The King's Daughters Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

A+

4.4 on May 06, 2012

Accommodations excellent. Owner could not have been more hospitable.


Luxury B&B

5 on March 16, 2012

Everything is impeccable here! Elegant rooms, breakfast cooked to order, afternoon tea, and in the heart of downtown.


Beautiful property /Knowledgeable Host

4.0 on January 28, 2012

A birthday celebration for 4 sisters was held at this property. Beautiful furnishings, the breakfast was outstanding and the B&B host extremely knowledgeable about the property and surrounding area. We will definitely be back!


We were spoiled

4.6 on August 14, 2011

My husband and I were in town to see Durham and decide if we want to move there. Loved our stay. Everyone was super friendly and we felt spoiled by the turn down service with wine and chocolates, the comfy robes after our showers and the responsiveness to our needs. Although we were only able to try breakfast one morning (since we had two early starts and missed breakfast), what we did had was delicious and the staff packed "to go" snack packs for us. I enjoyed being across the street from Duke campus and going for a morning run around the campus. The only thing to be aware of was that since it is an old building, the walls are very thin and you can hear everything that goes on outside the room. The nights were fortunately quiet for us and we did not have a problem with this. Overall, we loved our stay!


Birthday visit

4.6 on August 09, 2011

My husband and I spent a night at the King's Daughters Inn for my birthday. The visit coincided with a special champagne & chocolate event for Valetine's Day.


Treat yourself to a wonderful experience!

5 on October 06, 2010

On a scale of 1-10, the whole stay was a 15! Not a detail is missed in this charming, warm bed and breakfast. My mother, who has difficulty with stairs had no problem getting around as we were able to park right by the lower entrance which leads right to the elevator. The entire inn was spotless and the breakfast was wonderful. Already looking for an excuse to go back!


This place is amazing!

4.8 on March 07, 2010

My company was hosting a meeting at the inn. I had the longest drive of any attendee, so I decided to drive in the night before. Unfortunately, I have a broken leg and had to arrive on crutches. When I walked in the door, Deanna (who I later found out is one of the owners) greeted me, and immediately grabbed my bag. She took me to the elevator (I obviously was not going to be using the stairs) and spent 10 minutes in my room with me making sure that I could move around comfortably. My suite was huge and beautiful. The bed was unbelievably soft and having a glass of port and gourmet chocolates waiting next to my bed didn't hurt either!! The following morning I didn't make it down for breakfast. When I got downstairs to meet my group for our meeting, I ran into Deanna and Colin. They asked how I was doing and immediately went to get me coffee. My coffee arrived on a silver tray with freshly made scones and cinnamon rolls. I look forward to my next opportunity to stay at the inn (minus the broken leg) and to have more of an opportunity to experience this great place.


I felt like the king's daughter!

4.6 on February 17, 2010

It's a beautiful inn located right across the street from Duke's east campus. With 2 daughters at Duke I was so excited to find this little bit of heaven on earth. The rooms are beautiful and charming and immaculately clean. Breakfast is delicious, fresh scones, banana bread, cereals, yummy coffee, and the special of the morning. I love staying at this inn. It's quiet, peaceful and beautiful.


Thanksgiving stay

5 on December 01, 2009

We stayed at this charming inn while we visited relatives. The rooms, both public and our bedroom, were beautiful and relaxing, like home only better! The port and handmade chocolates at turn down, were such a treat and breakfast was yummy. We could choose from cereals, fruit and yogurt, and hot selections that change daily as well as scones and homemade lemon curd. In the afternoon, several types of tea were available as well as the inn's signature coffee, whch we enjoyed in the parlor. We "walked the wall" around the Duke campus just across the street and also walked down to Brightleaf to check out the shops. We visited with our family for Thanksgiving dinner, but learned that some other guests, who were staying at the inn were invited to join the Crossman's family dinner so they were not alone over the holiday. What a thoughtful touch. They are such a nice young couple. We will be back.


Absolutely Perfect

5 on November 30, 2009

We were speechless from the moment we walked in the door. From the food, to the service, the beautiful room, and right down to the tinest of details, they sure got it right. As if the rooms weren't beautiful enough, the friendly atmosphere and relaxing ambience combined to make the perfect weekend retreat. Our stay at The King's Daughters Inn will not be our last!!!!


You need to Stay Here!

4.0 on September 07, 2009

The King's Daughters Inn provides a wonderful retreat near downtown Durham, NC. I enjoyed every single aspect of my stay and look forward to future visits. Everything from the decor, to the local chocolates served at turndown, to the delightful and charming owners create a warm and inviting experience that I can look forward to for years to come.


Great Place to stay in Durham, NC

5 on July 29, 2009

We used King’s Daughters B&B as our “base of operations” for our daughter’s wedding in Durham. We booked most of the rooms and it felt like our friends and family were gathering at a friend’s home. The place is simply eclectically elegant. KD’s is large, comfortable and clean, and breakfast was delicious (hope you get a chance to have Deanna’s French toast casserole). And there are a few other “perfect” touches like gourmet chocolates and a sip of port on your bedside table when you’re ready to turn in for the night. Frankly, it is worth going back even if you don’t have a reason to visit Durham -- other than staying at King’s Daughters. Many thanks, Colin and Deanna, for helping make our daughters wedding perfect by making our accommodations so very comfortable and sharing your gracious hospitality with all of us. Our only serious concern is that it won’t be long before the word gets out and it becomes difficult to get reservations at KD’s.


Urban Retreat

4.8 on July 20, 2009

We had an amazing time at The King's Daughters Inn this weekend, celebrating our anniversary. We decided to spend a night away from home for our anniversary (leaving the family with the baby for the first time!) and thought it would be great to stay close to home. We had visited the Inn just before the official opening and were immediately impressed by it. They have done an amazing job of transforming this lovely old building into a beautiful B & B. Our hosts, Colin and Deanna Crossman, made us feel right at home with Port and local chocolates left for us in our room and gourmet breakfast served to us on our personal sun porch. We also appreciate their sustainable practices with regard to using local products and water conservation. We would highly recommend patronizing this wonderful new B&B. A wonderful Durham addition!


Absolute Perfection!

5 on July 13, 2009

This was without a doubt the most amazing place I have had the privilege to stay. The decor resounds with opulence, the amenities are unparalleled, the service is first class. We truly felt like royalty as we were left truffles and wine at the bed turning down; breakfast was extraordinary; and the measures the owners have taken to make the entire facility green are truly inspiring. We are now spoiled for any place we stay in the future! If you are going to be in the Durham area, this is where you want to be!


Great B & B

4.6 on June 14, 2009

My stay at the King's Daughter's Inn was 5 star. My room was spacious, immaculate, had a modern bathroom and a wonderful flat screen TV. The owners helped me greatly with directions and suggestions on what to do in town. I would highly recommend this hotel! Great value, too...


Great addition to Durham!

5 on June 03, 2009

King's Daughter's Inn is a fantastic addition to the area and fills a much needed gap in the market! Beautiful restoration of a historic Durham landmark, teriffic service, wonderful experience overall. This was my first trip back to Duke in a few years and it is amazing to see so many changes in the Trinity Park neighborhood and the downtown - the KDI is a big part of this. I will certainly come back to stay - though if word gets out, I wonder if I'll be able to get a reservation!


Wow

4.8 on May 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the King's Daughters Inn recently. To say that their customer service exceeded our expectations is an understatement! They helped me plan a surprise late dessert for my wife, served after 9:00 pm. The view from the second story room in which we stayed was wonderful. The bed had fresh crisp sheets on it. Many of the significant furnishings in the Inn were restored pieces (I consider art) that were hand crafted, from an era long ago. We had planned on breakfast in bed, but decided to have breakfast in the dining room. The dining room, like the rooms, was spacious. And, I think that the end-keepers are experienced chefs. We look forward to returning for a getaway visit.


The King's Daughters Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $170 - $290
  • Reviews (17) 4.7
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9193547000
  • Fax 1-8664892029
  • Toll free 1-8775348534

Visit Website »

View details

Top