Get a free $75 gift card with a $300+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Mount Shasta, California

Just Delightful! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. I went for a quilting retreat and my daughter decided to join me. We visited in the summer. While I quilted away, she found places to hike and kayak, a museum to visit, and a lavender farm about an hour away, The hotel is quaint. Each room is different. Ours had a soaking tub and I took full advantage. The attached restaurant and cafe are only open for breakfast and lunch but we also found great food in nearby towns. I am definitely coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Hotel at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on July 20, 2014

Mercantile Hotel is an outstanding facility in the heart of McCloud, CA, one of the most serene places on earth!

View more reviews for this inn


A little Gem! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

What a beautiful, thoughtfully decorated, vintage inspired gem nestled at the base of Mt. Shasta! Stayed here on our way up to Bend, and on our way back down, and could not have been more satisfied with the service, cleanliness, and kindness of the family that owns the Mercantile. We had our 10 month old baby boy with us, and they thoughtfully put a portable crib in the room upon our arrival, and let us check out late as we were waiting for family members to meet up with us. Each room comes with complimentary homemade soap, and features a beautiful clawfoot tub. Loved it here, and the food at the cafe next door was delicious! Will definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing room - "Founders Room" at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 11, 2014

The hotel is amazing. Loved our room, was quiet and clean. The only service complaint that I have was staff trying to clean our room at 4pm the second day of our stay (could have done a walk through earlier in the day instead of in the evening to straighten up since we were staying another night). Dining was great, but shops downstairs open at 8am. - not an entirely bad thing but in a limited dining service area it would be nice to have the restaurant or coffee shop open a little earlier. All staff was fantastic through our stay and would definitely go back again anytime.

View more reviews for this inn


food choices at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on July 02, 2014

Enjoyed the area and know that your town is very small, but it would have been better for us if the 2 restaurants would have stayed open later.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous find. at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 01, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice and have loved the experience both times. Delightful rooms that will please anyone who appreciates beautiful and comfortable settings and creative, soothing décor. The hosts are kind, helpful, and generous. The mercantile is charming and has some great shopping finds. The corner cafe has great, affordable offerings. We just wish it stayed open later than mid-afternoon. I am looking forward to the next time we might be able to steal away to this charming small town and to the Mercantile for a bit of rest and renewal.

View more reviews for this inn


Adorable Bed and Breakfast! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2014

Room was the perfect size for our family and the staff was great! We were very unprepared for the wedding we were attending and the staff ran around helping us find what we needed, including thread and a needle when my son's button popped off his vest! Not to mention the great breakfast that was served the following morning!

View more reviews for this inn


Fun weekend at the Mercantile at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.0 reviewed on June 10, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a nice weekend in McCloud. The Mushroom festival was going on at the same time and provided a festive atmosphere for our visit. The room was very nice and it was great to have coffee service right outside our door. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. We will return. The only downside is breakfast is served in the restaurant below the hotel and they get very busy right at opening so arrive a few minutes early if you want to be in the first seating especially on Saturday.

View more reviews for this inn


2nd Stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 09, 2014

Outstanding accommodation by Kevin when I advised that we might be arriving late!

View more reviews for this inn


Stayed for the McCloud annual flea market at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on June 04, 2014

We went to McCloud for the annual flea market in June and stayed at the McCloud Mercantile Inn which is situated right on the main street of town. All we had to do was step out the door and we were at the flea market. We were given a very generous credit towards a delicious breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. The room was very comfortable and clean. The Inn itself was very clean and quiet. The people were very accommodating. We will definitely go again.

View more reviews for this inn


Probably the best place to stay in the area! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on May 29, 2014

We stayed in the Railroad Room and loved it. We are a family of 3. The room was tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. The soaker tub in the bathroom was just what my body needed after a day of hiking and sightseeing. We snuck a peek at a couple of other rooms and thought they were both charming and thoughtfully decorated as well. Attached to the building are gift shops, a candy shop, a cafe and diner. Reception can be found in the gift shop. We would recommend a stay here 100%. The only draw back of East facing rooms is that there are no black out shades and therefore the room gets bright with the morning sun. p.s. There are TVs in the room, in carse you are wondering, but no hair dryers.

View more reviews for this inn


Magnificent rooms at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 13, 2014

We had 1 night unfortunately having booked by phone from Australia. Then we had to twice change the date--this was handled kindly and without fuss. We had an upgraded room, one of the best we've ever stayed in. Dinner is not served at the coffee shop below, but our host made a reservation for us at McLoud Hotel, 100 yards away,, and the food here was excellent, cheap for its quality, and with local wines featuring on a good wine list. All in all, McLoud offers a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Great time at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on May 13, 2014

Every thing was wonderful in McCloud

View more reviews for this inn


Heavenly McCloud at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2014

Let's just way that we planned to stay for just one night, but ended up staying for two, and would have stayed longer if we could have. So much thought and work has gone into each of the themed room. It's unbelievable how Kevin and Darlene have transformed the upstairs of this old mercantile building into a series of fascinating and comfortable rooms, full of touches that one would expect to see at a more exclusive, big-city hotel. The restaurant downstairs exceeded our expectations, and we are admittedly kind of food snobs who quickly tire of the boring, white-bread kind of food that we are most likely to find on the road. The restaurant co-owners delivered fantastic food both mornings.

View more reviews for this inn


A Fabulous and Friendly Place Along the Way at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on May 06, 2014

We wanted to see Mt. Shasta during our tenth anniversary road trip, so reserved a room in McCloud. We were wowed by the mountain on our way there, and also with McCloud River Mercantile Inn. The interior design of this place is truly beautiful and very well thought-out! The rooms are inviting, as well as the spacious common living area. The hosts were warm and welcoming, making us feel right at home. We recommend eating before you arrive in McCloud if you will be arriving later, as there are extremely limited options for dining. However, the breakfast at the café next door to the Inn was superb! Our hosts and their friendly staff had ready suggestions for outings and things to do around town. The Mercantile has a good selection of local merchandise from honey to hand-braided rugs, and we were able to buy some really nice wine and dehydrated mushrooms for our special anniversary dinner! We would highly recommend this Inn for those wanting a quiet getaway or nature lovers wanting to explore the area. We hope to return soon ourselves!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully designed and maintained inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2014

The owners of the McCloud River Mercantile Inn have taken a building of historical significance in a charming town on the flanks of Mt. Shasta and done a beautiful restoration job that includes all the modern conveniences. Strongly recommend if you want to get away from it all, feel the history around you, but be very comfortable at the same time. Warm reception as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Hospitality at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on March 27, 2014

What a wonderful experience! A very comfortable room with a sense of beauty, Real kindness &hospitality.Hotel keepers, Kevin&Darlen are really wonderful persons.We could enjoy absolutely fascinating &marvelous stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our Stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on March 19, 2014

My husband and I took a mini vaca away from the kids, and everything about the McCloud Mercantile was wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are simply beautiful. As is the rest of the town. We will definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Find at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2014

We were looking for a nice place near Shasta that wasn't a hotel but we needed 10 rooms and they needed to be nice. We found that there were a few lodges here and there but the quality we were looking for wasn't up to par. This place looked wonderful from the numerous photos they have posted but you never really know what you are going to get. I have never had so many people call, text and email to say how great a location was. These 10 farm guys and one lone woman LOVED this location. It's a bit off the beaten path but totally worth it. They have 11 rooms but each room can comfortably sleep several people. They had a great area for everyone to relax in together and the staff was phenomenal. A week later I am still getting thanked for finding such a great place. McCloud Mercantile Hotel will stay on our company list as preferred getaway location. When booking large groups it is always tricky but the staff here made it so easy. They were thoughtful and made sure to provide lots of options for other needs we would have. They were happy to make recommendations for activities and restaurants and even made the reservations for us. Our group was on a 6 day road trip from our Corporate Headquarters in Ellensburg, WA all the way to Los Angeles, CA with a different hotel, activity and restaurant each day. This is the only place they "wrote home about" and the only place they are still talking about. I really can't say enough about our experience here, it was truly exceptional.

View more reviews for this inn


Shast Wintu Suite at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2014

We stayed one night in the Shasta Wintu Suite. It is a beautiful room. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Having breakfast in the cafe was really convenient and quite delicious. We will be back when we can stay longer. Thank you.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 09, 2014

We loved the service and the rm was fantastic. The tub and fabulous double shower heads were great. We will definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


New Years in McCloud at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2014

We had a delightful stay at the Mercantile Inn over New Year's in 2014. The room was exceptionally spacious and had a lovely retro theme. I loved the sitting area in the common area which had a wood stove where I had my coffee and read every morning. The cafe below was where we had breakfast, and it was great. Good service at the hotel and in the cafe. Friendly innkeepers. I highly recommend the Mercantile Inn. Debra Wallace - Austin, Texas

View more reviews for this inn


delightful stay in winter at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on December 29, 2013

we had an excellent time staying here - the room was beautiful and the morning coffee in the lounge was perfect. we also love that it's a family-run establishment. breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. excellent breakfast potatoes.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely room at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 16, 2013

Tasteful and simple lodging - a nice stop between San Francisco and Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Old school weekend at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on December 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time, again, at Kevin and Darlene's Bed & Breakfast. The wooden floors are still creaky, the rooms are still toasty and the guests are still fun. We love the size of the rooms, the size of the bathrooms and the overall ambiance of the entire McCloud Merchantile bldg. Aubrey and Scott's Cafe provides a wonderful hot chocolate and meal. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a wonderful time for our 12 Anniversary away at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on December 10, 2013

The room was so romantic, quiet and a beautiful relaxing stay. Thank you so much!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming, Quaint and Comfortable at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 30, 2013

The Mercantile Inn is a gem in the Shasta region. Great history and great people in a charming little town. We stayed with two young boys in the Railroad Room. Boys loved it, especially the bath and each having their own bed. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, bath towels and lotions were high quality, and the little table was quite useful. Spacious enough to play inside the room and a nice big seating area just outside the door (shared with a couple other rooms). Breakfast was fantastic at the corner cafe -- fresh and healthy -- and the $20/night credit was much appreciated. There are some old historical rail cars nearby on original tracks where the boys played with their dad as I packed up the morning we left. The Inn itself has most of its original workmanship, and the owners restored what they needed to with great attention to detail. Just a great place for the weekend. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.8 reviewed on October 23, 2013

Mercantile is a unique B&B, with rooms set in an old building above updated stores and cafés. The people are very friendly, and McCloud is a small town with character and a great view of Mt Shasta. There's a great cafe downstairs that serves mostly vegan and vegetarian sandwiches and wraps.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful fall getaway at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on October 15, 2013

Just wanted to get out of town for a night. The room was much nicer than what I had expected from the photos. The whole hotel is exceptionally clean and quiet. In the morning there was a cozy fire in the woodstove and coffee ready in the common area. Breakfast is a $20 credit per room in the popular café downstairs.

View more reviews for this inn


Une chambre exceptionnelle dans un cadre magnifique ! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2013

Une suite superbe, un lit douillet et des proprietaires charmants dans un cadre exceptionnel et extrêmement calme, au pied du mont Shasta. Nous y avons passé 2 nuits parfaites !

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}