Gallets House B&B Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
62 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely and accommodating B & B

5 on June 19, 2014

We stayed only one night but the proprietor graciously stayed up to meet us as we arrived very late. We loved her homemade toasting bread and strawberry rhubarb jam! Delicious breakfast and gracious home!


Lovely stay!

3.6 on September 03, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The host was so nice and made us feel comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.


Beautiful home

4.8 on August 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Gallets House B&B. Joan - the hostess made us feel right at home. The breakfast was delicious and their home is beautiful. We will definitely go back.


FANTASTIC

5 on August 22, 2013

Fantastic getaway.


First-time B&B stay

5 on August 17, 2013

Great stay, very friendly, this was our first time at a B&B and we loved it. Breakfast was wonderful. Overall it was an outstanding experience we would stay again anytime.


Gallets House B&B

4.0 on June 16, 2013

We had a great first experience staying at the Gallets House B&B.


Gallets House B&B

5 on January 15, 2013

Elegantly furnished in keeping with the Victorian era. Food was delicious and the innkeepers, Joan and Gary, were friendly and helpful about sites to visit in the area.


Nice place.

4.8 on November 27, 2012

Each room has a story and we stayed in Regina Barbara's. The snow almost ruined our trip but Joan catered to our needs. She is an awesome cook. The house is beautifully decorated from bedrooms to basement. If you are looking for hospitality and antiquity both - this is the place to stay in.


Excellent

5 on September 11, 2012

The room was clean and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. The owner was most gracious. Just a lovely person.


Relaxing, Quiet, First Class Stay

5 on September 06, 2012

Joan and Ben made this an enjoyable experience from beginning to end. The home is fabulous and full of history. Highly recommend this B&B. Don & Betty H


Gallets House B&B

4.8 on August 13, 2012

Loved our stay. Hosts were wonderful, stayed in Room #2 -- same as it was 5 years ago -- very relaxing. Awesome breakfast. Loved it!


Gallets house

5 on May 02, 2012

gallets house is n great place to stay the service is outstanding the food was out of this work i would love to stay there again


Great night for a quick getaway

4.4 on October 19, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful night at the Gallets' House - she graciously upgraded our room when someone else didn't show and the room was lovely and clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and filling and we had a nice dinner at the nearby Library restaurant and a lovely surprise with the nearby Rock City. All-in-all a wonderful weekend away from our kiddos.


wonderful Inn

5 on September 06, 2011

Have atayed at Gallets twice in 4 months. Wonderful, friendly and great value. looking forward to my next stay. Will definately visit Gallets House several times again.,


Wonderful experince

5 on August 15, 2011

We stayed at Gallets House last weekend and had a wonderful experience. Joan is a gracious hostess and made us feel like part of the family. Make sure you ask her about the history of the house. It's a great story.


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on July 12, 2011

My husband and I went to the Gallets House on our Honeymoon trip and we have been back three times in five years. The memories made at such a beautiful and wonderful place out in the country are just priceless. The rooms are cozy, comfortable, noise proof, clean, spacious and packed with everything a person would need, not to mention the nostalgic items from long ago of the family who once lived there add a special touch. The service is fantastic, anything we need or want is always taken care of, especially the delicious home-made breakfast made and served by Joan, the Innkeeper herself, and she asks if we would like more of everything, there is always a delicious snack put out and a cold drink or some tea or coffee for during the day! The price for everything here cannot be beat, it's worth every cent. The rooms and the entire place is so fresh and clean, I am amazed by all the work must be put into keeping this large house so clean all the time. We will be back next year to celebrate our anniversary again, I can't imagine going anywhere else.


Gallets House Review

3.6 on October 21, 2010

Very pleasant stay. Rooms were all very nice, house was very clean. Breakfast was good. Would recommend to a friend and I would return.


Gallets

5 on October 11, 2010

beautiful historical home, very comfortable room w/spa tub and many thoughtful extras. Atmosphere and hospitality were the best we've experienced. Breakfast was outstanding.


Very nice and we would stay again

5 on June 26, 2010

My wife and I came to Olean/Allegany for my college reunion in June 2010. We were upgraded to a different room with a larger bed because of a cancellation which was very nice. Joan made us feel at home in her house immediately and our room was clean and comfortable. This was our first stay in a B&B and it was a whole different experience that hotels. Breakfast each day was very filling and had a nice home made touch to it. We highly recommend staying here.


No disapointments.

4.0 on February 16, 2010

Highly recommended, had very relaxing weekend, food was excellent.


New Year's Eve & New Year's Day, 2010

5 on January 15, 2010

After a 9-hour drive to Allegany we were very warmly welcomed by innkeeper Joan and shown to our cozy room. My husband missed breakfast since he was up very early to go skiing, but I'm glad I stayed to enjoy the good coffee and delicious vegetarian breakast that Joan had prepared for me. We are innkeepers ourselves, so really understand what it takes to take care of guests. Joan and Gary, we were not disappointed! We'll be back!


The Cottage at Gallets House B&B

4.6 on January 02, 2010

My husband and I and 4 teens stayed at the Cottage for a ski weekend and we loved it! The Cottage was warm and comfortable, and the kitchen nicely equipped so that we could make our meals easily. Joan made us feel comfortable right from the start and was very accommodating.


Relaxation

4.0 on December 08, 2009

We loved the Gallets house. Great food, accomodations and friendly hostess.


Gallets House B&B

4.4 on September 25, 2009

Accomodations were very clean and comfortable. innkeepers were very friendly and food was wonderful! We will return!


Amazing!

5 on September 25, 2009

My new husband and I stayed here on our first night as husband and wife. It was the first time for either of us to stay in a B&B. We had been in the area earlier in the week so we decided to stop by and check it out. The owners gave us a full tour. The entire place is beautiful. We had to arrive after the regular check in time but the owners bent over backwards to work with us. I didn't know they made beds so soft! The breakfast of pancakes with real maple syrup and fresh fruit was spectacular. We can't wait to go back and stay there again someday!


Our Weekend Stay

4.0 on July 15, 2009

It was a great expierience, and Joan was a wonderful host. The breakfasts were great, especially the homemade strawberry rhubarb jam. Would stay here again.


nice stay

4.8 on May 19, 2009

nice stay


Very relaxing, long weekend

5 on April 07, 2009

Many years ago, I made up my mind to stay in B&Bs whenever possible. Our long weekend (four nights, five days) at Gallets House only reinforces that decision. Comfortable rooms and beds, generous breakfasts and a relaxed informal atmosphere are its hallmarks. For those of you with kids at the local university such as ourselves, the location is very convenient; less than 5 minutes drive to the St. Bonaventure campus. Many thanks to Joan and Gary for their generosity and flexibility. Best regards, Ray and Dina


Gallets House

4.4 on April 07, 2009

Charming, quaint place. Nice gift shop, awesome attic museum, very clean and comfortable, fun murder mystery dinner.


nice stay

4.2 on April 07, 2009

nice stay


Murder Mystery

4.8 on April 01, 2009

Although we were told the murder mystery was going to be 5 hours long, I felt it could have been shorter. Otherwise everything was wonderful. Barbara Tender


Beautiful

5 on March 29, 2009

The Gallet House is absolutely beautiful. Joan and Cheri were wonderful and very patient with us 9 women gabbing about. Cheri's children did an excellent job serving dinner and brunch. My bed was so comfortable. It was the first time I stayed at a B&B and would go again.


GALLETS HOUSE IS GREAT!

4.0 on February 25, 2009

When staying at a B&B i like to stay to myself and do things i would like to do. I have had pushy inkeepers in the past however Joan was absolutly wonderful. Showed us to our room and left us alone unless we needed something. The house and property is absolutly gorgeous!


very nice B&B

4.0 on February 12, 2009

would recommend


exceeded our expectations in ever aspect

4.0 on February 04, 2009

Hospitality is phenomenal!


Gallets House

4.6 on November 11, 2008

great stay! great service, very clean, food was good.


Gallets House

4.0 on November 03, 2008

nice stay. very relaxing. wonderful hosts


outstanding

5 on October 31, 2008

outstanding with everything!


great stay

4.6 on October 30, 2008

I would recommend to anyone.


Gallets House

5 on October 29, 2008

nice place to stay


Gallets House

5 on October 29, 2008

outstanding


outstanding

5 on October 28, 2008

great stay


Gallets House

4.6 on October 22, 2008

Lovely B&B. Fabulous breakfast. I will definitely visit again!


21st Century Victorian

4.0 on October 21, 2008

I stayed at Gallets House for two nights in October 2008. The house is fabulous: even the stuff has stuff! There's every wonderful Victorian element: oak woodwork, pocket doors, paintings, old wallpaper, a guest parlor, a game room/lounge in the old stone-walled basement with fridge and microwave for guests' use, formal dining room for breakfast. The rooms are wildly overdecorated, as is the whole place, really, but you don't mind because it's all so much fun. The Bosers, who run the place, are friendly and talkative, sometimes to the point where you'd like to get a word in of your own! But they're cheerful, helpful and genuinely considerate of their guests. The location is on a side road, so the b&b is very quiet, and convenient to attractions in the area. Only downsides: the TV in my room was tiny and stuck way up next to the ceiling, very hard to see, the reading lamp was insufficient to read in bed, and breakfast could have been substantially better. Otherwise, I loved the place and would certainly go back for another stay.

Innkeeper Response
We strive to do our best to make our guests comfortable and happy.We have added a larger TV to this room and moved the floor lamp that was in the room to the side of the bed. I serve juice, fruit,homemade breads, homemade jelly, muffins, foods like pancakes, french toast, omelets, quiche and offer guests extra helpings and I ask and take special request. Please just ask if you need anything more as I am very happy to see you have what you wish.


Gallets House B&B

4.8 on August 20, 2008

The stay was outstanding!


Outstanding

5 on July 30, 2008

When on business, this place was outstanding in every way.


outstanding

5 on July 29, 2008

We have stayed in many B and B's in our area, and Gallet House was by far the most beautiful,with so many extra touches to pamper us. The history of the house is amazing, as are the hosts for taking the time to tell it. We will most certainly come again!


Close to Cuba New York

5 on July 21, 2008

While I only had one night and a very tight schedual, Joan was totally cool about understanding my situation. She made me feel so welcome and I felt so safe and comfortable in her house. Her house, btw, is a beautiful, spotlessly clean, remarkably decorated victorian that is excellent condition. I loved everything about her house, even the gardens outside were beautiful although I did not have time to roam through them. I recommended her to the administration of the Western New York Alpaca Breeders, as a place to keep the judges for next years show. Joan knows how to be a great hostess, and next time I stay there I look forward to meeting her other half! Thanks Joan.... Breakfast was delicious and your place is first rate :)


An Oasis

4.8 on July 21, 2008

Lovely setting in the Enchanted Mountains of Western NY. Hospitality, Lodging, Meals, Comfort were outstanding! Highly recommend this "oasis" for a night - or a week!


Gallets House B&B

4.0 on July 18, 2008

An out of the way place. Very quaint! Beautiful redecorated to the 1896 era! Wonderful hospitality. Good food.


Top Notch

4.4 on July 15, 2008

Excellent accommodations at reasonable rates. Food was outstanding and hospitality A+. Would highly recommend a stay at the Gallets House.


Old Reliable

5 on July 14, 2008

We started staying at the Gallets House when Joan and Gary first opened. And we have been going back every year since then. Sometimes twice a year. We were staying at other B&B's in town until they opened. But nothing compared to the Hospitality that you will get at the Gallets House. Joan and Gary are like family now. Wouldn't think of staying any place else. John and Miriam Jobe, Poquoson, VA.


found treasure

5 on June 11, 2008

welcoming hospitality- clean, comfortable, relaxing and inviting. rooms- delicious food beautifully presented- beautiful rural setting- ideally located to local, county and state parks


Did good on 30th anniversary

5 on June 02, 2008

When we met Joan and Gary they made us feel like we where old friends. When they found out it was our 30th anniversary we where moved to another room.we totaled enjoyed our stay and would and have told other people about our stay keep up the good work and everyone who stays their will go away with warm memeries my spelling is not the greatest but you know what I ment.Thank You Joan and Gary


Wow! WHAT A GREAT PLACE TO RELAX AND ENJOY THE VISIT!

5 on May 26, 2008

Due to my plane's arrival being 2hrs late, I called Joan to let her know I would be much later than I had planned to arrive. She put me at ease and said she would await my arrival. I drove in from Buffalo and did not have a great map with me and Joan guided me to the Gallets House. Needless to say the room was excellent, the pie was just the right nightcap to help me relax after a very hard day of work and travel. The house exudes local history! I felt at home. both Joan and Gary are very accomodating hosts. When I come back to visit , i will stay at the Gallets House!


Gallets House B&B

5 on May 22, 2008

Excellent! Attended a murder mystery-group of 10 acquaintance's. Relaxing-fun-excellent food and accommodations.


Fantastic Get Away

4.8 on April 28, 2008

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Gallets House in April 08. We stayed in the Mary Elizabeth room which is the largest room, which we found to be very relaxing. Joan was a great host and cooks up a very nice breakfast. She also related the history of the inn and how she and Gary restored it 10 years earlier. The restoration was very nicely done. Part of the romance package was a gift certificate to The Old Library Restaurant in Olean. The the meal and atmosphere was a perfect compliment to our stay at the inn. We definitely hope to stay at the Gallets again in the not to distant future.


Gallets House

5 on January 24, 2008

This property is outstanding


Saved our wedding night!

5 on August 23, 2007

Last year, the Bosers saved our wedding night. We were married in Bradford, and we had reserved a room at a B & B there. The innkeeper must've decided that we weren't going to show up (even though I told him it would be later in the day when we arrived, and I had given him a credit card to hold the room), but he gave the room away. There was nothing else available in the region except for the Motel 6 in Olean! My mother-in-law's concierge found out that the cottage was available at Gallets House, and we were able to stay there for our wedding night. It was a wonderful place, and the Bosers were terrific. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful, too. I would definitely return to this B&B because it was a wonderful place, and the innkeepers were terrific. They saved our wedding night!


a weekend to remember

5 on June 27, 2007

We stayed at the Gallet's House for our anniversary, and had such a wonderful time! We purchased the romance package, and everything was just so perfect. The innkeepers, Joan and Gary, were so friendly and made us feel so welcome - you would have thought we had known them for years! The B&B was so well decorated, and the family history of the place is unbelievable with pictures everywhere to enjoy - we felt like we had taken a step back in history! Breakfast was delicious, and we sat and enjoyed it with other guests, just talking - even the innkeepers themselves took a little time out of their busy schedule to sit with us for breakfast one morning..how much more personable can you be than that! THe room and all the amenities offered here are just super. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, we oursleves hope to make a return visit sometime as well!!!!


Getaway to remember!

5 on April 30, 2007

Five couples (all related) went for the murder mystery dinner. Food was excellent, atmosphere was relaxing and Sherry was a great facilitator. We had a wonderful time. Breakfast was superb!


Wonderful place

5 on April 19, 2007

We stayed there for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was absolutely wonderful, relaxing and beautiful. Joan makes delicious breakfasts, and is very friendly. She is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area.


Gallets House B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $149
  • Reviews (62) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7163737493
  • Phone 1-7163730521
  • Fax 1-7168060384
  • Mobile 1-7163076342

Visit Website »

View details

Top