1906 Pine Crest Inn & Restaurant Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
69 Reviews

Write A Review

Picturesque setting!

3.4 on June 12, 2014

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Pine Crest is situated in a beautiful spot. The room was very quiet and had all we required. The bathroom was only average. The breakfast was limited to two choices but the food was above average. We booked the B&B thinking we would be able to eat dinner there but they only serve dinner on Friday evenings.


Lovely inn in the NC hills

4.6 on May 23, 2014

We picked this inn as it was almost midway between our home and our destination.It is a lovely inn, formerly a TB sanitorium, hospitable with very helpful staff; while we did not have dinner at the inn, breakfast (provided) the morning of checkout was delightful and delicious. While our room was small, the bed was comfortable. The surroundings at the main house were lovely, even on a drizzly day. The wide wraparound porch was comfortable and inviting. Happy hour with complimentary port and sherry was a very nice touch.


Tranquil Serenity

4.6 on May 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Foxcroft (classic) room on 5-10-14. After staying at a hotel chain the night before, and sleeping on a rock hard mattress, it was so wonderful to check into a room that was this comfortable. The mattress had a memory foam topper that made the bed so much more inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch and the quietness and beauty of the location. The breakfast was especially appealing and the service was with a smile and genuine warmth from the staff. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Our second stay!

5 on April 21, 2014

We love it here. Beautiful property, clean quaint rooms. Everyone who works here is so wonderful and accommodating. It was such a relaxing stay. We will be back.


North CDarolina Charmer

4.4 on April 13, 2014

e always try to stay at the Pine Crest when visiting the upstate from our home near Beaufort SC. It is such a relaxing inn..the inn keepers are the most friendly of any of the Inns we have visited in the past several years...they cannot do enough to make a person.'s stay comfortable and willing to go the extra mile giving help and advice on area sight seeing and events.....try it, I assure you it will be an enjoyable stay.


Great Inn

4.2 on March 27, 2014

We were very pleased with our recent stay at 1906 Pine Crest Inn. We were looking for some place close to Greenville to spend our 20th anniversary. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding community. They were very friendly and helpful.Our room was clean and comfortable . We highly recommend this inn if you are looking for a place to relax and unwind and spend time walking in the quaint little towns around the inn.


Pinecrest Inn & Restaurant

4.8 on November 22, 2013

Although our stay was short we totally enjoyed our stay. The staff was warm and welcoming . Conversations were caring, informative and gracious. The dinning experience was fantastic. We searched the area to get the delicious pickled asparagus to bring home with us just to remind of of our dining experience. We just want to say thank you to the staff for making us feel like we were at our home away from home.


Beautiful and Attentive!

5 on September 30, 2013

The 1906 Pine Crest Inn & Restaurant was wonderful. It is set up like an Ivy League campus with a central dining area. If you love cats the 1906 Pine Crest Inn has a special treat for you. Bring kitty snacks. All of the staff members were very kind and attentive to our needs especially when it came to vegetarian dining. Make sure you call ahead and double check your room/cabin. We had to switch cabins but it was a wonderful upgrade. Take advantage of the Twain Cottage if it is available. You will adore it. Tryon is a beautiful village style city. Check out the cinema. I’m not suggesting that you see a movie but it is very classic. There are good restaurants and shops. We traveled between Tryon and Asheville and it was a very easy drive. Make sure you find the Chocolate shop if you make it to Asheville.


Nice place to stay if you are in the area.

3.2 on July 01, 2013

Nice B&B. No electrical plugs except in bath. Sorta pricey for an 90% empty. If you stay bring a bottle of wine, there are rocking chairs on the porch.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the nice review. We are sorry you did not more easily locate an outlet in your room for charging your device. All of our rooms have outlets on each wall, although furniture, window coverings, and other decor items do occasionally obstruct the direct view of them. Our front desk is also happy to provide extension cords if a guest's charging cord is not long enough to reach their preferred location of use. Please check with one of our innkeepers in the future and they will be delighted to assist you.


Great Stay

3.6 on October 19, 2012

The staff at the Pine Crest Inn was very attentive and friendly. The room and grounds were beautiful. The food at their restaraunt was delicious, though the portions were a little small for the price. We had a wonderful stay!


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast in Western NC

4.8 on June 24, 2012

We stayed at the Pine Crest just one night this past weekend... but we wished we had stayed even more... this was one stop in a 5 night romantic getaway thru NC for us. From the moment we arrived, we felt nurtured and cared for. Maddy delightfully checked us in and we were very pleased with our room in the Oak cottage. Every attention to detail was attended to, and everyone on the staff seemed interested in our happiness. We spend a couple of hours in the bar and Jeffry helped us pick two great bottles of wine from their extensive collection. Dinner was thoughtful and well-prepared, although we would have liked more seafood options. The grounds are absolutely stunning... we enjoyed a cocktail in the gazebo and enjoyed walking the extensive grounds. Although we were in the area for only two days, we loved our visit at the local wineries & Biltmore Estate in Asheville, and will definitely be back soon! Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable!!


Great Anniversary celebration location

4.6 on June 04, 2012

Very good experience for us. Great service and accommodations. Amy was our server a breakfast and helped us in our day travel activities. Restful.


Spring holiday in Tryon NC

4.6 on May 24, 2012

The Pine Crest Inn is a wonderful inn in a charming town in the foothills of the mountains. Everyone was very friendly and nice- the wait staff and the innkeepers! We hope to return for more pampering and relax in the rocking chairs on the front porch and walk to the town for lunch and travel to Saluda for dinner!


What a Fabulous Inn!

5 on May 06, 2012

This inn was the best I've ever stayed at. It was a beautiful little village of cottages. And the breakfast was wonderful! Bacon, grits and eggs, YUM! They even let us take our last breakfast to go because we we're catching a plane in Greenville. The front desk was amazing and gave us anything we needed, silverware, etc. to take back to our room. They got whatever movies we wanted to watch. The main is house is beautiful and very welcoming. Thanks for the sherry and port and great cookies. We stayed in the Kent room which was an upgrade than what we originally booked, a very nice surprise. I can't say enough how wonderful everyone was and how beautiful this property is. We loved playing bean bag toss in the front yard and just walking around the property. Stay here!! You will not be disappointed. I am definitely coming back here.


Outstanding

5 on April 09, 2012

from the moment you enter the main building to checkout you are made to feel that you are part of the family not a guest. The rooms are spacious and comfortable,the grounds are just beautiful. The staff here is so pleasant and warm you hate to check out. I would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation its everything you could ask for and much more


Great trip tp the Pine Crest Inn

4.0 on March 06, 2012

We stayed at the Pine Crest In and had a wonderful tipe. The service was great, the food was very tasty and we loved the Treehouse cottage. Will go Back soon. It was beautiful.


Our xmas getaway was great!

3.6 on January 03, 2012

Our xmas stay in swayback cabin was pretty perfect...we really loved having our own little "cabin" to make our home for a couple of days yet close enough to the main inn, in case we needed anything. Swayback was adorable...with a perfect fireplace with plenty of wood to keep us warm all weekend! I do wish the restaurant at the inn was a bit more appealing. It was good, but nothing too special either + I heard that they no longer serve dinner at all. We didn't know this until we got there so were a bit out of luck to find dinner, especially over the holiday. I would love to see the inn invest in their restaurant - a creative chef + more options would really bring it to the next level. I could visualize a wedding or reunion here...my husband + i even talked about renewing our wedding vows there someday - plenty of space for lots of people + beautiful surroundings! We definitely look forward to returning to Pine Crest in + to our little Swayback! DNA


Charm, Grace, Warmth, and History

5 on November 14, 2011

My visit to this Inn was on the way to Asheville to take the Christmas tour at Biltmore. My stay trumped that tour! Wish I had done the Biltmore first. I had more fun in Tryon - the food, wine and cozy room ended up being the highlight of this trip to North Carolina. If you are into amazing B&B's, this place is such a find in a beautiful location at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. On the Select Registry Distinguished Inns of North America, this property was once a favorite a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway. If you are a wine and food lover, you are in for a treat at Carter's. This small exquisite restaurant is a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence recipient at the second tier level, which is much rarer than the first tier. I was so surprised to find such an extensive wine list and such an outstanding restaurant in a location that is not in a big city.


great place

4.0 on October 30, 2011

The greatest place I've been to and one of the best service.


Enjoyed the Peace and Friendliness

3.6 on October 25, 2011

Our stay was pleasant and enjoyed a glass of wine on the front porch in the company of two very friendly cats. The history of Pine Crest Inn it is a little unusual and very interesting. Breakfast was definitely a treat. Our stop in Tryon was a plus on our trip.


Disappointing...

1.6 on October 24, 2011

Room was dirty. No updating has been done for a long time. Lamp was missing a light bulb. No shampoo/conditioner or any type of turn-down service. In other words, no extras and not some of the basics. I made reservations expecting to have a wonderful dinner on site, as advertised on the website. However, currently no dinner meal is available. Very disappointing.

Innkeeper Response
Everyone at the 1906 Pine Crest Inn takes great pride in making every aspect of a stay with us a wonderful experience, so we are deeply concerned anytime a guest has a less than expected experience, such as the one this reviewer described.  While their experience is thankfully not the norm, we did complete a half million dollar renovation of the property in the winter of 2011. We want our guests to notify us of their concerns during their stay so that we can happily & fully address them. We hope this reviewer has a chance to read this response and can plan a return visit one day to see the wonderful changes & improvements to our historic property. We want to exceed the expectations of all our guests.


A cozy and friendly inn not far from Asheville.

4.0 on October 19, 2011

This was a cozy, friendly and picturesque inn 30 miles south of Asheville near the SC border. The setting and landscaping of the property were lovely. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. Best of all was the 3 course breakfast which was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend this inn for travelers in western NC.


Good for a relaxing weekend

4.0 on October 10, 2011

We recently stayed looking for a nice relaxing get away. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome for the moment we arrived. Our room was very nice and comfortable - I was a little nervous since we had never stayed there and had booked based on internet photos - but our room was absolutely wonderful and just as lovely as the internet photos we had seen. I was very impressed by the complimentary breakfast a great way to start each day and the food and service was wonderful. Overall we had a great stay, if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing retreat, this is it. My only complaint was that they are really stingy on the toiletries (shampoo & soap) - thankfully I had brought some of my own since they didn't provide it on a daily basis or refresh the supply for most of our visit - strangely enough the towel service was quite goood and I was quite happy they kept up with a fresh supply of towels for us. The only other concern is that they need to invest in some new sheets since the elastic on the fitted sheets is shot and they sheets don't stay on the bed which I found a little annoying - but overall the bed was very comfortable. I found this to be a good place for a weekend retreat and would definitely recommend it and will likely go back again, with a few minor tweeks I think they could flip the switch from good to great!


Rustic and charming

2.6 on September 29, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of a cross-country trip and had just comes off the Blue Ridge Parkway. A liitle further out of Asheville than we had expected but no problem. We also expected dinner to be served but it was not but they did recommend a good local restaurant a few minutes away.


More than I expected.

4.6 on September 28, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised. I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast also I have seen many pictures. This location is over 100 years old. I wanted to have a special weekend for myself and my wife. Although she was very excited I had my concerns considering it's paige and the fact I have never done this. But after the weekend I have nothing but 5 stars for this place. The property and all the buildings are in great shape. The staff was incredibly accommodating and the rooms were superbly clean. The property itself was beautifully landscaped. We spent several hours just walking around the property. I highly recommend this place for anybody who is in the area and wants to stay there or if you're looking for someplace small and quaint this is definitely it!


A quiet location.

4.4 on September 08, 2011

Pine Crest Inn was a nice quiet Inn in the middle of western Carolina. We enjoyed the quiet solitude and the friendly faces of the staff at Pine Crest Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and directed us to some great waterfalls and tourist attraction.


Our Recent Stay

2.6 on August 27, 2011

We've stayed at the Pine Crest many times over the years and have always enjoyed it. One of our favorite things about the Pine Crest has always been the restaurant but we were very disappointed on our most recent visit to find out the restaurant was not open for dinner. It was our 25th anniversary and we were very disappointed that we had to make alternate dinner plans. I guess we should have made sure in advance but had no idea the restaurant might be closed since it is still listed on the website. We did not find out until the day of our arrival.


Wonderful B&B and Beyond

5 on August 18, 2011

My husband and I went to the 1906 Pine Crest Inn for our honeymoon retreat. We didn't have a full week, but the staff and quiet setting made it feel like we did. The staff is so friendly; the grounds are beautiful; and the peacefulness is ideal for any traveler. It's within 30-60 minutes of several tourist area (we visisted Chimney Rock Park and the Carl Sandburg House). We even had a picnic lunch for a reasonable fee when we went. This place is truly wonderful, and my husband and I are looking forward to returning soon.


Pine Crest Inn Visit Celebrating 25 yr anniversary

5 on August 10, 2011

We first visited the Pine Crest Inn 15 years ago and decided to go back and celebrate our 25th anniversary. We were able to rent the same room and it was really special staying their the second time. Breakfast was fabulous. The restaurant was not opened for dinner. Their chef had to stop working due to young children they needed to take care of. Whoever was cooking the breakfast did a great job. The choices offered were very unique. The waiter and waitress were very attentive and gave suggestions on places to eat for dinner. We will definitely visit again.


I had high expectations and they were greatly exceeded

5 on August 08, 2011

This was the first time I have stayed at a bed and breakfast. Now I don't ever want to room in a hotel again! I made reservations for the inn online through BedandBreakfast.com using gift certificates and it was quite easy to use the website and take advantage of the offers. The room was to celebrate our honeymoon, but we left later than expected. We called enroute to guarantee a later check-in and were informed that we were upgraded to a larger room at no charge. This was indicative of the great level of service yet to come. While the room was a great value and clean, it had anmeties not available in upscale hotels I have recently visited - complimentary bottled water, wireless Internet, and robes for use in the room. What set the inn apart was the level of service we received. Our breakfast server was first-class, the staff genuinely was interested to hear about our impressions of the accomodations and grounds, and the food was excellent! We got helpful recommendations for dining options and places to visit in town and the surrounding area. I understand why this is a diamond-level establishment and AAA top-rated as well.


Wonderful service and lovely grounds

5 on August 03, 2011

We loved our stay at the Pine Crest Inn. The breakfast was wonderful, our room comfortable, and the staff got us everything we wanted. We also learned more about fox hunting in NC than we imagined existed!


Nice getaway

3.2 on June 28, 2011

I felt like we stepped back in time a little, but with the benefits of the current times. It felt like an luxurious old west hotel. The food was very good, but the restaurant is not always open, which is a disappointment for the dinner hour.


Pine Crest

3.2 on June 26, 2011

Lovely place. Relaxing and calm. Breakfast lovely. Dining room was not open for dinner when we visited. Staff very friendly and helpful.


Delightful bed and breakfast!

5 on June 22, 2011

We were drawn to this property on our recent visit to Asheville, having a bedandbreakfast.com gift card to use toward our reservation. The first clue that this would be a memorable visit was the upgraded room upon our arrival. The clerk was attentive, courteous and very helpful. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch of our English cottage and listened to a gentle rain shower. The Jacuzzi before dinner was very relaxing. The Southside Smokehouse a few miles away was a terrific location for dinner. The room itself was clean and comfortable in an unpretentious way with all of the needed amenities. The wireless worked great. The following morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with a choice of entrees. The servers in the dining room were very good. We enjoyed sitting in the library of this well appointed main building prior to our departure. All in all it was a charming, relaxing and most enjoyable stay! We would definitely return. Tim and Laurie Burdo, Pottersville, NJ


Highlight of our trip..

3.8 on June 15, 2011

We stayed at the Pine Crest Inn while participating in a craft show in Tryon. The B&B was by far the best part of our Tryon experience. The service was great and the food was excellent. The driveways and parking were a little difficult to navigate in a large SUV, and overall the place could use a little spring cleaning... but it was charming and quiet.


Pine Crest Inn Review

4.6 on June 05, 2011

We came for our anniversary and it was a wonderful escape, exactly what we wanted.


Great Place to Stay!

4.0 on June 05, 2011

I never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. It was nice. Unfortunately, it was too hot for me to try out the rocking chairs outside. Next time, I'll go when it's not so hot. We had a small issue of ants in the bathroom, but that sometimes is unavoidable.


Feels like home

5 on May 31, 2011

When ever I am in the area this is where I love to stay. It is comfortable, the staff are so nice, and the morning coffee helps starts my day with a smile.


GREAT PLACE!

4.0 on May 22, 2011

Only got to stay one night but it was very enjoyable. They had upgraded us to a larger room before we arrived! Service was excellent. My only regret was that the dining room was not open. Breakfast however was excellent. We come back at next opportuntiy.


Lovely Mountain Getaway

4.4 on May 11, 2011

1906 Pine Crest Inn is an incredible gem tucked away on the NC/SC border. The grounds are well kept and three resident cats will greet you for a morning or evening ear scratch if you are lucky. The rustic elegance of the Pine Crest is wonderful for an anniversary celebration, honeymoon, or even just a weekend getaway from hectic city life.


Weekend at a Friend's Wedding

4.8 on May 04, 2011

We were in a last minute pinch to find accommodations for a wedding that was at the Cliff's of Glassy. Nothing in the area. Did a search for B&B and found the Pince Crest Inn. Lovely place to stay with friendly and accommodation staff. Spent the morning riding in the mountains near Lake Lure back in time to change and make it to an afternoon wedding. Would have loved to been able to see more of the downtown Tryon area! Would stay there again if we are in the area.


Pine Crest Inn

5 on April 20, 2011

We LOVE Pine Crest Inn this was our second time there and we will go back!! Craig and Amy House


Spring in Tryon

4.0 on April 17, 2011

Pine Crest Inn and Tryon are a wonderful place to be in early Spring. Staff was great and we will return.


It was a good stay.

4.2 on April 13, 2011

We stayed in one of the original cabins. The grounds were very nice, we walked to a nice restaurant, the people were all very friendly. For what we paid and what it is it was a good value.


Wonderful!

4.4 on April 07, 2011

Beautiful setting, comfortable room and outstanding service made for an excellent trip to North Carolina.


Nice Weekend in Tryon and Pine Crest Inn

3.8 on February 16, 2011

My husband and I spent a really nice Valentines weekend at the Pine Crest Inn. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed in the Pine Room in the Inn itself. The room was comfortable and spacious with a great view of the mountains. However, the bathroom really needed some updating because the toilet ran and the shower walls were pulling away from the wall. I did not care for the green linoleum floor either. The other thing about this particular room is that it is above the dining room. So, unfortunately, we could hear the music being played and the vacuum cleaners up until 11:00 pm on Saturday night. We ate dinner at the Inn our first night and it was a set dinner menu. The chef was very creative and used a lot of interesting ingredients and flavors. The breakfast each morning was really tasty and the service was excellent. All in all we really enjoyed our stay.


Great B&B

4.6 on February 16, 2011

Great room, great bed, fireplace was a definite plus, wonderful ambience, and the cats were a very friendly bunch of critters who met us at the car and followed us inside. We will definitely be back!!


They're still the best even though the chef was sick!

4.6 on December 28, 2010

wonderful, marvelous and spooky, exactly what we expected because we've stayed there before. This year we were in the Treetop Cottage, perfect for the three of us.


Pinecrest Inn

3.8 on December 19, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. It was very warm and comfortable with a lot of character.


Autumn weekend getaway

4.0 on October 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Acorn room. It was cozy and clean and very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice and clean. The staff at the inn were friendly and the setting was lovely. We enjoyed our stay very much!


Outstanding Inn by far!

5 on September 26, 2010

My husband and I went to the Inn as a suggestion from friends that have stayed several times and boy were we glad we did. They weren't kidding when they said how peaceful, relaxing and welcoming you will feel when you are there. It's just what we needed! We had a wonderful experience, from the service at the front desk check-in, to the beautiful and luxurious feel of the room (we stayed in the Windsor room), and my favorite part was the yummy food! I was also glad to be able to bring home a souvenir from their gift shop, a mug with their logo. So if i can also pass along my suggestion...go for the ambiance in the dining room, the peacefulness on the porch rocking chairs overlooking the mountains, the friendly staff available and ready to serve, and the delicious bountiful breakfast before departing. You will be glad you did!!


weekend stay

3.4 on September 26, 2010

rustic log cabin, very nice grounds, very friendly staff. Dining was challenging as with many small kitchens they ran out of a lot of the menu items. What was available was excdllent.


Wonderful September weekend

5 on September 23, 2010

The weekend experience was superb. The facility is well maintained. The grounds are cozy. The staff is well trained. The food service and quality is four diamond. This is a first class venue; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again and again. Anonymous Mt. Pleasant, SC


Charming Inn & Staff!

4.6 on August 29, 2010

My wife and I loved our stay at Pine Crest Inn! The staff were so polite and friendly, our room was very clean and charming, and the food was excellent. One warning, the breakfast portions are so generous (and delicious) that it will ruin your lunch appetite. This quiet and romantic B&B is ideal for couples who need a break. We loved it!


Wonderful Getaway

4.8 on March 18, 2010

We stayed at the Pine Crest Inn in January of 2009. What a wonderful getaway. My twin sister and her husband joined us. We explored the grounds and cottages and discussed which one we would like to stay in next. They are all so cozy. The restaurant was probably the highlight of our stay. The food was phenomenal and the staff was excellent. And when I say staff, I mean every employee we met. No one could go wrong staying at Pine Crest Inn and Restaurant.


amazing

5 on January 07, 2009

The room was beautiful, the staff very courteous, gracious, helpful and classy, and the meals simply out of this world. Never had a better experience.


First Timers

4.4 on January 06, 2009

Having booked the Romance and Relaxation Package for two nights on New Year's Eve, a very good bottle of Chardonnay awaited us in our warm and comfortable Devon room. Prior to check-in, Linda from the Front Desk arranged for my husband and I, a 1/2 hour massage at Essence Day Spa just down the road from the Inn. The massage was very reasonably priced and just what we needed after the 4 hour drive from Myrtle Beach. Dinner was part of the Package deal(actually a $75 voucher was issued at check-in) and was very delicious, especially the appetizer-Escargot in a puff pastry...Yumm! Breakfast was also very good and quite filling. You were given 2 main choices or eggs prepared any way you like, plus sausage or bacon(we chose the bacon both days bc. it was so good). Excellent pancakes and crab omelet, plus a fruit plate was automatically included, which was a nice touch. The whole staff was very friendly and gracious. Our visit to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville was an easy 50 minute drive from the Inn, and what an awesome day trip that was...I'm still breathless! My husband and I will definitely be back to this beautiful mountain area and the 1906 Pinecrest Inn will be at the top of our list for places to stay. Bonnie and Jeff S.


Outstanding Experience

4.8 on October 27, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed 1 night at the Pine Crest Inn and we had an outstanding experience. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were checked in promptly. We stayed in the "Chestnut Room" (more like a suite) at the Oak Cottage. Plenty of space and a very interesting floorplan. The furnishings and decor were beautiful but still very cozy and comfortable...just what we look for in a B&B/Inn. We took a stroll around the property and were amazed at the diversity of room types one may choose from...each offering a totally different experience. The grounds were in great shape with beautiful flowers and trees, the gazebo, footpaths, the covered veranda alongside the main house - all in all, a beautiful property. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant that evening. My wife is a vegetarian, and she considered the pasta dish, but we opted to see how the chef would respond to our request for a "vegetarian alternative". We were not disappointed. The chef gathered vegetables, starches, and two wonderful sauces to create a beautifully presented dish. My trout almondine was the perfect blend of crisp and tender...the savory reduction over the roasted potatoes was also excellent. The Innkeeper, Mr. Caudle, actually helped us select a very nice dessert wine to accompany the (better than expected) cheesecake we shared. A nightcap in the Fox'n'Hounds rounded out the evening perfectly. After a very quiet, comfortable nights sleep, we experienced a wonderful breakfast the next morning. A warm, fluffy omelette with diced tomatoes and mushrooms, applewood smoked bacon, fresh berries and melon, toast with butter & preserves, perfect coffee, and fresh juice - one of the best breakfasts we've had in our B&B travels. During out stay, it was obvious to us the Innkeeper and his staff have taken the time and care to ensure guests have an exceptional experience here. We certainly did! We will return to the Pine Crest Inn, and we will recommend it to others.


Wonderful Stay! Five Stars!

5 on August 06, 2008

The inn is a just south of Hendersonville, and maybe 30- minutes south of Asheville. Tryon and Hendersonville offer great antiquing and small town atmosphere while still being close to Asheville. The Pine Crest Inn is the nicest bed and breakfast experience I have ever had! First, the quality in the details of our room made it clear that the owners care about offering an honestly good stay. Our room had a fresh, new feel, yet was soothing and cozy at the same time. The furniture was comfortable and nice; lighting was thoughtfully placed, and the bedding was great! We could enjoy the fire in the gas fireplace from the uber-comfy king-sized bed! Next. I want to express gratitude to Laurie, the young lady who staffed the guest services desk. Laurie found that the door lock was not working properly in our reserved 149/night “Kent” room. After discussing a couple of other options, Laurie said that since we had “trouble” (no trouble!) checking-in she would take care of us and surprised us by putting us in the 279/night “Windsor” room, a gorgeous room, and one-heck of an upgrade! Then, she sent us a complimentary bottle of wine and some fresh cookies, and then asked if we were happy! We have not had over-the-top treatment like that in a long time. Laurie made us feel like celebrities. The quality found everywhere in the details at the Pine Crest Inn and Laurie’s over-the-top customer service speak loudly about the Caudle family’s apparent wish to honestly offer a very nice inn. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Oh, the food was great, too! Sincerely, Mike W. Orlando, Fl


A WONDERFUL Anniversary!!!

5 on March 22, 2008

My wife and I had one of the most wonderful anniversaries in recent memory thanks to the Pine Crest Inn!! Between the kindness of the staff, charm of the property, and talents of the chefs in the kitchen, we couldn't have dreamed a better weekend. Thank you so much!!!


Loved the Pine Crest Inn

5 on March 04, 2008

We wanted to express our gratitude here, after having read some negative reviews, for the wonderful hospitality shown to us at the Pine Crest Inn this past November. We want everyone to know that our experiences there couldn't have been better, and we suspect the authors of those reviews must be people you just can't please! Since we've recently retired, we were elated to finally be able to travel last year, escape the crowds of South FL, and see the beauty of the NC mountains! The staff at the Pine Crest Inn were so helpful in pointing us in the direction of fun things to do, and breathtaking hikes in the mountains. It was a little challenging hiking to some of the more remote waterfalls, since we're out of shape and used to flat land, but well worth it! They were just spectacular! We also thoroughly enjoyed a wine tasting one evening that the innkeeper held in one of their two dining rooms. He has assembled a fabulous wine program and his passion for wine was obvious as he guided us through the wines, sharing both education and excitement along the way. We stayed for dinner after the wine tasting and found the food and service to be equally wonderfully. As an example, my wife ordered a dish but asked to have a different sauce used instead of what was on the menu. Our server checked and said the kitchen would be happy to accommodate us. Not only was the substitution excellent, the chef came out during dessert to inquire if she had met our needs. She did and then some!!! Our accommodations at The Pine Crest Inn couldn't have been nicer either! The room was extremely clean, the furnishings and décor were very tasteful and comfortable, and when combined with the fabulous customer service, we felt like we were truly being pampered! Now that's what a vacation is supposed to be like! Thank you to everyone at The Pine Crest Inn¿not only will we be back, but our friends and family will no doubt be visiting soon too!


The Two Best Restaurants in NC

4.0 on January 22, 2008

The Pine Crest Inn was recommended to us by a friend in the area and exceeded our expectations. This intimate restaurant should be at the top of the list of every “best dining” and “best wine selection” establishment in the southeast. If you want a great steak, go to the Angus Barn; they are famous for them. But if you want a memorable dining experience, then the Pine Crest Inn is worth the trip. My wife enjoyed a “tantalizing” duckling and I had pork medallions that were so tender I used my fork to cut them. Carl, the owner, has created a wine list that is the second largest in the Carolinas and has received the coveted Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. We had a difficult time choosing and finally succumbed to the owner’s recommendation. There could not have been a better compliment to our respective entrees. The food, wine, and the exceptional service made for a memorable dining experience. This exceptional restaurant located in a quaint historic country inn is worth a visit. They also have an assortment of rooms, suites, and cottages available. What a relief to be able to have such an incredible meal, celebrate with a very special bottle of wine, and not have to worry about driving at the end of the evening. Thank you for making our trip truly memorable! We will be back!


Fabulous Weekend at the Pine Crest Inn

5 on January 20, 2008

We were looking for a quick weekend getaway and came across the Pine Crest Inn on the Internet. We had nothing but wonderful experiences during our stay, from the ambiance of the room (Windsor) with a cozy fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and one of the most magnificent beds we have ever slept in, to the exceptional service and hospitality at the front desk and from the innkeeper, to the quiet and picturesque grounds and country setting, to the wonderful afternoon tea, evening port & sherry, and again, the exceptional customer service! Our room was extremely clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated and felt absolutely sumptuous after a day of hiking waterfalls in the area and nearby Chimney Rock Park and Lake Lure. So many fun and interesting things to see and do in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. We arrived late the first night so we didn't get to have dinner and what a mistake that was. Saturday night we ate in the Pine Crest's dining room and had a wonderful experience. The menu was a delightful blend of classic choices such as Fillet Mignon, fresh seafood (Black Carolina Grouper, Atlantic Grilled Salmon, & NC Mountain Rainbow Trout on this night) and some very creative dishes (an organic quail/chicken/turkey roulade). I ordered the Black Angus Fillet Mignon (MR of course) and it may have the most tender, flavorful piece of beef I have ever eaten. My husband had the grouper and it was perfectly cooked with a delightful sauce and an array of beautiful fresh vegetables. The service was excellent and the wine list was the largest I've ever seen and we selected a nice bottle of Syrah, but their selection of single-malt scotch was what really impressed us. My husband loves great scotch and found several selections he hadn't seen anywhere else. I highly recommend the Pine Crest Inn! It is a remarkably pleasant change from the ordinary. We hated to leave and most definitely will be back!!


Perfect for Training Course!

4.0 on January 01, 2008

We used the Pine Crest for our 7 day intensive training. It was the perfect location, any request was met with a "yes", the food was excellent! It was quiet, pleasant and had a country elegance. We are comming back for our next training!


Excellent for our first anniversary!

3.6 on December 14, 2007

My wife and spent our first anniversary (two nights in mid June 2006)in the Swayback cabin. The cabin is located a short walk from the main buildings and has private parking right outside the door. We loved the privacy. The food was mediocre but sufficed. There are plenty a wonderful restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive. However a few were closed on Sunday so check before you go. In conclusion we will defitely stay in the Swayback cabin again.


Great Food

3.2 on November 07, 2007

The setting is beatiful and the food was quite good, but overall I found this inn to be dissapointing. While I'll admit that I would prefer rustic/quaint/homey over the luxury hotel setup of the Pine Crest, I felt that the service and the rooms themselves was not worth the high price.


Avoid this inn!

1.4 on October 31, 2007

Internet did not work; they did not care. We were asked to reserve a time for breakfast, but they made us wait thirty minutes when we arrived on time; told us to have coffee in the living room, but the coffee urn was empty. Thirty minutes later, they sat people who just walked in while we were still waiting. They promised our room would by cleaned by 1pm, but it had not been touched when we came back at 3pm. Need I go on? They just kept apologizing, very nicely, but fixed absolutely nothing. don't go there if you expect any kind of service or amenities. A large tour group on the second day caused us to have to wait again a long time for breakfast. Again, lukewarm coffee, dried out toasts,etc... Then they charged us nearly one thousand dollars for two nights!

Innkeeper Response
As the Owner, Innkeeper, & General Manager of this beautiful, historic property with a long history of outstanding customer service, I am very troubled & take very seriously anytime a guest has a less than expected experience. I know I also speak for the 25+ team members at the 1906 Pine Crest Inn & Restaurant that work tirelessly to provide outstanding Southern hospitality & take great pride in our many distinguished awards & service-related magazine articles & other recognitions they have worked so hard to receive. That said, this review is NOT truthful or remotely accurate & this guest was abusive to my staff from the moment he arrived. I can also speak at length about his claimed Internet problems with his Apple Powerbook as I spent 16 years in the networking technology industry before moving to the hospitality world. For the record, we do have complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. If you want ALL the details of this guests' experience, please feel free to call me personally at the inn. I will also provide you with the name & phone number of this guest. A 5 minute conversation with this individual will tell you all that you need to know about the validity of this review. Sincerely, Carl Caudle


Perfect!

5 on September 13, 2007

Beautifully decorated, all of the comforts of home and then some (not the least of which was the "gourmet" food).


Honeymoon

4.8 on December 26, 2006

We just spent 4 nights at the SwayBack cabin. This was my first expereince in at Inn / Bed and Breakfast. It was great! The staff was so friendly and helpful ( Thanks Linda and Johnny). We will be going back!


1906 Pine Crest Inn & Restaurant

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $625
  • Reviews (69) 4.3
  • Rooms 35
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8288599135
  • Fax 1-8288599136
  • Toll free 1-8006333001

Visit Website »

View details

Top