Taos Country Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
47 Reviews

Write A Review

Taos' Best kept secret

4.8 on September 30, 2014

We spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Taos Country Inn and couldn't be more pleased. Yolanda is wonderful and so is the inn. A little hard to find but well worth the effort. Minutes from the plaza but on the edge of town so it is quiet and wonderful. We will be back!


Idyllic B&B

5 on August 21, 2014

My husband has never been particularly enthusiastic about staying at a b&b. However, once he saw the Taos Country Inn website, he readily agreed to my making a reservation. We weren't disappointed - our room was spacious, comfortable and pristine. Housekeeping was completely unobtrusive and our room was spotlessly kept. The breakfast was plentiful, varied and delicious. However, the very best thing about the TCI is Yolanda. There are many other reviews posted earlier than this one that extoll this exceptional woman. The authors do not exaggerate - Taos Country Inn is beautiful but Yolanda makes it extraordinary. If you're really looking for peace, solitude and wish to restore yourself, this is the place.


Aptly named inn

3.4 on July 17, 2014

Located quite a ways out of town (had to drive everywhere). Innkeeper Yolanda was very helpful in local recommendations, Restaurants, sightseeing, museums, etc. Nice choice if you want a peaceful, rural setting, but definitely far removed from the action.


Great B&B!

4.6 on May 26, 2014

This was our first time in Taos. We really appreciated all the help we got about places to see, things to do, restaurants to try. Definitely recommended!


Spacious, quiet and delicious

4.2 on March 23, 2014

Great place to stay with a country feel but close to town. Excellent breakfast and very helpful host.


Country B&B on the edge of Town

3.6 on November 01, 2013

My husband & I spent four nights at the Taos Country Inn. Our Host Yolanda made our stay exceptionally nice. She treats all her guest as friends. Our suite was wonderful. I chose a room with the 8 ft. vanity which was outside of the bathroom with shower over tub & toilet. We had patio doors overlooking the orchard. Wonderful down comforter on the bed and the ceiling was so beautiful. The breakfast bar had a nice fruit, cheese & cereal selection and then every morning we had an additional hot entree. Definitely would go back again if in Taos.


Taos Country Inn

4.4 on October 19, 2013

We had a very nice stay. Recommend it highly.


Everything Was Perfect!

5 on October 16, 2013

This place was a dream come true! Gorgeous setting, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, tasty well-water, firm beds, roomy shower with high nozzle and hot water, gracious & helpful owner Yolanda and a huge communal sitting area in front of a fire. Not to be missed!


Quiet Country Inn

3.8 on October 10, 2013

This secluded spot on the west side of Taos is very rural and peaceful. Tip: download map and instructions from inn website and follow carefully. The common area is light filled with large open space and fireplace, conducive to meeting other guests. Yolanda is a very attentive innkeeper and immediately gave us restaurant menus with suggestions as to where to go and what to see in Taos. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit and hot fritatta one morning and waffles the next. The room was very large and comfortable, but could use a bit of sprucing up. Tiles in bath were loose and cracks in grout, but basically clean. I would probably book there again if I went to Taos. Somewhat pricey, but I don't know how it compares with other inns in Taos.


Stay here!

4.8 on August 09, 2013

A delightful place to stay in Taos! The host, Yolanda, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Our room was spacious and beautiful. The artwork throughout the house was both tasteful and perfect for the space. We will definitely return.


Outstanding!

5 on July 10, 2013

The inn keeper, Yolanda was fantastic! She was so friendly and helpful, so that we would get the most out of our stay. She recommended the best places to dine, shop and visit. Here inn is beautiful on 14 acres- a haven just 5 mins. outside the busy area of town. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was the best! We will definitely return!


Excellent Place to Stay

4.0 on July 03, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our brief stay here for our honeymoon. We look forward to going back in the future.


Very relaxing

4.8 on June 07, 2013

Innkeeper, Yolanda, is great. Very helpful with area and places to see, things to do. Breakfast perfect. Location close to town but out of the way, secluded.


A Pleasant Surprise!!

4.4 on January 15, 2013

My wife and I were traveling through New Mexico on our way back to San Diego after staying in Denver for over a month for the birth of our first grand child. It just happened to be New Year's Eve and we made a last minute decision to detour off Interstate 25 and spend the night in Taos. We Googled for places to stay and managed to get lucky and snagged the last room at the Taos County Inn. When we arrived after a tense day driving in a snowstorm, the owner (Yolanda) surprised us with an upgrade to much larger suite at no additional cost. The suite was open due to a last minute cancellation. We lucked out again with last minute dinner reservations at Lambert's in downtown Taos and had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner. The next morning, Yolanda served an awesome breakfast making our quick and unexpected stopover in Taos a perfect little getaway and nice beginning to 2013.


Felt like home!

4.8 on January 14, 2013

Will not stay anywhere else in Taos. Rooms needed a tad bit of cosmetic repair wotk done, but other than that ( which was overlooked easily), best experience I have had away from home!


Beautiful and relaxing

4.8 on November 15, 2012

Taos Country Inn was tucked away off the main road, providing a quiet and relaxing stay. Spacious, clean room with comfy bed. Excellent breakfast and Yolanda was the friendliest, knowledgeable hostess, offering maps, info, and menus to local restaurants. Close drive to the plaza. I'll definitely stay there again!


great stay

5 on October 05, 2012

x


very nice and peacefull place

3.0 on September 25, 2012

a wonderful room,Yolanda is very friendly and she let us choose our room as we were the only guests this day.we will recommand this B&B


Clean and Friendly

4.0 on August 29, 2012

The owner is very friendly. The rooms are very clean. The window hardware were broken. The sink was missing a stopper. The place needs some maintenance. The TV channel changer did not work, and the TV is pretty small. It was very quiet and we enjoyed our time there.


Great place in a hideaway place

5 on August 12, 2012

Off the beaten track, very pleasant grounds and rooms. Will go again.


Wonderful trip!

4.4 on July 05, 2012

Enjoyed our trip very much! I just wish it would have been cooler:( Air Conditioner in room would have been nice though. But over all we thoroughly enjoyed our trip!


Great hostess and hospitality

3.4 on January 21, 2012

Yolanda was a gracious hostess, very welcoming, and helpful during our stay. Unfortunately, the room and especially the bathroom needed updating and refreshing. The common areas were pristine and very well done. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the friendly atmosphere, and visiting with other guests.


Meeting friends to celebrate the year-end

4.4 on January 13, 2012

Lovely spot; gracious hostess and innkeeper;beautiful surroundings. A great place to meet our friends and spend a relaxing couple of days.


Taos in October

4.6 on October 30, 2011

The Taos Country Inn was absolutely wonderful. The trees on the property were in beautiful fall colors. Our host Yolanda gave us wonderful dining suggestions and we felt right at home. Wonderful breakfasts, shopping and restful times, we highly recommend staying here.


Our stay at Taos Country Inn

5 on October 25, 2011

We stayed one night there and it was just beautiful!!! So quiet and peaceful. The hacienda is just beautiful, a true southwestern experience! We heard coyotes yipping after dark!!! And the Milky Way was just spectacular!! Beautifully decorated breakfast room, a wonderful breakfast and superb coffee!! Yolanda who owns and runs this B&B is the most welcoming, charming and lovely lady that you will ever meet! Go in mid October when the aspens are in high color!!! We will always remember Taos Country Inn with warm memories....it was just too short of a stay! If we are ever in Taos again, this is where we will stay!! Loved it!!!


NM Taos for B&M

3.0 on October 08, 2011

This place is not easy to find even with a GPS system but once there very nice ambience. The common areras were great and the room too with the caviot below. I rated the rooms and dining category a little low for the following reasons: Four of the six case windows would not open because of broken cranks and the patio door had no screen so the only way to get ventilation (no AC) was to open the two remaining case windows (side by side) and the door into the unit (not ideal!) and in terms of dining, I had upon booking told the hostess I was a diabetic and would not eat any sugar based breakfast - that said one of our breakfasts was pancakes and syrup.


Taos Country Inn

4.0 on October 03, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the peace and quiet of Taos Country Inn. Close to downtown but felt rural. Yolanda made excellent recommendations for dining and sight seeing. Rooms were spacious and clean. We will come back!


Excellent weekend away from the hussel and bussel of the city

4.2 on September 21, 2011

Yolanda was a very great host. Friendly, a joy to talk to and a really nice lady. We'll definately go back in the future.


A Good Feel in Taos

5 on September 12, 2011

Far exceeded our expectations. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Located just outside town, the Inn allows easy access to downtown Taos, as well as peace and quiet at the Inn. The Innkeeper, Yolanda, made the stay special; she is a wonderful person. Kevin & Joan Gill


Lovely spot

4.2 on August 10, 2011

The room was more spacious than I expected. The setting was very lovely and peaceful. An ideal spot to chill out. Yolanda was gracious and helpful.


Taos Country Inn

3.2 on July 25, 2011

Adobe building was lovely, room was large with a fireplace but no air conditioning and only one window opened with no screen. Yolanda was informative but not available beyond breakfast and check-in. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Ice machine was broken, generally you don't have an ice machine in a bed and breakfast, but in such a hot climate you'd think it would be maintained for guests who go hiking or just want to stay hydrated. Grounds were lovely, saw elk and heard coyotes. Passable but probably won't return as would prefer more amenities for the expense.


Perfect, Quiet Getaway

4.2 on July 03, 2011

Our host Yolanda was there with welcoming arms, helpful suggestions on places to go and even special shops for our interests and hobbies. She took the time to get to know you if you wanted it, and shared a little of herself as well. The furnishings of her Inn were beautiful quality pieces reflective of the Southwest culture. The creek nearby was peaceful and great for a walk.


We loved Taos Country Inn

5 on June 19, 2011

This gem of a house is tucked away outside of town in a very picturesque area. You feel like you're away in the country, down a dirt road and crossing over a stream. So quiet and peaceful. We felt like we were visiting a favorite cousin rather than completing a business transaction. And the dog was sweet too. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.


First Class B&B

5 on May 29, 2011

A week spent in the Taos Country Inn was the most perfect way to vacation at Taos. The rural location on the outskirts of town topped off one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at. As well travelled Australians, we know when we have struck gold! Everything was outstanding, but the characteristic not mentioned on the website was the delightful and engaging Yolanda. Her tips for hiking, eating, shopping and museums were excellent. Anne and Stan, Brisbane, Australia


Super quiet get-away

3.8 on May 27, 2011

Yolanda does everything possible to make your stay comfortable and personal. Rosie however is the one who has the hardest job of insuring everything is secure and in it's place.


A fabulous May get away

4.8 on May 25, 2011

This is a very gracious and welcoming adobe compound. The location is superb with beautiful vistas, quiet and natural surroundings but only a short distance from the Taos Plaza. The crowning piece though is Yolanda, the owner and innkeeper. Her energy, warmth and knowledge is extraordinary.


Yolanda is the best!

4.4 on May 18, 2011

Yolanda is friendly, informative, a marvelous cook and big hearted, welcoming you into her home in her motherly but not smothering way. We sorely needed some R&R after a grueling work schedule and the peace and quiet of her lovely home was just what we needed. We're already planning another trip back. Thanks for making our first trip to Taos so special! Bob and Peggy, Anchorage, AK


Third stay as great as the first!

5 on May 15, 2011

This is our third stay at Taos Country Inn. We loved it the first time and still do. About a mile from town, it's in a quiet, pastoral setting. All the rooms are large and comfy. Yolanda is a wonderful host. We already plan to visit again this year.


Delightful stay

5 on May 11, 2011

We were thrilled with our stay in Taos. The suite was spacious, clean and nicely furnished in southwest decor. Yolanda was wonderful. She gave us tips on what to see and where to dine. We would highly recommend the Taos Country Inn, and would definitely stay there again on a future visit to Taos.


A Wonderful B&B in Taos, NM

4.2 on April 02, 2011

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed the Taos Country Inn. We will stay at the Inn during our next trip to Taos. Bruce A.


Taos Country Inn

2.6 on March 04, 2011

We reserved online at BB.com for a 'luxury suite.' When we arrived, the innkeeper was not there and left us a note to let ourselves in and where our room was located. We found our room, which was much smaller (and less expensive) than the one we had reserved. There was no explanation from her in her note or upon our arrival. We looked online, found the room we were supposed to be in, and promptly called her. She acknowledged it was a different room and that she had moved us because of a 'loud' child near the room we had originally booked. She did move us to the correct room, however, it did not have enough wash clothes or firewood to build a fire (as offered in the room description). The 'king' size bed was also two twins put together. The linens were clean, but worn, along with the other furnishings. The common areas were nice and breakfast was good.


Anniversary getaway!

4.4 on January 27, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Taos Country Inn. Yolanda was fantastic! She had marvelous information and suggestions about the Taos area. We thoroughly enjoyed our mornings chatting with her! The food was great - loved the banana/nut pancakes-yum! And our room was fabulous. Our anniversary weekend was very memorable! We will definitely be back!


Would recommend

4.0 on January 16, 2011

Very nice little place with excellent service. Short drive from the Taos Plaza. Very knowledgable staff.


Wonderful experience

4.8 on January 05, 2011

Yolanda is amazing! She made us feel like we were her own children. We loved our stay here. Beautiful scenery and great service!


A great hide-away!

4.6 on October 26, 2010

The Taos Country Inn is a real gem, especially if you want to get away from the noise and bustle of a big city. The rooms are wonderful. The night sky was awesome - nothing but stars! Breakfast was yummy. But the best of all was Yolanda, the hostess. She is warm, treats you like family, has great stories, and is so helpful showing you where to go and how to get there. Gracias Yolanda!


Excellent experience

4.6 on October 08, 2010

This is the best Bed and Breakfast I have stayed in to date. The location was relaxing and away from traffic. I cut my excursions short some days just to go "home" and relax on the patio. Yolanda's breakfast menu was great as well as her company. She made us feel like family.


We will be back!

4.8 on July 28, 2010

We stayed 6 nights and Yolanda made our stay wonderful! The b&b is well situated from town, very quiet, and is distinctly upscale. There are wild horses, prairie dogs and coyotes that I watched from the patio! A beautiful view to the west of the mesa. We sat and read our whole last day in the spacious main room because of the view and the quiet. Thanks Yolanda! - Joe and Mary Ann


Taos Country Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $150
  • Reviews (47) 4.4
  • Rooms 8

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5757584900
  • Fax 1-5757580331
  • Toll free 1-8008666548

Visit Website »

View details

Top