Historic Oak Hill Inn Reviews

Overall
5

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

The Jewel of the Mississippi

5 on August 11, 2014

The best B & B than I ever visited. A pleasure to talk with the host in an excelente spanish language from Spain. My friend from Madrid was astonish to find that level of language in Natchez. The cocktails in the afternoon on the garden were impeccable! To finish the breakfast was in a word PERFECT.


Museum quality

5 on January 21, 2013

We stayed at Oak Hill last Thursday night. I felt like we got locked in a museum and could sleep in the King and Queen's bed with all the museum furnishings. It was magnificient!!! The breakfast was ooh-la-la!!! DELICIOUS!!!! I had to leave some things so I could try everything and our host was the greatest!!! Very knowledgeable and fun to talk with!!! Would truly recommend this place to anyone!!!


loved it

5 on September 03, 2011

We loved it!! WE were greeted with chocolate choc. chip cookies and a Mint Julip( great) thanks Don. The room was fabulous! The breakfasts were fit for a King and Delicious. Doug gave us a tour of Oak Hill ( great history), and lots of info on Natchez. The outside is beautiful with a beautiful pond and goldfish. We enjoyed the library. We felt at home and could come and go as we pleased. If we ever get back to Natchez, we will stay at Oak Hill. Thanks so much Don and Doug. We loved It. Love, Brenda & Ray


historic hospitality

5 on November 18, 2009

Just finished my tour of the South with my sib. This Northerner was wowed by Oak Hill Inn for it's historic integrety, its hosts' hospitality and unparallelled knowledge both of their property's and Natchez's history, the fountain with goldfish AND turtles, the moss bedecked trees swaying in the breeze and 2 cats in the yard to boot! But really the breakfasts alone are worth the visit. Wow.


5 YEAR WEDDING ANNIVERSARY

5 on August 30, 2009

My husband and I spent our 5th wedding anniversary at Historic Oak Hill Inn and had a wonderful time. Doug and Don were great. The breakfast was absolutely devine!!!! The house was gorgeous and clean. We felt so at home and did not want to leave. Can't wait to go back to Natchez so we can stay here again!!!! THANKS AGAIN DOUG AND DON for having us in your home. Jen & Doug


Wow!!!

5 on July 27, 2009

My cousin and I recently stayed 3 days at Oak Hill Inn in Natchez. It is absolutely beautiful and close to all major attractions. The inn is loaded with history and owner Doug is very accommodating. Gourmet breakfasts are out of this world. Please stay here if you are looking for a clean, quiet, relaxing place to call home during your visit. Doug is very knowledgeable about all local history and attractions. We will definitely stay at Oak Hill again. Rhonda & Kathy


Anniversary trip

5 on July 26, 2009

My husband and I just stayed here July 24th and July 25th 2009. It was so great. Doug makes you feel like family and this house is so wonderful. We had the best time. The room was great and the breakfast was so wonderful. I highly recommend this place.


You Won't Want To Miss

5 on July 20, 2009

We just left Oak Hill and I will tell you it was a wonderful experience, for sure we will go back. Doug met us outside, carried our luggage, served iced tea and cookies that were so good! Our room was very comfortable down to the sheets on the bed.The entire house was very clean and elegant. We spent a lot of time in the courtyard drinking his wonderful tea. The breakfast was out of this world, fresh fruit with a touch of mint, Creme Brulee French Toast with warm syrup, Homeade biscuits and blueberry muffins, sausage links, Creole Baked Eggs, fresh orange juice and coffee served on china with fresh cut flowers on the table it was very elegant, it was true royalty. The tour of the house is truly amazing. You will not be disappointed.


Do not miss!

5 on April 26, 2009

Do not miss this house! Our stay at Oak Hill Inn placed us in town, but out of the way of other mainstream tourists venues. It served as our base of operations for two days while we drove to larger tour houses. You can walk to many in-town tour sites from Oak Hill if you 'd like, however. (we drove since we had a twelve and five year old) Doug was most a most gracious host. He offered a unique perspective as an owner and curator. He flexed his schedule for us, made us feel comfortable, and, as advertised, served the best meal we had during our stay. I whole heartedly recommend Oak Hill Inn.


top choice in Natchez

5 on February 22, 2009

Combines genuine historic charm with elegant decor and beautiful antiques. Owners love their adopted city, and will steer you to the best places for food and things to do. Quiet residential setting, yet close to everything. Highly recommended.


GRACIOUS LIVING - A National Treasure

5 on February 20, 2009

Gorgeous does not do justice to Oak Hill. It's full of beautiful museum quality family heirlooms yet it's a comfortable home. Don't miss the house tour by proprietor Doug explaining the history of the furniture, paintings etc. Our suite had a beautiful bed with fabulous linens, cloud- like pillows and an elegant bathroom with crystal sconces. Morning coffee is available in the loggia early (love that!) overlooking the fountain and set on a table decorated with pansies and camelias from Oak Hill's garden. Breakfast is AMAZING- we stayed 5 nights and had a different wonderful breakfast each morning (no wonder- we learned that the owner had worked at Brennan's in New Orleans while attending Tulane Univ.): creme brulee french toast, Natchez pecan soufflee, eggs Benedict, fresh fruit served on period old Paris porcelain. Breakfast is served in the original 1835 dining room with a fire burning. Where else can you eat under an 1850 Irish Waterford crystal gasolier?Dinners can also be arranged in advance- we did that one night and it rivaled any of the best restaurants in New Orleans or San Francisco. The gardens are so pretty with Spanish moss dripping off the crepe myrtle trees. This gem is an award winning house and it shows. We were sorry to leave after a lovely stay, but it was back to reality.....


More than a pleasant stay

5 on February 17, 2009

This B&B was highly recommended to us by family and the minute we arrived, we knew why. The grounds, lovely and so well-kept, include a fountain and brick patio. Our room on the first floor (Beatty Room) was elegant comfort and provided the privacy we like. The breakfast was delicious and featured local foods. The fresh flowers and vintage china, crystal, and silver provided a lovely setting. Doug, the proprietor, has immersed himself in the history of Natchez and provided a very knowledgeable tour of the home. He was able to answer all our questions about the area. He also recommended a wonderful place for dinner -- another antebellum site -- and made reservations for us. We so enjoyed our stay at this lovingly-restored home and appreciated Doug's service and special touches. We will return again and also recommend Oak Hill Inn to our family and friends.


ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!!

5 on February 11, 2009

CREME BRULEE FRENCH TOAST. Can you imagine how GOOD that is? Eggs Benedict -- the BEST. I'm already planning my 4th visit in 18 months. This is exactly what you are looking for in Natchez. A warm welcome with Oak Hill iced tea and home-made cookies. Doug, a charming and personable host, is well informed and well connected to assure that one is aware of all there is to do in Natchez. The house has a fabulous history and is beautifully appointed. The bedrooms are configured in such a way as to accommodate singles, couples, families and girlfriends' retreats. A glass of wine on the patio beside the fountain removes all the kinks of road travel. Don't miss this. From Karen in Houston.


Historic Oak Hill Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $150
  • Reviews (13) 5
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-6014462500
Top