Barangay B&B Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
150 Reviews

Write A Review

A cool B&B

5 on March 23, 2014

I love the location, first of all, not far from Central Station and around the corner from the main tourist street. The property is extremely clean, yet not stuffy and has a welcoming feel to it. Hats off to Wimmo & staff!


Wonderous

5 on March 13, 2014

This is the place to stay if you are going to Amsterdam.I have stayed in different places around the dam,and this is the only one that's value for money. The rooms are clean,the staff very helpful,and the breakfast is incredible,you also get your own bathroom.I just hope they will let me stay again,and again and again and again and again and again at least until the next meteor strikes,maybe Wimmo & God can set up the first B&B on the Moon right next to my Coffee Shop.


Great B&B with great value

5 on January 08, 2014

I stayed in one of the downstairs patio rooms in November 2013. Wimmo and Godwin were so welcoming when I arrived at 10:30 am after arriving at Schipol airport. My room was ready early in the afternoon and it was clean and comfortable and QUIET! The breakfast each day was outstanding and got me fueled for the day. I highly recommend this B&B. Also, the location near Centraal Station was perfect for me and easy to find. Loved their cats, too!


Amsterdam B and B

4.0 on December 26, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend. The room has everything you need and then some. The breakfast was big and well worth it


Highly recommended!!

4.6 on December 02, 2013

Just got back from our trip this morning, and wanted to say what a great stay we had! Wimmo, Godwin and team were very welcoming and extremely helpful. From the minute we arrived we got great advice on where to visit in the city. The room was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely be booking another stay for next year. Samuel & Courtney.


Brilliant

5 on October 19, 2013

We really can't rate the Barangay B n B enough. It's in a great location, 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station and away from the touristy area. The room we've stayed in twice is the Patio Tropical room, which has a small outdoor patio area. The room is clean and decorated in a really relaxing style. Breakfast is served in your room and it was fantastic each day. Another great thing about the place are the hosts, Wimmo and Godwin. They are really friendly and very welcoming. They make you feel as though you are visiting friends as opposed to staying in a B n B. Great place if you are looking for a boutique, interesting place to stay. We can't wait to go back!!


Tropical Suprise!

5 on October 19, 2013

All the resencies that I have read about Bed and Breakfast Barangay are true!You will be welcomed in their own very warm and welcoming living space! Our room, the Upper Room all the way on the top, was big and beautiful and tropical! The bathroom; toilet and shower, with belonging, great with underfloor heating! On the floor below our room was the kitchen where breakfast was served, very cosy and homely and more than enough choice. Plates were formatted In the refrigerator ready with cheese, meat and cucumber and tomato. You can cook or bake your egg. The whole vibe, everything felt like home! My little girl who is 10 years old also found it totally amazing here, especially their two beautiful black cats! Unfortunately we stayed only 1 night . Wimmo and Godwin are very friendly, kind and sweet hosts! Thank you both for everything, we'll be back!


Great stay, nice people

4.2 on October 12, 2013

I stayed at this lovely little B&B in October 2012 with a friend. The staff is extremely kind and helpful, the location is great, within a 10 min. walk to the Dam and city centre. The the room was very cozy, clean and comfortable as well as provided with...a small private gaden!


Amazing

5 on September 30, 2013

We ordered a room and were upgraded to a beautiful studio apartment with kitchen, coffie machine and a lot of others pleasures. we stayed only one night, and i wish we could stay more. It was AMAZING!!!!!


Highly reccomended!

5 on September 30, 2013

Lovely accomodation and the staff were amazing, catered to every need and we really enjoyed the varied breakfasts! The decor was very unique and en suite was very modern. Will definately stay here when we visit again. 5 minute walk to central station and trams also.


Holiday

2.4 on September 26, 2013

Good location but steeply stair


Entzückend!

5 on September 24, 2013

BB Barangay - eine wirklich entzückende kleine Unterkunft, deren Zimmer sehr liebevoll und kreativ eingerichtet sind. Die Zimmer sind bezahlbar und stehen in einem guten Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis. Natürlich alle mit eigenem Bad und WC und inklusive Frühstück. Alles immer tip top sauber. Wimmo und Godwin sind absolut reizende Gastgeber, auf die man sich verlassen kann. Neben der wirklich sehr schönen Atmosphäre, die das Barangay bietet, ist ein dickes Plus die Lage. Es befindet sich nur wenige Gehminuten vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt, man hat alles "around the corner", aber dadurch dass die beiden in einer Nebenstraße wohnen, ist es dort sehr schön ruhig. Auf jeden Fall sehr zu empfehlen. Ich bin bisher 6 oder 7x dort abgestiegen und es ist für mich immer die erste Adresse.


Wonderful B&B in a top-notch location

5 on September 22, 2013

This is by far the best B&B I've stayed. The location is second to none, just two blocks from Amsterdam Central Station (very convenient), and very close to the City Center, but it is still in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are very very friendly and helpful. They offer you a welcome drink, give you a map and explain to you about the city and the best places to go. The room is very comfortable, clean and new. We had one with in suite toilet, on the top floor (a tropical suite I guess he called it). Decoration is beautiful, specially the kitchen, where you have your breakfast (you make it yourself, which makes you feel kinda at home). On the downside, only to mention the stairs which are very steep, but they help you with your luggage to carry it upstairs. But every house in Centrum Amsterdam has that kind of steps. I will definitely stay here if I go back to Amsterdam!


Fond memories

5 on June 28, 2013

We stayed in Barangay B&B for a few days early June. It was different to any other place we have stayed form arrival to departure. The studio apartments, the owners, and the personnel were all exceptional. The B&B cannot be better situated to explore Amsterdam. We will return. The Pitzers from South Africa.


Great B&B for our honeymoon in Amsterdam

4.4 on June 05, 2013

We loved Barangay B&B! Wimmo and Godwin were excellent hosts, gave us a warm welcome with a drink and told us about Amsterdam in great detail; they are very relaxed and funny. Wimmo insisted on carrying my overlarge bag (which we had been warned against but, hey, I travel with a lot of stuff) up the stairs himself (I had thought my new husband would do the carrying). The stairs get a little scary towards the top, so if you're afraid of heights, you might want to stay on a lower floor. Our room was romantic with a nice view and a nice bathroom and shower. The bed had a heart-shaped towel "sculpture" and rose petals scattered. They also gave us a celebratory bottle of champagne since it was our honeymoon. We liked the do-it-yourself breakfasts which included as much as you wanted of a variety of things; no, there are no home-cooked dishes, but you will find things that you like. We liked the location just a few minute walk from the train station, but on a quiet street.


4 Excelent days at AMS B&B Barangay

4.2 on April 28, 2013

A 4 days excellent holidays in Amsterdam, resting in Barangay, walking round the city, and anjoying people. The best: the service, the breakfasts (delicious, plenty of variety), the tourist information around a cold beer... Wimmo & Godwin contributed we to plenty enjoy Amsterdam. The worst: not to have more holidays :)


The best place in amsterdam!!!

5 on April 09, 2013

the staff was great and helpful and took care of us in the best way possible, the b&b is best located (close to the central station and to center of the city), the rooms are big, clean, cousy and designed originally. gives great value for money. Strongly recommend.


A little paradise in Amsterdam

5 on March 04, 2013

Beautiful house and room, kindness and everythings superbe !


Great place

5 on November 30, 2012

Love the place! Homey and very helpful people! Very clean


Great B&B, fab location and top service

4.0 on November 23, 2012

We were in Amsterdam to run the marathon and stayed at Barangay for 4 nights. The service provided on arrival and detailed map provided with areas and places to visiti was wonderful. I loved the location of the B&B and the close proximity to cool neighbourhoods such as Jordaan. Being able to help yourself to breakfast was great especially on the morning of the marathon. Highly recommend.


great stayat the Barangay

4.0 on November 11, 2012

the location is very convenient to the Central Station, Chinatown, red light district. the breakfast served in the room is excellent and very abubant.


Fantasic Place

4.6 on October 31, 2012

Excellent B&B super clean with friendly hosts. Outstanding breakfast, cuper clean lareg rooms and bathtooms. Easy walking distance to Rail station, Trams, Bus and subway. Major shopping streets are no more than a 5 minute walk and so is the Redlight distric.


Perfect!

5 on October 29, 2012

A beautiful building with interesting views and a very central location. Breakfast was exceptional. The staff were friendly, charming and very, very helpful. The decor in at Barangay is lovely and and the rooms were very clean. A wonderful stay was had by all!


Un voyage ..

4.2 on October 27, 2012

L'accueil de ce B&B est très chaleureux, les chambres et toilettes sont très propres et nous emmènent dans un autre monde. Les hôtes sont très gentils, et sont vraiment à l'écoute de nos questions. De plus, les hôtes nous laissent pas "en plan" et nous expliquent vraiment bien le fonctionnement de la ville, et les jolis endroits à découvrir. Un voyage au top, dans un B&B au top, à ne pas louper !


Already looking forward to my next stay at Barangay

4.4 on July 14, 2012

The hosts welcome their guests with maps and local information and even a glass of wine. Their personal touch and attention to detail are evident throughout. The room was lovely, cheerful, and clean. The help-yourself breakfast was great and so convenient. I hope to make another trip to Amsterdam and definitely plan to stay at Barangay again.


Excellent!

5 on March 20, 2012

Perfect place, very well located, Wimmo & Godxxx are really kind. Outstanding breakfast included in the Patio rooms. If you like cats, Flip is charming. Too bad we couldn't met Gogo. I'm recomending Barangay to everyone since I came back home... and we'll repeat for sure next time we visit Amsterdam.


Great host, perfect location

4.2 on March 13, 2012

We wold like to thank Wimmo, Godwin and Edson for the hospitality during our stay 6-9 March 2012, at the beatuful guest house. Everything was great and from the beginning we felt like at home. We absolutly adore the taste and care and would recommend this B&B to our friends. Wishing you all the best, hope to visit you someday again.


A great B&B to stay at

4.0 on March 04, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Barangay B&B for three nights in September 2011. I am very happy we made this choice. The place is beautiful and well looked after. Our host during our stay was Wimmo, who was particularly helpful with advice on how best to enjoy Amsterdam. The room was very spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The breakfast spread was delightful. The location is ideal: only three minutes from Centraal Station, but away from the crowds. Right at the top of the Jordaan quarter – well worth spending hours walking around it. When we finally get to revisit Europe, Amsterdam and Branagay B&B will be a definte. - Michael Schembri


muy bueno

4.8 on March 03, 2012

trato excelente, buen desayuno, camas muy confortables, muy centrico cualquier tren va a la estacion central


we come back

4.0 on February 07, 2012

waren sehr zufrieden, liebevoll geführter laden


Highly recommended

5 on February 06, 2012

I'm a regular visitor to Amsterdam and Barangay is one of the best places to stay in the city. The rooms are deigned with originality and flair, with an exotic feel. The new Buddha temple room looks fab. On my last visit, a particularly cold January day, Wimmo met me with a cup of hot chocolate laced with rum. I got my favourite room (the L-shaped patio room) which is comfortable and quiet - very important to me as I'm a really light sleeper. A large and varied breakfast is served in the room or the communal kitchen. The guys know Amsterdam well (both speak perfect English) and were able to recommend things I'd not seen in my previous 40-odd visits (like the Handbag museum!). The location is perfect for sightseeing and nightlife. A strong recommend.


Lo mejor de lo mejor

4.8 on January 29, 2012

Este sitio era uno de los mejores sitios q me he quedado. Los hombres en cargo de todo eran fantasticos y los desayunos eran fenomenales u todo estaba limpisimo siempre!!


leuk verblijf!

4.2 on January 27, 2012

we hebben een heel leuk verblijf gehad, het personeel was heel vriendelijk! Het ontbijt mocht wel iets grote portie zijn.


Birthday in Amsterdam

4.0 on January 25, 2012

We have visited Amsterdam many times over the last 8 years and cant understand how we missed the best B&B ever so many times. The warm welcome you receive on arrival is tops. Wimmo God and Edson are the most friendliest hosts i have ever met. they definately contributed in a big way to making my birthday weekend the best. The rooms are all unique, each with an individual touch, and the upper breakfast room, only one thing to say, "Take a look for yourself"


Barangay is THE place to be

5 on January 23, 2012

this B&B has always been on my top list to stay while in A'dam, it is conveniently located and quiet enough. the service is outstanding and the hosts are mosts DAN Berlin


Great B&B, great location, great breakfast and tips!

4.0 on January 22, 2012

Great welcome and super tips for a visit to Amsterdam. Great rooms and breakfast!


eerste bezoekje aan Amsterdam

4.0 on January 19, 2012

het was onze allereerste keer in Amsterdam en B&B Barangay heeft het extra goed gemaakt. Een geweldig onthaal waarbij we een welkomstdrankje kregen en allerlei uitleg (over praktische zaken van de B&B, over de must seen wijken van Amsterdam,...) Ook de kamer was super. We hadden de upper master bedroom (volgens de host de mooiste en dat was ze ook). Echt super voor een romantische citytrip. De badkamer is gezamelijk, maar omdat er boven ook nog 2 badkamers zijn hadden wij die op onze verdieping voor ons alleen. Het ontbijt was ook goed. de keuken was over onze kamer dus wel gemakkelijk. Je mocht zelf gebruik maken van alles wat er in de keuken stond. Zelf een eitje bakken of koken, ... het zorgde ervoor dat je relaxt kon eten zonder dat ze kwamen vragen of je nog iets nodig had, of alles naar wens was.... Het was een super ervaring echt om nog eens terug te gaan.


Highly recommended!!!

4.8 on December 07, 2011

I stayed at the B&B Barangay in the summer of 2009. I would love to return one day. The service was excellent. The hosts go above and beyond!!! One day when I was trying to dry some laundry that I had washed by hand (and left to dry in the bathroom), one of the hosts put it in the dryer for me as he knew I was leaving the next day and that my clothes would not be dry. I returned to my room to find my clothes neatly folded up :) How awesome is that? It couldn't have been a more amazing experience!!! And the breakfasts were spectacular!!! I'm glad I was able to stay there for 4 nights :)


2 perfect nights

4.8 on November 14, 2011

Thanks to Godwin and his crew for 3 perfect Days in Ansterdam. The accomodation is just a 3 Minute walk away from the central station, but very quiet and absolutely cosy. Visiting friends would be the best descritpion. Thanks!


Home from Home

4.2 on October 21, 2011

A friend and I stayed for 3 nights in the Patio Rooms. Very comfortable and very private. Being served breakfast in the rooms was nice and we were able to eat in the small courtyard. The guys were extremely helpful in providing information on various things and were able to organise gallery tickets which saved us much time.


lo consiglio

4.0 on October 10, 2011

sono stata cinque giorni al B&B Barangay di Amsterdam con mio nipote di 13 anni. ci siamo trovati benessimo. La cortesia del proprietario che ci ha accolti è stata fantastica, le camere accoglienti e pulite, la colazione molto varia, e anche la posizione del B&B centrale, a due passi dalla Stazione centrale e dal DAM. Lo consiglio davvero a tutti.


Anette

4.0 on October 08, 2011

friendly, easy, comfortable, well located, every time we go to Amsterdam that´s where we stay


A haven in the heart of Amsterdam

5 on October 03, 2011

This is an extraordinary BnB centrally located in Amsterdam from where every tourist attraction is within walking distance. The rooms are originally decorated and tropically inspired! The continental breakfast is just exceptional and varied. Not to forget the warm hospitality that each guest receives upon arrival. Best value, best place, best lodging in the heart of Amsterdam. Wanna bet? Ed & An


Barangay Experience

4.0 on October 02, 2011

I stayed at the Barangay in September of 2011, it was a very pleasant experience with a nice location and very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and spacious and the welcome drink and huge breakfast were a plus. I would recommend it to anyone wanting an experience of a very good B&B along with the proximity to busy Amsterdam.


Well worth a stay

4.2 on October 01, 2011

My partner and I stay at Barangay in September 2011, for my Birthday, the service at the B&B was out standing we were made to feel very welcome. The B&B was quite but not far away from the action, a very quick walk into town, and very close to main train station, so a perfect location. I would definitely recommend this B&B for anyone who wants to stay in Amsterdam.


Excellent place and Excellent people

4.6 on October 01, 2011

I stayed at Barangay for a few days with 3 friends during August 2011. I have nothing but positive things to say. We were all made very welcome, the accommodation was excellent and the breakfast was top notch. The location was also superb and it made a great base for use to explore Amsterdam. I can't recommend the place highly enough.


Just stay here, OK?

5 on September 29, 2011

From the hour-long welcoming drink and orientation, through the sure-fire food and sights recs, to the cute kitty -- a home run. End of story.


Barangay is brilliant

4.6 on August 27, 2011

My friends and I stayed just one night at Barangay, in August 2011, and found the owners to be fantastic - very welcoming and friendly, as well as extraordinarily helpful in pointing out the best places to go in Amsterdam. The rooms were very stylish and a bit quirky, which I thought was so much better than an anonymous hotel. HIGHLY recommended. James Power


GENIAL!!

3.8 on August 23, 2011

Estuvimos en Junio y fue genial, muy bien situado, muy limpio, y Wimmo y Godwin realmente agradables y atentos. Volvería sin dudarlo. Les doy un 10. Montse. Granada. España


barangay I like and I return there

4.0 on August 15, 2011

We passed 5 days has Amsterdam in the barangay: excellent brief welcome(reception) - propre-confortable-central I deeply advise(recommend). A French of Toulouse!


Excellent stay

4.0 on August 14, 2011

Excellent stay! Many delicate and kind attentions. A very good address!!


The Perfect Location. The Perfect Stay.

4.8 on August 12, 2011

I wanted an intimate stay but with a lot of freedom. I wanted a place that had a comfortable queen size bed and a fridge we had access to in case of leftovers. I wanted a bathtub and a place that looked clean. I wanted FUNKY and I wanted breakfast included. All in the price range of about 500 Euros for the week. It met all the things we we were looking for. AND it was super close to Central Station and to the city center. Away from the tourist stuff but close enough where you could walk to all the cool things going on. A breakfast upstairs in the morning between 7am and 11:30am gave us plenty of time to go up and get breakfast. We got in to Amsterdam Schipol airport around 6am. I recommend booking a flight that arrives around 8 or so instead - we had to wait around town because we were asked to come after 9am, and most things in town do not open until 9 or 10am. We were given a map and recommendations of where to stay. We had drinks that were made for us. They took our luggage upstairs and asked us to come back in an hour because guests had just checked out of our room. The room was clean and beautifully decorated with a tiki theme. We had a table with 2 chairs, a tv, an alarm clock/radio that had an iPod dock, a fridge, a bathroom with a shower and a tub, and most awesomely - a meditation loft. We were excited to meditate there, but were sad to learn that it was only for decoration and not for meditation. We were not allowed to go up to the loft. Towels and sheets were changed sometimes daily, sometimes every other day. Godwin was available if we wanted him - gave us an emergency number and permission to ring the bell whenever we wanted. Dutch houses have steep stairs, but we did not mind the climb. This room was nicely sized for 2 people. I did wish there was more places to hang clothes or put clothes in. I would absolutely recommend Barangay to everyone and would definitely stay there again. We loved it!


The pearl of Amsterdam

5 on August 10, 2011

Firstly, the reception from Wimmo and God is "unique". They gave full information to us on all this need to see in Amsterdam. The room was ample, clean and warm-hearted. Breakfast was abounding served in an approachable room at all times. Practice to warm up a meal brought back in B&B. The nearness of the railway station was of use well for us. We could use Internet free and it was very appreciated. An address recommended surely.


Sunny Studio courtesy Barangay

4.6 on August 08, 2011

What superb hosts with a great accommodation to offer!! I loved my stay in 'Sunny Studio'. located in one of the lively streets in Dam, it had all the right mix of bars, coffee shops, restaurants, ventillation, amenities, etc. I would definitely love to stay at Barangay, the next time I visit Amsterdam


Fantastic B&B in Amsterdam

4.6 on June 29, 2011

Last week i spent three day at Barangay B&B of Amsterdam. The room (patio room) was perfect, very cute, clean and detailed. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, and when you arrive, they help you and explain all you have to know about Amsterdam. The breakfast was simply great, and all the service that Barangay offer were good. If i'll come back in Amsterdam, i'm sure that I'll book here again.


A great B&B - I'd recommend it to anyone

5 on May 09, 2011

We stayed at the Barangay in October 2010 and had a great weekend. I was a little sceptical about the idea of a Tropical themed B&B before our trip but this place is wonderful. The Barangay is a short walk from the train station and most main attractions. Wimmo, God and Angelo were really welcoming and made us feel right at home. I think this is the best B&B I've ever stayed in and I'd recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam.


Adorable, Friendly, & Delicious!

4.8 on May 01, 2011

My sister and I made a quick (4-day) stopover in Amsterdam. We had heavy backpacks and were looking for a B&B close to Central Station. We arrived on a rainy, cold day, and were able to walk from the station to Barangay in about 4 minutes. Upon arrival, we were greeted with hot tea, and a conversation with Wimmo & Godwin (B&B owners). They helped us plan our itinerary and helped us purchase 'skip-the-line' tickets to the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijks Museum, and even helped us carry our bags up the steep stairs! Wimmo & Godwin, and their staff, are extraordinarily nice and welcoming. The room itself, we stayed on the top floor, was spacious and very clean; we enjoyed the tropical decorations. The bathroom, although shared, was clean and always available. The B&B is quiet but guests are very friendly and sociable at the delicious morning breakfasts. The breakfast is make-it-yourself style, but the spread is amazing, with everything from waffles, to eggs, salami, yogurts, fruit, espresso, and fresh bread. Last, the location is perfect. I visited in February, so it was rather cold. Still, my sister and I walked everywhere. You are within 5 mins from the Ann Frank House, 15-20 mins from Van Gogh and Rijks, 10 mins from Bloemenmarkt, and 2 minutes from the canal boat tour departures. Dozens of great restaurants and cafes are within 1-5 minutes walking. If I go back to Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here. It really feels like a comfortable home!


Amazing Marathon weekend at this place

4.6 on April 27, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in October 2010 for the Amsterdam Marathon. The place was the best B&B we have ever stayed in and the service was excellent right from the start. The location is ideal - a 5 min walk from Train station and most other places are within 5-10 min walk. They also made us extra food before the Marathon. I would certainly recommend this place for couples, familys and groups. I will be back in Amsterdam this summer and I will look no further than this place.


unbelievably like home

5 on April 16, 2011

It has been nearly 12 months since we travelled to Amsterdam and we are still raving about it.Travelled with 6 people (aged from 52 to 39) from tropical Darwin in Australia. It was like coming home. We all enjoyed the welcome that Wimmo and Godwin gave us. They were very patient, helpful (with information) and friendly people. The other staff kept the rooms immaculate and they were very friendly, too. I strongly recommend staying here. You ARE very close to everything and the walk to places was not tiring. The kitchen area was great and many a hearty breakfast was had by us. Thankyou both for making our stay so comfortable.


what a place

4.0 on April 14, 2011

my partner stayed in Barangay by chance, as the place we booked had cancelled our booking. However, from the moment we arrived until the minute we left we knew it was the best place we had ever stayed.Wimmo was so helpful and an excellent host, we would recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam book in at this place if you can get in.Wimmo, a million thank you's your great. Couple from Romania xxxxx


The place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam

4.2 on April 06, 2011

I stayed a few nights at Barangay and I got a surprisingly warm welcom from Wimmo & Angelo. I have stayed at MANY guesthouse around the globe and in Amsterdam but Barangay is a place I will return to and also highly recommend to my friends and extended friends. You will enjoy the guesthouse and the atmosphere


A nice stay at the Amsterdam B&B Barangay

4.0 on April 05, 2011

In March 2010 we visited the Amsterdam Carre theatre in the evening. We stayed one night at the B&B Barangay and we enjoyed it very much. We met Godwin and Wimmo and they are such nice guys. Very friendly and helpful and they give you a lot of information about Amsterdam. So, we are very content and would certainly like to stay there again. Everything has been ok! We send our kind regards to Godwin & Wimmo, Sandra Koning & Irma Alderlieste


Home away from home

4.0 on April 04, 2011

Barangay is the best besides what is rated on top, the host and staff i must comment they are just wonderful people very warm, not only friendly but very kind hearted people. They go all their way out to give assistance to their guest. if ever I am back in Amsterdam again I will be back in barangay .


Barangay bouleuterion

4.8 on April 02, 2011

Wimmo and God were very hospitable; we were made to feel very comfortable. There is no shortage of information and resources. Our room was lovely and the shared kitchen space gave us the opportunity to meet other who were also traveling. It was a lot of fun and we would return to the Barangay.


a hidden gem

4.2 on April 02, 2011

This was our 3rd trip to Amsterdam and the Barangay was by far the best place we stayed at. Wimmo and Godxxx were great. They could't have done enough for us. They were so friendly and always approachable. They recommended some great places to eat and also what we should see while we were there. The place was clean and the breakfast in bed was the best. We would recommend it highly.Hope to go back again soon.


Barangay Outstanding Location and Value

4.4 on April 01, 2011

Stayed at the Barangay for 2 nights last July. Can't beat the location. We were without car and had easy access from the train station and we walked everywhere. Get your self a transit pass and you can get everywhere very quickly. Wimmo & Angelo were excellent hosts and very helpful with everything in Amsterdam. They even helped with some first aid when my wife took a spill and cut her knee open. Will stay again next time we are in Amsterdam.


08/2010 at Barrangay B&B

5 on April 01, 2011

Wonderful historic row house within easy walking distance of central train station. Hosts treated us like old friends coming to visit. Gave us plenty of good information on where to go and what to see. Rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Overall a great experience at Barangay B&B!


Enjoyed our brief stay there.

3.0 on April 01, 2011

We stayed at the BEL-Studio 17-21juni for 4nights. This did not include any meals, so I can't comment on that. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Very convenient to the "hot" center of Amsterdam, near the Central Station.


The Best B&B Experience!

5 on March 31, 2011

My husband and I were were on our European honeymoon and stayed at Amsterdam B&B Barangay...by far the best B&B experience on our entire trip! We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we got there and we were blown away with the beautiful tropical ambiance in every room. It was a little piece of paradise in Amsterdam! Our room with private bath and spectacular patio was super clean and had all the amenities you would ever need to make your stay more welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing and whenever we needed anything, someone was always there to make sure we were taken care of. It was very hard to leave such a wonderful place. My husband and I already want to start planning our next trip to Amsterdam and B&B Barangay is the only place we'd stay!


séjour entre amis de 3 jours en novembre 2010

4.0 on March 31, 2011

formidable B & B tres bien situé ; endroit calme à 200 m de la gare centrale ; accueil chaleureux de Wimmo, très amical, dans la simplicité ; convivialité +++ ; on se sent comme chez soi ; les chambres du Patio et surtout les Upper rooms sont spacieuses et très confortables ; propreté impeccable ; petits déjeuners excellents dans la cuisine du 1er étage ; tout est fait pour que les hôtes se sentent bien ; une excellente adresse à conseiller ; nous reviendrons sans hésiter ; très bon rapport qualité prix pour Amsterdam.


A pearl in the gravel.

4.0 on March 30, 2011

This location will surprise you very pleasantly. So central yet so quiet. Very realaxing, semi-tropical atmosphere. Charming, personal and clean rooms. Comfortable beds, great breakfast, especially the breakfast in bed. A great base for a few leisurely days i Amsterdam. Simply lovely.


family stay

3.8 on March 27, 2011

we stayed at B& B Barangay for 3 nights as a family of 8 with children. we had a pleasant time specially the privacy we enjoyed as we occupied most of the place. The little breakfast room was so homely and we had scrumptious breakfasts, and found it enjoyable to prepare for ourself. The matrasses and pillows could be little more comfortable, but generally a pleasant stay and recommendable


Great location, best breakfast in bed

5 on February 26, 2011

This is a great, safe and welcoming BB. I will return and my friends will visit and stay here.


Superb!

5 on February 13, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Barangay B&B. Wimmo, is so super cool he is freezing! All of the other reviews are just spot on. The hospitable welcome, free drink, map with local attractions, 1st class service, cleanliness of rooms & bathroom, fantastic decorations, delicious breakfast, friendly pussy cats, tropical retreat....... I really could go on forever because Wimmo & The Barangay honestly made our weekend away very pleasant. I really like the little touches though, like the flower to decorate breakfast, chocolate sprinkles, bowl of sweeties to help yourself, decorated swan towels so a thumbs up to those too! We had our own keys to the B&B and really could come and go as we pleased, with no curfew...... bonus! We will definatley be back!! Thanx Wimmo & boys xx


Fantastic. Home away from home.

5 on January 20, 2011

Only stayed one night due to arriving early and not being able to get another night at our hotel. Wish we stayed here for our whole time in Amsterdam. Very friendly. Made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was fantastic! Cute cats too.


ledgendary breakfast!

4.2 on December 20, 2010

we recently had a great stay at barangay, great room, shared bathroom was fine (only shared with one other room). wimmo was very friendly and helpful. location great and the breakfast...what can we say...huge, tasty!! thanks for turning on the snow amsterdam!! jamie and fenella, australia.


Lovely place - highly recommended :o)

4.0 on October 01, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and I had high expectations having seen the reviews and visited the website. Very happy to say we were not disappointed. We were greeted warmly by Wimmo with drinks and a very helpful guide to Amsterdam. Despite this being our 6th visit to Amsterdam, Wimmo's info was very useful. We had only stayed at hotels before and this suited us much better. The breakfasts were indeed legendary and having them brought to our room at 10am was just great. The room was tastefully decorated with everything you could need and Barangay is very conveniently situated. We enjoyed the freedom to do our own thing, knowing our hosts would be happy to help or advise if needed. We will definitely be visiting again, hopefully for longer next time. Happy to recommend. Kathy and Jake.


Such a welcoming place

5 on September 11, 2010

Wimmo, God and cats are fantastic hosts. We had a really lovely time staying with them. Jan and Ann


Fantastic Accommodation

4.4 on September 08, 2010

7 of my friends and I stayed in the apartment and the large room below next door to the B&B for 3 nights on 8 August, we had a fantastic time, there was everything we needed to have a very comfortable stay and the location couldn't have been better. We had a very friendly welcome.


A lovely long weekend

4.2 on August 03, 2010

My wife and I stayed last weekend for 3 nights in the Bel-Studio which is owned also by Godwin and Wimmo. The studio is well appointed and equipped with gas hob, cooker, microwave, fridge freezer, toaster, tea and coffee. It was very clean and everything arranged quite artistically ! It was my wife's birthday during our stay and Wimmo organised some lovely flowers and wine (at a very reasonable extra cost) which were bought to the Studio for her on the day as well as breakfast in bed ! We have visited Amsterday many times before and found the Barangay a fantastic place to stay , well located with excellent service. I can not recommend the Barangay highly enough and look forward to visiting again ! Thanks to Wim , Davinia and Ed :)


Tres bon B&B

5 on June 22, 2010

séjour du 17 au 21 06 2010 Nous sommes restés 4 nuits au Barangay et tout a été parfait. Notre chambre était très confortable, chaleureuse . Quand au petit déjeuner super comme à la maison!!C'est un B&B à recommander , très bien placé pour visiter Amsterdam.


3 days at Rozé Apartment

3.0 on June 11, 2010

The reception we received exceded our expectations. We were informed of everything we needed to take good profit of our stay. Very nicely decorated. The only thing that Barangay says beforehand is that there is a steep staircase to reach the apartment which is on the first floor. Beware not to carry heavy luggage. The apartment has calefactor so it keeps you warm. It is recommended. Also you can cook in a well suited kitchen and Albert Hein supermarket is crossing the street.


Our Trip from 3.-6.6.2010

5 on June 08, 2010

Hallo, unser Besuch bei Euch im Hotel war superschön. Die Atmosphäre des Zimmers (aller Zimmer) war toll, euer Frühstück hat uns verwöhnt, so dass wir gestärkt Amsterdam erkunden konnten. Das Wetter war einfach nur genial und am liebsten wären wir nochlänger geblieben. Danke für alles. Wir haben uns super wohl gefühlt. Ich habe Euch bereits weiter empfohlen. Liebe Grüße Christine sowie von den 8 Kegeldamen


WARM & FRIENDLY

4.0 on April 27, 2010

Well what a pleasant surprise, very comfortable. Breakfast was a make it yourself but more than enough staples to make it very nice. The hosts were fabulous and extremely helpful with recommended restaurants , what to see and do in and around their facility . The location to the main rail station was very convenient. It was a nice short stopover with lots to do. Would I stay here again and recommend it to others? Without a doubt. Thankx Godexx and Wimmo


Terrific B&B

4.8 on April 26, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. The location was perfect to get around Amsterdam. We had a lovely room on the ground floor which made it easy for us seniors. The innkeepers provided all sorts of assistance when needed. The breakfast were excellent. We would stay again whenever we return.


the best kept secret in Amsterdam

4.8 on April 23, 2010

A lovely surprise! Beautiful , charming, and above all very clean. I highly recommend B&B Barangay. My only regret was my very short stay in Amsterdam.


A Warm Welcome on a Cold Day

4.6 on April 05, 2010

We were welcomed by staff with a warm welcome despite the cold weather the week we were in Amsterdam. The staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful. The breakfast is very, very generous. Staff were also not in-your-face trying to please and help you. They leave us alone to enjoy our holidays. It is definitely worth returning to stay at Barangay.


Another great visit

5 on March 12, 2010

I have just returned from a long weekend in the Dam. This is my 5th visit and I loved every minute of my stay. Wimmo, Godwin, Raymond and the cats (must not forget the cats) have yet again welcomed us back and made our stay great, easy, clean and most of all fun. They suggested places to go out, eat out as we have been a few times change and variety is good and we appreciated the advice. We hope to return again next year and will definatly be looking at staying at Barangay first. thanks again xxxxxx


A very pleasant place where you can feel somewhat at home

4.4 on March 01, 2010

Hi, My friends and I only spent 2 nights but I did enjoy the liberty the innkeepers provided us with: we felt free, as if we were at home. I particularly enjoyed quiet & relaxing atmosphere in the kitchen at night (try to escape from your friends' attention if you appreciate being with yourself for a while...!) ;-)) I would surely recommend this place, no doubt about it...


A great B&B to stay in Amsterdam

4.0 on March 01, 2010

I am just back from a short week end in Amsterdam with some friends We stayed at the B&B Barangay. It's very well located, rooms are spacious, and breakfast is hearty / various, and finally we had a warm welcome, full of advices and guidelines. I would recommend this place if you stay in Amsterdam


One of the best B&B's

4.0 on February 28, 2010

We stayed three nights last week. Great location, even greater hosts.


Enjoy Amsterdam...

4.8 on February 25, 2010

The breakfast was absolutely fabulous, the service very kind with a full explanation of the street map, locations where to go (and where not), a very warm welcome of the landlords - excellent! The room was very nicely prepared for a good stay. The only thing which we did not like so much were the windows, which hardly held the cold temperatures and rumors from the street outside. :o)


Fantastic, cosy hotel and great host

4.0 on February 22, 2010

Stay period : 16 to 18 Feb 2010 My first time in Amsterdam, hotel is easy to locate, really convenient to Red light district, Dam Sq, shopping and food. Price and location was worth every cent. Host was really warm and helpful in providing information, gave us details on where and what to do for a first-timer like me. I love the hotel so much, breakfast was wonderful, my boyfriend and myself enjoyed the stay so much. Rooms and toilets were clean and very safe. We will definitely go back to this hotel on our next visit and recommend this hotel to all.. Alexis and Michau


better B&B if not best

4.2 on February 20, 2010

I would definitely recommend this quaint B&B to anyone and everyone travelling to Amsterdam. The location is ideal not only to becuase of its proximity to Centraal Station but it is also conveniently located to shops/restaurants less frequented by all the toursit in the city. Plus the hosts, Wimmo and Godwin will go out of their way to meet your needs.


The only place to stay in Amsterdam

4.2 on February 13, 2010

We have just returned from our second stay at Barangay and as far as we are concerned, it is the only place to stay in Amsterdam. Wimmo and God are superb hosts and provide a service which is second to none. Barangay is within very easy walking distance of the railway station - a place you can always find your way back to should you get lost - and the place itself is warm and welcoming with interesting and comfortable rooms. The breakfast is excellent and well presented. I recommend this place to all my friends.


The ultimate B&B experience in Amsterdam

5 on February 12, 2010

At five minutes by foot from A'dam central station, ten minutes from Dam Plaza, in the middle of everything you can see and do in this wonderfull city, Barangay it's the B&B you are searching for, that are gonna daze you for the clean and scented room, for the greeting when you arrive and go away, for the silence when you have to sleep, for the breakfast when you wake up, for the right temperature of your room, for the really confortable bed, for the little garden where you can chill out and smoke a cigarette without necessarily go out of your room. The price it's perfect for the service you'll recive and it's the same you can find in a 1 star hotel with mouse inside the wall: in a city where everything it's expensive, crappy stuff too, this is a really important point that gonna make me choose Barangay one more time if i'll come back in A'dam. I think i'll not find in this city another place to stay with kindness, cleanness, respect, Flexibility, quality and HELPFULNESS all in one. Five star.


Alles Gut!!

4.8 on February 10, 2010

First I would like to mention how great the host Godwin and Wimmo are they are very friendly and hospitable. They'll let you know everything you need to know about city and more. Second. The location is very convenient (especially if you have a bad sense of direction like myself) for it's located five minutes away from the Amsterdam Centraal and less then ten minutes from Dam Rak (Dam Square) and the B&B is in back of postcard perfect Dijks. As an avid travel, take my word for it when I say that this is a great place to stay. Thank you again Wimmo and Godwin, see you both very soon!


For a lovely stay:)

4.4 on February 08, 2010

Our stay at Barangay B&B was a brief one, however it was lovely. First they welcomed us with a big smile and coffees and told us all about Amsterdam, what to do, where to go according to our preferences. The room was very charming and spacey. Bathroom was always neat and clean. And breakfasts were amazing. You could basically go and take a nap after those breakfasts if you have enough time, since you feel like you just had the most fulfilling breakfast:) Overall, I certainly recommend Barangay B&B if you are looking for a safe, clean, charming palce to stay in Amsterdam.


barangay bed and breakfast

5 on February 01, 2010

My husband and I had an incredible experience at Wimmo and Godxxx's B and B. They were the best hosts with alot of knowledge to share about Amsterdam! The breakfasts were different every morning and were delicious! The location was perfect for walking everywhere and being in a safe part of the city. I highly recommend this accomodation as part of your stay in Amsterdam.


Missing Barangay

5 on January 10, 2010

Yes, for sure I recommend to book Barangay B&B. I was pleased to be attended by the team when I arrived, the place is very close to the Central Station, easy to find. Even could hire then to decorate my house, if possible... The parfum of the bed clothing - fantastic! Next time in AMS, will be there for sure!


enjoyable stay in amsterdam

4.6 on January 02, 2010

Arrived on a wet day to be greeted by Raymond who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and who we feel is a real asset to your establishment. I previously sent you a picture of Flip, the cat, who kept us company and who we enjoyed having. Thank Raymond and we hope you have a great New Year and look forward to future visits to your B&B. J. Muise


Almost perfect at everything

4.6 on December 28, 2009

We were in Barangay for 4 days in chrismas 2009 and it was great. The owners of the place are very very nice and helpful. The rooms (and acctually the whole place) are well decorated and give you a warm feeling. Our room(patio room which is the more expensive) was a little small but not too small. The location is good - in the center, but in quiet street and near almost all trams lines stations. The breakfast are really good, and they bring it to your room, if you want to. One of their two cats came to our room every morning, after the breakfast - he's really cute and anyway, if you don't like cats you can just not let him in. The only disadvantage is that there is no bathroom in your room - even in the patio rooms the bathroom is outside(but private for each room). In conclution - very recomended. The prices are a little high for B&B, but it's much more satisfactory that going to some standart 3 star hotel for that sum.


tolle Lage, super Service

4.2 on June 25, 2009

Mai 2009


Walking Distance to Everything

4.8 on April 29, 2009

Gracious hosts who are extremely helpful. Perfect location. Spotless accomodations. We are older American couple, son and new bride.


Zonder wensen gelukkig in Barangay over Kerstmis

5 on February 27, 2009

Het Barangay in Amsterdam is een verblijf dat niet veel te wensen over laat.Het ligt centraal, de kamers zijn zo uitgerust dat er geen wensen overblijven, het ontbijt biedt voor elk wat wils (fruit, müsli, yoghurt, brood, gebakjes, in de keuken een machine voor de espresso, enz.).De boven gelegen kamers bieden voldoende ruimte om ‘s avonds gezellig samen te komen. Erg mooi was de versiering met Kerstmis, hier kwam men een mooi kaarsenarrangement tegen, boven het deurkozijn was een dennenguirlande opdat men in een prachtige keerststemming komt.De huisheer heeft een oog voor het detail!Leuk waren ook de zitbanken met kussens in de keuken waar men graag iets langer bleef zitten. Overigens zijn de kamers schoon, gezellig en erg smaakvol ingericht.Men is blij na een dagje uit of winkelen weer terug te komen.Het Barangay is voor ons een van de beste adressen Bed & Breakfast´s. !!!


Empfehlenswert ohne Einschränkung

4.4 on February 10, 2009

Nach Amsterdam zu fahren und nicht in einem für diese Stadt so typischen Haus zu wohnen wäre schon fast kriminell. Und ich bin froh, das beste B&B in Amsterdam bereits gefunden zu haben, ich habe mich noch nie in einem Hotel so Zuhause gefühlt. Cheers mates! Keep up the outstanding work! George


3 days in amsterdam

4.6 on February 05, 2009

the reception at your place was the best we had from any b and b we used over many years , breakfast was great and very well presented


In the heart of Amsterdam

4.2 on February 04, 2009

We had a fantastic stay. With 8 people we rented the whole Barangay. The welcome was warm and we got a really good introduction about Amsterdam with good informations about where to go and where not. We had a problem with hot water in a shower so we phoned the owner. They came straight away and fixed it really quick. The people were there when we needed them. Its also great located in the heart of Amsterdam. Everything was in walking distance. Also getting to the B+B was really easy. Just 2min from a main metro station. If we're going back to Amsterdam (and we will) we're certainly staying in the Barangay again. Thanks.


Great place, people and location!

4.0 on February 01, 2009

The location of the Barangay is perfect to explore Amtsterdam and the hosts are very nice and helpful. The rooms are comfy (very comfortable bed!), nicely decorated and make you feel at home right away. it was also great to have access to a fully equipped kitchen. I would definitely return to Barangay on my next trip to Amsterdam!


B&B Barangay

4.0 on January 27, 2009

Barangay is a great find for a visit to Amsterdam. Proximity to the central station, cleanliness, value and superb attention to detail make this a great stay. The stairs are a little difficult to climb but its worth it.


Enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam

3.6 on November 23, 2008

Great service went out of there way to help with directions and getting tickets for museums and other events. Breakfast was always good and on time. Location was very convenient to all sights in Amsterdam.


One Fun Weekend In AmsterDamn

4.8 on November 06, 2008

We highly recommend B&B Barangay!! As a well traveled group we’ve seen the best and the worst. Barangay falls high on the list. Sure it’s not 5 star luxury but everything was solid. I felt like we lived like the locals. We wouldn't have had half as good a trip without Ron's all around excellent service and advice. The location alone was worth the price.


Fantastic B&B, will definately come back

5 on November 05, 2008

B&B Barangay gave us quite simply the best personal welcome we have ever had at a B&B or hotel. Forget your 5 star hotel's this is a real B&B with the personal touch. We stumbled across this B&B through laterooms.com. the location os perfect, very close to the train station, close to the centre of Dam, but also just away from the tourist traps so felt like we were in the real Amsterdam. It's located to the west of the centre so perfect for exploring all the streets and local areas around it and to the south and west. The initial welcome was superb, with free drinks, a map with essential places to visit highlighted, information about the toursit areas to avoid and also recommendations about local restaurants. We visited one of these restaurants (Dulac) and it was very very good. The room was not massive, but had everything you would need, and the decor was very refreshing, a real change and lived up to the tropical paradise label to which it was sold. Having recently come back from the Phillippines it was very true to the style. The breakfast in bed was superb, and the little touches like the towels folded into animal shapes with chocolates on top, a huge selection ot sample toiletries in the bathroom and bowls of sweets dotted around the B&B were very welcome. All in all a superb place, and I can honestly say I would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam unless they were full. First class.


A PLEASANT STAY

3.8 on November 02, 2008

We received a warm welcome from wimmo, and over a drink spent some time with us explaining things Amsterdam, the room was very nice, very clean too, we had a nice time staying at the Barangay and would stay there again, its excellent for most of the places to go and its very quiet, all in all very good.


Good Visit

3.8 on October 27, 2008

Great location. Very friendly. Stairs were a nightmare but we had been warned. Good variety of breakfast foods. Clean and good value.


An American in Amsterdam

5 on October 27, 2008

The rooms at this hostel are unique and cozy and originally decorated in a classy tasteful style. They have a tropical Island feel and the only thing missing is the sea breeze that seems to be welcomed and wished-for by the the lovely decor. The people who work here are among the friendliest people I have ever met, and after nights of mayhem and self-induced chaos, it was refreshing when you awoke the next morning to find breakfast delivered with "good morning, it is a beautiful day today." You will search a long time before you find another experience like the one offered here and you will have a harder time forgetting such easy kindness from the warm human spirit of the people who work and operate this bed and breakfast.


A perfect base in Amsterdam

4.6 on October 25, 2008

We were welcomed with a map and a chance to ask questions about the city. Our room and bathroom were spotless. This B&B is located about 5 minutes walk from the train station, and it isn't far from anything you want to do in Amsterdam. Breakfast in bed was a nice treat. I highly recommend this place.


Will stay here again!

5 on October 25, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at Barangay. Wimmo and Godwin were so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts they prepare every morning we excellent. We cant wait to stay there again, it felt like a home away from home.


BREAKFAST IN BED

5 on October 24, 2008

Not only did we feel safe but such great access to all the "hot" spots in the canal city. Our hosts were very accomodating and always with a smile. Their recommendations to fabulous (and tucked away) restaurants made our honeymoon perfect.


Barangay - the place to stay

4.2 on October 23, 2008

Great place, fantastic situation, cool people.


Perfect location, would stay here again.

4.6 on October 23, 2008

We stayed at Barangay for 3 nights this past September & were pleased with our stay. The B&B is located so close to the Train station - I can’t imagine carting your luggage over the cobblestones to locations farther away as I saw some travelers do. Ron was wonderful! He gave us a map & after asking us what our interests were/focus of the trip, he gave us excellent info. as to where to concentrate for our limited time in the city. He was bang on about the interesting shopping streets as compared to the typical "touristy" streets & gave us the heads up on meaningful site seeing areas as opposed to the gimmicky "waste of money/time" attractions. The areas he pointed out for nightlife were indeed lively & his restaurant suggestions were also great. We stayed in one of the Tropical Patio rooms & loved the breakfasts we received every morning. They fueled us up that we didn't need to eat until dinner even with all the walking. The variety of food that was served for each meal was certainly appreciated. Don't be surprised at the narrow stairs - that's typical. It's tricky with heavy or large luggage so be aware. If you can't negotiate tight stairs or want an elevator then I suggest you look elsewhere. Otherwise, just take it easy & you'll get your luggage to where you need to go. We found the establishment to be very clean. The only suggestion I have is to place a small fan in the private bathroom since there is no window to let the steamy air circulate after a shower. (But we also noticed this in other European locations). In addition to being so close to the train station, Haarlemmerstraat is the next street over (our favourite street) which has a wonderful vibe, everywhere else, Red Light District, Dam Square, Jordaan District, is a short walking distance. The street itself is quiet so you don't have to worry about outside noise & we felt very safe walking around 'til the wee hours (we're night owls) & had no worries walking in that neighbourhood.


2 tropical nights in Amsterdam

3.6 on October 23, 2008

We stayed in Amsterdam at Barangay for two nights (17th and 18th october 08). Marco & Martina


Great stay

3.8 on September 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights on the way home from a trip to Turkey. We stayed in the small top room (lots of small stair steps). The room and bathroom were perfect. The serve yourself breakfast perfect. The maps and points of interest explained on our arrival were very helpful. Wonderful location--easy walk from the train station.


Keith & DEE's Comments - May 2008

3.6 on September 03, 2008

We stayed at the B&B Barangay in Amsterdam for 2 weeks in May 2008 - to celebrate my 50th birthday - Had a wonderful time - actually stayed in the studio apartment next door to the B&B - Peaceful and quiet - great access to a very good part of Amsterdam - great restaurants - bars - bike trails behind the train station - up into the islands above amsterdam - West Park is very close walk - very nice Park - This is the second time we have stayed with Wimmo and Godwin and each time has been a fantastic experience - Very service oriented and helpful with places to go


I wouldn't do it again

2.2 on September 02, 2008

2-star accommodations.


Fine settimana al Barangay

3.6 on September 01, 2008

L'accoglienza è stata calorosa e i proprietari sono molto gentili e disponibili per qualsiasi richiesta. Più che in un B&B sembra di stare in famiglia. L'ubicazione del B&B e' centralissimo, vicino sia ai mezzi pubblici che alle principali attrazioni della città. Le camere sono arredate in modo originale e curate nei minimi dettagli. La colazione servita a letto è un'esperienza indimenticabile sia per gli occhi che per il palato.


Feliz estancia.

3.8 on August 31, 2008

La ubicación, muy cerca de la Estación del Ferrocarril, el excelente servicio, la cordialidad de los propietarios, así como el buen desayuno -en la cama- y la limpieza, han hecho agradable nuestra estancia en él exótico Barangay,emplazado en una típica casa holandesa. PP y JR.


Good choice

4.0 on August 30, 2008

The B & B very close the the centre and only 15 mins walk from the train station. The owners very friendly and I love the cats too. If you need somewhere close to the town this is the place you need to stay.


Great stay, great people

5 on August 30, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Barangay. My wife and I were warmly welcomed with a drink and given a very helpful guide of Amsterdam. Although we had visited the city before they recommended places that we would never have thought about, let alone visited. From reading other reviews we knew this place would be different and fun, and that’s what we got. We were left to our own but we felt that we could call upon the boys for any help if we needed. Hope to visit again soon.


paradise in amsterdam

5 on June 27, 2008

i have stayed in most of the rooms at the barangay now and enjoy them all. the accommodation is a very pleasant change from alot of the boring dirty rooms above restaurants that are often found in amsterdam and the breakfast is to die for !!.... i have returned to barangay and hope to again and again . thanks wimmo and god.


amsterdam's finest

4.6 on June 11, 2008

Great location, great accommodation - we stayed in the studio flat; it had everything we needed to be self sufficient for a few days. Everyone was increadibly friendly and helpful... highly recommended


A Most Wonderful Experience in Amsterdam

4.8 on June 06, 2008

We arrived at the Barangay after an overnight flight from Uganda. We took the train from the airport and found the B&B very convenient to the train station. We were warmly greeted by our hosts even though we arrived before check in time. Everything was up to our expectations. We found the location very convenient to transportation and we were directed by our hosts to wonderful restaurants and bars nearby. Also we found a very nice supermarket and bakery with a cheese shop down the street. We were able to pick up some goodies to enjoy on the attractive patio outside our room. Our hosts could not have been more gracious and we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts which were delivered to our room each morning. It was a most delightful and relaxing stay and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to explore Amsterdam.


What more could you ask for . . .

4.0 on May 28, 2008

We stayed at the tropical Barangay in April 08. Wim, God and Ron were brilliant hosts in a lovely, peaceful hideaway that was located a stone's throw from everything. The location was perfect, our hosts were friendly, good fun and informative yet not intrusive, our room was amazing and the breakfasts in bed were a treat we looked forward to with anticipation each morning. Yes, we would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks guys for everything, you deserve all these brilliant reviews. C and D xx


we had a great time there!

4.0 on May 28, 2008

to be honest we didn't expect the service and the treatment we had....the staff is very friendy,very useful and very organized...the room was lovely... definetely we'll go back to amsterdam and we'll stay again there...


A Very Enjoyable Experience

4.0 on May 21, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Barangay B&B, which is very close (walking distance) to the train station. The B&B is owned by a couple, Wimmo and Godwin, who were very gracious and accommodating hosts. We were actually greeted at first by their friend Ron, who made us tea and provided us with a map and a visitor's guide. He immediately set about marking up the map for us, pointing out the Jordaan (an arty section of shops and cafes), the Red Light District, some museums and some of his favorite restaurants. He also gave us a discount coupon for a boat ride. The B&B was around €99 a night, not exactly cheap, but it was very comfortable, clean and quiet. My sister and I had a floor to ourselves. Although she had the larger room (which was a bit noisy from outside traffic), my room was still quite spacious (and very quiet). Both rooms had large, comfortable beds, chairs and tables and were decorated in a funky tropical theme. We shared a bathroom, which was very clean with a large bath that had a terrific shower (good water pressure). On the floor below there was a communal breakfast room stocked every day with fresh breads, muffins, cereals, meats and cheeses. We made our own breakfast and washed our own dishes, which my sister found odd for a B&B, but I liked the homey atmosphere of it. In the end, we both agreed that we enjoyed our stay very much. I do hope to visit Amsterdam again and when I do I know where I will be staying. Thank you Wimmo, Godwin and Ron.


Amsterdam Gem!!!

4.0 on May 19, 2008

I have stayed many times with the hosts at ""Barangay and have never come away dissapointed.The rooms are all decorated to a high standard. If I ever required anything extra it was given with a smile! It is located in a fabulous area which is perfect for Centraal Station and exploring Amsterdam. The two lads are extremely helpful !!!


Charming B&B

4.4 on May 19, 2008

Wimmo and Godwin were exceptionally welcoming and informative. They gave us valuable advice in planning our stay - when to go, what to see, etc. Baangay is superbly located for easy access to trains and sight seeing. Our breakfasts were superb.


Excellent Place To Stay.

4.2 on May 19, 2008

3 Mates and myself (aged 21-22) stayed at the Barangay for 5 nights and it was an excellent place to stay. We were always made to feel welcome during our stay and nothing was too much trouble for our excellent hosts. They gave us excellent information about Amsterdam, where to go and what to see. The location is brilliant and it is within walking distance or the majority of attractions in amsterdam. I would recommend it to anyone. A big thank you to God, Wimmo and Ron.


Lovely little gem of a place

5 on May 19, 2008

We stayed her for 4 nights if Feb 2008. The B&B is very close to everything, just a short stroll from the station. We got a warm welcome where Wimmo gave us information about amsterdam etc. Rooms are lovely with a little outside garden you can sit in, breakfast was wondeful and is brought to your room. I cannot fault this place and would without a doubt stay here again when return to amsterdam!! Thanks for a lovely stay!!!!


"The best ever"

5 on May 18, 2008

An excellent B&B!!i Immaculately presented with tasteful comfortable decor. A wonderfully friendly,helpful and prompt service! Delicious food. Absolutely hassle free.The highest reccomendation.


You will love the location and hospitality!

4.0 on May 16, 2008

Ourselves and another couple were in Amsterdam on May 4 and 5, 2008. We had booked the south room (downstairs) and the bel-studio (main floor) which are located next door to the main B and B. The accommodation was great, very clean, the beds very comfortable. The Bel-studio is particularly wonderful as it has a full kitchen, lots of windows with lots of light. This B and B is right by central station, downtown Amsterdam, and you can walk everywhere. There are great bakeries and shops right around the corner so having the kitchen facility was great in the bel-studio. We occupied the bottom room but since we were with friends, who occupied the bel-studio, we shared the kitchen. The south room downstairs has an exceptional huge bathtub which was a real treat, as well as a shower of course. We met Ron when checking in, who is an employee of the B and B, and he was very helpful and had us sit down to give us an orientation of Amsterdam since we had never been there before. Our last day we met the two owners and they went out of their way to help us out getting a taxi and looking after us checking out. We did not take advantage of the breakfast, as it was not included with our rooms, but the breakfast room is located on the second floor of the B and B and it was very clean and I imagine the breakfasts would be great. There is also a computer on that floor for guests to use which was great. The night before we checked out we opened up our laptop computer and realized that we were receiving wireless internet from the second floor of the B and B, not the south room as that was too far away. All in all I cannot say anything negative about our stay at B and B. Barangay. Good location, clean accomodation, and wonderful hosts. Keep up the good work, guys.


Just perfect

3.6 on May 16, 2008

A perfect place to stay away from home.


Fab location, hotel & owners

4.6 on May 16, 2008

Barangay Hotel is in an excellent position in what I now consider to be the best and most attractive area of Amsterdam called Jordaan. The hotel is also just a few minutes walk from the main railway station. The owners Wimmo & God are very kind, humorous, considerate, professional, well organised and helpful. We followed their advice about where to visit in the local area and where to eat in the evenings and the advice helped a lot to make our 3-day trip a great success. The tropical style double room on the top floor was a dream, the décor original and the separate bathroom was immaculate. All in all this is a lovely hotel with owners who genuinely care about their guests and who go out of their way to make their stay as pleasant as possible. It is not cheap but in our opinion it is as all about “value for money” and not price and the hotel does give good value for money. For sure we will stay again next time we are in Amsterdam and we will book early as I would expect the hotel to be fully booked as I’m sure that other guests enjoy it as much as we did! Look no further hotel hunters… just stay here!


Welcoming B&B in a prime location

4.6 on May 16, 2008

Barangay B&B is only a few short minutes from the central train station. The directions from the website were excellent; as newbies to the city, we had absolutely no trouble finding the B&B. Upon arriving, my boyfriend and I were happily surprised to get a thorough run-down of the city and surrounding areas by Wimmo. The information he provided us about restaurants, sights, tourist areas etc was invaluable. Our room was lovely and the pictures on the website reflect their true nature. Our room had an individual lock and a tropical patio we shared with an adjacent room for all of your smoking needs! By far the most impressive part of the trip was the breakfasts. They were absolutely delicious. We looked forward to seeing what each new breakfast would entail (crepes, omelete, french toast were the mains). The location of the B&B is close to the red light district and Anne Frank house - the Jordaan is an enchanting area, with canals and unique shops sprinkled throughout. The only qualms I can stress about our stay are the following: (1) as stated on their website, it may be better to stay in the upper rooms if you are allergic to cats. My boyfriend has slight allergies and it did not help when the cat ran into our room in the morning when he opened the door to use the toilet in the hallway (you have your own private toilet). (2) As soon as the B&B owners get up around 8am to make breakfast, it could be heard overwhelmingly in our room. The talking throughout the morning came through loud and clear to our sleeping ears, even with the door and window shut. The time and energy that Godwin & Wimmo put into their B&B shows - they are thorough and welcoming and I would certainly stay here again on our next visit through Amsterdam!


excellent b&b

4.6 on May 15, 2008

we had 2 lovely nights and were made very welcome, a great place to stay for visiting the centre of amsterdam.


Great Hosts and a convenient location

3.8 on May 15, 2008

A quiet, welcoming refuge hidden in the hustle-bustle of Amsterdam - just a couple steps from delightful (non-touristy) shops on Harlemmerstraat. Hosts Wilmo and Godwin are most accommodating and do their best to assure that you enjoy your stay. The breakfast in bed in the Tropical Rooms is pure luxury!


Excellent, cosy and welcoming...but not cheap.

4.4 on May 15, 2008

Very welcoming and perhaps one of the best B&B I have ever been in Europe. Definitely much better than any supposedly high standing hotel. Rooms are amazing and you really feel as if you were at home. Moreover, it is very well situated with regard to the station, to the shops and to Amsterdam's most interesting spots. However, quite expensive.


A must stay next time your in the Dam

5 on May 15, 2008

I stayed at Barangay in Jan 08 after being recommended by a friend. It was easy to find near to the central train station and only a short walk from all the main attractions. The rooms were nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. We also had a private bathroom and patio. The service was impecable and the breakfast was worth waking up for every morning. I definatly recommend staying here the next time you are in Amsterdam.


Supa cool

4.0 on May 15, 2008

Super séjour au Barangay, the tropical boys, wimmo & godxxx ++ the tropical cats, flip & go ont rendu notre séjour nikel. Continuez enjoy take care !


Great Location

3.6 on May 14, 2008

We were 3 poeple in their studio and it was perfect. The location is even better. Located in a quiet street but still only 5 minutes from the train station.


Barangay B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 79 - € 149
  • Reviews (150) 4.4
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 31-625045432
  • Fax 31-207706299

Visit Website »

View details

Top