Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
116 Reviews

Write A Review

Very accommodating

4.2 on September 29, 2014

Fantastic overnight stay at Beacon House. Best part was the breakfast - first rate! Very clean, super friendly and extremely accommodating.


Beacon House Bed and Breakfast Stay

5 on September 17, 2014

This was our first experience staying in a Bed and Breakfast in the U.S. We had stayed in many in the United Kingdom and they were nice but very different. We stayed for two nights and it was very pleasant and enjoyable. The room was comfortable but a little small; however, we weren't in the room very much and there was a sitting area adjacent outside of the bedroom. Queen-size bed was very comfortable. We were about 1/2 block from the ocean and enjoyed our time there even though we are not really beach folks. Loved sitting on the front veranda and sipping our morning coffee while checking email and facebook updates. It was quiet and elegant. I think the best part of our stay was the friendliness and congeniality of the host and hostess, Heather and Mike. Felt like we had known them a long time. Yet they gave us privacy and didn't hover. Gave us information on local sites and places to eat. The food preparation was gourmet style and the breakfast area was pleasant and sunny -- loved the flowers and table settings. Hope to have a return visit sometime in the future. Having been a teacher, I would give them an A++++ and I was sometimes a hard teacher. Thanks, Heather and Mike.


Great Great Stay

4.6 on September 06, 2014

Only spent one night, post July 4 weekend, but wished we could have stayed more. Great location for a day on the beach. Easy walk across the street and you hit the sand and surf. Short drive to many restaurants. Breakfast was AMAZING and both Heather and Mike were very accommodating to needs and interesting to chat with. Had the place more/less to ourselves on a Monday but would like to go back for a longer stay in the future. Took a look at guest cottages and they looked as advertised. Pet friendly spot for those that care.


Cottage 2

4.8 on August 07, 2014

Our family of 4 including our new addition, Scarlet - an 11 week old Rottweiler puppy, spent 4 nights in Cottage 2. We were welcomed by Innkeepers/owners Heather & Mike with a plate of homemade peanut butter cookies and local coffee for our morning start. Scarlet was resented with her very own "cookies" and lots if hugs & kisses! The cottage was clean, cozy and comfortable for our adult family. It was VERY pet friendly and we immediately felt at home. A quick walk to the beach was made easy by the use of a wagon to help transport all of our beach supplies! Heather & Mike made excellent restaurant recommendations that did not disappoint. We would definitely recommend the Beacon House to our pet loving friends. Can't wait to come back soon!


Outstanding!!

5 on July 14, 2014

My daughter, 2 1/2 year old grandson, our dog and I had an absolutely amazing time . Heather and Mike made us feel right at home. They even had a special treat for our dog, Ike to make him feel right at home too. We stayed in one of the cottages, it was comfy and cozy. They had a wagon which my grandson loved playing with and it was great carting him to and from the beach. The only downside was when we had to leave. I would highly recommend Beacon House B & B to anyone!! Thank you Heather and Mike!!


Moving reward!

4.6 on July 10, 2014

My husband and stayed at the Beacon House after helping our nephew move from one dorm to another. The room was great and the whirlpool and shower were both exceptional! Breakfast was delicious!


Loved this B&B!

5 on July 05, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here (in the main house) during an off season weekend so we got a great deal. We had a wonderful stay, Heather and Mike make an amazing breakfast and are funny, warm hosts, full of local recommendations. The house is cute and comfy.


We'll be back

5 on June 29, 2014

We loved our stay here! The rooms were clean, the house is adorable, and we frequented the front porch evenings. Heather and Mike were awesome hosts and are very knowledgeable about the area. The highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast and coffee! We stayed for 5 nights, and Mike was sure to mix up the breakfast every day so that we had something different. His overnight french toast is outstanding, so if you stay, you should probably ask for it;-) The coffee is also amazing, and is roasted locally so it's so fresh! I rate coffee by whether or not I can drink it black, and I had it black every single day. I highly recommend Beacon House!


Perfect Beach Getaway

4.6 on June 19, 2014

Beacon house was the perfect beach getaway for one night. The owners were welcoming and helpful and friendly. The breakfast was AWESOME; delicious, homemade and creative menus. The house was full of charm, character and history. It was also nice to sit on the porch and enjoy the ocean breeze, but then inside was nice and cool. I would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Carolina Beach or staying for a longer trip. I plan to return.


Cozy Cottage

4.6 on June 10, 2014

We spent a very pleasant weekend at the Beacon House Inn. We stayed in one of the small cottages and it could not have been nicer! Very clean, cozy, beautifully appointed with everything you need for comfort and fun at the beach. Truly a two minute walk across a quiet street to a lovely beach. Fish and vegetable markets and bakery nearby. Heather and Mike are gracious hosts.


Excellent stay!

5 on June 06, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night last weekend. The owners were amazingly friendly and offered wonderful dining suggestions. The beach is easily accessible. We cannot wait to come back to this cozy, delightful home!


Great Place

5 on June 02, 2014

We stayed at Beacon House at the begining of May. The location is great, the rooms are niec, and Mike and Heather really make you feel at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and are headed back in June!


Fantastic stay and a great location

4.4 on May 25, 2014

The Beacon House Inn was a fantastic place to stay. I wish we could have stayed there the whole week instead of just the 2 nights that I booked. The room was wonderful for 2 people. Mike and Heather were both extremely kind and helpful to us and the breakfasts were amazing. I hope to return again someday!


Wonderful Getaway B&B

5 on May 23, 2014

The Beacon House was a wonderful getaway for a few days of a hectic life. Heather and Mike were extremely hospitable and the house itself was adorable. Breakfast in the AM was amazing, fresh, and home cooked by Mike himself and it was absolutely delish! I will certainly be going back soon!


B&B perfection!

4.4 on April 24, 2014

During our April vacation we chose this B&B over a resort/hotel because it was close to the beach, included an acclaimed "gourmet breakfast", and we wanted to try a B&B for our first time. The description did not disappoint once we arrived. The breakfasts were 100% gourmet, including the coffee they serve. The rooms and entire B&B were clean, adorable and very fitting. We were literally 3 minutes from the beach, and only a bike ride away from locations we wanted to visit. The owners and staff were available and accommodating, and made us feel like family while we were there. I would definitely recommend this B&B and we will definitely visit again!


Charming addition to Carolina Beach

4.8 on April 13, 2014

A much needed and very welcome addition to Carolina Beach. Great location, superb breakfast and Southern hospitality with just a dash of New York on top. Highly recommended alternative to the otherwise drab hotel scene.


Spring Beach Holiday

5 on April 01, 2014

The Beacon House Inn was a perfect place to begin our beach holiday. We were so comfortable here we actually extended our stay one more day, even with the weather being chilly and rainy. Beach was wonderful to walk, the restaurants Mike recommended were excellent, and our adventure to Southport was great fun. The breakfasts were superb! We look forward to another visit to this very welcoming B&B in the future. Highly recommend The Beacon House Inn and Carolina Beach.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Randi and Gregg for the kind words. It was great meeting you both and we are very glad you enjoyed some of the great spots our island has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit and hoping it will be sooner than later.


Friendly B&B in perfect location

3.8 on March 10, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B and had a lovely weekend. It's in a lovely location, 1 minute from the beach and about a 20 minute walk to "The Boardwalk", which is a little like a European town centre and a 15 minute walk to the pier and the undeveloped wilderness and beach beyond. The owners were lovely, more than happy to share local knowledge and suggest places to go and restaurants to eat in. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom a good size. We could "glimpse" the ocean from our room, which was a bonus and the whole house was nicely decorated. I thought that the chairs on the veranda and a rocking seat were a nice extra touch and had we had more time I would have enjoyed reading on the balcony looking at the sea and enjoying the sunshine. The only negative I would give this place would be the lack of choice for breakfast, you just get whatever they are cooking up. I would highly recommend staying here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us. It has been fun hunting for and creating art pieces that mimic this casual vintage beach house. Glad you enjoyed them. We agree, the rocking chairs on the upstairs veranda are a great spot to relax and soak in the ocean air. We escape there as much as we can. As with most B & B’s, our kitchen is a simple home kitchen where we produce a full sit down artisan breakfast using the freshest ingredients. We accommodate all dietary restrictions and food allergies, but you are correct in mentioning that we don’t have a menu similar to what you would find in a restaurant. For those less interested in experiencing what we have prepared, we can make other dishes that fit one’s particular taste. All one needs to do is just ask and we are happy to source whatever is fresh in our fridge. Food, and of course coffee, are important parts to staying with us and we love sharing them.


Holiday Getaway

5 on January 07, 2014

I absolutely loved my stay at the Beacon House. It was exactly how I wanted to spend the New Year's - by the ocean in a "beach town" environment where I could completely escape from work and the rest of life. Each day started with an extraordinary breakfast and I felt totally spoiled by the time my stay was over. And many people don't know that one of the Beacon House's best kept secrets is the on-site massage therapy that is available to guests. It's apparently one of only two hotels in NC that offers that. I definitely lucked out when I discovered the Beacon House!!


Anniversary Celebration

5 on December 30, 2013

As is our custom we go away to a Bed and Breakfast to celebrate our Christmas Anniversary. This year we chose Beacon House Inn and were charmed by its cozy and welcoming appeal. Mike and Heather made us feel very much 'at home' and we left feeling like we had made friends. As we visit Carilina Beach often during the year we plan to come again. Cheryle and Ted Takacs

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Cheryle. Heather and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again and possibly making it an anniversary tradition. Happy New Year!


Thanksgiving Weekend

5 on December 05, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time. The room was very cozy and the breakfasts were great. I wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely go back when the weather is warmer.


Wonderful in the Fall Also

5 on November 23, 2013

I so enjoyed my stay with Heather and Mike earlier this month! One day of cool weather couldn't dampen the enjoyment of staying at the Beacon House...And Mike's breakfasts were a highlight.


A terrific B&B

5 on September 17, 2013

We had a grand time at the Beacon House. Nice rooms, terrific breakfast and the innkeepers could not have been more warm and welcoming. It was a fun place to spend a weekend.


Wonderful one-night stay

4.8 on August 20, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Beacon House Inn. From the friendly service, convenient walk to the beach, cozy room and wonderful breakfast, we were very satisfied. We would have loved to have stayed longer and hope to in the future! Thanks to Heather and Mike for a great stay.


Very Happy !!!! cant wait to go back again !

5 on July 16, 2013

Laura & Martin D.


You will love this place!

5 on July 12, 2013

We had one of our best vacations at Beacon House over the 4th of July weekend. Heather and Mike are perfect hosts at their delightful Bed and Breakfast. We loved Cottage One and the additional room we booked. The beaches are perfect as well:).


Memorial Weekend 2013

5 on May 27, 2013

We were very impressed with the service - so friendly but not intrusive. Our hosts went out of thier way to make our stay best ever. We had not packed for the beach so they lent us thier own equipment to make up our deficit. We are both gluten free, so our hosts went to extraordinary lengths to acquire and test gluten free options. Delicious food and locally roasted coffee to die for! Very comfy bed and room. We will definitely be back soon!


Girls Getaway

5 on May 14, 2013

We had a great time at The Beacon House Inn! The place is fabulous and Mike was awesome with helpings planning out and coming up with a package for us girls! I had google girls getaway in North Carolina beaches and Beacon House Inn pop up! Our trip was great, mike recommended restaurant which were amazing!! Very very pleased will our trip!! Mike, Heather, and the massage therapist y'all have a great place and I will definitely recommend you guys!! I couldn't thank you enough for everything!!

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you had a good time and that our recommendations hit the spot. Thank you for the kind words and please visit us again soon!


April Getaway

4.0 on April 20, 2013

We loved the boarding house feel to Beacon House and Mike's great breakfasts. The B&B was located away from the commercial area, quiet at night, and with a pretty vacant road, made it enjoyable to walk in the evening. The beach was easily accessible and the early morning beach walkers were sparse as well. We have already recommended Beacon House to other travelers we have met since leaving Carolina Beach.


Christmas get away

5 on January 04, 2013

Wonderful weather and wonderful family trip, second time at B&B, stayed in the cottages, but had a marvelous massage!!! Will be back again


5 stars all the way!

5 on December 14, 2012

This was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast and we must say it was AWESOME!!!!! WE have told all of our friends and family and we highly recommend staying with Mike here at the Beacon House. Nothing can be improved!


Romantic weekend getaway

5 on December 01, 2012

Wonderful place to stay!! Mike knows the people in the area. He is a great breakfast cook. Loved the whirlpool room. Saw dolphins from the top deck on the first morning coffee. Great price. We will be coming back. David & Kim


The place in the Beach!

5 on October 20, 2012

Don't overlook the pleasures of being this close to the beach and to be able to have plentiful parking (for guests) so close to your room. We loved every bit of the stay. Mike and the staff went out of their way to answer questions, although to be honest, they covered just about everything in their literature and arrival chat. They are doing it RIGHT!


Sisters Get Away

4.8 on October 19, 2012

This was a last minute sisters get a way. Our first time at a Bed & Breakfast. The hospitality was fabulous. It was enjoyable and relaxing. The food was a culinary delight. I would definitely recommend this B&B to my friends and family.


Great stay on the first day of Fall!

5 on September 24, 2012

My wife had to take a test in Wilmington on Saturday so we figured we would stay the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We really wanted to stay on the ocean but found most place on the river. By chance I found Beacon House and am so happy I did! We stayed in the pineapple room which is bigger than the pictures make it look. It was so comfortable and romantic. The breakfast was great and the hosts were too!


Fabulous

4.8 on August 06, 2012

This was an amazing vacation. Noah and Charlotte are fabulous hosts, breakfast was absolutely outstanding, and the room was delightful!


Great time at the beach

5 on July 16, 2012

Great place, Noah and Charlotte were very friendly and breakfast was fantastic. Definitely will return.


Relaxing B&B at Carolina Beach

4.0 on July 11, 2012

This B&B is walking distance (less than 2 minutes) from the beach. The rooms are nice & clean and the Inn Keepers are great people. The service is outstanding and Charlotte cooks up some of the best breakfasts that I have ever had. Restaurants and main strip at Carolina Beach is within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who would like to get away and have a relaxing vacation.


Would not ask for more!

5 on June 03, 2012

It was the first time my husband and I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast, but we had such a great experience that would recommend this place to everyone who is looking for a nice, quiet, and relax time by the beach. The beach is a 2 minute walk accross the street, and restaurants and boardwalk is within 10 minutes (walking) which was nor bad becauseit was away enough for the Beacon House to have a peaceful environment. Noah & Charlotte are wonderful hosts. They cook delicious breakfasts and to-die- for warm chocolate ship cookies. We stayed for 4 nights & 5 days in the Whirlpool room, if we are coming back we would stay again in this room-- nice, cozy, & comfortable :-) Noah and Charlotte gave us suggestions on things to do in NC - Noah even called one place for us to go Jetsking. They also made sure we had enough towels or if we needed more. In our last day they were very flexible when we asked if we could have a late breakfast. This was truly a wonderful vacation and we hope to return soon! :-)


Great place to stay!!

5 on May 29, 2012

What can I say but "AWESOME B & B!!!" We will be back to stay again. Heather and Jimmie


Back for a third time!

4.8 on April 15, 2012

The rooms are filled with charm. Noah and Charlotte are so hospitable and make the best gourmet breakfasts.


Phenomenal Service, Room, & Food!

5 on April 15, 2012

Found this B&B last minute and am sure glad we did! B&B is an old 1950's boarding house that has been updated with all the necessities and personal touches to make it feel like home. The staff are absolutely phenomenal and take care of you with a warm welcome from check in to check out. You won't find a breakfast like this at any chain hotel...it was to die for! The B&B is located about a 1 minute walk from the beach and well within walking and short (minutes) driving distance from local restaurants. 10 Minutes from historic Civil War sites and much more. Stay here...it's worth your money!!


Amazing experience!!!

5 on March 29, 2012

My husband and I chose this B and B to exchange our wedding vows and it was the perfect decision. It was quiet, romantic and very special. Noah and Charlottes hospitality was spectacular. So for that we say thank you and see you soon!!!


Getaway Weekend!

5 on March 12, 2012

Our getaway weekend was fantastic at the Beacon House! The fact that the beach was RIGHT there was outstanding and so easy. There were so many restaurants and things to do within walking distance. Noah and Charlotte were absolutely wonderful - gave great advice for food and activities. The breakfast was to die for! We would absolutely recommend this place and we will be back soon! Chelsea and Jonathan Lockwood


Bed & Breakfast Virgins!

5 on February 27, 2012

Our very first bed & breakfast experience was unbelievably wonderful! It was a birthday weekend; we stayed in the popular jacuzzi room and enjoyed every minute! The breakfasts from eggs benedict to the wonderful pumpkin spice pancakes were over the top! Great parking and it's close to activities. The beach is a 57 second walk. We timed it! Thank you Noah and Charlotte for the great time!


Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!

4.0 on February 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Beacon House for our Valentine's Day Weekend get away. It was each of our first times to Carolina Beach as well as our first experience with a B&B. Fantastic!! Noah and Charlotte are awesome inn keepers who take pride in their inn and their work. What an awesome team. The compliment each other in this enviroment perfectly. Breakfast was incredible each morning. I would recommend The Beacan House to anyone and we will return ourselves. We had the "Romance" room and it was perfect. The air was cold and windy, but each night we were completely cozy and comfortable. Book your room and enjoy your stay, you will not be disappointed.


Anniversary

4.6 on February 13, 2012

My wife and I really ejoyed the coziness of the house and we were well taken care of by Noah and Charlotte. Easy beach access, a large parking space for our SUV and a wonderful breakfast. We had asked for some special touches for our anniversary and Noah and Charlote did not disappoint with their attention to the little details. Thanks and we will be back!


Great stay

4.0 on November 11, 2011

I was only there one night; stayed in the Pineapple Room which was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was wonderful and filling. The Beacon is just a short walk to the beach. I would highly recommend this B&B and will stay there again if I am in the area.


A great stay

4.6 on November 06, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Beacon House. The inn-keepers, Noah and Charlotte were very helpful with our questions and went out of there way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. If we return to the area, we will certainly stay here again.


Charming Hosts

4.8 on October 11, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the pampering we received at Beacon House B&B. They were always available. The accommodations were wonderful. Charlotte's breakfasts were exquisite. Noah and Charlotte were a good resource for information regarding things to do and places to eat. It takes special people to last in the B&B business. Noah and Charlotte are the consummate hosts. Their cheerful smiles suggest they are here for the long haul. My wife and I look forward to our next visit to Beacon House.


Great Weekend Getaway

4.0 on October 10, 2011

Hooray to Charlotte and Noah, innkeepers: Attentive, welcoming, and very fine breakfasts. andrew


Great location

3.8 on October 08, 2011

Noah and Charlotte were wonderful-breakfast yummy. The location is terrific, can walk to boardwalk in few minutes and just across from the beach. Have passed on the info to friends.


Relaxing place

4.2 on September 30, 2011

Excellent breakfast prepared by Charlotte. Both Noah and Charlotte are very friendly and helpful.


well-fed, well-rested

4.2 on September 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Beacon House for 3 nights - our first vacation on the North Carolina coast - and found it well-located for walks on the beach, bird-watching in Carolina Beach State Park, and kayaking at Fort Fisher. With all that activity, we appreciated the quiet, relaxed atmosphere and the truly excellent breakfasts (different every morning) which kept us going 'til dinner-time.


Very nice place to stay

4.0 on September 05, 2011

Very nice place to stay. The breakfast was superb. Inn Keepers were very welcoming and friendly. Air conditioning unit makes a little noise, but other than that perfect.


Great place to stay

4.6 on August 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and we loved it! The innkeepers we kind enough to let us check in late in the evening, as we had a long drive in. Our room, the romance suite, was clean, spacious, and exceeded our expectations. We loved the fact that we had somewhere to lounge separate from our bedroom. Noah and Charlotte were curtious and nice and breakfast was great! We plan to stay there again someday!


Charming hosts, great location, delicious food

4.4 on August 07, 2011

Charlotte and Noah are so welcoming and very devoted to offering excellent food, value and service. The location is great--steps to beach and nice walk to the boardwalk and dining. Will definitely go back when in town again. Thank you.


A very pleasant stay

4.6 on August 01, 2011

We were very pleased with the delicious breakfasts and particularly enjoyed the whirlpool in our room after a long day at the beach.


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

3.8 on May 11, 2011

My husband and I planned to stay at the Beacon House two nights, but extended it to four. Coming from Illinois, we loved staying so close to the beach. Dave & Tammy were gracious hosts. Breakfasts were delicious and well prepared and we had delightful conversations with the other guests. Dave guided us to Michaels for the best seafood chowder ever. If we are ever in the area we'd happily stay there again; great value!


Great B&B at the beach!!

4.6 on April 19, 2011

My girlfreind and I stayed for two nights for her bday over the weekend of 4/16. We love B&B's and for a place on the beach this is a great choice. Rooms are very comfortable and clean (we stayed in the pineapple room) , innkeepers are very freindly and hospitable, and the breakfast is amazing! If you want a relaxing comfortable getaway at the beach, Beacon House is the place to go. Thanks Tammy and David for a great time and we will be back.


Highly disappointed - left early

4.0 on April 10, 2011

If you are looking for an old place with no upgrades at all, you have found it. The "new" air conditioner unit clicked all night long, similar to a form of Chinese water torture. The room smelled like there was a serious sewer issue. My husband and I understand that the place was old, that it is hard to keep things up w/ the sea water/air and sun beating down on the house, but it just seemed dirty and messy. For example, walking through the laundry area to get to the kitchen was a major turn-off. How about cleaning up the area if that is where you want us to walk through to get to the kitchen? We are not snobs when it comes to staying at places, but the thought of staying at this place another night was more than we could handle - we packed it up and left. The innkeepers were very nice, but the owners, whomever they are, need to do some serious upgrading, painting, etc. OR lower the price - off season price was ridiculous for what we got.


great place!!!

4.4 on April 07, 2011

we stayed at the Beacon House last weekend to celebrate our engagement and we had a great time! Tammy and Dave are excellent hosts and great cooks. The Inn itself is very charming and quaint. The best part is that it's literally right across the street from the beach. If you're looking for a quiet romantic getaway I would highly recommend the Beacon House!


Great place

5 on March 31, 2011

Tammy and David are terrific. Our cottage was so clean and spacious. Easy walk to the beach. Pet friendly as well. Recently lost my Mother, Beacon House was the perfect place to recoup. I can not express what a pleasant and peaceful time we experienced. My children will be vising next spring and they will be staying at the Beacon House. Prices we very reasonable. Thank you Tammy and David. Mary and Christian


Relaxing, quiet visit

4.6 on February 24, 2011

We stayed for one evening mid-week in the off-season. The city and beach were nearly empty which was perfect for a mini-vacation meant only for relaxing. The inn was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was filling and delicious. The innkeeper was engaging and full of good tips -- especially for where to dine.


What a place to stay!!

5 on January 06, 2011

I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast until this past July. It was way more than I could have ever expected. I fully plan on going back here when I go back to the beach again. Thank you all very much for an absolutley great weekend there.


October B&B

4.4 on January 02, 2011

I have been missing out! The Beacon House B&B was a far more pleasant, restful, and fulfilling experience than I've had with any Hotel/Motel. The morning breakfast was absolutely fantastic, the hosts were very accommodating and wonderful people. I was at Carolina Beach on business and this place is exactly what I needed, to wake up refreshed and be greeted in the kitchen with fresh coffee and a healthy and delicious breakfast made my stay so much more pleasant. Thank you so much for hospitality.


Good place to stay almost on Carolina Beach

3.8 on November 20, 2010

The Beacon House is very close to the beach and has a couple of limited views of the ocean. Tammy and Dave were very good cooks and extremely friendly. Our room (the pineapple room) was small but comfortable. We would definitely return especially for the $115 price!


The sunrise says it all

4.0 on November 16, 2010

A walk on the beach to see the incredible sunrise is just breath taking. The room was very clean, and Dave and Tammy are the perfect host's. Our only regret was we should have booked for one more day


Great place to stay

5 on November 08, 2010

Enjoyed a nice quiet nice at the Beacon House. Tammy and Dave were great hosts! Very helpful. Room was not huge, but very comfortable.


A great place

4.0 on October 31, 2010

We spent 2 days at the inn and wish we could have spent the whole week. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the very good and Tammy and Dave were attentive to every detail of our stay. It was fun having conversations with complete strangers over breakfast. Highly recommend for a relaxing, quiet place to get away.


Weekend getaway

4.8 on October 31, 2010

I am a first year school teacher and my wife is a corrections officer. We decided on the spur of the moment that we needed a relaxing getaway and went to Carolina Beach. Our room at the Beacon House was exactly what we were looking for! It was quiet and comfortable. We had a two person jacuzzi tub in the room and enjoyed being able to walk on the beach in the morning before breakfast. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very pleasant. The rooms were clean and we were very satisfied. If you are looking for a great romantic getaway then this is the place.


Romantic Beach Location

4.6 on October 01, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Breakfast was fabulous, the rooms were nice and clean, and Dave and Tammy were great hosts. The beach is a 2 minute walk, perfect for sunrise or sunset walks.


our first stay

5 on September 12, 2010

This stay was perfect. It was like being at home without having to cook :) Very relaxing and comfortable.


Labor Day Weekend 2010

4.0 on September 11, 2010

We stayed in the Whirlpool Suite. The 2-person jacuzzi was perfect for relaxing after a day on the beach. The separate 6-head shower was also great! The room is comfortable, the queen sized bed was perfect for us and there was plenty of room for all of our things over the long weekend. Beacon House is conveniently located across the street from the beach, took maybe 2 minutes to walk from the front door to the perfect place to set up your beach chairs for the day. There are great restaurants in walking distance. Dave and Tammy are wonderful hosts, engaging conversationalists and more than willing to answer any questions one might have about the area, restaurants and things to do. Even though the Inn was pretty much booked up for the weekend, there was never a lot of noise in the house. The breakfasts were fantastic! The only "problem" we had (and I hesitate to even mention it) was that late one evening from about 3 a.m. to 4 a.m. the people renting one of the duplex units next door to the Inn were out with loud music, singing, yelling and generally drunken revelry. We didn't know whether to try to go outside and ask them to quiet down or call the police. Thankfully, they only kept us awake for about an hour but it was still frustrating as their balcony (where they were partying) was directly adjacent to the window of the Whirlpool Suite. Other than that one slight problem, everything else was wonderful!


A wonderful first time B&B experience

4.6 on August 30, 2010

We stayed in the pink Spring Garden room. The room lives bigger than it looks in the picture! The hosts, Tammy and David were absolutely friendly and informative hosts. David's breakfasts were delicious every day. From the photos I thought the dining tables would be tiny but they were very comfortable. The living room was so relaxing in the evening and we loved not seeing TV or having any interferences in our day. (There is a TV in the living room but was only on once during our stay.) The bathroom was very clean and the little corner shower was great! The walk to the beach took less than 2 minutes although we could not see the ocean from the B&B. There were restaurants within walking distance and the street was quiet and has a great bike path. The front porch was a nice place to rock and people-watch. And, the porch light is always on to welcome you at any time of the day. If we have the opportunity, we will definitely go back to the Beacon House Inn B&B!


Pineapple Room

4.2 on August 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Pineapple room and found it to be clean and comfortable. We did bring our own pillows, which made the sleeping accommodations more acceptable. We both like firmer pillows than the typical Inn provides. I would return without question, especially if David and Tammy still the Innkeepers.


Clean and Pet Friendly!

3.8 on August 16, 2010

We spent a week in the 3 bedroom cottage. We needed to bring our hypo allergenic Siberian cat along, because she is a people cat and would have been a psycho cat if we had locked her up in a cage for a week in the kennel. I am allergic to most cats and dogs, so I was unsure if I wanted to stay in a place that allowed pets even though I own one, because the dust and dander make me sneeze badly. So when we walked into this place we were very happy to see engineered wood floors ; so no carpet for all the pet dander and fur to hide in. The flooring look very new too, and I did not sneeze once the whole time I was there which is saying something for how clean the place is! The inside of the cottage was very clean and nice looking. The bedding was decent too and clean. Even the covers were clean which in some places do not wash often if ever. The kitchen has a microwave that works. And the stove worked, but the vent above it does not. Actually, the vent is the only thing I would criticize in the whole setup since there is no screen on it from the outside so the flies can and do come in. It took a couple of days for us to realize that is how they were getting into the place. This is the only reason I did not give it a 5. I should have mentioned this to the staff so they could fix it, but I forgot. Me bad. The beach is a short 2-3 minute walk from the cottage. It was easy to cross the street to get to the beach access. The beach was excellent. About 100 ft of dunes and 100 ft of sand before the water. Parking was easy. Tammy and David were very helpful and cheerful! And we did put David through some work. We had to replace a door lock to the front door. The sand/beach had destroyed it, and he had it replaced in a couple of hours of being told about it. So the staff is very responsive. Overall a very enjoyable experience. And we plan on going back!


Oppressive Heat at Carolina Beach

2.8 on August 05, 2010

My wife and I took our puppy along for our first stay at Carolina Beach and The Beacon House. We met Dave early on and he was very friendly and helpful. We were in cottage 2 which allows dogs. It was available early in the day and Dave helped us in. The cottage is tiny, tiny, tiny-- so be prepared to be cozy with one another. I can't imagine 4 people staying for long together in the place. The cottage is cooled by 3 window unit air conditioners. Thank goodness they were well maintained because the heat this weekend was major. But the hum of the units also kept out extraneous noise from the street. We slept well; the masterbed was quite comfortable. Dave was very helpful in getting us oriented to the town. We like to walk, but didn't find the area conducive to strolling. Too many people and too many LARGE trucks. We ate at The Dive downtown and at Michael's seafood across town. I'd recommend both places. We wanted to take our dog on the beach, so Fort Fisher was the place to go. A spacious beach with facilities and well life-guarded; tricky currents this weekend. The beach had a strong wind, which kept the temperature down but did sandpaper us with the coarse NC beach sand; I'm used to the finer grain of the Isle of Palms near Charleston. Rather wonderful to see such a multi-ethnic beach. So many languages and such diverse family arrangements. We tried a walk at the State Park early one morning, but amongst the trees without the wind, it was too hot for the 3 of us. All in all, I'd recommend it to my friends who enjoy camping, but my "high maintenance" friends would need to be housed someplace else.


Great spot!

3.6 on July 19, 2010

We only had one night available to spend and took a chance on the Website "promises". To our relief upon arrival, the Inn was just as described. It was just what my wife and I needed in the middle of a long trip.


Awesome Experience

4.8 on July 17, 2010

After reading the reviews, I had very high expectations when I arrived. My expectations were met, and there was a sense of relief when everything we read on the internet was true. Stayed in the pineapple room and, while small, was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome (ask Dave about the banana pancakes). Both Dave and Tammy made us feel as welcome as old friends. Already planning to return next year.


Wonderful Vacation Hosts!

3.8 on June 29, 2010

Our stay at the Beacon House Inn was wonderful! My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages, and it was perfect for our week-long getaway. It was such an easy walk to the beach, too. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and welcoming the entire week. The cottage was well equipped with lots of kitchen supplies if we wanted to cook, and conveniently located to many of Carolina Beach's downtown restaurants if we wanted to dine out. Thanks so much for a very enjoyable stay!


Beacon House

3.2 on June 17, 2010

This B&B was nicely located just across the street from the beach. The innkeepers were very nice, but stayed in the house behind the inn and so were unavailable when we needed them early in the morning. Other than that our stay was great fun and very relaxing!


Charming & Relaxing

4.8 on June 15, 2010

Very charming B&B! Owners are very friendly and have thought of everything you would need for a comfortable and relaxing stay! Breakfast is amazing! Just steps from the Beach. House is remarkably quiet and VERY charming! Would highly recommend for a relaxing stay at the Beach!


Very good experience

4.0 on June 04, 2010

Our whole experience at the Beacon House was great. The innkeepers were very attentive to our needs, knowledgeable about events of the area, and willing to meet all our request. You will love your stay!


A Wonderful Stay!

4.0 on June 04, 2010

A charming and comfortable inn in a great coastal location. This was a wonderfaul change of pace from the stays we have had in chain hotels. You just can't beat the Carolina Coast for atmosphere and enjoyable beach stays.


Great location, friendly hosts, and lots of fun!

4.4 on June 01, 2010

We stayed over Memorial Weekend and hd a wonderful visit at Beacon House Inn B&B. The beach access was just diagonally across the street and the beach was very open, which I prefer. The location of the B&B is great--less than one mile from the boardwalk area at Carolina Beach and one mile from a pier. My girlfriend and I were wanting an active weekend and we either walked or bicycled everywhere. Each morning we jogged to the pier and got back to the B&B in time for coffee and a yummy breakfast. We brought our own bikes (but plently of places rent them) and rode down the island toward Kure Beach. Most of the main roads have a bike lane, so we felt decently safe. We also spent one afternoon on ocean kayaks, rented from a local place (Pleasure Island Rentals) and had a nice time paddling and seeing dolphins pass by. We did not have an agenda on this beach trip and had lots of fun experiences and good food too. Here are a few tips for fellow travelers: -The city does a free Movie in the Park every Sunday in the Summer. Bring a chair and maybe grab some ice cream and enjoy this family-friendly event. -While we never tried it, Britt's Donut shop, found in the heart of the boardwalk, was always busy. They must have some tasty donuts. -If you like craft beers or interesting beer, there is a hidden gem in the Fat Pelican. Part pub and part beer store, this place has a really good variety of beers in there walk-in cooler.


OUTSTANDING

5 on May 30, 2010

Tammy and David were the perfect host, this is the first time my husband and I have stayed at an bed and breakfast and it was outstanding. My husband has just gotten back from being in the war for his fourth tour and I also add on the romance package and it was OUTSTANDING. We cant wait to visit again.


A Blessing By The Sea

4.6 on May 20, 2010

Tammy and David have the gift of hospitality. They are delightful and make you feel right at home. They are very sensitve to different personality types. In other words, some guests love to visit. Others love to be left alone. The breakfast crepes were delicious. Each breakfast was different and very good. The house is very convenient to the ocean. They even have beach towels available. The bed in the Pineapple Room is exceptionally comfortable. It's true the room is small but we knew that before we went.


Great Location

4.0 on May 03, 2010

I love that it's pet friendly and a great price for being right accross the street from the beach and also it's close to just about anywhere to eat. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.


Web had a very enjoyable time. Walking onthe beach was relaxing. The innkeepers were very friendly and the food was great.

5 on April 29, 2010

We stayed for 3 days in the whirlpool suite. We would love to move there


Happy B & B er's

4.0 on April 22, 2010

Having never been to the Wilmington area nor the Beacon House, we were very happy with Tammy and David's kindness and friendliness. WE had no complaints & would visit again if we need to stay on Carolina beach.


Everything We Expected

4.0 on April 08, 2010

My husband and I spent the first night in the Romance Suite and the next two nights in the Whirlpool room. David and Tammy are very friendly, and the breakfasts will astound you. Location was good, the rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfy. We would have appreciated coffee makers in addition to the refrigerators provided, and some complimentary or for-sale sodas/bottled water in the refrigerators, but those are small quibbles in a large good time!


great location and price

4.0 on April 01, 2010

I was at Beacon House for business so I didn't get the full experience that was available. It is only a block off the beach and there is public access 1/2 block away. Tammy and Dave, the innkeepers, were great, as was the price for the location. I guess there aren't many B&Bs at Carolina Beach, so this is a prized find that I will visit again. I didn't get a chance to have breakfast so my review on that isn't informed.


Tammy and Dave are the best!

4.8 on March 27, 2010

I just spent a couple of days there with the wonderful folks at The Beacon House--they were lovely. The entire experience was a complete joy. And Tammy and Dave were happy to work with my dietary restrictions and did it DELICIOUSLY.


Relaxing and refreshing!

4.4 on March 17, 2010

After 4 months apart, a nice quiet get away was what we needed and at Beacon House that was EXACTLY what we got! Tammy and David were great! This B&B was perfect. Gorgeous rooms, delicious food, and fabulous service! We stayed in the whirlpool room and it was wonderful! Thanks for a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back!


Wonderful Place

4.8 on March 14, 2010

We had a great time. Dave and Tammy were so nice and the food was outstanding! The room was very nice.


Beacon House Inn

4.4 on February 10, 2010

Great place to relax. Beach access could not be closer. Innkeepers are awesome and make you feel at home. I can't wait to return!!!


A delightful night at Carolina Beach House Inn

4.6 on January 26, 2010

Tammy and Dave made us feel welcome even though we were staying only 1 night. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was perfect. The hosts proided good local recommendations and were accomodating.


Wonderful!

5 on January 03, 2010

The Beacon House is absolutely wonderful! The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. You WILL enjoy your stay at the Beacon House. Wonderful service, rooms, food, area, and everything else. A+ I look forward to visiting again. Thanks so much!


Wonderful Experience

4.0 on November 09, 2009

The Beacon House was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, but it won't be the last. Tammy and Dave were kind and made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast that they served was delicious and we enjoyed conversing with the other guest. We stayed in the Whirlpool room and it was inviting and very clean. We will definitely recommmend travelers to the Beacon House.


Great vacation spot

4.8 on September 25, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in the romance suite. Tammy and Dave went out of their way to make us feel right at home and we truly did. We highly recommend Beacon House!!!!


All the way from KY

5 on September 25, 2009

We chose the Beacon House Inn as a special couples getaway. We were not disappointed. The location was perfect, Tammy and Dave were the greatest and our room was everything we could have asked for. We are already planning for a return trip with the kiddies and plan on trying out the cottages. Definately could become one of our yearly vacation spots.


Great value & home feel by the beach

4.8 on September 03, 2009

The location is great, with beach access right across the street. B&B sweet and homey. Hosts so friendly and helpful!


Perfect Weekend Getaway

4.6 on August 03, 2009

My husband and I were fortunate to book a room here as a last-minute beach getaway. Tammy and David were extremely warm and welcoming. After giving us the grand tour and directions to the beach, my husband and I were left alone. In fact, the only times I saw David and Tammy were when we needed them- it was if they magically appeared each time! Breakfast was delicious- pancakes with strawberries and sausage...yum! We had a wonderful conversation with our hosts and the other guests at the inn. In terms of the room, everything was extremely clean. We booked the Pineapple Room, and we felt very comfortable the entire time (cozy, not cramped)! The decor was so cute-- very beachy! The bathroom was more than adequate for such a short stay. The location was great- across the street from the beach, and away from the more cramped area around the boardwalk. Tammy and David were even kind enough to allow us to extend our check-out on the last day to give us more beach time! This was the best weekend we could have asked for. We are planning on doing a group trip to Carolina Beach, and the Beacon Inn will definitely be the first place we will look to for accommodations.


A Great Time and Place

4.8 on July 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at BHI for 5 nights. The breakfasts were great and different each day. We enjoyed our conversations with other people staying there and really enjoyed getting to know Dave and Tammy, the innkeepers. Location to the beach was phenomenal. The room and bathroom were tiny, but we weren't there to stay in the room for long; the beach and seafood kept "calling". Highly recommended.


Beachside breakfast

4.0 on July 02, 2009

Right across from the beach access, Beacon House has the advantages of being close to everything. Delicious, large breakfast kept me satisfied until dinner. Small but very comfortable rooms.


a fabulous place!

4.8 on June 18, 2009

Great location at water's edge. lovely amenities


A nice getaway

4.2 on June 09, 2009

My wife and I spent a quiet weekend at the Beacon House, and we had a good experience. The beach was a three or four minute walk away, and Carolina Beach "downtown" was ten or so minutes away.


southern hospitality

4.8 on June 04, 2009

We headed to the area for 3 days and stayed 2 nights at the inn. the innkeepers were courteous, friendly, and attentive. the room was very clean, great coffee, and delicious food.


wonderful

4.2 on June 03, 2009

It was what we hoped for and more! Even though the weather wasn't in our favor, we were able to enjoy our stay and relax in the warm and comfortable surroundings. Everything was hospitable and breakfasts were amazing!


so close to the beach!!

4.2 on June 03, 2009

The location of the BHI is priceless, it is one minute walk to the beach. The inn is cozy and the innkeepers were friendly. Breakfast was delicious. only downside- the rooms area little bit small.


Beacon House

4.8 on May 13, 2009

Great, clean place to stay with wonderful breakfasts. Had a great time and would come back again!


nice for Carolinia Beach

4.0 on May 04, 2009

nice rooms – small in size but well kept and decorated - if you are looking for the claw foot tub, canopied bed and large bedroom type of B&B – well Beacon House may not be the right place for you – but to have a nice, clean homey room that is not the sterile condo or motel you find for the most part in Carolina beach this is a great place- the porches are wonderful places to lean back and relax and although they are not ocean view the beach is a very short walk away and they do get the cool ocean breezes. Innkeepers are very nice and helpful- it was a windy weekend and they were nice to let us come by early and get out of the sandblasting on the beach – breakfast was hearty and tasty – the place is for sale so best to contact in advance to be sure it is still a B&B – overall we had a great stay and would recommend for its location, friendliness, good food and clean comfortable rooms – the only type of visit maybe I’d not suggest is the honeymoon never go out of the bedroom types


Pleasant Weekend Stay at Beacon House

4.0 on April 20, 2009

I just returned from a weekend stay at Beacon House Inn with my husband. We were only staying for one night, so we booked the Traveler room which I believe was the only room that did not require a minimum stay on their website. When we arrived, the innkeeper told us we could have the Spring Garden room instead since it was vacant, which pleased us because it has an ensuite bathroom. Tammy also gave us a tour of the place and some suggestions for weekend activities. What I enjoyed most about this B&B was the size of it and feeling as if you have the place to yourself. Saturday evening, my husband and I had the whole front porch to ourselves, which was nice. Our room did not have a TV, but wireless Internet was free which was a plus. Breakfast was served at 9am and it was remarkable. It was like having a home cooked meal and the food was delicious! The innkeepers did a wonderful job making us feel welcomed and ensuring a pleasant stay in Carolina Beach. We will definitely return to Beacon House again!


Mid Week Getaway

4.8 on April 17, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beacon House. The bed was amazingly comfortable; the interior was very clean. The breakfasts served were amazing; the innkeepers were very candid with restaurant recommendations and helpful with other details like tide change times. I wasn't crazy about having to walk through the laundry room to get to the dining area and sitting room; in addition, the exterior could be brightened with some paint and weeding...but we will likely return on our next trip to Carolina Beach!


our stay

5 on April 17, 2009

We had a wonderful time. We loved our room, and Tammy and David were wonderful! Breakfast was great each day.


Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $225
  • Reviews (116) 4.5
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9104586244
  • Toll free 1-8772322666

Visit Website »

View details

Top