Bottger Mansion of Old Town Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
53 Reviews

Write A Review

Highly recommended!

5 on February 17, 2014

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Bottger Mansion; it was the perfect jumping-off point for exploring the many sights and shops in Old Town Albuquerque. Steve and Kathy were wonderful hosts; very cordial and helpful with information about shops and restaurants. Our accommodations were very nice; just as we had expected from the web site.


Best stay of our lives

5 on October 04, 2013

My wife and I had an outstanding visit with the Hiatt's at Bottger Mansion, and will happily go well out of our way to stay there any time we're out in that direction. Amazing hospitality, wonderful food, and the most involved and fun-to-talk-to owners you could ever image. Can't think of a single thing we would have changed about the stay. The house is beautiful, rooms are comfortable, and the location is amazing; right inside Old Town within easy walking distance of the entire area. Parking is a breeze as well. I'd give these folks more stars if I could; this is the perfect place to stay.


GREAT Stay At Bottger's

5 on August 19, 2013

GREAT Accomadations, Hosts, Food and Location!!


Bottger Mansion great experience!

5 on July 06, 2013

This was a wonderful B&B to stay in - worth every penny! Great location, food and people. I would definitely go back


Warm Welcome on Chilly weekend.

4.2 on February 23, 2013

I was very pleased to find myself nestled in the corner of Old Town Albuquerque. The owners were very helpful and accomidating. We found plenty to explore in walking distance from the guidance of our hosts. I will not hesitate to visit the B & B again soon.


Marvelout Old Town Albuquerque B&B

5 on December 26, 2012

Found this lovely B&B while looking online. Wanted someplace out of the usual to spend our anniversary. We were not disappointed. The mansion is historic and well maintained. The hosts, Steve and Kathi, were a delight and shared insights into places to see and restaurant suggestions. The breakfast was delicious and the amenities were excellent. We hope to spend more time there in the future as my husband's job permits! Thanks for a wonderful time!


Perfect location and hosts

4.4 on December 06, 2012

Recently stopped in Albuquerque on a cross country road trip. Steve and Kathy were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Also, the location is unsurpassed. Parking was easy and everything was within walking distance. The pancakes in the morning were also crazy good.


Practically perfect

4.6 on October 26, 2012

We stayed in the Bernard Shandon Rodey room. The room is small, but then we knew it would be. Could use a second luggage rack, though. And the toilet needed plunging a couple of times, but it is an old house with old pipes so that didn't bother me. When I called to make reservations and learned that parking was across the street in the municipal lot in reserved spaces, I was a little concerned for the safety of our vehicle (needn't have worried - well-lit, safe part of town) and how far we would have to schlep our luggage, but that needn't have worried me either. The reserved spaces are at the edge of the parking lot closest to the Bottger Mansion and the street is a very narrow one so it is a very short distance. Our stay was very pleasant. Steve and Kathy are gracious innkeepers who know their town and surrounding areas very well. The two breakfasts I had were delicious: pumpkin pancakes one morning and a green chili quiche the second morning. My husband and I both enjoyed the cookies that were available for guests to munch on in the evening. We appreciated that a breakfast-on-the-go was prepared for my husband who had to leave early - a bag with his name on it was in the Guest Refrigerator waiting for him to pick up. I took advantage of the free wi-fi and had no trouble connecting. I luxuriated in sitting in the East Courtyard with my book and my knitting. Very, very pleasant.


excellent value and wondeful service

4.6 on October 23, 2012

Steve and Kathy were extremely helpful with tips about the area and the balloon festival. Location was perfect for our needs. The meal associated with the Lovers package at High Noon was top shelf! The RT 66 suite gave us the space we needed and the accomodations were very comfortable.


Great Find

4.8 on September 14, 2012

Spent six nights at Bottgers Mansion and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Great location, great breakfast and great hosts.What more could you ask for?


Extraodinary B&B

5 on September 04, 2012

As my wife and I were discussing our plans for the upcoming Veteran's Day weekend, we delighted in recalling the details of last years stay at Bottger Mansion. The conversation ended in a scolding because I failed to submit a timely review... Alas, here I type. Steve and Kathy are simply wonderful. They present a perfect balance between professional and familiar demeanors, while treating each guest like royalty. Together, they create an atmosphere of luxury and comfort without even the slightest hint of being pretentious. The bed was terrific, but the breakfast was absolutely incredible. My wife and I are both self declared food-snobs... and the morning sampling of Kathy's gormet ability was heavenly. We let Kathy know how much we enjoyed breakfast, and we were later pleasantly suprised to discover that she had emailed us the recipe. Everything was outstanding... the location, the property, Kathy and Steve, and the over-all experience. A stay at Bottger Mansion is highly recommended!


My July stay

5 on July 23, 2012

Great check-in experience; very comfortable room; fantastic breakfast outside on the patio--green chili omelet, homemade cinnamon scone, fresh fruit, sliced tomato from their garden--what more could you ask for! As we were catching an early plane on our departure date, the owners had a bagged breakfast available for us in the "guest" refrigeration--juice, yoghurt, and a homemade muffin--what a nice special treat.


Great experience

4.6 on June 20, 2012

We stayed last week at this charming B&B. The hosts, Steve and Kathy were great. Steve greeted us, showed us around, gave us a map of the area, and made suggestions on places to eat. His recommendation was AMAZING. We went to High Noon and loved it! Everything was very clean. We loved eating outside.


Business/Pleasure stay at Bottger Mansion

4.8 on June 18, 2012

We had meetings at a nearby hotel for the national organic standards rule-making. The Hiatts made sure we were prepared for each day of meetings, and gave great suggestions for later dining with clients & sightseeing. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and the the room was lovely. We were able to enjoy the fabulous southwestern beauty of the Turquiose Trail: horseback riding in nearby Cerillos, visit "Wild Hogs" set, Madrid and see the Sandia mts. What a great place with fabulous hosts! Don't miss the Blueberry French Toast Casserole - its amazing!


Traveller's dream

5 on May 29, 2012

On a road trip through the states, after staying at a few best western type spots, decided to treat ourselves and are very glad we did. Everything was extremely satisfying, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Perfectly located at the edge of the Old Town in Albuquerque, you can walk to dining, shopping, and numerous historic sites. Steve and Kathy had everything prepared for our late arrival, and were very welcoming at breakfast the next morning, which was also fantastic.


This is a great place to stay!

5 on May 21, 2012

Girls trip to Albuquerque was great, and this B&B made it happen. Steve and Kathy were so gracious and went above and beyond in all categories.


Great Old Town Albuquerque location!!!

4.8 on April 27, 2012

This B&B is located right at the edge of Albuquerque's Old Town historic district. Just stroll down the street and you will find yourself at the plaza with shops and museums. This is a historic property with a beautiful little enclosed yard out front. Our first floor room was quiet and comfortable and I slept like a baby. Breakfast was superb!


Truly a respite! Such great service, the rooms are super clean, the house is so historic and the details exquisite, the food is ah-ma-zing! Unending coffee you can help yourself to, and what seems to be an unending supply of freshly baked cookies (much to my delight, and the chagrin of my waistline)

5 on April 23, 2012

Ask and you shall receive -- is their mantra. I asked about historic walking districts, but had to run out for the day, and when I got back that evening, there was a photocopied map, and TWO histories of Old Town Albuquerque which included the walking tours. Anything you asked for went above and beyond - check out times, accommodations, etc.. Another example: I'm allergic to bananas and they very happily rearranged breakfasts to accomodate. Highly, highly recommend!


Park and Enjoy

4.0 on June 13, 2011

As New Mexicans, we sometimes don't take the time to see the richness of our own State. We needed a weekend away and wanted to spend time in Old Town Albuquerque. The Bottger had one room left. We parked the car upon arrival and didn't get back into it until we left two days later. The evening music in the Plaza was great. Chuy, with the Cultural Affairs Department of the City of Albuquerque, took time to visit with us and make us welcome. We wandered Old Town, took the Ghost Tour, looked at the Tiffany Exhibit, ate at Seasons, Church Street Cafe, and Antiquities and thourghly enjoyed ourselves. Without Steve and Kathy Hiatt at the Bottger Mansion our welcome and stay would not have been the same. The hospitality was wonderful. We stayed in the Christy Bedroom, which is light and airy with a tall ceiling. We'll be back.


Great place to stay!

5 on June 10, 2011

Good food, nice rooms and friendly people. Little extras make a big difference. For example, there were a few cookies in the dining room when we arrived later than expected, and small packets of flower seeds for us to sow when we returned to our homes.


ideal place to stay

5 on May 30, 2011

Clean, lovely rooms, perfect location at the heart of Old Town. The Innkeepers went above and beyond the norm. We were stunned and delighted that THEY checked in with us before our visit to check on special needs like food allergies.


Bottger Mansion is the place to stay in Albuquerque

5 on May 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bottger Mansion at the beginning of our first trip to New Mexico. We couldn't have chosen better. It's a wonderful place: clean and friendly, in a great location, with great breakfasts and incredibly generous, helpful hosts. Kathy and Steve know the area well, and their advice helped us get to the places we wanted to see, as well as to great places we didn't even know about beforehand! It was a wonderful start to our trip. We highly recommend Bottger Mansion! Carol and Don San Francisco


Top Notch -- historic & restful

4.8 on April 25, 2011

My husband, 15 yr old son and I very much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful historic house, good beds, and Excellent breakfast. Wi-Fi was dependable. Living room (with board games or TV if you wish) was nice. Hummingbirds and other birds in the yard, viewed from glassed in porch was a fun addition to breakfast. So close to Old Town we felt part of history! Free parking in reserved spots in town parking lot directly across the street. Steve & Kathy are gracious hosts-- helpful and pleasant (but not overwhelming). We recommend a stay here.


One Night at the Bottger

5 on January 26, 2011

Steve & Kathy embody southwestern hospitality and the Bottger is a wonderful, welcoming stay in the heart of Old Town Albuquerque. Fresh, clean and comfortable room and a great breakfast. This is truly a jewel!


ALB - Bottger

4.6 on November 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at our first Southwestern B&B. Our hosts made us feel welcome in their home and also welcome to explore the fun of Old Town and ALB. They shared resources on visiting all the nearby attractions and were very fluent in giving tour advice. The fact that they had a 'balloon package' was the tipping point in choosing this B&B. It was one less detail to have to arrange myself. The only detractor was that the coffee was too strong for a yankee!


Great Place!

5 on October 12, 2010

Even though our stay was 2 months ago we still talk about how great it was to celebrate our anniversary there. Steve & Kathy were wonderful hosts and breakfasts were very good. Also worked great as a center for exploring Albuquerque.


Fantastic weekend at the Botttger Mansion!

4.8 on September 21, 2010

We recently returned from three nights spent at the Bottger Mansion. We had delicious breakfasts each morning, all the amenities in our room and we were just steps away from old town Albuquerque. We'll be back!


Stepping back in time in luxury and comfort

5 on September 18, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful, comfortable and welcoming bed and breakfast. The breakfasts are delicious and the sheets are luxurious. Thank you Kathy and Steve for a memorable getaway.


Wonderful stay in Albuquerque

5 on August 18, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Bottger Mansion. Our room was spotless, the bed was very comfy with high thread count sheets and we were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and very pleasant on the outside patio. Coffee, soft drinks and cookies are always available. Location is great - right in Old Town. Steve and Kathy are wonderful and interesting hosts - we had lovely chats with both of them. Highly recommended.


Beautiful house, great location, fabulous innkeepers!

5 on August 15, 2010

Bottger Mansion is in a great location, right on the edge of Old Town Albuquerque, with many great restaurants, shops and museums within walking distance. The owners are extremely helpful in providing information about the area, plus they have a beautiful house, make great breakfasts and even provide snacks and drinks throughout the day. It's a wonderful place to stay!


Restful getaway at corner of Rt 66 and Oldtown

4.8 on July 11, 2010

Loved my room and aminities. Steve and Kathy are great host with lots of info about the area. A great location at corner of Rt 66 and Oldtown! Walk to attractons, resturants, and the trolley which gives you a great tour of Rt 66 and ABQ. Breakfast is a great experience, and so were the afternoon cookies. Loved the yard with shade/sun, lots of birds including hummingbirds; very restful. Great getaway without having to drive anywhere. And the bed is awsome, very comfortable and loved the robe.


A great place to stay!

4.8 on April 21, 2010

I had a wonderful time at the Bottger Mansion. The Old Town location was perfect--close to shops and restaurants, with easy access to I-40, I-25, and the airport. The room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was yummy, and the hosts were gracious and friendly. I highly recommend the Bottger, and would definitely stay here again.


Christmastime at the Bottger

4.0 on January 10, 2010

Lovely stay so conveniently located to Old Town. Breakfast and the cookies were delicious. Steve and Kathy Hiatt had all the answers to our questions and full of knowledge on places to eat, tour and shop. It seems they were ready for any request with maps, menus and other information. Loved the quiet, beautiful setting.


Another great stay

4.6 on November 05, 2009

I always stay here on my yearly trip to Albuquerque. I grew up nearby and I love staying in my old "neighborhood". It's all the sweeter to stay in such a friendly & comfortable b&b. Great breakfasts, personal service, engaging innkeepers and the best location in the city (next to Old Town) make this the place to stay while visiting Albuquerque!


the Bottger Mansion - a Victorian gem in Old Town Albuquerque

4.6 on November 03, 2009

When visiting Albuquerque for the 2009 International Balloon Fiesta, my Mom and I stayed three nights at the Bottger Mansion in "Old Town." Our room was the spacious and accessible first-floor Linda Lee Room with its beautiful Southwestern mutual outlining the perimeter and lovely bathroom. The twin bed configuration worked perfectly for us, and the room was sparkling clean. Our hosts, Steve and Kathy, prepared very nice breakfasts around everyone's schedules during the Balloon Fiesta and provided some helpful traveling as well as restaurant tips. Parking was easy as the Bottger has reserved spaces for guests in a municipal lot directly across from the Inn. In addition, the Bottger's location on the edge of "Old Town" was a plus - only a very short walk from the heart of all. The Bottger itself has a cozy breakfast area, a pleasant and well-maintained courtyard, a parlor room, and snacks/drinks available for guests. There's even a refrigerator for guests, too. My Mom and I highly recommended this place if you're visiting Albuquerque, especially if you want to spend a lot of time in Old Town.


A great place to relax

4.8 on September 07, 2009

We took a little midweek vacation for my birthday. I loved how welcoming Steve and Kathy were. And because it's actually located in Old Town, rather than just nearby, we didn't use our car the entire stay. We sat in the garden and watched evening fall, the first day, and we really enjoyed the gourmet teas.


Bottger Mansion, Albuquerque

4.0 on July 11, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay. The innkeepers were hospitable, the room, elegant and clean, the bed, extremely comfortable, and the breakfast, delicious. Our room had wireless access to the Internet, and a computer with printing facilities was available in the reception room, an important plus for us. It is easy to find in a convenient location right in the Old Town. It was one of the notable features of our recent trip to New Mexico and we hope to stay there again one day.


Preare to be spoiled

5 on June 08, 2009

Our two night stay at Bottger Mansion was a delight. Steve and Kathy are excellent hosts and make you feel right at home. Steve's suggestions for sightseeing and dining were great. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. The location is also a major plus. We walked to and all around Old Town and other sights were just a short drive away. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Best nights sleep we had our whole vacation. The garden is a retreat all its own. Cookies and beverages were on hand at all times. This truly felt like home away from home.


Inviting and Convenient

3.8 on June 08, 2009

I spent only one night and found the stay to be excellent. The Mansion is very conveniently located to the main section of Old Town; the parking is just across the street and there are very nice outdoor facilities to enjoy the good weather. My welcome was warm and friendly and the room was very comfortable albeit a bit small if staying for a long visit. I would definitely use the Mansion again.


Five Fun Nights

3.8 on March 25, 2009

Steve and Kathy made us feel most welcome plus they offered insider info re things to see and wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The breakfasts were extraordinary and lots of extras (cookies, soda, etc.) were offered throughout our stay. Their lovely garden was just beginning to bloom and offered a quiet place to read in the afternoon. We'll definitely stay with them again.


Bottger Mansion February 2009

4.0 on March 11, 2009

Great place. Great hosts.


Excellent in every way!

5 on July 04, 2008

This was our favorite place to stay in New Mexico. The location, on the edge of Old Town in Albuquerque, was perfect. The breakfasts were excellent--I'm waiting for the recipe for the Blueberry French Toast! Steve's advice on what to do in ABQ was right on the money! Thanks so much!


Great Hospitality at the Bottger

5 on July 03, 2008

The Bottger Mansion of Old town in Albuquerque, NM is the best B&B we have ever enjoyed. The room was simply lovely with all of the Victorian charm. The gourmet breakfasts were so delicious. The friendliness of the owners made us welcomed and made our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely return to the Bottger again.


Paradise Found in Albuquerque

5 on July 03, 2008

I always look forward to my stays at the Bottger Mansion of Old Town! Not only are the rooms comfortable and beautiful, the Bottger is close to everything, especially the fantastic shops and restaurants in Old Town, and historic Central Avenue (Old Route 66). Breakfasts are always delicious here and quite generous. The people I have met while staying here are from all over the world, making for some delightful conversations, either at breakfast or while seated in the comfy parlor. Steve and Kathy are incredible hosts who make you feel right at home and always make you want to come back soon for another visit. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Albuquerque.


Hospitality at it's best.

5 on May 27, 2008

It was the perfect way to start our vacation after a very long Northern winter. We loved being able to just walk around Old Town-perfect location.The house is gorgeous and the grounds are a little oasis. Steve and Kathy are so gracious. Breakfast was fabulous.We were sorry we hadn't planned to stay more than 1 nite. Another time, we hope we have the opportunity to eat outside.


Best Location

4.2 on April 28, 2008

Great Location in Old Town, I had a broken foot, and was looking for ease, this was the perfect choice. Old town was alive with activities in the plaza every hour. Really glad I made the trip!


great b&b in great location

4.0 on February 22, 2008

This is a wonderful b&b in the heart of Old Town Albuquerque. Steve and Cathy are wonderful hosts with a wealth of information about the area.


a beautiful spot!

5 on February 20, 2008

The owners were welcoming and accommodating and the house is beautiful and located in the midst of Old Town. I would gladly stay there again.


Delightful Experience.

5 on February 06, 2008

Lovely decor. Ample, creative, delicious breakfasts-something to look forward to in the morning. Knowledgeable, helpful and friendly hosts - shared their love of Albuquerque. One of our best B&B experiences!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on February 05, 2008

Excellent service by Kathy and Steve, great breakfast as well as meeting special dietary needs. Great B&B experience!!


GREAT place to stay

5 on December 30, 2007

Great hosts. Fabulous breakfast.


A perfect location

4.8 on November 09, 2007

We were cheerfully welcomed to Albuquerque and Old Town by Steve and Kathy. as we wandered Old Town we were only a few steps away from our 'home away from home'. There was always a cookie or other treat and a cold drink waiting upon our return from surveying Old Town or the local museums. Several excellent restaurants are also only a few blocks from Bottger's. Each morning starts with a delicious breakfast.


The Bottger Mansion

5 on April 05, 2007

The Bottger Mansion is a terrific B & B: great location, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfasts and snacks. The real prize is the Inn Keepers - Steve and Kathy Hiatt. They are friendly and knowledgeable and a joy to interact with. They made two New Englanders feel very much at home. Every time we return to Albuquerque, we'll be staying at the Bottger.


Bottger Mansion of Old Town

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $179
  • Reviews (53) 4.7
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5052433639

Visit Website »

View details

Top