Recent Reviews in Negril, Jamaica

Birthday Meal Celebration at Elaine's Chateau at Elaines' Chateau (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.6 reviewed on June 26, 2016

My fiance and I were on holiday. Before we left England I had looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor to try to find a nice restaurant in the area where we could go for a meal on my fiance's birthday. I came across Elaine's Chateau and really couldn't find any negative reviews, which is rare, so decided to give it a try. Whilst it is quite a way up, and we were driving in the dark, we did persevere, and eventually found the entrance to the Chateau (and I'm so happy we didn't give up!) We had the restaurant to ourselves and we were greeted by the lovely Amoy. She was attentive, pleasant, informative about the surrounding wildlife and vegetation, and she did it all with a beautiful smile! I happened to mention that it was my fiance's birthday, and after our meal Amoy, the proprietor, Elaine, and the chef Keneil?) All arrived at our table and sang happy birthday to him which was really sweet of them. It really was a pleasure to find staff so happy and clearly taking a lot of pride in their work. We had a wonderful meal and then Elaine showed us around the rest of the Chateau including the rooms which were all lovely, but particularly the master room which has patio doors opening out onto a decked area and swimming pool. The location of the Chateau is excellent, the ambience first class (funnily enough the background music being played was all British Lover's Rock) which took me right back to my youth and really made me feel "at home". All in all we had a fantastic evening there and it was our intention to re-visit during the daytime to take advantage of the stunning views, however alas, due to time constraints we were unable to fit another visit in. We will however definitely be visiting the Chateau and it's wonderful staff in the future. Even as I'm typing this review I'm so sad to have left behind the beautiful island of Jamaica, and would highly recommend Elaine's Chateau for a visit. It truly is a "hidden gem"

View more reviews for this inn


Lots of opportunity to rest and relax at Westender Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

3.2 reviewed on May 29, 2016

The dogs roamed around but they did not bother you, they did not approach you and the stayed out of the dining area. It was nice to have a fridge so you can store fruit and left over food.

View more reviews for this inn


A taste of Eden, Mon at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.6 reviewed on May 20, 2016

I've traveled to many parts of the world and would rate my stay at zimbali as the best . Incredible! I can't wait to go back. Mark and Alicia and staff treat you as family. The activities...if you choose, are a genuine taste of Jamaica. The food is outstanding and they'll even show you how to prepare it. If you want a swim up bar at the pool, book at a Sandals generic resort hotel but if you want the real deal and the most relaxing vacation ever, Zimbali retreat is for you!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved this place!!! at Katamah (Treasure Beach, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2016

Everything about this place is great! From the airport pick up to the beautiful rooms & gorgeous yard- falling asleep to the sound of waves & waking up to the sounds of birds this !! Have the driver stop on the way and pick up snacks & coffee (he'll ask) there is a common kitchen on the Ocean that's just lovely, there's wifi, you can mingle with the other guests Or just lay in one the hammocks by the Sea. Also the boat trip to the Pelican Bar a must. ¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Unprofessional at Katamah (Treasure Beach, Jamaica)

1.4 reviewed on March 22, 2016

The owner of Katamah is horrible at communicating especially since she conducts her business online.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Elaines' Chateau (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.8 reviewed on January 07, 2016

The views at the chateau are killer! Surrounded by amazingly lush vegetation, there is just no way to grow tired of this western view of the beautiful Caribbean sea, whether dining in the restaurant, chilling by the pool or from the room's patio. The room we stayed in was larger than a typical hotel room, which allowed us to get truly comfortable over our month long stay. It also included robes and an extra room to store our luggage and other work related stuff out of sight. Ideal for a family of 3 or long-term visits. Eleanor and her staff, Amoy and Keneil, provided above and beyond service. Our meals were always made to order and mostly requested from the day before. We ate fruit everyday, mostly picked right from the trees on the property. No stone was left unturned when ensuring our stay was comfortable and smooth, including the fruit and pastry treats we received whenever we went on our road trips. The pool was maintained early in the am so we could get in our laps before the day began and the grounds were kept immaculate throughout the day. I would definitely recommend the chateau to visitors to the West Coast of Jamaica, especially long-term travelers. White House is a quaint fishing village in the area of Blue Fields with all of the necessary amenities to feel like home. Lots to explore and many rivers and secluded beaches to chill on, once you find them. Highly recommend this spot!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovin' the vibes!! at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.4 reviewed on November 30, 2015

ZImbali is awesome. I honestly cant say anything bad about it, loved everyone. Love food, people,and relaxed vibe of the place.

View more reviews for this inn


Missed the Mark at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

3.0 reviewed on November 19, 2015

The best part of our four day stay was the food. Mark and Alicia, the owners, personalities ran hot & cold. There is not a lot of communication about the activities nor what to expect when you do an activity. In my opinion, they have some work to do if they want to remain in business.

View more reviews for this inn


This place is my heaven on earth at Coral Cove Beach Resort & Spa (Little Bay, Jamaica, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2015

I have been to The Cove twice - visits being 9 years apart. Each time I was treated with love and care and welcomed with open arms. Many of the staff were the same and remembered me which was an incredible feeling. The food, flowers, rooms, attention to detail and people of Coral Cove are what make the place. IF you are a high-end person who needs perfection and can't stand a bug or bat flying by once in a while this place is not for you. This IS Jamaica. But Donald, Yeng, Eddie, Keisha, Indiana, Anne, Bunny and all the others will work their tails off to make your stay wonderful. I will tell you that as a VERY high strung, high stress person, I come to the Cove and all my woes and cares are gone. I smile ALL the time until the tears come when I have to say goodbye. This is heaven on earth.

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we needed! at Coral Cove Beach Resort & Spa (Little Bay, Jamaica, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2015

The resort was beautiful and very well maintained, For variety we stayed in two rooms during our 7 nights, the Hibiscus and the Night Jasmine. My husband preferred the Hibiscus and I preferred the Night Jasmine they were both great! The staff was very attentive and went well beyond any expectations we may have had. Housekeeping and front desk were always checking us for needs or requests. The bartenders Donald and Yeng kept our needs taken care of as well as filling us in on the history of their part of the island, and gave us insight into the Jamaican culture. They were both great! The ladies in the kitchen turned out incredible meals. The breakfasts were a combination of Jamaican and American offerings, they would cook to order or you could let them surprise you, we opted for the surprise and were happy we did. After the breakfasts we would get either a light lunch from the grill or just eat some fresh baked cookies and a fruit smoothy and hold off until dinner. Dinners were all 4 course and prepared fresh. Don't necessarily expect to go to dinner at 7:00 and be served promptly, you might wait 30 minutes but it is worth the wait..(Jamaican Time) Besides Donald or Yeng will be taking care of you. Our favorite place to eat is at the oceans edge just outside the bar on the cliff. During our stay Captain Georgie took us on a fishing trip where we caught a nice tuna as well as a tour of the old smuggling caves along the coast. Mr Davis took us on some day trips (Appleton Rum Factory, Shopping in Negril, and YS Falls) The day trips were nice and it was good to check out Negril, but we discovered that where we really wanted to be was floating in the water at Coral Cove and visiting with our new friends. We will return once again.. sooner not later:) B&J H

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2015

My husband and I LOVED staying at Zimbali. The hosts were amazingly friendly and warm, the massage was fantastic and the chefs were both fantastic. I am 5 months pregnant and just got back from the trip where everyone treated us like family and was so excited for our new baby. I highly recommend this place but hope that people know that this is not a resort and is very much in the mountains. It is an experience that is unique but not for everyone i.e. you have to be ok with no AC or TV etc.

View more reviews for this inn


Mountain Retreat at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.0 reviewed on April 14, 2015

Great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They really make you feel like family.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome end to our vacation at Seastar Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2015

Spent the last 2 nights of our vacation here. What a great relaxing way to end it. The staff was super friendly. Had great food, cocktails and a terrific Saturday night show. Beautiful gardens and a swim up bar. Will definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Refreshing at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on February 27, 2015

The overall experience exceeded our expectations. It was clean, cozy, the saff was extremly friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Change in the Wind at Westender Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

3.6 reviewed on February 21, 2015

My wife and I just spent five wonderful days at the Westender Inn. We've been coming to the Westender for the past six years, and, unless something radical happens, intend to continue coming. In fact, we're considering renting one of the cabins on the back side of the property long term in a few years. One of the things, probably the most important thing, that's continued to bring us back is the staff. The location is unsurpassed, but in any service industry, it's the staff that makes or breaks the experience. There have been a number of staff changes lately, and I'm not sure they bode well for the Westender. Many of the "old timers" - the staff that made the Westender such a joy to visit - are no longer there. Perhaps the newcomers haven't adapted the "Westender ethos" or mindset, but some of them aren't as helpful and gracious as some of the previous staff members. We had a few minor issues, and rather than trying to figure out what could be done to fix them, we got a bit of the "we can't do that" or "can't you do without" attitude. Those old timers that remain were wonderful to see again - I hope they never leave, but in the face of the changes, there seems to be an underlying current of tension and unease among the staff. None of this will prevent us from returning next year - the Westender is simply one of the best places to stay in the Negril area. One observation - the Westender is only a handful of steps away from being a world class destination. The kitchen, in particular, needs a lot of work with the menu and preparation.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hotel. at Westender Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

4.8 reviewed on February 19, 2015

Even though I stayed only 1 night for valentine's day... I thought this hotel was amazing... rooms were really confortable and clean, it has great amenities and it is really quiet, perfect for a romantic getaway... My suggestion, improve service for people on the beach as restaurant and bar is across the street, it will be great to have a waiter or somebody bringing drinks.. other than that simply amazing, will come back for sure

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Amazing at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.6 reviewed on February 13, 2015

The farm tour with Clifford, fabulous meals by O.J. and Chris, Rasta tour with Fire, fresh juices and meals served by Cynthia, "Shorty", and everyone else - it was all amazing! The staff here really engage everyone staying at Zimbali, to the point where everyone is dancing together after dinner, smiles and laughter is in abundance, and you wake up in the morning with a slight ache in your side from laughing so much. We met and made new friends here from all over, and toasted our last meal together cheering "same time next year!" We came to Jamaica this time (not our first) with the intent to see more of "real Jamaica" - thanks all at Zimbali for completely exceeding our expectations and welcoming us into the family.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome experience at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.8 reviewed on February 02, 2015

Beautiful property with an amazing staff. Food was outstanding. They provided us delicious vegan meals as we requested. The offered tours were equally impressive. I would and will highly recommend to everyone headed to Jamaica and will absolutely stay there again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning at Tingalaya's Retreat (Negril, Jamaica)

4.2 reviewed on January 29, 2015

Bright, refreshing and peaceful environment was so relaxing. The stunning sea view was so enchanting it triggers the moment of romance. The hospitality was sincere and genuine with a friendly but professional touch. I thoroughly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast in the morning I just couldn't get enough of it.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful experience at Seastar Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2015

We had an amazing time at the Sea Star. Everyone is so friendly, from the moment of arrival. The GM, Okema, went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She even offered to scent my room with the night Jasmine I admired. Kirk, Ill call him the ambassador, as he was always there for our every need. Everyone on the staff knew us by name, and service was exceptional (thanks to Barbara, Carole, Shippy). Some of the best food we had all week, the kitchen was exceptional. A pleasant surprise was the live music, poolside and the Sat night Buffet and Reggae party. I will certainly return, Lisa

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful remote experience at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.6 reviewed on December 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Zimbali. WOW!!!! The location is remote and absolutely beautiful. The property is setup very well. One has to remember this is a remote location in the mountains of Westmoreland parish, and the ability to build, run, and maintain this small, beautiful eco-resort amazes me. The owners and staff were always helpful and great people. The dining is out of this world. There is not one negative thing that I can say about Zimbali. We already plan to return and extend our stay to 5 or 7 days on our next visit. Respect to everyone at Zimbali.

View more reviews for this inn


Diamond in the Rough at Westender Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

4.4 reviewed on December 10, 2014

I stayed at Westender Inn in Nov 2014 in Room 16. It is definitely off of the beaten path but I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in Negril. It is not in walking distance of any places but the accommodations and the comfort that I felt while staying there was definitely worth the distance. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed just relaxing in the hammock looking out onto the ocean. I felt safe and at night there was security which eased my mind of any doubts that might have entered it. Overall it was a very relaxing and peaceful stay. I definitely felt at home at Westender Inn. I did not dine at Westender Inn, hence the dining score. They did have a menu in the room for their restaurant but if I can assume, I would assume that the restaurant would satisfy my expectations as the Inn has.

View more reviews for this inn


Your Year Round Tropical Home Away from Home at Seastar Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

4.4 reviewed on November 28, 2014

Hi, if you want clean, fresh, beautiful accomodations, Safety & friendly helpful staff & never a boring day. Then stay at Seastar Resort, Also, the price is Great. Ron T. Chicago

View more reviews for this inn


Zimbali at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2014

Zimbali is an exotic outpost tucked away in the Canaan Mountains. It has a wonderful atmosphere , everyone was helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and the service exceptional. My sister and I had a fantastic week and can't wait to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Seastar Inn - FABULOSITY at Seastar Inn (Negril, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

I have stayed at this property now for the last eight (8) years and I haven't ever been disappointed. Once you go, the Staff becomes familiar with you and each time you return they know your name and they treat you like family not a guest! The owners, Chris and his wife, Francine are to be commended.

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to relax! at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.0 reviewed on October 04, 2014

We spent five nights at Zimbali to celebrate our honeymoon, and it was a wonderful experience--exactly what we were looking for. The staff are very responsive to guest preferences and desires, and the facility is neat and clean despite also being a working farm. We also learned a lot about Jamaica, its delicious food, and its wonderful people in the process.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique Jamaican Getaway at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2014

Zimbali retreat was quite the culinary experience and much different than most places you think of when you think about Jamaica! The staff was incredible and the food was out of this world. Truly a very special place and I will be returning sooner rather than later!

View more reviews for this inn


Serious Disappointment at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

2.0 reviewed on September 11, 2014

Booked a two night stay after reading dozens of fantastic reviews. Nice lodging accommodations but there was a power cut which meant a cold water shower, and dinner by candlelight. I had purposely come for the dinner tour and African drummers both of which didn't happen because despite it being my birthday I was the only guest. I hadn't been made previously aware that without other guests there wouldn't be any drummers. The food was bland and flavourless, I expected much better. One chef, Shayna I think - a female - cooked great! The food on the rasta tour was actually the most seasoned despite being cooked out in the open. Fire walks really quickly, said he'd help me on the way down because I was scared but he rushed off ahead of me and I actually couldn't see him behind the bend of trees. I barely saved myself from faling because the trail becomes slippery and is very steep. I paid a lot of money and don't have anything to show for it, I would rather have stayed in a hostel and had a much better experience. Wayne was professional, can't say the same for some of the other men, who were too friendly! I appreciate that the power cut was outside of their control, but they could have made a better effort to ensure the cooking tour still commenced since the stove was a gas burner, and I should have been informed prior to booking there was no guarantee of the African drummers. The fruits were nice, all organic.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience...book your trip now at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

4.4 reviewed on August 22, 2014

If you want a unique experience...go with Zimbali. The people, property and food were all outstanding!!! You need to experience it for yourself. Its a must do!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Resort in Jamaica! at Zimbali Retreats (Westmoreland, Jamaica)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2014

My girlfriend and I found this on LinvingSocial and was very surprised by the price. Upon our arrival we did not know what to expect. As the days went on we were overwhelmed with the amount of service and the peace of mind that Zimbali staff place you in. You are truly relaxed. You really feel like you are IN Jamaica and not just on a island with all the American resorts. Truly a life altering experience to have been there. When visiting I will only go to Zambali, it's well worth every dime!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}