Recent Reviews in Mount Vernon, Ohio

Awash in Heaven at Felicia's Guest and Meeting House (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2016

Experiencing life in downtown Cleveland during the RNC was interesting, but hectic. During the Convention, we decided to take off for a night and visited Felicia's Guest and Meeting House. Wait! Were we beamed to another planet? Just about. Dream-state, at least. On the brow of a beautiful natural landscape one (two) discovered this gem. Nan was fabulously communicative—and made us feel so welcomed. And boy, does she have a design eye, indeed. Sometimes when one sees fabulous photos of a place on-line, the reality doesn't quite match. But in the case of Felicia's, the photos matched reality—and then some. Wow. Just gorgeous. Yet at the same time, relaxed. Felt like "home". Positive energies fill the space, inside and out. The Guest House is a place for both romantic get-way and/or meeting. The five beds (two of which are doubles) accommodate multiples, and the bathroom (located on the first floor) is spacious. The AC kept us nice and cool and water flows abundantly for shower and/or cool drink (you can tell we were there on a hot day!:) If you’re a city-slicker like us, bringing a gallon of bottled water with you is a plus if you’re not a fan of well water—but not a requirement. What a great escape. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice secluded setting at The Sanctuary at Wild Rose Acres (Mt. Vernon, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on July 20, 2016

This small farm sits back off of a lightly-traveled road, and has only one guest room, making for a very peaceful setting. The room is lovely, with windows on three sides, with a very nice view of the back yard along with the birds and wildlife. Breakfast is great in terms of both quality and quantity..... and it's delivered right to your room. Marion is a gracious hostess, and went out of her way to accomodate us. We'll go back when we stay in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, Peaceful, Place To Get Away From It All at The Sanctuary at Wild Rose Acres (Mt. Vernon, Ohio)

5 reviewed on February 14, 2016

Found this place doing an internet search as a Valentines gift to my Wife. I was very pleasantly surprised with this place. The room is beautiful, with a gorgeous view of the pond, and horse pastures. A very nice bathroom with a large shower, and tub. Marion is a very nice host, and a heck of a cook. If you want to escape your troubles for a while, then this is a great place to do it.

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely stay at Russell-Cooper House (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on October 01, 2015

The Russell-Cooper House is at the same time elegant, kitschy and cozy. I was warmly welcomed and had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious, and I enjoyed talking with the other guests. My only recommendation for the future would be that when guests come down for breakfast they be told what is being served and asked if they would like it. My faux-pas was in forgetting to tell them that I am vegetarian and to not prepare any meat for me. It would have helped if they had told me what they were making in advance.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Weekend Getaway at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2014

My boyfriend and I just stayed at The White Oak Inn on June 6-8th. It was absolutely wonderful! We stayed in Cabin B. It was clean, comfortable and very quaint and beautiful! We had chocolates and roses by the Jacuzzi tub, and rose petals scattered on the bed. They are very happy to answer any questions about the surrounding areas and if you need anything they are right there to help you! We had dinner one of the nights of our stay and it was wonderful! Everything is made from scratch, and delicious! Breakfast was just as delightful! The butterscotch pecan muffins were to die for! Thank you so much for our wonderful weekend!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at the White Oak Inn at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2013

We went back again to the White Oak Inn and as usual everything was superb! They are so gracious and the food is the best ever. We took our friends which have never been to a B & B before and they were a little nervous, but Yvonne and Ian made them feel so welcomed. They are already talking about going again. We will definitely be going back. If you haven't been yet please do and you will know why I think it is the best ever.

View more reviews for this inn


FANTASTIC GETAWAY at Felicia's Guest and Meeting House (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2013

What a great place to stay! The décor and attention to detail at this place are unsurpassed. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Pure Shabby Chic–Exquisite! at Felicia's Guest and Meeting House (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2013

You can tell an artist is behind the scenes–every inch of this charming house is a tableaux waiting to be captured in a sketchbook or on film. Loved it!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect wedding and honeymoon! at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on March 29, 2012

We had our wedding/honeymoon (elopement) at the White Oak Inn on March 17, 2012. It was perfect!!! The cabin was so cozy and private. The food was freshly prepared and delicious. Our wedding took place in the gazebo beside the Inn and the ceremony was beautiful, as was the weather. We had a cute little reception with delicious home-made wedding cake and sparkling cider in the Inn right after the ceremony. Our wedding pictures turned out wonderful. The innkeepers took care of everything and made us feel so welcome and special. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend! Looking forward to visiting again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Peaceful Getaway at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on September 13, 2011

We just got home from "The White Oak Inn" and I can't stop talking to our friends about the wonderful time we had. We were greeted by Ian, which was very friendly and helpful during our stay. Later on we met Yvonne also very nice , but can she cook. Oh my!! the meals we had were just awesome!!! It was definitely a 5 star Bed"n Breakfast. All I can say you will not be disappointed at this Inn. You will feel like you have landed in paradise. We will go back again. We have not stayed at one that was we feel like compares to the White Oak Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Like Home Sweet Home at Felicia's Guest and Meeting House (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2011

Perfect guesthouse. Everything you need is there. Very clean, private, and very updated with vintage appeal. You will not be disappointed. We did not take the row-boat out on the pond but the invitation was extended. The owner even give their personal cellular numbers in case you need something. Will be a place we will go again.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Ever Bed & Breakfast at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2011

We discovered the White Oak when we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. We loved it and have been back many times. We have attended the Murder Mystery weekends and the Christmas Carol play. The Murder Mystery weekends were fun and entertaining. The food is wonderful--Yvonne is a gormet cook. Ian and Yvonne are great hosts--warm and comfortable to be with. We feel like we are visiting friends when we stay there. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Can't think of a thing to complain about!!! This is our favorite bed and breakfast and we have stayed in many of them all over the country.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful even with child at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2011

Spotless accomodations, delicious breakfasts and lovely setting made our trip wonderful even in the gray dark winter. Our 7 year old loved the house dog and cat. Ian gave her crackers to feed the sheep which she has talked about ever since! It's a great get-a-way.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommended: Fantastic location, Wonderful property, Welcoming & Accommodating owner at Russell-Cooper House (Mount Vernon, Ohio)

5 reviewed on February 14, 2011

Working at nearby Kenyon College, I was looking for a local property that I could stay during selected days throughout the Winter 2011. The Russell-Cooper House was a perfect choice. Location: The location is a few miles away from Kenyon College in Gambier, OH and centrally located on a residential street near quaint downtown Mt. Vernon, OH. Easily walkable to local attractions, restaurants, etc in the main town square. Property: The property is wonderful. Each room (6 in total) is individually decorated and located on either the 2nd or 3rd floor. All of the rooms include a large amount of space, a private bathroom and often a desk, sitting area or additional twin bed. An additional plus is the free wi-fi that is also available to guests. Perfect for not only business travelers, but also couples and those traveling with families. Property Owner: Having experience staying in numerous B&Bs throughout the U.S. and Canada, the property owner, Tom, is indeed one of the best . Tom is very proud of the property's heritage and very knowledge regarding local facts, places to visit and see while in Knox County. In addition, he has been more than accommodating in terms of scheduling, rates, and my individual needs while visiting the area. The Russell-Cooper House a wonderful choice for both business and leisure travelers. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


What a WONDERFUL Place! at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on February 06, 2011

We just spent a fabulous weekend at the White Oak Inn as part of their "Murder Mystery Weekend". So much fun! The breakfasts were delicious (french toast bananas foster, anyone?) and Saturday night's dinner was absolutely perfect. We also loved the "Chocolate Friday" evening buffet - a great way to start the weekend. Yvonne and Ian are perfect hosts; their staff is friendly and helpful, and the Inn itself is charming. We highly recommend this Inn to those who wish to experience a special weekend. Can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


We return and return again. at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2010

The service is superb and the genuine personalities of the innkeepers are an added plus. If you need to rest and refuel this is the place to come. We have never been disappointed with our rooms our service or dining. We have enjoyed Murder Mystery weekends, & New Years was just grand too. Being veteran B & B enjoyer, since 1984, We know the goodones in the Midwest and White Oak Inn is one of the very best.

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL stay! at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2010

While I was deployed, my husband and I traded emails on "the perfect vacation" to pass the days. He put together a baseball trip to Cincinnati that was great fun, but I looked for the perfect bed and breakfast. I found the White Oak Inn and decided it was The One. Yvonne and Ian were incredibly helpful from the first time I contacted them through checkout- I really felt that we were treasured guests. The Acorn Cottage was the perfect getaway to shut out the world and just enjoy being with my husband after so many months of separation- the little kitchenette was perfect for us to pack a few snacks and drinks, the bathroom was plenty toasty (I HATE cold feet in the morning!), the bedroom was very homey, and the living room was perfectly stocked with great touches! As for the food? Lovely! We had the dinner basket the first night, and it was just what I had hoped for. I remember the DELICIOUS muffins at breakfast the next day, and everything was just wonderful. It's been a couple years- I've been remiss with this review- so I don't remember details well, just the lingering memory of tasty and filling food with great company. If you're considering some time away from hustle and bustle, this is the perfect place to slip away to!

View more reviews for this inn


Great honeymoon experience! at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.2 reviewed on October 14, 2010

As a surprise honeymoon vacation my then fiance, now husband, planned a two night getaway at The White Oak Inn. We had a wonderful experience! Our room was in the upstairs of the main house, it was very quaint, clean, and quiet. The main living room was cozy and inviting and was a perfect spot to enjoy our morning coffee and meet some of the other guests. All the meals we had there were delicious, full of variety, and we never left the table feeling like we needed more. We will definitely come again!! Thank you Ian and Yvonne. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, Relaxing B & B at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

3.2 reviewed on August 25, 2010

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast each morning was delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfectly quiet, relaxing get away. at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.2 reviewed on August 24, 2010

We arrived very late and were welcomed and shown to our room. The room had all the amenities that you would expect at a nice hotel and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We were able to lazily sleep in until 9:00 and had a great breakfast before starting our busy day. Highly recommended and will return again.

View more reviews for this inn


White Oak Inn is a gem of a find in Mid-Ohio at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in a spotless, spacious, comfortable cabin - simply and beautifully designed. Grounds are lovely with birds and wildlife literally on doorstep. Hosts were incredibly warm and welcoming. Breakfasts were fresh, home-made and delicious. Staff very knowledgeable and helpful with information on local area. Our work means we travel and stay away from home a great deal - this is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in.

View more reviews for this inn


Overall a lovely stay at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

3.0 reviewed on August 05, 2010

We had a wonderful time a the White Oak Inn. However, our greeting was a bit cold, and the bathroom in the room left quite a bit to be desired (sink wouldn't drain). Dinner was quite good, and a very nice atmosphere and experience -- Ian is an excellent host!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Get-Away at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on May 18, 2010

My husband and I spent a two night get-away at The White Oak Inn. All we can say is that it was a wonderful bed and breakfast and we were treated wonderfully by Yvonne and Ian, the owners. It far above exceeded all of our expectations. The food was incomparable to any we have ever tasted before and the surroundings were absolutely beautiful. You will not be disappointed by staying here. Loved every minute and my husband and I plan to return for another stay. Aaron and Dana Oxford, OH

View more reviews for this inn


our favorite getaway place at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on April 28, 2010

We try to visit once a year, and spend a couple of nights in one of the cottages...we absolutely love it! It's so beautiful and relaxing. In-room massage, dinner delivered in a basket, fire going... Can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our anniversary stay. at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on April 27, 2010

We went to the The White Oak Inn for our anniversary and enjoyed our time there. The property was in a scenic, quiet area. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. We didn't have dinner but were told by others that it is excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Valintines day stay at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

3.6 reviewed on February 21, 2009

The white oak room is lovely but not very private as it is just off of the kitchen and front Hall/dining area/Sitting Room. Otherwise an absolute lovely stay. Nice inkeepers also.

View more reviews for this inn


Another great visit at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2008

his was my 4th visit and always the gracious hosts, Yvonne and Ian, made our stay. Old friends, repeat visitors made a memorable Thanksgiving. Fantastic food-conversations as well as beautiful accommodations and surroundings.

View more reviews for this inn


white oak inn at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

3.4 reviewed on October 24, 2008

clean and comfy

View more reviews for this inn


What a great getaway! at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2008

Beautiful appointed, comfortable rooms, wonderful food, kind hosts, and interesting fellow travelers - what more could anyone ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Our 1st B&B at The White Oak Inn (Danville, Ohio)

4.2 reviewed on September 02, 2008

Our 1st B&B. It was great! Will do it againm loved the peace and quiet.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}