Marilyn's Melrose Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

PERFECT WEEKEND STAY !

4.4 on April 07, 2014

Marilyn's Melrose Inn is the quintessential quality lodge. Marilyn, owner, proprietor, customer service, concierge, chef, beautiful woman, All-In-Everything ! Each & every request for assistance is met with sincerity & purpose. Not only is her lodging 'pet friendly', Marilyn went so far as to find us a 'free' place to tether our Great Pyrenees dog while we stayed in Tryon. She hosts many civic and artistic events, and personally participates enthusiastically promoting the Tryon Cultural Calendar. Four thumbs up for this welcome & refreshing breath of fresh mountain air.


The Perfect Getaway!

5 on March 24, 2014

We had such a wonderful long weekend at Marilyn's Melrose Inn. Marilyn made us feel right at home from the moment we walked through the door. The place is a delight for those who enjoy art in all forms. We were constantly amazed not only by the surroundings, but the wonderful hospitality, and the incredible food! Our anniversary dinner was customized just for us, and absolutely perfect. We cannot say enough good things about Marilyn and her Melrose Inn. We will definitely be repeat guests. Thank you, Marilyn, for a unique and wonderful anniversary getaway.


SIMPLY FANTASTIC IN EVERY WAY!

5 on February 17, 2014

All I can say is THANK YOU - THANK YOU - THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart! We had the most wonderful time, and everything we put into our mouths was absolutely fantastic! You are a very talented and AMAZING lady, Marilyn. You also have a special way of making people feel welcome and right at home - including our little four legged friends ( : There couldn't be a more perfect person to run Melrose Inn than you! I highly recommend this inn - you will be in store for a treat! Thanks again for a night that neither of us will ever forget in your beautiful sanctuary - Jill


SPECIAL PLACE!!

4.8 on December 16, 2013

During our three night stay we were treated to a Melrose Inn that was aglow with the wonders and joys of Christmas! The dining room tables and all of the public rooms were a sight to behold. Marilyn collections are simply wonderful! Our breakfasts and dinners were absolutely delicious as well as marvelous experiences and any time spent with Marilyn is delightful. We intend to stay at this inn whenever we are in Tryon, NC


Stimulating but restful stay

4.6 on September 08, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Melrose Inn in August 2013, on our way back to Georgia from a week in Asheville. Marilyn Doheny has made this rambling old house into a cozy inn, decorated with her creative quilts and exotic room designs. Filled with antiques and curiosities, the inn reflects the lively and energetic personality of Marilyn herself, who was a considerate and delightful host. Though she is a fairly recent transplant to Tryon, she helped us enjoy several features of Tryon that we might otherwise have missed and enhanced our visit in this small mountain foothills town. Marilyn offered us complimentary wine, beer and other beverages in the late afternoon when we arrived. We had a very restful night's sleep in the Egyptian Room, where the adjoining bathroom fixtures are old but clean; the shower functioning could be improved since it required hand-holding to be fully effective but it sufficed. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast of fruit, homemade muffins, eggs and bacon on the front porch. (The inn has a spacious dining room, but Marilyn was happy to serve us and the other guests on the porch on a cool morning in late summer.) We recommend the Melrose Inn to anyone visiting Tryon looking for a stimulating but restful stay that doesn't break the budget.


Thanks Marilyn!!!!

4.4 on August 12, 2013

Very hospitable.


Wonderful Hospitality

5 on August 11, 2013

I stayed at the Melrose Inn for a total of 3 nights and 4 days and I really enjoyed my stay. A very good value as breakfast was included in the price which was made personally each morning by Marilynn and far superior to the "breakfast" you get at one of the corporate chain hotels. On my last day, I even invited some of my friends who live in Tryon and they raved about the food. Also included in the price are a nightly "happy hour" offering free snacks, wine and beer. I stayed in the Africa Room and enjoyed the décor.A stay here is definitely worth the money. William A. Johnson


Marilyn Melrose is Wonderful

5 on July 13, 2013

My wife, Charlie our Golden Retriever and I stayed with Marilyn for three great days. Just meeting and talking with Marilyn was worth the price; what an interesting person. The Melrose Inn is filled to the brim with "treasures", every time you turn around you see something new. The meals were great, served where and when we wanted, often on the front porch with Charlie. The hospitality was great, Marilyn feels like an old fried. She even took us to her Mothers house on a lake! These are the memories that make travel great... can't recommend enough!


Mini Vacation Worth Every Penny

5 on July 03, 2013

I live in Tryon, and have been curious about the Melrose Inn and Marilyn Doheny and her beautiful quilt art for some time. When a dear friend requested a rest and break from taking care of a very ill family member, we booked a 3 day stay at the Melrose Inn. The accommodations were comfortable, the included breakfast was just outstanding (Marilyn is an excellent cook), the porch was made for relaxing and putting our feet up. We had the added bonus of interesting conversation with some of Marilyn's other guests when we felt like it, and were treated to a complimentary glass of wine in the afternoons. In other words, we both felt pampered and taken care of; an excellent antidote for each of our emotional exhaustion. The value we received was much more than expected. The inn is filled with all sorts of interesting collections, and with Marilyn's beautiful quilt art.


Fabulous

4.4 on June 30, 2013

Had a wonderful experience. Marilyn was an incredible host. My wife and I enjoyed our time there and will return.


A wonderful step back in time.

3.8 on June 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Marilyns Melrose Inn. It feels like a step back in time. The rooms are artistic and eclectic. I enjoyed sitting on the porch visiting with other guests. The tone is very friendly, relaxed and service oriented.


We will definitely return when we are in Tryon!

5 on June 13, 2013

The Melrose Inn and Marilyn were a wonderful experience. The place is full of "stuff", which normally would have been a bit overwhelming. But instead, it felt like we had entered a world full of possibilities. Marilyn was an excellent hostess, making sure everything was as we needed and wanted. And, she is a great cook! Dinner and breakfast were delicious!


Super Friendly!

4.4 on March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night here. We were greeted with a smile, a warm welcome and an complimentary adult beverage. The owner was super friendly and very accomodating. The food was very good. We ordered a bottle of wine for our evening and later discovered that we didnt get charged for it..... thank you Marilyn! The staff was very friendly also. This was our first stay at a B&B but it wont be our last.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. It was wonderful! We had coffee at our door every morning and a two course breakfast. ALL the food we ate during our stay was outstanding! The inn itself is a very beautiful place and our room was clean and nicely decorated. Marilyn and Jim went above and beyond to make our stay memorable by arranging some excursions off the property for us to enjoy. We will definitely be returning for our anniversary next year!


This place needs help!

1.4 on August 10, 2012

Although the innkeepers at Marilyn's are hospitable people, our stay was not at all what we were expecting considering what we'd read in Tripadvisor. I think that they probably wrote the reviews themselves. Aside from the eclectic decor, the Inn isn't clean. The sinks and tubs were in need of a major scrubbing, as were the floors in the rooms. There were insect nests in one of the rooms. There were also lotions in the bathrooms that had obviously been opened and used by other guests. Unsanitary to say the least. Marilyn needs a hotel consultant to come through and give her an unbiased evaluation of her services and follow through on the recommendations. Hiring a cleaning team would help, too.

Innkeeper Response
We know exactly who wrote this review--it was a setup from the very beginning. The women went upstairs, the men stayed downstairs and went to the car. Within 2-3 minutes the women were downstairs saying that the bathrooms "were not up to their standards." They refused to tell me what the problems were. By this time the men were already in the car and the women refused to tell me what the problem was, though I followed them and questioned them repeatedly. They drove away. I went, and then the owner went, and inspected the bathrooms they said were a problem: we found 1 piece of hair approximately 1/32 of an inch long behind one of the trashcans in one of the two rooms they had reserved. That's all--and we are VERY meticulous about our rooms and their cleanliness0--very. This was obviously a set up by a competitor; they weren't on the property more than 3 to 4 minutes. We have fabulous reviews from people who actually stayed here and they are all positive. This review is very suspicious.


Truly a disappointment

1.8 on July 10, 2012

I have never written a review before but given the poor experience I felt compelled. The reviews misrepresent this B&B. Aside from friendly hosts the Inn is in very poor shape and dirty. Not recommended

Innkeeper Response
This person has obviously never stayed here--to say that all of the 5-star reviews are wrong and that he/she is the only one who is right is ludicrous. They point to no specifics, just generalizations. We have had absolutely no one in the month of July (or any other month for that matter) come to us with a major complaint--no one. I personally check out each guest and query them on their experience with us, as I do throughout their stay, and I unfailingly get a positive response; we are simply too quick and too caring to let any teeny tiny problem become an issue worth noting. If we had had any disgruntled guests in July, I would have been the first to know it since I am their first-line contact in all matters dealing with the inn. This is a bogus review. We have not had any kind of negative review since we opened to the public in September 2010; our goal is to give service and quality that is beyond what anyone can find at any other facility; according to our reviews and our repeat guests, we are accomplishing that. The owner and innkeeper, Marilyn Doheny, has been insistent and unwavering on that from day one. This is not a review from a person who ever stayed here.


Charming get-away

5 on July 07, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Melrose Inn and had a wonderful time. The food and drinks were great, the porch was a terrific place to spend time and we enjoyed the music on the porch on Tuesday evening. Marilyn and Jim treated us as if we were family and included us in thier activities. The town and surrounding areas were enjoyable, including Pierson Falls and antiquing among other activities. I am sure we will return for more relaxation and next time we hope to take advantage of the supper club. If you haven't been to the Melrose Inn for a long while, we recomend returning and seeing how much Marilyn has brought it back to its former glory.


It was so enjoyable!

5 on June 12, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed at Marilyn's Melrose Inn. It was such a great experience. When we arrived, Jim came out to greet us and carry our heavy bags to our rooms. Our rooms were large and beautifully decorated. I had the Equestrian and my sister had the Floral Elegance. Both rooms were delightful, and the beds were very comfy. Loved soaking in my deep tub. We so much enjoyed the gourmet dinner Marilyn cooked for us...on such short notice. The strawberry/feta cheese salad was to-die-for. My sister is a vegetarian, and she was very pleased with her special dinner, and I truly enjoyed my salmon with a lemon and caper sauce. Marilyn is a master chef! The next morning, we woke up early and enjoyed delicious coffee and conversation with Marilyn on the front porch. Then, she provided a delightful breakfast for us. I think those were the best scrambled eggs I've ever had in my life. I think that was the best breakfast I've ever had in my life! Marilyn and Jim were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, but never intrusive. I so enjoyed staying at their inn, and I recommend it to everyone.


Excellent B&B

5 on December 27, 2011

My wife and I have family in Tryon but, due to tight quarters, we rarely get to stay for any length of time, especially during the holidays. This Christmas we decided to stay at the Melrose Inn, and we're so very happy that we did! The inn has a wonderful charm and appeal, and was decorated so nicely, giving it an even more warm, inviting and cozy feel. Marilyn, Jim and staff went out of their way to ensure that we were accommodated in every aspect. The breakfasts that Marilyn prepared fresh each morning were delicious and wonderful! She was very attentive and open to our vegetarian diet -- a rarity these days. Our room (Floral Abundance) was clean, comfortable and very pretty. The inn is within walking distance to the charming downtown Tryon, and Melrose Avenue is one of the prettiest streets in town, with sidewalks and two small parks if you have pets. I highly recommend anyone traveling to the Tryon area stay at the Melrose. You won't be disappointed! A big thank you to Marilyn for the friendly, inspirational conversations and for making it one of the best Christmases we've had in many years!


melrose inn stay

4.6 on December 21, 2011

My wife and I were in Tryon for a couple of days and decided to give The Melrose Inn a try. The staff was extremely friendly. The room was very nice. The food was great and not unreasonable in cost. This amazing building is old, and although it has a few signs of previous neglect it is more than clear to see that it's newest owners are doing an outstanding job of bringing it back. It is a wonderful building. For anybody who appreciates a mix of charm and history in a modern functioning inn this is a place to visit for sure. The rooms are decorated in a cozy, light hearted way. It is clear that the owner has an artistic eye. The inn is is very comfortable. I would, without a doubt, recommend this place to any and all.


A Quaint Get-away

4.6 on December 21, 2011

As we drove down a busy highway to visit the town and old homesite of a loved one passed on, we were delighted to have discovered a jewel of a place to rest our heads and enjoy some time together a simple stones-throw away from our final destination. Marilyn's Melrose Inn was a piece of artistic history in the making along a street lined with old homes and buildings. Handmade quilts, along with festive and colorful decorations lined the walls, doorways and porch as if to say: All are welcome, please come in. Our trip was in December, where the plants were dormant, the air chilly, and the flowers not blooming. Inside, however, the potted plants were green and fragrant, the air warm and inviting, and the blossom of smiles and cheery dispositions of the staff were well worth the winter drive. Each and every room was artfully decorated with their own flair, color and imaginative theme. There was a place for everything, and everything in it's place. Remove one thing and there was diminishment. The dining room was spectacular and had it's own bit of sophistication along with knick-knacks dotting the furniture and walls. And, as wonderful, comfortable, and spacious the room accomodations and staff were, there are barely enough words to describe the decadent, aromatic and how simply devine the food was! As having a true joy and love for cooking, the food was delicious. From something as seemingly simple as a meal, the staff was extremely flexible towards food preferences, allergens and schedules for dining. Would I ever go back or reccommend Marilyn's Melrose Inn? The better question should be, when can I go back and who wouldn't I reccommend Marilyn's to? A truly enjoyable experience that everyone should try. Thank you to Marilyn and her staff.


October weekend visit

4.4 on October 31, 2011

My wife and I arrived for a wedding visit from Ct. and were greeted by our host and guests from the front porch. We couldn't have been made to feel more at home from the moment we arrived. Our hosts Marilyn and Jim went out of their way to make sure we had hot coffee and tea at our bedroom door by 7:30 each AM, and our breakfasts were made to order each morning and quite delicious I might add. My only regret was that we did not get to sample one of Marilyn's dinners as the aromas coming from the kitchen were very tempting, but we had a wedding to attend. It was cool when we were there, so it was very pleasant to sit inside by a fire in the evenings and share a bottle of wine and swap stories with other guests. My wife had accidently left some clothes in a dresser. When we called the following morning, Marilyn had already put them in the mail back to us. How can you beat that? All in all our experience at the Marilyn's Melrose Inn was very relaxing and pleasant. I would recommend staying here if you find yourself in the Carolina hills. Caroline and Bill


Great experience

4.2 on October 27, 2011

Found this BB unexpectedly for my wedding night. Would have recommended it to my wedding guests if I found it earlier in our planning. The room was just perfect for us, capping a beautiful day. The staff made us feel extra special by accommodating our, beer tastes, abnormal hours, and left us a gift basket on our special night. Thank you so very much Marilyn and Jim! You run a great BB. -Ehren


An unexpected gift !!

4.8 on July 21, 2011

We went to Tyron to visit old friends and found a fairyland of art,wonderful food and..Music on the porch!! If you travel through this area ,do not miss it ! Our trip from Clayton, Georgia,on route 11 was short,scenic and refreshing for mind and spirit. Mark Marilyn's and Tryon on your map.


We happened on the Melrose Inn due unfortunate circumstance..

4.8 on May 31, 2011

When our Lincoln broke down unexpectedly, we had to find a place to dine in Tryon on the holiday weekend. As we walked in a lovely neighborhood of grand old homes, I spotted the sign for The Melrose Inn. Surely an Inn would have dining accomodations even on holidays. We were warmly welcomed, offered seating inside or out and within minutes were being served the best breakfast I have eaten in years. Being of sound mind, we visited again the next morning. The meal the proprietess, Marilyn, served us was better than the day before. She is certainly a gourmet chef. As i write I am thinking of the omelette and all the trimmings we enjoyed. We will call ahead to make reservations for another meal before the week is done. What a treat. What a hidden gem for Tryon!


A Vacation to remember!

5 on April 26, 2011

Marilyn's Bed & Breakfast The Melrose Inn I have just returned from one of the best vacations I have ever experienced.  Not only did I learn many new quilting techniques in my week long class with  Marilyn but I was able to relax in an enchanted setting. I felt an overall calm and at the same time a sense of excitement.  Everywhere I looked I saw beautiful and unique objects of art.  Even after my week long stay I kept finding new treasures.   The gourmet food was first rate, wholesome and delicious. When I explained that there were some dietary restrictions Marilyn was glad to comply. In the morning I would wake to find my coffee set outside my room door even at the earliest hours of dawn. If you are a quilter you will be amazed at what you will have created at the end of the class. Marilyn is the perfect teacher, patient and knowledgable and can accommodate all levels from beginner to expert.  She will guide you and help you create some really marvelous pieces.  The class was fun and rewarding. This inn not only has old world charm but has surprisingly  modern conveniences, like wifi  plus instant, and abundant hot water in the shower.  Marilyn and the staff are so friendly and thoughtful I felt like they were family and this was my second home.  I didn't want to leave.  In the evenings you can enjoy sitting on the front porch chatting with the other guests or you can go in one of the many areas inside the spacious inn and watch movies or play games, or sit in a quiet place and read.  There are so many things to do even if you don't have a car, walk across the street to the Fine Arts Center, walk  into town and enjoy the quaint shops, or just stroll around the area and enjoy it's natural beauty. Whether you are a quilter or not you will have a unique stay in this charming place. I know that I will definitely return.


Marilyn's Melrose Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $80 - $130
  • Reviews (26) 4.5
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8288590234

Visit Website »

View details

Top