Angel of the Sea Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Cape May B & B

2.2 on October 14, 2013

The staff was very welcoming but I felt the facility & accomodations were very "tired" looking & in need of some sprucing up. Food was just OK. Probably will not go back to the Angel.


Beautiful and charming getaway

4.8 on July 08, 2012

My husband and I spent three days here during the July 4th week. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in room 27 which was a good size and so charming. Everything was very clean and the breakfast every morning was delicious. Can't beat the location which is right on beach block. We spent our first day Exploring cape may on the bikes provided by the Inn. We had so much fun as we explored Cape May viabike for 5 hours. The inn also provides beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrellas which is very convenient. After checkout we spent the day on the beach. We had dinner plans that night so we needed a place to shower. The inn has an outside shower which also includes a little changing room with mirror and even an outlet for my blow dryer! Very convenient and private. I can't wait to go back. I travel a lot for work and consider myself a "hotel snob" and I would have no problem recommending this Inn!


annual retreat

5 on May 22, 2012

My mother, sister and i just returned from our 9th annual mothers day retreat at the Angel of the Sea and have year 10 already booked! We love it there. The hospitality is beyond compare. We enjoy the social atmosphere, meeting the other guests and making friends that we keep in contact with over the year til we meet again the next year. The breakfasts are superb...always a difficulty choice between 2 delectable selections. Wont stay anywhere else!


wonderful get away weekend

4.6 on May 11, 2012

This was just what we needed - beautiful accommodations, quaint victorian town, wonderful restaurants and shopping. First time at Angel of the Sea, many times visiting Cape May and we will be back!


a wonderful memory

4.0 on February 09, 2012

a few years back, before my husband became critically ill, we went there wuith another couple. unfortunately it rained that weekendl. however a couple there was married on premises. we took pictures of them riding away on a bycle built for two in a light rain. the afternoon tea, the breakfast and the supeior room..despite the weather we all had a wonderful time. unfortunately, my husband became sick and we stoped travelling.l.and not too long ago he passed on. however i am looking forward to travelling again this springtime with a girlfirend ..and i would not go anywhere else but angel of the sea. i even have a lovely hooked rug that i bought with your name on itl.


Great Week at the Beach

5 on August 26, 2011

We had a great time on Cape May thanks to our relaxing stay at Angel of the Sea. Lori and the staff were great! Breakfast meals had many healthy selections including a large variety of fruit, cereal, and fresh yogurt. The "good stuff" hot breakfast selections were a treat each day. Location is everything and being a half block from the beach made our walk to the beach with chairs and bags a breeze. We're already booked for another beach week next year! If you like a quiet place close to the beach, this bed and breakfast may be a winner for you, too.


Another great stay

4.4 on April 02, 2011

My husband and I needed a relaxing get away. We only had a day to escape our hectic life and the Angel was the perfect place to do that. It was our second time at this B&B and the food was even better than we remembered. The staff recommended a wonderful seafood restaurant, Hemingways, which was only a 2 block walk. The food and drinks were phenomenal. They also had off-season prices so our tab was very reasonable.


Heavenly Angel

5 on November 13, 2010

From the time we made our reservations (via phone) till time we left there was never any disappointments, everything heavenly!


Beautiful Angel!

4.0 on October 27, 2010

We just returned from a stay at the Angel and already planning a trip back. I'm not quite sure what folks are looking for when they book a trip to a B&B, but this was so much nicer than staying in a cookie cutter hotel or motel at the beach. We loved the free bikes! We rode about 15 miles the one full day we were there. There are also chairs, umbrellas and towels for guests to use. Off street parking is behind the home. Breakfast was yummy and very filling....no way you should go away hungry. We thought the room was very nice, although not sure if we would book an Angel Suite again because while the ocean view was lovely, so was the surrounding community! We personally loved that the owners care enough about the home to have period style furniture in the home. What spoke volumes to us is that both couples we sat with at breakfast on Tuesday were repeat customers....the one said they try to stay on a monthly basis. We can't wait to go back!


Angel is a Diamond

5 on April 27, 2010

I have stayed at Angel three times in the last year and I will tell you that it is one of the best and valued places to stay. It is in a quiet spot away from the traffic and hustle of visitors, but one block from the ocean. The staff is great and you will never be hungry here -- there is food/refreshments served 3 times a day. It is perfect for couples or families traveling. I am one of those who can't get away for more than one evening and has always helped me out for my quick getaway. To Mark and Chet - the true 'Angels' - thank you and will see you soon! Karen Damiani, Staten Island


Amazing History

3.4 on October 09, 2009

The Angel has an amazing history and gorgeous location. Fantastic porches and woodwork is painstakingly restored but the bathrooms need an upgrade as well as the noisy ineffective air-conditioners. We truly enjoyed the extra afternoon treats and abundant breakfast sides. Some of the staff are more interested in socializing with their coworkers than the guests.


Perfection!

3.6 on October 07, 2009

A great weekend getaway! The food was heavenly! We had bikes, beach chairs, towels and umbrellas at our fingertips. The staff was great. The combination made for a perfect vacation.


An Angel of a time

4.2 on September 02, 2009

The stay was wonderful. It was romantic and relaxing. I would definitely do this again.


Still impressed ater all these years

3.8 on August 26, 2009

Gracious service -- Truly authentic and original Victorian inn. Furniture and decor quite breathtaking.


Relaxing & Enjoyable

5 on August 24, 2009

We recently experienced the death of 2 immediate family members. We wanted to get away a few days to relax and regroup. This B&B was the perfect getaway. They catered to our every need. The beach & other activities were close by. It was an excellent choice for a short vacation.


Awesome

5 on August 05, 2009

Excellent food, location and room. Will return in the future. Nice touch with wine/cheese happy hour, bikes, beach equipment, nightly turn down.


Top Choice for Cape May

4.4 on August 04, 2009

This B&B is my first choice in Cape May. It is charming, just a half-block from the beach and has ample room on its multiple porches. The deluxe breakfast, afternoon tea, desserts and cheese are a big plus.


Our first B&B

4.0 on July 30, 2009

"Angel" was so much nicer than I expected. The most quiet & relaxing vacation we've ever had!


A wonderful experience

4.4 on July 01, 2009

Very nice old victorian BnB in a great quiet location by the sea. Exceptional attention to detail, wonderful breakfasts and afternoon tea. Bike availability is a nice touch.


15th Anniversary

4.4 on June 30, 2009

The third floor views of the water and sunset were breath taking. The employees were all pleasant to deal with. Great to have access to bikes, towels, chairs and umbrellas. What a luxury!!!


Service & Food Galore

4.4 on October 01, 2008

Despite the power outage caused by Hurricane Hanna, we had a delightful stay at the Angel of the Sea. The 4pm tea time and 5:30 wine & cheese were spectacular! The staff was tremendously accommodating. We'd recommend this B&B to all.


A Great Experience

4.8 on July 28, 2008

We had wondeful time at Angel of the Sea from the time we checked in until we left. We stayed three nights. The room was very nice and each evening the bed was turned down. The staff was courteous and very helpful. Breakfast was A+ and the afternoon "tea and sweets" and the 5:30 wine and cheese were plentiful and top notch. Great location in Cape May and we enjoyed morning walks both in town anhd on the beach. We couldn't be more pleased.


Heavenly

5 on June 17, 2008

This was my first experience with a bed & breakfast and I must say I was very impressed. As soon as we pulled up the the location I was taken away. Friendly people, beautiful and quiet atmosphere. The beach was right there. Shopping was a bicycle ride away.


Magical!!!!

5 on December 18, 2007

One of the best weekends of my life! Room 9 was amazing! Great view, warm and cozy!!! Enjoyed the Peter Shields Inn for dinner. Breakfast choices and presentation were out of this world!!!!


Seduced

5 on November 29, 2007

My wife took me here for my 50th birthday and it was a wonderful experience. She still talks about the pancakes with the hint of sweet potatoes in them. The bed was the most comfortable we ever slept in.


A Piece of Heaven

5 on August 29, 2007

If you want to feel as if you were in heaven then you must take a trip to the Angel. You will be awe of the atmosphere and the ambiance of the B & B. The breakfast along with the Tea time is beyond words. It is like stepping into another time and place. When in May, you must visit the Angel and stay in heaven away from home.


Absolutely Enchanting

4.8 on April 17, 2007

This is my first B&B experience, and I was completely impressed. The staff was very friendly and personable. They took the time to help us locate a restaurant for dinner, and called to make our reservations. The afternoon tea featured wonderful fattening deserts; evening wine and cheese was also great. Breakfast had two interesting choices (I chose a bicuit smothered in a thick gravy with asparagus and ham-- my fiance' chose two huge buttermilk pancakes). The decor is great, the sitting room is nice to sit and sip coffee by the fireplace. Balconies are quickly accessible from every room. We went during off-season, and still loved it. We gained a lot of weight off of the food and hospitality, so if you are are on a diet, you may want to stir clear. Only problem we had was that the tub was too small for a 6'4" man, but at least we had our own bathroom! I highly recommend this place to everyone that will listen.


Heaven away from home

4.4 on January 20, 2007

warm and comfortable setting, with bikes, beach towels& chairs,included; gracious hosts; breakfast is excellent and you get to choose from two different entrees; location away (but not too far) from the town center, a plus for quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Nothing but positive experiences after having been there several times


Angel of the Sea

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $375
  • Reviews (28) 4.4
  • Rooms 27
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6098843369
  • Fax 1-6098843331
  • Toll free 1-8008483369

Visit Website »

View details

Top