Honey Hill Inn and Cabins Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Cherokee Cabin

4.6 on September 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cherokee cabin for four nights in late August and it was nothing short of fantastic. This property makes an excellent base camp for all the local activities there is to do there. Like all the other reviews, Cheryl and Gretchen are two wonderful people and really care about their customers. My wife and I took home some great memories and can't want to return.


Great Getaway!

5 on August 04, 2014

I was able to stay here to celebrate my birthday and had a splendid time! From the moment we were greeted onto the property until checking out, the service was personalized and done with excellence! I highly recommend this as a place to stay while visiting this area. Ms. Cheryl & Ms. Gretchen will go above and beyond to make your stay special! I actually wanted to rate the Dining higher...the breakfast was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Mia Berry


Charming B&B

4.8 on January 05, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay at Honey hill Inn where the owners were gracious and the food delicious. Gretchen and Cheryl are fantastic and are both naturals at being Inn keepers. The gourmet breakfasts that Gretchen cooked each morning are to die for. If you want to be spoiled and you want to feel like you are at home, Honey hill is a place you want to stay while visiting Asheville.


Awesome Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 07, 2013

My wife and I always stay at the Honey Hill when we are in the area. Gretchen & Cheryl are always so gracious and exceed all our expectations. Being a business owner; I am a tough sale. But these fine ladies have totally sold be on their product and their personal commitment to their customers. You can tell they really love their customers and enjoy what they are doing. My wife tells everybody about our stays. She talks more about the Bed & breakfast at the Honey Hill than she does the Biltmore. In the evenings we anticipate our return to see what home cook goodies will be waiting for us. Awesome!


Absolutely lovely...

4.6 on October 08, 2013

We loved our stay in the cozy Balsam cabin with it's gorgeous views of the mountains. The location to Asheville was an easy 18 minutes so getting groceries at the co-op or going out for dinner was a breeze. The location also made it really easy to get to the Biltmore (which exceeded our expectations) and to the Blue Ridge Parkway...but we also enjoyed ample sit-around-the-cabin-being-lazy time! Most of all, we adored Cheryl and Gretchen! Their generous spirits and amazing breakfasts fed our hearts as well as our bellies! A true pleasure all around!


Such a lovely B&B!

5 on August 19, 2013

We were a little nervous about staying outside of Asheville but were very relieved when we got there. Honey Hill is more than we had hoped for. We were in the Howell Room and it was VERY spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were so silky soft. We enjoyed the turn down service as well. We may opt for a different room next time because the bathroom only has a stand up shower but we knew that. After walking around the city my feet could have used a good hot bath! The grounds were beautiful and so were the views. The exterior paint needs a little sprucing up but once you walk inside, you forget about that fact. It's every bit as grand as any B&B that we have ever visited and the breakfast meals were delish! We enjoyed chatting with the other guests before we went out exploring. We hope to be back in the winter. Thanks again for your hospitality. Dwaine and Lisa Thompson


Awesome cabins

4.6 on August 02, 2013

Cheryl and Gretchen, the B&B owners, could not have been more personable and accommodating. It was like we had known them for years, and truly made our experience remarkably like a home away from home. We stayed in the cabins, and didn't have breakfast, but were extremely pleased with the courtesy coffee, sugar, dish detergent, paper towels, and other commodities we didn't have to buy. We loved the privacy, property and views, and spaciousness of the cabin. We hope to go back soon


Amazing Stay!

5 on June 24, 2013

Honey Hill was my first stay at a B&B and it was an unforgettable one! Sheryl and Gretchen were amazing hosts. We had to arrive late for check-in (around 10 pm) and they were very accommodating. We were greeted with a lovely tour of the house and of our room, complete with a bit of history and helpful tips to make our stay more comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Hoyt room. Everything was perfect from the beautiful, spacious room to the comfy robes, honey-based bath products, and the claw foot tub. The TV was small but a nice reminder that we weren't there to watch TV. The breakfast in the morning was divine, a fruit course followed by a main course. We were there for two nights and our breakfasts were very different, one sweet and one savory, but both some of the best that I have had. There is a communal breakfast table which facilitates conversation. Also, make sure you snag a few of the cookies that Sheryl puts out in the common area by the tea and coffee, they are wonderful. Both women are very helpful for helping you plan your day or give suggestions for hiking or eating; make sure you have a good chat with both of them (and ask to meet their dogs if that suits your fancy).


Simply fabulous

5 on May 02, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at Honeyhill, two in the Cherokee cabin, which we both loved, and was perfectly equipped, and two in the Howell room which is also very nice and comfortable. I just loved this place. My husband wants to make this trip a yearly tradition. It was wonderful to come home to Honeyhill every day, and our hostesses were great. I felt especially spoiled with the top notch breakfast served every morning, which were not only gourmet, but made with love. Thanks for the wonderful service and thank you for helping us with directions, information, help, etc. all the little details, the decor, the photos, the pretty table, the smell of wonderful food cooking at night and in morning, the pecan encrusted bacon, and the cookies! All of this makes it a great place.


Family get-away at Honey Hill

4.6 on April 24, 2013

We (mom, dad, 2 kids) booked the Mt. Mitchell cabin for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay! We enjoyed exploring the hill and little creek behind the cabin, visited the Biltmore estate and Asheville (15 min. drive from cabin) and had a great time in this cozy cabin. Cabin was very clean, fresh towels and sheets, fire place, wood for fire place, SUPER cozy. We also very much enjoyed the breakfast that was delivered to our cabin: delicious granola, fruit, yoghourt, good coffee. GREAT place to stay. We highly recommend.


Fantastic B&B very close to downtown Asheville

5 on April 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Cherokee Cabin at this great B&B and really enjoyed our stay. The hostesses Cheryl and Gretchen were fantastic and saw to our every need. The breakfasts here were amazing gourmet meals! Yummy! Our cabin was very private, cozy and hosted views of the mountains all around. The whirlpool tub was great! The hostesses were very friendly and knowledgeable about local dining options, walking trails, and any other local activities as well as very accommodating to to my dietary restrictions (vegetarian) and happily prepared a veggie option to breakfast each day. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Asheville. You will not regret it! Fantastic food, views, and proximity to downtown Asheville and Biltmore Estate. We will be back!


Loved Honey Hill!

4.6 on March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins. We rented the Cherokee cabin. It was perfect for us. The breakfasts were out of this world! The location was good -very near to Asheville where we enjoyed dinner at some local restaurants. The owners of Honey Hill were very friendly and accommodating. (mark and Kim)


Romantic Getaway

4.0 on January 28, 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and it most certainly will not be the last. Honey Hill will be our destination in the future and we are recommending it to everyone we know. The home is very comfortable and the owners are great people. They gave us some excellent recommendations for activities and dining in the Asheville area.


Perfect Getaway

5 on January 14, 2013

There are not enough nice things to sat about his Inn. We have stayed there about 5 times, with three different owners, and whereas it as always been great, it is now abolutely top drawer under the auspices of Gretchen and Cheryl. We have been there alone, with friends, and for large family reunions, and it was perfect for all of those things. The beautifully decorated main inn maintains much of the home's original 1885 splendor, furnished very well with antiques as well as modern comfortalbe beds, wifi and baths, spotlights a lot of interesting family history, art and photos. The relatively new self- catering cabins up on the hill which used to be the vinyard are bright, very attractive, well-equipped and provide a perfect venue for couple's retreats or family gatherings . If you want a beautiful, restful place to stay only about 10 minutes from Aheville and very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, plan to stay here.


Wonderful B&B near Asheville

5 on November 10, 2012

We were very pleased with our recent 4 day stay at The Honey Hill Inn. The breakfasts and afternoon desserts were some of the best we've ever experienced at the 15 or so B&B's we have visited. We had a few small glitches in our visit and the innkeepers were very accomodating in making everything just right. They were excellent at offering suggestions for local attractions & restaurants and were so personable. We especially enjoyed hearing the history of the house. If we ever find ourselves in the Asheville area again, Honey Hill would be our first choice!


“DOUBLELY Fabulous”

5 on August 14, 2012

We spent a week at Honey Hill (July 28th through August 4th) in the Blue Ridge Cabin. This is our second stay at Honey Hill this year. Our first stay was a weekend stay in April and we had an absolutely wonderful experience then and this visit was DOUBLELY wonderful because we spent an entire week. The cabin is ideal for two, beautiful, immaculately clean, well cared for with lots of little extras and the view is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed breakfast on the porch each morning and several evenings we roasted marshmallows on the grill. Absolutely a great place to stay. Cheryl and Gretchen are great hosts, very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The continental breakfast is elaborate, plentiful, and included several homemade goodies. Gretchen’s homemade granola is such a delicious treat. We are looking forward to our next stay at Honey Hill, maybe this fall. John and Donna

Innkeeper Response
Hi John and Donna! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Gretchen and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Blue Ridge Mtns cabin is so special because of its location on the property overlooking Honey Hill and the Blue Ridge Mountains. We were confident that you would love it there! We hope that you will have the time to stay with us again during "leaf season" (October). The mountains will be ablaze with color and you will be able to enjoy it all from your porch! Best regards, Cheryl


Charming Cabin for Two and a FurBall With Views

4.8 on August 05, 2012

Good sized Cabin with a view and pet friendly; stunning view of mt. range as opposed to the back of an inn "in town" for walking and enjoying the grounds with pet. Owners extremely caring and enjoyed talking with them. Good info about the area in the cabins; very clean and plenty of room to stretch out with your fur pal! Even with 6 cabins filled there is solitude while enjoying our walks in the gardens. We felt we were the only ones there. Great stay!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Gretchen and I are pleased that you and your dog enjoyed staying in one of our pet-friendly cabins. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness. We strive to ensure that our guests (with or without a dog) can reserve a pet-friendly cabin and be assured that it is super clean. We hope that you will return to Honey Hill in the future, and thanks again!


The best Bed and breadfast!!

5 on August 01, 2012

The service, food, beds and location are all awesome! Cheryl and Gretchen are the best!!


One of the best places I've stayed in

5 on July 10, 2012

I travel all over the world in my job. Honey Hill is one of the nicest places I've stayed in. Cheryl and Gretchen are absolutely fantastic hosts and the breakfast meal was fine enough to be served in a 5 star major city hotel. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Innkeeper Response
Wow! Thank you! We strive to provide the highest quality experience for our guests, so your comments mean a lot. Gretchen and I hope you will stay at Honey Hill the next time you visit the Asheville area.


A Perfect Getaway

4.8 on July 09, 2012

For the first time in months, I was able to relax and feel completely at peace. The view was beautiful and the owners do an excellent job maintaining the property and ensuring guests have everything they need to enjoy their stay.

Innkeeper Response
So glad that you were able to unwind and relax during your stay at Honey Hill. The mountain views have that affect on our guests! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I hope that you will return to Honey Hill the next time you need to get away from it all! Regards,


Honey Hill Inn & Cabins is a must-see and stay. Wonderful hospitality

4.8 on July 05, 2012

It is a beautiful place to visit and relax. The breakfast was superb. Gretchen and Cheryl were wonderful hostesses. And they were so helpful with our daily plans. I was surprised that I got homesick for this place. I will definitely visit this place again!

Innkeeper Response
Your review made me smile! I get homesick for Honey Hill if I am gone for even a day! Thank you for writing this review. Gretchen and I hope you will return to Honey Hill the next time you visit the Asheville area. Regards -


Great place to stay.

5 on April 12, 2012

Lovely B&B. Incredibly friendly owners, excellent breakfast, beautiful old house, and very charming, ample rooms (and I believe we were even in one of the smaller rooms). We had a wonderful long weekend here.


Weekend Romantic Getaway

4.8 on December 22, 2011

Took a weekend trip to Asheville, NC for a Biltmore visit and Asheville tour and found the Honey Hill Inn and Cabins online while searching for a place to stay. I had always wanted to stay in one of these and gave it a try. We were very impressed to say the least with the staff and accommodations. Cheryl and Gretchen took care of all the details leaving more time to enjoy the area. The Cherokee Cabin was perfect for two people and we felt right at home. The manor house was just as impressive and accommodating if you were not able to get one of the cabins. We will definitely stay there again for future trips to Asheville.


Weekend at Honey Hill

5 on October 12, 2011

We loved our weekend at Honey Hill. The inn is beautifully decorated and immaculate, the grounds are beautiful and the food is outstanding. The owners are great; it is clear they love what they do (and they do it well)!


Wonderful B&B

4.4 on August 02, 2011

The innkeepers were delightful. The house was beautiful and in a beautiful setting. We would definitely recommend this B&B. We plan to come back and try the cabins next time. Steve & Ellen Gainesville VA


The hostest with the mostest!

5 on June 22, 2011

My husband and I went to this B&B many times when it was the "Owl's Nest" but this was our first trip since it had been under new ownership and is now know as "Honey Hill." I have got to say that my expectations were far surpassed in every way! When we arrived, we were greeted by Cheryl who was so warm and friendly and showed us every hospitality. When we went upstairs to our room, they had fresh cookies and drinks waiting for us. I didn't get to meet Gretchen until the next morning when she brought out the best breakfast I ever had, ever! She was so nice and welcoming and made us feel right at home! I can safely say that we will be going back many more times in the years to come! Thank you Honey Hill!


A Welcome Retreat

4.6 on June 12, 2011

Our visit to Honey Hill was a pure delight. We were close to the activities we wanted to attend in Ashville AND able to retreat to an amazing mountain "get-away" only a few easy miles away. Our room was beautiful, comfortable, well appointed and spacious. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious and healthy breakfast, beautifully prepared and presented. The fellow travelers staying at the inn provided engaging conversation and added to the atmosphere of our stay. We are grateful to Cheryl and Gretchen for their warm welcome to us as guests in their home. Thank you for sharing this beautiful property.


Great get away

4.4 on May 21, 2011

Gretchen and Cheryl were wonderful hostesses. Breakfast was always delicious. The inn offered a stay 3 nights get 4th night free which was very attractive to us. The inn is 15 minutes from downtown Asheville so it was easy to site see and choose somewhere fun for dinner each night.


A Haven in the Mountains

4.4 on May 15, 2011

From the moment we saw the ad on the website we felt it's warmth and charisma and Honey Hill delivered on all counts! It was secluded, homey, clean and beautifully appointed and the Innkeepers are warm, friendly and so helpful! One feels immediately at home and it is the perfect location to explore all of the wonders in the area and come back to get a peaceful and restorative recharge for the next adventure! We highly recommend Honey Hill for THE place to stay when visiting the Asheville and Smokey Mountain area.


Wonderful Long Weekend

5 on October 11, 2010

We are two couples who shared the Mt. Mitchell cabin for 3 nights. The cabin was ideal for my mature in-laws who stayed on the first floor. It was very clean and there was enough space between all the cabins to give us privacy. The night sky was magnificent. We bundled up and spent time picking out constellations and gazing in awe at the Milky Way. The mountain view is probably one of the best in the Asheville area. We treated ourselves to breakfast in the manor for our last morning. The dining room is the perfect setting for breakfast. Cheryl and Gretchen (the owners/hostesses) were very friendly and the food was amazing. The entire experience was relaxing and made us feel at home. We enjoyed ourselves so much we plan on returning.


Honey Hill Inn and Cabins

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $279
  • Reviews (30) 4.8
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8286331110
  • Fax 1-8286331367
  • Toll free 1-8773381004

Visit Website »

View details

Top