Parkzijde Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

Family holiday in Amsterdam

4.6 on November 20, 2014

We spent three nights in Parkzijde B&B in Amsterdam - our first trip abroad with our 22 month-old child, therefore quite challenging. The B&B is a little bit far from the city centre for those who don't like taking the public transport. We did it on foot with our pushchair and it is a pleasant walk. The structure itself is just lovely: we stayed in the Garden Room, an elegant one furnished with all you need for a relaxing holiday. There is a lot of space so we could accommodate our travelcot easily. The bathroom is a dream, with the largest bathtub I've ever seen on Earth. The best bit is the Conservatory, a large private space with big windows set in the rear garden and accessible from our room where we had breakfast; we were allowed even to bring our own food - which was a benefit with the little one. The service was lovely as well: the owners and our host, Marieke, were caring, helpful and proactive during the whole holiday, providing us with a lot of information and loads of food for breakfast, with special attention to our child. They also gave him a soft toy - a tiger cub that, he says, comes from 'Amstam'. Parkzijde B&B is a great deal in Amsterdam (I didn't mention the price - very convenient, all-inclusive, compared to the vast majority of B&Bs in the city) and we have already recommended it! Thank you, this experience made the difference to our holiday. Alessandra & family


Wonderful B&B. Clean, beautiful room. Very pleasant hosts.

5 on November 13, 2014

Staying here was an all-around great experience. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean, charming place to stay in Amsterdam. It was next to a really nice park, and within walking distance of downtown and all the sights of Amsterdam. Room had all the amenities, along with many more that we didn't get anywhere else in our travels. Breakfast was always a delight, and the host was very pleasant and fun to talk to. This was the best place we stayed while in Europe, and I would recommend it to anyone.


peace and love

4.0 on October 22, 2013

Gabry e Ale


Great place to stay!

5 on October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon in June. Our stay was better than we ever could have imagined! Martijne and Bernard were very kind and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. We loved having breakfast brought to us each morning. There was always enough food with the breakfast to have leftovers for lunch and a snack! We highly recommend staying at the Parkzijde and hope that we have the chance to return someday!


Wonderful Stay with Super Nice Hosts

4.6 on October 21, 2012

Martijne and Bernard were very friendly and helpful hosts. We stayed in the lower room for 2 days and particularly liked sitting in the conservatory - in the mornings to eat breakfast, and in the evenings to read, write and relax, with a pleasant view of a beautiful garden with a pond. The breakfasts were excellent and large enough to provide us with lunch too. The room was nice and quiet and access to the places we wanted to visit was easy on the Number 9 or 3 trams. The park opposite, Oosterpark, was very pleasant for quiet strolls and nice scenery. It was a good quiet location for us - highly recommended!


Great B&B

4.4 on September 28, 2012

Had a great stay at the Parkzjide B&B. Much more interesting than staying in a hotel. All facilites first class and although not in the centre it is only a short tram ride. I would recommend to anyone.


The best experience I have ever had!

5 on January 27, 2012

I have looked for the quiet place for me and my friend to stay during the conference that took place in Amsterdam. We have stayed 5 nights in Park room. I may say that it was great experience: so tasty breakfast, so comfortable and clean room and many little things that made atmosphere warm and welcoming! Highly recommend this place.


Clean, quiet and nicely decorated Park room

3.4 on September 13, 2011

We stayed in the Park room, which was clean, quiet and very nicely decorated, exactly as you can see on the pictures. It offered all the amenities of a 4-star-hotel plus a few extras such as a computer with internet connection, DVD-player/collection and microwave (which we didn't make use of). The en-suite bathroom seemed to be quite new. Our hosts were very kind. The room has got a ventilation system for fresh air and you cannot open the windows. I'm a fresh air junkie and missed that a lot. In view of this fact I also didn't really like to have breakfast in the bed-room. Breakfast was abundant and included eggs, fresh orange juice, yoghurt and different fruits every day. However, I would have prefered fresh rolls and bread instead of the semi-finished ones from the supermarket, which were crisped up.


Sitio Fantastico, Gente Fantastica

4.2 on January 12, 2011

Pasamos una fantástica semana en Parkzidje B&B, está un poco apartado del centro histórico de Amsterdam (15 minutos andando) pero en Amsterdam todo está cerca. Nosotros solamente necesitamos coger el autobús el último día, el resto de los días paseamos sin problemas desde el B&B hasta el centro. Aún así el tranvía y el bus paran a 20 metros del B&B y funcionan muy bién. Además al estar un poco alejado la zona es muy tranquila y agradable. En cuanto a la atención prestada por los anfitriones Martijne y Bernard, magnífica, solamente mencionar los magníficos desayunos que nos sirvieron en la habitación!!! el resto dejo que lo descubrais vosotros que merece la pena.


heartwarming experience

5 on December 20, 2010

Warm welcome and useful tips from the very proactive and well organized houselords. Very nice breakfast! Nostalgic parkview (especially when it has snowed). Good bed and clean room + bathroom. Overall a heartwarming experience to be repeated.


"Impeccable Lodgings & Impeccable Hosts..."

4.0 on November 10, 2010

This was Our 2nd stay at the Home of Martijne & Bernard Neuhaus...having stayed in both rooms... the Park Room & The Garden Room...We Sensed the Love & Caring projected from Our Hosts. Luxuriously High Standards...Excellent food...& an added bonus...a special request fulfilled by Martijne which now is proudly displayed in Our Kitchen & Dining Room. Martijne is an Artist & Her work is place upon porcelain allowing Us to have a hands-on connection through Her work. We highly recommend Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast for Anyone who wishes to be surrounded in Beauty!" Pat & Robert Timmermans...Mount Wolf, Pa.


Don't Stay Anywhere Else!!

5 on November 05, 2010

All I can say about Parkzijde is wow!!!! My friend and I checked out a number of hotels and they all wanted between 1000 and 1500 euros for 8 days with no meal included. The price for Parkzijde was considerably less, and the accommodations and service were superb. Martijne and Bernard were friendly and outgoing and went out of their way to talk to us about anything and everything. The breakfast was excellent with fresh bread, meat, cheese, and coffee served right in our room at the time we specified without fail. We stayed in the Garden Room (Tuinkamer), and if you have the option I highly recommend it. The breakfast nook looking out into the garden creates a wonderful ambiance. The room was clean and had its own refrigerator, a laptop with internet access, and a wide array of movies to choose from if you just want to sit at home in the evening. Parkzijde is located just a short walk from the tram station for easy access to get around and directly across from the beautiful Oosterpark. If you are planning a trip then you could not ask for a better place to stay in all of Amsterdam. Kirby Cobb United States


Wonderful Place to Stay.

5 on August 15, 2010

My fiancé and I stayed in this wonderful B&B in May and couldn't have asked for a better place to lay our heads down at night. We stayed in the Park Room and each morning we were served breakfast, with enough food left over to eat for lunch while we explored the city. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating, even giving us a train ticket that had been left by a former guest when the volcano erupted. The location is perfect and within walking distance to 3 tram stops, which will take you into the city. Also, there are shops, two farmers markets, two bakeries and of course the park all within walking distance as well. When we return, we are definitely staying here again.


Superb

5 on November 19, 2009

It was almost a bless to find this B&B on Internet accidentally. Thanks to Martijne and Bernard kindness our stay in Amsterdam has been even better than we expected. We have been so lucky to have stayed in both rooms and all we can say is that they are magical (each one in their own style). We only feel sorry for not having spent more time at the rooms but Amsterdam is wonderful too. We haven't found so many facilities in any other place we have been so far (four and five stars hotels included). But the biggest difference are Bernard and Martijne: they make you feel at home (or even better). We recommend to the following guests asking Martijne and Bernard anything they want to know about Amsterdam and following their suggestions. The rooms are full of details chosen carefully to enjoy them. Attention to the cups and plates of the breakfast wonderfully hand-painted by Martijne. And the situation is really good: quiet neighborhood (in front of a park) but easy to get to the downtown (tram, walking, cycling)


EXCELENTE B&B

4.4 on October 24, 2009

We stayed at Parkzijde for 3 nigths. It´s the best B&B we have gone to. The owners are the most kind persons and hostesses. The room is very nice and clean. The breakfast is perfect. I absolutly recomend this B&B, you will have a prerfect stay. Gladys Rangel. México.


Como en casa

4.8 on September 29, 2009

Pasé una maravillosa semana en el Parkzidje B&B . El hotel está ubicado en una zona tranquila , frente al hermoso Oosterpark que crucé muchas veces para acercarme al centro de la ciudad...si bien hay variosTram y el metro cerca , en realidad es fácil ir caminando a todos lados y de esa forma se aprecia más la ciudad. Martijne y Bernard son realmente excelentes anfitriones y me brindaron más de lo que necesitaba .Nos pudimos comunicar muy bien en inglés ( que no domino perfectamente) .En la habitación no sólo encontré todo lo referido en su página sino también detalles que no esperaba ...desde café o té de varias clases ... azúcar en terrones ...hasta pilas o bolsas plásticas para poder guardar lo que seguramente les sobrará del desayuno.... Creo que esos detalles son los hacen la diferencia...


Tranquility in a busy city

5 on September 10, 2009

We stayed two night at Parkzijde B&B, and would like to thank our hosts Martijne and Bernard for a very memorable and relaxing time. They have thought of every convience for travelers and are so helpful in planning your time in Amsterdam. The breakfast was scrumptious and enough for lunch also. The little garden was full of charm and little surprises. They have thought of everything. Truly a gracious and comfortable place to stay. Thanks for the memories Martijne and Bernard! D & W from Washington state.


Tony and Sheila

4.4 on June 30, 2009

Martijne and Bernard were very friendly and helpful hosts. We stayed in the lower room for five days and particularly liked sitting in the conservatory - in the mornings to eat breakfast, and in the evenings to read, write and relax, with a pleasant view of the garden which looked more attractive than the website photo suggested. The breakfasts were excellent and large enough to provide us with lunch too. The room was nice and quiet and access to the places we wanted to visit was easy on the Number 9 or 3 trams. The park opposite, Oosterpark, was very pleasant for quiet strolls, except on Sunday when it was the venue of an international music festival which gave us easily accessible free enjoyment. It was a good quiet location for us and was about one hour twenty minutes via train and tram from the airport including waiting times.


Quiet and relaxing apartments

5 on June 22, 2009

Two middle age couples stayed at this lovely home in June 2009. The hosts were very helpful and served a most delicious breakfast which was enough for lunch also. the rooms were clean and included everything we could ever need, refrigerators, tvs, very soft towels and plenty of hot water. The house is very updated and decorated beautifully. The park across the street was such a bonus and very quiet. It is easy to catch the street car and get any where in the city. Plus a good choice of restaurants within walking distance. We would recommend this house to everyone. It was great.


One of the best rooms in Europe

5 on May 28, 2009

This room far exceeded our expectations as the owners considered every convenience a traveler would need. We have stayed in many 3 star and 4 star hotels in Europe and this was the best! And Martijne and Bernard go out of their way to make one's stay comfortable. Location was great since it was out of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam in a friendly local neighborhood but close to easy transportation. Robert & Shyrl Dougherty


Great in everything!

5 on May 07, 2009

We have been for 4 nights in this B&B. The breakfast is quite complete. The bed is wonderful! Very clean. Good transport comunication. Quiet place. The owners are very kind and help you in everything. So this place is very recommendable! Try it!


Martijne and Bernard are born B&B'ers!

5 on April 07, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the beautiful Gardenroom last Christmas (2008), it made us curious about this whole B&B 'thing', but so far we've found nothing that comes even close to matching this!


Confortable, beautiful, convinient

5 on February 04, 2009

Hi, I stayed at Parkzijde on january 2009 for 4 nights. It was just lovely. The location is great if you want rest and tranquility, the room is more than confortable and the Osterpark is beautiful and silent and you are quite close to the center and the museums. The breakfast was very good and Martijne & Bernard are very nice and helpful. I rented a bycicle from them too, for a third of the price of the renting bycicle shops and it was excellent and didn't stand out as those orange ones you get in those shops. I totaly recommend this place, whenever I go back to Amsterdam I'll sure return to Parkzijde.


Most luxurious B&B I've ever stayed in!

5 on January 07, 2009

This beautiful B&B is situated right opposite Amsterdam’s Oosterpark, a short walk to the Tropen Museum and Artis (zoo), and a short bike ride from the centre of town. Hosts, Martijne and Bernard, are very friendly and helpful, even being able to suggest a few new places to visit which I’d never heard (having previously lived in Amsterdam for a few years), and providing us with maps and the latest tourist/going out info and even recommended some restaurants in the area. We were able to hire their bikes which completed the ‘Amsterdam experience’ for us. We stayed in the ‘Garden room’ which is just lovely. We’ve stayed in hotels and B&B’s around the world and this is by far the nicest. The room is spacious, with comfortable beds, a beautifully decorated and practical bathroom, great shower pressure, large flat-screen TV & DVD player (with a selection of DVD’s), a laptop with wireless internet, fridge with tea and coffee making facilities, etc... in short, everything you could possibly need! Breakfast, which Martijne served in the conservatory (heated floor), in the morning, was amazing. Fresh delicious bread rolls, a selection of dutch cheeses, fruit, coffee, etc. And at a very reasonable time – other B&B’s we’ve stayed in, have only served breakfast before 9am - Martijne asked what time suited us, which was great. I’d go back just for the breakfast! If you want a nice comfortable stay in Amsterdam, and be able to relax when you get back to your accommodation then this is the place for you! I only wish my own home was this lovely! I can’t wait to go back.


Place to return

4.8 on October 19, 2008

Darryl.B from Anaheim Ca. My visit to Amsterdam was amazing. Staying at this B&B made it a wonderful holiday. Very clean, roomy and the bathrooms were very sizeable, something us american's can be a little picky about. Customer service was amazing. best i ever had. if you need to know something, they were more than helpful. location. nice, beautiful and if you want super quite, rent the lower unit near the garden. "When" i return to Amsterdam i know where ill be staying again. Thanks again. D from California


You're right - Parkzijde B&B is great

4.6 on August 31, 2008

We read the other reviews before going and they were right. Had 3 great days at Parkzijde in July 08. Lots of special touches, and good email communication by the friendly and helpful hosts, wonderful room and beautiful breakfasts. Great being out of busy/noisy centre of Amsterdam and opposite Oosterpark. Within biking distance of countryside and fishing villages, yet easy access to town centre and museum district with efficient trams. Have already recommended it to friends.


Family Fun

5 on July 30, 2008

A wonderful place to stay~close to the transit system and wonderful hospitality. The room was large with modern conveniences. We stuffed ourselves with breakfast food and packed a picnic lunch too!


Honeymoon

4.8 on May 23, 2008

We spent four unforgettable days at Amsterdam between 17 and 21 may. We lived in this apartment and I have to say it was perfect! I can recommend it to everybody!


Wonderful!

5 on May 05, 2008

My daughter and I were warmly welcomed and given restaurant and museum suggestions by our hosts. We enjoyed the huge breakfasts and were encouraged to make lunches with the leftovers! The location is away from the bustle of the central area but is within easy walking distance of many attractions. The trams are near by and are very user friendly. We loved being able to use a computer. We would stay here again and recommend this b&b.


Perfect Stay

5 on April 15, 2008

We visit Amsterdam always in Spring since 4 years. This time we had a wonderful stay in the B&B Parkzijde. We hat de Gardenroom and it was wonderful. We took our breakfast in the wintergarden with a peaceful view. The room is very cozy and comfortable. The tram station is closed by the house. And a big park is right in front of the door. It was our best trip ever to Amsterdam. Thank you


If it ain't Dutch it ain't much

5 on April 01, 2008

A little slice of paradise. Friendly and helpful service. A cozy room with all the fixings, plus a view. A FULL spread for Breakfast to start your day. And to top it off, traditional Dutch 'Fiets' Bikes to ride around on. It doesn't take much to be impressed by this Dutch B&B!!!


Excellent in Amsterdam

4.6 on March 19, 2008

We stayed at Parkzijde for 5 nights in March 2008 and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Our hosts Martijne and Bernard were welcoming, the room was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The bed was probably the most comfortable we have ever come across in a B&B and the location was brilliant (a couple of minutes walk to tram stops to take us directly to the city centre, the museum square or Leidseplein). Wonderful breakfast served in the room - all in all a fantasic stay.


Fabulous!

5 on February 23, 2008

We visited Parkzijde during Christmas 2007 and had an amazing time. Our hosts were knowledgeable, helpful and warm. The room was spacious and inviting, as well as being kept VERY clean! The breakfast was varied and delicious! Martijne is also an amazing porcelain painter, and I purchased a few of her pieces for family gifts! The B & B is also right down the street from the local post office which was VERY handy in mailing my gifts! I would recommend Parkzijde to any family or friend going to Amsterdam!


GREAT Stay in this B&B

5 on November 06, 2007

Spent the first four nights(Oct 14-18,2007) of a two week holiday at the Parkzijde. Room and bath were perfect. Breakfast was wonderful and served in the room. Loved having an internet connection in the room. Martijne and Bernard were delightful. Easy, five minute walk to the trams. Very decent restaurants/cafes within 10 minutes. Great place, great stay. Would highly recommend.


Wunderful Trip

4.6 on July 09, 2007

We spend 3 wunderful days at parkzijde bed&breakfast in june. The room was very cosy and the service was perfect. Delicious breakfast and helpful tips by Martijne and Bernhard. Located on the Oosterpark, you'll reach the citycenter by tram within 15 minutes. We will sure come back !


Parkzijde

Details

  • Nightly Rate EUR 60 - EUR 150
  • Reviews (35) 4.7
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 31-206944483
  • Fax 31-206942077
  • Mobile 31-654310981

Visit Website »

View details

Top