Altamont Old Stone House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding

5 on July 14, 2014

A beautiful peaceful place, with a porch looking out over gardens and rolling lawns and a lovely refreshing swimming pool. The rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was delicious and nicely presented. The hosts are welcoming and are there if needed but not overly so. The house dates from the 1770s and the addition from the 1880s, all carefully restored. We were fortunate with bright sunny weather, but if it had rained there were lots of board games to try out and a good selection of books too. We look forward to staying at the Altamont Inn again as a meeting place for our spread out family.


Perfect!

5 on October 16, 2013

Nancy and Bill are perfect hosts. Rooms spotless and not fussy - no dusty antiques to trip over. Bright and airy. Grounds perfectly kept. Breakfast yummy and beautifully presented!


Enjoyed stay

4.2 on August 28, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely evening and outstanding breakfast! Beautiful setting and gracious host.


A Haven

5 on August 28, 2013

We were only in Altamount for one night. What a relaxing haven for such a short trip. The inn is spotless, not a dust mote to be seen. Home baked cookies greeted us on our arrival. Other guests were relaxing in the rocking chairs on the front porch. Nancy is easygoing and eager to accommodate requests. The private bath was also very clean and spacious. The fresh, hot breakfast on the veranda was delicious, creative and filling. I cannot wait to return and enjoy more of the grounds and the town.


Beautiful bed and breakfast

5 on August 23, 2013

What a beautiful place with very friendly hosts. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. The breakfasts were excellent. The hosts cooked gluten-free meals too!


Excellent

5 on August 22, 2013

We have been staying here for several years while attending a folk festival in their town. Meet the same couples there every time and we also book the room 1 year in advance.


Would definitely recommend

5 on August 22, 2013

B&B was excellent, wonderful and very accommodating hosts. Would definitely recommend.


A hidden gem.

4.8 on August 14, 2013

Nice, quiet, friendly, great food!


Wonderful private setting in Altamont!

5 on April 29, 2013

Old Stone House Inn is a great place to stay! Nancy & Bill were very accommodating and friendly. The room was cozy and clean. Especially enjoyed having morning coffee on the front porch listening to the birds and breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend the Altamoont Old Stone House Inn!


What a find!!!

5 on August 03, 2010

Imagine our surprise when we turned into the gravel road and at the top of the hill this gorgeous stone house! The house, grounds and views were spectacular. Our room (the Carriage Room) was beautifully appointed and private; off the parlor. The breakfasts were excellent and topping it all off, inkeepers Nancy & Bill were charming. Bill gave us an extensive history of this fascinating place. This is the find of the year for my wife and I, who stay at B&Bs frequently. We shall definately return. Art & Julie F.


Weekend Retreat

5 on April 07, 2010

The Inn is set well off the road - tucked into an old farm pasture surrounded by peace, quiet and nature.


Outstanding B&B!

5 on March 28, 2010

We stayed at the Old Stone House Inn this past weekend, and although this was not our first stay, it is my first time writing a review. I cannot say enough good things about the owners, the inn itself and the delicious breakfast! If you are ever in need of a place to stay in the Altamonte area, the Old Stone Inn should be your first choice. You wil not be disappointed.


Great Place!

5 on March 28, 2010

This place is excellent--the owners are friendly, the inn is spotless, and the rooms are spacious. It's such a cozy place and breakfast has always been tasty. It's set back a ways from the road so it's very quiet. I highly recommend the Altamont Old Stone House Inn!


Altamont Old Stone House Inn

5 on September 30, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Altamont Inn. The innkeepers, Nancy & Bill Turner, were hospitable & friendly. I'd love to return!


Not the usual B&B

5 on August 20, 2009

The Altamont was a gem. Bill & Nancy were fascinating to talk to and the histoery of the home came to life. Such a peaceful environment with the grounds & pool -- pair that with a 5-star breakfast and top-notch linens!


Wow just right!

4.6 on July 27, 2009

What a charming place. It's so nice to to have a home away from home. Wish I lived there with all it's quiet country setting and beautifully decor. But thats not the most inportant asset, it was the breakfast. Summer time with just baked squash muffins, blueberry crepes and fresh fruit dish, this was beyond first class. Can not say enough about Nancy and her husband. Best of Luck to them. Paul and Daisy - Rochester, NY


Great First experience

5 on July 30, 2008

Beautiful setting, especially in the morning. Sitting on the porch as the sun comes up, a beautiful view, sipping hot coffee what more could you want. I felt like I was a character in a novel when having breakfast on the verandah. The food was delicious, and such a pretty screened in porch. The rooms had a homey feel with all the modern ammenities. The Inn Keepers were very friendly and helpful and also give you space and privacy.


Altamont Old Stone House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $210
  • Reviews (17) 4.9
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5188610200

Visit Website »

View details

Top