Windward House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
110 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful B&B in Cape May

5 on September 21, 2014

A truly delightful B&B. Always very pleasant servants and Owner.Will definetly stay here again. Close to the water, close to shops, just all around great place and location. See ya soon!!!!


Very Enjoyable - Will Definitely Be Back!!!

4.8 on September 01, 2014

My Fiancé had a very nice stay. Our room was clean and comfortable and Sandy and Nancy were as nice as can be.


great vacation

5 on September 01, 2014

Always a great place to stay. In the heart of all the activities around town. Sandy being the best hostest and a caring person. Loved the clean towels every day and clean sheets every two days. Breakfast was wonderful and the cook very friendly willing to share recipies. Also loved the porch.


Pleasantly surprised!

4.4 on August 22, 2014

Our first stay at a B&B and we couldn't have asked for more. Sandy and Nancy cook a delicious breakfast, great complimentary cookies and are very warm and friendly. We had complimentary beach chairs, badges, bike racks and parking. It felt as if we were visiting family. We will definitely stay at the Windward House again!! Janet and Manny


Wonderful B&B... Great Location... Superb Host

5 on August 21, 2014

Room was clean and well prepared for our stay. We stayed in the Edwardian Room, very nice with shared 2nd floor balcony overlooking Jackson St. Daily breakfast was excellent both days. Sitting out on the covered porch having coffee w/ breakfast watching Jackson St come alive in the morning never gets old. Offsite parking in lot is provided as well as beach badges and beach chairs. Sandy Miller is a wonderful host and very pleasant to talk with. Location of the property is within walking distance to just about everything as it is in the heart of Cape May. This was the 2nd time we stayed here and both times have been outstanding. We definitely will be coming back to the Winward House. Rich & Jenn Burlington, NJ


Great Time in Cape May

4.8 on August 12, 2014

My friend and I wanted a quick fun get away with lots to do. We traveled from New York which was a breeze. Cape May has loads of fun things to do and at the Windward House you are in a very convenient location. The beach is close as is the night life. We went to a play "Moon Over Buffalo" which was great and walking distance to the theatre and restaurant. We especially liked to sit on the porch at Winward House and watch the action outside. There is coffee and tea available all the time so it is very relaxing to sit, sip and people watch. When we took a horse and buggy ride as well as the Historical Trolly ride we found we passed right by the Windward House. There is a great story to that which I won't spoil for you but adds to the fun! Sandy is a wealth of information and very helpful. She had informational literature in the lobby about things to do. The Windward House is an excellent "home away from home" in Cape May.


We loved the Windward!

4.6 on August 09, 2014

The owner is fantastic and the other guests were so friendly. Breakfast was fresh and delicious and our room was clean, spacious, and homey. What's more, the Windward is steps from the beach. We will be back!


Wonderful Windward House

4.2 on July 21, 2014

We have been coming to Cape May for many years, and have stayed at several B&Bs, and this was our second time at the Windward. Beautifully appointed inn in the Victorian style, but not dark or stuffy as some others. Take some time to look around and enjoy the lovely and eclectic collections throughout, including the "naughty ladies" on the second floor landing. The superb breakfasts prepared by Nancy are served buffet style. You have the option of enjoying the formal dining room, set with pretty pink and cranberry glassware, or taking a tray out to the comfortable porch. If you're very lucky, you'll be there on the mornings Nancy serves up butter cake (oh, the butter cake!), peach enchiladas, or swiss egg cups, but every day is a treat with generous servings of sweet and savory dishes, yogurt, fruit, and homemade granola. Sandy Miller is a grand lady, a gracious hostess who treats you as if you are a guest in her home. We have been to places where the innkeepers are either never seen, or hover about in a way that makes you feel as if they believe you're slipping the teaspoons into your bag. Not so at Windward, where Sandy's only concerns are for your comfort and convenience. While K-cup coffee and tea are available 24/7, and delicious fresh baked cookies are set out in the afternoon, I only wish this excellent inn offered a true afternoon tea. I think this practice may be vanishing at the Cape May B & Bs overall, which is a shame. Choose Windward House on your next visit to Cape May and you will have a truly memorable vacation by the sea!


We will be back

4.2 on July 19, 2014

Fabulous location, the innkeeper is great. We especially appreciated the extras we didn't expect like parking, beach tags, cookies all afternoon, and fruit and coffee always available,


Great location, but off-site parking

4.4 on July 14, 2014

This is a really nice old-time Cape May B&B hosted by a great lady in the best traditions. Two minuses; the off-site parking is a good three blocks away. Prohibitive, if you want ready access to your car. It was a problem for us. And the third floor rooms are accessed only by a narrow, steep stairway, difficult with suitcases, etc. Jackson Street is a great location with several nice places to eat, and it's just a half-block to the beach, and a half-block to the shopping area.


Wonderful Stay at Windward House!!

4.6 on July 08, 2014

We were greeted with a warm welcome, and were able to check in early as the room was ready when we got there Very quiet, comfortable and relaxing. We are absolutely staying here next year and plan on staying longer on the next trip,


BEST OF CAPE MAY

4.2 on July 05, 2014

When I go to CAPE MAY, Windward House gives us 3 things we want most: great breakfasts; great porch sitting, and close to beach. Sandy and Owen Miller do everything to make each stay the best.


Enjoyable Experience

3.4 on June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Windward House in mid-June and enjoyed our experience. After spending a few days in Cape May, it is pretty obvious that the Windward House is very cost efficient however the location is one of the best in Cape May. We had a third level room which meant walking up a few flights of steep steps which wasn't an issue for us but is probably an issue for older people. That being said, it seemed like the rooms on the second floor are well worth the value. The Windward House is located just a block from the beach and located across the street from one of the most popular restaurants in all of Cape May. The staff was very friendly however they were overwhelmed at times and disorganized. They certainly knew the area very well and could point us in the right direction for most of the things we wanted to do. Parking was a bit far from the hotel, however we rented bikes and simply biked back and forth to most of the places we went and even biked to our car a couple of times. The rooms were outdated but that had to be expected, everything was still clean and in good shape so we were happy with our room selection and location. Overall we did enjoy our Cape May experience however I think next time we would explore a slightly higher-end option.


Comfortable and charming B&B

4.6 on May 31, 2014

First, the location was outstanding. Less than a block away from the beach and town. My fiancé and I enjoyed the vibe from the local tourist and town's people. The streets are always clean and so are the beaches near by. Second, the Windward House provided us with every necessities we needed, especially comfort. My fiancé and I stayed in the Renaissance room, which is full of beautiful furniture and history. The house is very charming. Third, the owner of the House, Sandy is very pleasant and informative. She informed us of local restaurants, stores, tourist attractions, and activities. The house does not have an attached parking garage, but Sandy provided a parking permit to a large and safe parking lot. It was about four blocks away from the house, though we enjoyed the walk through the town. Last, we enjoyed the smell of breakfast, unfortunately, I did not take the opportunity to munch on breakfast. That was really my fault, since I always woke up very late and missed out on breakfast. Overall the Windward House was great. I will definitely stay there again.


A Fantastic B&B

5 on April 21, 2014

Lovely house and great breakfasts!! Great location and a very friendly owner!!!


great time!!

5 on November 02, 2013

this is the 2nd year we have spent at the Windward House and have enjoyed our stay. the rooms are clean and its accessible to everything. Would definitely go back.


Nice B & B

3.0 on October 30, 2013

Room we reserved (Renaissance) on the first floor was certainly convenient, but there was way too much furniture in it. Also, there was only one bedside table and would have preferred two. Water pressure for shower good and water always hot. Liked that there was Keurig machine available (with various coffees available), hot water (with variety of tea bags), homemade cookies, and Sherry for a night cap. Breakfasts were good with a nice variety. Inn in great location; walked everywhere. Would stay at the inn again, but would prefer larger room. Looked at the rooms upstairs and they definitely were larger with more room to move around. Also,several of the rooms had outside seating off the room.


Awsome hideaway in the middle of Cape May, NJ

5 on October 23, 2013

The Windward House is a wonderful Victorian B&B in downtown Cape May, NJ. The hostess, Sandy, was very gracious and warm. She was also very knowledgeable of the area and the history of her home as well as the others in the area. The breakfast arrangement and meals were a gourmet delight. I would highly recommend a stay at the Windward House and experience Sandy's hospitality as well as a beautiful historic town with much to do. R.G. Berry, PA.


love this place!!

5 on October 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently and our experience was absolutely wonderful. The Windward House is in a great location, it is right next to the beach and right next to the mall. The decor and furnishings throughout the house were beautiful. The rooms were spacious and included full bathrooms, TVs and mini refrigerators. We stayed in the Edwardian room which had a balcony that was perfect for afternoon tea and late night drinks. The breakfast was delicious too! It was a buffet of eggs, bacon, fruit, muffins, coffee and lots more. Sandy Miller was an excellent hostess and made us feel right at home. We can't wait to come back!


Quaint House with an old-fashioned attractiveness and charm

4.8 on October 12, 2013

The owner is a very sweet woman. My husband and I loved staying there. We can't wait to go back again!!!


Relaxing and wonderful stay at the Windward House!

5 on October 07, 2013

Sandy was a gracious hostess!


Perfect weekend get a way

5 on October 07, 2013

This was our second year staying at this charming bed and breakfast. The location is fantastic and service was wonderful. We will be back again next year. Giulio and Cheryl


Windward House

3.8 on September 29, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at Windward house. It is very comfortable and is in a great location.


Expected a beautiful B&B and wasn't disappointed!!!

4.6 on September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Windward to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This is the epitome of an outstanding B&B. We stayed mid-week and have the benefit of a discount for such times. The decor takes you back to a simpler time and the front porch is very relaxing to have a drink and people watch. The room we stayed in, the Empire room, was perfect. It is on the third floor but you get some beautiful breezes and you have a secluded deck to sun or star gaze. We do not stray at B&B's on a regular basis, but when we do we want the best possible accommodations. Windward is that, one of the best B&B's in Cape May.


Great weekday getaway in September!!

4.0 on September 16, 2013

We had a very busy summer, and did not make a trip to the shore until September. This was a great time to enjoy the uncrowded beach and shops. Speaking of shopping there are great specials!! The Windward House was a perfect fit. The house itself has beautiful woodwork , stained glass and Edwardian furniture decor throughout, yet is very comfortable.. Sandy has a way of making you feel at home. We will definitely go back to The Windward House.


You can't go wrong at The Windward House

4.8 on September 13, 2013

An excellent place to stay. Good service, good breakfasts, and nice porches downstairs and upstairs.


A winner in Cape May

5 on September 12, 2013

If you like the B&B environment, this is the perfect stay in the heart of Cape May, NJ


Stay in Cape May

4.8 on September 09, 2013

Always a great time and a wonderful place to enjoy old friends and new!


Location Location Location

3.0 on September 06, 2013

The Windward House is perfectly located, 1/2 block to either the beach or historic area. The property holds on to the Victorian style well, furnishings and fixtures are either original or antiques in amazing condition. Our room on the second floor was very spacious with doors that led to an outside sitting area. Overall, it was a nice place for a weekend getaway.


Jackson Street Beauty

3.6 on September 02, 2013

The house was spacious,clean and beautifully decorated.The food that was served was excellent and plentiful.We really enjoyed relaxing on the large front porch.It was in a perfect location close proximity to everything! The only draw back was the parking situation.We received a permit for a lot that was about 5 blocks away and unfortunately it rained the weekend we were there!


A Winner on all Aspects

4.0 on September 01, 2013

Loved this place! Perfect location in middle of beautiful Victorian district, and close to Washington St. mall and the beach; we could walk to restaurants, shopping, theater (Cape May lighthouse is a very short drive away, def worth a visit).. Expansive porch invites you to relax and read or chat with other guests there. Gorgeous interior: so much to look at (stained/cut glass doors, antique furniture, beautiful wall and ceiling coverings, paintings and table decor) that you want to take your time to absorb and appreciate everything. Each guest room was unique and tastefully decorated; try to peek in when they're in between guests. Breakfasts were on time, tasty and different every day, with a hot dish, fresh fruit, breads, and always homemade granola and other cereals; you can eat in the dining room or take your meal on a tray out to the porch. Hostess was pleasant although a bit stressed (she's been there over 30 years and is looking to sell to someone younger.) Suggested we park just up the street in an unloading zone to bring our bags inside the inn, gave us free permit to park in nearby municipal lot, free beach badges, and use of her own beach towels and chairs for duration of our stay. If I were coming to the area again, I'd definitely stay there again; prices were better than many other Victorian inns there.


great b&b!!!

4.6 on August 25, 2013

The house is beautiful. I loved sitting outside on the porch at night. the room was very nice and clean. i loved the victorian look of the house. the location was perfect within a block of the beach and the center of town. right across the street is the mad batter which is great for breakfast. walking distance to all the great restaurants. would definitely come back.


Bill and Kay visit

4.8 on August 23, 2013

Sandy was very helpful with dining recommendations


The Place to Stay in Cape May

4.8 on August 22, 2013

The room was lovely and the blintz casserole was the best breakfast I have ever had. Making blintz is a lot of work and I was curious how they had made them for so many people. It turns out they have a great and easy recipe which the cook was willing to share with me. I can't wait until I have overnight guests to try it out. We also enjoyed playing the piano and enjoying fresh baked cookies and brownies on the two afternoons we were there. They also provide beach towels and have a super outdoor shower. The only off note was the pipe and cigar smokers who made sitting on the porch in the evening out of the question. The owner said she can't really tell people what they can and can't do outside the house, but that it was unusually to have so much smoking going on out there.


Windward House

5 on August 15, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Windward House


Comforts of home away from home.

3.8 on August 13, 2013

Sandy could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable.


Just like I remembered it...

3.4 on July 30, 2013

We just did one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer!


Outstanding

5 on July 25, 2013

This us our 5th year staying at The Windward House in Cape May, NJ. Sandy the owner and Nancy the cook are 2 of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. Breakfast is wonderful and the rooms are clean and quaint. Great front porch to sit out on in the evening. Windward House is only 1/2 block from beach. Park your car when you arrive and there is no reason to get in it til you are ready to leave Josephine King


Summer Stay at Windward House

4.2 on July 19, 2013

Excellent value. Clean rooms, great location.


great location

4.6 on July 18, 2013

sandy and staff are great. I go back every year


Very Cute B&B

3.0 on July 17, 2013

Very friendly owner and help. Loved front porch. Met lovely people staying at this B&B.


Convenient place in Cape May

4.2 on July 09, 2013

This B&B is conveniently located near the beach and shopping. We were warmly greeted and the room was decorated in an ornate victorian style. The breakfast was excellent. I would reccomend this B&B.


25th anniversary to remember!

5 on June 19, 2013

We loved our weekend getaway stay at the Windward House. It was absolutely perfect.


A great B&B!

4.4 on June 17, 2013

The Windward House was wonderful from the beginning with a great staff that was very accommodating and made me feel welcome the minute I arrived. The rooms are incredible and the front porch is terrific. Breakfast was excellent and my stay was everything I hoped it would be. I highly recommend the Windward House!


True to Victorian Era

5 on June 09, 2013

(2013) If you are a fan of the Victorian Era and looking for a respite from your daily stresses, you will be pleased to find a peaceful and friendly home at the Windward. The innkeepers have true pride in ownership and have created an Inn with many intriguing Victorian designs and themes. They serve an amazing breakfast. Breakfast was a fun meal where I got to chat with the innkeepers and other guests. I met some amazing people and this added to the joyous experience. The porch has a magnificent view of the action on Jackson Street. You are within a block of the Washington Street shopping area and within a block of the ocean. You can enjoy a drink at the piano bar at the Virginia Hotel across the street or run over for lunch at the Mad Batter. Or, you can sit quietly on the porch, reading a book. I suggest you get up early and take a walk or jog on the boardwalk. In the afternoons, we refreshed ourselves with iced tea or coffee and home-made cookies.


Very clean and comfortable stay

4.2 on May 31, 2013

This was our first BNB and loved it! We had access to many restaurants, the beach in walking distance about 1 block away or less, access to the sundeck, our own shower, fridge in the room for our mimosas, it was just perfect. The house was built in the 1800's of which I honestly found so intrigued by for the way Sandy Miller and Courtney (house keeper) kept it so clean with no dust (of which I am allergic to) and no mold. We are definitely coming back. Thank you for the great hosting on our breakfast! Sincerely, Sydney and Corey


Charming b&b

4.8 on May 08, 2013

Windward House in Cape May, NJ was outstanding! Sandy, the owner, was helpful and accommodating. The room was lovely.....clean and very comfortable. The best part was the scrumptious French toast breakfast and the delightful conversation with the other guests.


PERFECT WEEKEND RETREAT

5 on April 29, 2013

WE HAVE STAYED AT WINDWARD HOUSE SO MANY TIMES, WE'VE LOST COUNT BUT EACH AND EVERY WEEKEND HAS BEEN MEMORABLE. BESIDES THE PERFECT LOCATION, THE HOSPITALITY OF OWNER SANDY MILLER AND HER STAFF IS SECOND TO NONE. THE HOUSE IS WARM, INVITING AND FULL OF OLD WORLD CHARM. THE WINDWARD HOUSE IS THE KEY TO A PERFECT GETAWAY EVERY YEAR.


A cozy place to stay with great breakfast and friendly staff

3.8 on April 18, 2013

A lovely bed-and-breakfast run by a delightful woman who really cares about her guests' enjoyment. Breakfast was delicious, room was comfortable, everything clean and well-appointed. Highly recommend!


Another Wonderful Stay

5 on October 28, 2012

Once again we met some really nice people and enjoyed having breakfast with them. Nancy did a great job making breakfast Saturday morning. We also enjoyed the Sunday morning french toast.YUMMY! Thanks so much for your hospitality! We really liked the Rococo room and being in the back of the house. We look forward to many more visits to your B and B. Next time the kids said they want to be included in our stay(smile) Thanks again Margie and Frank Smith


We'll be back

4.6 on October 21, 2012

Your rooms and facilities are wonderful. The Victorian history you present in everything we saw or touched told a story. Some of my " minds eye " wanderings brought even the smallest utensils to life as great color and beauty to sights of hardship - thoughts like " my God that must of been uncomfortable to " Even though the bed pan looks uncomfortable it sure is pretty. Now you know how much I needed a vacation. Thank you for making our get- away , a get-away. In the respect of room quality not being the best that it could be . The rooms were bright after lights were out due to illumination from the street and porch lamps. A black out curtain would solve that problem. The evenings were cool and we slept with the windows open. I would imagine that noise from the porch and street would prohibit those conditions during times of heavy traffic. Nancy was a God send. Great, great food all done up in a wonderful personality. Eileen was delightful and helpful with answering our questions concerning things to do and food to eat. Sandy, the owner , is a page out of Victorian days of yore. A very regal , compelling totally personable Grand Dame. You go girl! So, Thank to all of you,. As I said before " We'll be back ".


Windward House review

3.8 on October 14, 2012

We stayed during the Victorian weekend which was also Columbus Day weekend. It was a birthday gift for my boyfriuend .


Beautiful B&B

5 on October 05, 2012

Beautiful place to stay, highly recommend it! The staff is wonderful & very friendly, & the breakfast was DELICIOUS!! Fiore Cremard III Christine Belles


Beasutigul chsarming B&B

4.4 on October 03, 2012

Our stay was pleasant, the B&B is very clean& staff very friendly & accomodating. Breakfast was tasty and bountiful.his was our second stay at Windward & we will continue to use them in the future. They located within walking distance to everything, beach, shops, restaurants.


September Stay

4.8 on October 01, 2012

Very pleasant. Charming host. Excellent location. Outstanding Victorian decor.


our favorite place to stay in the cape!

5 on September 24, 2012

we have stayed at the windward house 4 times, and will continue to go back! it has become our favorite place to stay in cape may. we don't feel the need to venture out and try new places. sandy and staff do a fantastic job at keeping the house perfectly clean, and are very accommodating. the windward house has the feeling that you are at home during your stay, not to mention the perfect location! its a MUST stay!


Victorian Elegance

4.8 on September 17, 2012

My husband and I have been to one other bed and breakfast over the past two years in Cape May. We had taken a tour and have walked around the area; which lead us to try a different bed and breakfast for 2012. We were both thoroughly pleased. The owner is lovely, friendly and takes time to talk to you about the town, historic architecture, and other miscellaneous tales. We are planning to return in 2013. I was extremely impressed that the owner remembered that I had a special dietary concern; if breakfast was sweet, she was willing to make me something else. Fortunately, it was not necessary because there were breads and whole grain dry cereals available, which was perfect for me.


Windwward House, a jewel in Cape May

5 on September 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Windward house for the second time and this B&B is a jewel in Cape May. The house is filled with lovely antiques and each room is just beautifully decorated. The breakfast's are scrumptious!!!!! The host Sandy is a wonderful Lady who can also give you a lot of history regarding the house. The rooms are resonable for Cape May and the beach and shopping are all within walking distance. The B&B is located on Jackson St, which is the prefect location!


Perfect location

4.0 on September 15, 2012

I stayed in the Summer Suite, which is just off of the dining room. Contrary to other comments I've seen about this room, it was very quiet. The suite's sitting room is closest to the dining room and the bedroom faces the back of the house. I slept with the windows open and did not hear any noise from the dining room. There was lots of closet space. The breakfasts were fabulous and the cook was happy to share her recipes with us. The entire home is beautifully decorated and the stained glass windows are amazing. I was able to look through most of the other rooms and each are really nice. Being only one half block to the beach in one direction and about a block to the Washington Street Mall the other makes this a perfect location. Yes, you have to walk a few blocks to your FREE parking spot. Other B&B's here do not offer parking at all.. Take in the sights as you stroll to and from your parking spot and enjoy your vacation!!!!! You will not go wrong with this wonderful place.


Last Minute in Cape May

3.6 on September 14, 2012

Last minute reservation for one night - beautiful property, spacious room and friendly inn keeper!


Love the Windward House!!!

4.6 on September 05, 2012

Simply put, I feel almost as at home at Windward House, as I do in my own home. I've returned almost every summer for the last 20 years. Thank you Sandy!!!


Another Terrific week at the Windsor House

4.8 on September 04, 2012

This was our fourth stay with Sandy, each in a different room (all furnished incredibly!). For us if you stay in Cape May it has to be on Jackson St. and the hospitality and service at the Windsor House is unequaled.


Windward House

4.0 on September 04, 2012

Loved staying in the full down stairs basement appartment. freedom to cook or go out to eat. Lots of room and good tv channels. Verycomfortable. Great location.


Great Birthday Gift

5 on September 03, 2012

I received a gift cerificate for my brthday to this lovely B&B. What a great gift!!! The home was lovely and the location could not have been more ideal.


Windward House

4.4 on August 29, 2012

Great location close to everything, the parking is amazing, most locations do not provide on site parking, and for location so close to the beach, it was great. Room larger then expected based off of picture. Had a great stay and will return.


One of the best locations in Cape May

3.2 on August 23, 2012

Did not like the fact that I had to park several blocks away in city lot. Sandie was great and so was her breakfast cook however we were not crazy about the some of the dishes served. all in all a very comfortable stay.


Windward House - Excellent as always

4.6 on August 22, 2012

Continues to provide a great value for the cost. Location is perfect. Well maintained and superior attention to detail.


We will be back!

4.2 on August 21, 2012

The innkeeper was absolutely lovely and made me and my best friend feel welcome. We can't wait to come back! Thank you!!!


Cape May Getaway

3.0 on August 14, 2012

Great location, clean , good food, and perfect for a long weekend in Cape May.


Can't go wrong.

5 on August 11, 2012

This is an awesome B&B. Sandy could not have been a more gracious hostess. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. The location is perfectly situated in the middle of everything. The breakfasts are gastronomic pleasures. We had a wonderful time and plan to stay longer next time.


Had a Nice Stay

3.2 on August 06, 2012

My few issues: the Windward doesn't have enough room for a "full house" to eat breakfast inside (during my recent, summer stay) if most are eating at one time. The porch is lovely but not entirely conducive for eating a meal. Parking is only a few minutes walk away -- at least for those who are okay with walking; it's in a municipal lot for which you are given a tag to hang from your rearview mirror. Finally, smoking is allowed on the porch which is not a plus for my family. Otherwise, my family enjoyed the stay. The house is lovely and breakfast was enjoyable. The best plus for me was that the beach is right up the block one way, and the Washington Street mall is a moment's walk the other way.


Cluttered room

3.2 on July 19, 2012

The house was elegant and centrally located on Jackson street. The food was good and the host was very caring. The only down side is the room had to much furniture causing it to be cluttered leaving no room for your bags to be stored out of the way.


Nice B and B

4.4 on July 08, 2012

great place great location food was a little below average this time This was our 3rd stay at this place and it is still one of the nicest B and B in Cap May


Breakfast & spending morning on porch are classic Cape May.

3.4 on July 02, 2012

I have stayed several other places in Cape May, and this is by far the best. Sandy Miller is very friendly and a interesting conversationalist.


Another great visit to the Windward House!

4.8 on June 30, 2012

This is our third trip to the Windward House and as usual we had a fantastic stay! The breakfast each morning was wonderful, very filling and tasty. Both Sandy, the owner and all of the ladies who worked there during our stay were friendly and willing to help in any way that we needed. This place is a definite place to check out when looking for a B&B within 1.5 blocks from the beach. You receive beach tags and a parking pass to use throughout the duration of your stay as well as access to beach chairs and towels. Thanks again for another wonderful vacation! Ryan & April Maule


Fantastic B&B

5 on June 26, 2012

Each year around our wedding anniversay my wife and I like to stay at a B&B in Cape May and we have never stayed at the same one twice. This year we stayed at the Windward House and we have to say that this has been the best one. We stayed in the Cottage Room on the second floor and it was absolutely beautiful. We really liked the balcony that overlooked Jackson street. The room was clean and the breakfast was perfectly delicious. This is one B&B we are going to stay at again.


Wonderful weekend in Cape May

4.0 on June 14, 2012

Sandy runs the cleanest, friendliest B and B in Cape May. She went out of her way to make sure that my fiancé and I had an enjoyable trip and took the time to remember our names and details about each of us. She even let us stay a bit longer in Monday since they were not fully booked. We will definitely be back!


Great Place, Great People

5 on June 06, 2012

B&B at it's best. Great rooms, service, and food. Centrally located.


Cape May Gem

5 on June 03, 2012

Always a pleasant stay, friendly staff, great breakfast, and charming acommodations.


We had a great time!

5 on May 16, 2012

This is our second time visiting and it is always a wonderful experience. The service is exceptional. We will be visiting again soon!


Windward House - The best!!!!

5 on April 30, 2012

We have been going to the Windward House for about 12 years now. and each time we leave, we count the days till our return, Sandy and Owen Miller as well as the staff feel like part of our family. The house is beautiful, the rooms are great and the breakfast and afternoon snacks are excellent. I cannot say enough just that we can't wait to go back.


Most relaxing

5 on April 23, 2012

friendly, relaxing, comfortable old world Victorian charm. Take a step into the past and relive the day late 19th century aristocracy with our modern conveniences. Sit on the comfortable shaded veranda to watch people strolling along the street. Take short walks to beach, restaurants and shopping (just like in the old days). Sandy the owner is a wonderful host and we thank her for her hospitality and sharing her love of antiques.


Just Lovely

4.6 on October 26, 2011

Spent one evening there but wish it could have been more. The home, service and food was just wonderful. There really is nothing more to say. Would love to stay there again and again.


Our yearly Fall getaway

4.8 on September 21, 2011

Awesome place to stay in Cape May. Mrs. Miller, innkeeper, goes above and beyond to serve our needs and assure we are happy and comfortable in her beautiful Victorian Inn. We stay at the Winward House every year and would never consider staying anywhere else. Brenda


We had a great time

5 on September 19, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Windward house Bed and Breakfast. We had a wonderful time. The house is just beautiful. The breakfasts were great and very creative. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests and spent a lot of time on the front porch, very comfortably, with the guest, late into the evening. The room was very private, fresh and immaculate. We were pleasantly surprised when we returned from breakfast to have our room already attended to by the staff. The staff and owners were very cordial and gracious and made you feel very welcome. The location was great and within walking distance to most of what Cape May has to offer. We would certainly return.


Windward House - a good place to stay

4.4 on September 17, 2011

This is an excellent place to stay. Be sure to stay in one of the rooms with access to the 2nd floor porch!


Wonderful Weekend

4.4 on September 14, 2011

The photos on the web site do not do the Windward House justice. The place is very clean, PERFECTLY located, everything within walking distance, beach is 1/2 block away. Breakfast was wonderful with a hot casserole or french toast, fresh fruit, pastry, homemade granola, etc. The front porch is the best part -- large area, comfortable seats, perfect for sipping that glass of wine and watching the world go by.


J&L central nj

4.0 on August 24, 2011

The place itself was clean. The breakfast was ok but no second selection nor were we asked if everything wa ok. No real warm feeling as far as hospitality goes. Probably would not go back


Very Nice

4.2 on August 19, 2011

The room was large and very clean. Breakfast was great. Long walk to park your car in a public lot.


Would go back again

4.2 on August 18, 2011

I had a lovely three night stay. The owner and staff are accessible and friendly and it isn't long before everyone feels like family. The location is wonderful, very accessible to the beach and to the mall. Beds comfortable, rooms spacious, decor Victorian. The breakfasts were different every day and the quality of the food was excellent. Highly recommend.


b&b vac by the sea

3.6 on July 29, 2011

lovely mother daughter set up, lots of privacy, very close to the beach. a nice surprise was the included beach passes, parking and even beach chairs and towels. great pricing


Windward House on jackson Street

4.0 on July 28, 2011

First of all, our room was on the 3rd floor . I counted 30 steps up a winding staircase to our room and we had to carry our own luggage and being both seniors this was very difficult. Secondly, we had to par k over 3 blocks away...no parking near the inn. On 90 degree days walking all that way was not fun. The room was nice, clean and more than adequate but I would not stay simply due to all the inconveniences. No amenities included like a pool or gym. Quite expensive at $230. per night.


Winward House

4.0 on July 24, 2011

Very cordial owner goes out of her way to make one comfortable. Very accomodating.


Wonderful place to stay

4.8 on July 24, 2011

Windward House is a beautiful place to stay. The breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are spotless, and Sandy Miller is a delightful hostess! The house is beautifully decorated, yet very comfortable. Great proximity to the beach, shopping, and restaurants. We have stayed here before and will stay here in the future. I highly recommend Windward House!


Outstanding, exceeded our expectations

4.0 on July 24, 2011

Wonderful stay at the Windward House in Cape May. Great \hostess, Sandy explains many of her accommodations even when checking out she accommodates you for an extra day by offering her outdoor shower and powder room for use for the day. Her home is warm, friendly safe and close to all needs. She offers a good breakfast, and large room accommodations. We stayed in the Cottage room with a large porch for a view of Jackson street. Front porch wonderful and a fine place to meet with guests. A special thanks to Sandy for helping me with my Mom by letting us utilize her driveway for short term parking to make things easier for her to come and go. Rooms are well kept and even offer a mid-size fridge for leftovers and drinks. She has thought of every detail. Look forward to a return visit. You will not be disappointed with this choice!


our getaway

4.4 on July 22, 2011

My husband and i had not been away for over 6 years . The stay here was Outstanding! Great location close to every thing. The service was gret and friendly we would book here again .


Wish I were (still) there!

4.0 on July 20, 2011

I wish to salute the ownership and staff of the Windward House. They provided first rate food and accomadations and managed to give the experience the feeling and comfort of home.


a weekend get away, june 24th

3.6 on June 29, 2011

We stayed in the renaissance room which is right in the main lobby area when you walk in. The room is also adjacent to the front porch. Everyone was really nice and the porch was fun to sit on and just relax. We had a great time and I would go back. I just wish it was less expensive and the county didn't tax visitors so much, but thats Jersey.


Windward House

4.2 on June 01, 2011

Windward House is a heavenly place to stay. The Inn is beautiful and charming, as are many in Cape May, but the porch, sundeck and incredible collection of antiques set this place apart. The quantity of ornaments is astounding. One could be there a month and still discover new things. One of the nicest places I've ever been - definitely will return! James Willmott


Our Stay at the Windward House - May 2011

4.2 on May 25, 2011

The house is a great old Bed and Breakfast located close to the beach and town center. The host of the nice is a wonderful, nice and accomondating person who makes sure your stay at her place will be enjoyable!


Charming!

4.6 on May 04, 2011

Hi, the Terrace apartment of the Windsor house is just perfect! It was SPOTLESSLY clean, exceptionally well stocked, and very cozy. I stayed there with family of 5 and it was the perfect size. I do have to say the ceilings are somewhat low which wasn't an issue for us, but if you happen to be very tall you'll need to watch your head.


Windward Hse is the best!!!

5 on April 14, 2011

Best, relaxing time. Sandy, Owen and Cheryl make us feel right at home and assure that we have a great time. The rooms are beautiful. The breakfast is great. We have been going for 15 years and will never a miss an opportunity to stay there.


THE GEM OF THE JERSEY SHORE

5 on April 13, 2011

This was our tenth year staying at the Windward House. The house is perfect in location and it's old world and charm is second to none. The owner, Sandy, does an outstanding job in making us, and all her guests, feel at home and welcome. From the warm cookies and sherry to the delicious breakfasts, time spent at the Windward House is always an ideal getaway.


A very pleasant stay in a most remarkable house

5 on October 12, 2010

Windward House is a marvelous example of Victoriana, located close to beach, shops and fine restaurants. Few houses have such an incredible display of period furnishings and decor. One is impressed by the condition of everything for the house is maintained beautifully. The inn keeper is friendly, accomodating and knowledgable about Cape May. It was a very pleasant stay and I would heartily recommend Windward House to friends.


Nice Location

3.6 on September 29, 2010

There are an abundance of B&Bs in Cape May. The Windward house on Jaackson street has a nice location going for it. Close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The house was exceptionally decorated.


You never know who you will meet

4.8 on August 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay this week. The location is in the heart of Cape May and you feel you are in a unique place that exists less and less in America. Sigh. The porch experience is nice once the service trucks are done making deliveries to hotels across the street. However, this is more than offset by the fact that there isn't much thru-traffic as is the case at some other B&Bs we have stayed at in Cape May. Porch is large enough for groups of about ten. Food is great especially for an egg lover. We sometimes see people from past visits so you know the owner, Sandy, is doing something right when you meet repeat vacationers. Staff is friendly when you get to know them by name. We look forward to coming next year!


An excellent B&B to stay while in Cape May!

4.4 on August 22, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Windward and loved it. We stayed in the Edwardian room and really liked this room. We had a large private porch to sit out on to watch the sunsets. The breakfast each morning was well appointed and had several items to choose from. Sandy the owner is a very friendly lady and truly loves being a B&B owner. The home is gorgeous inside and out and very well kept. We look forward to returning to this lovely bed and breakfast in the future. April & Ryan Maule


first impressions are lasting impressions

4.0 on August 20, 2010

everything was very nice, except the person who greeted us wasn't very friendly, and it didn't seem like she enjoys her job!


beautiful but.....

4.0 on September 14, 2009

This house is located on the best street in Cape May, Jackson Street. It also boasts a beautiful front porch but....the woman (not the owner Sandy) who checked us in and is often in the lobby to "help" guests is the rudest person I have ever met in Cape May. The owners should get rid of her and hire someone who actually likes people! My husband I have stayed here several times and refuse to let her ruin our weekends but enough is enough.


What a great place to stay!

5 on April 16, 2008

I stayed in the Summer Suite with my wife, on the first floor behind the dining room. While we could hear noise at times, it was the same as we'd have heard in any other room. Truth be told, it was a beautiful room and we had some great privacy in the back of the house. The interior of the inn is unbelievable, you really have to see it in person because pictures don't do it justice. There are so many antiques that everywhere you look, you see something that will catch your eye and intrique you. It's absolutely gorgeous! Breakfast was an omlet casserole dish one day and baked french toast the next. Both meals were very good and I heard many guests talking about the french toast especially. Tea time was nice and informal, with sweet treats to munch on and an assortment of tea. Don't let other reviewers sway you, there were at least 10 different types of tea. The crown jewel of Windward is not the house or the food, however. It's a woman named, Sandy, who put her heart and soul into the inn for 30 years. She is the owner/innkeeper of the Windward and she is as nice a person as I have ever met. Sandy has a true passion for what she does (even after all this time) and when she talks about Cape May, you can see the love in her eyes. Conversations with her really made the trip and both my wife and I are very grateful for all the time she took, shooting the breeze with us. I could go on and on, but I encourage you to book a room and see for yourself. You won't be disapointed in either the inn or the spectacular location directly between the mall and the beach.


Windward House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $280
  • Reviews (110) 4.4
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6098843368
  • Fax 1-6098841575

Visit Website »

View details

Top