Recent Reviews in Muskegon, Michigan

A Gem In Muskegon at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on August 25, 2016

What a delight it was for us to spend a few nights here a few weeks ago! Barbara and Fred were very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the hospitality they have created in this Victorian inn. They have decorated it with beautiful antiques and memorabilia. Everything is spotless from top to bottom. Our breakfasts were delicious and so enjoyable shared with the other guests. This was the nicest B&B we have had the pleasure to stay at. I wish we had more time to spend in this little gem in Muskegon and will definitely stay here if we have the chance to visit again. Scott & Pam Sparks

View more reviews for this inn


Peace and Joy Abound at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2016

My daughter and I spent two nights in July that will forever be etched in our hearts as a truly joyful experience. Cher Reid and Becke Rogers

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous stay at B&B at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2016

Owners were amazing. The place was very clean and was able to learn about the history of the B&B. Only got to stay one night but will have to return when have more days to stay. Thank you for a wonderful place, great food and great hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Top Notch Hospitality at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Fred and Barb have spared no expense in renovating and decorating this wonderful home, which was built by one of the founders of the city. They gladly share their knowledge of Michigan history and are absolutely delightful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


An unique experience at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

We fell in love the Queen Anne room on our first visit and coming back felt like coming home , only better ! My husband is vegan and they made a special breakfast for us . Love their sweet puppies . Barb & Fred are helpful and interested in helping you get the most out of your time in Muskegon. The location could not be better minutes from Lake Michigan,downtown, and wonderful walking paths along Muskegon Lake .

View more reviews for this inn


great 1st time at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on July 26, 2016

our 1st time ever for a B&B. will be tough to match this one. rooms are outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


Best 4th of July ever.... at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Absolutely awesome experience. Nicest place I have ever stayed!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay with Wonderful Hosts at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2016

My wife and I took a little weekend get away and had the good fortune to book a room at the Port City Victorian Inn. We stayed in the Captain's Suite and my wife and I could not have been more impressed! The inn keepers are some of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet and the Inn itself is an absolutely stunning Victorian mansion. Breakfast was excellent; they took great care to avoid certain foods with my wife's food allergy, and the food was delicious. We would stay here again in a heart beat!

View more reviews for this inn


Love PCVI at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

This was perfect for our little anniversary getaway. We had not complaints! The hosts were fabulous and we would go back in a heart beat!

View more reviews for this inn


Annual Visitor at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2016

I have been coming to Port City Inn every year for the last 22 years. As a director in the Miss America Organization I am in Muskegon each year in June for the Miss Michigan Pageant. This is always my first night stay and my favorite night of the entire week. Barb and Fred love this home and it shows in every detail. Highly recommended for any travel needs.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Victorian Inn at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on June 30, 2016

The Port City Victorian Inn is a lovely B&B. We stayed in the Alexander Rodgers Suite, which was spacious and elegant. I especially liked the canopy bed. The decor throughout the house was historic and beautiful, and the hosts were knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and filling; Barbara was very considerate about my lactose intolerance. We enjoyed renting the bicycles they had and riding the lakeshore bike path. All in all, a very nice get-away.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous! at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2016

Fred and Barb have a lovely, historic home which they are gracious enough to share with others with their B&B. This was our first B&B experience and will not be our last. Fred is quite the historian and we looked forward to the morning history lessons. Barb is a gracious host and a great cook. We wish we could have stayed longer!!

View more reviews for this inn


Darcy and Jack at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on June 26, 2016

Darcy and I loved the room, with it's romantic bed and it's romantic shower/whirlpool; the hosts were very friendly and helpful, with knowledge of the history of the house and the area; the back porch offered a fantastic view of the moonrise, just as the front offered a nice view of the sunset; the location had nice places to walk to right from the room; we would do it again, and hope to get the opportunity one day.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on June 09, 2016

We had a wonderful stay! It exceeded our expectations. Thank you Fred and Barbara!

View more reviews for this inn


A very pleasant stay in Muskegon at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

We had a very pleasant stay in the Port City Victorian Inn. We only stayed one night, but we would love to come back to Muskegon. Fred and Barbara were very nice hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful honeymoom at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2016

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the captain's room. We enjoyed the hot tub, fire place, and the view of Lake Muskegon from the balcony. Barbara fixed two wonderful breakfasts while we were there. Loved all of the details in the historic home!

View more reviews for this inn


Long overdue RAVE review! at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on March 23, 2016

Hubby and I thotoughly enjoyed our romantic getaway at this most exquisite location!! Innkeepers warm and welcoming, just delightful! Room was the most beautiful we've ever stayed in (30+ years' worth of traveling! Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Victorian B&B at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on September 22, 2015

Amazing Victorian rooms, lots of charm and character. Very clean, good homemade breakfast and extreamly welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice stay at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on September 12, 2015

The house was very. Beutiful and was well decorated. Breakfasts was excellent. Conversation with owners was refreshing and comfortable. The dogs where friendly and cute. Overall was an excellent stay,.look forward to staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


Escape back in time! at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2015

Where do I begin! Port City Victorian Bed and Breakfast is the most magnificent place I have ever stayed! You cross it's threshold and are transported back in time! I remember my first stay here years ago and I never tire of coming back! Fred and Barb are the most lovely Inn Keepers. They pride themselves on beautiful hospitality, cleanliness and making sure their guests feel at home. I have stayed at several B&B's which claim to be Victorian, then you sadly discover the inside is not up to par. NOT the case with Port City. The inn is everything you would dream a real, grand Victorian home would be! Barb has beautifully decorated each room with historical accuracy and the most charming of details. In fact, every time I visit I discover new antiques, art works, and furnishing that I had not noticed before. So if you want the greatest pancakes on the PLANET, a quite serene evening, gorgeous sunset view, and as close to a home away from home as you can get, stay at Port City Victorian Bed and Breakfast! You will not regret it. You will cherish the memory of your stay and want to come back as I do!

View more reviews for this inn


A Real Gem at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on August 11, 2015

Our stay was wonderful. It was quiet and relaxing. I enjoyed sitting on the patio in the morning. The food was good. Barb and Fred were charming. Fred recommended some great places for dinner. It was located in the center of everything we had planned. Would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Muskegon.

View more reviews for this inn


A bit of Paradise at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

3.8 reviewed on May 24, 2015

This year will be our 3rd. Every time we stay, we are planning to come back before we even leave. Atmosphere is charming and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. The food is superb and rooms are very clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Place at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on October 01, 2014

You can't help but be impressed with the splendor of this 137 year old home. The rooms are some of the nicest I have ever seen. I would go back there whenever I have to go through Muskegon.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay in MKG at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on September 10, 2014

Fred and Barb are great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2014

Barbara and Fred are wonderful hosts. They really take the time to make you feel at home. The Port City Victorian is absolutely breathtaking. It is definatley a place we will be returning to. They take pride in there home and it shows. Barbara went above and beyond to help me make this weekend very special for my husband and I. We were there for our 10 year Anniversary and have so many new and wonderful memories that I can hold her accountable for. Again Barbara and Fred thank you from the bottom of our hearts Jim and Rachel Herwig So. Milw, WI

View more reviews for this inn


Comfort Lives Here at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on August 24, 2014

MF and I have just completed a two week trip around the upper midwest, including staying in seven different bed and breakfasts. The Port City Inn is among our top stays. Lovely old house, well-set-up room (rather dark walls, but that's part of the decor). We were greeted by two inquisitive and VERY small dogs (about as big as my shoe, but I wear size 18). They obediently pulled back on command, but not until my wife fell in love with them. Good night of sleep, fairly decent place to set up my laptop and check email, and they served us breakfast early because we had to leave to catch the ferry! Fred and Barb(?) were great hosts ... MF said she liked them the best of the various hosts we had. Perhaps the biggest drawback is that the handrail on the steps up to the second floor was rather low. Conclusion: if we come back to Muskegon we'll stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great for Bicyclists at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

3.2 reviewed on August 15, 2014

Best part of this B&B is it's proximity to the bicycle trail from downtown Muskegon to Pere Marquette park on Lake Michigan. The house is in great condition and immaculately decorated and kept, the Innkeepers were warm and welcoming with conversation and service. As a coffee snob I was let down at breakfast, but the juice was fantastic. Pancakes and bacon with some fruit so nothing fancy.

View more reviews for this inn


An Oasis To Experience at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2014

This beautiful and spotless B&B has been fashioned with the comfort of guests first and foremost. We stayed in the Queen Anne’s room which had a great view of Lake Muskegon as the sun rose and set each day, and we were impressed with the ability to completely control the temperature in our suite with just a touch of our handheld remote. Our bathroom was equipped with a two person bubble tub which was a great way to unwind after a day at the beach. We have stayed in several B&Bs before, but the maturity of this B&B is on display as soon as you enter the home in the multitude of beautiful antiques, Victorian décor, and the detailed history of this home originally built by one of the founding industrial fathers of Muskegon in 1877. Kudos to Fred & Barb who have meticulously preserved the history of this home for their guests and the City of Muskegon. A great front porch with a view of the lake and a second story deck both amply equipped with comfortable furniture and lots of flowers provide an excellent outdoor oasis to kick back & relax. The inn was full during our stay so our breakfasts were not as elaborate as what we were expecting, but as a parent of six children I completely understand meals of individuality cannot be produced for many people at the same time. Maybe next time, we will be back………..

View more reviews for this inn


Ornate, wonderful, and comfortable at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2014

The Port City Victorian Inn, bed and breakfast, was ornate... everywhere we looked in our room, in the parlors, in the dining rooms, there were figurines, floral arrangements, and furnishing to capture the eye and imagination of a bygone period. This is not a place for someone who would have problems with visual sensory over load. For it is amazingly well decorated throughout. We stayed in the Rose Room, it was most comfortable, and well appointed: from the wall coverings to the canopy over the bed. to the ornate lamps. The upper level deck at the rear of the building... WOW what a great gathering space, relaxing space, quiet space. The only draw back was that we had places to go to, people to see, while in the Muskegon area and did not spend enough time at the Inn. This Victorian Inn requires more time, in it, to really appreciate the treasure that it is.

View more reviews for this inn


Another Wonderful Stay at Port City Victorian Inn (Muskegon, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2014

I stayed at the Port City Victorian Inn with my wife for our second anniversary and had a delightful time. Fred and Barb made us feel like we were part of the family. Breakfast was different each day, keeping our taste buds on their toes. The PCVI was a great respite between our antiquing or sunset trips to the beach. My wife and I are already planning out visit to the PCVI next year!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Port City Victorian Inn (4.68)
Top
}