll want another visit to Halcyon Farm.


Absolutely perfect!

5 on July 17, 2008

Everything about my stay was perfect. The room was beautiful and comfortable, amenities were ample, the house and setting were gorgeous, and June and John are friendly and wonderful! My only regret is that I don't have regular occasion to be in Amsterdam, otherwise I would be a frequent visitor.


TRANQUILITY

4.6 on July 03, 2008

We spent two nights at the halcyon B&B, where we experienced peace and tranquility after biking the Mohawk Hudson Trail. Innkeepers Fred and John were great!


Excellent Inn

4.0 on June 24, 2008

Spacious rooms; secluded and quiet; historical settings; great hosts who have extensive knowledge about the area and property; clean and comfortable; accommodating; we would recommend to our friends.


perfect low-key getaway

5 on June 19, 2008

June and John could not have been more doting hosts. Breakfast outside was picture perfect and made more memorable by June's outstanding scones, which compete only with her "molasses crinkle" cookies! The photos do not do the property a justice. Once there, we felt worlds away from city life.


warm welcome - garanteed!

4.6 on June 16, 2008

the hosts here specialize in a warm welcome for their guests. their lovely historic home- well furnished with family, antiques - situated in a bucolic and peaceful setting is well worth a visit.


Delightful Experience

5 on June 14, 2008

We recently spent a few days at Halcyon Farm B&B and truly did not want to leave. The innkeepers, John and June Leonard, made us feel warm and welcome in their home. Our room was large and comfortable and the home and grounds were beautifully decorated and maintained. The gourmet breakfasts were the most delicious we had ever tasted. It truly was a delightful experience and we look forward to visiting again.


Evaluation

4.4 on June 10, 2008

Comfortable, pleasant hosts, beautiful setting and home. Enjoyed our stay.


our stay

4.8 on June 10, 2008

We had an outstanding stay at the Halcyon Farm Bed and Breakfast. The owners made us feel so welcomed and were "open," warm, and very friendly. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable--everything one would want. The breakfasts were delicious, all made from scratch with fresh ingredients--no boxed mixes here!--and as much as you could possibly eat. They had good suggestions about what was available in the area. We had stayed there once before and are looking forward to another stay in the fall--a destination in itself. (We do not go there because we are attending something in the area.)


"Heavenly!"

5 on December 31, 2007

In a year that took us from Santa Fe to Europe to Malibu, Halycon Farm B & B remains our favorite destination. We can't wait to return to the beautiful, peaceful surroundings, exquisitely decorated home, and delightful host and hostess. We read all the reviews before going and "glowing" is only the beginning. Give yourself a true treat and visit this heavenly retreat.


Best B&B Ever!

5 on October 31, 2007

We spent a week with Joan & John in October 2007. The Halcyon Farm B&B is the absolutely best B&B we have ever visited. The house is wonderfully decorated with incredible antiques, the breakfasts are delicious, but it is the innkeepers who make this place so special. They are attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. We can't recommend Halcyon Farm highly enough!


Unexpected treasure

5 on October 04, 2007

First off, the pictures don't do this lovely B&B justice (and the pictures are great). We had a most delightful time here. and June was so careful to acommodate my 90 year old mother-in-law. I wish we had stayed longer. I'd recommend even going out of your way to stay here. Twas heaven. And the food; wow! Not one complaint from here. Best place we stayed on our Fall New England tour. And I include the Woodstock Inn in my praise. And believe me, the WI was top-notch. Patti Gai and George Schmidt, and Marge Bubb.


Very Special Place!

5 on September 06, 2007

We spent a most relaxing night here after the hustle & bustle of the Saratoga Racetrack. June & John Leonard were the most accomodating hosts. The rooms are truly delightful & comfortable. The breakfast was yummy...blueberry pancakes the best!


A Peaceful Haven

5 on August 29, 2007

We stayed 1 week in the very comfortable Halcyon Room. We slept well every night. We enjoyed a different gourmet breakfast every day and our charming hosts were very informative and hospitable. We really enjoyed our stay.


A great pleasure

5 on August 27, 2007

June and John Leonard have created a retreat of great charm and style in the countryside. We stayed two nights while exploring the Saratoga area and attending the Glimmerglass Opera (one hour away, however). It was such a treat to find a really generously sized room, to have guest quarters in a separate house from the hosts' home (soon the entrance for guests will be to their quarters rather than through the hosts' kitchen and office). Too often these days "luxury" has come to be formulaic, copying a list of the "right" linens and other furnishings so that the final effect is bland, albeit high-end bland, losing all individuality where individuality is just what you want. Here, with the Leonards, you have true luxury--their imagination and hard work have gone into making guests immensely comfortable. This takes many forms. We were so glad to have good reading lights on each side of the bed, for example, something far too many places fail to provide. And there are a number of graceful spaces indoors and out to read or talk. Breakfast is with other guests around a table. This may not be for everyone, but we found it much more fun (and so did everyone else) than sitting at little tables trying to be quiet so as not to disturb others. There was lots of laughter and trading of information, as shyness wore off quickly once introductions were made. Many thanks to two people who really love what they do, which shows in every detail of this lovely place.


Saratoga Races Alternative

4.2 on August 22, 2007

June and John are delightful people. They are interesting conversationalist and very knowledgeable of the area and local history. The breakfasts hit the spot and were delicious. Their 500-acre working hay farm is well kept and part of the local history. As a former thorough-bred horse trainer, I was delighted to find that the Saratoga Race Track was only 20 traffic free minutes from the Halcyon Farm B & B. At one-third the price of staying in Saratoga it is a great alternative for race goers.


August 2007 Family gathering

5 on August 21, 2007

I had paid a much higher rate for a room on Lake Erie in Canada that was far less comfortable and with fewer amenities. June and John Leonard were pleasant and helpful and willing to share their story about restoring this beautiful house. I loved sitting on the porch with my morning cup of coffee looking out over the misty fields. We had different breakfasts on two days. Both were delicious. So was the coffee. I've stayed in lots of places both in the US and in Europe, including some pretty nice private homes. Halcyon Farm is up there with the best.


A true gem in a bucholic setting

5 on August 19, 2007

We have just completed a two day stay in an extroridnary inn located near the city of Amersterdam, New York. The house and property are meticulously maintained, and magnificent to behold.with antique appointments aboudning. John and June Leonard are the perfect host and hostess. They are warm, friendly and extremely accommodating. We had several family members wishing to accompany us on our trip at the last minute, and, without missing a beat, they were wecomed in the already packed house. June's breakfasts were not only delectable but beautifully presented. Breakfast was served buffet style in the large country kitchen which serves as the hub of the operation. The rooms are appointed with memorabilia belonging to many generations of the Leonard family. There has been great care devoted to room maintence and decoration. As a special treat, John, an enthusiastic farmer, allowed me to pick my own corn to take with me for dinner at the next stop on our trip. It was an envigorating and enriching experience! I would not hestitate to return to this location. I feel so strongly, that before I leave I will book at week-end getaway for the Fall. This delightful destination is one that should not be missed.


Halcyon lives up to its name

5 on July 01, 2007

Stepping from our car with a view of beautiful gardens, sweeping fields and an inviting patio, we already felt at home. Our innkeepers were welcoming, and their home beautifully decorated with antiques made for a delightful stay. From the fresh herbs in our omelets, and home grown raspberries to the sumputuous bed we slept in, every detail was taken care of in a thoughtful way. We also discovered a wonderful historic district in an "untouristed" area!


Absolutely the BEST!

5 on July 01, 2007

Comfortable, quiet,beautifully decorated,in the heart of our Nation's history (Fort Hunter nearby where all three stages of Erie Canal exist, foothills of Adirondacks, Auresville Shrine, etc) and the most delightful breakfasts. I could hardly wait to get to the breakfast table to see what June and John had created to start our day.


My home away from home!

5 on June 25, 2007

I recently stayed at this lovely B&B (my 3rd visit)and it was like coming home again. June & John are the most welcoming innkeepers anywhere. I felt like a kid again climbing into that wonderful high 4 poster which was like sleeping on a cloud. The food & the laughs were fabulous. I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else when I am in the area.


Beautiful farm

5 on June 18, 2007

This is a beautiful property. It was far beyond what I imagined it to be based on these pictures. House is very clean and farm is impeccably manicured. They do an amazing job keeping their property. The owners are still renovating a part of the B&B but our stay was still relaxing and very quiet. We had a wonderful time!


our wedding

5 on June 14, 2007

Because we wanted to get married in Amsterdam we looked for places around the area. And found this cute bed & breakfast. The pictures on this site showed us a little bit what it would look like. But we were still amazed by the warm & cozy feeling this place had. (and in real life it is so much bigger) It's just a little drive into the town Amsterdam. But it's far enough to still have a country-side feeling to it. We absoluutly loved our stay there, and the company of the owners!


Best B&B ever!

5 on May 28, 2007

We knew from from our first sight of Halcyon Farm that our overnight stay was going to exceed all expectations. Our room (the Rose Room) was charming and comfortable, and our gourmet breakfast with other guests and the hosts, June and John, made us wish we could stay a week instead of just one night. We definitely want to come back and stay longer.


Halcyon Farm B&B is a destination

5 on April 14, 2007

My wife and I and two close friends stopped and stayed at Halcyon Farm B&B for one night on our way to Boston. We enjoyed the property and our hosts so much that we may well make Halcyon Farm B&B our destination the next time, and stay longer! It was a delightful discovery!


Thoroughly enjoyable

5 on April 08, 2007

Our stay was everything we had hoped for. June and John are warm and thoughtful and provided a comfortable and satisfying experience for us during our stay. The setting is beatiful and the room was wonderful. Halcyon B&B will be on our itinerary next time we are visiting that area of NY. Russ and Roseanna


Just lovely

5 on February 27, 2007

I just got back from a weekend in NY and Halcyon Farm was a highlight of my trip. I think this place is probably the best of all the B&Bs I've ever stayed in. The hosts are amazingly nice and interesting - easy to talk to and really happy to meet their guests' needs. The B&B itself is just beautiful - gracious and warm without being smotheringly "flowered." Great breakfasts, great hosts, great rooms. I highly recommend this place and will go out of my way to go back!


Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $139 - $169
  • Reviews (135) 4.8
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5188427718
  • Toll free 1-8004702170

Visit Website »

View details

Top