Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

Hacienda Nicholas and Madeline Inn

5 on November 21, 2013

I have been staying at the Hacienda Nicholas and Madeline Inn for over 20 years and each time I am sad to leave. I would like to stay a month. Whether alone, as a couple, or with friends the innkeepers made you feel welcome and totally comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding, the ambience soothing, and the staff inviting. I recommend these two inns to all my friends--they are forever grateful.


Short Break

3.8 on October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night recently. Very nice location within as easy walk from the plaza and Canyon Road. Wonderful rooms and staff. We have stayed twice previously and will definitely go back.


My stay in the Hacienda Nicholas

5 on July 26, 2013

We would highly recommend a stay in THE COTTAGE. We enjoyed the privacy of the garden, and because it is dog friendly, our Chow-Pei dog had a great time running around free, while I sat in our private patio, enjoying puffing on my pipe with a glass of wine. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the well tended garden and all the extra 'personal touches' that made the experience very pleasant. The parking area was ample and clean, and among the amenities provided were towels and soap, had I wished to clean my car or my dog. We went to the 'social hour' at the HACIENDA NICHOLAS where we chatted with other guests over a bottle of wine and a variety of tasty snacks. The breakfast of blue corn and blueberry waffles was delicious and the friendly staff made our stay a memorable one.


Hacienda Nicholas

4.8 on October 30, 2011

Staff -- knowledge, welcoming -- willing to take time to visit, hep out. Location -- within walking distance of historic Santa Fe. Food -- flavorful, choice, generous regional offering. Gathering spot -- informal, welcoming.


Feeling at home at the Hacienda

4.4 on August 20, 2011

Have stayed at the Hacienda each time I come to Santa Fe, and the experience is always comfortable, friendly, and warm. Ask for the Sunflower Suite if available---it's my personal fave. Breakfasts are excellent, and you'll often see the owner in the morning, with her warm and gracious manner. Can't wait for my next visit.


Recent stay at Hacienda Nicholas

3.6 on April 21, 2011

Our recent stay at Hacienda Nicholas was all we could have hoped for when we booked it online. Our Wisteria room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was abundant and delicious, and afternoon snacks were terrific. Best of all was the warm and wonderful ambiance enhanced by a cozy fire in the great room and the sunny garden courtyard where guests gathered, chatted and shared their adventures in Santa Fe. Our hostess, Carolyn, and her assistant, Merrilee, were extremely helpful, and made us feel so much at home. We would love to visit again in the future.


Santa Fe get-away!

4.6 on April 18, 2011

Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.A very pleasant experience! Both Inns allow easy access to Santa Fe, yet also quiet and private


What a great stay!

5 on April 14, 2011

We arrived. We were enchanted by this lovely B&B. We did not want to leave. We want to go back...now! What a lovely time we had at Hacienda Nicholas. It has great rustic charm, a warm and welcome feel about the place. We enjoyed our casita; everything was just right. We especially enjoyed the homey gathering space where we joined with others each night at 5 p.m. for wine and other treats. We met some great people, and even went out with one couple for pizza. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our very favorite was Merrilee, who went out of her way to make us feel welcome. The breakfasts were tasty and hearty. Homemade cookies were available 24/7. I have nothing but good to say about this wonderful B & B. Also, you could not ask for a better location, just a couple of blocks from the plaza at the center of town. Perfect!


Fantastic Visit

5 on April 02, 2011

Our visit to the Hacienda was FANTASTIC. The atmosphere of the entire property is unique. The rooms, art work and bedding were top notch. The surroundings outdoors beautiful, the breakfasts delectable. Location to plaza perfect ,the over all comfort phenomenal. We had a hard time leaving the Hacienda. Kristena, Aspen, Colorado


Loved our trip

4.2 on March 31, 2011

We had a great time and would stay at the Hacienda Nicholas again!


Not bad, but I had hoped for more.

2.6 on March 17, 2011

My stay at the Hacienda Nicholas was pleasant enough. The staff friendly, and the location was quite good. The rooms are a lot smaller than the photos suggest, and the rugs, upholstery, and fixtures a bit shabby with wear and use. Perhaps that's Santa Fe rustic, but I thought things could use a spruce up, and frankly expected a bit more given the prices. Food was typical B+B food, nothing particularly remarkable, but not bad either.

Innkeeper Response
I would like to preface my response by saying that we at Hacienda Nicholas go out of our way to encourage feedback, placing forms titled “A Complaint is a Gift” in all guest rooms. We ask guests to let us know right away if there are any issues that need to be resolved so they can have an optimal stay. I regret that these particular guests did not let us know of their dissatisfaction while they were at the inn. Availability permitting, we would have moved them to a room more to their liking. It would appear that their initial complaint was the room size, so I am assuming that they chose one of smaller and value-priced rooms. We do not use any trick photography to make the rooms appear larger than they are. In March these rooms are priced from $125-140, making them the lowest-priced B&B rooms in downtown Santa Fe. As for the ‘shabby and worn’ comment - we are constantly replacing and refurbishing items throughout the inn and I will initiate another thorough inspection to see what might need more sprucing up. We just had new carpet put down in all the inside rooms, the floor rugs are just over 2 years old, and most chairs are leather. There are two upholstered loved seats in the common room, and after a long winter in front of the fireplace, they could no doubt use a cleaning. I have arranged for that to happen this very week. The cleaners will also be doing their annual spring cleaning of all area rugs. All of our wooden furniture is distressed, as we are going for a more rustic look. Regarding the food, I honestly don’t know how to respond to this. We consistently get rave reviews on our breakfasts and sell many cookbooks to people who want to re-create our breakfasts at home. I take this and all guest comments very seriously and will certainly do my best to provide a welcoming, comfortable and positive experience for all of our guests.


We hope to return again and again and again.......

5 on March 13, 2011

Our recent stay at the Hacienda Nicholas exceeded our expectations in every possible way. Our suite was lovely......well decorated, comfortable with all the necessary amenities to assure we had everything we needed. At a B&B the little things count.....corkscrew for wine, wine glasses, cloth napkins and table ware in the event of a "in the room" picnic.....it was all there. We cannot say enough out the staff.......each person we spoke with was helpful and friendly. The innkeepers in particular went out of their way to be helpful; Merrilee and Greg recommended hikes, restaurants, museum exhibitions, shared photos of beautiful places to visit and prepared breakfasts and "afternoon snacks" that were out of this world. This is a destination we want to come back to.......Joan and Ken.


Top Notch

4.6 on March 10, 2011

My first stay in Santa Fe and this B&B is as good as it gets. To add to the outstanding location and accommodations the staff are helpful, friendly and courteous. You will not have any regrets at choosing Hacienda Nicholas for your stay.


Wonderful home away from home

4.2 on February 28, 2011

We have stayed at many B&Bs in and around Santa Fe. This one is one of our favorites!


Valentines Getaway

4.6 on February 16, 2011

We just finished a great getaway at Hacienda Nicholas and found it to be one of the most charming inns we have ever visited. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location of the inn was perfect for walking to the plaza, restaurants, the Canyon Road galleries and Museum Hill was a short 10 minute drive away. The food at the Inn was outstanding. The room was very comfortable, Kiva fireplace with daily firewood provided a cozy atmosphere. I recommend it highly.


Best Bed and Breakfast by far!

4.8 on March 01, 2010

Anna at Hacienda Nicolas was warm and inviting. There was a snow storm the day we arrived and she waited up for us and kept calling to check in on us. Carolyn the inn keeper was also more than willing to help us and make sure our stay was memorable. The breakfast every morning was the best! They also served wine and a snack in the afternoon which was a plus after a full day of adventure. The bed and breakfast was within walking distance to everything. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and will visit again!


what a great place!

4.8 on August 03, 2009

we stayed 2 nights and felt like family. it was just wonderful - the innkeeper (anna) greeted us and made sure we felt comfortable with the property. the cocktails/snacks were delightful and breakfast was such a treat! the room was a bit cramped but we didn't stay in it much with there being so much to do so close by. there's a small community park across the street which was an added bonus since we traveled with our golden retriever. we so enjoyed mingling with the other guests too - we would definitely book to stay there again if our travels take us to santa fe.


I love Santa Fe

5 on July 16, 2008

Whether it's location that you're looking for (a short walk from the plaza), good food (Anna prepares gourmet breakfasts and Kevin's cookies are "the best"), comfortable beds (top-of-the line), peace and quiet, charming decor and gardens, Hacienda Nicholas provides it all. River handles the reservations with efficiency and friendliness. Owner Carolyn doesn't miss any details in making sure all guests have a pleasant stay. In my four stays at the Hacienda Nicholas (with my husband, with my grand-daughter, and with a group of college pals), fellow guests have been friendly, but have also allowed for privacy. Don't miss the wine and cheese in the afternoon--a setting which provides a great opportunity to hear others' adventures in Santa Fe sight-seeing. Hacienda Nicholas, along with the Madeleine Inn, rates an A-plus in my book!


The energy

5 on July 16, 2008

Whether it's location that you're looking for (a short walk from the plaza), good food (Anna prepares gourmet breakfasts and Kevin's cookies are "the best"), comfortable beds (top-of-the line), peace and quiet, charming decor and gardens, Hacienda Nicholas provides it all. River handles the reservations with efficiency and friendliness. Owner Carolyn doesn't miss any details in making sure all guests have a pleasant stay. In my four stays at the Hacienda Nicholas (with my husband, with my grand-daughter, and with a group of college pals), fellow guests have been friendly, but have also allowed for privacy. Don't miss the wine and cheese in the afternoon--a setting which provides a great opportunity to hear others' adventures in Santa Fe sight-seeing. Hacienda Nicholas, along with the Madeleine Inn, rates an A-plus in my book!


I love Adobe Homes

5 on July 14, 2008

We just had a fabulous week at Hacienda Nicholas and found it to be one of the most delightful inns we have ever visited. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, the food was outstanding, and the location of the inn was perfect for walking to restaurants, shopping and galleries. In fact, we only needed our car for day trips to Bandalier and Taos. I am a very picky sleeper, so was pleased to find an extraordinarily comfortable mattress, high thread count bed linens and very comfortable pillows and comforters. I slept like a baby the whole time. We will certainly return to Hacienda Nicholas when next in Santa Fe and recommend it highly.


Good Place to Stay in Santa Fe

4.4 on July 04, 2008

We enjoyed the Hacienda Nicholas. It is in a convenient location to almost everything in Santa Fe. Restaurant recommendations from the Staff were excellent. The room we had, the Wisteria, though a bit small and drafty (we had no personal air conditioning control), was comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and the cookies outstanding.


Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $260
  • Reviews (21) 4.5
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5059920888
  • Toll free 1-8882843170

Visit Website »

View details

Top