Wren's Nest Village Inn Reviews

Overall
3.9

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Services4.1
  • Value3.6
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
71 Reviews

Write A Review

good but one issue

2.8 on April 02, 2014

sheets were clean but had some faded stains on them that were unacceptable


Fantastic weekend getaway!

4.0 on March 26, 2014

My hubby and I wanted a little weekend getaway and I thought the Tropical Suite the Wren's Nest would be perfect for us. It was! I had read some negative reviews before our stay and I have no idea what it would take to please the people who wrote them - this place was fabulous! First, at check in, the manager was extremely nice and helpful, very friendly. When we actually saw our room I was pleasantly surprised. I think the hotel needs better photos on its website, because the ones they have on it now just didn't do it justice. It was very clean, spacious, and had a tropical feel, as promised. The tub was great, the shower unique, and the loft cozy. We loved the fireplace!!! There were thoughtful little touches too, like wine glasses and chocolates, and a CD especially created for our room in the CD player! In a regular hotel room you get maybe one painting, over the bed, that is generic and impersonal - at the Tropical Suite at the Wren's Nest, you get thoughtful decor that is well placed and gives it more of a beach house feel. In short: clean, unique, welcoming, romantic, thoughtful, comfortable and relaxing are only some of the words I'd use to describe our suite at the Wren's Nest. Excellent, we will be back!


Nice get away

2.8 on March 17, 2014

We rented the jacuzzi suite for a getaway night. The room was clean and cozy; however the shower head was broken so showering was difficult. The room was expensive and small.


weekend away

5 on February 23, 2014

Everything from the condition of the room to the service and the craft brew café were fabulous.


The Wren's Nest

5 on November 04, 2013

I thought the Wren's was a great. The room my girlfriend and I stayed at was very nice and there was plenty of fun things to do nearby.


nice place to stay at

3.6 on October 30, 2013

The room was very nice and the staff was very friendly. It would be nice to have wifi but every thing else was great.


A Wonderful Experience!

4.6 on October 24, 2013

My wife and I spent our 15th anniversary in the Hemingway Suite, and it was absolutely wonderful. We plan to repeat the visit every year. It was magical. The restaurant on site was closed, but the local dining was excellent.


Nice, but not quite as advertised

2.6 on October 07, 2013

From the information on the Web, we were expecting a cozy bed & breakfast; we got a motel room, although I have to say that it was clean and more than adequate; breakfast was coffee & doughnuts in the lounge, but we did not partake, so I cannot comment on that. Location was pretty good, although it was a 15min drive to downtown Portsmouth.


Great place, roomy, etc- bathtub clogged

4.4 on September 21, 2013

Had a great time- nice little cottage, no complaints, but the shower became a bathtub pretty quickly. Overall, loved it!


Nice enough

3.0 on August 29, 2013

Overall, a nice room but slightly over priced.


ok

2.6 on August 28, 2013

expected it to be nicer, newer. It was clean. Wasn't impressed


anniversary

4.2 on July 17, 2013

We were very happy with the overall appearance and cleanliness of the room.


A quick stay

4.0 on June 26, 2013

We stayed only one night due to our holiday schedule. We did not eat at the cafe. The proprietors were friendly and gave recommendations for dining. The rooms were on the rustic side, but clean. The grounds were charming.


Cheap

4.0 on March 14, 2013

Nice room except the hot tub didn't work....


jacuzzi loft

4.4 on March 07, 2013

I was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff as well as the cleanliness of the room. The gentleman at the front desk upon our arrivalwas quick to offer information about the local attactions. I was already familiar with the area but I was surprised by the offering. all in all I had a very relaxing weekend enjoying the jacuzzi as well as the gas log wood stove. I strongly recomend Wrens Nest as a place to stay near the beaches etc. especially if your stay will be for a couple of days or more. there was a small fridge and microwave and a grilling area outside


Nice room and good value

3.8 on January 04, 2013

This was a nice place to stay and a very reasonable cost for a room with a 2 person jacuzzi. Only down fall was there was no real breakfast other than muffins and fruit. Also no coffee in the lobby area other than instant. However they did give us a free bottle of wine. Probably because it was New Years Eve.


Great anniversary

4.2 on December 31, 2012

Went for two nights for our anniversary . Great place to stay, the staff was great. The place exceptionally clean and very romantic with the bottle of champagne and strawberries. The gas fireplace and hot tub were exceptional too. Will go back again in the future.


Anniversery

3.4 on September 17, 2012

The only disappointment was that the rooms need a top to bottom cleaning.


Nice place

4.0 on September 11, 2012

The Wren's Nest is a perfectly located inn for travel in to Hampton Beach and Portsmouth. Quiet setting with nice grounds, clean rooms, themed suites, and friendly hosts. We stated in the "Harley Davidson" suite. Very roomy w/ whirlpool tub for two. Only downsides: VERY bright outside light on our porch shown in our room all night (couldn't be shut off); indoor pool was COLD; hot tub was lukewarm and smelled very strongly of chlorine. We have stayed here twice before and the pool and hot tub were fine then. We're hoping this time was an isolated case. We would recommend the place - affordable, convenient, and nice! :)


Aromantic jacuzzi suite

4.0 on September 06, 2012

We stayed in the French Country room. There was a wonderful oversized jacuzzi and the room was nicely decorated, very clean and the bed was comfortable. No complaints.


Last night of our honeymoon

3.6 on August 20, 2012

When we drove up to Wren's Nest, we were surprised that it was a motel when we thought we booked a B&B. However, when we got into our room we were pleasantly surpised. The room was gorgeous! It was spacious, with a leather couch in a sitting area and a lovely jacuzzi in the room. It also had a stereo, wood stove and refrigerator and coffee maker. The manager was very accommodating in helping us with directions. All in all, we were very pleased and would recommend this place to others.


A nice indoor pool

3.2 on August 19, 2012

The hotel for the most part was fine, we wanted to be near the ocean and it was a quick 5 minute drive to the beach. The indoor pool was nice-a bit crowded. We really appreciated the breakfast that was included in the room rate, and the breakfast area was very clean with a good option of foods. The areas that need improvement included maid service-our room did not appear to be vacuumed recently, and the carpet looked pretty old. Also, the ancient tube T.V. had a real yellow color to it-the rooms should really have flat screens( at least from the 21st century. please!) We would stay here again (the free WiFi was nice bonus!) and as long as the rates do not go up-it was a good value overall.


Just what we were looking for!

5 on July 18, 2012

The rooms are cheerful and clean, the spa and pool well maintained, a lovely restaurant on the grounds and A+ customer service! All around a wonderful stay in a on derail place!


wonderful little inn...

4.6 on July 04, 2012

Great place, very clean, hosts were so helpful and friendly! Perfect location for exploring Portsmouth. Highly reccommended.


The one Bedroom Cabin

3.6 on June 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the one bedroom cabines. It was clean comfy and roomy. The pool was great and the grounds were very cute. The staff was freindly and helpful. Breakfast wasthe restruant was very good.


LOVED THE ROOM, SO PEACEFUL

3.2 on June 14, 2012

I rented the Isle of Shoals and the room was great! Very clean, cozy and romantic. The balcony was very nice overlooking the grounds. Very comfortable king size bed and jacuzzi tub was very relaxing as well.


Just what we needed

4.0 on May 09, 2012

The Wren's Nest was just what we needed for a nice getaway while we visited NH. The room and staff were really nice and the Jacuzzi was fantastic.


Wren's Nest

4.6 on April 15, 2012

Only thing was the Hot Tub made an extremely loud noise for like 2 minutes every morning at 7am.


Awesome Place to Reconnect with that Special Someone

4.6 on March 14, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Wren's Nest, Isle of Shoals room. The two person tub was great and relaxing, especially with the french doors open so that we could enjoy the fireplace, we thought it was great that they had an in room cd player but we used my iPod. My husband and I ate at Heberts Seafood and Renata we loved both. The Cheesecake at Renata, delicious and rich. The room was better than I expected but this was the first time at a B&B. My only recommendation is to clean the ceiling fan it was a little gross. The most charming part was the journal of past visitors, we loved reading and then sharing our experience there. We definatly plan to return this summer when we can walk on the beach at sunset.


Wouldn't stay again

2.6 on February 23, 2012

We rented the Harley Room and it cost over $300.00 for the night and included NOTHING. It was clean. The TV was small and outdated. The room had a VCR (for real?? this is 2012) The indoor pool was closed so we couldn't enjoy a swim or hot tub. We tried to use the jacuzzi in the room and almost couldn't shut it off because the handles seemed to be broken. And the worst part of all was the bed.....hard as a rock!! Very dissapointing waste of money, we will never go there again.


Perfect Evening

5 on January 23, 2012

I was absolutely amazed by my stay at the Wrens Nest. My fiance and I have a 10 month old daughter and we really just needed time to reconnect and get out of the house to have some "alone time." I suggested that we go to a hotel for the night and watch movies. I was thinking he was booking a room at a Holiday Inn...so when we pulled into the Wrens Nest I was like..Ok..this is different. He had me close my eyes when we walked up the stairs to our room and when I opened them it literally took my breath away! The room was so cozy and warm, complete with a jacuzzi and wood stove. We lit a fire, drank some champagne and enjoyed every minute of our evening. I could not have asked for a better night. It was so perfect and rekindled our relationship!


New Year's Eve at The Wren's Nest

4.0 on January 16, 2012

We stayed in the "Tropical Suite" on New Years Eve. The room was charming and we enjoyed the jacuzzi. Afterwards, we ate a delicious dinner at a local restaurant. So far, so good... The trouble began when we got back. We had been told that there wouldn't be anyone at the desk from 9PM till 9AM because it was New Year's Eve, but didn't think it would be a problem. Were we wrong! The people next door kept their tv BLAIRING all night! We finally got up at 5 AM and drove home! I called in the morning to complain, but at that point there wasn't much they could do. It would have been nice if they had refunded part of our payment, but, oh well. We'll NEVER stay there again.


“If I could give this place 0 stars I would”

4.0 on January 04, 2012

I stayed at the Wren's Nest on New Years Eve and I must say for the price, this place is a total DIVE! The $304 that I paid for their basket welcome basket and "jacuzzi" suite were dollars that I will never get back. The "Ralph Lauren Room" consisted of some beat up Ralph Lauren Pillows, an old TV and a tape player. If you are looking for modern ammenities, do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. Additionally, the carpet was stained and really old and the room reeked of something, I cant put my finger on. Do yourself a favor and seek alternate accommodations if you are coming to Portsmouth. This place isnt worth the money.


Nice little place

4.2 on November 11, 2011

A very nice quiet clean little place. We were nervous based on some earlier reviews we had read, but noticed that the more recent reviews were positive, so we took a chance. We're glad we did! We stayed in the one-bedroom cottage, and it was nice to have our privacy. I expected the bedroom to be a separate room with a door, which it wasn't, but it was fine. The pool is only open during the weekends in the off-season, which was a little bit of a bummer. And we didn't try the restaurant so I have no basis for rating that.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

3.2 on November 08, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend getaway here, in more ways than one! ;-) We stayed in the French Country suite...not overly spectacular but still a very cute, clean room, and the had bathrobes!! :-) I liked the location, far enough out where parking is not a hassle but still only a short drive to downtown, the waterfront and the ocean. Portsmouth is my favorite place in the world to visit, and I would definitely come back here next time I'm back in the area!


Suite deal & Sweet dreams!

4.4 on November 05, 2011

Comfy cozy...spacious & private! made for a very happy anniversary stay. Made us feel miles away but close enough and keeping $ spent within our home state. Ambiance was perfect with fireplace that is electric so no messy firewood to deal with or setting off allergies. Most comfortable spa tub! No candles allowed but enjoyed cd player w/music on during entire stay. Worth every dollar!


very nice , relaxing place , great getaway

5 on October 11, 2011

My visit was outstanding , will be going back soon


The Bowden getaway

5 on October 09, 2011

I rated the dining outstanding because we ate at the Dinnerhorn right down the street, I guess our stay at the Wrens nest fell into a transtional time period, when the dining at the property was not available, but the room, was beautiful, service was outstanding.They deff went out of their way to make our stay nice. We would deff recommend this estabishment to others, as we already have done so. And My husband and I have already talked about doing it again next year. Thank you to the Wrens Nest for making our getaway wonderful.We stayed in the Ernest Hemingway suite. was awesome, The only thing that wasnt 100% was the mattress, it might of been the box spring, not sure, but everything else was superb .The champagne, and choc.dipped strawberries, and nice robes, was a great touch. Thanks again. Sandy Bowden


I'd go again

3.6 on September 07, 2011

We got a 1BR cottage; one nite. Very nice, kitchenette, etc. Daughter chased wild turkeys behind the pool house in the am, and I wish we had time to let her swim. She very much enjoyed the hammock. We didn't try the dining.


Wren's Nest Inn is worthwhile

3.6 on August 31, 2011

This Inn has excellent suites which contain a very nice jacuzzi tub. It is quiet, while at the same time very close to downtown Portsmouth. The room did have a slight musty smell at first, probably b\c of the tub and the carpet. We will definately be back!


exactly what I expected

3.0 on August 30, 2011

Nice, cute rooms, a little pricey, but the jacuzzi was excellent fun!


wonderful staff

3.6 on August 30, 2011

We stayed to celebrate a birthday and were surprised by how nice this Inn was. We stayed in the Harley room and the only complaint we had was that the bed was extraordinarily firm. We left an incredibly important belonging behind and called 6 hours later and the front desk not only had it but shipped it back to us the next day they could. We will more than likely stay at Wren's Nest again.


Wrens Next A nice Getaway!

4.6 on August 24, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay. We stayed in the tropical suite and they thought of everything. Even down to a relaxing CD in the cd player. So many small details within the room with a tropical feel. The owner went out of his way and made a a fresh pot of coffee each morning to fill our giant coffe cup we use while traveling. This is a top notch place. Very clean and comfortable.


Great folks

2.8 on August 19, 2011

This is an outstanding property, the premium rooms are outstanding and very nicely done and updated. The standard rooms are below average and the beds are very hard and reminded me of what you might find in the old Motel 6. The price is too much for the room but it was the cheapest place we found as they can get it. The people running it are more than accommodating, kind and helpful and made up for the lack in the room. The property is lovely and a nice piece of land to walk around. I would suggest staying in a nicer room if you can afford it, the standard rooms just aren't so great. I believe the owner is going to start updating these rooms as they just recently bought the property. I would support them, he's a small business man trying to make a go of it.


my stay at wrens nest

3.4 on July 12, 2011

The south west room was great the bed was a little to firm for my taste but the jacuzzi was fabulous. I enjoyed my time here just wish it was a little cheaper because $228 for one night is a little much. I didnt check out the pool just stayed and relaxed with my hubby on a MUCH needed break! This was my 2end time there and I enjoyed it much!


Very Relaxing and Accommodating

4.0 on July 07, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend over the 4th of July. Very clean, quiet romantic place. Great value for the money. Highly recommend this place for couples.


one night getaway

3.0 on July 04, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The jacuzzi tub and deck we're nice extras. The room is overpriced and you don't get anything extra for the high price. The room came with shampoo and soap only--I asked for conditioner--they said we don't have any. I would definitely go back, but to one of the lesser expensive rooms, and bring by own extras.


free upgarde upon arrival

3.6 on June 17, 2011

We ended up arriving one day early for our reservation and they gave us a free upgrade to one of thier family suites. Great surprise!


Birthday Getaway

3.8 on May 27, 2011

Rooms were clean and met my expectations and the service was outstanding. I was pleased with all aspects of our stay. We wanted to swim in the indoor pool and use the jacuzzi the water was too cold and the jacuzzi wasn't working properly. The grounds were maintained and the Inn had a cozy feel to it. I would recommend Wren's Nest Village Inn to my friends and colleagues. I will return often.


OK

2.6 on May 02, 2011

There was an error with our reservation on check in but it was resolved. The indoor pool which we were looking forward to use was not open during our stay. There was an ant (bug) problem, not "pesky" but annoying. The restaurent was very good.


Tropical Stay

3.6 on April 06, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Wren's Nest Village Inn in Portsmouth NH. We wanted a romantic getaway without having to travel far. We chose the Tropical Room and we were definately not disappointed. It was a good size room with a loft bedroom. The tropical decor was great and really makes you feel you're off in some tropical paradise. The jacuzzi tub is large and truly a relaxing experience for 2. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and neat. Rates are a bit high but certainly comparible to other places like it. We had breakfast in the restaurant. It was good and reasonably priced. We can't wait to go back and stay in some of the other themed rooms.


Great room

4.4 on March 22, 2011

room was clean and looked just the picture, very relaxing and the little added touches were awesome


Recent Stay

2.8 on March 02, 2011

Our stay there was okay, granted we did arrive a bit late, due to scheduling. But the place is nice, but was a bit high priced.


We felt so far away!

4.2 on February 25, 2011

We just needed to get away for a couple days, and the Wren's Nest far exceeded our expectations! The room was fabulous! Romantic fireplace, jacuzzi tub, decor, all just beautiful. We will definitely be back!! Doug & Kelley


Great Place for a Romantic Get away

3.6 on February 08, 2011

The room was clean and cozy, the two person jacuzzi was very relaxing. The owner, Pam, is really warm and welcoming. She let us look at 3 different rooms that were available for the weekend even though we had reserved a specific room. We actually ended up taking a different room than we had reserved and were very happy with our choice. Definitely recommend The Wren's Nest. The restaurant is run by a different people and was not open on our first morning there due to the weather, which was initially disappointing, but we ended up going down the street (a mile or two south) to "Betty's Kitchen" which turned out to be one of the best breakfast places ever! Lots of menu options and served breakfast all day. We did have breakfast at the restaurant the next day and it was very good - a little more upscale than Betty's. Overall, very nice place to stay and a short drive to Portsmouth and the coast.


outstanding

5 on January 21, 2011

Room was fantastic and romantic!!! The dinner was delicious in the restaurant downstairs!!


Harley Room

2.8 on January 19, 2011

Expensive, not worth the money. The jacuzzi did not have much power or hot water. Cute place but not worth the cost, will not return!


Best stay ever

5 on January 03, 2011

We had a wonderful time. My husband and I romantic night. The staff was so attentive. We paln on staying there for our monthly night out.


satisfied customers

4.4 on December 21, 2010

We were in Portsmouth for my son's 16th birthday. Our plan was to go deep sea fishing the next morning and we had made on line reservation arrangements at a motel not too far down the road. When we arrived to our destination at the first motel- the room was not clean and overall, it was not acceptable in many ways. We called the Wren's Nest to check availability and arrived about 8 pm. They graciously extended the hours of the pool to allow us a longer time to swim and made a "not so good start" to our weekend a really nice experience. The next morning we were informed the deep sea trip was off due to low turnout....but we didn't mind sleeping in and enjoying the pool and hot tub until check out. It is a little higher priced than some in that vicinity- but it is worth it.


Our much needed getaway

3.4 on December 14, 2010

We enjoyed our short stay. We loved the room, but felt it was a bit pricey. Also, our neighbors were extremely rude! They played music until after 1am, and started it up again at 7am the next morning.


Wrens Nest SouthWestern Suite

4.0 on November 05, 2010

Great stay, clean, veryy nice and helpful service, will stay again, kind of too high price but worth it!


Romantic and Fun!

4.4 on November 04, 2010

Pam our innkeeper was so sweet and helpful, we loved the Isle of Shoals room, the bed was large and comfy, the fireplace was such a treat. The tub was a little on the small side, more of a large one person tub- but it was still very relaxing and fun! We did not eat in their little restaurant, but had a drink at the bar- great Margarita and freindly bar staff. We will definitely stay here again, the perfect romantic getaway not far from Boston!


great experience

3.8 on October 27, 2010

We reserved the Ralph Lauren Suite which was great. On the third day we were upgraded to the Hemingway because the hot water broke. The owners were very gracious and accommodating. It was incredibly romantic in both suites and I would recommend Wren's nest for anyone wanting a getaway. Definitely do not miss out on the jacuzzi if you can get one. The restaurant is wonderful as well. My only complaint was there is no wi-fi. It would have been nice to have, but otherwise, everything is great.


Acceptable...In need of updating..

3.0 on October 17, 2010

Had to change our place of stay at the last min. due to damage to the rental that we were going to stay at.. So this was a last min. book for us. It was our annual sisters weekend at a trendy village.. The Wrens Nest was fairly close by and because it was Columbus Day Weekend the places IN and around the village were either full or way to pricey.. Wrens Nest wasn't badly priced but we felt that it was pricey for the room that we got.. It had a musty smell to it that did get better when we open the windows.. The room was quite outdated.. But clean, and comfortable. There was a restraunt/pub on site that apparently was not runned or owed by the owers of the WNVI.. That was a great place. We were surprised that for the price we paid we didn't get at least a discount coupon for a meal there.. The owners were very nice and very helpfull. We did enjoy our trip, and the room did not hamper our good time.. Will we stay there again.? Probably not. Not sure... But I probably would not suggest to certain friends or family...


French Country Suite

3.0 on August 23, 2010

Note: Dining not applicable. We ate off site. Positives: 1. We arrived an hour before check-in and were allowed to check in early, which was great because we were tired from driving. 2. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. 3. Quiet, restful area, near beaches, shopping, downtown Portsmouth, etc. Negatives: 1. The bedroom area was nicely decorated and fairly clean, but not new - smelled a little dusty and musty. Not a good choice for someone with allergies. I had trouble sleeping with a stuffy nose. 2. The rug and ceilings could use an update. 3. Jacuzzi and bathroom were nice and clean, but no door on the bathroom is a bit uncomfortable for a newer couple. This room would be better suited to a couple who has already done EVERYTHING in front of each other before. 4. VCR not very useful - would have preferred a DVD player. 5. No HBO or On Demand - just basic cable. TV was small and far away from the bed, so hard to see. 6. No internet access (WiFi). 7. "Screened-in porch" ad is misleading. It's a tiny, dark mudroom with a small window and an uncomfortable wicker loveseat for two average-to-small sized persons. 8. Coffee machine provided, but no filters! 9. No microwave. Bottom Line: Not worth the price of $165 a night.


The perfect getaway!

5 on August 15, 2010

I had an outstanding experience! The room was gorgeous and the staff were very polite. Just wish the pool was open a bit later..


romantic getaway for many years

5 on July 30, 2010

My now husband and I would go for weekends at the wren's nest every year for his birthday and try a different jacuzzi suite-such a romantic place and great service- we sent our parents for ther 35th anniversary and they loved it also. Due to married life and kids we have not been in quite a while and now its our 5 year anniversary so we will try the harley davidson room, but its a surprise for my husband and i sure we'll enjoy every minute.


no guarantees on sleep

2.6 on December 31, 2009

being a small inn, there is no one at the desk. We were unfortunately awakened after midnight by next door neighbors who ran the jacuzzi at 2:30 and TV was on wall against our headboard. Neighbors were noisy till 4 a.m. Owner claimed to be sending a gift certificate/no refund, but it never came. Beautiful place;thin walls.


Wonderful B & B

4.8 on November 11, 2009

Our stay at Wren's Nest was wonderful. With a fireplace and jacuzzi in our room, we were cozy and so comfortable. The inn is set into the woods and is beautiful.


Amazing place to stay

4.2 on August 23, 2008

Wren's Nest is a paradise. My husband and I have visited many times and enjoy trying out each themed room. From roadside, Wren's looks ordinary, but inside is a sanctuary. Pool is exquisite. Highly recommend for romantic getaways.


Great Romantic Getaway

4.2 on February 29, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here a few years ago-it was one of the nicest places we have stayed. We booked the Hemingway room which was huge-with fireplace, small balcony and a great jaccuzi in the bathroom. The place was quiet and very romantic!! We would highly recommend the Wren's Next and are anxious to go back one of these days!!


Wren's Nest Village Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $300
  • Reviews (71) 3.9
  • Rooms 32
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6034362481
  • Fax 1-6034366782
  • Toll free 1-8887559013

Visit Website »

View details

Top