Grand Center Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

Hidden Gem!

5 on June 02, 2016

We have never been to St. Louis, and we were going just for a fun trip to see the Symphony and explore a new city. While I was looking for hotels, I came across this place, right down the street from the symphony hall, and the rooms were a much better price so I took a chance. When we arrived, they very graciously checked us in at midnight, since our flight was so late. The room was gorgeous and charming! It felt like it was set up just for us individually. The bed was comfortable and they were extremely friendly and accommodating! For the second 2 days of our trip, we requested the breakfast. They timed it to our needs and made us fresh breakfast on both days, and it was delicious. All in all, we would DEFINITELY return here if we're ever back in St. Louis. Between the graciousness of the hosts, great accommodations, and great food, definitely a 5 out of 5!


Grand Center Inn

4.6 on May 09, 2016

Great location for trip to Fox Theater. Breakfast was excellent. Very friendly. Room was wonderful.


Close to the Fox Theater!

3.8 on February 17, 2016

Great place to stay when going to the Fox or Powell Hall. Nice room and great breakfast!


Great place to stay for Fox or Powell Symphony Hall

5 on December 08, 2015

Lovely historic home. We did not eat on site so cannot truly rate the food but the dining room appeared fabulous. However, the accommodations were all top notch. You can walk barely more than a block to either the Fox Theater or Powell Symphony Hall! Highly recommend!


Very Nice Stay

5 on November 12, 2015

Stayed here for a Fox paly. What a nice find. Walking distance to the Fox and many restaurants. The morning breakfast was super and I would recommend the breakfast option should you choose to stay here. If you are coming into St. Louis for a Fox event I would recommend staying here for sure. Thumbs Up!


Fantastic bed & breakfast!

5 on October 16, 2015

We were seeing a show at the Sheldon Theater (directly behind The Fox) and we're looking for somewhere close to stay. The Grand Center Inn is a quick walk, about a block, from either theater so very convenient if you're seeing a show. The mansion is beautiful! We stayed on a ground floor room. The entire floor is gorgeous, including our room. The bed and other furniture was comfortable, there are a few modern touches that are nice but certainly don't take away from the historic setting. The owner was very pleasant and greets you as you come in, he is very pleasant and friendly. I strongly suggest getting breakfast, it's very reasonably priced and very delicious! We had crepes, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, and bacon, it was a great way to start our day. We will definitely be staying again the next time we go see a show in St. Louis.


Excellent renovation

4.2 on May 16, 2015

We choose the GCI because of its proximity to the Fox Theater, it turned out to be a great place to stay.


Very nice place. Exceeded expectations!

4.8 on May 13, 2015

Very clean. Inviting. Courteous owner. Fantastic breakfast. We forgot home was across town. Excellent Inn!


Traveling for Business

4.2 on April 28, 2015

Great stay, super friendly staff. Neat Victorian style home with nice rooms. I normally stay at Hilton properties but almost everything in the St. Louis area was booked for a conference in town. Overall i would definitely recommend.


We loved it!

3.8 on April 07, 2015

Very nice property with its own personality. Gracious host. Delicious breakfast. Best thing is how near to the Fox Theater it is. We will be back!


Best high-quality inn I have stayed in

4.6 on April 05, 2015

This Inn was one of the best places I've ever stayed in. The rooms were incredibly lavish with furniture and interior design, which made me feel like I had a room in a mansion. The two main people who run the inn were incredibly patient, civil, and helpful with suggestions to do around St Louis. The food was great too!


Amazing Experience

4.8 on March 23, 2015

The Grand Center Inn exceeded all of our expectations. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a home away from home experience. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the room was beautiful! We enjoyed our time there so much and will definitely be going there for our next stay in St. Louis!


Great place to stay

5 on January 04, 2015

Beautiful B&B with great service. Within walking distance to restaurants, Fox theatre and Powell symphony hall


Great location, Beautiful home, Great accommodations!

5 on November 10, 2014

We stayed while attending a production at the Fox Theatre. We had a very enjoyable stay. This beautiful home has makes a lovely B & B. We enjoyed that it was within easy walking distance of the Theatre. I highly recommend it! I would note that we did not dine at the B & B, but this site would not allow me to skip that response. I chose to make an outstanding response because it was consistent with the other rankings and because the breakfast meal smelled heavenly!


Home away from home

5 on October 26, 2014

I had no idea what to expect but now I know. The Grand Center Inn is superb!! I love its location, service, room and the awesome décor, professionalism of the staff. And, for the price - OMG! It's definitely a gold standard. I hesitated sharing my experience because I like that it feels like St Louis' best kept secret - but the WORLD should know about The Grand Center Inn. Just lovely! D. Wilson formerly a CWE resident now residing in Indy


Beautiful stay for a very reasonable price

4.2 on September 24, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Center Inn. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and the man who welcomed us was very kind. The location was perfect and we were able to walk to the subway station in order to go downtown to Busch Stadium/the surrounding area. The only thing I could suggest is possible offering breakfast until a later time or room service as an option. If you are not a morning person and are unable to be up and ready for served breakfast, you miss out (and I heard the food is amazing and I was really sad to miss it!).


Beautiful

5 on September 18, 2014

The Grand Center Inn is absolutely beautiful. This was our 2nd stay here. Each room is unique and elegant. Food is delicious! It is within walking distance to the Fox Theater and many restaurants and is just a short drive (less than 10 min) to other downtown activities. We will definitely be staying here again!


Loved It

5 on September 16, 2014

The gentleman that stayed up late to let us in and register us was lovely. So helpful and attentive. We did not dine so I only rate that because it made me and based upon the other amenities and service I am sure it would have been equally good.


Bed & NOT Breakfast

2.6 on September 03, 2014

Clean & comfortable and a better price than most hotels when we visited St Louis on a busy weekend. NOTE: there are two rates--the normal rate that is just the room with no breakfast. Then, the package rate which includes breakfast. This is easy to miss on the website and while making reservation. No coffee is made in the morning. A Keriug machine is available if you like that kind of coffee. A dog inside the house somewhere barked off & on during our stay a few times.


Convenient and quiet

4.2 on August 17, 2014

Will stay here every time I venture to St. Louis.


Quiet and Comfortable Inn

4.6 on August 04, 2014

Very nice accommodations and inn keepers. I did not have a chance to eat there, but the breakfast room was lovely and well appointed.


WONDERFUL place to stay

5 on July 23, 2014

This bnb was just great! The owner was super friendly and helpful. The room was on the third floor (eek) but it was clean, well decorated and very much worth the walk up. The bathroom was über clean and very nice. There was a claw foot tub that was fun to shower in. We had our own key to the front, so we could get in whenever we needed. We would stay here again anytime! Thank you!


Terrific Stay

5 on July 20, 2014

My wife and I honeymooned in St. Louis and stayed at the Grand Center Inn. The rooms were spacious and home-like. The service was impeccable and the privacy was wonderful. We will most certainly be staying here again out next stop to St. Louis. It truly was a 5-star experience.


Convenient class

4.4 on June 23, 2014

A great convenient location for anyone visiting the theater district. Couple minutes walk to any of the theaters if you're taking in a show. Couple blocks from the USL. Rooms are amazing! Stairs are a bit creaky but given that it was built in 1888, it's a non issue. Stay in the Powell instead to avoid the stairs. The sofa in the Repertory is so comfy! Just give the water a few minutes to warm up, it is the top floor after all. If you have a k-cup preference, bring your own as there is keurig in the room with a couple sample cups.


Impressive

4.2 on June 22, 2014

Our stay here was perfect from beginning to end. This was my husbands first experience at a B&B and thoroughly impressed by the personal service and attention. The house was amazing! Wish we could have toured every room. It's location was convenient and the staff accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.


More of an event location than a B&B

3.4 on June 20, 2014

There are only 6 or 7 rooms, our room was on the top floor and was beautifully appointed. The bed and couch were comfortable, no noise from other guests at all. The bathroom has been furnished with a claw foot bathtub, which looks wonderful with the vintage motif, but was awkward to climb into and downright tricky to get out of because there were no rubber strips to alleviate the slippery surface and there wasn't a bathmat to step on to. Hot water and pressure were plentiful. The mini kitchen had a fridge with beer in it and nothing else nor was there a microwave in the room. It would have been really convenient to have a couple of cans of juice or even a soda or two in the fridge, especially as there wasn't a hospitality table/room downstairs. The room comes with a hair dryer, but when it was used, the electricity in the room was turned off, a fact we didn't discover until we returned at the end of the day and realized the food we put in the fridge/freezer has thawed and there was no A/C. The owner quickly responded to the crisis and reset the circuit breaker. We were never told what would be served for breakfast and were disappointed in the morning that the food was non-traditional fare and not to our liking. Fresh coffee is not served, there is a Kuerig with many options for coffee flavors that is operated by the individual user. Of the 6 people in the dining room, only one person had used this machine before, creating an amusing ice breaker with our fellow guests. The thing I really wished they had was an outdoor patio/garden space to read or drink coffee, etc... The weather was absolutely perfect for a lazy day in a comfy chair under a tree and great book in your lap.


Concert Stay

5 on June 20, 2014

We loved our stay here. The Inn is lovely. We went to a concert at The Sheldon concert hall and were happy to find a place close to the venue. The rooms were quiet, we could hardly tell there were any other guests there. We will gladly come back here if our travels bring us to St Louis again.


Great Room

4.4 on June 09, 2014

Greeter was sarcastic - but we had a great time


Pleasantly surprised

5 on May 24, 2012

Should be a part of bedandbreakfast.com's Diamond Collection for sure! Beautiful property, hospitable inn keepers and decent location. I will be back again.


Perfect

5 on May 09, 2012

This place was great. Clean, beautiful, tasteful and charming. And so are the hosts! Thanks guys for all the ice.


Grand Center Inn is GRAND!

5 on May 09, 2012

We just returned from four nights at at the Grand Center Inn. Everything was perfect -- one of the best B&B inns at which we have stayed. Spacious rooms tastefully decorated (not cute, not cluttered), excellent breakfasts (not overloaded with sweets), convenient location with restaurants in walking distance. We will recommend to friends and stay here again!


Home away from Home

4.8 on September 02, 2011

A stay at the Grand Center Inn is as comfortable as home. The hosts convey a caring and friendly atmoshere in both their personalities and the wonderful Inn they have created. Warm smiles and an Inn that is their shared home greeted us upon our arrival. Questions about places to go or the area were met with conversations that resulted in laughter and fun. The rooms are fresh and filled decorated with comfort and style. We have always stayed at Bed and Breakfasts and this is truly one of the highlights of our lives.


Grand Center Inn

4.4 on August 29, 2011

Great location and the closest to a "home away from home" as I'm likely to see. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the room(s) were spacious, clean and charming. I would gladly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone considering staying in the area.


Great experience!

4.6 on July 21, 2011

This B&B is right on the edge of the nice section of St. Louis. I felt very safe parking my car here. There was off street parking and on street parking available. The B&B is in the theater district so when there is a show, the on street parking does fill. Breakfast was great! The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. If I am ever in St. Louis again, I will definitely stay at the Grand Center Inn!


Grand Stay

4.6 on June 24, 2011

The Inn is beautiful! Francesco and Eric have done a great job restoring this building. The Room us very clean! The Inn is located in a great location.


Peaceful getaway in the city!

4.6 on June 20, 2011

What a beautiful place! The innkeepers have done a great at preserving this wonderful piece of history. Great rooms and excellent breakfast!


Fantastic Anniversary Getaway

4.0 on April 25, 2011

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, and it will certainly not be our last! We arrived after 9pm and were warmly greeted by the proprietors, Francesco and Eric. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to learn that our gracious hosts had upgraded our stay to The Repertory Suite. We were totally impressed with the accommodations. Since this was a surprise for me, Eric kindly arranged the room to my husband's specifications and I was completely blown away by the details. The bed was amazingly soft and plush. I wish I could have taken it home with us. We felt as if we were staying with friends that had offered us the best room in the house - theirs. The breakfast was simply scrumptious! The personalized service and friendly atmosphere made for a truly memorable celebration. It is our desire to have annual visits to the inn, for it was totally Grand!


THE BEST HIDDEN PLACE TO STAY IN ST. LOUIS BY FAR

4.0 on December 16, 2010

You can't miss here. Francesco and Eric make your stay feel like you are royalty in the palace. The rooms are beautifully restored and completely comfortable, the breakfasts are outstanding. It is just a block with walking distance to the Fox and Sheldon Theatres, Free parking! quiet area also with very good restaraunts nearby. We stay here everytime we are in St. Louis.


Loved Every Minute

5 on November 19, 2010

We are planning a return visit. Hopefully several times a year. Amazing, kind , and gacious hosts. A wonderful stay!


great location

4.0 on November 11, 2010

The place is great. Eric & Francesco are so nice and helped us locate great places to eat. My wife and I plan to stay here again.


A vacation in Europe, in st. Louis!

4.0 on July 19, 2010

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday, and we stayed 2 nights. It was absolutely amazing, which gorgeous rooms, fantastic hosts, and just a beautiful experience overall. Walking distance into town, and close to museums, the university, and cafes. I definitely intend on returning again, as it was just like being in Europe with it's decor.. but with such a humble price!


Syra and Brittanys stay 5 stars

4.8 on January 07, 2010

Me and Brittany loved this B&B. The house is a historic mansion and was very beautiful. It has long doors, spacious rooms, and the best of all was the service. Francessco and Eric were amazing. We woke up late and they still made a woderful breakfast for all of us. I would for sure stay here again when I come to St.Louis. Also I will say that the beds were the most incredible, softest, and amazing bed at a Inn I have ever slept on. I will recommend this place to everyone. Thank you so much Francessco and Eric for my best stay in an Inn. Sincerly, Syra and Britt


A historic building made a new.

4.8 on December 07, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Center Inn for three nights. So close to St. Louis University (where we visiting), yet quiet, clean, and comfortable. The staff went way out of their way to take care of us and made us feel quite at home. As of Dec. 5, 2009, the building is still not completely renovated, but all the common areas are beautiful and the rooms we had were warm, fully furnished, and spotless.


Grand Center Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $175
  • Reviews (43) 4.5
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (314) 533-0771

Visit Website »

View details

Top