Recent Reviews in Mount Shasta, California

Truly quaint place to stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 17, 2016

A vary well appointed place to stay with comfortable rooms and a unique atmosphere that exceeds the norm. In my view far preferable to the average hotel if you are staying in the Shasta area. The small-town environment does not provide a lot of opportunities for entertainment but you are very close to whatever you are looking for in the Shasta area. I would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


A very special place with beautiful rooms. at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

The mercantile is a very cozy place even though is pretty big. The rooms all have their own personality and each one is very beautiful and confortable. The staff is super fiendly and you feel you are among family when you are there. The dinner downstairs have great food and again service is excellent. I will be coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 02, 2016

Stayed two nights at this wonderful establishment. A true journey to days gone by! Located on the upper floor of the historic McCloud River Mercantile, the rooms are beautifully and imaginatively decorated. There is a beautiful parlor area for guests to use on the upper floor, as well, and the shops below are great fun to shop in. They offer a $20 credit for breakfast at the adjacent cafe. The food was very good, well prepared, and we enjoyed the community feeling that existed between the patrons and the proprietor. Just a wonderful, fun experience. We will visit again!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful & Clean!!! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

We stayed in the Rail Road room which was decorated so nice, we loved it! I'm very picky about cleanliness and I had no worries about this hotel . You will love the soap and shampoo, they smelled so good and they weren't the cheap usual hotel soap. I went into the shop when we checked out and I bought the shampoo . They give you a $20 credit for the cafe below which was so nice and the food was great and everyone is so nice at the hotel and the cafe. I will defiantly go back and stay longer .

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to stay in McCloud. at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.2 reviewed on March 23, 2016

The room was beautiful. We stayed in the Founders Room. It has a old claw bathtub and we took at hot bath with the bath salts and soup we got in the add on package. It was romantic and quiet. The bed was very soft and we had a wonderful night sleep. The only downer is there is no food at the hotel so we had to make other arrangements for meals and dinner. We recommend staying there for any couple who wants a little romantic get a way.

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud romantic getaway at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2016

This is one of my favorite hotels in the world. We had a wonderful experience! Kevin, our host, was kind and helpful. The details are all so perfect - I highly recommend this beautiful inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint Rooms at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 21, 2016

We loved the gas fireplace in our room!

View more reviews for this inn


My favorite bed and breakfast at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on January 15, 2016

The McCloud Mercantile is a haven nestled within the small historic district of McCloud. The rooms are each accented with their own charm and the space as a whole is filled with this magical quality that you hope for in your favorite Inn, but don't often find. Innkeepers Kevin and Darlene are wonderful hosts who take such good care of their guests. I can't recommend the McCloud Mercantile enough!

View more reviews for this inn


This place is just righ at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 31, 2015

McCloud Mercantile is the perfect combination of homey, unpretentiousness with beautifully appointed, comfortable rooms and great service. I'm not a big snow person, but this was a perfect way to enjoy winter in a small town. The rooms are not carpeted and dry and overheated. They're beautifully restored, clean, warm and spacious. The common room has a wood fire burning and a kitchen to stash your food overnight, clean wineglasses, good coffee for the morning. The place does not attract yahoos. We loved our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Spacious and charming at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on December 09, 2015

The hotel has such a beautiful character. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Every time I go to McCloud, I look forward to experience the McCloud hotel stay as part of our family tradition.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic property with lots of charm and comfort at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on November 20, 2015

The inn keepers did a wonderful job remodeling the upper floor of this old mercantile. The rooms have character and are very comfortable. Modern and clean, yet completely charming. There is a shared coffee pot, fridge, hot water, sink and dishes as well as fireplace. McCloud itself is a gem if you have an interest in small towns and mountain areas. There is a great coffee shop/bakery, candy shop, breakfast and lunch, beauty salon and jewelry store on the main floor. If you are there in the off season make sure to ask what is open as things can close for vaca during the slower times. It was a pleasure to stay here and always a wonderful time to walk around the town of McCloud.

View more reviews for this inn


the B and B was quint and cozy. The whole town was fun to walk around in. at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 16, 2015

We had a great time.

View more reviews for this inn


JUST ONE NIGHT at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2015

We stayed just one night on October 15, 2015. We will be back!! The hotel was great, the Mercantile Mall was wonderful. The restaurant where you go for breakfast was great, best breakfast ever! We had not been in McCloud for 10 years and were very surprised at the change in the town. What a wonderful job they have done. Planning a stay in 2016 for much more than one night!

View more reviews for this inn


We'd Like to Move In at McCloud Hotel (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2015

I read about the Inn a couple years ago. We booked it for my wife and I on a trip to Oregon. It couldn't have been better. It's as good as it looks on the website. The new owners are excellent hosts. We arrived during the early evening wine and cheese hour. We had dinner at the hotel and the included breakfast. Both were delicious and elegant. The grounds are beautiful the setting sublime.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful "blast back to the past" at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2015

They did a beautiful job refurbishing this old mercantile. Would definitely stay again! During your stay, take time to visit all the Falls and the swimming hole at Cattle Camp!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stop on our road trip at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 08, 2015

My husband and I stopped here to spend the night during our road trip. It was a cute town and the rooms are really special!! My only complaint is the AC was loud and I had a hard time sleeping because of it. Overall I highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud River Mercantile Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on May 27, 2015

Amazing place...so quiet and so comfortable! Feedback on the mushroom festival.- Need more mushrooms incorporated in the festival. If it's a time to celebrate it, then incorporate it in the foods. Take note from the Asparagus, Pear, Dry Bean and Garlic festivals...sell products that have mushrooms in it...silly as it may seem...get original: wine, butter spread, dishes, soap, ice cream...that was the only unsatisfactory thing about the stay in McCloud.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Place to Stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 13, 2015

Stayed in GG Attic Room and it was lovely. Food was great in the restaurant. Only issue was the room isn't very sound proof so you can hear people going up and down the stairs and talking in the hallway was easily heard.

View more reviews for this inn


Founder's Room stay, early May at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 11, 2015

We loved everything about the Founder's Room. In addition to the vintage tub, there was a large 2-head shower in the bathroom with vintage fixtures. We enjoyed the nook by the window for chatting and reading and the gas stove that took the chill off the mornings. Kevin and Darlene were amazing. They were so helpful and treated us like family. We've promised ourselves a return visit because we liked everything about the hotel and the area. A great place to unwind.

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud River Mercantile Is GREAT! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2015

From our first step into the Mercantile, we were treated with the delight of any four star hotel in any city! The view of Shasta from the Charles Miller room was an instant favorite! The amenities were wonderful, the dinner suggestion delightful! A wonderful getaway that we will surely return to in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful getaway spot at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2015

If you are visiting the Mount Shasta area, it's worth the ten minutes drive up Hwy 89 to McCloud. It's a charming, historic town with friendly people & some great shopping & dining opportunities. Just five more miles up the highway is the McCloud River Falls, Upper, Middle, & Lower, which are a must-see! The Mercantile's owners, the Mathis family, are friendly & accommodating, & will go out of the way to meet the needs of their guests. The rooms are charming, with the feel of a rustic B&B, and beautifully furnished. It's family-friendly, yet also a perfect choice for a romantic get-away. Guest rooms are upstairs, with shops and restaurants below, so you get the full experience without even leaving the building! All in all, highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful ! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2015

We stayed 2 nights in Rm 206, " Grandma's Attic". The hosts Kevin and Darlene have done an AMAZING restoring this old town Mercantile store into bed and breakfast. The rooms are delightful, each having their own theme. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2015

Seriously - I don't need to lie on this update. I was able to take my lab with me to this perfectly beautiful place, they gave me special accomodations and I just go there to visit the mccloud falls and it ended up being the perfect trip. Totally going there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway!! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on January 11, 2015

I surprised my boyfriend with an overnight getaway and we stayed in the Charles Miller room. It was perfect! Romantic with fireplace and whirlpool spa. The view of Mt. Shasta from the room is spectacular! Highly recommended!!

View more reviews for this inn


Very relaxing at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.4 reviewed on December 15, 2014

Our room was great! They upgraded our room for free! Everything was wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


A beautiful night, with my beautiful wife, in a beautiful place at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 19, 2014

There is nothing like spending a romantic peaceful night in a historic building. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. Though it was a bit different not interacting with B&B staff upon our arrival all amenities, including a glowing fire in the lobby woodstove, exceeded our expectations. Breakfast at the quaint White Café was outstanding. The quality was excellent and the portions guarantee no one leaves hungry. Thank you

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly Mountain Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 17, 2014

We stayed in the Founder's Room and our friends in the Arts & Crafts Room & we both absolutely loved our rooms. The rooms were so cozy! The staff was amazing and made us feel right at home. We can't wait to take the kids back up there with us!!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.2 reviewed on November 07, 2014

Very interesting place. Restored in a way that still left an old inn feeling but well appointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Best ambiance ever! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2014

The old building has been redone into beautiful rooms all furnished with period antiques that match the room's name. The walls are full of the sense of the history of the town. It is quiet and peaceful.

View more reviews for this inn


A gem in the mountains at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on October 19, 2014

This hotel is located in the beautiful Mt. Shasta area. The accommodations are wonderful, each room is unique and the staff is wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}