White Cliff Manor Bed & Breakfast and Gardens Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

A Great Get Away

5 on October 16, 2013

What a treat. The accommodations were well beyond what was expected and as stated by others, Brian is an extraordinary host who reaches out to incorporate the regional history, foods and drinks into his establishment. Not being a B&B person I was hesitant when my wife made the arrangements however this was beyond my expectation and I do plan to return soon to the peaceful and relaxed environment of this wonderful establishment.


Love Love this bed and breakfast and would recommend to everyone. Brian was a great host and the rooms are awesome, plan to go back.

5 on May 16, 2013

Love love this bed & breakfast home, recommend to everyone. Brian was a great host and the rooms are awesome, plan to go back.


Great Get-Away

5 on January 04, 2013

White Cliff Manor was a GREAT place to visit... The home was very beautiful with a lot of history which Brian explained to us...The bedrooms were very nice and the whole decor of the place was very elegant..The breakfasts that wetre prepared were great... The home made hot carmel-nut rolls served to us were the BEST......Its worth the money!!


anniversary getaway

5 on June 20, 2012

My husband & I had our 1st visit to a B & B, it was absolutely beautiful, the scenery and peace & quiet was perfect. Brian was very kind and made us feel like family.


Best Anniversary Ever

5 on May 13, 2012

This home was amazing and what made it even better was the owner, Brian. He treated us as if we were family not strangers. He told us the history of the home and it felt like we were back in the 1800's. Brian isn't just running a business, he opened his home to us. This beautiful peaceful home. It was like entering into another Era of our history only with modern updates. There are bathrooms in each bedroom, central airconditioning and the BEST breakfast ever. Sitting on the front porch at night listening to the birds was so peaceful. The church bells in the distance in the morning just made it even better. There are no words to really describe this home, you just have to see it yourself. You will never go to another B&B again because nothing will compare to this one. Robert & Rita Schaffer, Sullivan, MO


A Mothers day that we will never forget

5 on May 09, 2012

I took my mom to White Cliff for Mothers day this year and I have never been so impressed by anything as I was with this B&B! A BIG thanks to Brian for making our weekend a very special memory that I will always cherish with my mom. We are planning on making this a yearly tradition!


Best B&B

5 on April 20, 2012

Love this place! It was immaculantly taken care of with wonderful high quality furnishings (not the typical B&B grandma floral prints and doilies) and craftsmanship, landscaping and general care of the place. The owner is extremely nice, accomodating and makes the best breakfast. Did this for our 10 year anniversary. It was wonderful! Thank you!


White Cliff definitely a 5-Star experience

5 on October 18, 2011

My wife and I recently decided to take a Fall "see-the-colors" trip and incorporate a bed and breakfast stay as part of the experience. Our choice of White Cliff Manor Bed and Breakfast & Gardens was nothing short of 5-Star. It was truly outstanding. Innkeeper Brian Helms is a detail-oriented person and it shows in his painstaking restoration of the 19th century Louis Schaaf historic home and the level of service that he and his staff provide to guests. A very relaxing touch for guests is coffee served each morning at 7:30. Weather permitting, you can sit on the deck at the rear of the house and enjoy the early morning, while chatting with other guests. And precisely at 8:30 (9 a.m. on weekends) the breakfast bell rings, then you move into the dining room for an exquisite meal like you would find at the finest hotels and restaurants. This is a tribute to Brian's 30-plus years in the hospitality business. Everything is fresh, bought at local markets, and complimented with fresh fruit, according to what is in season. After breakfast, the host shares his extensive knowledge of the area as well as the Schaaf family, which he has researched extensively. The bedrooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, each bearing the name of a Schaaf family member and reflecting some aspect of their personalities. Views from the upstairs balcony and the downstairs front porch are spectacular, as they overlook bluffs on the Mississippi River and neighboring farmlands. The grounds are meticulously maintained and dotted with numerous colorful flowers. Overall, this was a marvelous experience and it vastly exceeded our expectations. We anticipate a return visit next "leaf season."


Great Getaway

4.6 on October 07, 2011

We had a quick getaway for our 25th wedding anniversary and were so glad we chose White Cliff Manor. The property is gorgeous and Mr. Helms is a great host. He takes pride in keeping with the history of the home and is very knowledgeable of the area. Breakfast was devine! Hope you give him the opportunity to impress you, too!!


Get-away Weekend

5 on September 12, 2011

We just spent one of the most relaxing, entertaining, fun-filled weekend at White Cliff Manor. My husband and I were the only guests on Thursday night and Friday morning Brian told us about the history of the house that is now White Cliff Manor. Anyone visiting will be so grateful that Brian decided to open his beautifully restored home to the public to share with him. His passion for the history of the home and the work he has done is almost unexplainable. The accommodations were exquisite and the surroundings are beautiful. We have definitely found a place to "get away" for a weekend - there will be many more to come. We simply cannot say enough about how great this weekend was for us and the thanks - a BIG thanks - all goes to Brian!!


Even more than we expected...

5 on August 22, 2011

My daughter and I just spent a girls’ time out at White Cliff. We had the best weekend! The photos on the website do not do it justice. Even though I have stayed at several bed and breakfasts, White Cliff is by far much better than the rest. We also had a great time sight-seeing, visiting one of several wine gardens, shopping in the exquisite lace shop in Ste Genevieve and the huge antique mall in St Mary’s. The lush country drive was another unexpected pleasure. Brian is an impeccable host who shares his love of history and his joy for cooking. His breakfasts were our best meals of the trip. I have recommended this experience to several of my friends. Brian has done a brilliant job restoring White Cliff and my daughter and I thank him for our unique and memorable experience.


Wonderful Beautiful Awesome B&B

5 on August 07, 2011

We stayed here in May 2010 and rented the entire place for my Aunt's 60th birthday celebration. Brian the Inn Keeper was great. The place was so beautiful and peaceful. We loved every room in the house. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone. It's tucked away on top of the hill and surrounded by HUGE beautiful trees. We spent a lot of time on the front porch and back deck. Both areas were large enough for our group of 15.


Peaceful

5 on June 05, 2011

My husband and I needed to escape from life for a couple days. White Cliff Manor was the place! It is beautiful inside and out. Brain is wonderful.


What a wonderful experiance.

5 on March 06, 2011

Brian the innkeeper was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast was homemade every morning and served in a wonderfully restored dining room. The house was impeccable from top to bottom. Well worth being just 5-10 min from town. I already booked another weekend for this summer.


Romantic 50th Birthday Celebration

5 on January 25, 2011

I stayed in the Lavender-colored room and it was like staying within a giant birthday cake. Originally, I was supposed to go to Hawaii for my 50th, but that wasn't possible. Instead, my surprise getaway was very memorable and special - and totally romantic! I loved the Tea House and bought tea from England, I fed the horse "Tony" an apple picked fresh from the nearby apple tree, and I lingered in the library of books belonging in the Smithsonian. This place is a show piece and more beautiful than any picture could capture.


Perfect

5 on July 23, 2010

This was really a perfect bed and breakfast experience. White Cliff manor is a wonderful house, beautifully restored and furnished. The Harriett Schaaff room is the loveliest room in which I have ever stayed. Brian’s hospitality is impeccable and he’s a great cook. We opted for dinner in the formal dining room and were so glad we did! The food and the setting made it an evening to remember. I’ve stayed in many B&Bs, and this one is special.


Beyond Words

5 on September 14, 2009

Although my fiance' and I have only yet to spend one day in the Schaaf's home, the experience was; well, absolutely the closest I have felt to experiencing the tranquility of the 19th century (with present day ammentities). Mr. Helms welcomed us into his home and explained the historical account of the home's founder and his family who lived there in the mid 1800's. The home has been totally restored and adapted to most closely fit the way it would have looked during it's first decades of existence. Mr. Helms even researched the colors used on the walls and has brought them back to their original feel. The home is located atop a hill with trees planted before the home was built and a continual breeze that sweeps accross the property. They stand tall and strong, marking the years of development of the home's character. Pictures are an injustice to the true tone of experiencing the home in person. I feel honored to have met Mr. Helms and been invited into his home. He exemplifies what it truely means to respect and honor the lives deceased by keeping their home alive and telling the stories of their lives'. I look forward to stepping back in time by relaxing in the home in the near future and HIGHLY recommend others to take the oportunity to broaden their lives by experiencing White Cliff Manor. With Sincere Appreciation, John B.


An Experience Worth Repeating!

5 on August 10, 2009

In June of 2009, my husband and I just wanted a place to "get away" from our busy day to day world and find a place that was close to some choices for activity, but yet scenic and quiet. After nternet “shopping” various possibilities, my husband selected White Cliff Manor. To parrot the couple that wrote about their experience is May of 2008, our visit exceeded our every expectation for a wonderful, relaxing time! Our host Brian is extremely welcoming and has a great deal of knowledge about the history of the house as well as the area. The only reason that we did not get this posted sooner, is that once again, our busy lives got in the way. We had the best time from the very beginning when we were greeted as if we were friends dropping by for a visit to the end of the week-end when we were privileged to make the first purchase in the newly opened shop that Brian was considering naming the Tea Box (very fitting) Each time I look at my Tea pot and flower vases, I think about the delightful time we had. There really isn’t much to add to an already wonderfully written review by the couple mentioned previously. We agree with everything they said. Our bed room was beautiful and the scenery gorgeous!The day we left, we went to St Genevieve for awhile where we saw four delightful looking bed and breakfast. However, we did not think that any of them had the same appeal as White Manor. We liked it so much that we already have a reservation made for October of this year.


What a Find!

5 on May 04, 2008

My wife and I just spent our first anniversary basking in the luxury and hospitality of this unobtrusive gem of a bed and breakfast. While I was impressed by the pictures on the inn's website, I was not prepared to have my expectations so thoroughly exceeded! We arrived on Friday evening. Brian welcomed us with an admonition to take full advantage of the entire building, telling us, "You're home now. Relax and enjoy yourselves." How true his statement was! Throughout our visit, my wife and I felt very much like we were visiting our own summer home, and Brian made sure that our every need was met. We stayed in the Harriet Schaff room, in which Brian had (per my prior request) set out fresh roses for my wife as well as a nice, chilled bottle of champagne. The room is far more spacious than most hotel rooms. The bed was beautiful and very, very comfortable. As you will see from the pictures, the bedroom is extremely well-lit, which is precisely what my wife enjoys. While we were thrilled with the bedroom, I was amazed by the elegance and attention to detail that was evidenced in the common spaces. The library is a revelation, filled with stately, yet comfortable furniture, as well as a treasure trove of beautifully bound classic books. The parlor is also the very definition of refined understatement, and the formal dining room is filled with antique china and silver, all of which amplifies the aura of period luxury while you enjoy your meals. In short, our stay at White Cliff Manor was the most satisfying, relaxing experience we have ever had. We enjoyed it so much that we have already made reservations for next year's anniversary celebration. I could not offer a higher recommendation for anyone desiring to visit southeastern Missouri. If you give Brian the opportunity to impress you, he will not disappoint.


White Cliff Manor Bed & Breakfast and Gardens

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5735435445
  • Toll free 1-8883885445

Visit Website »

View details

Top