1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
74 Reviews

Write A Review

Just what we needed

4.8 on April 27, 2013

Perfect after a long trip - warm, welcoming, great food, and lots of laughter! The player piano call to breakfast is lovely!


Perfect Getaway!

5 on April 12, 2013

We could not have picked a more perfect place to stay.. The room, food, grounds and staff were exceptional. The Innkeepers, Frank and Ralph were awesome. I just can not say enough. We are already planning our next visit. Ann & Brian


A+ in Asheville

5 on March 25, 2013

We were excited to learn that we had won a B&B weekend escape from BedandBreakfast.com. We were so pleased to learn we would be satying at the WhiteGate Inn. Our visit to Asheville was a first, so having a comfortable B&B to welcome us to this unique city was important. The WhiteGate was the perfect haven for our visit. We had the pleasure of meeting and spending time with the innkeepers and the very capable staff. Ralph Coffey, the quiet partner, is nicely matched with the enthusiastic and entertaining Frank Salvo. Both make the gourmet breakfast the most impressive meal of the day. Served in style, this three course meal does not disappoint. Family recipes find the way to the table as Frank pulls up a chair and delivers some fun mixed with suggestions for what to do in Asheville. We had the pleasure of staying in the WhiteGate Cottage, which provided a great fireplace and plenty of room. Appointments were stylish, yet comfortable and the atmosphere was casual without all the rules that other B&Bs often force on their guests. Evening wine and treats were delicious. The staff canines Stryker and Ida even appeared to enjoy visiting guests. Wish we could have been there when the gardens were in full bloom as Ralph has a beautiful layout with what must be an award-winning botanical design. So thank you to Frank and Ralph for a wonderful weekend - it's no wonder that you teach others how to become innkeepers. See you again for sure. 


Comfy & Cozy!

5 on February 15, 2013

Great room options, comfy beds and amazing food! What a great place and the owners are so much fun!


Didn't want to leave

5 on December 17, 2012

We found this Band B on the internet, everything looked great. What a suprise to find that it far exceeded our expectations. Food was great and they went far beond to prepared for my restrictive diet. The rooms are fantastic where can you get a hot tub for two and a steam shower in a 1898 building. Great mix old with the new. The owners make you feel part of the family.


Excellent and close to downtown

5 on October 21, 2012

Everything about our stay at this B & B was excellent. We were able to walk to downtown in a few minutes. Our romm was spacious and very clean. Frank and Ralph were great hosts. Had a delicious 3 course breakfast every morning. we stayed 7 days and the breakfasts were different every day. all in all a great place to stay. we will definetly be back


Love this place!

5 on October 18, 2012

This was our second trip to the WhiteGate and we're already planning our third! The Inn is absolutly wonderful. We stayed in a suite this time that was roomy and beautifully decorated. The three-course breakfast is amazing! Frank and Ralph are gracious and entertaining hosts, The Inn is a short walk from downtown Asheville shopping and restaurants.


A perfect weekend in Asheville

5 on October 16, 2012

Absolutely beautiful B&B both inside and out. Frank and Ralph create a warm and relaxed atmosphere that you cannot help but unwind and enjoy. So many little extras that add to the experience including my favorites of the player grand piano, wine in the gardens and amaretto by fireside in the evenings. Delicious breakfasts that had me going to bed thinking.."I can't wait for breakfast!". The B&B is an easy walk to downtown (you can also walk about 2-3 mi to the Riverside arts area). We are already planning a return visit next year.


An Incredible Weekend

5 on September 25, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Whitegate Inn and our stay couldn't have been more fabulous. The suite was luxurious, the 3 course breakfast was beyond compare, the garden happy hour each afternoon was fun and relaxing, the staff was friendly and accommodating and the hosts, Frank and Ralph, couldn't have been more helpful. They are attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The atmosphere these 2 gentlemen have created is warm and inviting. I will definitely return to the Inn. My stay there could not have been more perfect.


Our new favorite B&B!

5 on September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and it is our new favorite getaway! The inn is beautiful, charming, and peaceful. The staff is extremely friendly and eager to accommodate your needs. The food is, in a word, exquisite. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful little gem very soon!


Attention to Detail is incredible

5 on September 24, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful nights at the 1889 Whitegate Inn in the Carl Sandberg Suite and cannot say enough GREAT things about it. From the moment we were greeted by Eve until we gave our key back to Kyle, every single detail was perfect. The place is filled with gorgeous antiques and they have thought of many extra touches to make a stay there memorable: homemade goodies, amazing 3 course breakfast served by the owners Ralph and Frank along with their stories, extensive knowledge of the area, and a lot of wit. If there is something that they have missed, you can be sure if you mention it that it will be taken care of. We'd love to go back again soon. Thanks guys!


southern hospitality at its best!!

5 on September 23, 2012

The 1889 White Gate Inn and cottage is the epitome of southern hospitality! From the moment we arrived we were greeted so warmly and told all about the best places to dine. Also we were told the best places to visit and things to do! Much appreciated from a group of women from RI who were in Asheville for a girlfriends' getaway! The Inn is located within walking distance to downtown Asheville, that in itself, is a huge plus! Ralph and Frank, the innkeepers, had a genuine interest in our agenda. The morning breakfast was absolutely lovely. It was accompanied by a player piano, candles and the most beautiful fine china imaginable. The conversation among the guests along with added humor, from Frank and Ralph, made for a wonderful beginning to our day! The Inn is impeccable, so clean and tidy, anything else you could want , you just need to ask! We had a fabulous girlfriends'getaway in the adorable cottage, plenty of room for the four of us and then some. Would highly recommend this beautiful 1889 Inn brimming with history as well as gorgeous antiques. A perfect place to relax and enjoy Asheville, truly southern hospitality at its best!!


Avoid the Carl Sandburg Room

2.2 on August 15, 2012

We stayed in the Carl Sandburg room and were very disappointed. Used furniture (not antiques), cramped quarters, old windows with flaking (lead?) paint, insufficient air conditioning, tiny TV (a bummer only because the Olympics were on). Towel smelled of mildew. Poor bath products. Other rooms appear to have been in better shape than this one. I hope for the inn's sake this is so. I wish we had stayed in one of the city's downtown hotels - rates are cheaper and rooms are better. As is, we paid $$$$$ for a sumptuous, but grossly unhealthy breakfast. Never doing this again.

Innkeeper Response
Sorry that the Guests didn't like the room. No accounting for personal taste. The antiques are real and they just don't have a discerning eye. One of the rarest antiques in the hose is the North Carolina Desk that dates back to the mid 1800s The amenities are from Ghilchrist and Soames the best in the business. The TV is as advertized if they were that interested in a large TV they could have rented a suite with a 40" TV., I guess it was too expensive for them. Next time we suggest that they indulge a little. We offer a very large breakfast. Never claim to be low in fat or heart healthy but we are always willing to accommodate anyone who wants something lighter if requested. We hope they enjoy another Inn in the future.


Lovely!

5 on August 01, 2012

The 1889 WhiteGate Inn has made our list of favorite places to stay! Ralph and Frank (and staff) are the ultimate hosts even personally serving a 3-course breakfast to a full dining room of about 20 people! It's obvious they enjoy their guests. The Inn is exactly as it appears on their website with beautiful accomodations and gardens. We like the "no children" policy and the casual elegance the Inn exudes complete with a grand piano, antiques, a game board table and an antique jukebox ... yes jukebox! Such a surprise to see that in the sunroom stocked with all the songs we love from the past. Thanks Ralph and Frank. We'll be back! Bob & Kathy


Memorable 25th Anniversary

5 on July 09, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at he WhiteGate Inn and Cottage. The hospitality and service are remarkable; the food is decadently good and Frank , the innkeeper/owner can keep you laughing with good humor for hours! The gardens, so well groomed and tended, are a gardener's delight. Our room, the Walt Whitman, had outstanding comfort and attention to detail. The location of the Inn is also a plus for walkers exploring historic downtown Asheville. We have no hesitation in recommending this inn to other travelers. It would be a fortunate experience for them.


Great Romantic Getaway

5 on July 09, 2012

We recently spent two nights and three days in Asheville and stayed in the Walt Whitman suite at the Whitegate. The room was amazing, very clean, and very user-friendly. The hosts, Frank and Ralph, were extremely nice and welcoming. We felt so relaxed and comfortable that we didn't want to leave the Whitegate. This B&B has my highest recommendation. You will love it!


Whitegate a great place for a romantic weekend!

5 on June 24, 2012

My husband & I have spent two weekends at the Whitegate Inn, one last year and one this year, and it's been absolutely wonderful both times. The service is friendly and flawless, and I'd drive all the way to Asheville just for the three-course gourmet breakfast. Every time we go, we don't have to worry about anything at all; everything is taken care of. We recommend it highly!


Vacation trip to Asheville

4.8 on June 20, 2012

1889 Whitegate Inn & Cottage is great B&B in a great location. The Inn is within walking distance to downtown and many good restuarants. Frank is a very entertaining host and Chef (breakfasts were great). Ralph has a magic touch with the gardens on site - Truly beautiful! Breakfast time and the happy hour each afternoon were fun and allowed us to get to know the other guest at the Inn. To me that is a real positive for B&B's as compared to a stay in a hotel. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to the WhiteGate.


WhiteGate Inn is a Gem

4.6 on June 19, 2012

One of the best Bed and Breakfast stays we've ever exprienced.


Spectacular B&B Experience

5 on June 11, 2012

This was an outstanding B&B experience. Perfect in every way. Rooms, gardens, incomparable breakfasts in an elegant setting - all led to a wonderful stay beyond our expectations. The hosts and staff were sensational and more congenial, pleasant and entertaining than any other B & B we have stayed at. We would highly recommend a stay at the 1889 WhiteGate Inn.


Everything and More

4.6 on May 21, 2012

This inn was everything I wanted and more. A great staff, comfortable and well appointed rooms, great location and superb breakfast. I will be sure to return soon and have already told many friends to visit. I have stayed at other B&B's in Asheville and this one was by far the best. You need look no further for the perfect place!


A Beautiful Getaway

5 on May 12, 2012

My partner and I were celebrating our late honeymoon and could not have had a more perfect time. The room we stayed in (Ralph Emerson suite) exceeded our expectations and I was tempted to stay in the suite the entire time. The innkeepers Ralph and Frank, as well as their staff were very welcoming and entertaining. This was my (Rich) first experience at a B&B and i fear all others will have to exceed this B&B's standards. I felt the gardens surrounding the B&B to almost be an exclusive get away feel with the convenience of being within walking distance to downtown. This is a place worth trying!


Comfortable and Attentive

4.6 on May 12, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were delicious and the guest interaction with Ralph as the catalyst were enjoyable and entertaining. The evening social hour was delightful with good conversations, tasty appetizers, and wine. Overall the inn keepers and staff made our stay enjoyable and were always willing to help with a reservation or other needs we might have had. When I return to Asheville I will definitely stay here again. And be sure to check out the beautiful gardens.


White Gate Inn

5 on May 08, 2012

Beautiful, romantic, quiet, friendly and professional staff. Great food. A must :)


Terrific B&B

5 on May 06, 2012

I have always been a fan of big breakfasts, and this B&B has a wonderful 3 course breakfast that delivered. The main house which is where my husband and I stayed, has been beautifully restored and the gardens and greenhouse surrounding the home were spectacular. The hosts and their staff made you feel welcome from the moment you arrive to check in. Don't miss "happy hours" in the garden where there were always interesting guests to chat with and entertaining stories shared by hosts and guests. Owners/hosts Ralph and Frank seem very well connected with the Asheville area, and had great recommendations on evening dining and day activities. Not sure when we'll be back to the area again, but if we are ever back in the Asheville, we would definitely stay here again.


Relaxing

4.8 on April 15, 2012

the room was ready for us before check in as we had arrived early. greeted with a glass of champagne and shown our room.The rooms are beautiful and well equipped and downtown is just a walk away.The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is very good and brought right from the kitchen. This is one of our favorite bed and breakfasts.


When you're here...your family!

4.8 on April 15, 2012

At starts with champagne and a house tour and ends all too soon! Fantastic accommodations, gourmet breakfasts, early evening wine and home made finger food in the garden and hospitality the Vanderbilt's would be proud of. The Whitegate Inn will exceed your expectations. Chuck & Debbie, Atlanta, GA


Garden In the City

5 on April 11, 2012

Had a delightful stay at 1812 Whitegate Inn. Attention to detail by the friendly owners made the trip extra relaxing. The location was perfect to see Asheville and close enough to rafting, hiking, and waterfalls to explore. Perfect getaway! Donna & Bill, Jacksonville, FL


Great Experience

5 on April 04, 2012

We were met at the door with a glass of Champagne and it just got better from there. The staff were all very hospitable. The owners who also do the breakfast were very entertaining and fun. We felt comfortable and relaxed the whole time there. We definitely plan to return.


TOP NOTCH IN EVERY DETAIL

5 on March 26, 2012

Our 2 night getaway to the 1889 WhiteGate Inn was perfect. The attention to detail, the friendliness of the hosts and staff and the quality of the Inn and grounds were impeccable. Can't wait to return.


Helpful staff!

5 on March 19, 2012

My husband and I were hoping for a relaxing weekend and that is what we found at the WhiteGate Inn and Cottage. We were greeted warmly by the staff, and we were taken on a tour and given personal attention as soon as we arrived. Our room was immaculately clean, and it still had a feel like home. We also got to walk downtown afterwards for a nice coffee. The walk is easy and quick. We slept well, and the breakfast was beyond expectations! We had three wonderful courses, and the Inn Keeper, Frank, was a pleasure to talk to as we ate. He was extremely helpful in picking out places to go and things to eat. We were able to relax and not worry while the staff took care of reservations, directions, and the clean-up. Thanks to all who made this a wonderful stay!


Great Experience!

5 on March 12, 2012

My wife and I have a wonderful night at the WhiteGate Inn and Cottage. It’s hard to say what we liked most, the warm, modern room (Elizabeth Barrett Browning Suite), the inviting hosts and staff, the food or the beautiful grounds, but I think the combination of all made it special. I was really unsure about going to another Bed and Breakfast after my wife and I experienced one 18 years ago, but after this weekend, we are definitely doing this again and pretty certain it’s going to be at the WhiteGate.


Best B&B we've ever been to!

4.8 on March 10, 2012

The 3 course breakfast was incredible, the social hour was great, the provided snacks were delicious, and the hosts really went the extra mile to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They even made calls for us to get us a reservation at a restaurant known for booking weeks in advance! Fantastic B&B with a fantastic location, just a 12 minute or so walk to downtown Asheville. Loved it!


New home away from home

5 on February 27, 2012

My husband and I visited the 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage this past weekend. Being greeted at the door and offered a glass of champagne was only the beginning of an amazing 60th birthday celebration for me! We enjoyed the coziness of the fireplace in the Robert Frost room every evening and were warmed by it in the mornings after our shower. Dining at the WhiteGate Inn was an experience to behold! Not only is the presentation of each plate beautiful, the flavors of each bite of the 3 course breakfasts were almost sensuous! Being within walking distance to downtown Asheville one can't ask for a better location! Innkeepers Frank & Ralph are definitely the cherry on top of a home made sundae!! They make it all happen! Thank you WhiteGate Inn for making my fear of turning 60 completely disappear!


Valentine Get Away

4.6 on February 23, 2012

Living in N. Asheville I had peered over the fence of the White Gate Inn to see the extensive gardens and wonderful purple house. So as a get away valentine celebration we chose to stay at the Inn. The inside was spacious and airy and graced with fresh orchids. Ralph and Frank were most gracious hosts sharing their experiences and talents. The three course breakfast of spinach/artichoke/egg baked in individual souffle dishes was divine along with fresh fruit compote and chocolate torte for dessert was worth the visit! We danced to the jukebox tunes and enjoyed the Amaretto after dinner. In the heart of Asheville this is a treasure.


1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

4.0 on February 22, 2012

Please consider visiting this beautiful and charming bed and breakfast while visiting Asheville, NC. Attention to detail and the service is outstanding. The owners and staff truly appreciate your patronage and awaits your return visit.


Exceeded expectations

5 on February 21, 2012

The WhiteGate was amazing. Luxury combined with a prime location that is within walking distance of downtown. Our Suite was beautiful, roomy, and clean. The grounds are well kept, and we cant wait to see them in the spring! The Inn is a 5 minute drive to the Grove Park Inn; but the Grove Park offers shuttle service for WhiteGate guests. This makes for an easy and worry free visit. We highly recommend the WhiteGate! Do yourself a favor and stay there!


Charming, outstanding, genial

5 on May 20, 2011

I was attracted by the award winning gardens with a water feature, which were stunning. The orchids in the greenhouse and the entryway were very unusual and I enjoyed seeing some of the trophies they have won discretely displayed in a glass breakfront in the solarium. The 3 course gourmet breakfasts were served in the formal dining room on fine china with close attention to our every need by the servers, yet the atmosphere and dress were casual, friendly and informative about local sights and worthwhile hikes and restaurants. We enjoyed the other guests and the hosts so much that we arranged to be home in time for the afternoon wine and appetizer gathering by the water fountain and fire circle. I have to admit I regularly sampled the triple chocolate cake and diet coke always available in the solarium. My husband preferred the sugar cookies, coffee and several newspapers. We both enjoyed skyping our son from the sitting room and toasting him with the Amaretto available there. I had never seen a player grand piano and found it genially announcing that breakfast was ready to be served a charming touch. We were in the smallest room, the Dorothy Parker room and found it spacious and beautifully appointed. We had the best intentions of using the new and high quality exercise equipment and sauna but somehow never found the time. We have stayed a a number of outstanding B&Bs all over the country including Alaska and Hawaii and this easily ranks among the best we have had the pleasure of experiencing.


The Best B&B in Asheville!

5 on April 13, 2011

I was in town for a few days recently and had the good fortune to stay at what I think is the best bed and breakfast in Asheville. There are so many options in Asheville but the welcoming staff at WhiteGate Inn immediately made me realize I made the right decision. The 3-course breakfast will be the highlight of your day featuring delicious food and lively conversation. The inn is perfectly situated just a short walk from downtown, but quiet and peaceful. If there weren’t so many amazing activities in the area I would not even leave the room. It is immaculately clean and exceedingly comfortable. Make sure you don’t miss out on the serene gardens and enjoy a stroll or guided tour through the greenhouse with hundreds of orchid plants. I can’t wait to return to Asheville and when I do I will definitely be coming back to the folks at WhiteGate.


good food, ok bedroom

3.2 on January 03, 2011

The Good: Food and ambiance were great. The Bad: Room was not as I expected (Carl Sandburg). Especially considering that I specifically asked about a TV, the support staff for the owners should have explained that the TV was not in the bedroom. Will probably will try a different B&B next time.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on October 25, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights in the Cottage for our honeymoon. Everything was fantastic! The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was delcious! We will definitely be returning!


Great Inn, great service !

4.8 on October 24, 2010

The entire experience was terrific. The interaction with Frank , Ralph and the staff was so pleasant. Our vist was as comfortable as being with old friends. The location was perfect for seeing the exciting events and all the unique shops in town. We will be sure to visit again whenever in Asheville.


Perfection

5 on July 07, 2010

Everything about the 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Inn was exceptional: well-appointed rooms, friendly service, and a three-course breakfast prepared to perfection. Don't miss the wine and cheese get-together held every afternoon in the beautiful garden. This place is a keeper!


A very relaxing stay!

4.6 on June 27, 2010

We found White Gate to be very relaxing and accomodating. The three course breakfast was outstanding. The inn was withing walking distance to town and restaurants.


Wonderful Experience

5 on May 31, 2010

We stayed 1 night in the main home and had a wonderful breakfast the next morning. We then moved to the cottage behind the house and it was beautiful and comfortable, very much like home. We still had access to the main house for refreshments but had our own kitchen to fix breakfast at our leasure. We sat on the front porch and drank coffee in the mornings and walked in the gardens. The green house orchids were fascinating ! Great experience.


...a memorable experience...

5 on May 18, 2010

We recently attended a small meeting at the 1889 White Gate Inn & Cottage in Asheville...what a memorable experience! We stayed in the cottage and the accommodations were delightful. The ambience of the main house is warm and inviting. The grounds and gardens are special and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the fresh air. Every morning we were treated to a fabulous breakfast in a beautiful and gracious setting. Ralph and Frank (your hosts) are charming and eager to offer suggestions or information about the area. The staff were all extremely professional and caring. The location is very convenient to all of the wonderful sights and restaurants that Asheville has to offer. If you are in the Asheville area, this is one B&B that you do not want to miss!


Definitely recommended

4.6 on May 16, 2010

Great rooms and wonderful garden. Add in fabulous hosts and delicious breakfasts and it makes this a place you don't want to miss. Walking distance from downtown Asheville.


What was great was really great but what was bad was really bad

2.8 on May 16, 2010

The house is like a museum of curios, objets d'art and plenty of antiques some of which were actually quite spectacular. The house itself is enormous as well as being an antique in its own right. The grounds are spectacular especially the orchid greenhouse. If you are a fan of orchids this is the place to stay. When you travel you want the basics; clean room, clean bathroom, quiet with low stress. The room we stayed in, The Robert Frost, had a pilot light in the gas fireplace has a PIERCING HIGH PITCHED WHINE THAT NEVER STOPS. I was unable to sleep in anything approaching a restful manner during my entire stay. When you stay in an antique house you have to be ready for things not to work like a modern house. The sink drained very slowly. The original china tub, while interesting, was super uncomfortable to use. The bathroom window was swelled shut and was only opened by the staff by banging on it (I was not willing to risk doing that myself). The outcome is the room, while very beautiful, is difficult to use as a guest. The rest of the house is an antiquities enthusiast’s dream. Yet, it’s not very comfortable to actually relax in. They have an antique juke box that plays 45’s which was very interesting yet it moans and bubbles like it’s in pain the entire time you are trying to relax in the sun porch. The player piano is fascinating but out of tune. The Wi-Fi connectivity was inadequate. In conclusion, what was good (the food, the beauty of the grounds, the antiques, the accommodating staff) was fantastic. What was bad (the high pitched whine in our room, the difficult bathroom and the inability to relax) was quite bad. If you are a collector of antiques, an orchid enthusiast or a lover of historical homes this is the place to stay. If you want an easy, relaxing and restful place to stay this is not the place.

Innkeeper Response
mSometimes we recognize that there are quests who simply should not stay in B&B's but are better suited for a hotel where the environment is much more predictable. As much as we strive to provide a great experience for all our guests, that is not always possible. Luckily the WhiteGate has rooms ranging from historic to modern and guests can choose. The room this guest stayed in was the Robert Frost room. This guest complained about a whine coming from the fireplace pilot. In 12 years we have never heard a complaint of this nature and have only heard from guests how great this fireplace is. This guest is obviously very sensitive to background noise and this is why we supply ear plugs in all our bedside tables. The guest also complained about the noise the jukebox makes. It is a vintage jukebox that does occasionally whine and groan when not being played, part of its antique charm. When we talk to potential guests about the Robert Frost room, we always discuss the vintage 1907 bathroom. Many guests appreciate it's historic charm and when questioned about replacing it with a modern bathroom have told us not to change it. If guests prefer a modern bath, we discuss other rooms that have whirlpools, steam showers, and even body-jet showers with separate 2-person Jacuzzis. The Robert Frost room is a large room and other guests have not complained about difficulty in walking around the furniture. There is so much room that we recently upgraded the bed to a beautiful 4-poster King bed with a canopy! We do appreciate the guest comment about our WiFi. What we have discovered over the years is that many times the weak or no signal is due to the guest computer or their service. AT&T has terrible service in the Asheville area but Charter is excellent. Our ITT guru recently upgraded our router to give us excellent service in all our buildings.


Elegant accommodations with modern amenities

5 on April 12, 2010

Our stay at the 1889 WhiteGate Inn and Cottage was extremely enjoyable. The gracious innkeepers and friendly staff were attentive and anticipated our every need. While we stayed at the beautiful and private cottage, we had full access to the public rooms in the main inn, where we could relax around a grand player piano in the parlor and a working wurlitzer jukebox in the sunroom. We were served a gourmet three course breakfast in the elegant dining room and during this time our cottage was being cleaned by housekeeping- it was a pleasant surprise to find our rooms refreshed when we returned. This inn provided us the perfect balance of privacy and intimacy in our cottage, with the option of enjoying social interactions with other guests at breakfast and a social hour in the early evening hosted in the beautiful, well-tended garden. The rooms are appointed with beautiful antiques and artwork, yet there are modern amenities, such as wifi and flat screen TVs in your room(ours had a jacuzzi jetted tub), and even a workout room and sauna on premises. The property is pet-friendly in certain units, provided the pet is crated when you are not in the room. We were able to bring our mini-dachshund (upon providing proof of vaccination/flea treatment, which we totally appreciated). Our cottage was beautifully appointed, and even the magazines in our cottage were current-month issues. Our special requests were fulfilled effortlessly. Overall, the perfect stay.


Elegant and cozy at the same time

4.6 on April 05, 2010

The owners and staff are friendly,warm and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the conversation easily flowed. There were many laughs as well! Guests could not help but be charmed by these surroundings. A return visit is on our agenda.


My Favorite Escape

5 on March 30, 2010

I have been going to the Whitegate Inn for five years. Every time I have a vacation, I am ready to go. The owners are good friends, and so superior in the way they handle the guests. I have never had a better experience, and it just keeps getting better.


Great Place

4.6 on February 19, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the 1889 White Gate Inn. All the amenities were fantastic. What an amazing breakfast.


Would not even consider staying anywhere else in Asheville

5 on December 15, 2009

Wonderful Staff and Innkeepers. Very fun stay and our every need was met and exceeded with care! This place wants your repeat business and is greatful to have you there. Excellent breakfast that are made with thoughtful consideration. We had such a good time, we are going back with our best friends. Asheville is a cool town and this IS the place to stay.


MOST AMAZING!

5 on December 06, 2009

THIS IS A MOST AMAZING PLACE!


Beautiful inside and out

4.8 on September 14, 2009

Chose this B & B partly from its website and partly from the location--close to restaurants and downtown. No surprises whatsoever. The room (Elizabeth Barrett Browning) was cozy and romantic, the grounds beautiful and private, the breakfast sumptious! The staff and hosts were knowledgeable and gracious. Would stay here again when in Asheville.


Pet friendly and great location

4.0 on August 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed five nights in the beautiful 1889 Whitegate Inn and Cottage and had a wonderful time visiting Asheville and the surrounding area. We chose the Oscar Wilde in particular because we were accompanied by our west highland white terriers, and that suite is one of the inn’s three pet friendly units. The suite is well furnished and equipped with a small kitchen that is replenished daily with breakfast items—everything from muffins and eggs to juice and coffee. The king size bed was comfortable and the lighting (sometimes a problem elsewhere) was good enough for reading in bed or in one of the comfortable chairs. The grounds and gardens are as lovely as pictured. If you are looking for a typical bed and breakfast experience but want to take your pet along, the one thing that might disappoint is finding yourself separated from the generally hospitable atmosphere that one expects at a B&B. We knew that as pet owners we would not be having breakfast with the other guests, but had assumed we would be greeted at some point by one of the innkeepers. However, that did not occur. They remained quite invisible throughout our stay of five days. Even so, although I found the management distant, the young woman who served wine and cheese each afternoon was absolutely charming and full of good information. One other thing—the location is great. Everything is convenient, whether you want to go downtown to shop or dine, or whether you want to take off for the mountains to go hiking. We did it all and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.


Perfectly charming inn!

4.2 on August 18, 2009

The suites are as beautiful as the online photos! :) The gardens are spectacular, and we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the hosts, Corgis, and the staff. Breakfast every day was beautiful and delicious. The spa services were very relaxing, too. A delightful getaway for couples and very close to downtown restaurants and activities.


Great B&B

4.8 on August 12, 2009

We never stayed in a B&B but this exceeded our expectations. We will never go back to a hotel unless we have to!


Hated to leave

5 on July 25, 2009

From the moment you arrive at the White Gate Inn you feel at home. We stayed in the cottage. Its clean and well furnished, the bed comfortable, the amenities perfect, the breaskfasts fablulous but there's more to it than that. The Inn Keepers. Frank and Ralph are so passionate about the Inn, the gardens and their guests that everyone feels special, not just one of hundreds of guests who pass through year after year. There were many who were there for the third or fourth time. I hope we will be repete guests very soon. Ed and Lee Snell Safety Harbor, FL


Beautiful inn and gardens with fantastic breakfast

5 on July 13, 2009

A trip to Asheville will be even more memorable with a stay at the WhiteGate Inn. The gardens provide a beautiful setting for this lovely inn. The rooms and common areas are well-appointed, and the 3 course breakfasts are incredible. The inn owners go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. Can't wait for a return visit!


White Gate Inn close to downtown Asheville.

2.8 on June 25, 2009

White Gate Inn is located within a short driving distance from downtown Asheville. The gardens surrounding the Inn are lovely and offer a relaxing respite amongst the pond and koi and unusual plantings. However, much of the gardens could stand a thinning out and pruning. The entrance drive to the Inn is like driving through a jungle and so much of the landscaping is hidden because it's so overgrown. The food is fabulous but extremely rich and decadent. If you're used to eating healthy meals, be prepared for 95% rich and decadent with only a small entree of fruit. We would have preferred more healthy offerings with only maybe one decadent offering. We also were very disappointed with the breakfast meal served at 9:00 a.m. instead of 8:00 a.m. By the time you're done dining, it's 10:00 a.m. and your morning is mostly shot if you have plans that take you outside of Asheville. The room was small but nicely appointed. There is a great deal of attention to the small amenities that add a lovely touch. I tend to be very particular about cleanliness so for most people, the following may not bother them: There were some dead bugs on the floor, a stain on our sheets covering our blanket and the shower had mold in the corners. Generally however, overall, things are kept-up fairly well. We enjoyed our stay and would probably return to White Gate Inn.


Pampered

5 on June 22, 2009

Our two day stay exceeded our expectations. Our room in the carriage was gorgeous, comfortable and we slept soundly. We especially enjoyed the three course gourmet breakfasts and the wine and cheese hour in the garden. Hope to return next year.


FABULOUS

4.8 on June 09, 2009

this b&b is fabulous! everything at this b&b is worth your time and money! the rooms are gorgeous, the staff is friendly, and the gardens are spectacular! Frank and Ralph are excellent innkeepers/owners!


We loved it.

4.8 on May 24, 2009

It was a wonderful experience. Close to downtown, charming gardens, wonderful breakfasts and social hours, very welcoming staff. Thouroughly enjoyed it.


Good Getaway

4.8 on May 19, 2009

I stayed at the Inn in early May. It was a wonderful experience. The gardens are magical, the food simply excellent, the down town area within walking distance, and the owners and staff all very helpful. I had a massage and facial. Both were divine. I highly recommend the 1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage.


The Whitegate is worth the trip!!

4.6 on May 06, 2009

My wife and I have now stayed at the Whitegate on two different occasions, (3 for my wife) and we love it there! The location is great, easy access to I-40, minutes from downtown Asheville (you could walk if you wanted to), the entrance to the Biltmore Estate is an easy drive and less than 10 minutes away. It's a good central base to be able to get to the entire Asheville area. The Inn itself is clean and well taken care of. The rooms are also clean and very nicely appointed. The staff is excellent and very helpful. Tickets to the Biltmore Estate, restaurant reccomendations and reservations, (Frank & Ralph, the owners, haven't steered us wrong yet in this area) if we needed anything it was taken care of very quickly. Then there is the breakfast, it's not just breakfast but a three course meal, (no need for lunch :) ) If you're looking for a place to get away with your loved one for a romantic weekend, or just to relax and kick back, I highly reccomend the Whitegate.


Wonderful 1st time ....

4.6 on May 03, 2009

We were delighted with our stay at the Inn. We typically stay in hotels when we travel but decided that since there are so many B&B's choices in Asheville we'd try one for a change of pace – we picked a winner! The Inn has old world charm and features but offers all the modern amenities, the common areas are comfortable, cozy and sunny while our bedroom/ bathroom was totally up to date. The garden was in bloom and is the pride & joy of one of the owners – it shows. We had a large (firm) bed with lovely linens (and tons of pillows), the spotless bathroom had a whirlpool tub w/ shower, our sitting room (originally a sleeping porch) off the bedroom had a flat screen tv, desk & sofa. We enjoyed the 3 course breakfast in the mornings (who knew breakfast could be 3 courses!) & wine/canapés in the afternoon. The owner and staff are all very attentive & extremely happy to share their knowledge about the area, sights, shopping & restaurants – don’t miss Tops for Shoes in downtown Asheville. We'd love to stay here again!


Very Nice But Cold

4.0 on November 13, 2008

Frank and Ralph are the definition of great innkeepers. We found their inn lovely, the food was wonderful, and their company was very entertaining. We stayed in the Browning & Emerson suites in December of 2007, which are located in a separate building that has either been newy renovated or newly built. The only downside to our stay was the heat situation. There is one very loud, motel-style wall heater on only one side of the building with no other visible forced heat anywhere in the room or bathroom. So, not only did the constant "on & off" cycling of the heaters wake us up constantly throughout the night, but when we got out of bed in the morning, the bathroom was so cold, that we had to lay towels on the floor and turn on the ceiling heat lamp for awhile to be able to use the bathroom (as the heater's on the opposite side of the building from the bathroom). I hope they soon remedy this uncomfortable situation.

Innkeeper Response
Guest comfort and satisfaction are our number one concern. We encourage our guests to give us feedback and realize that there is always room for improvement. We wish these guests had let us know when they stayed here a year ago that their room was cold so we could have resolved their problem. The Emerson and Browning suites opened a little over a year ago in our new Carriage house. They have become our most popular suites over the past year and we have received no complaints about the heating or cooling. Our architect did a lot of research to come up with the best system for individual room comfort and on his recommendation we installed PTAC units in each suite. The guests love that they can individually control the temperature and we know there is a wide range of comfort levels that guests require. We wanted to assure comfort in the bathrooms so we had auxillary heaters installed. We have discovered that for the PTAC units to work efficiently the bathroom doors must be left open when not in use so the air can circulate. These suites have large stone fireplaces with gas logs and guests that like it quieter have told us they turn off the PTAC units and the room is very warm with just the fireplace on. The PTAC units also have a night mode that allows the fan to run quieter. This has been a long explanation but we would like to assure these former guests and those in the future that there is not a problem with the heating or cooling in these suites and that as innkeepers we will do everything possible to keep our guests happy and comfortable.


Visit family

3.6 on August 01, 2008

The stay met and exceeded my expectations


Wonderful inn, great location!

4.2 on June 16, 2008

Many positives: Beautiful, spacious room (we stayed in the Eliz. Barrett Browning suite), awesome bathroom, the gardens are truly spectacular. Innkeepers and staff are friendly and informative about things to do in the area. The location is great...just a few short blocks to downtown Asheville, which is a fun town with lots to do. The only drawback (to me) was the rather skimpy breakfast. The food was very good, but for the price I expected a more substantial breakfast. Both days we were served 3 courses--1st a cup of fruit marinated in brandy or other flavorings, second a small ramekin of a quiche-like dish (no meat), and 3rd a small puff pastry. While delicious, it hardly filled me up. Some homemade ham biscuits, omelettes, or maybe even a nice breakfast casserole would be very easy to do. I just think the breakfast should "wow" the guests, and for me they did not. Again, what we had was very tasty, but I would have much preferred a more hearty fare. That said, I think this is an excellent property overall, and I would confidently recommend it to anyone. Just be prepared to eat an early lunch!

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate the input from this guest and regret that we did not "wow" her with our breakfasts. Breakfast is an event at the WhiteGate Inn and we want the guests to leave the dining room impressed with the presentation and the quality of the food if not the quantity. We serve a 3-course sit down candlelit breakfast and guests never receive the same course during their stay. If you are with us 5 days you will have 15 different courses. Many guests tell us they skip lunch after having our breakfast! Expect the unexpected is our motto and we always serve a dessert for the third course and at this time the innkeepers and our 2 corgis join the guests and we have a chance to socialize with our guests and help plan their day. We hope these guests will stay with us again and experience additions to our menu. We are now serving Brenda's homemade butter biscuits with assorted jams, have increased the size of the entrees, and now offer a choice of juices. Feedback has been very positive and we will continue to improve and always listen to what our guests have to say.


More than expected

5 on June 04, 2008

Everything was perfect - rooms, food, and walking through the beautiful gardens and orchard greenhouse. The owners were a joy to talk to and shared knowledge of area attractions they knew gardeners would enjoy!


great birthday experience

5 on October 20, 2007

The Innkeepers Frank and Ralph have done a wonderful job making this one of the best inns I have ever stayed in. It is beautiful,friendly and nothing has been forgotten. I was so happy about my stay and I think you will be too.


Best B&B

5 on October 17, 2007

This was the best B&B that we’ve ever stayed in! Very cordial hosts, excellent food & amenities Beautiful gardens


Who Could Ask for More!

5 on September 20, 2007

The WhiteGate Inn is awesome. Our overnight stay included beautiful sleeping quarters and amazing accomodations. Your home is so tastefully done. We appreciate your hospitality and wonderful food. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $359
  • Reviews (74) 4.7
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8282532553
  • Fax 1-8282811883
  • Toll free 1-8004853045

Visit Website »

View details

Top