Recent Reviews in Napoleonville, Louisiana

Unforgettable experience at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2016

We happened to be the only guests during our night at Madewood (august is the hot period), and we had a great time enjoying the house for ourselves! Food was delicious, people very kind and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


30th Anniversary at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Our anniversary weekend was incredible! We really enjoyed the quite, relaxed atmosphere. Actually staying in the home was quite an experience. The staff was very pleasant. The food was possibly the best we have ever had.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection! at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here last year for four days and came back this year for an entire week! Our room was gorgeous, we slept in a half tester antique bed. The service there is excellent and whatever they are paying Angie isn't enough because she goes way above and beyond! We went this year to celebrate my daughters high school graduation and she had the choice to choose anywhere and she chose Madewood because of our previous wonderful visit last year. Angie not only made a cake for my daughter but she actually called the school (in Missouri) so she could decorate it with her school colors, all a wonderful surprise for us! She also took her personal time to show us a very secret spot :) Our room was extremely spacious, the food was absolutely delicious and you honestly feel as comfortable as home. Any visit to Louisiana will always have Madewood as our home base!!

View more reviews for this inn


A Step Back in Time at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on June 01, 2016

This place has the potential to be one of the best B & B's in the south. Some upgrades are definitely needed and it could smell a lot better but it was a great experience. I would love to have a home like this. I felt as if I literally stepped back in time. A porch swing and some sweet tea would have made my visit ideal. The dining experience was very authentic. Angie did a fabulous job. Eating by candlelight is something that everyone should do, even if it's in their own home. There was a southern ease about it that made me not want to get up from the table. The only critics I have are that it could have smelled better and it could have been cleaner. The bed skirts and carpets were rather dirty and I understand that the place is quite old, but there's no reason for the smell. The air conditioner was not sufficient and made this Yankee Gal quite uncomfortable. The outside of the house was riddled with cobwebs and mud-wasp nests... not exactly ideal for visitors. Like I said, the place has all the potential to be spectacular and I hope they're able to accomplish that because it truly is a gem!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice, good value at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on May 08, 2016

Overtall a good experience. Great house, beautiful furniture, excellent dinner. However the cleanliness of the room is questionable, especially around the toilet, dust on the shades, etc. The electrical installation is outdated: impossible to put the light on (string broken), safety is questionable. Breakfast is too heavy for European stomaches. Excellent welcome and service quality.

View more reviews for this inn


The only plantation where you can sleep and have dinner inside the main house at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2016

Angie is a very nice house keeper. The house is like a museum-plantation. It's very quiet and with many charms: decoration, furniture. The dinner and the breakfast at the large table shared by all the guests wee really nice. A little bit pricey. The only problem has been the difficulty to find the house since there are two parallel roads along the river. The house is on road 308, not on road 1. This is correctly indicated on the map.

View more reviews for this inn


Magnificent Stay at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Everything was perfect, and Angie was the perfect hostess and Alice the perfect chef when my girlfriend and I were there. I love Madewood and the whole experience of staying there. Angie went out of her way to make a very special treat for me that my fiancé arranged with her from afar. Can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Fun place to spend a night at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.2 reviewed on March 24, 2016

Beautiful house, good food and service. Room could have used a good airing out, sink drained poorly, a.c. not working well.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway. at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on February 19, 2016

Friendly owners, guests, and staff. A return to the gracious past.

View more reviews for this inn


Girlfriend loved it and so did I at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on December 31, 2015

What a great getaway! My girlfriend and I spent the night at Madewood the day before Christmas Eve and it was one of the highlights of our holiday. The staff was friendly, the food was outstanding, and the room was gigantic. We also got to meet the owner Keith, who was generous with his time and shared some fascinating stories with us. I am doubly appreciative of the service we received: the staff had to really shift gears to accommodate us because of a huge filming event that took place at Madewood right before our arrival. We'll definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


A true Southern experience at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on December 01, 2015

We absolutely loved our stay. We were so lucky to be the only guests and have this amazing home all to ourselves. The home is beautiful, the staff friendly and welcoming, and our food was outstanding. I felt like Scarlett O'Hara for a night. It was such a treat, and a wonderful experience to have had. I can't recommend this enough. You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleased with our stay at Madewood. at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.8 reviewed on November 24, 2015

Do not give anybody a "5" - always room for improvement

View more reviews for this inn


awesome place to stay at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.8 reviewed on November 11, 2015

We had a great stay. The staff was wonderful and friendly. The food was good and the company was even better. We would stay their again.

View more reviews for this inn


back to antebellum times at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on June 09, 2015

a very pleasant stay with good service and honored by the housekeeper. the house is splendid like the museum-plantation homes. it's very quiet and with many charms: furnitures, books, decoration and a marvellous plantation cat like in every good house. Sirot family from Chartres France

View more reviews for this inn


Madewood stay at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.4 reviewed on June 08, 2015

It was relaxing. The ladies, Angie and Alice, were extremely kind and personable. Keith was also quite interested in our comfort and visit. Everyone was concerned about our comfort and needs.

View more reviews for this inn


The crown jewel of the south! at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2015

I cannot say enough about this magnificent mansion! it is absolutely gorgeous. The room we stayed in on the main floor was large and very beautiful. The service was outstanding and I literally felt like a queen! we were free to roam the house at will and take as many pictures as we liked. The meals were delicious and served so beautifully. Mr Marshall was a wealth of information and a very gracious host. we stayed four nights and hated to leave. while there we toured six other plantation homesand went to the French Quarter,but going back to Madewood every night felt like going home! if you want a truly southern experience stay at this plantation. my daughter and I cannot wait to go back! Christie and Adrianna

View more reviews for this inn


So glad we stayed here at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.4 reviewed on May 25, 2015

Many of the plantations along the River Road have become big business and have lost their charm (yes, Nottaway, I'm talking to you). Madewood takes you back in time. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel most welcome. We had not had time for lunch, and it was a while before cocktail hour, so we asked if there was any way to get a little something from the kitchen to hold us over. The chef put together a small plate of cheese, crackers and grapes and sent it upstairs for us to enjoy on the back gallery with a glass of bourbon from the honor bar. Keith (and his trust sidekick, Miss Cleo) greeted us during the wine and cheese reception, and regaled us with stories and history of the old place. Angie then welcomed us into the dining room, where all the guests dined together. The table was set impeccably, the service was excellent and the food was outstanding. Probably the best chicken/sausage gumbo I've ever eaten - and I've eaten a lot of gumbo. Once could spend hours wandering the house, studying the antiques and artifacts that fill the place. Our room - Mrs. Marshall's - was spacious and so very comfortable. I've stayed in hotel rooms that were smaller than the bathroom attached to Mrs. Marshall's bedroom. We also had easy access to the rear gallery and made the most of it. The place could use a good cleaning, especially on the outside, but that was part of the charm. No pretense at Madewood. Just warmth, quiet and welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


Good experience at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on May 25, 2015

very nice house and large bedroom. We had the feeling of living in past century. We meet nice people from UK.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique experience at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.6 reviewed on May 20, 2015

Lovely opportunity to stay in a really unique location - would definitely recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Like visiting a friend at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.8 reviewed on May 09, 2015

This house is very homey and the staff are cordial and welcoming. Socializing with other guests was fun and the food was well prepared and presented beautifully. . The beds were comfortable and there were reading chairs with good lighting in the spacious room. However, the bathroom in our room was awkward because it was a step up to get in and there was very little space to put personal items

View more reviews for this inn


Une soirée de charme at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2015

Une de nos plus belle soirée en Louisiane dans un cadre exceptionnel Tout est fait pour votre détente et votre bien être dans ce superbe batiment aux chambres typiques et pleines de cachet Une hotesse aux petits soins, un diner agréable, un petit déjeuner copieux et varié....

View more reviews for this inn


Plantation Stay at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.4 reviewed on March 01, 2015

Amazing house tho many things needed a good dusting.Food good. Bedroom very comfortable tho our bathroom a little small, given the size of the place.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place with incredible service. at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2014

We felt like royalty when staying here. Angie was an incredible hostess and wonderful cook! We were the only ones staying there so we had the run of this lovely old Greek revival plantation home. Wine and cheese in the library, followed by a multiple course dinner in the formal dinning room with candlelight. Moved from there into the parlor for coffee and brandy. On retiring, our bed had been turned down while we were dining. The next morning, coffee was delivered to our room at 8 to get us started. Breakfast was served at 8:30 with southern style biscuits and homemade pear jam. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Madewood Stay at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on October 16, 2014

Although we got off to a slow start with Angie, things did improve drastically by dinner time. She took a lot of time to answer all of our questions, and she served a superb dinner and breakfast. We loved our first-floor bedroom; it was so comfortable and beautifully decorated.

View more reviews for this inn


Great End to Our Vacation at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.0 reviewed on October 14, 2014

We spent a week prior in New Orleans, and decided we'd like to wrap up our stay at Madewood Plantation House with a relaxing evening/morning. We enjoyed it! The wine and cheese reception was fun - we got to know the other guests fairly well. Then, the dinner we were served was fantastic! Coffee and/or brandy was served after dinner in the parlor where we continued our conversation(s). Breakfast was served in the morning and did not disappoint. We spent time that morning exploring the grounds and then travelled home. We'd highly recommend staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


Special night... at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

3.8 reviewed on October 06, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Madewood last week. What a great time we had. The service and food was fantastic! We actually had the entire plantation home to ourselves because we had went mid week and it was quiet. We will recommend it to our friends. I plan to one day take my kids. Stay and enjoy!

View more reviews for this inn


SUPERB!!! at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2014

If there was a 6th star that would be my rating. If you miss the opportunity to stay and enjoy this Great plantation it will be a great loss for you, The rooms and food are excellent. The staff are professional in every respect. This is what the old South stood for in respect to hospitality. It was my wife's 70th birthday and boy was she happy. We will go back!!!! Jeff & Glenda

View more reviews for this inn


Magnificent at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2014

The first time I came to Madewood was on 26 September 1989. Now I wanted to introduce my son to this Plantation House. Together we appreciated the comfort and hospitality of Madewood and also we both noted that Madewood had very much conserved its character as an original Plantation House.

View more reviews for this inn


A True Plantation Feel at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

4.2 reviewed on May 09, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the experience of staying at this beautiful house, which gives you a feel for the elegance and grace of Old South living.

View more reviews for this inn


What a truly great place! at Madewood Plantation House (Napoleonville, Louisiana)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2014

Fantastic home and fantastic meals.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Madewood Plantation House (4.38)
Top
}