Recent Reviews in Natural Bridge, Virginia

Lovely Inn at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Natural Bridge, and would recommend Herring Hall. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, safe, beautiful, and interesting. The breakfast was wonderful, and we would love to stay there again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


General Lee would be proud you named a room after him! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

The B&B is fantastic! Anne is very friendly and helpful, and this historic home is absolutely beautiful....we hope to get reservations every time we visit Lexington!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

We had a great stay at Herring hall. Anne has thought of everything to make your stay special.

View more reviews for this inn


Country Wedding at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2015

We used Herring Hall as a base for my daughter’s wedding. Anne Herring was so much fun as she welcomed us into her home. It is obvious that she loves entertaining and sharing her knowledge of the homes and history of the area. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Each was decorated with beauty and charm, reflecting the personality of the host. The inn offered plenty of room for the wedding party to primp and to socialize. We found many charming photo opportunities both inside and outside the inn. Breakfast in the mornings is a wonderful start to the day with fresh, local ingredients and tried and true family recipes. The always available Herring Hall pound cake is wonderful as a bedtime snack! Thank you, Anne, for such a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic place to stay. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2015

This is both a fun and fantastic B and B. Love the cows! The Teass Girls.

View more reviews for this inn


Stayed May 22nd 2015 at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.0 reviewed on May 26, 2015

We stayed one night May 22nd and had a delightful time. The owner, Anne Herring, was welcoming and pleasant, and she explained all the public room facilities (living/TV/Dining). Lots of family silver and crystal in the cabinets - the juice pitcher needed two hands! A very tasty breakfast was provided (somewhere on the web it says that you get a voucher for the Diner down the street? Not so.) If we had one criticism, it would be the lack of clothes hanging facilities. As we were told, they had no closets in 1820, when the house was built. Well, yes, but they did use wardrobes/free-standing closets. A hat rack was provided in the room with hooks for lots of hanging clothes, and the bathroom had a lot of hooks. Overall it was a delightful stay. Highly recommended. .

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Lexington at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on May 19, 2015

Anne is a wonderful, gracious Southern lady. Highly recommend staying here. It is outside of Lexington but well worth the drive.

View more reviews for this inn


Living "IN" History at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2014

This was our second visit. If you enjoy visiting historic homes and other buildings you are going to love this. You can not only enjoy the ambience by looking at it, but also sitting in it and touching it!! (No Roped Off Areas!). Innkeeper Anne makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The meals are feature as much local foods as possible depending on the time of year, so freshness is guaranteed and the recipes range from "old family" to "let's try something new". All are mouthwatering and delicious. In addition to the meals, snack and drinks are always available. The Farmland settings and the morning "moos" are equally pleasant. You will not be disappointed during your visit.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful weekend at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful place. Anne is a great hostess and the breakfast are different each day. The breakfast would cost over $20.00 a person alone! If you could find the unique items available. The house has wonderful charm and the Anne takes great pride in giving you history of the house and the area. I can't think of a better place to stay if you are in the area. We will be back in the area in two years and hope to stay again and this wonderful B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Antebellum beauty! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

Innkeeper, Ann Herring has brought this old home to life with her perky collections and unexpected colors. Her attention to detail made our stay there a truly delightful experience. Rooms were immaculate, beds were comfy, and the breakfast was amazing. True southern comfort with amenities galore! Don't miss this gem! The home made pound cake alone would make the stay worthwhile!

View more reviews for this inn


will definitely make a return visit! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

a beautiful home, a gracious hostess, comfortable rooms, and a fabulous breakfast. We could not have asked for more!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming place to stay for our visit to Rockbridge County. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2014

Anne was an outstanding hostess, the house was gorgeous and has very interesting architectural details and the southern breakfast was fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at Herring Hall! We were there for a horse show, and our expectations were exceeded by Anne's gracious hospitality. Breakfast on Sunday was incredible, especially the stewed tomatoes! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Missing porcelain cups at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.0 reviewed on July 28, 2014

Excelent service quality price match But the breakdast must be served with porcelain cup to match with the decoration and ambiance

View more reviews for this inn


Southern hospitality at its finest! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2014

Very nice experience & hard to beat for the food & hospitality! Anne was a most gracious host & the food was the BEST I have ever had at a B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Herring Hall at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

We had a wonderful visit staying at the beautiful Herring Hall. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay at this bed & breakfast again.

View more reviews for this inn


Natural Bridge Vacation at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

Southern Hospitality at its finest! Beautiful grounds, excellent customer service. Felt right at home!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Bed and Breakfast Experience at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Herring Hall. This historic home was charming and oozed southern charm and hospitality. Recommend it highly.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B at a great location at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.6 reviewed on October 23, 2013

Anne's amazing hospitality, the beautiful house and delicious breakfast will be part of our memories from a wonderful weekend. The rooms are clean and the service is excellent. Only a short drive to Lexington.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.2 reviewed on October 16, 2013

The room was clean and quiet (except for the cows mooing, but that's why we come to the country, no?). The parlors were meant to be used, and I did. The innkeeper was charming and hospitable. The house is truly historic, and a history of the house/inn/B&B made for interesting reading. I will stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Recent visit at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2013

Went back, nothing has changed .Anne is stil gracious and lovely . The stay was wonderful. We will be back soon. This is a B&B that should not be missed. I have stayed at several in Lexington,, Herring Hall is far superior.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Time at Herring Hall at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on November 27, 2012

Starting with Anne's warm welcome we had a very relaxing time. The house is spacious and warm and the room very comfortable. It ended with great conversation in the morning with other guests at breakfast. We're on her calendar to come back again. Thanks Ane

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on November 14, 2012

Beautiful property and an excellent place to stay. We enjoy everthing about our stay and would highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Bed and Breakfast at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2012

Anne Herring was so hospitable and accommodating. Her home was beautiful, extremely clean. Filled with character and charm. Our visit to Herring Hall was a wonderful addition to our parents weekend at Washington and Lee. We would definitely return next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this inn and have recommended it to several friends already. Anne was a very gracious, informative host and the breakfasts were lovely. The only thing I'd add would be down comforters in the bedrooms..

View more reviews for this inn


Great Get Away at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.4 reviewed on November 03, 2012

Excellent example of why the bed-and-breakfast industry flourishes in the United States. Out of the ordinary, fun, and always a few pleasant surprises.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect southern hospitality!! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on October 31, 2012

My husband and I have stayed twice at Herring Hall over the past year. We love Anne's attention to detail in decorating the rooms, and her passion for preserving her family history. We were greeted by Anne's exuberant personality, which never lost it's spark from the initial reservation process and to every conversation during our stay. We appreciated all the flourishes of hospitality, from the Blackberry Merlot offered at check-in, to the Herring Hall Pound Cake, to the excellent breakfast filled to the brim with personal touch and wholesome local products, to the personal handwritten thank-you card as we checked out. Herring Hall is certainly done well, in every way!

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect place to celebrate an anniversary. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2012

This past weekend, my wife and I celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary at Herring Hall Bed and Breakfast. This was truly one of the best anniversaries ever. Herring Hall is a beautiful bed and breakfast located in one of Virginias most beautiful locations. Anne treated us like family and she made us feel welcome from the moment we met her. I have to admit that breakfast is not my favorite meal of the day. Having said that, Anne prepared some of the best tasting food that I have ever experienced. If we had to rate Herring Hall on a scale of 1 to 10, we would give it a 25. It goes without saying that my wife and I will be back in the future. Robin and Terry Spencer Virginia

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly host and Lots of History at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.4 reviewed on October 22, 2012

Enjoyed our one day stay immensely. Host was gracious and full of helpful information about restaurants and local places to visit. Felt very welcome. Breakfast was excellent. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Herring Hall, a Virginia jewel at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on September 16, 2012

This beautiful antibellum home located in the countryside near Natural Bridge was delightful. Anne Herring is a wonderful hostess and has done a great job in maintaining the integrity of this almost 2 century old home. You can tell she truly loves this place. And the breakfasts were delicious full Southern country breakfasts. The spoonbread was the topping on our stay there. I highly recommend Herring Hall to anyone who wants to get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Herring Hall (4.81)
Top
}