Inn at Glencairn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

Southern Hospitality in New Jersey

4.6 on October 20, 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay with Patty and Mason while on a college tour of Princeton. The Tarr's exceeded our expectations and made us feel welcome and at ease. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were the best we've had in B&Bs.


Feels Like Staying With Friends in Their Beautiful Home

5 on October 19, 2014

We needed a place to stay in Princeton but didn't want to stay at a standard hotel in a corporate park. Thankfully we found the Inn at Glencairn. While not in Princeton's downtown, it's a short straight-shot drive right in to town a couple miles away. There's no corporate parks in sight! The location is great, but the inn and hosts are even better. You'll be warmly welcomed and your room and the public areas are cozy and definitely not stuffy. We appreciated the wifi and the chocolates on our pillow. The breakfast was a treat - basically a three course meal. Delicious way to start the morning. We hope to have meetings in Princeton again just so that we can return to the Inn.


Great place, would highly recommend!

4.6 on October 11, 2014

Mason and Patty were great hosts and this B&B was outstanding. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!


A most agreeable location

5 on October 09, 2014

One of the best B&Bs we've ever been to! To begin with the breakfast: Tasty and beautifully arranged meals, with fresh fruits and juices in a nice setting with a long table and very nice people sitting around it. Each bedroom is decorated in a different way, the style is elegant and 'clear', this can best be seen in the high quality of Egyptian cotton bedcloths. We met extremely cordial, attentive and friendly innkeepers. During our stay we had interesting talks with Patty, Mason and other guests and learned a lot about the history of the house and the Princeton area. The house is historic, dating back to the 17th century, situated in a beautiful large garden with a red barn and several more smaller buildings. Come and enjoy!


Only place I will stay in the area from now on!

5 on September 15, 2014

This B&B should not be overlooked! It was the most delightful stay I have ever had. The rooms have a wonderful ambiance of old and new. Old for the charm, new for the convenience! There is no detail that has been ignored. Right down to bud vases filled with the latest wildflowers. Clean, charming, comfortable, great management, fantastic food, I could not ask for more other than more time at the Inn with Patty and Mason!


The Inn at Glencairn

4.6 on September 15, 2014

We stayed at the Inn on two separate occasions and will return whenever we get the opportunity. The Innkeepers, Mason and Patty were warm, welcoming, gracious and accommodating to all of our needs. The Inn was comfortable and charming as well as spotless. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious, with a nice variety. In addition we were treated to home baked choc. chip cookies... what could be better! We highly recommend!


Lovely Visit During Soccer Camp

5 on August 30, 2014

My wife and I had a lovely stay at Glencairn with our son while or son was at a soccer camp at Rider University. Patty and Mason were warm and congenial hosts and the inn and surroundings were peaceful and relaxing. We look forward to returning again someday.


Our best stay in the USA

5 on August 03, 2014

When coming to the Inn at Glencairn our kids noted that the place was like a private home and was a little worried if this was right. However, a few moments later, a smiling gentleman (Mason Tarr) came out from the house and welcomed us to the Inn. 'Feel like home' Mason said after a nice introduction of the Inn and its history - and so we did. After staying two nights, the Inn with Patty and Mason, exceeded our expectations. The place is unique with a lot of history and atmosphere, everything is nice and clean and Patty and Mason are exceptional at being 'personal' inn-keepers. Mason took time to introduce our kids to 'archaeology from the garden', Patty prepared us the best home-made breakfast we have had and took care of dinner reservations. Our stay at the Inn at Glencairn was the best experience during our stay in the US and we wish we had stayed longer. We highly recommend all to stay at the Inn at Glencairn - for both business and pleasure.


Excellent historic B and B

5 on July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Glencairn over a weekend and found it to be a delightful and peaceful place. Patty and Mason were very warm and accommodating which was highly appreciated given the long distances we traveled to arrive there. They went out of there way to make us comfortable and that made all the difference. This is a place to visit when you need a break from the hustle and bustle of daily life.


Delightful getaway!!

5 on July 22, 2014

Inn at Glencairn has it all! Delightful, knowledgeable innkeepers greet you and are available but not hovering. Beautiful property with all the historic pluses (location, property, furniture, charm) coupled with modern desires (beautiful bathrooms, flatscreen TV's etc.). The breakfast is 5 star quality in both taste and presentation. Perfect little getaway near Princeton! Don't miss "happy hour" for wine and home made treats in the common room. No question we will return!


Totally delightful inn!

5 on July 16, 2014

I spent five days at the Inn at Glencairn and hated to leave. The building is wonderfully historic (built in the mid-1700s), but has been very sensitively renovated to include all the modern conveniences (new bathrooms, flat screen TVs, central a/c, Wifi) without detracting at all from the Colonial atmosphere. The back property is peaceful and bucolic with a stone smoke house, a big red barn, and stone stables, all from the Colonial period. My favorite relaxation was sitting on the stone patio with a cup of tea or a glass of wine and just soaking in the beauty of the scene. Innkeepers Patty and Mason Tarr could not be more welcoming or helpful (they moved an antique desk into my room so I could work there), yet they are also very unobtrusive so one can be private when one wishes. Guests have ongoing access to Patty's scrumptious homemade pretzels and cookies, as well as tea, coffee, and bottled water. In the evening, there's complimentary wine. Patty's gourmet breakfasts are delicious and extremely filling. Come hungry! The beautiful town of Princeton is a short drive away and offers lots of excellent restaurants and shopping, as well as the extensive campus of one of the world's great universities. You can also stroll, bicycle or canoe along the Delaware and Raritan Canal, visit the fabulous Grounds for Sculpture, and tour various historic sites. I can't wait to return to the Inn!


You'll Really Feel "IN" at this Inn

5 on July 16, 2014

My wife and I visited Princeton and nearby areas in May, '14, and had the absolute good fortune and pleasure of choosing the Inn at Glencairn. First of all, it's away from the business of downtown Princeton, but a scant five-minute drive to it (approx. three miles). Secondly, the building is incredibly old, but doesn't look it. It's quite clear from the moment one steps inside that it's well cared for, and historic. The older part of the Inn was a hospital, I'm told. This area is now a place to sit, relax, and have a glass of wine or tea with the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are superior. Of course, all good things about this Inn are due to the diligence and responsibility of the Inn Keepers, Patty and Mason. We found them to be very courteous, friendly, and concerned for their visitors. When we went in May, they had only been there a short time themselves, having moved from ownership of another Inn out of state. Honestly, I don't care how beautiful or interesting an Inn might be; it would be nothing without the kind of love and respect Patty and Mason have for the Inn and its visitors. You'll love Princeton and the surrounding areas, and you'll really enjoy coming back to the Inn at the end of the day.


a pleasant surprise

4.8 on July 09, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and ambience of this B&B. The innkeepers were very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was superb. The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.


The Inn at Glencairn/Princeton, N.J.

4.8 on June 08, 2014

We recently enjoyed our third visit to The Inn at Glencairn. The Inn is under the new management of Patty & Mason Tarr. We have always enjoyed the convenient location to Princeton & Lawrenceville and the historic nature of the house. Rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished with antique furniture, good bedding and well appointed bathrooms. Our only suggestion for the rooms is adequate reading lights on both sides of the bed. The small lamps are lovely, but make reading a challenge. We can't say enough about the service. Patty & Mason couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Patty is an excellent breakfast cook providing us with a delicious meal all three mornings. Mason is a gardener and his efforts around the grounds are evident. The Inn has never looked better. We would stay again, without question. Good value, wonderfully clean and a fun place to visit.


Great getaway!

5 on May 20, 2014

We came here as a little getaway after our wedding and it was just what we needed. A warm and inviting place with friendly innkeepers! Breakfast was homemade and delicious, and there were homemade snacks around the house as well. There's a lot of history surrounding the house, yet the rooms felt updated and charming. All in all we had a great stay here, and Mason and Patty certainly make you feel welcome. We will look into staying here again sometime soon when we need another few nights away!


great stay!

4.2 on May 15, 2014

2 nights at the Glencairn - Mason and Patty have only been running the place for 10 days but you wouldnt know it - excellent hosts, great welcome and amenities, and wonderful breakfast - cant recommend it enough!


Wonderful stay in Princeton

3.6 on April 25, 2014

I would come back to this inn in a heartbeat. The rooms were clean and spacious. Bed was quite comfortable. The inn's location is close to the D&R Canal bike path, which my husband and I rode two days in a row. .


Cute place in Princeton, NJ

3.2 on March 20, 2014

It's not the Ritz Carlton. There's no room service, or turndown service, and no restaurant. But I knew that when I booked, so I'm not complaining. It close to friends in town that I was visiting, and I wanted a clean bed. This place delivers a very comfy bed, cute and quaint house (it's very old - built in 1600s and 1700s), and the innkeeper Jon and his wife were helpful. I love how the floors creaked, but I suspect not everyone does. It was quiet (big plus!) and relaxing. I am not a breakfast person - it's Raisin Bran and soy milk for me. So fair warning - though the brochure advertises "full gourmet breakfast," there's no bacon and eggs here. Because of its charm and quiet location, I'd return again.


A wonderful get away!

4.2 on December 19, 2013

This a beautiful inn. The rooms were impeccably clean and cozy. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and well presented. We will stay here again!


We love this inn!

4.6 on December 03, 2013

We spent a night at the Inn at Glencairn celebrating our third anniversary. The host, Jon, greeted us warmly when we arrived. He gave us a tour of the house and told us all sorts of cool history about the building and grounds. Our room was lovely- warm, clean, and well-maintained. The big bathroom included a tub, which was so relaxing! Breakfast the next morning was delicious and fresh. Jon gave us recommendations for local places to visit and let us walk around the grounds outside. Highly recommend the Inn at Glencairn for a weekend getaway or just a quick night away.


Very hospitable :)

3.4 on November 25, 2013

The host was very knowledgeable and accessible with regards to the history and significance of the inn. The venue was well kept and interesting :)


What a delightful B&B

4.8 on May 22, 2013

The room was spacious, bright and cheery. Great food at breakfast. The house sits on 3 acres and so we took a lovely stroll about the grounds. Very easy access to Princeton. Friendly and helpful inkeepers (we got a few tips we will use on our own old house). The place is very well kept.


fine experienc

4.8 on April 29, 2013

beautiful old house, fine service


This one is a winner

4.8 on April 29, 2013

It's always fun to experience history at a B&B. Part of this home dates back to the time of Washington. I loved John's stories about the history and hearing about the garbage door, sized from the shortest available plank, and the candle placers in the shelves. The rooms are big and even the bathrooms are classy. I wish I had reason to be in this area more. I'd be back.


Inn at Glenncairn superb!

5 on April 05, 2013

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay very much at Glenncairn. The Inn is really wonderful and the room and bathroom was clean and lovely. The care giver was filling in at the time Teresa was her name and she was lovely. She made a little cheese and fruit tray for my husband and me when we arrived as we were hungry. For breakfast we had sausage and a wonderful fruit french toast casserole. It was a warm and relaxed atmosphere and we both will return! Jennifer Keen and Lou Schoenike


Can't wait to go back!

5 on December 16, 2012

Only stayed for one night but loved it! So close to downtown. Lovely inn keepers. Great history of the home n property. Would love to stay there again!


Historic Charming Inn

3.6 on May 21, 2012

Historic home about a 10 min drive from Princeton U. Innkeepers very friendly and helpful. Very pleasant room.


a lovely B&B

4.6 on January 28, 2012

The Inn at Glencairn exceeded our expectations. The home is lovely and a fine example of 18th century architecture that has been well preserved. The rooms are nicely decorated and uncluttered. The innkeepers, Susy and Jon are welcoming and very accommodating. Our breakfast was filling and delicious. We would return again!


Inviting

3.4 on January 25, 2012

Very inviting and cosy. I loved touring and reading the history of the house.


Princeton Overnight

4.0 on January 20, 2012

I love history and this B&B was full of it! Apon checking in, Jon was there to give us a small tour and history of the home- showed us all the rooms...and offered us a glass of wine. Although we thought we were one of two guests there- we woke up to a full breakfast table with 4 other couples. The rooms were very clean and bright, the bathroom had nice updates that didn't take away from the homes character. My one desire for the breakfast, was toast or a slice of meat...we were served peaches with a cream(very good) and an egg souffle and a wedge of melon. I left a bit hungry and had to stop for food on the drive home! Otherwise, it was a beautiful home in a lovely part of NJ.


Nothing Special

2.2 on January 15, 2012

This was a disappointing experience. This inn looks much better on the website than it does in person. The rooms are okay, but not very well appointed. The "gourmet" breakfast was mediocre and offered no choice. We stayed here so we could have a night out in Princeton; next time we'll stay at the Nassau Inn. There is really no value for money here.


Cozy In a Storm

5 on November 12, 2011

We arrived in the middle of the late October Nor'Easter Snowstorm of 2011. Arriving late, the Innkeepers made us very comfortable and ensured that our stay was memorable. Room & decor were immaculate and beautiful, breakfast was delicious. Jon and Susana helped tremendously with a special surprise for my wife's birthday. Fabulous Inn and wonderful Innkeepers.


Superior property

4.4 on October 23, 2011

Fantastic location, historic inn, great breakfast, large rooms, antique furniture. Most impressive!


Comfortable visit

4.2 on October 03, 2011

Our time at the Inn was a comfortable visit to the area. The history of the inn as well as the conversation with the innkeeper made the trip memorable. Highly recommend a visit!


Excellent experience at the Inn at Glencairn, Princeton

5 on August 25, 2011

Everything was lovely. I can't recommend the place highly enough. I would love to go back sometime.


A Beautiful, Historical Inn and Town

5 on May 22, 2011

The Inn at Glencairn, like the small city of Princeton, NJ is very old, quaint and remarkably beautiful. My wife and I have stayed there twice now and hope to return again before too long. The innkeeper was an absolute delight. Very friendly and welcoming. The house is early 18th century magnificent, and the food was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in or near Princeton.


Go see Princeton!

4.4 on March 25, 2011

We just had a lovely stay at the Inn at Glencairn near Princeton. Bob was a very gracious host and quite accommodating. It's about a 10 minute drive to Princeton, which makes it the perfect distance away from most of the bus and traffic noise. The room was quiet and wonderful. The house is very charming, and we spent some time simply walking around taking pictures before heading to town. Our only complaint was that we could not open the windows because they didn't have screens in them yet. Of course, it would be the warmest day in weeks, so the air wasn't on yet. There were also problems with what I call "sticky bugs" -- bugs that attach themselves to carpet or any other fabric. We killed five in a two-night stay. I would definitely recommend the Inn at Glencairn. The service is fantastic, and it really is a great place to stay and enjoy a weekend.


loved the Inn at Glencairn

4.6 on October 07, 2010

we loved the Inn at Glencairn. its location is perfect to visit Princeton University. the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. the host is very accommodating. the common areas are great to hang out in. would recommend this Inn to anyone!


Great Stay

4.0 on July 29, 2010

Great historical stay in green and leafy Princeton. Comfortable, relaxed, good value and very obliging owner. Returning next week for another stay.


Lovely B&B in Princeton area

4.6 on June 01, 2010

We just returned from a two-nite stay at the Inn at Glencairn. The rooms and common areas were lovely- nicely decorated and more comfortable than many B&Bs we've stayed in. The innkeeper was accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was great. We would definitely return.


Excellent value in NJ

4.4 on April 13, 2010

Timing was spring, everything was in bloom - it was beautiful. Bob, the inn keeper greeted my outside, and gave me a tour and history of Inn. Parts are original from the 1600's! Room was clean, bed was very comfortable, and having a flat screen TV was a bonus. I had guests meet me at the inn, and we sat in one of the open areas. I served wine, like a true host. I would return, and do recommend anyone to stay


Princeton area B&B

3.4 on November 09, 2009

Very charming inn well located to Princeton. Excellent value for the price.


a gem in Princeton

5 on May 23, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Glencairn for my 40th birthday. The common areas are beautiful and nicely decorated with fine art and a mix of antiques and down sofas. The rooms are well appointed with the most comfortable beds and modern clean bathrooms. Breakfast was delicious and Bob the Innkeeper was helpful and friendly. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!


Inn at Glencairn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $235
  • Reviews (43) 4.5
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6094971737
  • Fax 1-6094970390

Visit Website »

View details

Top