The Wilbraham Mansion Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.2
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
66 Reviews

Write A Review

Renewed love in Cape May

5 on January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wilbraham Mansion. To say we were delighted with the rooms and service is an understatement. We were able to stay in a beautiful, modern room with all the amenities (Jacuzzi tub, double headed shower, fireplace, ...). Then we were able to dine in the beautiful Mansion and enjoy old world charm. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful.


September getaway

3.0 on October 06, 2012

First time in Cape May. Enjoyed our stay at Wilbraham. Clean, quiet rooms. Short walk to shopping, etc. Front porch is perfect for after dinner drink and relaxing.


1st time at a bed and breakfast

3.0 on August 10, 2012

This place is nice and clean. We stayed in suite 301 for two nights. The elevator is quite loud. The room is huge and comfy. Overall we liked it. We are even heading back there next week. I love the fact that they have an indoor heated pool, which is open 24/7. Breakfast was good. It was different both mornings. Tea time wasn't bad either. The owners are welcoming, which is a HUGE plus. Hopefully we feel the same way second time around...


Amazing Weekend at Wilbraham

4.8 on January 07, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights and had a wonderful time. We rang in the New Year in Cape May which was so much fun! We stayed in suite 202. If you are looking for a big beautiful room then this is the one for you. Doug, Sissy and staff were fantastic. The breakfast and tea in the afternoon was great! Definitely will return!


Wonderful stay!

4.4 on December 18, 2011

We spent 2 nights at The Wilbraham Mansion and loved every minute! Our room was spotless and waiting for our arrival. The Bathroom is wonderful!!! spacious and inviting... Breakfast was Great too! We will return!


great place

5 on October 18, 2011

Very nice place. Stayed in the suites. Staff/owner was great as was breakfast.


Outstanding Bed and breakfast

4.8 on September 26, 2011

In a true Victorian bed and breakfast style, this establishment had all the amenities one desires for a romantic get away. Beautiful room (204), gas fireplace, and jacuzzi helped to relax those tired legs after walking all around Cape May. The pool was also a appreciated amenity. Started the day with a delicious breakfast and ended with dinner at some of the best restaurants, Ebbitt Room, Mad Batter, The Black Duck. On site parking at the Wilbraham Mansion a bonus. Can't wait to return.


Great place to stay

5 on March 24, 2011

You will not be disappointed with your stay at The Wilbraham. Everything from the room (we stayed in suite 204) to the staff to the amenities are first rate. Within walking distance to everywhere you would like to go (shopping, restaurants, bars, beach, etc.). This was the first time we stayed here and are already booking our next stay.


January stay

4.6 on January 20, 2011

We stayed in room #2, which was warm, cozy, and with a wonderful bay window. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Service was friendly and prompt. The highlight was the heated indoor pool -- what a treat on a cold winter day!


A Wilbraham Winter at the Beach Vacation

4.4 on January 20, 2011

This is now the second year we have spent MLK weekend at the Wilbraham Mansion. The beach is beautiful and quiet - perfect for seeking Cape May diamonds and sea glass. While only select restaurants are open, those that are open are the best - they need to be to survive the quiet winter months. The Wilbraham offers the best of a romantics Victorian mansion - quiet parlors, sunny porches, elegantly set tables for breakfast and teas - along with a new annex building hosting modern bedrooms and superb bathrooms. Every room in the annex has a fireplace, two-headed shower, and huge jacuzzi tub, but the decor harkens back to Victorian times, abet with modern comfort. Plus it is a quick step between buildings to the indoor heated pool in the back of the mansion. Innkeeper Doug is a great reference for places to go and eat in town, while Jana and Sissy keep the place spotless and serve up meals and teas. Altogether a great place to relax and unwind!


Perfect Mother's Day Breakfast!

4.0 on January 19, 2011

The suites are spacious. Close to everything. Caretaker was very polite and helpful. WE were just given a phone number for an emergency since no one was staying on the grounds...I am not sure I like the idea of no one being around if we needed them, /the did have a very nice spread put out for afternoon snacks.


An excellent place

4.4 on January 11, 2011

The Willbraham Mansion is a lovely place. One of the best I've stayed at!


A wonderful honeymoon

5 on January 07, 2011

I was booked room 304 because I was so impressed by the picture online. Being in the room in real life was even better than in the picture. The room was so clean and cozy. The bathrooms really put the rooms over the top with the clean and up-to-date facility, a huge jacuzzi, and 2 person shower. The fireplace made the room just perfect for a winter get-away. We actually arrived a day late because of a blizzard and state of emergency. The inkeeper, Doug, was very understanding and did not charge us for the night we did not make it, which was going against their own policy. We really appreciated their compassion in this matter. The breakfast and tea were amazing. We looked forward to coming down every morning to fresh pineapple and coffee, along with other delicious, homemade food. The Victorian ambiance in the masion was absolutely beautiful. We would recommend anyone to stay at Wilbraham Mansion.


Best of Both Worlds

4.6 on January 05, 2011

The stay at the Wilbraham was wonderful. We stayed in the new suites where you get to experiance the charm of a old victorian B&B with all the modern conveniances of a new hotel. The hosts were very gracious and made plesant conversation. We definitly felt at home while staying there. We will go back again next time we stay in Cape May.


Solid Value

3.4 on January 04, 2011

Walls are thin in new wing and lots of noise from next room.


Wonderful Holiday Break

4.8 on December 26, 2010

We Love staying at the Wilbraham Mansion! Always feel welcome here and the hosts always make us welcome whether a quick getaway or a longer stay. For anyone who has not tried the suites in the new building, you are truly missing very romantic experience!


anniv. getaway

5 on December 14, 2010

Only about 6 blocks from the beach and 4 from shopping. Ample parking on site , clean room , helpful staff and good food. Will definitely be going back .


I LOVE the Wilbraham Mansion!

5 on December 02, 2010

I've stayed there 4 times already - it's the only place I stay in Cape May. Great rooms, indoor pool, delicious hot breakfast, close to everything, gracious hosts Doug and Sissy and the entire staff are awsome! I highly recommend it.


Best Romantic Rooms in Cape May NJ!

4.2 on November 30, 2010

If you want the most romantic rooms in Cape May NJ head over to the Wilbraham Manison. In their new additon every room has a 2 person jacuzzi tub, 2 person shower and gas fireplace. The food is amazing for a bed and breakfast! It is a little costly but you won't be disappointed!


thanksgiving getaway

3.2 on November 30, 2010

room was lovely, however fireplace constantly blew out due to winds outside blowing through the piping had to restart gave up would not stay lit bed frame stuck out to far from mattress kept hitting it while walking around bed ouch!! breakfast was fair tea time could have been more imaginative it was ok all in all a lovely atmosphere romantic and very very clean i would definitley return food in the area was good and shops quaint i would recommend to others looking for a romantic getaway.


Highly reccommend

4.4 on November 24, 2010

Had an awesome stay at Wilbraham Mansion! Suite 302 was amazing, highly reccommend this B&B I will definetly be back!


Great stay!

4.0 on November 22, 2010

Each morning the breakfast was delicious. The rooms were very private and clean. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again!


Romantic Getaway

3.6 on November 21, 2010

This was a perfect weekend for my wife and me. The suite is decorated in old victorian fashion but every thing is only two years old. We never knew anyone else was in the building, very quite. I loved laying there staring at the fireplace and not hearing anything except the soft music we had playing. The jacuzzi was real treat and we used it often. The mansion is walking distance to every where. I think we will make it a special annual event especially in October, my favorite time of year.


A Wonderful Time!

4.4 on November 20, 2010

We stayed in Suite #206, and it was absolutely breathtaking! The room was impeccably clean and decorated; the jacuzzi really completed the accomodations. The service and food were nice, and the hosts were very friendly. As our first bed and breakfast, it left little to be desired. We will definitely be back! Kim and Steve


The Wilbraham Mansion

3.6 on November 17, 2010

The suite rooms were expesnive but very nice, the bathroom with 2 person jaccuzzi and 2 head shower was unbelievable. The Fireplace is a great touch especially if you are staying in the fall or winter. It is within walking distance of the Washington Square Mall which has plenty of bars and shopping to check out. I would stay here again in a heartbeat for a special occasion but the price is a little steep if you are looking to save money.


We had a AWESOME time and was very relaxing

5 on November 15, 2010

The wife and I stayed in the Wibraham Suite (room 9). It was HUGE and hade both a new double shower and new double Jacuzzi tub. We needed a great get away with out the kids and this was it. The Service was excellent, breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly. The pool was clean and refreshing (though the liner looks like it is getting a little old). This was the main reason I picked the B&B. The toiltries were fine (dont know what ppl were complaining about). Granted this was the off season, but the Jazz Fest was in town and Cape May was still busy. The fact that we were away from the crowds and noise was very nice. We met very nice people while staying in the house and took full advantage of the amenities. Well within walking distance of the center of town and a great value. We plan to stay here in the future.


great stay

4.0 on November 14, 2010

My girlfriend and I had never stayed at a B and B prior to the Wilbraham; we are very private people and were worried that we might have other guests or staff hovering around. However, we barely saw anyone until we were looking for them. We loved the private entrance. The hottub was cool, though kind of loud and complicated to use. My only real complaint is that the tv was not watchable from the bed, and the website said every room included a dvd player, but our suite did not. Overall i highly reccommend it.


Nice place to kick back and relax

3.0 on November 11, 2010

Nice bed and breakfast, suites are great along with the jacuzzi tubs.


Excellent B&B

4.4 on November 07, 2010

Stayed in the new building, loved the room. 2 person jacuzzi was wonderful. Can't comment on breakfast because we slept in both days. Can't wait to go again.


A first time B&B that will be hard to top

4.4 on November 07, 2010

Friendly management that goes the extra mile for guests. Nice location, beautiful new suites with luxury amenities, indoor pool, no screaming kids... Ahhhh so relaxing... See ya next year!!


enjoyed our stay

4.6 on November 04, 2010

We stayed in the suits that had the double shower and jacuzzi. Good thing, as the bed was not that comfortable. Warm and inviting without being intrussive. yes we would reccomend


The Wilbraham Mansion Weekend Escape

5 on November 02, 2010

We absolutely loved this place. It was so peaceful. The staff and other guests were so friendly. The frenchtoast was so delicious. The guest room was absolutely amazing. I think it was half the size of my entire house. We truly enjoyed our stay, and will definitely stay there again.


We can't decide!

4.0 on October 28, 2010

We stayed in the newer building which is an all suites section. The shower & jacuzzi hot tub are amazing. THey have an indoor pool in the main B&B area which is open 24 hours. It is very clean & pretty cool. It is deep and the temperature is perfect but the area around it could be nicer. We love that the location is a bit off the main drag, but not too far. The roms are beautifully furnished. The breakfast is a bit of a disappointment and the toiletries are horrible. I still like this property for the room, bathroom facilitites and the pool. My husband thinks the poor breakfast is a dealbreker, but I really like the property.


Weekend getaway

4.2 on October 27, 2010

We received a gift certificate to the Wilbraham Mansion for our wedding. We have never been to a bed and breakfast. This place was beautiful and so comfortable. We are going back to celebrate our one year anniversary.


very satisfied

5 on October 21, 2010

Place was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was very good.


Wibraham Mansion Review

4.2 on October 21, 2010

Very relaxing and enjoyable with friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in the newer building and it had an elevator and it resembled a hotel floor. The room decor was beautiful and decorated victorian style. The 2-person jacuzzi tub was awesome.


The Perfect Retreat

5 on October 18, 2010

Loved the location-far enough from the mainstream to be peaceful, but close enough to walk! Indoor pool was perfect. Plenty of space in our room for a girls' weekend (pedicures, manicures, facials). We felt very pampered!


Great rooms, poor service

3.6 on October 17, 2010

The rooms were outstanding for B&B, but the breakfast was very disappointing. Food was good but no service never had coffee! Don't order the cheese tray -- disappointing.


OK but not ecstatic...

3.4 on October 17, 2010

No DVD available in room in main house; cable TV available was minimal. Has more of a large inn atmosphere than that of a bed-and-breakfast. Principal selling point (for those inclined) was the heated indoor pool.


Anniversary at the Wilbraham

4.6 on October 14, 2010

My wife and I spent one night at the Wilbraham. We were impressed with the furnishings, such as the dining tables sideboards and chandeliers. Tea time was nice, with a wide assortment of teas. Breakfast was excellent, with the server bringing our meals quickly and courteously.We also enjoyed the pristine, heated pool and the helpful, courteous staff.


We had a great time

4.0 on October 08, 2010

We stayed in the modernized behind the main house. Overall the room was very well appointed although given the price I thought their might be either more shampoos, soaps, etc in the bathroom. The rooms were spotless, large and comfortable. Breakfast each day was freshly prepared and consisted of many of the "standards" which in my opinion is a good thing. Snacks in the afternoon were tasty and plentiful. We also liked the location. It was an easy walk to almost everything including the beach, the mall and restaurants, tour busses, etc. Probably not an easy walk to the beach with kids and gear. The main house was comfortable and we never felt like we were in somebody elses house. If I could make one suggestion it would be to have coffee going and available a little bit earlier. The staff was helpful and friendly enough, but the house is not staffed 24x7 if that makes any difference. Overall, I would recomend.


Very enjoyable visit

4.6 on October 06, 2010

We stayed in Room 201, but didn't get a chance to try to huge whirlpool tub. The room was very tasteful, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is served at 9am, so you get a chance to mingle with the other guests. The Wilbraham is a short walk from the center of activity in Cape May. My only suggestion for improvement is to add a light to the ceiling fan because the lamps around the room aren't very strong.


Nice Romantic Getaway

3.2 on September 30, 2010

This may seem like an odd request, but REAL Maple Syrup and brand name tissues are expected (in my eyes) when spending $300 a night during shoulder season in Cape May. Also, my husband requests at least one movie channel. Other than that, we had a great time. The room was spacious and clean - very comfortable bed. It was our first stay at a B&B and booked suite 306 in the back, new building. This was nice as it had a boutique hotel feel, rather than staying in someones house - the best of both worlds! I would recommend Wilbraham Mansion to friends and family. Tom & Cindi Bendancing Philadelphia, PA September 2010 (3rd Anniversary getaway)


loved it!

4.2 on September 28, 2010

We've been staying in Cape May for 8 years, and The Wilbraham Mansion was by far the best Bed & Breakfast we've experienced. Gorgeous!


great place to stay

3.6 on August 23, 2010

we stayd in a suite which was real nice and close to the beach...downfalls the air conditioning was blowing on your head all night needed a diverter...the sink flooded the floor during the night from a leak they ended up shutting off the water so we had one sink instead of two. the breakfast is at 9 should be 8 otherwise would go back very clean ....and great access to everything....


Very nice

4.0 on August 18, 2010

We were only staying for one night for like a day trip to Cape May. What really sold me on this B&B was the 2 person jacuzzi tube in the 300 number suites. I will admit it is pricey but you have to pay for what you get. We were arriving late, I called ahead the person was very nice and pleasant about it. The room was very clean, the bathroom was amazing, jacuzzi and a two headed shower. I could have lived in the bathroom! The air conditioning worked great and also had a fire place in the room. The only thing I dislike about this B&B was the breakfast was a little small and no seconds were offered. I am not a large man and it was fine for me but others were complaining and I could see why. I hope the next time we go to Cape May we can stay there again for longer.


Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, great food, slightly inconvenient location

4.2 on June 17, 2010

The amenities in the new portion of this B&B surpass any others in the Cape May area. The bathroom is especially nice. The breakfast was delicious and the staff extremely friendly. The location is a bit of a walk to the main shopping/dining/beach areas.


3rd Anniversary stay

4.0 on June 07, 2010

Our favorite part was the relaxing atmosphere, 2 person jacuzzi and 2 person shower. Very nice way to celebrate our 3rd anniversary with a baby on the way!


A Mansion to Remember

5 on June 02, 2010

We had a truly wonderful experience! Mansion accommodations were excellent. Innkeepers were knowledgeable enough to guide us to the places that catered to our specific needs. Guests were an interesting eclectic group.


Memorial Day Relaxation

5 on May 31, 2010

Our stay was excellent. The innkeeper Doug was a wealth of information about local restaurants and directions. He gave us an extensive orientation about using the Jacuzzi and Direct TV. Room had all the modern amenities and Victorian charm. Location is away from the tumult of the beach area but conveniently walkable to all attractions. Definitely will go back.


Best Babymoon

3.6 on May 20, 2010

We got to relaxed. close to the shopping area, great antique stores. This B&B have a great pool, heated and indoors, accessible 24hrs. It was all so nice! Tea time - yummy snacks!


Great Escape Greatly Enjoyed

5 on May 15, 2010

Loved the HEATED, INDOOR POOL. Delicious breakfast. Elegant Mansion.


Wilbraham Mansion

4.2 on May 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed for our second anniversary in one of the suites in the newer building. The room was spacious, very clean, and well worth the extra money considering the weather was less than nice when we stayed and we spent much of the time in the room. The breakfasts we had were delicious and I loved the afternoon tea. This was our first stay at a B&B, but I loved the ambiance and the closeness among the guests. We would definitely go back in the future.


Wonderful First Time Stay in a Bed&Breakfast

3.8 on May 10, 2010

Their indoor heated pool is open 24 hours a day which meant we didn't have to rush our schedule to make use of it. Upon arrival we sat in one of their lovely dining rooms and ate the most delicious home-made brownies. Our suite was in their newer facility and had so many modern comforts. In the morning we were treated to a lavish breakfast in yet another lovely dining room.


Very Charming

4.8 on May 10, 2010

My husband & I loved it, the people & food exceeded my expectations. We will be back Alice & Jay Peskin


will definately recommend The Wilbraham

5 on May 04, 2010

Excellen breakfeast. Good service and friendly staff.


Great place to stay.and it has a pool

4.4 on April 05, 2010

Stayed off season and had a really relaxing time - stayed in the suites because we are spoiled and love the creature comforts of a hot tub - but enjoyed the history of this beautiful mansion! The food was wonderful and the staff accomodating! Will definately stay here again!


Anniversary Getaway

4.4 on March 24, 2010

This was a first time stay at a Bed & Breakfast and we were ecstatic about the accommodations and service at the Wilbraham. We decided to give the Wilbraham a shot after checking out a number of the Cape May B & Bs online. We were so pleased with our experience that we are planning to make it a regular stop for our anniversary. We love the beach and the Cape May atmosphere so the Wilbraham Mansion is a perfect fit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.


Loving B&B's

4.0 on November 29, 2009

I can't comment on our stay, we are booked for May 2010. This will be our second stay at a B&B and looking forward to it. Our first stay was in Lancaster, Pa., we loved every second of it. We will not stay at any Hotels or Motels anymore.It's only going to be B&B's from now on.


Keep Looking

2.2 on September 24, 2009

Room was nice and clean except mirrors were too high. Staff was as friendly as a ride on the NYC subway. I've had better breakfasts at Days Inn. The breakfast one morning was almost not edible. Too big for a B&B, more like a small overpriced hotel. In short this place needs a personality overhaul and change in breakfast menu.


Babymoon

4.6 on August 10, 2009

The amenities were fantastic. The service was friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful and relaxing weekend.


romance in a minute

4.6 on August 07, 2009

wonderful pool, service, beautiful decor, and fabulous jacuzzi!


Wonderful B&B with Great Amenities

4.6 on January 23, 2009

This B&B offers a unique combination of a period victorian mansion and the luxury of new suites with a fireplace and jacuzzi in each of the suites. The decor in the suites is beatiful and compliments the mansion. There are many common areas in the mansion that one can enjoy and feel as though you stepped back in time. With only a few steps you are back to your room for a relaxing soak in the tub and a warm fire. A relaxing and enjoyable experience. The staff and owner were warm and welcoming. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. The french toast was wonderful. I highly recommend staying here and we will be faithful returning customers.


We LOVE the Wilbraham

5 on January 17, 2009

I cannot express how Wonderful the suites are! We have stayed her at least once a year for 4 years running and plan to make it there at least twice this year! The main house is very nice for the B and B part, but the suites are to die for! 2 person showers and jacuzzi's, plenty of room and a few steps to to the indoor 24/7 pool, and an elevator to get your stuff to the upper floors! Call me non-conventional, but if you are looking to relax and get away from alarm clocks, cell phones and just unwind, go here. I am not a purist when it comes to B and B's so the amenities here really won my wife and I over! To be able to run around all day and come back to a pool, jacuzzi, fireplace and a nice room is the best! There is also dining area to accommodate weddings and other such events the suites building. I have always had great experiences with the owner and staff. Breakfast has always been excellent and very filling. Doug and Sissy have always been gracious and willing to talk if you ask a question. They have always been very accommodating with our breakfast, restaurant, or any other requests. We love going here in the semi-off to off season when it's not as crazy in Cape May. Although many of the restuarants are closed or have limited schedules in the off season, we had absolutly no problems with the few that were open. No waits and great service! If you are looking to get away and enjoy some peace and quiet, soothe your body and mind and enjoy a hassle free time, schedule your mental health day(s) here! Our thanks to Doug and Sissy for their hospitality. Oh and BTW, A HUGE THANK YOU to JoAnn for her help!!! : )


Magical night spent on New Year's Eve

4.0 on January 06, 2009

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. We were in a room in the old house which is what I would recommend for charm. We arrived late but the guy at the front desk was able to get us dinner reservations at a fantastic restaurant within walking distance. The breakfast served here was very good as well. Quite a memorable experience.


Excellent

4.0 on September 12, 2007

Everything is top notch in this B&B. Service, Accomodations and Location proved to make our first visit in Cape May one that we hope to repeat. Beautifully restored.


The Wilbraham Mansion

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $385
  • Reviews (66) 4.3
  • Rooms 22
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6098842046

Visit Website »

View details

Top