Baer House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
79 Reviews

Write A Review

Florida Bound

4.8 on September 07, 2013

We were headed for Florida from Arkansas and decided Vicksburg was a great place to stay overnight. Rather than stay in a hotel we decided to call BnB's to see if they had any same-night availability. My first choice was The Baer House. We lucked out because Doug had an unexpected opening. When we arrived, Doug made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room. We arrived close to dinner time, so once we got settled he invited us down to the dining room to discuss local restaurants. He had a variety of menus, and he was well versed in the food and atmospheres of each. We decided on Walnut Hill and enjoyed its history. The bed in the Bonnie Blue room was extremely comfortable, and the room was spacious. The history of the house is very interesting and the original features beautiful. This BnB had more privacy than others we've stayed in. This bed and breakfast was a great price and a wonderful option. We have stayed in many BnB's and this was one of our favorites.


Gospel welcome

5 on July 16, 2013

One could not do better when picking a place to stay in or near Vicksburg. On the day I arrived Doug had arranged a gospel choir to sing in the beautiful sitting room, a great way to be welcomed into any establishment. The rooms are clean, well maintained, and the breakfasts are top-shelf, absolutely delicious. The billiard room adds a touch of nostalgia and a nice, level table to play a few games on. Conveniently located in the heart of Vicksburg near restaurants and museums, well worth the price. Brett Dingerson


Best Bed and Breakfast yet

5 on July 06, 2013

My wife and I have experienced many bed and breakfasts. We travel extensively and have never been so pleased or felt so much like a part of a family as we did while staying with Doug and his family. Baer House is the definition of Southern Hospitality at it's finest. There was a comfort we felt was as if you were in your on home. The breakfast each morning rivals some of the finest restaurants in New Orleans....we should know, we are from that area. If you find yourself anywhere near Vicksburg and you miss the chance to stay here you have done yourself a disservice. Baer House should be on the bucket lists of places to experience.....we will be back. Thanks Doug.....


Outstanding

5 on May 17, 2013

Rooms and food and all were 5 stars but there needs to be a 6th star for service. I asked Doug if there were a place for early coffee and he set up coffee for 4AM for me. A small thing but typical. Just ask they will do it. Make sure to ask Doug about his adventure racing. Amazing. Love this place.


"Southern Hospitality with a Worldly Twist"

4.6 on March 23, 2013

This is a wonderfully preserved Eastlake style home. Stayed in the Mei Ling suite, very comfortable queen size bed with good linens. Bathroom stall is a bit small and the towels were ordinary, not too thick. Wi-fi and cable available. The breakfast was superb! Fresh fruit, frittata super hot from the oven, biscuits that absolutely melted in your mouth, coffee, juice, delicious soft chewy cranberry cookies, everything home made from scratch by Doug, the owner. Located in the Downtown Historic Area, very close to many points of interest. Doug has traveled all over the world, is an avid sportsman that can recommend and provide great sports activities from cycling to rowing in the MS River. Thick legs of the pool table rooted to the chestnut floor, and sports memorabilia will make you feel like a pro. Returning to my childhood home after 33 years in the Caribbean and being able to bask in the warmth of the fireplace in the spacious library was priceless.


Great Wk-end!

5 on March 16, 2013

We had a great wk-end from beginning to end! Doug was very welcoming, friendly and gracious, not to mention that he is also a great cook! Our room was beautiful as was the entire home. We enjoyed happy hour in the evening and sat out on the porch one evening and enjoyed our wine. It's really nice that it is so close to Main street and Doug gave great suggestions for wonderful dinners. We will definitely visit again.


Great stay in Vicksburg

5 on March 11, 2013

I chose Baer House because of its location, within easy walking distance of Washington St/ Downtown, and for its history and beauty. The proprietor runs an excellent inn, very welcoming. The facilities are comfortable and beautiful, and the evening cocktail hour is a nice touch. Great breakfast and resources about the local area. I will stay here again and will recommend Baer House to others.


My stay.

4.6 on February 06, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When traveling back to Vicksburg I will stay there again.


Was Hoping for More

2.4 on July 07, 2012

Overall, our stay at the Baer House Inn was pleasant, but it did not knock our socks off. The house was clean and well-decorated representing a mix of the old and the new. However, the grounds were nothing special, merely functional. Breakfast was pretty much what the innkeeper decided it would be. Other than the opportunity to opt out of certain elements of the breakfast being served, there was no real choice. We didn't expect a full menu, but "how would you like your eggs cooked" would have been nice. All in all, we are glad we stayed at a bed and breakfast. It was one part of a larger trip, so it blended with the other elements that made for a wonderful vacation. If it had been the focus of the vacation, it would likely have been disappointing. Thanks to BedandBreakfast.com for providing a great number of choices in numerous locations. We will definitely stay at another bed and breakfast in the future.


By Far the VERY best experience I have EVER had staying away from home.

5 on July 06, 2012

The innkeeper, Doug. This one man turned our little weekend get-a-way from good to AMAZING. the check in process was super easy he brought our luggage up to our room, gave us a tour of the house. We had arranged to have fresh flowers in the room for my wife they were absolutely beautiful. While we were staying there my wife had her birthday, we went out for dinner that afternoon while on our way back to the house I called Doug and gave him a heads up that we were on our way back. When we arrived he had a beautiful and delicious Italian cream cake for my wife and I, it was set up very romantically with candle light service utensils even poured us a glass of milk. Doug went above and well beyond any expectations. He made you feel as if you was his only guest and that he is at your service all the while having other house guest and giving them the same service we received. Doug was right there any time we needed something not over attendant, we would not see him and I would think "wow I could ask Doug" and there he was. I really can't give him enough credit he simply was a pleasure to meet and to listen to. Also the breakfast are absolutely the best. You can choose you breakfast time and unlike most places where the breakfast is cooked at the same time and you east it when it is fresh or you miss out. Not here if you want to sleep in a bit that is fine, and when you do go down for breakfast it is hot and fresh for you. By far the BEST bed & breakfast experience EVER. If you have plans to stay else where call and cancel those plans and plan to stay at the Baer House, I promise you will be very pleased and glad you did. Again Doug, THANK YOU!!!!! For all that you did to help make our stay and my wife's birthday as special as it was. Bobby G.


Family Reunion

5 on June 22, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at Baer House. We met family members there and our reunion time was made extra special by the great accommodations and service provided by Doug and Baer House. We hope to make visiting there a tradition.


great B&B

4.0 on November 27, 2011

well located, walking distance from downtown Vicksburg. Outstanding home and decoration, you feel like going back to the past. Amazing room. The breakfeast was delicious and adequate. We regret that we didn't see a lot our host on the arrival, but we could discuss with him at the breakfeast, and he gave us informations about the history of the house and the plantations around.


Went the Extra Mile

4.8 on November 01, 2011

We had an great time staying at the Baer House. Our hostess was special and went the extra mile to make us welcome and help us enjoy our stay both at the Baer House and in Vicksburg. This included finding a guide to take us on a walking tour. The room was very clean and welcoming.


Charming Southern Hospitality

5 on August 07, 2011

Our two-day stay was all we expected. Doug was a charming and helpful host. He served us an amazing and satisfying breakfast. Vicksburg served as a grand historic and educational trip. The Bonnie Blue room was enchanting and comfortable. Upon leaving, a rain shower left us with the most beautiful double rainbow. S and J


Baer House July Visit

4.8 on July 15, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Baer House visit. The house is lovely and the host was very accomodating (we especially appreciated the host's advice on touring the historical Vicksburg sites). Breakfast was delicious. We plan to return with friends next time!


best thing in Vicksburg

5 on July 03, 2011

I was not impressed with Vicksburg, but was wonderfully impressed with this bed and breakfast. It was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Doug was a wonderful host and the food was wonderful. If you are going to Vicksburg or just passing through to go somewhere else, this place is well worth a stop. You will be glad that you did.


One of the South's Best

4.6 on July 02, 2011

One of the best. Great service. Breakfast is one of the best in the South. Best location for all attractions, yet quiet for a getaway. came for two days and stayed two weeks.


awesome house and staff

3.4 on May 04, 2011

We stayed one night in the Tara room (very comfortable bed). The house is beautiful, Doug and his parents (Bill and Lois) are excellent hosts, the history is very interesting, and it's conveniently located near downtown Vicksburg. An excellent choice if you're looking for a B&B in Vicksburg.


Great and relaxing Spring Break

4.6 on March 26, 2011

Doug was an excellent host. He made sure we knew the times of all the activities and gave good directions. The breakfast was first rate. I look forward to staying there again


Absolutely delightful!!

4.8 on January 22, 2011

My husband and I spent only one night at the Baer House but would LOVE to have stayed longer. The house is GORgeous, and the breakfast was OH so delicious. Doug, our host, was so very accommodating and helpful and we truly felt that we arrived as strangers but departed as friends. I can't say enough good things about this lovely experience.


Best stay ever at a bed and breakfast!

4.6 on September 16, 2010

I highly recommend staying at Baer House. Doug is a wonderful host and is very knowledgeable of the Vicksburg area. The breakfasts are outstanding, room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.


This place is awesome

4.4 on August 28, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Baer House in July. This place has two features that are just plain impossible to beat. This house has history and Doug is an excellent storyteller. We could just sit and listen to him tell us about the house and the woman who built it and all the history and it is a fascinating story. The second thing is the breakfasts. I expect a good breakfast at a B&B but the two breakfasts we had there were 5 stars. The breakfasts were unique and delicious. This is the place to stay in Vicksburg. It is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in and we only stay at B&Bs when we travel so we have stayed in a lot.


Will book again!!

4.4 on August 24, 2010

My husband and I booked the Bonnie Blue room for 2 nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The host went out of his way to make us feel welcomed and pampered us with his cooking - excellent breakfasts!!! He also took time to share the history of the home with us, which in itself is very interesting! The Inn is only a block from the old Courthouse Museum and 2-3 blocks from Washington Street. Very convenient to downtown. We will be staying here again in the future.


gracious southern hospitality

5 on August 16, 2010

our stay was exactly what I look for in a bed and breakfast. our host Doug was helpful, friendly, and accommodating, room was beautiful and clean, food was excellent. Our stay was brief, but we really enjoyed Vicksburg and I would definitely stay at Baer House again and have already recommended it to everyone who cares to know.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 on July 11, 2010

The Baer house is a wonderful place to getaway to. Although we live close to Vicksburg, and could visit very easily without staying the night, we choose to spend the weekend in the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of the Baer House. It never fails that Doug's breakfasts are truly delicious, and his hospitality is genuine but not over bearing. We have stayed in three out of the six rooms and would gladly stay in any one of the rooms again. The history behind the house is amazing and full of many unique quirks that could only be tied to Leona Baer. It is with in walking distance to many of the best places to eat, and is five min. driving distance to the national park.


Quaint wedding at Baer House Inn on May 22, 2010

5 on July 09, 2010

We wanted a small, intimate wedding with just family, and the Baer House Inn was a PERFECT choice! I can't imagine getting married anywhere else. We had a family friend take pictures, and they turned out amazing because the house has so many beautiful backdrops. The innkeepers were incredibly accommodating... they made suggestions and did everything they could to make the day perfect for my family and me. I walked down the stairs, met my father at the bottom, and he walked me into the ceremony. Afterwards, we had a sit-down dinner instead of a reception, as there were only 12 guests; for the record, the dinner was exceptional! My husband and I stayed the night there, and the next morning were served a huge, delicious breakfast before departing for Disney World. The entire experience completely surpassed our expectations! We looked into many B&Bs in Vicksburg prior to the ceremony, and there was just no contest as far as pricing and friendliness of the staff! We will definitely be visiting again for anniversaries, etc.! Thanks to Doug and everyone at the Baer House for being so good to us!


First anniversary

5 on June 02, 2010

My husband & I spent our first anniversary at the Baer House. It is a beautiful house and the service, host & food were amazing. We will go back!


Wonderful Vicksburg B&B

4.8 on May 15, 2010

We went to the Baer House Inn for our honeymoon, and had a wonderful time. The room was magnificent and had an individual thermostat so we could keep it at a comfortable temperature for us. The breakfasts were great. So good, in fact, that we bought the cookbook with some of the recipes in it to take home with us. They also hosted a social hour in the evening to give the guests a chance to mingle and talk to each other, which was very nice. Doug is a great host. He gave a very interesting history of the house from its construction immediately following the Civil War up until the present day. He also was very helpful with suggesting restaurants for lunch and dinner and attractions and activities to do in the Vicksburg area. Overall, we had a wonderful time there.


Southern hospitality at its best

5 on May 01, 2010

I just got back from my five night stay at Baer House Inn and loved every minute of it. I had researched other B&B's in the area before booking my stay at Baer House and I am so glad I chose this inn. I was traveling with my two dogs and they were very accomodating considering I have two good sized dogs. My first night was in the Scarlett room, which is a beautiful room and then Lois and Bill helped me move to the Leona room as it was available and is a ground floor room which was easier for the dogs. I have stayed at many other B&B's across the United States and this one rates right there at the top of my list. Lois was a joy to talk to and breakfast was the best. I felt like I was visiting with a friend and my dogs felt right at home with Alix and Buster! It was wonderful being able to let my dogs run free in the completely closed in "back yard" of the inn. I plan on making a return trip to Vicksburg at some point and will make sure I book at the Baer House Inn again.


A Quick Get-A-Way

5 on January 03, 2010

The Baer House Inn is a wonderful retreat from a hectic world. Doug made us feel very comfortable & relaxed during our 3 night stay, & his knowledge not only of the history of Bear House, but also Vicksburg, made our stay just that much more valuable & interesting. Doug was able to point us in the right direction for sightseeing & dining from the beginning. He is also a wonderful chef & gracious host. We stayed in the Scarlett room & were very comfortable indeed, wanting for nothing. His dog Alex was also very friendly, well behaved & usually greeted us upon our return each time. We are planning on a return to Vicksburg in about 3 - 4 months with my in-laws in tow & we do plan on staying with Doug at Baer House Inn again. I am looking forward to the relaxed & quiet atmosphere.


Outstanding!!!!

5 on December 14, 2009

This was my first experience with a B&B and my I say I has very impressed. We stayed in the Leona Suite. I loved the privacy of the room. Social hour was great and breakfast was out of this world...... I loved it. For dinner I would recommend Walnut Hills , just a block or so walk from THe Baer House!!!! Fried chicken was wonderful. Just like home cooking!!!! Doug you were a great Host and Cook!!!!!!! Richard and Denise Helams


The Baer House Inn is magnificent!

5 on December 04, 2009

The Baer House Inn is magnificent! The Scarlett room was very pretty. Nov 20-22, 2009 was a perfect weekend at this beautiful B&B. For the first time in 18 years, my husband & I finally treated ourselves to a 3 day get-a-way,... without the kids! The Inn is absolutely fabulous! Doug was great. His recommendations & advice were wonderful & greatly appreciated. The wine hour was extremely enjoyable thanks to Doug’s magnificent way of telling you about the history of this beautiful house. Doug cooked breakfast both days and it was delicious. The coffee was perfect! The fall foliage in November was amazingly beautiful. My husband & I enjoyed our stay so-oo much that we plan on going back in the spring with 2 of our children. Next visit, my husband & I hope to be staying in the Bonnie Blue Room. My only complaint,…. we could have used fresh towels the second day. Pssst… Love the Baer House Inn Mugs. Plan on buying 2 more next trip!


Best yet

5 on October 07, 2009

I have stayed at several B&Bs in Natchez, MS and in Arkansas and this has been the best yet.


True Southern Hospitality

5 on October 06, 2009

We were made to feel at home, except that Doug didn't make us wash the dishes! Breakfasts were delicious. A friend recommended this B&B to us, and we'll pass on the recommendation to others.


Baer House Inn

4.0 on October 06, 2009

This was my first stay at a B&B. The owner/host was excellent and made us feel right at home. Our room was very comfortable. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and will check B&Bs when I travel in the future.


B&B perfection

5 on September 29, 2009

My goodness, where to start? From the moment of arrival Doug - owner - makes you feel right at home. He recommened several good homes to tour, places to eat, things to see and we took his advice and were not disappointed. The house is amazing and the rooms are charming, wonderful, I can't say enough about it. The breakfasts are gourmet and it's the best B&B experience I've had. I must confess the owner (Doug) makes it so. His telling of the history of the home brings the history to life. I will certainly stay again the next time I visit Vicksburg. I would not change or improve any part of my stay at The Baer House Inn. PERFECTION!!!


Leona's Privy

4.0 on September 07, 2009

We spent two relaxing nights at the Bear House, enjoying Doug's very entertaining description of the house and its history. The history of these old BandB houses is why we enjoy spending a night (or two) at such fun inns as the Bear House. And the breakfasts were definitely to Leona's high standards.


Great experience

5 on August 21, 2009

We had a wonderful first stay at the bed and breakfast. It certainly encouraged me to try other places. The inn-keeper was an asset to the B&B. The roo was not only beautiful but it was also very comfrotable. We selected a room with our own bath.


Most enjoyable

4.8 on August 05, 2009

This was ourfirst time to experience a B&B. Lovely home, excellent bathrooms. Bonnie Blue room was large and comfy. Kathy was a great host, wonderful cook, and interesting to talk to. She adjusted the time of breakfast so we could get an early start -- much appreciated.


A stay with extended family

5 on August 04, 2009

As soon as we arrived Kathy welcomed us and treated us as if she had known us for years. The house was well kept & the tour we received was above & beyond. This B&B is so guest friendly, the dog seemed to be our own and made it hard to leave.


Great Place & Location

5 on July 02, 2009

The hosts were awesome. They were very friendly & informative. The breakfast each morning was outstanding and we enjoyed the wine & appitizers each day for happy hour. The location is in walking distance to downtown as well as the best restaurants. We highly recommend.


One night at Baer House

4.0 on June 02, 2009

We recently spent one night in Vicksburg, MS at the Baer House and were very pleased. It is a lovely antebellum home which has been beautifully restored in a very convenient location. The innkeeper, Kathy, was most helpful and cooked a delicious breakfast. The hospitality was warm, the bed was comfortable, the room was cool and spacious, and the food was great. What more can you ask? Wish we could have stayed longer.


Not as advertised

2.4 on May 18, 2009

One glass of wine and no snacks does not make a social hour.

Innkeeper Response
I apologize to this guest as we obviously did not meet their expectations during the social hour event. I wish the guest would have brought this to our attention during their stay here instead of waiting. While expectations vary with each guest, the intent of the social hour is to provide a time for guests to gather, discuss the day's events, and share experiences. Usually we hear of a special find at an antique store nearby, the wonderful lunch at Miss Betty's, the fantastic tour guide someone had in the National Military Park, interesting items seen at the museum and of course where to go for dinner! We do serve wine and offer snacks which vary from day-to-day such as crackers and cheese, homemade cakes and cookies, our famous bruchetta, Miss Dora's ice box pie, and sometimes just chips and salsa! Our guests usually drink one or two glasses of wine - the intention is not a wine tasting or "happy hour" but an excuse to sit and relax a bit before heading off to dinner at one of the fantastic restaurants nearby. It is also helpful if our guests can let us know in advance if they will be attending the social hour or not, so we can plan an appropriate amount of snacks to place in the ballroom.


Wonderful stay!

4.6 on May 11, 2009

My husband, two teenage girls, and I all loved our stay. The rooms are lovely, the food delicious, the history interesting, and the owner and his family remarkable hosts!!


Best In Vicksburg

5 on May 04, 2009

Stayed 3 nights,was better than expected!! Inn Keeper Doug was great and very helpful. Kathy was very helpful. Food was excellent,Doug is a great cook. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE ! Handy to everything. Beds are GREAT ! John& Marcie 5/4/09


Baer House Inn

5 on April 23, 2009

Breakfasts excellent. Owner has great info on history of Visksburg-House is gorgeous!! Felt very much at home plus in tune with Culture/History of area.


Gracious hospitality

4.4 on April 17, 2009

Ms Lois (owner's Mom) met us at the door on our first evening. She was the epitome of a gracious hostess and made us feel like family!


Hated to leave

4.8 on April 14, 2009

Stayed in Baer House for 3 days, and every one was delightful. Doug knows tons of history about house and city so our time spent with him during breakfast and wine hour was very entertaining. Breakfast was excellent. All staff very caring and helpful with information about Vicksburg. The house is a beauty! Very pleased we found this on our trip.


The place to stay in Vicksburg!

4.4 on April 14, 2009

Our girls trip brought us to this historic home with the colorful past. We were met by Kathy the new Inn Keeper who was very pleasant and showed us our rooms: Pineapple and Rhett. The rooms were clean and airy but with one caveat. The Pineapple room is painted yellow and is on the second story balcony on the street and there is a very bright light that shines into the room. I felt like it was daylight when I woke up at night but we told Doug about this issue and suggested room darkening curtains. Hopefully this will not be an issue for future guests who are light sensitive? All the food was delicious but our favorite by far was the creme brulee French toast. And Doug's history of the house after breakfast had us all so engrossed we didn't even realize we had been sitting there over an hour listening! After breakfast/tour Doug was kind enough to lend us an audio CD to tour the Vicksburg Military Park which really enhanced the visit. Be sure to ask to borrow it. The Baer House Inn's location is very convenient to downtown Vicksburg but note to those who have difficulty walking up/down stairs. The streets of Vicksburg are VERY steep but free parking is easy enough to find downtown. Doug also had a mini-quilt show while we were there. I purchased one of the quilts and will think of our great trip to Vicksburg everytime I use it. Finally, Doug never once asked for payment! We had to find him to pay him before we left. It's nice to know there are still people in this world who are trusting. You can tell Doug really loves this home and wants to preserve its history. We wish him every success!


Vicksburg's Best

5 on April 10, 2009

What are you looking for in a B & B ? Comfort, service, value, excellent breakfasts, new friends, pure enjoyment? The Baer House Inn has all of these and more! You really don't want to leave. Doug (Innkeeper) is very knowledgeable of the whole area and provides a lot of historial background. We were luckly and stayed during the time which Doug's parents were there. You can see where he gets his great personality. I can honestly say We felt like out-of-town "friends" staying in this wonderful place and not paying for our nights of quite rest. Highly recommended!


Baer House- Excellent!

4.8 on April 09, 2009

The inn is a great B&B- Great hosts, great house, and great breakfast in a central, safe location.


Service like none other!

5 on March 17, 2009

I booked the Pineapple and Rhett rooms for my family for an afternoon wedding; we were running behind schedule and Doug was concerned about getting us to the church on time. He had everything ready for us and got us out in lightening speed along with a quick how to run of the home. This was my son's first stay at a B&B and I think he was very pleasantly surprised. He bragged on our breakfast the next morning -- especially the new "baked" strawberry pancakes! Just sweet enough and a wonderful fluffy texture. No syrup needed here! The house is every bit as wonderful as the photographs show and I must add that the bed in the Pineapple Room is THE best bed I have ever slept on. It was so cozy and I wished I didn't have to get up! Parting was such sweet sorrow! Thank you Doug for your fine southern hospitality!


nice host, interesting history in house

5 on January 22, 2009

Fun to hear about the history, very comfortable, food was great! Had shirred eggs- delicious! Even had chicken noodle soup, asparagus, and wine last night!


The right choice for a Vicksburg visit

4.4 on January 09, 2009

The host, Doug, is a pleasure. He is fully knowlegable of and engaged in the city. He is helpful with reservations, directions and anything else you might require. Doug is also an accomplished chef/cook. His breakfast servings were special and quite tasty. Our experience was what I expected of a B&B. The house has a lot on interesting history and Doug will invest the time to tell you of it.


Wonderful B&B - like a second home!

5 on January 03, 2009

You will definitely get more from your Baer House stay if you truly get to know Doug and Marjorie, the innkeepers. Doug and Marjorie were wonderful innkeepers (and athletes - They took me kayaking and cycling!!) with their warm hospitality and delicious gourmet breakfast. I enjoyed the Chilean wine for social hour, the piping hot French toast creme brule for breakfast, and the detailed history of the home. The B&B felt more like a home and you'll wished you stayed longer. Ask Doug and Marjorie for a kayak and cycling weekend. I can't believe I kayaked down the Mississippi River and cycled through the Military Park with the innkeepers. They are true athletes to hang out with.

Innkeeper Response
We do offer "active" get-a-ways if guests are interested, and I teach workshops in kayaking, mountain biking and trail running. This last weekend I ran with a guest through Historic Vicksburg for his training run; preparing for his first marathon in Arizona! Call for workshops coming up this Spring and Summer.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on December 30, 2008

We spent one night in the Pinneapple and Rhett rooms. I picked this B&B because of all of the reviews about how accomodating Doug was. The reviews were absolutely correct. He also has a wealth of information about the house that he shared with us over breakfast. It was a most enjoyable time!!

Innkeeper Response
The Rhett and Pineapple rooms are a wonderful match for two couples traveling together or a family of 3 or 4 persons. If you are budget minded these are our most economical rooms as they share a bathroom which is in the hallway. The other 5 guest rooms all have private bathrooms.


Many fond memories.....

4.2 on December 19, 2008

Our stay was most enjoyable! Doug was very helpful and hospitable. It was clear that he loved that house and the history within its walls and he enthusiastically shared that with us. I truly believe that it was the best choice for our trip to Vicksburg and highly recommend it to others.


Beautiful Home

4.2 on November 05, 2008

Our stay was wonderful. Doug was an outstanding and very interesting host. Since it was October the facility was chilly and he was going to turn the heat on the next day. We would love to stay there another time and have more time to learn about the home and area. Our room with "Oriental" decor. was lovely.

Innkeeper Response
I now also have electric room heaters that can be used by guests at any time of the year in conjunction with our main heating system if they prefer.


History Alive!

4.8 on October 28, 2008

The innkeepers of the Baer House Inn is a wealth of information about the inn, the town, the state, and the South- and he loves to share it (and his scrumptious breakfasts!) with his guests.


Wonderful B & B

4.8 on October 26, 2008

We really enjoyed our two nights at the Baer House Inn. Doug was an excellent host in all ways. He gave us the history of the house and made wonderful breakfasts!! He also made great recommendations for meals and sightseeing. We would love to visit again and will recommend Baer House Inn to our friends.


Home Again

5 on August 29, 2008

We have stayed at the Baer House before, but they never stop making you feel like you are, they love having you. They are truly accommodating. You feel like you are at home.


Perfect B&B for our Anniversary!!!!!

5 on August 11, 2008

What a wonderful weekend,thanks to Ms. Lois!! What a fantastic lady with so much information about the house and the area to share with us! She is an excellent cook,breakfast was superb,and a very lively hostess. She made sure that all our needs were met, and then some! Social hour with another great couple and Ms. Lois was such a joy....lots of interesting stories! She arranged dinner for us at wonderful Inn nearby and gave us several recommendations of local sites to visit.We also enjoyed Alex;she is so cute!I could go on & on, but let's just say that we will definitley be back,hopefully when Ms. Lois is there! This is a must B&B to visit...and when you leave you feel as if you have made a lifelong friend!

Innkeeper Response
Mrs. Lois is my mother! Yes, I would not trade her for anyone else! My mom and dad make frquent trips to Vicksburg from their home in Sunriver Oregon. Dad likes to do the outside thing, and mom, well, she loves people and the social hour! They will be back for 3 weeks in March '09.


absolutely wonderful stay

5 on August 07, 2008

while we only had one night to stay, the baer house inn made us feel right at home. the rooms were lovely (we stayed in the scarlett and pinapple rooms) the house is simply amazing and keepers really helpful on helping out of towners on where to go have a good meal... lovely lovely inn


If you need a break....

5 on July 27, 2008

My only regret is that my schedule did not permit me to stay longer. I would definitely go again, and recommend this as a vacation spot to my friends. Lovely house, very comfortable room/bath, a nice treat from my daughter to me!


Baer House Inn

4.8 on June 20, 2008

We stayed at Baer House Inn 3 nights celebrating our 38th anniversary. Doug was an excellent host. He advised us on places to see in Vicksburg, gave us the complete history of the home and made us fantastic breakfasts. The home is elegant and very peaceful.


How to make your relatives staying elsewhere jealous

4.2 on May 22, 2008

Doug was an excellent host. We has a great time learning the history and enjoying his wonderful breakfasts.


Stupendous-A "must" stay

5 on May 22, 2008

Very comfortable-delicious b'fast. Pleasant social hour! Knowledgeable host-bottom floor is available to guests-to wander, work, read, play billiards


Perfect place!

5 on May 22, 2008

Can't imagine a better B&B-and this is the best we've encountered. Doug is the sonsumate host-helpful and interesting, and he sure can cook! We feel like we've made new friends in our 3 days here. Baer House is beautifully perios carefully tended to, immaculately clean, it's quiet and welcoming. Is a worthy Vicksburg destination itself.


An Excellent Find

4.2 on April 29, 2008

The Baer House Inn has atmosphere and is an outstanding bed-and-breakfast establishment. The people running it are very friendly and engaging. The breakfast is extremely good! I highly recommend it, definitely value for money. Only drawback is a communal bathroom, which might cause some inconvenience if the Inn is at full capacity.


Wonderful Anniversary

5 on February 06, 2008

Thank you to Douglas and Marjorie. We had a wonderful anniversary weekend. All of the special touches made our 28th special! Thanks!


Just minutes from all the history!

4.6 on November 18, 2007

Doug, our owner/innkeeper was extremely knowledgeable of the home's history as well as what to see around Vicksburg. He is an excellent chef. Our room was large and comfortable. A few furnishings out of place for the period but Doug is working on that. Check out the Vickburg National Park just north of town (recommended by Doug). Definitely worth the time!


Our Best Trip Ever!

5 on September 19, 2007

The owner and the property made our two days in Vicksburg a memorable family trip. Everything was spectacular!


Best location, best value

4.6 on August 02, 2007

I stayed at the Baer House for a night to complement my historical/civil war site travel. Doug was so helpful - when I told him I was interested in the Civil War history, he immediately gave me a cd to use to tour the park and helped me get extra touring time in. He prepared a lovely breakfast the next day, and I was pleasantly suprised to find myself chatting with him for over an hour about the history of the place, as well as his history as an innkeeper. As I toured the rest of Vicksburg, I was so glad to have stayed at the Baer House. It's a safer and easier walk to the river and to Main St than from the other, more expensive inns I'd researched in the "garden district". My stay at the Baer House added a lovely personal touch to my "southern experience."


Exceeded our Expectations!

5 on July 23, 2007

From the time of our arrival Doug & Alix made us feel like old friends coming for a visit in a family home. Thank you for showing us a glimpse of Vicksburg history, beauty, and hospitality. We hope to visit again.


Baer House Inn

3.0 on July 20, 2007

Will revisit!


Yearly cousin outing

5 on July 06, 2007

We spent 2 nights here and it was wonderful. The whole experience was outstanding. Pamela, the owner, was very nice and friendly. She was cooperative in everyway.


Baer House Inn

5 on July 06, 2007

My recent visit to Baer House was delightful. The beauty and charm of the home is surpassed only by the vivacious warmth of Pamela the innkeeper. She met our every need and we departed feeling we had met a friend. I highly recommend Baer House.


B&B with Southern Comfort!

5 on June 11, 2007

If you're looking for a place to relax, this is it. None of the fear of breaking something here; great rooms; great food and a friendly atmosphere.


Best Bed & Breakfast in the South

5 on May 22, 2007

A most enjoyable experience and all services were exceptional - our two young boys especially enjoyed the billiard room.


Baer House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $195
  • Reviews (79) 4.7
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6018682237
  • Phone 1-6018831525

Visit Website »

View details

Top