The Ghost Rails Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
67 Reviews

Write A Review

A wonderful place to stay, rest and recharge.

5 on February 13, 2012

The beds are ultra comfortable, the food is excellent and the hosts take wonderful care of all their guests. And if you happen to enjoy beautiful quilts...you'll be in heaven!


Wonderful stay in an old railroad hotel

5 on July 27, 2011

We enjoyed this unique inn and the welcoming hosts. It was such a good experience, sharing our stories and hearing theirs. They love their tiny town and we did too. We will definitely be going back.


Delightful discovery

5 on July 21, 2011

I have always enjoyed going to Alberton and searching for books. Imagine my delight in finding this place to stay. Hosts were delightful, witty and fun, beds were wonderful, food delectable!!!!Stay if you can.


Awesome quilt retreat

5 on June 03, 2011

I was invited to join a quilting group at their retreat and really knew nothing about the group nor where they intended to stay. Both were delightful surprises. I met so many wonderful people--the group, the other guests, townfold....and esp. Grace and Thom. The accommodations were delightful. I had been worn down physically from life and work....and left invigorated, refreshed and renewed. When I tired of sewing, I just visited with the innkeepers or other guests. Thom and Grace could not have been more hospitable. AND THE FOOD WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD! As for the rooms, they were exceptionally clean and charming. Our quilt set up in the old train station across the street was wonderful....great chairs, nice big tables and lamps. Such a treat to have it all ready for us! One of the highlights was Grace's "little quilt shop" and her expertise in all aspects of quilting. She was so helpful and taught us several little mini lessons that were a welcome relief and inspiration at times when we tired a little of our own projects. I could not have had a better retreat nor BED & BREAKFAST experience. "Our" quilting group (now I am a full fledged member) quickly booked up two more retreats--a small one in Oct. and a larger one (more participants) in April 2012. C. Vidal Newport, WA


You won't be disappointed!

5 on February 02, 2011

I have gone to several quilt retreats at the Ghost Rails Inn, and Thom and Grace do a wonderful job of taking excellent care of you. The food is fantastic, the rooms are very comfortable, and the value is really good. You won't be disappointed if you stay for a day, or even a week!


Outstanding

4.0 on September 01, 2010

Thom,Grace and the staff were the perfect hosts. The historic feel of the hotel, and a few modern conveniences, made it the perfect place to bed down for the night. I truly appreciated the absence of T.V.s. Thom had great tips for local fishing hot spots. Quite, and comforting. Thanks, Mark D.


From Ghost Rails to bike trails

5 on August 16, 2010

We rode the "Trail of the Hiawatha" bike trail and stayed at the Ghost Rails Inn for two nights. We picked this bed and breakfast because it's close to Missoula and not too far from the bike trail. I've never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and my boyfriend has had a bad experience with a bed and breakfast. We both were thrill with our stay. Grace is an exceptional hostess. The rooms and the rest of the inn were spotless. Ghost Rails Inn is what a bed and breakfast should be.


The Ghost Rails Inn B & B

4.6 on August 06, 2010

Quiet is what they've got in Alberton, MT. Quaint and rustic about sums it up. However, the interior ambiance of the Inn and the outstanding hospitality of the innkeepers are exceptional. One steps back in time with all the amenities of the present. Simply delightful and charming. Breakfast is gourmet. Worth the stop!


Unique B&B

4.8 on July 20, 2010

Grace and Thom proved to be excellent hosts and full of lively stories to entertain us. We are from Scotland and this is why we go B&B and not Motels - to meet real people. We stayed in the buffalo room and bed was so comfortable we slept in the next morning and was late for breakfast. Breakfasts were wonderful and kept us full all day. Grace and Thom went out of their way to put us in contact with a local vintage vehicle restorer whom we visited which was brill. Thanks again.


Nine mile retreat

5 on June 15, 2010

I consider this to be the only place to stay while attending Nine Mile, everything from rooms to the great cooking made my week enjoyable. I left with the feeling that I had made new friends. Mark


Ghost Rails Inn

5 on February 01, 2010

The Sew Haute Sisters quilt group just returned from our four day quilt retreat at the Ghost Rails Inn. This was by far our best retreat we have had in years! Tom & Grace's hospitality, food, memories can't be surpassed! We booked our fall retreat before we left because we were so impressed with their service. Denise Tarr


Best Retreat Ever

5 on October 05, 2009

Our Quilt Retreat weekend was far beyond anything I could have asked for. The Inn is wonderful, rooms clean and comfy, the food was fabulous and the sewing room was well equipped. Even our ghostly experience was fun! The icing on the cake was Grace and Thom, (Annie and Louis too). They are lovely and entertaining hosts. I can't wait to go back for another our next Retreat or a romantic weekend with my husband. Annie Haley Post Falls, Idaho


best surprise in all my travels!

4.8 on September 22, 2009

My husband and i stayed at Ghosts Rails with our 18 year olds twins during orientation for incoming freshman at University of Montana. Not being a fan of B &B's, I decided to try one for this particular occasion hoping our kids would feel more connected to the area since they would be far from home. Staying at Ghost Rails far exceeded my expectations - Thom and Grace (the owners) made us all feel like we have family in the area and made it so much easier for us to leave our kids so far from home. The inn's rooms were wonderfully decorated and everything was high quality. And the breakfast alone is worth the visit. If you are traveling to this area for any reason - this is the place to stay whether you are a B & B fan or not!


Don't judge a book by its cover!

5 on September 20, 2009

What a treat to arrive at Ghost Rails! The first impression of the town was "what have we gotten ourselves into!". Once inside the Ghost Rails it was perfect! Thom and Grace are wonderful hosts and the myriad quilts make you feel at home. The B&B was comfortable and the food delicious. Thom and Grace are extrememly interesting people and if it is a great conversation you want, don't miss staying here. The whole town is friendly and walking around made us feel like we had gone back in time a little. This was our first stop on a long road trip and would definitely stay here again if the opportunity presented itself. Geoff & Linda from Tacoma, WA


Baffled

4.0 on September 15, 2009

We felt unwelcome which was surprising considering all the rave reviews. The inn is clean and comfortable but the innkeeper wasn't interested in making us feel at home. She was short with me on the phone and obviously uninterested in us as guests once we arrived. Although it was inexpensive, we could have certainly found a cheaper room with better service at a chain hotel on down the road. I didn't find my experience at The Ghost Rails Inn to be consistent with my other stays at B&Bs in the past.

Innkeeper Response
We are baffled as well and wish the guest(s) had spoken to us. In trying to figure out why any guest would have felt slighted, we can only come up with one scenario. There was a guest last August who wore so much perfume, I could not be in the room with her as it caused me to have severe breathing problems and an allergic reaction. After her departure we actually had to remove the mattress from the room and have it completely sanitized due to the lingering odor. We have since put a friendly note reminding folks that some of us are extremely sensitive to fragrances such as hers. We hope future guests will read all of our reviews and take this one with a proverbial grain of salt. I feel terrible that this guest felt I was short with her on the phone. Occasionally a guest wanting to make a reservation will call in the middle of breakfast and it's possible I dashed off the phone too quickly. For this, I certainly do apologize.


Wonderful Owners

5 on September 14, 2009

The Ghost Rails Inn is lovely and the owners are just wonderful. My husband and I were riding our motorcycles along with our son and two other friends. We reached the Ghost Rails Inn after riding an exceptionally grueling 1000 mile day. We did not arrive until nearly 10:30 pm, but the owners Grace and Tom waited up for us, even though they had to get up early the next morning to prepare breakfast. But that was only the beginning. Because we were concluding the requirements for a long distance ride, we needed to have a witness. Grace not only agreed to be a witness for us, she even went to the trouble of having all the paperwork filled out and ready to go when we arrived. And knowing that we were all starving, Grace provide out with sandwiches, cookies, and muffins. Then to top it all off, Grace got up early and prepared breakfast (including warm muffins) for us so that we could be on the road again by 6:00. We were all amazed by the extra effort that was way above and beyond what anyone could expect. There is no doubt we will return and one of the other members of our party (who was reluctant to try an B&B) was so impressed, he has decided to bring his wife back for a visit. Bottom line - the Ghost Rails Inn is wonderful!


SMALL TOWN WONDER

4.8 on September 01, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely B&B in early August. Grace and Thom were incredibly kind and very funny. They made us feel like we were staying at their house and not a motel. I have a warning for folks driving into town...observe the 25 MPH speed limit! The "sherrif in town" will pull you over and give you a $40 ticket if you are going 36 MPH (which we did). We stayed two nights and the beds were comfortable and the breakfasts were fantastic. I would stay here again! Although I was a little spooked by the ghost stories from the morning before.


Loved the Inn and the Stories

4.0 on August 18, 2009

Had a lovely nights stay on July 9th 2009. Enjoyed meeting Annie as well as her (part-time) owners. We arrived in Abbotsford B.C. July 10th after driving for 14hrs.through beautiful scenery. The rest we had at the Inn probably enabled us to do that. Wish our schedule had allowed us to stay longer. Have now arrived home safe and sound in Ontario. We were back on July 30th. So it took 6 days going through the States to BC. and coming back through part of Canada also took 6 days. Total of over 8,500 klm. I think we now have a better understanding of the maps. Which are in a shredded state. (from use) Wishing you the best in your new venture. And hopefully we will return one day. Best Wishes Jo Flowerdew and Jean Monk


like grandmas, only way better

5 on August 07, 2009

We stumbled on the inn by shear luck. WOW! what a surprise, a nice home style atmosphere, at prices that beat the big economy chain hotels. Better than anyplace I have stayed.


A pleasant surprise

5 on July 29, 2009

We had been traveling for several days & were looking for something other than a mosquito infested campground or a cookie cutter motel off the Interstate. When my wife saw in the AAA book that Ghost Rails was in our price range, we decided to give it a try. As we drove into the East end of town, however, we questioned our decision. "Dilapidated" & "disrepair" came to mind to describe the dwellings we saw at first. We feared that the hotel would be in similar condition & run by the descendants of Norman Bates. As we pulled up Grace came out to meet us. Although we were too late for dinner, we were not too late for hot fudge sundaes! We got to meet Thom, who generously gave us the run down of the town, the surrounding area & how things worked in the hotel. After an hour of pleasant conversation, we retired to the "grizzly bear" room. Pictures of bears on the walls & 2 "teddy bears" on the pillows of the large enough, long enough (I'm 6'5") log bed completed the effect. Very comfortable bed. I was struck by how pleasantly cool it was & discovered the central AC was whisper quiet. Thom was true to his word & shut the system off as the outside temp dropped. We checked our email (instant & flawless wireless connection) & turned in. The next morning we were greeted with a breakfast parfait, fresh bacon & eggs and all the coffee & tea we could drink. After hearing more about the area from Thom & Grace e.g. Glacier NP, we would make Alberton a destination spot. If we didn't have to get back to work, we would still be there. Bernard & Linda Franklyn


4th of July Holiday Stay

5 on July 28, 2009

Wonderful, easy-going hosts. beautifully appointed. Montana style rooms, exquisite quilts. Very clean! Excellent breakfast!


A delightful surprise!

5 on July 23, 2009

My husband and I were attending a wedding in the Missoula area, and Ghost Rails Inn was recommended to us. This was our first stay in a B and B, and what a treat! We had the BEST time! Grace and Thom are the perfect hosts going above and beyond on all occasiona. Not only were the rooms delightfully decorated with a different theme (and different hand-sewn quilt----made by Grace), the breakfasts were beyond anything we could imagine. We were there a full week, and we will be dieting for days now. The inn itself was so comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed taking a book downstairs to the "parlor" where we could read and wait for the nightly treat----usually an ice cream sundae! What's not to love?!?!?! We felt like we were leaving family when we finally had to return home. We will definitely be back. Don't bother with a hotel-----experience this jewel instead. You will NOT be disappointed!


best sleep I have had on my trip acroos

5 on July 08, 2009

On my way across the country I stumble across this great little inn. Tom and Grace were great host the room was immaculate and the morning breakfast was excellent. I would recommend to anyone who need a nice quiet stay for one night or more to stay at the Ghost Rails Inn you will not be disappointed Martin Duhamel Victoria BC Canada


Best time out

5 on May 02, 2009

I have recently done two quilt retreats at the inn. It's wonderful to be so spoiled! It starts with coffee being ready early, finishes with warm cookies at bedtime. Grace and Thom are so gracious and plan so well for their guests you wish you could go more often! Even in a group you feel special. I heartily recommend this place to anyone, even if you just want a quiet night with dinner at a nice place nearby, and then quiet conversation later. It's nice to not have to drive home after dinner out. And being a quilter, the handmade quilts in the rooms are a super bonus! Try them, you'll like it!


Ghost Rails

3.8 on April 14, 2009

My husband and I spent our 52nd anniversary at the B&B and found it delightful! Accommodations were great, well decorated rooms, all furnished with hand made quilts. hosts were great!


Quilt Retreat 3/2009

5 on March 25, 2009

Wonderful hosts, lodging, food and in general an A+ experience. Will definitely come back, quilting retreat or not!! Thanks much!!


Perfect Retreat Setting

4.6 on March 16, 2009

Having experienced other quilt retreats in "outstanding" settings, I was prepared to find this one somewhat "less" than expected. How mistaken I was. EVERYTHING was perfect, from the first greeting to the last goodbye. I cannot recommend this setting more highly -- excellent food, hosts, accommodations, quilting facilities, hospitality. This place has it all. Thanks to Grace and Thom for a spectacular weekend!


A Perfect Place

4.8 on March 16, 2009

My friends and I just had a quilting retreat at Ghost Rails Inn. This was my first experience staying in a B&B. I was very impressed. It was very clean, Grace and Thom very personable and friendly, and refreshing.The food was fantastic! I will be back to stay again, and again, and again..........Thanks,Grace and Thom


great place

4.4 on March 11, 2009

great place for quilt retreats.


Great Retreat

4.8 on February 22, 2009

I was impressed with the owners, Grace and Thom. They were very personable and professional. They really care if everything is good for you. Many details are delightful. They are flexible and eager to please. Grace arranged for a fabric vendor to show goods and for a massage to be available. I felt as if there were anything I wanted, all I had to do was ask. Truly a relaxing getaway for the weekend. I also got a lot of work done on my quilt! I have made plans for my retreat in 2010 and hope to plan a vacation with my children and grandchildren. This seems to be a true family environment. Loads of thanks to Grace and Thom for a memorable weekend. Liz


Perfect Quilt Retreat

5 on February 18, 2009

I just got back from the most perfect quilt retreat ever! Thom and Grace have thought of everything possible to make a stay at the Ghost Rails memorable. From check in to charming rooms, excellent meals and extreme pampering, they have a knack for making your stay something that you want to repeat. As a matter of fact I"m returning to the Inn in March for a scrapbook retreat. You just won't find anywhere nicer or two people more fun than Thom and Grace at the Ghost Rails Inn.


Outstanding quilt retreat

5 on February 15, 2009

If you are looking for a place to have a quilt retreat, look no further. Our group of fun loving quilters had the best quilt retreat - ever! Grace and Thom are wonderful hosts, the rooms are delightful and the value is amazing.


A Diamond in the Ruff!

4.4 on September 28, 2008

Host and hostess are extremely friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean, well-kept, and pleasant. Breakfast was always delicious! Atmosphere was comfortable. A great escape from the usual hotel/motel fare.


Amazing experience in a backwoods town

4.4 on September 22, 2008

We had the most wonderful time last year at the Ghost Rails Inn. You would never know it, riding into town, but the Inn is a diamond in the rough. If you can get past the initial trailers and old cars (come on - you're in Montana!), you will be greatly rewarded by the beautiful quilts, comfortable beds, yummy breakfasts, and GREAT stories at the Ghost Rails. It is definately an amazing deal on so many levels; a stay at the Ghost Rails will add to your travelling experience, whatever that may be.


The Ghost Rails Inn

5 on September 09, 2008

Outstanding


One of our favourite B&Bs

5 on August 22, 2008

Ghost Rails is a small, historic hotel that thinks it's a B&B. Three of us stayed in the lovely white-themed "Montana Winter Room" in July, 2008. It was tight (!) but amazingly comfortable; the trundle bed provided a second and third bed for us. Grace and Thom are born hosts. They welcomed us late at night without complaint and showed us several rooms, just for fun. They are enthusiastic, accommodating and friendly. Thom's breakfast was delicious and the breakfast conversation interesting. If you are dog-sick (a specific version of homesickness we all suffered from), the lovely golden dog will gladden your heart. We would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. It was one of the best of our Mid-west US trip.


Just like home - or better

5 on August 20, 2008

The owners are warm and gracious. The B&B is beautifully furnished. Our 8:30 snack and breakfast was delicious.


Such a great experience

5 on August 16, 2008

We had such a fantastic holiday driving down through the US Rockies. One of the best things was our stay with Grace and Thom. Ghost Rails has such character and Grace and Thom are such good hosts that I would recommend it to anybody - especially if you want to feel the real character of the area.


No ghost

4.6 on August 05, 2008

We had a very enjoyable stay. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly.


"... for 10 years ..."

5 on August 04, 2008

I have been staying at this B&B for 10 years and find it charming. It is the best B&B I have stayed at.


Step Back In Time

4.8 on August 01, 2008

Thom and Grace made us feel very welcome in their B&B and where very gracious hosts. History abounds within this wonderfully preserved building. Our room was small and very clean, with no TV - but that only added to the authenticity of the experience. The food was outstanding, and the conversations at mealtime entertaining. The train theme, warm atmoshere, cleanliness, and comfortable rooms mark this establishment as a great place to stay. Thanks Tom & Grace, you made us feel like family.


A Pleasant Find

4.6 on July 29, 2008

Found this historic place only a couple of days before arriving for a raft trip. So glad we chose Ghost Rails Inn instead of a "chain hotel". It was near several rafting outfits and Thom and Grace were so helpful in getting directions to the raft drop-in site and any other information we needed. We got to see all the wonderfully decorated rooms (beautiful quilts!) and the fine attention to detail within each room. The crisp, clean sheets had a great, subtle scent- great for relaxing! Breakfast was great. The kids really liked the yogurt/granola parfaits for breakfast (they said it was like having dessert for breakfast). The main course was tasty and filling (french toast, bacon, eggs). Look forward to returning next year and trying another room. Oh...Annie made us feel right at home too- such a sweet dog- great with kids!


Going back!

5 on July 25, 2008

Our hosts were fabulous! -- Helpful, nice conversations, genuine! The rooms had great ambiance, and breakfasts were well presented and delicious!


Not Ghostly at all!

5 on July 20, 2008

Hosts Thom and Grace were truly enjoyable. They treated us very well, the accomodations were first rate and the overall experience was wonderful. We would recommend this B&B to all travelers.


Absolutely charming

4.8 on July 20, 2008

We were in Alberton for a wedding and luckily chose the Ghost Rails Inn for our stay. Grace and Thom are the dearest people. We had trouble pulling ourselves away from the breakfast table, because of the great conversation. The food is wonderful and prepared fresh and at the time you'd like to have breakfast. The rooms are immaculate and all carefully themed and appointed. Well, there's nothing we'd change other than having maybe a king sized bed. This is the coziest and most welcoming spot...


Ghost Rails Inn

4.8 on July 17, 2008

Your hospitality is outstanding - I wish you the best.


Greatest!

4.8 on July 17, 2008

The hospitality, the service, the accommodations are comfortable and gracious. Thank you!


The Wild Horses

4.6 on July 16, 2008

The theme of our room was 'The Wild Horses', so much attention given to detail. Ghost Rails B&B is full of Western charm and a warm welcoming. The innkeepers, Tom & Grace provide a delicious breakfast and also treats in the evening. They are the most gracious hosts.


Jewel in Alberton Gorge

5 on July 15, 2008

This B&B was a jewel & a find. Found by accident but what a find. Great breakfast, comfortable, clean rooms & great hosts. Don't be fooled by the exterior, "go inside & be welcomed".


Like Home but better!!!

5 on July 13, 2008

I found the Ghost Rails Inn in my AAA book. I called and Grace gave me right on directions from Missoula, 30 miles/minutes away. When I turned off I90, I was awestruck. It felt like I had gone through a time warp, back into a nicer, friendlier era ( with wireless of course!) The Inn is in an old Railway station and has a great history. Grace and Thom have fixed up the rooms with different themes and Grace is crazy detailed in each room, to my delight. I could view all the unoccupied rooms and each one was wonderful. I stayed in Room Five-Wild Horses and loved it! Everywhere are items to investigate, however, at no time is it junky or overdone. Very tasteful. Grace and Thom are the ultimate casual hosts, greeting and welcoming without being overbearing. I have been to many B&Bs here in the US and in Ireland and I rate this one among my very favorites, for the Inn itself, the hosts, the food and the atmosphere! (and the value!) Grace and Thom gave me a Wooden Token good for a free beer at the local Sportsman pub, which is only two doors down and was thoroughly entertained by the extremely friendly locals. I am from Detroit and would never think to enter a bar on my own, however, this was the most natural action here in my new time warp and I haven't laughed that hard in a long time! I slept like a rock sheltered by the mountains on both sides. There are all sorts of local legends and this makes it all even more interesting. If you are driving along I90 East or West, be sure to stop in Alberton and stay at the only place in town. You will not be disappointed!!


Fantastic Place

5 on July 09, 2008

Never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast. Tom & Grace were the Best hosts. Can't forget Annie as well.


Homey retreat

4.0 on July 06, 2008

Our road trip from central California to Glacier/Waterton National Parks was delightfully enhanced by our overnight stay with Thom and Grace. The casual atmosphere coupled with immaculate housekeeping standards and friendly hosts made this stop a pleasant change from our "motel" stays. The food, which included a tasty afternoon snack and a deliously filling quiche breakfast, was exceptional. Joe and Karen Novak, Fairfield, CA


Excellent

4.8 on July 02, 2008

Wonderful people, grand breakfast, lovely western rooms - genuine love placed in each room


B&B review

5 on July 02, 2008

Excellent - in hospitality, food, accommodations.


Wonderful Retreat

5 on July 02, 2008

Quite lovely, charming rooms and wonderful people. Can't wait to return.


An Uexpected Wonder

5 on June 21, 2008

Tired and frazzled, we slipped off I-90 hoping for anything clean. The Inn didn't catch our eyes at first. When it turned out to be the only place in town, we gave it a try and were rewarded with comfort, quiet, happy energy, and delicious food.


One Great Place!!

5 on June 15, 2008

We stayed 2 nights to attend a nearby wedding. The innkeepers are honest, genuine, engaging and intelligent. The guest rooms have recently been refurbished in various themes and are inviting, clean and well-appointed. Great breakfasts and evening snacks provided, information on the local area and even free tokens for the nearby Sports Bar! Thom and Grace have created a really welcoming environment for the weary traveler (we're from CA) and we would not be surprised to find it hard to get a room at certain times, so plan ahead! Overnights at the Ghost Rail Inn is a true MT value.


Outstanding Alternative to Chains!!

5 on June 13, 2008

Thom and Grace are a couple of the nicest people we have ever met. The Inn has tons of character and there is a great park across the street. Outstanding views and good steakhouse across the highway. Ask for room 5 and say hello to Annie!


Quaint, Peaceful, Relaxing...Thanks

5 on June 11, 2008

My two daughters and I stayed May 10, 2008. We were on a Mother's Day get away to Missoula. Most everything was booked in Missoula for graduation and what was available was ridiculous in price. I came across the Ghost Rails Inn and called. Grace was very gracious and said she had a special room for us. We stayed in the Winter Room. One of my daughters came from Idaho and arrived early in the afternoon. Grace had brownies waiting and gave a tour of the B & B. My daughter took a nap and later said "it was the best sleep ever!". The ironed pillowcases and sheets that are hung out on the line brought back memories of staying at grandma's house. Thom and Grace served a wonderful breakfast and were very gracious. We'll be back!


Ghost Rails Inn

5 on May 27, 2008

Grace and Thom are gracious, welcoming hosts, attentive to our every need. We enjoyed the warm atmosphere and delicious breakfasts (and midday chocolate chip cookies fresh out of the oven!). The rooms were comfortable and freshly decorated, including beautiful homemade quilts. What a great price for such a nice experience. Brad and Susan


Best bed ever slept on!

4.4 on May 23, 2008

Found this unique B & B on the way across Montana and were treated to warm hospitality, comfort and a delicious breakfast. The rooms are freshly decorated in keeping with the style of their B & B. It was lovely to wake up to the smell of coffee wafting up the stairs.


A great time in Alberton

5 on May 18, 2008

We stayed in room 5 the night of 12 May 2008, and what a terrific time we had. From the very first, on the phone, Grace was as hospitable a host as one could want. When we walked in the door, she was even better; almost like a long-time neighbor. We had our choice of rooms, all of which were clean, well apportioned, and charming. Each room has a different theme, such as the conductor room with a train theme, or the buffalo room with a range theme. Perhaps the neatest item in the inn was Grace and Thom's personal coffee table, constructed of wrought iron and glass, with a couple Colt 45s embedded in the glass top. These utterly gracious people recommended a place for a walk, and an excellent local restaurant. In the evening, Grace served brownies with ice cream, and the breakfast the next morning was so large that it lasted all the way to Great Falls. Grace and Thom have undertaken an enormously ambitious project to remodel every room, and are a long way to completing their goal. Although Alberton might seem to be a small town with few amenities, this inn and the support businesses in Alberton, serve to make this inn a better choice than motels in Missoula, 30 miles away.


Delightful Stay

4.6 on October 17, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Ghost Rails Inn VERY much. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable. Our hosts were very friendly and attentive to our needs. We would like to visit there again.


Felt like home

5 on September 26, 2007

We returned to this hidden gem of an Inn, glad to get away from the cookie-cutter motels of Missoula. It felt like coming home even though we had many miles to go.


Ghost Rails Inn.

5 on September 21, 2007

Absolutely the best place we have ever stayed. Can't wait to go back there!!!! The Burneys.


Delightful Stay

4.6 on September 14, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Ghost Rails Inn very much. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable. Our hosts were very friendly and attentive to our needs. We would like to visit there again.


Hidden Treasure in the Mountains!

5 on June 27, 2007

We stumbled upon the Ghost Rails Inn quite by accident, deciding to pull over into the little town of Alberton, MT. We are so glad we did! What a beautiful and cozy bed and breakfast. We were treated with hot fudge brownies in the evening, and a delicious breakfast of bacon and eggs in the morning. The rooms were clean and inviting. We have told everyone we know about this hidden treasure and will be back ourselves.


The Ghost Rails Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $94
  • Reviews (67) 4.8
  • Rooms 9

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4067224990
Top