The Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing experience!

5 on June 26, 2014

The Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm was amazing! The loft was so comfortable and private, and the view from the enclosed balcony was magnificent. The hospitality and personal attention of the owner, Robert Wilson, went beyond expectations. We had fresh baked breads, hand cut fruit, juice, milk, and fresh cream for our breakfast each morning. Robert shared his future plans for indoor and outdoor entertaining at Willowdale and we can't wait to see things as they develop. We plan to return soon to this tranquil haven.


Delightful!

5 on June 03, 2014

The loft is a slice of heaven! Room, comfortable, private. The grounds at the farm are peaceful and serene. Robert is a wonderful hosts and "John Brown" is the sweetest. Thank you!!


Really Nice!!

5 on June 03, 2014

Really Nice, much more of a relaxing atmosphere than a hotel. It felt like home.


Superb!

5 on June 03, 2014

The size and layout of the Loft is perfect. fresh eggs and baked goods every morning!! "John Brown" is an absolute charmer - Just super!!


Memorable Experience

5 on May 28, 2014

The Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm was a remarkable experience. Robert and his canine companion, John Brown, were courteous and congenial hosts. His fine craftsmanship was displayed throughout the loft. The tour of the farm was very enjoyable.


CLEAN AND QUIET

5 on May 28, 2014

The Barn Loft was extremely clean, pleasurable and quiet. We needed a serene, peaceful time away and this was exactly what was required to rejuvenate. Our host is a pleasure, the farm, amazing!


Magnificance in Oxford

5 on December 02, 2013

Cannot say enough great things about the loft at Willowdale Farm. Exquisite hospitality, furnishings, art, etc. Absolutely beautiful setting. Only wish I could stay longer. Can't wait to return. A complete jewel. Thanks, Robert!!


Perfect country getaway

5 on December 02, 2013

Every element has been lovingly crafted and appointed. Handcrafted furnishings, great folk art and antiques, farm fresh eggs, poundcake, fruit....gracious host, sweet pooch named John Brown, gorgeous views all around, hens clucking. What more could you ask for!!


Loved the loft!

4.0 on October 17, 2013

The Barn Loft is a wonderful set of rooms in a beautiful country setting. Convenient to downtown Oxford and the university. I would describe it as a very nicely put together 2 bedroom, 1 bath apartment with classic country feel. And a satellite dish if you're so inclined. We had wonderful choices at breakfast including muffins, scones, and pound cake. There's also fresh fruit and real cream for your coffee. Innkeeper could not be nicer. Definitely recommend.


A wonderful getaway

5 on October 17, 2013

Willowdale Farm is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. The setting is beautiful and the barn loft outstanding. I loved all the handmade furniture, the quiet, the opportunity to walk the grounds and enjoy the homemade breakfast. Perfect!


Relaxing and wonderful

5 on October 01, 2013

So clean, peaceful, beautiful furnishings! Breakfast just perfect. So much more than we thought we would be seeing!!


Beautiful Country Retreat

4.4 on October 01, 2013

This lovely country B&B exceeded our expectations. Robert Wilson, the innkeeper, is a highly skilled furnituremaker and we loved living with his work and that of other local artisans


Country charmer

5 on July 11, 2013

If you're looking for a peaceful retreat in a beautiful and comfortable setting, this is your place. You really get bang for your bucks here. Each day I found myself discovering some neat thing in the loft that I hadn't noticed the day before. The wood furnishings are absolutely exquisite, the seating is very comfortable and the bathroom is a great size. The kitchen had everything we needed, and Mr. Wilson left awesome homemade treats for us each day. He delivers outstanding hospitality and was always available and friendly when I called. I have been dreaming of the loft since my sister and I left and am trying to figure out when I can return. Your only regret with staying here will be that you didn't come sooner.


Modern Rustic in Serene setting

5 on June 09, 2013

We will return to the lovely loft!! It's tasteful rustic charm disguises all the modern conveniences and comfort. Beautiful furnishings made by the resident furnituremaker--a talented professional. Homemade breakfast pastries are delicious. Better than the best!!


Idyllic Retreat

5 on May 01, 2013

So many things contribute to make this the perfect getaway. The loft, with its homemade furniture, antiques, and art, exudes warmth and comfort. The serene, picturesque grounds include a pond, goats, chickens, and blue birds. Robert Wilson makes his guests feel so welcome by his graciousness and hospitality. This is by far the most unique and charming place we have ever stayed.


A wonderful weekend at the Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm

5 on April 29, 2013

The Barn Loft Bed and Breakfast at Willowdale Farm is a unique and serene hideaway. The loft, with it's custom made furniture, art, and antiques provides a warm home environment. The peaceful grounds are home to goats, chickens, and blue birds. For anyone visiting the Oxford, Mississippi area, this is a MUST place to stay. The hospitality is fantastic!!


Relaxing Weekend

5 on April 23, 2013

My sister and I came to Oxford to visit my son and his fiance, who work at Ole Miss. We had a wonderful, relaxing time at The Barn Loft. Robert was a very gracious host, checking with us each day to see if there was anything we needed and making sure we were enjoying our stay. It was so peaceful and quiet on the farm. It was close enough to downtown Oxford that you could be there in 10 minutes, but far enough away to feel like you were "away from it all". John Brown, the Basset hound, was a sweetheart, and always welcomed us home each time we returned to the loft. The fresh fruit and muffins each morning were delicious. I would highly recommend The Barn Loft and hope to return soon!


"SOUTHERN COMFORT"

5 on February 13, 2013

All the hospitality of the South and all the comfort and details of a fine hotel, l'auberge, or inn. Willowdale Farm will not disappoint!! Would come back here for a second stay and more.


Rest, Renewal, Recharge

5 on February 04, 2013

Robert's hospitality covers all the bases. From home baked goods to a "field of dreams" out the window--the comforts let you breathe deep and renew yourself. A place to feel at home and recharge. Exceptional stay, and we keep coming back!!


The Barn Loft

4.8 on September 03, 2012

The finest B & B we've ever stayed in. Large and roomy, beautiful decor throughout, very relaxing, very quiet & private. Beautiful grounds and scenery. Robert is attentive to your every need and works hard to ensure your stay is wonderful. Will DEFINITELY be back as soon as our schedules permit. A real retreat from the "busyness" or daily life.


Best Southern Comfort without the Bottle

5 on August 12, 2012

Innkeeper made us feel welcome and very comfortable


Lovely

5 on July 30, 2012

Outstanding place to stay. Extremely comfortable. A place I want to bring back my family -- and I live in Ireland.


Simply no better place to stay in Oxford

5 on July 17, 2012

Robert Wilson is a very gracious host. He is an incredibly attentive innkeeper and attended to my every need. There is simply no better place to stay in Oxford.


Country Living-style Retreat offers Hospitality and Tranquility

5 on July 15, 2012

The Barn Loft at Willowdale Farms was lovely in every way. Nestled in beautiful acerage with wistful views the lodging was exceptional. Housed atop a handsome barn, the rooms, kitchen and living spaces are spacious and warmly decorated. Furnishings are handcrafted by the talented owner and gracious host, Robert Wilson. We swooned over the raised bed gardens, the hen house, the baby goats born during our stay, the comfortable beds, the lovely breakfasts made by Robert's mother and the sink in and stay forever free-standing tub (crack the window at night and listen to the cicadas while you soak for full effect!). we've already booked our next visit. A very special place to get away.


Everything I hoped....and more

5 on June 19, 2012

A wonderful country locale--yet close to town. More than a b&b--a fully equipped apartment with all modern conveniences, yet the serenity, quiet, and peace of country living.


Can't Imagine How It Could Be Better

5 on June 12, 2012

Our stay at the Barn Loft was the perfect break in a three-week trip through Mississippi. It is close enough to Oxford so we could have dinner in town, but it's far enough into the countryside that we could sit, undisturbed, on the porch and just relax and enjoy peace and quiet. The loft is a beautiful two-bedroom apartment filled with hand-crafted furniture and all the comforts you could want -- comfy beds; modern bath with two sinks; complete kitchen with dishwasher; and a washer and dryer, a real treat for those on an extended trip. Robert, the host, was always ready to provide information or assistance and provided fresh baked goods, cereal, and fruit each day for snacks and for the following morning's breakfast. Though he was always gracious, he was never intrusive, and we appreciated his concern for his guests' privacy. The only caution I would offer is to those who might have mobility issues -- the loft is up a fairly steep staircase which could present problems for some. However, Robert is in the process of adding rooms at ground level, so if stairs are a problem, check to see if the new rooms are ready.


Can't wait to return...

5 on June 03, 2012

This was the perfect spot for my friend and I to call home as we explored the Oxford area over a long weekend. Robert's hospitality is top-notch, the loft is spacious and comfortably furnished, the grounds are picturesque, and the fresh fruit and baked goods are delicious. I loved watching the fireflies in the evening and wandering the trails early in the morning. We couldn't have asked for more peaceful surroundings and restful accommodations.


Home away from home!!

5 on May 22, 2012

Robert makes your stay so comfortable and provides excellent hospitality! I would much rather stay here than a hotel. I would highly recommend you stay here if you are traveling to Oxford.


Weekend Getaway

4.0 on January 29, 2012

As a birthday present to my husband, this nice B&B was the tops! We enjoyed quiet, peaceful mornings and evenings after antiquing in Oxford. The owner made our stay special and respects privacy. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to coming again and again!!


A Little Slice of Heaven

4.8 on November 30, 2011

The four days I spent at the Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm was the most relaxing and pleasing days I have had in quite a while. I have stayed in many B&Bs and the Barn Loft if one of the best. The only thing that overshadowed the excellent facilities was the personal service I received. I even received calls from the owner to asked if he could get me anything when he went to town. Anyone looking for a quiet place in a wonderful sitting won't want to miss the experience of staying at Willowdale Farm. I rated this a 5 out of 5 only because 10 was not an available score. If you are looking for a B&B in the Oxford area, don't pass the experience of staying at Willowdale Farm.


Serenity in the Country

4.8 on November 21, 2011

My mother and I were visiting my daughter at Ole Miss for the LSU weekend and were fortunate enough to have found this treasure called the Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm. From the spotless and spacious bedrooms to the sinful blueberry muffins & fresh strawberries provided in the morning, this gorgeous setting in the country was the perfect anecdote to the hustle and bustle of a wild football weekend in the Grove. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more, and we plan to make the Barn Loft at Willowdale Farms our permanent home when visiting Oxford.


Home base for an Oxford weekend

5 on November 09, 2011

The Barn Loft is the perfect home base for a weekend getaway in the Oxford area. The accommodations are first rate. You can’t ask for a more relaxing setting or a more gracious host. Quality craftsmanship and attention to detail are immediately apparent upon arrival (scared a few deer too). We enjoyed our morning coffee on the porch watching the sun rise over the countryside. A walk around the property and thru the wooded trail brought the beautiful fall colors up close. All this and it’s only 10 min to the Oxford square for some great dining and window shopping. We will certainly be back soon…


Didn't want to leave...

5 on November 07, 2011

This was my first B&B and others now have a tough act to follow. I stayed with friends while attending a conference in Oxford. The location was perfect and the accommodations were so clean, comfortable, and peaceful that I did not want leave! I highly recommend The Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm and look forward to returning for a longer retreat some day soon.


Loved our stay!

5 on September 07, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the farm! We were pinned down by tropical storm Lee and we were so glad that we were staying here! We sat out on the covered porch and watched the rain fall on the beautiful grounds. Robert was great as well. He brought us fresh-baked bread and muffins and fresh fruit and even went into town during the storm to pick up some board games for us!


"Beautiful, peaceful ---perfect!"

5 on July 31, 2011

We were looking for a quiet spot close to the square and campus to unwind and recharge and definetely found it here. From the privacy and charm of the clean, well furnished loft to the serene beauty of the hiking trail and farm grounds---we loved every minute! What a peaceful, lovely place. Highly recommend.


Oxford is an afterthought

4.0 on July 16, 2011

I came to Oxford for a 2 day get-a-way without my toddler and husband. I had never been to Oxford and live a few hours away. I was expecting to spend the majority of time in town. Who knew that what I was really looking for was the Barn Loft. Oxford is now an afterthought. I didn't want to get in the car for a short drive to town. The porch with the chirping crickets and croaking frogs became my favorite spot... Welll...except for the amazing antique tub! I highly recommend this spot for the rural charm so close to town life.


Peaceful...

5 on March 23, 2011

This was the perfect place to stay while in Oxford-- very close to town, yet quiet and restful. The apartment is wonderful and I appreciated being able to cook instead of eating out all the time. I stayed for a week and wish I could have stayed longer. Truly sad to leave.


The Barn Loft at Willowdale Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $78 - $156
  • Reviews (37) 4.9
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6628018600
  • Mobile 1-6625133662

Visit Website »

View details

Top