Recent Reviews in New Orleans, Louisiana

More then I ever wanted. at Magnolia Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

Great staff, a beautiful mansion and very comfortable bed. The mansion makes you feel like you have gone back in time with its beautiful decor. Jack is very personable and friendly. Tatiana is sweet and welcoming. I highly recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place - Great Lady at Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2016

I was situating my two girls at Loyola and found this amazing house and wonderful lady, Barbara makes you feel at home it was very pleasant in fact I wanted to stay there from Florida. :-)

View more reviews for this inn


A great experience. at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 22, 2016

We checked into Banana Courtyard for one night before departing on a cruise. Richard was an exceptional host and made us feel welcome and valued. He went out of his way to spoil us and served a wonderfully prepared and presented breakfast. I will return when in New Orleans next time.

View more reviews for this inn


Fairchild house B&B Anniversary Overnighter at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 22, 2016

My wife and I decided to stay overnight in the city to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We found the Fairchild after scouring websites for a place to stay overnight at a reasonable rate. The $$ for hotels in New Orleans is outrageous. Although we arrived early (11:00 am), Miss Beatriz checked us in, showed us all around the B&B, let us park in their secured parking area and gave us a key to the gate that secures the property. Our room, #16,was a second floor room. The room was a good size and had its own bathroom. Remember, this bldg is probably 100 years old, so yes, the floor creaked a bit and had a bit of a slant in places, but doesn't that really add character ? The room was very clean as well as the bathroom. Towels were great. Furniture was old and mis-matched, but once again, adds to the character. The room had a super cold mini-fridge, coffee maker and cable TV. We didn't have the breakfast, but I'm sure it would of been perfectly acceptable. Overall, The Fairchild helped make our anniversary Overnighter memorable.

View more reviews for this inn


Lanaux Stay at Lanaux Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on May 22, 2016

Such a beautiful place to stay and walking distance to Frenchman street and the French quarter.

View more reviews for this inn


Second visit and I will go back at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.4 reviewed on May 20, 2016

We went to New Orleans for a visit to WWII Museum and we could walk to the museum from Fairchild House. From check in to check out everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and very quiet. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room is beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect New Orleans Stay! at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2016

Loved this place!! It's the ideal place for an authentic experience of New Orleans...lovely home, beautifully comfortable room, awesome porch and it is super easy to get anywhere - street car right out front but also easy to walk so many places! Joe and BeBe are fantastic and knowledgeable too! Can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT LOCATION VERY FRIENDLY at HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on May 20, 2016

Convenient to bus lines, French Quarter walkable but a good stretchof thelegs

View more reviews for this inn


Charming at Lanaux Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2016

Charming b&b filled with history and a darling owner willing to share stories in a great location !

View more reviews for this inn


Elysian Fields Stay During Jazz Fest at Elysian Fields Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on May 19, 2016

Perhaps the most outstanding aspect of Elysian Fields, in addition to your categories, was the friendliness and helpfulness of our hosts. Thank You!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience!!! at Lanaux Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2016

Ruth was very warm and welcoming! Everything about the Lanaux Mansion was Awesome!! Highly recommend! Well worth the drive from Indiana

View more reviews for this inn


I at The Green House Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 18, 2016

The bed/mattress was not the greatest. Too soft. The bed frame made noises like it might fall. The pool was dirty. Needed to be cleaned of tree leaves, pollen, etc. The Innkeepers were very nice and helpful!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at The Green House Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 18, 2016

As soon as we walked into the beautiful green mansion we were greeted with a warm welcome and helpful information for our stay in New Orleans. That welcome feeling and helpfulness never left. Did I mention the pool? Amazing! We were so very impressed with the Green House Inn and thankful for the stupendous customer service. Make a trip to New Orleans if only to stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Personal Touches at La Belle Esplanade (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2016

La Belle is set apart from other B&Bs, not by the beautiful, historic neighborhood centered halfway between the French Quarter and City Park.....La Belle is unique because the engaging hosts, Melanie and Matthew, pay attention to detail, and more importantly take a personal interest in their guests. So while my stay in the spacious, delightful Pelican Suite was comfortable, it was the handwritten notes before and !fter my visit and the warm conversations throughout the days that made my visit most memorable. Yes, Melanie and Matthew, you indeed made a friend. With a hug.

View more reviews for this inn


Lions Inn at Lions Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.2 reviewed on May 15, 2016

Great location for activities in NOLA, with an outdoor oasis for relaxing. Great Inn keeper. Spotless clean. Easy walk to French quarter and hidden gem local dining.

View more reviews for this inn


Everything I had hoped for! at Magnolia Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed in The Vampire Lovers Lair. The room was everything I had imagined it. Staff was very friendly and addressed me by my name as well as took the time to get to know myself and my husband, what brought us to New Orleans, and if we had ideas of what sort of things we wanted to do while in town. I actually felt like I was a personal guest and not just a customer. Linens were very clean and the mattresses actually have protective covers on them, and not the crappy vinyl ones, actual comfortable cloth ones. While there isn't staff there on a consistent basis, you are given the key to the main gate and front doors, all of which instantly lock, so I felt very safe and secure and liked that everyone could come and go as they pleased even through the night.There were some areas around the hotel that could have used some maintenance, such as some cracked areas on the porch but considering the structure was built in the early to mid 1800's, I don't expect it to be perfect even under pristine care. I absolutely loved every moment of my stay at Magnolia Mansion and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


all the comforts of home at Crescent City Guest House (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2016

every imaginable item you need from breakfast to mosquito spray and umbrellas are available. Coffee was made each morning fresh and delicious. The guest rooms were not funky, but warm and inviting.! Definitely will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Best place in the world and beyond at HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2016

What a fantastic place. we were so happy and comfortable staying there we couldn't say enough its indescribable. Its like home, in fact its better then home... we most certainly will be back and we have already recommended this to family and friends, though we did want to keep all to ourselves. Glen, Randy thank you both so much we love you guys, and I'm holding Randy to his word on those smoked ribs. Thank you so much. Randall and Anita

View more reviews for this inn


Lanaux Mansion stay at Lanaux Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.2 reviewed on May 11, 2016

Such a beautiful place to stay in New Orleans. Lovely old mansion, close to all the action on Frenchman street and only a short walk to the French quarter. Our host Ruth was very helpful with all our needs going out of her way when I required a gluten free breakfast. Thanks for your hospitality Ruth.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

3.8 reviewed on May 11, 2016

Great value location with available free parking in N.O. Only 1 block to walk to Street Car and several dining venues. The owner is so nice and she and her staff are knowledgeable and helpful with info on what to do and how to get there. Stayed in Room 18 which was a ground floor suite back away from the tree-lined street, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient for a B&B with mostly cold cereals, breads, yogurt, and cake but the atmosphere and the friendliness make up for the non-IHOP menu. We usually stay in big name hotels, but the prices in N.O. are exorbitant, so this is a wonderful alternative. The beautiful old buildings are so quaint looking on the quiet shady side street, it feels like coming home after a long day of sightseeing in the hustle and bustle of downtown. Thanks Beatriz and Nicole for a lovely 3 days.

View more reviews for this inn


As Always, Excellent!! at Creole Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 09, 2016

Kim and Charlie are the best innkeepers in NOLA.

View more reviews for this inn


It's Great at Hubbard Mansion Bed & Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2016

Loved everything about our stay. But the very top on the list are the people there. Don and Shelia are fabulous!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


friendly, homey at The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 09, 2016

Carl was a most pleasant host. I was travelling with my 3 sons and he made a point of learning all our names and greeting us each morning by name. The breakfast was far more than I expected and Carl was nice enough to join us each day. He provided us extra festival chairs for the jazz fest which saved us time and money. I'll be sure to book a room here again on my next stay and will pass along the address to anybody I know coming to New Orleans. Brian Milburn, Clinton, MA

View more reviews for this inn


Nice, good value at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on May 08, 2016

Overtall a good experience. Great house, beautiful furniture, excellent dinner. However the cleanliness of the room is questionable, especially around the toilet, dust on the shades, etc. The electrical installation is outdated: impossible to put the light on (string broken), safety is questionable. Breakfast is too heavy for European stomaches. Excellent welcome and service quality.

View more reviews for this inn


Lions inn at Lions Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 07, 2016

The room was fabulous, the bed super comfortable and the location about 5 blocks from the french quarter. Host was helpful and approachable. Pity the state changed the rule around wine and cheese time.

View more reviews for this inn


The only plantation where you can sleep and have dinner inside the main house at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2016

Angie is a very nice house keeper. The house is like a museum-plantation. It's very quiet and with many charms: decoration, furniture. The dinner and the breakfast at the large table shared by all the guests wee really nice. A little bit pricey. The only problem has been the difficulty to find the house since there are two parallel roads along the river. The house is on road 308, not on road 1. This is correctly indicated on the map.

View more reviews for this inn


A charming, comfortable, convenient place to stay in NOLA at Lanaux Mansion (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on May 06, 2016

I stayed in the Cottage at Lanaux Mansion for 3 days in April 2016. The Cottage is decorated with charming art, antiques, and textiles. It faces an interior courtyard, and access to the street is through a locked door in a high privacy fence. The Cottage has plenty of light (through large windows with drapes that can be closed for privacy). There is a nicely equipped kitchen, water cooler with spring water, frig, oven,etc. Pastries and fruit are brought to the unit daily. The bathroom was clean, elegant, and small but very functional. There were plenty of back-up towels/wash cloths available. The management and staff just want to make their visitors happy and comfortable. I felt safe and content in my charming Cottage. Location was perfect for me - a short walk from my children's house in the Marigny. It's also a fairly short walk in the other direction to the Quarter. Loved it and will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place to stay in New Orleans at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters (New Orleans, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2016

Right on the edge of the French Quarter, the Jazz Quarters is the perfect place to stay. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. However, Lorraine and Robert made our stay just wonderful, showing fantastic hospitality and local knowledge coupled with just the best breakfasts ever and Lorraine's sparkling wardrobe and personality brightens any traveller's day! We would thoroughly recommend choosing the Jazz Quarters!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast (New Orleans, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 03, 2016

Beatriz and her staff were great! They gave us suggestions and ideas of where to go and checked in to make sure that we were enjoying the city. The room was adorable and the bedding was awesome. Loved the white down.......absolutely comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at Lions Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on May 02, 2016

The location is perfect in a quiet street and not to far from action of the French Quarter.

View more reviews for this inn


About New Orleans

If there’s ever been a story of passion and resilience, it’s that of New Orleans. Although four-fifths of the city was underwater less than 10 years ago following Hurricane Katrina, the Big Easy has emerged bigger and better than ever. Everywhere you turn, this American melting pot displays remnants of its historic French, Spanish and American past - a perfect Creole mixture of dazzling restaurants, unbelieveable shopping, jazz music and top attractions. Whether you’re making the trip for Mardi Gras or want to see the birthplace of Louis Armstrong, once you visit New Orleans you’ll never want to leave. Top Attractions Without a doubt, the premier attraction in New Orleans is the French Quarter. Happily situated on a crescent-shaped piece of land on the banks of the Mississippi River, the French Quarter is New Orleans’ cultural hub and contains historic landmarks such as Jackson Square, the French Market, and the neighborhood''s iconic cast-iron balconies. It’s a favorite area among visiting celebrities and is home to The New Orleans Jazz National Historic Park, which celebrates the city’s legacy as the birthplace of jazz music. Couples will absolutely want to spend a raucous evening visiting the bar scene on the world-famous Bourbon Street, while sports fans may want to catch a football game at the New Orleans Saints’ newly renovated Mercedes-Benz Superdome - home of the 2012 Super Bowl. For the more culturally inclined, the Big Easy also has some world-class museums, like the National World War II Museum, New Orleans Museum of Art and Backstreet Cultural Museum, which celebrates the city’s unique cultural traditions, like jazz funerals. Also not to miss are the city’s many historic homes, including the Hermann-Grima House, which will show you what life was like for a Creole family in the 19th century. Things to Do New Orleans is well-known for its music festivals so if you can plan your trip to take part in the Jazz & Heritage Festival or French Quarter Fest, do it! To get to know the city, take a stroll through Woldenberg or City parks, and spend an evening on Frenchman Street, where New Orleans’ philosophers, artists and musicians gather. If you prefer going on a tour rather than exploring on your own, check out Crescent City Bike Tours to get an up-close look at New Orleans’ most historic areas. The city’s unique above-ground cemeteries are also a major tourist attraction - be sure to stop by Lafayette Cemetery, which is a popular location for shooting films and was Mark Twain’s inspiration for a scene in “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.” Top Restaurants A Southern culinary hot spot, New Orleans has churned out some pretty famous chefs - Emeril Lagasse, anyone? If you get a chance, check out his famous restaurant on Tchoupitoulas Street in the heart of the city’s Warehouse District and try to snag a seat at the chef’s Food Bar overlooking the kitchen. If you’re looking for a romantic spot, have dinner and drinks on the patio of Café Degas. A petite bistro located on Esplande Avenue, Café Degas provides an intimate setting that will give you a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Irene’s Cuisine in the French Quarter is another fantastic romantic restaurant - while it has a long wait (it’s incredibly popular), the osso buco makes it all worth it. Of course, you can’t leave New Orleans without having one of its famous po’boys, and no one makes them better than Parkway Bakery & Tavern. They use bread from the legendary Leidenheimer Bakery and have been doing what they do best for more than 100 years. Finish up your visit to New Orleans at Café du Monde to munch on some sumptuous beignets. Travel tips When planning your trip to New Orleans, book a flight into Louis Armstrong International Airport, which is just 15 miles from downtown.

Top
}