Recent Reviews in Mount Vernon, Illinois

Lord Sidwell is the bomb!!! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed a 1 night stay in the Pruett room, which was lovely. Got to select the check-in time, which worked conveniently after our 16 hour drive that day. The place is beautiful, excellently maintained, and Larry was a gracious host from the moment we walked in. Breakfast was delicious; we enjoyed French toast, bread, lots of fruit, yogurts, cereals/granola to put in yogurt, coffee, juice, tea. There is a nice garden in the back, and the house is a quick walk to local establishments. Definitely will stay here again if we visit Mt. Vernon!

View more reviews for this inn


Favorite B&B at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This is the 5th time we've stayed at Sidwell Friends and it is always an outstanding experience. The spa bathroom in the Dunhaven room is the nicest bathroom we've had in our travels to 5 star hotels in Hawaii, Sonoma, Pebble Beach or anywhere for that matter. Larry makes the greatest breakfasts and always makes us feel at home. We will come back again and again!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on May 16, 2016

I have stayed in B&B's throughout the country for many years and this is one of the best. Excellent accomodations, wonderful host and the breakfast was above and beyond the normal fare. Stay here for a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


A Night with Larry at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

The stay was outstanding. Larry was a gracious host and very enjoyable to be with, Thank him for us.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, elegant and wonderful at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2016

My stay at Sidwell and friends although short was no less than a wonderful experience. I travel for work and stay in lots of hotels. This trip I decided to renew my love for Bed and Breakfasts. I chose to stay at Sidwell and friend from the description of your website. I love architecture, old homes and antiques. This bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations. The owner Larry was fantastic. He was so welcoming. Every detail was covered. My room was beautiful, comfortable and quiet. My breakfast was fit for a queen. I plan on staying at this B&B next time I'm traveling in that area!

View more reviews for this inn


Immaculate at Francies Inn (Du Quoin , IL)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2016

Very comfortable room and bed. The owners Debbie and Roland made us feel right at home. Spotless clean!

View more reviews for this inn


2nd Year in-A-Row at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2016

We have stayed in the Dunaven suite 2 years in a row. The warmth, comfort, charm and cleanliness of this home are outstanding. There is also a Keurig maker and snacks available 24/7. Numerous DVDs, CDs, magazines and a beautiful library. A lovely fresh breakfast before starting the day. Larry the owner is a perfect host! Would highly recommend this property.

View more reviews for this inn


exemplary B&B at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on February 13, 2016

outstanding B&B in all respects - Larry is a wonderful host - I thoroughly recommend this B&B

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary. at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2015

We stayed there for our anniversary. It was easily the best bed and breakfast we had ever stayed in. Both the room and service were top notch.

View more reviews for this inn


In Mt. Vernon for business or pleasure at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

Whether you are in Mt. Vernon for business or pleasure, Sidwell Friends is a delightful B & B and a great place to stay. We stayed for two nights and were treated to gracious hospitality in a beautiful tastefully decorated historic home. Larry is an attentive host and a very professional innkeeper and we especially enjoyed our conversations with him. The rooms are all wonderfully decorated with many antique furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and the large light filled bathroom sparkling clean with all the amenities you could want. Breakfast was exceptional both mornings with great food served in a lovely dining room on exquisite china. I highly recommend Sidwell Friends and can’t wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on June 02, 2015

My wife and I had a lovely one-night stay in The Dunaven. The decor was elegant, the room was very nice and clean, and our host was very friendly and helpful (and made a delightful french toast casserole). Would definitely stay there again if we were ever in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Find in Southern Illinois at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2015

My husband and I were attending a family event in the area and stayed at this B&B for two nights. We couldn't have asked for more. This is a gorgeous historic home with a winding tree lined drive. Each room is beautifully decorated. Our room featured a four poster bed with a very comfy mattress and soft sheets. We slept wonderful both nights. Our private bathroom was just steps away down the hall with a double vanity, heated floors and towel racks and big fluffy towels. Breakfast each morning consisted of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and freshly baked breads with marmalade and Devonshire cream. The second course the first morning was a savory egg strata and the second morning baked French toast. My favorite breakfast item was the dark chocolate filled croissants!!! Larry is the ultimate host - very friendly and full of interesting stories. We highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best of The Best! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2015

This is my fourth time staying with Larry. The property is beautiful, meticulously maintained and the rooms incredibly comfortable. Fantastic breakfast. But the highlight is Larry! Interesting, fun to talk to and a truly outstanding innkeeper! You won't be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, restful stay at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on April 01, 2015

This was a wonderful stay. The proprietor was beyond helpful, breakfast was beautifully displayed and delicious. The rooms were exquisite.

View more reviews for this inn


Great host, great house! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2015

Lovely, beautifully decorated home. Larry was a great host, providing cold bottled water, a Keurig-machine and snacks upstairs near the bedrooms. Breakfast was tasty and fresh, too!

View more reviews for this inn


a perfect get away for our family at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 26, 2014

The rooms were a feast for the eyes. We met two members of our family there for a get away couple of days. Larry Sidwell was a perfect host and we basically had the house to ourselves He had lots of little extras for us, like coffee, tea, bottled water, and snacks available at all times. He had wonderful suggestions for meals, and the breakfast in the dining room was delicious--French toast, fresh fruit, wonderful baked goods, ham, and yogurt. I definitely intend to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


An Unexpected Gem in Southern Illinois at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2014

On a Monday night in early October we were the only guests. Larry welcomed us at the front door like old friends. He offered two breakfast options; French toast or strata. There was also fresh fruit, breakfast breads, granola and yogurt. Accommodations were immaculate and chemical-free, with no artificial scents. We slept well on an extremely comfy bed in the Pruett Room. Though it was at the front of the house, the room was very quiet. The bathroom is a short walk down the hall, just like at home. The next morning we visited the nearby Mitchell Museum at Cedarhurst Center for the Arts. Their remarkable permanent art collection includes works by Mary Cassatt, Thomas Eakins, John Singer Sargent and more. --Travelers from Madison, Wisconsin

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Restful at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on a trip to Ohio. We stayed two different nights and both were great. The room was very comfortable and relaxing. It was just what we needed after driving in the car for 8 hours. The house itself was very clean and well decorated as well as cozy. My husband enjoyed taking his early morning tea out on the back deck and patio. Mr. Sidwell was very friendly and saw to all of our needs and served a wonderful breakfast at the time of our request. When traveling this way I can see us stopping in again.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2014

Another great visit at Sidwell Friends. The Inn is magnificent in every way. Larry will make you feel as if you are returning home for a long awaited visit. Thanks for such a wonderful moment in time.

View more reviews for this inn


The Very Best! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2014

We are traveling across the country, from west to east and back again. We have stayed at quite a few B&B's, as you can imagine, but none as well appointed, comfortable, and - well - just fabulous as this one. Sidwell Friends will now be the bellwether of B&B's, from which we will measure all of our stays. Tough act to follow!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2014

The Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast was outstanding. The home is beautifully decorated and the guest rooms very spacious and well appointed with thoughtful and cozy touches such as extra terry robes, a quality assortment of bed and bath products, chocolate and snack items, and a video library. The proprietor, Larry is very warm and personable, and makes each guest feel at home. The restaurant quality breakfast was absolutely superb. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast establishment!! Denny and Lisa Hall

View more reviews for this inn


great place all around at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. It's tucked away in a little town of southern Illinois. The rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean and there are a handful of amenities available. The food was also wonderful. We will definitely consider returning if we are ever back this way.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Comfortable! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2014

We recently stayed at Sidwell Friends Bed & Breakfast, and were thoroughly pleased with every aspect of our stay. The house is skillfully decorated, very clean, and everything was comfortable. Larry is an excellent host and a pretty amazing cook! We highly recommend a stay at this lovely home.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome B & B at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2014

This is our 3rd time in the past year to stay at Sidwell Friends B&B. Beautiful home and gardens, delicious gourmet breakfasts and Larry Sidwell is the best inn keeper there is! Dunaven room is so luxurious with a bathroom that rivals a 5-star hotel! A must stay if you're in the area. We will be back again and again.

View more reviews for this inn


Girl's weekend retreat at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2014

My mother, my two sisters and myself look for a destination each May to get away from it all. This year we chose Sidwell Friends B&B and we had an absolutely great time. We stayed up late and played games in the study, enjoyed an evening snack and a delicious breakfast. The linens were the finest I have ever slept on. The entire home was very clean, and decorated with class and sophistication. It was like staying at a 5 star hotel...except, Larry made us feel like friends, not just guests. He shared history of the Sidwell family, his amazing book collection and even some cleaning tips he uses to keep the B&B in such great condition. Thank you for your hospitality Larry. May you be blessed for your gracious and generous service to your guests/friends. Lisa Dittmer, MO

View more reviews for this inn


We will return to this Gem! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on May 26, 2014

This B&B was furnished with the most beautiful pieces. Larry was such a gracious host; we feel like we've made a new friend. The linens and towels were luxurious. Everything had just the extra little touch to make us feel welcomed and pampered. We liked the off street parking, the bottled water that was provide, the keurig coffee maker available any time, the comfy robes, bath salts, and the deck that we relaxed on in the afternoon sun. The ambiance was romantic. The breakfast was different each morning, as was the china breakfast was served on! I can't wait to return and see this gorgeous home during the Christmas season!! Thank you, Larry for making our little get-away so lovely!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A first class bed and breakfast at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2014

I didn't really know what to expect other than reading the positive reviews of Sidwell Bed and Breakfast two weeks before. I was was warmly greeted by Larry Sidwell the Innkeeper who was fine with me arriving mid afternoon to check in so that I could do some computer work from his home while traveling on business. His home was very well furnished along with a beautiful outdoor patio. I loved my room upstairs although it was the smallest of the three is was perfect for me. Comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and delicious breakfast. I really can't wait to go back. Larry was thoughtful and gracious and I truly felt comfortable in the beautiful historic home. You must come!

View more reviews for this inn


The best we have stayed at at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2014

We stayed one night and found Larry to be a delightful host. This is the best B & B we have every stayed at. Food was great. We had absolutely no complaints. A++

View more reviews for this inn


A Well Appointed Home of Warmth and Hospitality at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 17, 2014

The home sits grandly on the grounds of it's corner lot surrounded by picket fence and lovely landscaping. Larry was very accommodating and welcoming as he showed us his home and made dinner recommendations. Our Room was large, filled with art, antiques, books, music and a wonderful king bed with soft as silk sheets and fluffy pillows. The ensuite bath shined in chrome appointments, the heated floor and towel rack also added luxury. We loved both the shower and the air bubble bath. Robes, soaps, and lots of amenities in or just outside our room...chocolates, water, coffee all made us feel pampered. We wish were not just traveling through to another destination because the vast library and wonderful sitting areas inside and outside the home would be the perfect getaway for us. We didn't get to enjoy the garden because of the time of year but it looked like in bloom it would be an inviting spot for the late morning or afternoon. Breakfast was full of flavors, textures and colors...more than we could have asked for. Thank you Larry for a wonderful stay at your Bed & Breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Upscale charm - warmth - attention to detail at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2014

We loved our stay at this very special home. The decor is stunning, the rooms immaculate and overall experience memorable! Larry is a wonderful host. He has considered every possible guest need and provided rooms which delight in every respect. We recommend this special property without reservation. BUT, you should make a reservation...!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Francies Inn (5)
  2. Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (4.91)
Top
}