Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
121 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved the stay

4.8 on July 31, 2014

We stayed in a barn! The rustic decor made the barn so comfortable. We had peach enchiladas for breakfast and they were wonderful. We will go back!


Awesome Family Spot!

5 on July 29, 2014

We rented the whole house for an extended family get together and had the best time!! The grounds are beautiful and our 5 young grand kids had a great time outside as did the adults. We especially enjoyed the wraparound porch where we ended up eating all of our meals. Jeanna was very accommodating! Definitely would return!!


A Room with a View

5 on July 02, 2014

We had planned on staying only one night at Whispering Pines, but we liked it so much we decided to spend a second night there. We stayed in two different rooms (Traveler's and the Barn), so we had a taste of two totally different accommodations. We enjoyed both very much! Jeanna was quite helpful in answering our questions about the area and giving us ideas of places to visit and things to do. We loved the spacious grounds, lovely trees, and the proximity of Whispering Pines to places of interest in the area. It is a relaxing and peaceful place to stay. I felt pampered and comfortable there.


Fabulous stay in gorgeous accommodation

5 on June 24, 2014

This is just an amazing place to visit. Our hostess Jeanna went to great trouble to make sure our stay was perfect. Each item of furniture or decoration has a story behind it and Jeanna has collected things from all over the world. Breakfast was fabulous and we ate outside on the porch watching the hummingbirds. The grounds and gardens are very pretty and well taken care of. The rooms are wonderful and filed with incredible treasures, even the internet connection was excellent. Hope to return again soon.


Wonderful surprise in Nebraska City, NE

5 on May 30, 2014

We stayed at Whispering Pines B&B for 4 nights, when we came to Nebraska City for my husband's 50th high school reunion. Jeanna, the inn keeper, is so friendly and makes you feel very comfortable and welcome. She cooks delicious, mouth watering breakfast every morning, using her own recipes. Every time we returned after sightseeing or reunion events, she greeted us and offered a cold drink. Home made cookies were always available. We stayed in the Rose room. The decor was Victorian, but very comfortable. We had our own private bath. The grounds are spacious and beautiful. Coming from Arizona, it was a real treat to have grass, flowers, ponds and trees. We sat on the large porch a couple of afternoons between other activities. There is a spa on the deck also. The experience was wonderful and would definitely stay there again if we get back to Nebraska City. We have already recommended it to my husband's sister when she attends her reunion next year.


A great place to stay for business travel

5 on May 18, 2014

Well within the lodging and M&IE rate for US government travel. Comfortable space for work. Great internet speed and connectivity. Very relaxing, much better than staying in a chain hotel.


A Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 07, 2014

A lovely home, a gracious hostess, delicious food, a beautiful setting - what's not to like about a stay at Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast!


Romantic Getawy

5 on January 27, 2014

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast, and it was perfect! The whole experience was fun and romatic, as we were celebrating our 15 year anniversary. Loved the food, the room, the decor and the view. We cant wait to return and bring the kids next time, and adventure Nebraska City. Paul & Victoria of Omaha


Gary and Jeannie Tow

5 on October 21, 2013

Excellent in all aspects. We live close so we'll be back again and again. Thanks jeanna.


Wonderful Whispering Pines!

4.8 on September 01, 2013

Our first time staying in a bed and breakfast, and we were very impressed. The food was scrumptious, rooms clean, great conversation, and a beautiful setting. Enjoyed the view of the acreage with the 200 year old oak tree, the neat waterfall, and yard. It would be a perfect retreat in the fall when the leaves are changing. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Lorin & Dorothy


Charming!

4.4 on August 19, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this quaint and charming establishment. Jeanna was so welcoming, knowledgable and a delightful hostess. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts on the porch as the view of the 200 year old Burr Oak tree and gardens was so relaxing. We would definitely stay here again!


Mother, Daughter Retreat

4.2 on August 17, 2013

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and I have to say, I will struggle to ever stay in a hotel/motel again! This was the perfect choice for the surprise "stay" I had planned for my mother. Our hostess was exceptional and made the experience comfortable as well as memorable. Our accommodations were in a barn about 100 yards from the main house. The decor was what I would describe as "rustic farm" which made it unique as well as fun, and yet it had all of the "creature comforts" you could want to make the stay pleasurable. Our family grew up enjoying many years of camping, so when the innkeeper offered up an outdoor fire with a couples of roasting sticks and a s'mores package, I knew this was the perfect place for us. The home as well as the barn we stayed in was on a beautifully landscaped yard and was great for picture taking and relaxing. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast served on antique china out on the wrap around porch listening to the birds sing and watching the sun rise over the barn, shine through the 200 year old trees and set the perfect stage for kicking off the next leg of our travel plans. I have to say this unique 130 year old home and our hostess Jeanna, was what made the experience unforgettable! Can't wait to go again!


Quiet Time Away

4.6 on July 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Whispering Pines. We live in the city and were looking for a quiet get away. We found it at Whispering Pines. We spent much time reading and relaxing on the wonderful porch at the main house. Jeanna does a wonderful job attending to so many details that make the stay enjoyable - from cookies and tea or lemonade upon arrival to spa robes in the rooms. The food was outstanding and we were able to enjoy a breakfast on the covered porch on our last morning. We hope to return!


Traveler's Room

4.2 on June 05, 2013

I recommend the Traveler's Room. Very unique decor with a modern feel. The room is also very spacious and comfortable. There is cable in the room which is nice as some B&Bs do not have TVs or cable in the room. The grounds are also spacious and beautiful. It was nice to lay in the hammock and sit on the porch while watching several birds. There is a hot tub outside too. The gourmet breakfast was very good. Jeanna will ask you prior to your arrival if you have any dietary restrictions or special requests. Thank you Jeanna for a wonderful stay.


Return business

5 on May 20, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed our 7th stay with Jeanna last weekend. We usually stay in the barn and with the bathroom remodel complete it was outstanding. Jeanna is a great hostess and we consider her a friend. You will not find a better breakfast anywhere. With our stays and our referrals we have earned a free nights stay which is awesome. Thank you once again Jeanna for making our stay feel like home.


weekend get away

5 on April 27, 2013

What a quiet, romantic, comfortable place. With no plans set in place, just a time to relax, we had a wonderful first experience at Whispering Pines. Jeanna, your gift of hospitality is exceptional! You are doing awesome to follow your dreams and serve others. thank you for such a beautiful retreat!


Stayed in The "Rose" room and The "Victoria"

4.8 on April 18, 2013

I set up a surprise weekend for my husband at Whispering Pines. I got to stay in the Rose room the first night. It was a very beautiful, comfortable, well lit, and romantic. I had also arranged for the Celebration package to be in our room, which included cheese and wine. It was a great night. The following night, we spent in the Victoria, which is now my personal favorite. It has a private entrance that is right next to the outside dining area. We had a relaxing time in the outside hot tub as well. Jeanna, the innkeeper was great and so was her cooking and hospitality. It was also nice being able to eat breakfast outside and have conversations with other guests. It was a great atmosphere our entire stay. I would definitely recommend staying here in any room.


mini-break

4.8 on March 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a fairly last minute reservation for our anniversary weekend. We don't live far, but Whispering Pines made us feel like we "got away from it all". By far- best place to eat in Nebraska City. Gourmet meals and personal service. Loved the hot tub and fire pit. We will be back. Stayed in The Barn, liked the privacy.


"Mini-Moon"

4.8 on November 04, 2012

We spent a quick nite there after our wedding the day before. Great room, food, & hospitality! Very relaxing & Jeanna was very friendly & helpful with giving advice on places to visit. Bob & Marcy


Fall Getaway

5 on October 22, 2012

Really nice! Great facilities and service. Enjoyed our stay, and won't hesitate to stay again. Excellent breakfast and opportunity to visit with the other guests. Well worth it! Thanks, Chris & Jim


Early Anniversary gift

4.2 on October 08, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Whispering Pines. The Travellers room, was very comfortable. It had just turned cold this weekend, so we were glad to be able to control the heat in our room. Each breakfast was a feast all it's own. Jeanna is a great baker and cook, as well as hostess. We hope to make this an annual stay! Thanks Jeanna.


Great Getaway - Convenient

5 on October 08, 2012

What a great way to take a quick getaway from the daily grind. Jeanna is a great host and great cook. Accommodations are clean and inviting and make the visit enjoyable. Will recommend highly and come back. Glenn & Cathy - Omaha


Girls Weekend Getaway was Wonderful thanks to Jeanna at Whispering Pines B & B. Enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, wonderful hostess with great food and music to enjoy!

5 on October 01, 2012

Loved the relaxing atmosphere.


Elegant and Artistic With a Relaxed Folky Feel

5 on September 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Jeanna when we were traveling through from Seattle. Whispering Pines is a beautiful historic home tucked away amongst a lovely garden scape. Jeanna is artistic and fun and combines elegance and style with a relaxed demeanor that makes you feel at ease and at home from the moment you walk in the door. And having lived in Austin, TX, she brings her love of music to Nebraska City, hosting acoustic concerts in the living room once a month! Definitely recommended, and a stay we would love to repeat!


Charming setting

4.4 on September 24, 2012

My stay at the Whispering Pines B&B was quite pleasant. The environment is restful and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast was above and beyond what I expected and that morning our hostess had excellent suggestions about what to do and where to spend time in town. I highly recommend it.


Lovely and Relaxing

4.0 on September 22, 2012

The owner is friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. She was fine with us bringing in some friends (who were not even staying at her B&B) to join us for a glass of wine in her living room before we went out for the evening....you bring the wine and she provides the glasses, corkscrew and atmosphere. In the morning, we dined on her lovely, big porch, where hummingbirds flitted at the feeder five feet away from us. Breakfast was excellent. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room, the basement room (Victoria's) is fairly small and dark -- not the best place for socializing. However, the lovely front porch and large living areas are fine for sitting and talking, playing board games, watching TV or however you like to relax.


Highly recommend

5 on September 10, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Whispering Pines in the Victorian suite. We had a great time relaxing in the hot tub and enjoying the beautiful garden. The food was fantastic too. All around great B&B!


25th wedding anniversary stay

4.8 on September 10, 2012

would not change a thing..we were so relaxed after our stay, cant wait to go back!!


Wonderful, peaceful B & B

5 on August 02, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 day stay at Whispering Pines the end of July 2012. The house is beaufitul and our room VERY comfortable. Jeanna is an outstanding hostess and provided 2 wonderful breakfasts! This is a very quiet and peaceful place to stay and is situated on beautiful grounds. There are many things to do and see in Nebraska City. We would recommend this B & B to anyone.


Anniversary gift from our children

5 on August 01, 2012

Our children paid for us to stay at the Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast and to play golf the next day at Wildwood Golf Course. The house and grounds are absolutely beautiful. Jeanna makes you feel very welcome and comfortable, and really cares about the people who stay at her place. I loved how turn key everything was for us with staying at the bed and breakfast and playing golf the next day. Thanks Jeanna for making our anniversary stay a memorable event we won't forget. Tim and Shirley Hunt


July 20 - 22

5 on July 24, 2012

Had a wonderful relaxing weekend staying in the Little Red Barn. Jeanna was very pleasant and took extra measures to make sure my husband had the type of breakfast he was accustom to. Nebraska City offers many things to see and do and Whispering Pines was a prefect setting for a quite weekend.


Fun & Relaxing Birthday Weekend Celebration Get Away!

5 on July 06, 2012

The room was great. The food was amazing. I loved relaxing in the hammock, enjoying a cup of coffee in the hot tub and touring around the local historical venues.


Business Trip

5 on June 19, 2012

This is my second time to stay at Whispering Pines and nothing has changed - same great service, hospitality and quiet evenings that I desire when I travel - great place to unwind


Relaxing Anniversary

5 on June 11, 2012

We had a wonderful two day stay at Whispering Pines for our anniversary. Rooms were tasteful and met our every need. we stayed in the Traveler. Love the robes. However, I could have just stayed in the hammock and listened to the waterfall. Food was outstanding! Just stay and eat there. Jeanne is so friendly and jusy a great inkeeper. We will be back!


A romantic getaway

5 on May 30, 2012

We stayed on 5/4/12. Very beautiful residence, warm and friendly hostess, delicious breakfast. We had a relaxing (though quick!) stay and enjoyed the hot tub and breakfast enormously. We stayed in the Rose Room and the bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. Jeanna has absolutely thought of everything, from warm cookies in the parlor, bottles of water in the room, hooks for your robe and towel on the deck next to the hot tub, and even a birdwatching book and binoculars on the porch!! It was a wonderful place and we can't wait for next time -- we will definitely stay again! -- Aaron and Jennifer Wagner


Great B & B and great Inn Keeper

4.8 on May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Whispering Pines and it was one of the best experiences we've both had at any place we've ever stayed. Jeanna was a very personable and caring hostess. We would definitely stay there again!


2nd time viist

5 on May 23, 2012

My son lives in Omaha and I am from a country setting in western PA. This was the closest home away from home place that I have been to when visiting out West. My son and his wife found this B&B while living in downtown Omaha. After hesitation my husband reluctantly stayed for the first time then wanted to go a second time. Jeanna makes you feel at home and is an excellent chef. If you have never had a chance to sit on a back porch and just listen and watch and have conversation , you are missing a wonderful experience.


First year anniversary, third stay

4.8 on May 03, 2012

For our anniversary, we returned to WP BnB. Our first stay was on our wedding night and the second time was during the end of our honeymoon on our return home. Every time service has been exceedingly good with an awesome, accomodating host. I recommend it to anyone who love old-fashioned houses with original woodwork, the quiet of the small city, a winery nearby, and wine in a hottub looking at the stars to end the evening. Breakfast is always delicious.


Gracious, restful, and very homely

4.0 on May 01, 2012

Whispering Pines is both gracious, restful, and very homely. Jeanna is the perfect hostess: relaxed but hyper competent, a great cook, and always ready to point out all the local places of interest. On weeknights she features local and touring musicians in an informal house concert setting. I would go a very long way out of my route to stay at Whispering Pines again. RUPERT, NEW YORK CITY


A Fantastic Easter....

5 on April 21, 2012

My hubby and I spent two nights in the downstairs Arbor Room. The room was very nice and comfortable. It had a king size bed along with a day bed for additional guests if necessary. My husband is finishing up his college degree so he had his laptop computer with him. The room had a nice size desk in it so he could work on his homework during our stay. There was also a very nice flat screen TV and a cozy electric fireplace in the room. The fireplace can run with or without heat which is very nice so it can be used year round. The grounds were beautiful since everything has been blooming ahead of schedule this year. The lilacs were stunning and smelled incredible! An addition was added on to the B & B 's deck some months back so we got to sit out and enjoy the stars in the beautiful weather. It was nice getting to relax in the hot tub too. We ordered dinner from Parker's Smokehouse one night and El Portal Mexican Restaurant the other night. These are two of our favorite restaurants in town. We just couldn't pass up eating our meals at the B & B since the weather was so nice. Whispering Pines is a very nice and relaxing place and Jeanna is an amazing hostess. Her breakfasts were delicious as usual! We will definitely be back again sometime soon.


Romatic weekend away

5 on April 17, 2012

Whispering Pines B&B is absolutely wonderful. Rooms are clean and kept up well. It is cozy and quiet location. Jenna is a wonderful cook and serves excellent breakfast. Jenna is also very helpful in helping my husband to have flowers and candies awaiting for our arival. We can't wait to go again soon.


Making this an annual anniversary tradition...

4.0 on April 16, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time during our stay at Whispering Pines! It was exactly the environment we were looking for for our anniversary weekend. Quiet, cozy, comfortable, and close to enough to 'things to do' to keep us busy for a couple days. Wish we could have stayed one more night. Jeanna is a wonderful cook and we so enjoyed our breakfasts!! We were lucky enough to have other warm and welcome guests to share our mornings with just talking. It was really nice. We sat out on the covered porch one morning before we ate just enjoying the view of the backyard. Our room was comfortable and relaxing (Rose). We perused through the Victorian magazines and it was a great environment to enjoy each others company. As being a bed and breakfast the upstairs rooms are across the hall and there was adequate privacy for us, but we were looking for R&R not romance that particular weekend, so something to keep in mind. We did not partake in the hot tub but wish we had more time to sit and relax some more. The bath robes made it easy to go downstairs and grab coffee in the morning without getting dressed. Guests came and went as they wished. It was a very comfortable environment. We have decided to make visiting Whispering Pines each year for our anniversary a tradition and I look forward to next year already. Thanks for a wonderful weekend Jeanna!! Mr. & Mrs. T Lincoln, NE


Treasure hidden in southern Nebraska

5 on March 26, 2012

This was the best vacation I have ever had. It was quiet, clean and peaceful. We came to have relaxation and time together and it was a success. The room's decor was a beautiful scene in itself and the view from the front porch was one that you wish to capture and take home with you. The food was unique and delicious! We will be returning here again for sure!


Romantic Weekend Getaway

5 on March 08, 2012

Whispering Pines provided the perfect anniversary getaway. Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfasts, and a hostess who not only provided a gracious welcome, but was more than happy to play concierge and help us decide what local attractions we wanted to take in and to make reservations where needed. We can't wait to go again. (One hint - most of the local attractions are not open until late April early May...still found lots to do, but may want to take this into consideration when planning a trip.)


Great food, nice place, charming innkeeper!

4.0 on March 05, 2012

We were received a night at Whispering Pines for Christmas this year from our daughter. It's only the second B&B we have ever stayed in. When things green up, I'd like to go again and also try out a different room. The inn is comfortable, simple, pretty, clean and restful. Jeanna was very friendly...a real people person and made us feel very welcome even though we came in late. There was a unique and tasty breakfast the next morning with the eggs cooked to your liking and ready when YOU wanted it. Jeanna has a gift for hospitality. She acts as if she loves her job and her life there at Whispering Pines.


Yet another great return trip to Whispering Pines!

4.6 on February 22, 2012

We love Whispering Pines, and try to get back there once a year if not two. It is a wonderful place to relax, and Jeanna's breakfast are amazing! We can't wait to go back again so we can check out the new set up for the hot tub out back. Should be a beautiful view!


Great place for a weekend any time of year

4.8 on February 17, 2012

Intended to get a room at the Lied Lodge for the pre-Valentine's Day weekend but they were fully booked; but that ended up being fortunate for me, because it led me to look elsewhere in Neb City and stumble upon Jeanna's Whispering Pines B&B. She's got well kept unique rooms (we got 'The Arbor') in a big old house and makes a heck of a breakfast. I'm sure the grounds are beautiful too but they were covered in snow, however that didn't stop us from using the hot tub out on the back deck under stars in the crisp February air. We'd recommend it especially if you're looking for a more personal experience than a big hotel.


Nice Place to Relax and Slow Down

4.4 on February 05, 2012

We have stayed at Whispering Pines 8 or more times over the last two years. Nebraska City is a lovely town south of Omaha, and the Pines is a beautiful country home on the edge of the town. If you like old, rambling farm homes, comfortably decorated, delicious breakfasts (of all types), and a very genial host; then put the Pines on your list. We believe you will not be disappointed. Sheri + Larry, Loveland, Colorado


Birthday getaway!

5 on February 04, 2012

My husband and I visited Jeanna's B&B for a 2 day relaxing getaway for my 26th Birthday. We found the property to be absolutely beautiful and the home/rooms charming, and the evening soak in the hot tub was relaxing before going to bed. Jeanna was a fantastic hostess and amazing cook! She had great suggestions for our evening dinning and outings for our wine tasting and antique shopping. We can't wait to plan our next visit!


First B&B Experience Well Worth It!

5 on November 26, 2011

My wife and I chose the Whispering Pines B&B in Nebraska City for our 5th anniversary. It was so enjoyable we will definitely be returning! Jeanna runs this so well. We found the room and the food to be simple, yet elegant. Kind of like having someone treat you to a 5-star experience without any sense of pretentiousness. She was a perfect hostess, offering full use of her property, which has six acres and is very peaceful, and provided unique details that made it special. When I mentioned we had plans to eat at a local restaurant, she offered to make reservations for us, then did. The room we stayed in was beautiful, with multiple seating areas. It was not only roomy, but the quality of touches, from the bedding to the seating to the bath items and soaps was really special. The house itself has a real cozy feel, with everything you need to feel comfortable. My wife and I especially enjoyed the wrap-around porch as we had amazing weather to sit under the very large overhang, drink a bottle of wine and rock as a soft rain fell outside. It was magical, relaxing, and we really were taken away from the stress of every day life. As I stated earlier, we WILL be back and made sure Jeanne knew it. She is a great cook, and a charming hostess with excellent people skills. We felt comfortable from the start and had a great anniversary. Thank you, Jeanna! Sincerely, Scott & Katy Benedict


Had a great time!

4.6 on November 11, 2011

The proprietor does a great job of making you feel welcome and at home. Breakfast was delicious and the bed was super comfortable!! Thoroughly enjoyed my anniversary this year and look forward to visiting again!


Very enjoyable

4.0 on November 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights for a little R&R getaway. The Rose room was clean and comfortable and had decent wifi reception. Jeanna's breakfasts were yummy with good coffee. She also gave great suggestions for fun things to do in Nebraska City. We plan to return :)


Wonderful

4.2 on September 21, 2011

We stayed in "The Roost" and loved the privacy and the comfortable beds. Wish we had more time to enjoy the amazing porch overlooking the waterfall. The innkeeper was most accomodating; she turned the fresh peaches on the porch into canned peaches overnight and still served a wonderful breakfast to us at 7:30AM, just as we had requested.


Anniversary Getaway Gone Awry

5 on August 28, 2011

My husband and I had planned a nice romantic getaway to Jeanna's beautiful B&B, to do a little bit of wine tasting at the local orchard when our water pump went. Jeanna went out of her way to assist us to the part store and back and did everything possible to help the transition towards recovery of the car. Once the car was back in running order, we have the most wonderful time in the hot tub, sitting on the porch, and she is the most wonderful host and cook. Thank you so much Jeanna for everything you did for us. We will be back soon. Dawn and Le Nutzman Lincoln, Ne


Relaxing at the Barn....

5 on August 24, 2011

My husband and I decided that we needed to get away for a few days to relax. Whispering Pines is a frequent destination for us so we decided to go and spend two nights in the Barn. We had a wonderful time! The Barn is located down the property from the main house. It has a king size bed, sitting area with TV and its own bathroom. There is an additional bed in the Barn but we only needed the one bed since it was just the two of us. It was so nice just being able to relax and unwind for a few days. We had a nice time walking around the property too. The breakfasts were delicious! Jeanna is such a gracious and friendly Innkeeper and Hostess. We will definitely return again in the future. Thanks again. Lea & Craig H., Papillion, NE


Reconnect with your senses

5 on May 15, 2011

Whispering Pines is a fantastic escape. A beautiful setting lets you disconnect from the tech world and get in touch with nature again. The gourmet food draws you back in to enjoy the moment and reconnect with your senses. The rooms and amenities are luxurious and comfortable, providing a nice retreat between sightseeing and exploring. There are fun things to do close by, we traveled with a 3yr old and 3 month old, and managed to make it to the arbor lodge park with the must see whispering bench, the tree adventure and the firefighter museum. Overall great value for money and a lovely retreat.


Best Getaway Spot.

5 on April 19, 2011

My husband and I went to this B&B on a whim. We LOVED it. We went back before our first son was born. We are going again to take our son. This place is close to great activites. A quick little getaway spot. The Inn Keeper is an amazing in the kitchen and always tries to provide you with anything you may need. This is a place we hope to go back to for years to come.


What a cute and quiet B&B!

4.4 on April 19, 2011

My husband stayed here for a birthday weekend get-a-way trip, and had a lovely time staying in Whispering Pines. Breakfast was delicious, and bed was SUPER comfy. There are 4 bedrooms to pick from. Nebraska City has tons of beautiful country side to explore, and definitely lots to do; including a couple vineyards, an apple orchard, a giant mansion to tour, and the Arbor Tree Lodge. Will for sure try and make it back!


Whispering pines

5 on March 30, 2011

This was our second stay at Whispering Pines. It's such a relaxing place to spend the weekend, and the dogs get to come along. This time, we got two nights for the price of one (make sure to sign-up for the e-mail list to keep up on the latest happenings and deals). Jeanna, the innkeeper and owner, is a wonderful host. Her breakfasts are a delectable way to start the day-- and her cookies are a delectable way to sustain the day. If you're going to Nebraska City for the trees, Whispering Pines has two amazing bur oak trees on the property; they could be on a poster. Also, it's an easy walk to the Arbor Lodge State Park, so you don't need to buy a Nebraska State Parks pass for your car if you don't have one! If you stay in The Roost in the Barn, make sure to read the guest book-- it's a riot.


Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast

5 on March 23, 2011

We have stayed at Whispering Pines 3 times now. The first time neither one of us had stayed at a B&B. I can say we will probably never stay in a hotel again. Jeanna is a wonderful hostess. And we think she makes the best breakfast ever. The hot tub is awesome on cool nights. The land is beautiful and Nebraska City is a wonderful small town with a lot of things to do. We have met some really nice people. If you are not sure about a B&B, go and stay a night here and meet Jeanna. You will not be disappointed.


B&B NE City

4.8 on March 09, 2011

Beautiful place to stay...the pictures don't even do it justice and Jeanna makes you feel so welcome!


Wonderful Romantic Getaway

5 on March 02, 2011

Whispering Pines is the perfect place to have a nice romantic getaway. We spent two night during Valentine's Day in the Roost and loved the private atmosphere that it offered with the cozy feel. The hot tub was a wonderful bonus. The breakfast is amazing and the innkeeper is a blessing to her guests. Definitely recommend and we will definitely be back.


Outstanding B&B

4.8 on February 22, 2011

We have stayed many times over the years. Always have a great time, yummy food and wonderful hostess everytime. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.


Excellent Visit

5 on February 21, 2011

We had an oustanding experience at Whispering Pines. The room was impeccable, with no detail left out. Being able to take a dip in the hot tub and stroll the spacious grounds was also very special. A great weekend getaway for anyone in Eastern Nebraska. We will definitely be going back.


Phenomenal service!

4.6 on February 15, 2011

We had a great weekend getaway, highlighted by amazing food and service. Thanks to Jeanna for her accommodations for our every need. She made special meals for my dairy intolerance and followed up with giving us extra help when our gift certificates weren't working. We had a truly wonderful experience.


Great stay at Whispering Pines

4.0 on February 07, 2011

Wonderful getaway in a quiet Nebraska town. Jeanna showed great hospitality and was willing to meet any request we had. I highly recommend Whispering Pines if you need a weekend away from the kids and the pace of everyday.


Jan. 28, 2011

5 on February 01, 2011

Was the best place to stay. Rooms were great and the food was the best. Can't wait to stay there again and to enjoy the different seasons there


20th Anniversary Get away

5 on January 24, 2011

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend and received that and more. Looking forward to returning during the fall.


A Great Anniversary Weekend

5 on January 05, 2011

This is an outstanding B&B, we can't wait till things turn green to return!


Wonderful Stay at Whispering Pines

5 on January 04, 2011

The rooms are wonderful and cozy. The food is excellent, Jeanna goes above and beyond with every detail!


Cozy and elegant!

5 on January 01, 2011

This is the perfect small-town place to stay and relax while still being within easy reach of Omaha and Lincoln. Rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated and comfortable, and the grounds and gardens are enchanting. Jeanna is a gracious host and a fantastic chef who really makes visitors feel at home. I have stayed here multiple times and loved it every time. Highly recommended!


Our 4th Visit to Whispering Pines!

4.0 on November 29, 2010

We love Whispering Pines! Whether for a weekend getaway for two, or a holiday gathering with family, this B&B is a great choice. Jeanna is an excellent cook and a very accomodating hostess. We try to visit once or twice a year, and would go more if we had time!


relaxing

3.6 on November 28, 2010

The house, rooms and breakfast was wonderful. The grounds needed some cleaning up but it was the middle of fall.


Very relaxful

4.8 on November 17, 2010

OUr stay at Whispering Pines was awesome. Even though majority of the leaves were gone & there was not much activity in the city we loved the seclusion, the friendliness of the hostess, the overall stay! Would recommend to anyone looking for a night away!


Suprised my wife and we both enjoyed our visit

4.6 on November 10, 2010

We truely enjoyed Jeanna and her great B&B. The breakfasts were superb and we enjoyed the eclectic mix of apparel at breakfast. Can't think of a single reason why would not go back the next time we are in a B&B mood.


Pleasant, friendly, + quiet stay

4.0 on November 01, 2010

We stayed here on 27 Oct, and our previous stay in Nebr City was at a very noisy motel. This stay was very good, and it was quiet(what a nice change). The breakfast was superb. The house is set on 6 acres, and was exhibiting fall beauty. The owner was congenial and caring. This bed+breakfast is a good value.


A Wonderful Time and Great Value

4.0 on October 26, 2010

This was perfect for a quick weekend getaway. We were impressed with the quiet atmosphere and the hospitality of the innkeeper. We have already recommended it to several people.


Good escape

4.2 on October 20, 2010

Good place for a quick get away. Pleasant host who had treats available on arrival. Bring a bottle of wine to share on the porch.


Mary's Birthday

5 on October 20, 2010

Jeanna is always very accommodating and willing to help in any way possible. We have stayed there many times and will always try to stay at Whispering Pines B&B when ever we are traveling around her place. Could not ask for a better hostess anywhere.


Fantastic place!

5 on October 19, 2010

I've stayed here several times on business trips. The breakfasts are some of the best I've ever had. Jeanna has a great personality and is very attentive and proactive in figuring out her clients preferences. She always remembers what breakfast and what room(s) I like best :)


Great Stay!! Looking forward to next time!

5 on October 16, 2010

This was our first B&B we have ever stayed at and we loved every minute of it. Jeanna has everything organized from restaurant recommendations to leaving out late night snacks for her guests! :) You can tell she has a true passion for what she does and she makes a mean version of Eggs Benedict!


Whispering Pines must be visited

4.6 on October 11, 2010

This is the 2nd time we have stayed with Jeanna, and there is a reason for that. We enjoyed our stay just as much this time, and in fact, we are passing the gift to some friends of ours getting married in November. It is perfect, because the house is in town, yet you still feel like it's a quiet getaway to just relax and enjoy with the size of the property. We absolutely recommend staying with Jeanna. You won't be sorry.


Whispering pines

4.0 on October 11, 2010

Our B&B experiences have been gifts. We are also R/Vers and cruisers as well as the retired people's group excursions so our B&Bs have to compete. of the B&Bs we've done, you are #1!


Perfect

4.8 on October 08, 2010

What a great place! Jeanna is such a warm and inviting hostess. She made us feel right at home and as if we were old friends. Our breakfast was yummy and so filling that I couldn't finish mine (rare, because I have a pretty hearty appetite). What a cook! We will definetly go back again if we have the opportunity.


You can't beat fall in the Arbor City!

4.6 on October 07, 2010

Whispering Pines is a relaxing, homey place to enjoy this beautiful area of the state and an interesting city. Jeanna is a gracious hostess and a very good cook. Next time we are in this area we will be going back to Whispering Pines.


Whispering Pines Weekend Escape

3.8 on October 05, 2010

Very comfortable...hospitality wonderful...individualized rooms...food devine!


We love it at Whispering Pines!

4.6 on August 20, 2010

We continue to celebrate our anniversary at Whispering Pines each year. Jeanna is a great hostess and her breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious! It is peaceful and beautiful. We will be back!


getaway

4.6 on August 09, 2010

We needed a close get away and found Whispering pines to be extremely comfortable,relaxed and friendly.The grounds were clean and the sounds of the waterfall was great.Our inkeeper was very organized and helpful in finding things to do around town.She is also a very good cook and breakfast was outstanding.


The food was over the top!!!!

4.8 on August 08, 2010

We had the most quiet and relaxing time. We also enjoyed the company of the other guests. Innkeeper was great.!!! We will go back.


Wonderful!!

5 on July 20, 2010

We stayed in The Roost and it was simply charming... and quiet :) Perfect after many days on the road. We lounged out front reading in the shade and OMG the cookies and lemonade were awesome!! (So awesome in fact it warranted a midnight cookie run :) ) The breakfast the next morning was fantastic, and the stay was perfect for our relaxing "girls trip." Thanks again for the wonderful time!!! Jennifer


some concern

3.6 on June 30, 2010

our stay there was nice. our hostess was outstanding and the food was excellent. However, we were a little concerned with being put in the basement of the very old home without being informed of that and it was a little damp and there were several bugs. there seemed to be other rooms available but we were not informed of ours being in the basement and would probably have chosen another room if we had known.


A Memorable Wedding Anniversary

4.2 on June 01, 2010

This experience encompassed a couple of "firsts" for us. It was our first wedding anniversary and our first bed and breakfast experience. Jeanna was an amazing hostess-she even offered to make dinner reservations for us upon check-in! The inn was cozy and charming. We really enjoyed relaxing on the huge porch listening to the birds and the sounds from the fountain. A dip in the hot tub under the stars topped off the evening. Breakfast was delicious and filling- the pecan french toast was awesome! We would definitely recommend Whispering Pines to anyone looking for a romantic or relaxing getaway.


Wonderful b&b

5 on February 17, 2010

This is an absolutely wonderful bed and breakfast and Jeanna does a fantastic job. I wanted to plan something very special and Jeanna was instrumental in everything working. The room we stayed in was beautiful and the breakfast was great. This was a valentine's getaway weekend that I can not imagine being better anywhere else.


Valentine's Weekend Surprise

5 on February 15, 2010

I wanted to plan a surprise trip for my wife and I'd heard that Nebraska City was a great place for wine tastings in Nebraska. So I looked online and found this whispering pines bed and breakfast and looked at all the details and thought it would be perfect. So I called Jeanna and she answered all my questions and so I booked the room. I was not disappointed! We stayed in the Victoria Suite which was very close to the hot tub. It was a chilly Feb. night but soaking in the hot tub was a great experience with snow all around. The breakfast in the morning was also wonderful! My wife was very surprised and loved it! Thanks Jeanna!


Hospitality, and a Hot Tub

5 on January 19, 2010

We found the inn by serendipity, wandering into Nebraska City while antique shopping, thought we'd go to Lincoln but Kim at the Antique shop said call Whispering Pines. We ended up not even going anywhere the next day - relaxing, catching up on computer and reading - enjoying the view of snow covered fields from the hot tub. Jeanna is an amazing host and excellent chef - the apple baked pancakes were top notch. Clean and modern where you want it, cozy for all the rest.


Don't miss this one!

5 on November 03, 2009

We have stayed here twice and have already made our reservation for next year! It's very clean and so relaxing. Jeanna is a great host & cook! The grounds are surrounded by trees, flowers & fountains. Don't miss this one!


Great Week-End

4.4 on October 18, 2009

Just spent a week-end at Whispering Pines...Enjoyed our stay. Jeanna is a wonderful host, breakfasts were wonderful and the company was great. If you want a quiet out of the way place to stay we recommend "The Roost". Wonderful bed, fun decor and away from the hustle and bustle. Would recommend Whispering Pines to anybody! R and D from Kansas City


Don't miss the Spring Frogs

5 on October 16, 2009

Our lovely trip was punctuated by the charming sounds of the tiny spring frogs in the pond. The gardens were incredible - the food was amazing and Jeanna made us feel like family! I highly recommend this B&B if you are in the area and want a romantic get away...


Place of peace and privacy on the plains

4.4 on October 14, 2009

We loved our room with private bath & a shower with real water pressure. Very creative travel theme in our room. Collections from her travels. Homemade cookies on arrival and breakfast was unique and delicious. She was friendly, but not nosy! Gardens and small fish pond are beautiful -- even in early spring!


Relaxing Birthday

4.0 on October 11, 2009

Our accomodation were cozy on a brisk October weekend. We were a little surprised that it was a basement bedroom, but we enjoyed the cozy atmosphere. Jeanna was so helpful in giving us ideas as to places to eat and new things to see and do in Nebraska City. The hot tub felt great!


Whispering Pines

4.4 on September 13, 2009

The owner was very accomodating and did a lot of little "extras" to assist with our stay in Nebraska City. Food was excellent.


Family Time....

5 on September 11, 2009

We love staying at Whispering Pines so we had to take my in-laws there when they came to visit us from Texas. We booked both of the downstairs rooms-the Arbor Suite and the Victoria's Suite. My wife's folks chose to stay in the Arbor Suite and my wife and I stayed in the Victoria's Suite. The in-laws were only visiting for a short period of time so all of us stayed at Whispering Pines for 3 nights. We had a wonderful time! It was some of the best quality time that we have gotten to spend with the family in years. Jeanna was so friendly and accomodating. The in-laws enjoyed themselves so much that they can't wait to come back and stay at Whispering Pines again the future. I'm glad that we were able to do something nice for them to celebrate their anniversary in July. This stay was very memorable for all of us. Thanks to Jeanna for everything! Craig H.


A Wonderful and Memorable Birthday....

5 on September 08, 2009

We returned to Whispering Pines to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in the Rose Room during this stay. I got to spend a total of 5 nights and my husband got to spend 3 of those nights with me. It was really nice being able to spend some time with my husband and also spend some alone time to myself. Diva Days happened to be going on in Nebraska City during this time. I enjoyed being able to take advantage of the coupons and specials offered by the local merchants for Diva Days. Jeanna did everything possible to make my birthday stay at her place an enjoyable and memorable experience. It is so nice having a place to get away from it all without having to drive a far distance from where we live. I will definitely remember this birthday for many years.


Whispering Pines

5 on May 05, 2009

Outstanding


very nice

4.2 on April 10, 2009

Thank you Jeanna! This was our 1st B&B stay and we loved it!


Can't Wait to Go Back

5 on January 14, 2009

Stayed at the Roost in the Barn and loved it! Very secluded, quiet and peaceful. Room was very clean and well kept. Jeanna was more than accommodating even with our changing arrival schedules. Breakfast was wonderful and the chocolate chip cookies on arrival were great. Even on a cold winter night of 2 degrees the hot tub was wonderful. Definitely will be returning!


Peaceful B&B

5 on December 05, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed such a peaceful stay at Whispering Pines. The room was clean, inviting, warm and cozy. Jeanna prepared an amazing breakfast and remains one of our favorite places to "relax and renew."


Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on August 27, 2008

Everything was great! Very accommodating.


Oustanding.

4.8 on August 05, 2008

The stay was outstanding.


Charming

5 on July 30, 2008

Charming, well mantained house and grounds.


Great time

4.4 on July 25, 2008

Only 2 suggestions a candle on the deck at night while were having some wine would have been romantic - was our anniversary. A meat product at breakfast but food was fantastic.


Quiet Time

4.8 on July 15, 2008

We rested, ate so well, walked, enjoyed the beautiful 6 acres, had a fun drive to spend the day in neighboring historic Brownville, then spent a day in beautiful Nebraska City. Jeanna recommended great local food and fun things to see. Enjoyed the hot tub, too!


Whispering Pines

4.2 on June 30, 2008

Fantastic! Great outdoor environment. Loved the porch for visiting and relaxing.


Fantastic stay

4.4 on June 11, 2008

Quiet and restful with lots of privacy. We had a large group and Jeanna was so fun to work with. Would definitely recommend this to other people and hope to return there.


Wow!

5 on June 04, 2008

Absolutely beautiful & peacful! everything for your money and more! Hostess is great and accomadates in an above and beyond fashion. our 2nd stay and it keeps getting better! can't wait until our next stay!


Another wonderful visit...

5 on March 25, 2008

This was our second visit to this b & b. This time we spent one night in The Arbor Suite. The room was very warm and cozy. Our only disappointment was that we could only stay for one night. Jeanna is a wonderful Innkeeper and Hostess. She goes above and beyond to make her guests feel welcome. We love the outdoor hot tub too. We will definitely return again in the future. We highly recommend this b & b when visiting Nebraska City.


Retreat in October

4.8 on March 20, 2008

Since Jeanna has owned Whispering Pines, it really has been nicely updated. She is very accomodating to the guests and strives to update the rooms so that they're current and trendy. Even though we only stayed one night, I felt as though I had been on a week-long relaxing vacation.


Outstanding!!

5 on February 20, 2008

We spent two nights in the Roost in the Barn. The barn was a lot nicer than we were expecting. It was very peaceful and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to return again in the future. It was winter so we will have to return again during warmer weather. Jeanna is very nice and accomodating. Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious. It was such a pleasure meeting her and getting to know her during our stay. Whispering Pines is definitely one of the hidden gems of Nebraska City. We are so glad to have found such a wonderful place. We highly recommend this place to others. Thanks so much!!


WP

5 on February 04, 2008

Our stay felt like we were at home, except that someone else cooked us breakfast.


Very Nice Retreat!

4.2 on December 12, 2007

We stay here often and love all the special attention Jeanna provides and the relaxing atmosphere! We will be back, but probably not as often due to a room rate increase since we first discovered this B&B in 2005.


Our trip to Nebraska City

5 on December 05, 2007

We just loved staying at the Whipering Pines Bed and Breakfast. It was relaxing (even for a rushed trip). The "Barn" was great. Excluded and great for our romantic getaway. The breakfast was just wonderful. And the cheese and basket in the room were a real treat. We took the wine to the hot tub and watched those beautiful Nebraska stars on a cool fall night. We will be back! The Johnsons from Garland, Texas


Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $169
  • Reviews (121) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4028735850

Visit Website »

View details

Top