Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 1680 Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Short 2 night stay for my wife's 40th birthday

5 on October 01, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the black room. Totally outstanding. A continental breakfast every morning with fruit, fresh bread, jams ect. Did not get to meet joost and dennis. But can't remember the female hosts name that dealt with us. Very very friendly and explained the do's and dont's around Amsterdam. Of which we did not see. Outstanding location, and defiantly in the future will be using this b&b again.


Soggiorno ad Amsterdam

3.0 on August 31, 2013

Sono stata con mio marito ad Amsterdam in agosto, il B&B era accogliente e pulito. Le camere molto silenziose. Un punto a favore è che si trova nel quartiere a luci rosse quindi praticamente sei nel cuore della città. Ogni giorno ci hanno cambiato tutti gli asciugamani e rifatto la camera. C'è il phon e un telefono che ti permette di chiamare i numeri fissi di tutto il mondo completamente gratuito!! Lo consiglio senza riserve.


Best B&B Location in Amsterdam

4.4 on August 01, 2013

My wife and I flew from Boston, Massachusetts to Amsterdam and stayed at Joost and Dennis' B&B 1680 from July 5-7, 2013. Even prior to our arrival, our correspondes with Jooost had been excellent. He is accurate, conscientious and very polite. As for the location, all I can say is that I don't think there can be a more central location than this B&B. It's truly within walking distance to every important tourist sight in the city. The room was safe, clean and very quiet at night even though it's right smack in the heart of all the night action of Amsterdam. The one shortcoming of the room was that the private new bathroom didn't have shelves and the room didn't have a chested drawer and a rack to hang clothes. They also are very generous in terms of storing luggage before and after check-in/check-out times. By the end of our stay, due to the location, I felt like I was the mayor of Amsterdam. Joost and Dennis, thanks for your hospitality!


Oh what a night (week)!

4.2 on September 02, 2012

We just spent a week at the B&B and loved it. We stayed in the white room and it's simple and very clean. There are great places to eat and see all within walking distance or by the city trams. My only suggestion would be to mix up the very unique breakfast basket a little more each morning. Thank you for a great time.


B&B1680 "The Heart of Amsterdam"

4.8 on April 27, 2012

B&B 1680 will exceed your expectations! Joost, Dennis and Eugenie are amazing hosts and they will make you feel right at home. The location is amazing! Situated on a beautiful Canal the residence is in the Heart of Amsterdam and everything is within walking distance. Firstly, you are within the Historic Centre by the Old Church and within meters of the Red Light District, with Dam Square, Rembrandt Square and the Heineken Brewery just a short stroll away. There are Markets all near by for groceries, flowers, breads, or clothing and souvenirs. Cafes and bars are all around you! I actually walked with my luggage from Amsterdam Central Train Station and I made it within 15 minutes as I was gawking at all of the sites and the RLD on the way! I was in a beautiful room overlooking the Canal and all of the amazing action in the area; it had a nice kitchen, huge table, and a comfortable living area and bedroom. The bathroom was nice and the rain-shower perfect! breakfast was far too much and I needed to walk just to keep my weight down! If you want to be in Amsterdam and feel the life and energy than you want to stay here! Thank you B&B1680!!! Luch from Canada


Fabulous Location & Welcoming Hosts!

4.8 on January 28, 2012

We had a fantastic time during our Amsterdam honeymoon stay at the B&B 1680 back in October 2011! We couldn’t believe how perfect its location was, and loved the bohemian look of the White Room and the romantic feel of the Black & White Room! Joost, Dennis and his mother were all very welcoming and hospitable. Although we arrived earlier than initially anticipated, there was no problem in leaving our luggage in the foyer, which gave us an opportunity to stroll the city at ease. We changed rooms half way through our stay, and were surprised by how quickly and efficiently the shift was made. When asked, they did not hesitate to sew a button on one of my favourite blouses. Breakfasts were rustic yet filling – who could ask for more? We absolutely enjoyed our time in Amsterdam, and would highly recommend B&B 1680 to any tourist! Thanks, Serafina & Rob


Stay October 2011

3.6 on October 12, 2011

We have just returned from a four night stay in the second floor Apartment, with friends taking the Black & White room on the first floor. Very central location and warm welcome from Dennis’ mother, Eugenie. The Apartment is a spacious ‘studio’; nicely equipped kitchen/dining area and en-suite bathroom; large sofa but only a rail and one shelf for clothes etc. Canal view but some noise from late night revellers; on the other hand there are no trams to wake you early in the morning. The Black & White room is quieter, being at the rear, with ample storage. Both rooms have multilingual TV and comfortable beds [we saw that the smaller White room at the front has a ‘futon’ bed on the floor]. Simple but plentiful breakfast trays of rolls, biscuits, fruit, orange juice and various teas and coffees; but you’ll need to get milk from a supermarket.


Nice hosts!Nice location!

3.6 on August 28, 2011

We stayed for almost 7 days in the black and white room in Aug 10. In spite of being so close to the Red Light District, the room was quiet and peaceful. The hosts Joost and his mom were really helpful and friendly. From lending us an umbrella on a rainy morning (without even asking) to providing us info on what kind to cheese to buy for friends back home to helping us find the directions to Giethoorn, they were very gracious and warm. A sumptuous breakfast was kept outside the door every morning. We would definitely recommend this place to other travelers. Great place and we would surely stay here again when we visit Amsterdam next!Manisha and Ameya from Mumbai, India


Just Perfect

5 on May 13, 2011

Me and my husband stayed her 6th-8th May 2011, far exceeded all our expectations, outstanding location, beautiful whitr room with a canal view, lovely picnic breakfast. Planning on returning next year.


Feel like you live in Amsterdam

4.6 on February 25, 2011

When I stayed at Joost & Dennis' beautiful and perfectly situated apartment, which includes not only a canal view front window next to the bed, but also an incredible lighting fixture, a long plank dining table, and a fully-functioning kitchen area, I felt like I was really living in Amsterdam—getting supplies at the local grocers and making meals, with an easy walk to everything I wanted to see and do. You'll be located less than a 10 minute walk from the train, 3 minutes to Dam Square, and just down the canal from the RLD. Don't be put off by being close to the RLD, as solo woman I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. Though I didn't stay out late, as is my nature, the area—at least in February—was pretty quiet, with just a couple of late night hoots from partiers. This is perfectly central location, filled with average Amsterdamers and tourists alike, bikes bustle on the streets and swans swim in the canal in front of the building. Entering the building was always a joy with Dennis' elegant and artful design showcased in the entry level window. Although on the second level above the entry and faced with a traditionally Dutch narrow and steep staircase, do not fear. Dennis' mother was gracious and helped me navigate my luggage up to the flat. Bountiful breakfasts were brought up with an array of warmed breads, jams, fresh fruit, instant coffee/tea, and juice. Ample towels were provided fresh every day and the apartment was impeccably clean. I was able to connect my computer (though not my phone) to wifi. My only want was for a bit more shelf space in the bathroom for toiletries and soap. I would encourage you to consider this as your home while in Amsterdam, you cannot go wrong.


Two nights in The Black&White Room at 1680

4.4 on April 26, 2010

We booked from Australia on line and Joost our host, went out of his way to be helpful, booking other hotels when he could not accomodate us. We spent two nights in the heart of the city in a very spacious, clean and quiet room. Breakfast was served to your door and was delicious. We were glad we had only taken small soft luggage as the climb up the narrow circular staircase may have presented problems. Would we go back? Most definately yes!


March 2010

4.0 on March 15, 2010

The B&B1680 and its hosts made our early spring one week holidays a miracle! The location is really superb - everywhere is accessible on foot! The building and the rooms (we stayed st the B&W one) - Amsterdam specialty! Dennis and Joost - really nice, very attentive and caring guys, helpful but visible only when you need their help. Lining and towels - perfect; Breakfast - meeting whatever you can imagine.


beautiful christmas holidays

4.6 on December 27, 2009

We've stayed 2 nights at this B&B1680, White room for xmas holidays. The location is great, center. We could find the building easily. We've taken a metro and got off at Nieumarkt from amstel station. The building number is 144 and you can find the address at stairs outside! We've really enjoyed the canal view with swans and breakfasts which you can take outside of a door. The bed was very comfortable and this white room was big enough for us. The breakfast was served in a nice romantic tray and a basket everymorning! Specially, Joost and his mom were really kind to us! There are so much helpful!! I loved the big big christmas tree so much;) I would love to visit a'dam and stay b&b 1680 again! Thanx! from France.


Amsterdam Dec 09

3.8 on December 13, 2009

Dennis and Joost (and Dennis's mom) are fantastic hosts. You can come and go as you please but they are there in the background (their own space) if you need anything. We used their personal pc to check in online with a very unhelpful BMI (never again - use Easyjet where possible). Breakfast is substantial and healthy. Warm rolls, fruit , juice, yoghurts and Espresso and Cappucino provided. All in your own picnic basket. Fresh flowers in the room were a nice touch. We stayed in the black and white room at the rear of the house. No noise at all considering the location of Red Light District. This is a plus of the accommodation, you are straight in the heart of the city. We are a non drug taking, normal (no kinky stuff) couple who have thoroughly enjoyed a 2 night stay in a beautiful canal house in the De Wallen and next door to the Hash Musuem! Please note the address of Dennis and Joost's wonderful home - it is NOT 1680! Julie and Mark Gee


Lovely hosts

4.2 on September 28, 2009

The hosts are friendly and helpful, but do not disturb you if you want to be left alone. The room was clean and the breakfast is great - delivered outside your door. The white room faces out front, so it can be a bit noisy til late with the street life below. It is also not a huge room - fine for my needs, but others may find it a bit small. There is no sign out front advertising that it is a B&B, so make sure you know what number it is and what the front of the building looks like. It is in the heart of the city, and a perfect place from which to explore the sights.


KIWI'S ABROAD JUNE 2009

3.6 on July 06, 2009

DENIS AND JOOST WERE THE PERFECT HOSTS, LOCATION WAS GREAT CENTRAL TO ALL OUR NEEDS, ROOM WAS PRIVATE, CLEAN AND SERVICED DAILY. THE BREAKFAST WAS JUST GREAT! WE WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND OTHERS TO STAY HERE AND WE WOULD OURSELVES AGAIN IF WE GET BACK TO AMSTERDAM (ONE DAY WE HOPE!). WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE THANKS.


Great B&B in Central Location

4.0 on March 23, 2009

My husband and i stayed in the green room in March and thought it was really nice. The room was nicer than it looked in the pictures and the bed was comfortable. The hosts were really helpful. When we arrived we left our bags downstairs and Joost took our bags up to the room. when we arrived in the room a bottle in the bag had been smashed so i phoned Joost and told him and he had the clothes from the bag laundered overnight Great service! The only thing that would have made it perfect was if there had been some cheese and ham to go with the bread we were given in our continental breakfast. I would recommend this B&B and my husband and i would stay again. However, it is in the heart of the red light district so you should be prepared!


Real Amsterdam !!

4.0 on February 11, 2009

real Amsterdam! plain and clean! co-operative hosts! we enjoyed the BB 1680 for 2 nights; in a charming atmosphere and a pretty view to the traditional canal. very close to nearly everything: Red Light District; shopping mile; Central Station also very quiet, charming, with a lovely breakfast. the white room is very small, but good enough to stay for a few days. with your own key you can leave or enter the BB 1680, whenever you want. hope to come back next year!


special atmosphere

4.4 on January 14, 2009

Very nice hosts, very central og the rooms very nice....would definately return if we come back to Amsterdam. Lene from Denmark


Right in the heart of A'dam

4.0 on January 12, 2009

BB 1680 is a short walk to any number of attractions in the heart of A'dam. Joost and Dennis were kind and flexible hosts. The room was large and clean and breakfast had a multitude of options. Great place and I will for sure stay at BB 1680 when I'm back in A'dam!


3 days in amsterdam

4.4 on December 17, 2008

we stayed for 3 days. the B&B is extremely well located because we wanted to be in the city centre. in addition, no noise could disturb us. the breakfast was very complete, a lot of energy! however the room was a little bit cold for me. I would like to rest there again!


Unique and Fun place to stay

3.6 on December 16, 2008

We enjoyed our visit - right on the border of the Red Light District! It was nice to be in the heart of old Amsterdam - coffe shops & all. The picnic basket breakfast was really a nice feature - like a little treasure delivered every morning. Our room felt like a secret hideaway where we could look down on the canal and watch the swans swimming in the rain! Beautiful! The bed was very comfortable, however the room was a bit lacking on chairs and places to hang clothes - but the room did have a very unique appeal to it. Loved the steep spiral stairs, however it may be a bit of a challenge for someone who is not physically able to climb and navigate in a small space. The host was super nice to us and we really appreciated the hospitality.


wonderful B&B

5 on November 27, 2008

A very nice B&B, situated in an old canal house, in the center of Amsterdam; the area is very safe, although there is a very active night life in surroundings. The hosts are very kind and polite. Our black &white room was very spacious, clean, with antique furniture and welcomed us with fresh flowers in it. We enjoyed how the breakfast was served: in a basket, leaved in the front of our door. We recommend this B&B to the tourists who want to feel the romantic atmosphere of the XVII th century.


Full of Character

4.8 on November 20, 2008

Fantastic find. Great location, hosts were most welcoming and the room was great. Perfect for a short romantic break.


Pleasent stay

4.0 on November 10, 2008

Stayed in the big room and it was like being home. Very nice and comfy B&B runned by great people.


Very nice B&B in canal house

4.6 on October 22, 2008

We stayed in the B&B for 3 nights for a weekend break. We really liked the breakfast (in a basket) and the atmosphere of the house! Nice people, helpful! Clean rooms, nicely decorated. We certainly recommend this B&B.


Good Find in Amsterdam

3.0 on October 20, 2008

September 2008 - Very helpful and hospitable hosts, we arrived a little early for check-in (around 10am) and were greated pleasantly by Joost. He happily took our bags and advised the room was being cleaned otherwsie we would have been allowed entry. Our stay was very pleasant. Like others have noted right in the red light (by half a block) however is very quiet at night and all the sights of Amsterdam are easily accessible. Would return, however it seems the prices have now gone up! We stayed in the smaller room for EUR90 per night and at the time the larger room was EUR120.


Heart of the Red Light District

3.0 on October 20, 2008

+ Polite and friendly host. + Nice basket of breakfast waiting for you behind the door at 8:00am everyday. - No hanger or wardrobe in the room to hang your clothes! - No desk or chairs in the room. - It would have been helpful if there had been access to more clean towels beside the two provided.


Great B&B

4.0 on October 13, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay in B&B 1680. The owners are friendly and helpfull and the B&B is right in the citycenter, close to everything. Breakfast is served in a basket put in front of your room in the morning. Would certanly recomend this B&B!


Weekend Break

3.8 on September 26, 2008

5 minutes from the station. Right in the Red Light District, but totally quiet at night.


Weekend in Amsterdam

3.6 on August 23, 2008

We spent a weekend in Amsterdam.The room is perfect located in the center,directly in middle of the red light district.The rooms are new and the interieur and the bathroom is very stylish and clean.The innkeepers are friendly and the reservation, check in and out and the payment is uncopmlicated.The breakfast is simple.All in all we con recomment the De Wallen B&B warmly.


very nice !!!

5 on August 12, 2008

Very nice rooms nice places, nice peolples! we will come again! Greets from Switzerland Philipp & Andrea


Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 1680

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 70 - € 120
  • Reviews (32) 4.2
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 31-202222491
  • Fax 31-204710387
  • Mobile 31-622591400

Visit Website »

View details

Top