Don Gaspar Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

Classic Santa Fe Charm

4.4 on July 30, 2013

I had the good fortune of finding the Don Gaspar Inn for a somewhat last minute visit to Santa Fe. I missed a communication on arriving and access to my room after hours while traveling and the Manager stayed late to make sure I got into my room without problems. That was just the beginning of an amazing visit. My room was beautiful with all the Southwest charm anyone would want. However the best part of my stay was the morning breakfasts. A beautiful setting, delicious menu and everyone who works there is friendly, helpful and kind. I highly recommend staying at the Inn. Only three blocks from the center of town, but has the peace of being just a few blocks away at night. You can sleep with the windows open and the only sound you will hear is the fountain in the courtyard. Thank you! Jackie


Fun and snow

5 on January 14, 2013

Really enjoyed the attention to detail in our room, especially heated floors with snow outside on our last morning. Have stayed other places in Santa Fe (once a year trip) but this is my favorite. The Santa Fe Suite's bed was so comfy and loved the spa tub.


Great location, a nice place

4.6 on August 08, 2012

Don Gaspar Inn was a cute bed and breakfast within walking distance of the plaza downtown Santa Fe. The room was spacious and clean, and came with local coffee and plenty of amenities. The bathroom was large and beautiful, with an oversized tub (that unfortunately we were not able to use) and double sinks. We didn't have the opportunity to dine here, as our flights were changed suddenly by the airline, but you can't beat a great location with a decent and safe walk to town. Nice place, highly recommended!


Don Gaspar IS Santa Fe!

5 on June 21, 2012

Nine members of our family spent several days just after Christmas 2011 at the Don Gaspar; what a delight to be in Santa Fe in the wintertime. In fact, when we again decided to visit Santa Fe in June 2012, we would have booked no other place than the Don Gaspar. Why return to the Don Gaspar? The location is perfect, close enough to walk to town, but also far enough from the crowds to enjoy the quiet courtyards surrounding the Inn. And, we would return if for nothing other than the breakfasts!! Ana serves up the BEST breakfasts in this entire world: pork enchiladas, egg/asparagus casserole, zucchini bread, raisin bread, delicious yogurt and fruit and a granola to die for. There is no reason for a noon meal: just dive into the breakfasts and then plan for a dinner out. Need to know anything about Santa Fe--anything at all? Just ask Ana; she is an intelligent, informed delight. The rooms are a little piece of Southwest heaven. Are you wondering if you should book at the Don Gaspar? Oh, my goodness YES. Pam and Judy and Shella

Innkeeper Response
And we loved having you return to the Inn for a spring visit. It's so nice to be able to get to know our guests when they return over and over. Ana is our inn's expert on Santa Fe. Thank you for all your kind words. Hope to see you again soon!


Charming!

4.0 on March 05, 2012

A very quaint place with great service. Every request was graciously attended to. We were informed about what was happening in town without having to ask. The inn was very clean and quiet.


June 25th Wedding Family Stay

5 on September 11, 2011

We had the most wonderful time at the Don Gaspar. Pete, Christine, and Ana could not have been more helpful and gracious hosts. The food was delicious and everyone looked forward to breakfast each morning. Our families filled the property for our wedding and everyone loved their rooms and commented so many times on how beautiful the gardens and property are. People really enjoyed just sitting in the garden, listening to the fountain and enjoying the beautiful setting. Everyone at the Don was so accommodating and generous with their local knowledge - I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Santa Fe! Many thanks, Chris & Nicole

Innkeeper Response
It's a year later and here you are for your 1st Anniversary....we love that. Hope your experiences here are the continuation of many fond memories.


Don Gaspar Inn

5 on August 08, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in the Main House with the Albert Ericksons. Will go back. Gracious hosts.


Excellent choice

4.6 on July 02, 2011

We stayed in the large guest house - lovely and affordable. Easy walk to plaza, beautiful and peaceful courtyard, excellent hosts!


Wonderful stay!

5 on June 25, 2011

We stayed at the Don Gaspar Inn in the Fountain room last week. We had a wonderful stay! The Inn is very charming with beautiful gardens and a fountain. Kristine, the innkeeper, was extremely friendly and recommended places to visit during our stay. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! We cannot wait to visit again!


Donohue Mokka

4.4 on June 15, 2011

The Don Gaspar is a great hotel. A beautiful location with a great staff. Lovely decorations and a great courtyard populated with flowers & birds. Absolutely enjoyed our time there.


A Hidden Gem

5 on May 31, 2011

Stayed from May 24-29, 2011. Very conveniently located - 10 minute walk to the town center - gave us a chance to walk off some wonderful dinners. Very quiet in the evenings and overnight for wonderful, restful sleep. Beautiful, comfortable room - we stayed in the Olive Tree room. Wonderful breakfasts and incredibly knowledgeable and helpful staff. Ana and Peter were great. Ana knows EVERYTHING. One very, very small complaint - the cable TV is very limited (no CNN or ESPN, and no other national news station) - but let's get real - vacations are not for staying in your room and watching TV. We've already booked our next stay in October, and we would highly recommend this hidden gem.


Fabulous Place to Stay

5 on February 27, 2011

One of the all time best places to stay. The fireplace is lit in the cold weather, kind of like being at home, only without the work. Staff is superb, exceed every expectation, couldn't be more helpful. A real treat to stay there regardless of the time of year


Home away from home

5 on July 19, 2010

I recently stayed a week at the Don Gaspar Inn in Santa Fe, New Mexico while attending an art class at Randy Hasson’s gallery/studio nearby. I heard that the Inn was a very special place but even the photos on the website didn’t convey all the charm of this place. One needs to experience it in person! The breakfast alone is amazing. Delicious food, friendly servers (hostesses), beautiful flowering gardens. I’m not much for getting up for breakfast, but I did it every day because I didn’t want to miss anything! The rooms are all different but are a charming blend of southwest design and furniture with decorative baskets, pottery, paintings, rugs and tiles all around. I was comfortable and well attended the whole time. And of course the little kitchenette facility was very handy when I’d come back to the room in the evening hungry but too exhausted to go out. A little bit of home away from home. I’m planning to go to another of Randy’s classes next year and look forward to staying here again! Nancy


Sisters' Weekend in Santa Fe

3.8 on June 13, 2010

My sisters and I spent a weekend at the Don Gaspar Inn in Santa Fe. The welcome and service from the moment we arrived was exceptional. The staff all had the gift of hospitality. In 3 short days we felt like we were a part of the Santa Fe culture.


A lovely day in Santa Fe

4.2 on May 14, 2010

We found this lovely in a dated guidebook to romantic inns. However, despite the review being 10 years old the inn was as described and more. Beautiful linens, heated marble bathroom floors and lovely sitting room. The breakfast room was charming and intimate with good people, food and energy. Walking distance to Old Santa Fe I would definately stay here again. They even mailed our left behind phone charger back to Canada. Lovely!


Good stay for the price.

4.6 on March 30, 2010

This is a great place to stop in Santa Fe. In a town full of overpriced accommodations this is a nice treat. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to experience the "real" Santa Fe without breaking the bank.


Can't wait for a return visit to Don Gaspar Inn!

4.0 on February 15, 2010

Two friends and I treated my sister to a "girls" trip to Santa Fe to celebrate her "60th" birthday. The Main House the DG Inn offered was perfect. Spacious and comfortable it lived up to every thing the website portrayed it to be. We anxiously awaited breakfast each morning and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Will certainly stay with them again!


wonderful experience

4.6 on December 19, 2009

This inn is one of the best places my wife and I have visited. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms that were truly beautiful in the spirit of Santa Fe and the breakfasts were among the best you could ask for. Location is just outside the hustle and bustle of the square but within easy walking distance. It is situated in a lovely residential neighborhood and you can walk to lots of areas, including the Canyon Road galleries and any number of good restaurants. Enjoy!


can't wait to go back next year...!!!

4.6 on December 18, 2009

I had a wonderful stay at the Don Gaspar Inn in Santa Fe, New Mexico in October, 2009. It was comfortable, charming, food was enjoyable, location was great. I loved my room and look forward to going back next year. Cannot think of anything negative about my stay.


This is the B&B you want!

5 on December 18, 2009

Wonderful place to stay! We've been to other Santa Fe B&B's and this will always be our first choice. Incredible meals, great location, quiet, friendly and helpful staff.


Spring Wedding at the Don Gaspar Inn

4.0 on June 25, 2009

After a decade of dating my boyfriend and I decided on an easy but romantic destination wedding and The Don Gaspar was just the place to do it. We live in So.Cal so I did everything via the internet. I was excited when I received the recommendation of the Don Gaspar but had never been to Santa Fe. With the outstanding advise and help of Valerie I was able to put an intimate and charming wedding together in just a few moths. Sarah did an amazing job making sure all of our needs were met and that my wedding was exactly how I wanted it. My husband and I were married in the beautiful courtyard at the center of the inn. The location is great, walking distance to the center of Santa Fe, restaurants, and the capitol. Breakfast was exceptional! We woke up every morning to a new and different dish ranging from local to traditional fare. We had three rooms there the Courtyard Casita, The Olive Room, and The Aspen Suite. Each was lovely and well decorated. I really liked The Aspen Suite. It is perfect for a couple or small family because of the separate rooms. All and all we had a great time and will be back very soon.


The Perfect Getaway

4.8 on June 05, 2009

The Don Gaspar is a truly lovely spot: charming, with a delightful garden courtyard and an exceptionally friendly and engaging staff. The Courtyard Casita is spacious, beautifully appointed and romantic with its ever so private courtyard. Attention to detail abounds. Breakfasts are simply delicious and prepared with great care and creativity. It is a pleasant 10 minute stroll to the center of town.


Don Gaspar--Great

4.6 on April 06, 2009

We loved the location as well as the historically authentic rooms. The attention to detail was wonderful, from the designer sink to the coffee beans for our own brewing. Breakfast was outstanding as was the staff--friendly as well as very professional.


A gem of a place!

4.8 on March 31, 2009

What a delightful place--great rooms, personable chef with wonderful s.w. breakfasts. The staff was so friendly, polite and helpful--it was like staying with good friends. I'll definetly be looking foward to another stay soon.


Fantastic B & B

5 on February 10, 2009

We loved our stay at the Don Gaspar Inn; the Territorial Room was fantastic and the innkeeper was so accommodating to our schedule and dietary requests. We would definitely stay again.


Best in the Southwest!!

5 on February 09, 2009

The suites were HUGE in comparison with many other b and b's!...More like little houses with private patios and entrances and kitchenettes. Slept like a baby with the foam mattress toppers, luxury sheets and down comforter! Chef - Francisco created a BEAUTIFUL GOURMET breakfast for everyone - beyond expectation. Location was great as we were able to walk everywhere instead of drive...oh- and they had free parking to leave the car! Innkeepers were welcoming and hospitable - but not intrusive! LOVED IT! Want to go back to see the Gardens in springtime!!


Great charming getaway

4.0 on February 08, 2009

The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent. This was our second visit and we definitely will return as well as recommend to family and friends!


#1 Bed and Breakfast in Santa Fe!

5 on November 21, 2008

Great location, in a quiet neighborhood, yet close to Plaza, our room was actually a large suite with living room, small kitchen, fireplace, outdoor sitting area with garden views. Staff was knowledgeable and helpful and the breakfasts were fantastic. The best value in Santa Fe.


Excellent in all ways

4.0 on June 24, 2008

Our family trip to Santa Fe was more than expected wheen we stayed at the Don Gaspar B & B. The rooms were beautifully decorated in the southwestern style. Our innkeepers were so helpful with dinner ideas and some not-so-touristy things to do. Breakfasts were wonderful with a homemade hot dish daily. We will go back again!


What a wonderful hideaway

5 on June 18, 2008

We were surprised at the wonderful inn we found in the downtown SF area. The breakfasts were fantastic and the innkeeper who checked us in very helpful!


Walked in and was very surprised!

5 on April 14, 2008

We needed a place to stay while coming through Santa Fe and came upon The Don Gaspar Compound. The innkeepers were so wonderful in accommodating our needs, especially my husband that has food allergies. We couldn't stay long, but will certainly go back. They all do a great job and the breakfasts were wonderful! Sarah was so helpful when I needed some medical care when I got something in my eye during a hike. I have already told all my friends about our great experience.


Don Gaspar Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $389
  • Reviews (31) 4.6
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5059868664
  • Fax 1-5059860696
  • Toll free 1-8889868664

Visit Website »

View details

Top