Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

Be pampered and enjoy

4.0 on June 12, 2016

Stayed 2 nights wonderful beautiful B&B spent some time reading and sitting on the wrap around porch where we were served the most wonderful breakfast, please check out her recipes. The Harris room was so comfy, large living /dining area. Donna spoils you with homemade treats. Chis and Donna are great host. If we are in the area this is where we will stay. Just about 5 minutes from down town but you could walk. So quiet. No air needed. on 1-10 it's a 30. thanks for the pleasure of sharing your Inn. We stayed June 10-12-2016


Great stay for our anniversary

5 on July 12, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary, and greatly enjoyed it. Donna and Chris were welcoming hosts. The room (Audubon) was clean and beautifully decorated, and everything was provided. The owners provided plenty of amenities (tea, lemon bars) and lots of information about things to do in the area and directions to get around. Breakfast was delicious, and we could dine indoors or outdoors. The dining room has a large picture window with a bird feeder, and we spent most of breakfast chatting with Chris or watching birds (including a species I hadn't seen before) and chipmunks. We would certainly visit here again.


Great Stay

5 on November 02, 2013

Best vacation ever! Donna and Chris were a great help in guiding us what to see and where to go. Donna is a great cook!


another relaxing stay...

5 on June 01, 2012

We've been to the Colonial Pines several times and will in the future. The inn is immaculate and the rooms are charming. Chris and Donna make us feel right at home.


Wonderful Host and Hostess at Colonial Pines

5 on June 23, 2011

We are in our late 60s and have stayed at many B&Bs across the country. Our experience at Colonial Pines was among the best. We read many reviews before selecting Colonial Pines and the fact Chris and Donna have owned this B&B for more than 25 years, sold us on giving it a try. We stayed in the Guest House, which is next to the main home. It was fantastic. It gave us more room than a typical B&B room since it had seperate dining and living area - it was very cozy. The location was ideal not too close to town but within walking distance. Donna is a wonderful cook and we enjoyed every breakfast along with the snacks and drinks in the afternoon. We had the opportunity to view most of the rooms and they are all wonderful. Several have TVs. So keep that in mind if this is important to you. What we liked best: There was no air condioners and you could hear nature so clearly. We slept with our windows opened and had to use a blanket one night - it was wonderful. The mattress and pillows were wondeful. We enjoyed interacting with Chris and Donna and truly felt like we were at home. What you see on their website is what you get. This was our first trip to Highlands and we plan to return at least once each year staying at Colonial Pines.


I'm SOLD on Colonial Pines

5 on May 27, 2011

We decided to spend the evening in the Highlands and selected the Colonial Pine for our stay. We couldn't have made a better choice. It was relaxing, friendly, neat, clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay again and we recommend it to anyone visiting The Highlands. We just didn't want to leave!! Bob & Harriet.


Just What We Needed

4.8 on March 27, 2011

The first quarter this year has been really hectic and stressful. We knew we needed head to Highlands, NC and the Colonial Pines Inn "fix". As always, it worked. As soon as we stepped into the inn, all of our stress melted away. We have been visiting Colonial Pines Inn at least twice a year for the last 5 years. It is our mountain retreat. Each time, we are planning our return trip soon after we arrive. Chris and Donna, the innkeepers, are such wonderful hosts, making us feel at home every time we visit. They are so eager to provide the very best experience, with great success. The inn is so warm, cozy, well maintained and very clean. Donna serves to-die-for breakfasts in addition to special afternoon treats. Can you tell we like this place? Definitely a destination vacation.


What a Great Experience

5 on December 06, 2010

My wife and I had never stayed in a bed & breakfast here in the States (we are retired military and frugal) until this week when we lucked out and spent 3 nights at the Colonial Pines Inn in Highlands, NC. Wow, what a great experience! The room was spotless, rustic, cozy, charming and comfortable, and the common areas (fireplace and seating area, dining room, and pantry with 24 hour snacks) were also well-appointed, homey, and inviting. The gourmet breakfasts were exceptional and the proprietors, Chris and Donna Alley, were perfect hosts, anxious to meet every need and offer great advice on what to do and see in Highlands. The rates were very reasonable, especially when compared to other nearby B&Bs. We are planning to return in the early summer and we can strongly recommend the Colonial Pines Inn without any hesitation.


Comforts of Home

5 on November 28, 2010

Staying at Colonial Pines is always a wonderful experience. We've stayed there many times and hope to stay there again next summer.


Perfect mountain getaway!

5 on November 20, 2010

Donna and Chris treat you like family at this wonderful bed and breakfast! My husband and I have been staying there for years and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. The house is so cozy, the rooms delightful and comfortable, and breakfasts are amazing! Donna creates the most delicious breakfast casseroles. Along with fruit, special breads and other delectable sides, your plate is full and you are set well past lunch time. (My husband and I usually just grab a treat from Kilwins about 3:00.) Donna and Chris are wonderful hosts and know the area well, so they can help you select the perfect activity of the many the area offers. Or, you can just sit by the fire, read, and enjoy cookies or other snacks and beverages that are complimentary and available 24 hours a day. When dinner time comes, they can recommend the perfect restaurant to fit your cravings. They even have a notebook of menues from area establishments. My husband and I love Colonial Pines and know we'll experience a perfect stay each time we visit. The Greens


WHAT A FABULOUS GETAWAY!!

5 on November 19, 2010

We can't express our thanks to Donna and Chris enough! We arrived in need of a little peace and quiet and left relaxed and refreshed! Everything from the kind and warm welcome to our fabulous room were treat enough, but add the scrumpuous breakfast and magnificent view from the porch swing....Need I say more! Definitely on our list do do again and again!


Charming & Cozy

5 on November 18, 2010

This inn has a warm and cozy atmosphere. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, charming, and comfortable--the best night's sleep I've had in a while. The breakfast was superb with a variety of fruit, fresh breads, and egg casserole. All of this was only exceeded by the friendly and accommodating owners, Donna & Chris. Thanks for providing us with a wonderful place to stay when we visit Highlands!


This is a keeper...wonderful to visit in any season!!

5 on November 17, 2010

Stayed at Colonial Pines Inn this fall for several days and loved it! I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this one is on the top of my list! It is very nicely decorated, clean, and cozy with super comfortable beds. Donna and Chris are extra-friendly innkeepers and serve wonderful breakfasts - something different every day! Love the town of Highlands and all the great hiking, shopping, and eating arounds there! I would highly recommend!


Warm and charming

5 on November 16, 2010

Wonderfully decorated inn cozy inn with an amazing porch and view The breakfast was delicious and hearty enough to skip lunch. Quick and pretty walk to town.


Lovely outside, BUT

1.6 on August 27, 2010

The rooms, including the small apartment located outside the inn proper, are barely large enough to turn around in. There is a pervasive musty, not-quite-clean smell in all areas except the dining area. The bedding and baths were clean but the old carpet or whatever the cause of the odor needs to be fixed. As far as the ambience, the outside porch was lovely with its swings and tables and chairs. The proximity to town and the excellent restaurants and shopping there is nice. The hostess at the nicest restaurant we dined while there asked where we were staying. When we told her she wrinkled her nose but made no comment. Oh, almost forgot food. The breakfasts consist of either egg casserole and a breakfast meat or French toast. If you have a special request, make it in writing or it might go ignored as mine did. Musty, old, overpriced for what you get.

Innkeeper Response
Accommodations at Colonial Pines come with a full guarantee. It is our top priority to make sure that all of our guests are satisfied and I sincerely apologize that this was not the case for you. If our Inn does not meet your expectations, our policy is to offer a refund and help you find another place, or do anything possible to make you a happy guest. Colonial Pines is a small, family-owned B&B in a simply furnished mountain farmhouse converted to an inn 50 years ago. In summer and fall, the windows are open to catch fresh mountain breezes. There are a variety of accommodations including small and large rooms from $90 to $160 per night with mid-week and off-season discounts. A full hearty breakfast is included featuring home-made dishes such as Potato Bacon Casserole, Southwestern Herbed Eggs, Italian Sausage Casserole, Corn Flan, or Cranberry-Blueberry Cream Cheese French Toast. Bacon, ham or sausage is served with bowls of fresh fruit, my homemade breads such as Apple-Oatmeal Bread, Pumpkin-Cranberry Bread or Lemon Buttermilk Bread along with whole grain toast, coffee, tea & juice. Also included are unlimited refreshments from our Guest Pantry such as beverages, trail mix, sweets & sherry. I love cooking and will gladly accommodate special diets but we are not a full-service restaurant and must prepare for these requests ahead of time. I strive to make breakfast a special time for everyone, so please accept my sincerest apologies for not accommodating your dietary request. My husband Chris & I live in the Inn, and we are always available to answer questions, make dinner reservations, provide directions & maps, and help with special situations. Tell us what you need, and we will do everything we can to make your stay exceptional.


Wonderful hosts

5 on July 28, 2010

Innkeepers Donna and Chris are wonderful hosts. They are warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and very good cooks. They were helpful with restaurant info and reservations and willingly answered our questions about the area. It was tempting to spend our 2 days in the porch rockers enjoying the cool breezes, but the nearby activities called us away. We would definitely stay at Colonial Pines again.


Not many others could be better than this one

4.8 on April 29, 2010

Last August, in our first visit to the Highlands, NC, my wife and I surely had the pleasure of a 3 day stay in what has to be a near perfect B&B. Our purpose was to see the many features of the area and to attend the well known weekend concerts. Before now I have never written a review and, if I had, I would never have used the superlatives indicated. Quiet, easy walking distance to the concert hall, and the town. Delicious, no rushed morning breakfasts, clean, comfortable places to rest, read or converse during down times, all day snacks. The innkeepers surely are experts in knowing how to provide a feel at home atmosphere.


Review From October 22, 2009 stay

5 on November 10, 2009

Donna & Chris were the perfect hosts. The country breakfast was fabulous each day, and we met many new friends on our three night stay. The Inn was beautiful and relaxing. We recommend the Inn to anyone who wants to have a relaxing and pleasant get-a-way. Michael & Linda Scarbrough, Atlanta, GA


Excellent place to stay

4.2 on July 17, 2008

Very clean, nice place with hosts to match.


June weekend

5 on June 08, 2008

Breakfast was off the chart good. Donna and Chris are excellent hosts and may our stay very pleasant.


Mountain Retreat at its Best

5 on June 02, 2008

We have stayed at Colonial Pines several times over the years and now make it an annual trip to this lovely B&B run by 2 wonderful people! The rooms are charming, great mountain views, wrap around porch and sumptuous breakfasts (a wonderful way to send you out on your day!). Looking forward to going back later in the summer to celebrate my 50th BD iwth my husband and friends!


Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8285262060

Visit Website »

View details

Top