Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
64 Reviews

Write A Review

Eco Inn -- Such a Wonderful Experience

4.6 on July 26, 2014

I truly enjoyed my visit to the Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn. I stayed in the Wallace Stegner Room, which is the small room downstairs. It is the perfect space for one person, cozy and welcoming. I came to the Eco Inn to relax and regroup away from the city. Alline was such a lovely host. The food was superb! (Pizza night is Thursdays!) And the ambience was warm and friendly. I loved having my morning coffee on the verandah. Since I am studying Sustainable Business, it was important to me to have a mini-vacation that is both sustainable and relaxing. The eco-toilets are just like normal toilets except you don't need to flush them. She shower was like a normal shower. This was my first eco-vacation, and I was impressed with how comfortable -- and luxurious -- an eco-vacation can be. I will absolutely return to the Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn.


You've GOT to stay here!

5 on June 06, 2014

If you're at all thinking "Ecovillage?! Compost toilets?!" just wait! The Milkweed Mercantile, located in the Dancing Rabbit Ecovillage amid the lush green rolling hills of rural Missouri, is a feast for the eyes and a balm for the body and soul. Imagine the graceful lines of adobe structures and the welcoming feel of a farmhouse - the Mercantile would be the baby of these two architectural styles. The beds are that perfect combination of firm and cloud-like. There are two toilets (that function beautifully and don't smell at all), two showers and a bathtub. The whole place is clean and inviting. And there is a sense of serenity and peace. And the food! Plan your trip to arrive for dinner on Thursday, because you do not want to miss weekly pizza night (you need to order ahead and let them know what toppings you'd like). All of the meals were delicious and wholesome, locally sourced with unique twists. There was always plenty of food and we never left the table feeling bloated and uncomfortable. I brought my 5 year old daughter, who is your typical picky eater and she very much enjoyed the majority of the food - and the chef even made child-sized scones, biscuits and muffins specifically for her. Before arriving I was asked if we had any dietary restrictions and what my daughter liked to eat - and they listened and provided some of her absolute favorites. The staff was warm and welcoming, and abundantly accommodating. I cannot say enough about how lovely our experience at the Milkweed Mercantile was! Perhaps a downside for some would be the very rural location. However, when you think about the "amenities" offered (a pond for swimming in, woods and rolling hills for hiking in, quiet for just relaxing - thinking - and being in, and a warm and welcoming community that is happy to stop and talk - there is plenty to do that eases the soul and restores the body.


Great Experience & Wonderful Food

4.8 on May 18, 2014

We had a great stay at the Milkweed Mercantile! Our rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of space. The atmosphere was friendly and everyone was very kind. Toilet and bathing facilities were clean and just like home. Their food was phenomenal! We'll definitely be back!


Warm, welcoming, vibrant visit.

4.4 on May 12, 2014

Staying at the Milkweed Mercantile was a very pleasant and energizing experience. The accommodations were simple, comfortable and beautiful; and we were encouraged to enjoy the entire village, both exploring on our own and being given a personal tour highlighting the incredibly diverse eco-friendly houses, gardens, renewable energy sources, artistic endeavors and warm dynamic folks who live there. Our room was lovely, the shared bathroom areas were fresh and accommodating, the food was wonderful, the other guests were fun to visit with, and the hosts were welcoming, delightful, inspiring people. We came away with heads full of new ideas and good feelings of personal connections.


A Stay in the Middle of Nowhere AKA Paradise!

4.8 on May 11, 2014

The Milkweed Mercantile is an amazing place to stay if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and find a quiet place with amazing food and amazing hosts! Even if you aren't into the "green" lifestyle, you should stay here for the tranquility and amazing food. The Mercantile is eco friendly and so much more. One dinner we had a chocolate pecan pie from scratch a la mode and it made me weak in the knees.... My mouth waters still thinking about it. Alline and Kurt were amazing hosts that met our every need and even turned down our bed when we were at dinner. Everyone at the Dancing Rabbit were friendly and had incredible stories of how they all wound up at this eco village. We will definitely go back for the great food, the peace and quiet, and the friendly faces around every corner.


Refreshing!

5 on April 28, 2014

My husband and I have visited Dancing Rabbit before, but this was our first stay at the Milkweed Mercantile B&B. It was a wonderful experience all around! The owners, Alline and Kurt, were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Thanks so much for the wonderful experience, and we plan on a return visit soon!


A Unique & Inspiring Experience

5 on November 06, 2012

I selected Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn specifically because I wanted to get an idea of what it was like at Dancing Rabbit Eco-village. Since I have followed this community online, and knew about their environmental covenants regarding building materials and resource use, I was expecting to 'rough it' just a little. Ha! If this is roughing it, I wanna rough it forever! This isn't your typical B&B and for that I say THANK YOU! The Mercantile Eco Inn is a great sneak peek at life in an environmentally friendly eco-community, and you give up nothing during your stay. Cheery, no-pressure breakfast, free wi-fi, excellent meals available on request, an impressive variety of IPO beers, as well as places to chill out, read a book, or enjoy the sites and sounds of Dancing Rabbit, capped off by as much (or as little!) interesting evening conversation as one desires before heading off to a warm comfy bed. I felt a little sad and almost 'homesick' when I departed after a 4 night stay, and THAT'S never happened at a B&B before. I suspect I'll visit again.


Small Energy-footprint B & B

4.0 on October 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B which is located in Dancing Rabbit Eco-Village, and exemplifies all the principles of intentional and sustainable community living. Do not expect an en-suite bathroom! But understand that water conservation is one of the core principles, and so flush toilets and multiple drains are luxuries that this community considers unaffordable from the earth's standpoint. Having said that, the composting toilets are odor-free and easy to use. Aside from toilet paper, other paper products are replaced with cloth alternatives. The B&B doubles (triples) as a cafe and general store, which makes for a great buzz, with neighbors dropping in for a beer or coffee at the bar (just a counter, really). Our room was spacious and homey, with a great bed and high-quality bedding. Breakfasts were very generous and delicious. Other meals are also available, with all diets catered for, and consisting of local, organic food as much as possible. Go here if you are interested in how sustainability can work, if it would make you happy to know that the lights in your room are powered by wind and solar, and to meet wonderful, friendly people who are trying to make a difference for the environment while living wholesome, fulfilling lives.


A One-Of-A-Kind Experience!

5 on October 28, 2012

Stayed four days at Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn Bed & Breakfast at Dancing Rabbit Eco-village in northeastern Missouri. Kurt & Alline were amazing, friendly, and accommodating hosts. At the last minute my daughter and her fiance decided to join me for part of my stay, and Kurt and Alline made them both feel every bit as welcome as if they'd been expecting them all along. The B&B itself is straw bale construction and solar powered, and the food is conscientiously sourced, much of it locally. If you're interested in learning about ways to live that are sustainable and satisfying, you absolutely want to make it a point to journey to Dancing Rabbit and the Milkweed Mercantile B&B.


Wonderfully different

4.0 on September 23, 2012

The Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn is a straw bale building that demonstrates how to achieve a high quality of living with a very low environmental impact. The rooms are beautiful and generous and benefit from a private lounge shared with the other guests only (maximum 4 others). The breakfasts are exceptionally good with fresh tasty and varied food. The Mercantile is run by the most friendly, helpful and interesting couple who have chosen to set up their business within Dancing Rabbits, an ecovillage inhabited by a group of good humoured, sociable and adventurous individuals. If you are into sustainability this is a must, if you are not it is still well worth it for its setting within nature, the community feeling and the hotel itself. Paola, Oxford, UK.


An opportunity to impress - not taken...

1.8 on September 22, 2012

The Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn was a satisfactory place to stay. However, it could have been a wonderful place to stay with a little more effort from the innkeepers. Given it is located in an ecovillage, I didn't expect "spotless". However, encountering 6 - 8 spiders in 2 days is overkill - particularly when one was in a prominent place in the bathroom - which should have been cleaned/tidied during our stay. The food was very average, the room was plain. The "special" elements of being within an ecovillage were glossed over - but could have been discussed - therefore increasing the value of our stay. The inn is overpriced for what we experienced.


Wonderful stay

4.8 on September 20, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Mercantile B&B. The room was very comfortable. We were here in mid September so don't know what it would be like in July and August as there is no A/C. The bathroom is in the hall and is shared with others, both those on the first and second floor if needed. This worked out okay. The shower was a bit of a problem--not enough hot water but they are fixing it. The breakfast is a standout with a different meal each morning. The hosts are very accommodating for special requests.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for letting us know about the water temperature in the upstairs shower. Kurt took the mechanism apart and found that it had been adjusted lower than it should have been. It has been fixed and is now piping hot. We so enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit!


A+!

5 on August 11, 2012

We recently finished hosting two natural building workshops, and had the Mercantile cook and cater all of the food for our 14 and 10 day courses. It was wonderful -- great food, big smiles, a lovely space for us to relax... couldn't have been better!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much - we're so happy that you and your group enjoyed your meals at the Mercantile! We had a blast getting to know everyone and it was fun to cook for such an appreciative audience.We hope to see you all again soon!


Fav Food for Straw Bale Workshop

5 on August 10, 2012

The Milkweed Mercantile prepared all the meals for our ten-day straw bale workshop in July. We had some pretty hot days. I can't say what it was worth to know that there would be terrific food waiting for us after a long day's work. Probably more than they charged us. Alline is a world class baker so there were often special treats in the bargain. Hiring the Mercantile to cater our workshop is clearly one of the reasons that made it a hit.


A unique village experience in an intentional community

4.8 on August 08, 2012

Alline and Kurt are amazing innkeepers! They welcomed my daughter and me with open arms and got us settled in. We LOVED our room, it was like a pretty, spacious dorm room. We loved hanging out in the mercantile with residents and other visitors, and sitting on the front porch reading, drawing, and practicing flute. The activities and people there were so inviting and engaging. Love the compost toilets. BEST part is the food. Alline is an excellent cook! She made my daughter's birthday so special, right down to the vanilla cake with chocolate frosting! It was so neat that we got there on a very hot day, the next day enjoyed a spectacular thunderstorm, and when we left, it was a sparkling 72 degrees. My daughter can't wait to return, she kept saying she hated to leave. She felt like she could be herself there.


A great place to celebrate!

5 on July 05, 2012

I called ahead to plan a special breakfast for my birthday with 15 friends. Alline went out of her way to graciously accommodate everyone's food needs, including my request for biscuits and sausage gravy with a side of bacon using local and humanely raised meat. I can honestly say it was the best biscuits and gravy I've ever had! The Mercantile was an awesome place to celebrate. We all had so much fun! Thanks Alline and Kurt!


Best little weekend

5 on June 17, 2012

As we were celebrating our fifth anniversary, we chose to go to a B&B to have a quiet weekend away. The staff not only enjoyed our special day Mandie made it better by asking us what we wanted for a dinner to celebrate. A Steak BBQ! Kurt personally cooked our steaks to order and Alline made us delicious side dishes and home made ice cream. It was a great social time and the best food we have ever been served. Worth every penny. We even planned our next visit for Fall on my birthday. See you soon Kurt and Alline, and have that BBQ stoked and ready.


Charming eco-friendly bed and breakfast and gateway to sustainable community

5 on June 14, 2012

Our two-night stay at the Milkweed Mercantile was an experience to remember with a lifetime of memories. The staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs, the food was delicious, and the rooms and bathrooms were spotless and clean. We can hardly wait to come back in the fall season.


Milkweed's Many Mysteries

4.6 on June 13, 2012

We had a cool comfortable room and our bed was very comfy. The Turn down service is a very nice thing to show nice acknowlegement. I was pleased by the fresh water in the glass & bottle set. It reminded me so much of Ansel Adams (!), that I took a photo of the setting! Never know what small bits can welcome someone! The night was country quiet, A very pleasant stay.


Great great experience

4.6 on June 03, 2012

The people were the best. Mandy was so sweet and nice and efficient. We learned a lot. We will be looking for another opportunity yo visit.


Peace, solitude awesomeness at the Mercantile

5 on May 31, 2012

Most memorable relaxed stay my husband and I have had in years. Impressed with everything, the inn, the village, the people, the peace and solitude of the area, the food. We will defintely be back! and recommend staying at the Milkweed to all our friends and family. Jen and Greg Conner


Great place to experience intentional community

5 on May 24, 2012

There's nowhere like this in the world - rural, down-home, and with scrumptious food, gracious hospitality, and real people to get to know. It was perfect for us.


Alternative lifestlye presentation

4.6 on December 17, 2011

Staying at the Milkweed mercantile was a real treat. Our host were truly outstanding. They made us feel at home and we had a chance to see and meet some wonderful people who are working hard to reconect with a down to earth lifestlye. If you want to be reintroduced to a self sustainable lifestlye and family vaules I would strongly suggest you come for a stay and don't forget to take the tour. Ron Langwell


A wonderful stay

4.8 on December 07, 2011

Aline and Kurt are wonderful hosts. They are concerned about every minute of your visit and the breakfasts are unbelievable. The Mercantile is located on an environmental intentional community, and learning about the work they do is part of the visit. You couldn't find a more unusual and interesting place to stay.


3 days on the plains

4.6 on November 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Milkweed at the end of November. I had no idea what to expect with respect to this trip. The ratings that I give are only based on other bed and breakfasts I have stayed in. If I had to rate this place against what I would expect from a place with composting toilets, sustainable construction, and solar and electric energy sources, it would have been off the chart. The owners and operators are amazingly friendly and warm. We are looking forward to returning next year with our kids.


The best.

5 on November 02, 2011

Full disclosure: I'm a former Mercantile employee, and I returned to Dancing Rabbit with my students to explore natural building and design. Wow, it's been a while since I ate and slept so well! I was very familiar with the functional features of the B&B, but I had never experienced being a guest and it was wonderful. I highly recommend a trip out here even if you're remotely interested in ecological living. You'll be able to see and experience Dancing Rabbit from the comfort of five-star accommodations. One caveat, however: you'll never want to leave!


Informative,fun enlightening weekend

5 on October 29, 2011

We could not have asked for a better weekend Alline made us feel like we were at home. The accommodations, clean, simple but well decorated, and comfortable. The tour and explanation,of Ecovillage living by our guide (Bob) made us think of how we could not only simplify our lives but tread more lightly on our world. It's an experience worth the effort. JR


Luxury rooms under a star filled sky

5 on October 16, 2011

Everything felt welcoming. The custom art built into the soft earth-toned walls were simple and beautiful warm colors. We enjoyed the great selection of beers, juices, sodas, and delicious home made baked goods and food served at the cafe down stairs. Great, friendly owners and staff. More stars in the sky than you can shake a stick at are visible on a clear night. Wonderfully comfortable beds and blankets. Beautiful, clean bathrooms. All the rooms, including the shower, bathroom, and common rooms got fantastic natural light during the day. Warm lighting at night. Everything is very eco-friendly.


Wonderful hospitality!

4.4 on September 28, 2011

Proprietors Alline Anderson & Kurt Kessner served up delicious organic meals & wonderful hospitality! A great experience for those wanting to explore an off the grid village of caring, industrious people.


Truman State University Parents

5 on September 21, 2011

Wow! What a wonderful experience. We were desperate to find a room since parents weekend at the college had all rooms sold out near Kirksville. When we pulled into the Milkweed Inn it was dusk and one of the proprietors greeted us with, "Are you Colleen?" When my wife responded "Yes!" Our host said. "I am glad you made it. I was worried." We immediately felt a genuine warmth and concern for our well-being which continued until we left the following morning. My wife, daughter and I were treated to a quick late night snack of perfectly grilled cheese sandwiches. homemade pickles, beets, olives and chocolates that were delicious. The beds were pure heaven.The morning breakfast was fabulous and everyone was so friendly. We did not want to leave. We are definitely going back. If you want a home away from home along with an education in eco-green living you will not find a better environment then the Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn. I highly recommend you reward yourself and stay here.


Very unique

4.0 on September 21, 2011

Interesting, educational, relaxing, and a all around fun experience. Will defiantly visit again.


awesome time!!

5 on September 07, 2011

Came to visit from Seattle, my boyfriend was helping a couple to build their house. We stayed at the Mercantile our last night in the village and it was so nice and clean and comfortable. In the morning the coffee was delicious, and the breakfast incomparable, huevos rancheros.. and they even made mine with eggwhites! They went all out to make us happy and comfortable. Alline even sat with me after breakfast and helped route our drive back to Seattle. The beer is cold, the beds cozy and the people are friendly. We will be back, hopefully sooner than later!


A road less traveled.

5 on August 28, 2011

Hands down, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (the king upstairs). If you're looking for a unique, relaxing, informative, adventurous experience, the Milkweed Mercantile is perfect for you. Breakfast is served family-style and enjoyed over conversation with the owners. The atmosphere is quite casual with the owners' open invitation to chat during meal prep in the large, open kitchen/shop area-I personally loved that aspect. The decor is uncluttered and eclectic; the common room upstairs is stocked with great books and games for leisure time. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, comfortable, and aesthetically pleasing. Doors and woodwork (trim) are repurposed as are many of the furnishings. Utterly charming. Like spending the night at a beloved grandmother's house exploring old treasures and waking up to the enticing smell of breakfast wafting up the stairwell. Add to that the personal satisfaction derived from knowing the inn is completely off the grid and sustainable, and one begins to appreciate what is being offered. I'll definitely be a repeat customer.


I can't wait to come back!

5 on August 14, 2011

I had such a wonderful time at the Mercantile. I was excited to come and see the village, but the Eco Inn was so lovely and the hosts even lovelier that it really made the stay exceptional. I was so impressed with the beautiful, comfortable rooms. The food was amazing and the dinner conversation even better. The stay was really great because of how welcoming and hospitable Kurt and Alline are. I would come back in a heartbeat. I even bought a few treasures in the gift shop to remember my stay.


Fantastic Bed & Breakfast

5 on June 30, 2011

The title says it all. The bed was fantastic to sleep in, and the breakfast each morning was amazing. The Mercantile proves you can stay in a Eco friendly Inn and be just as comfortable as if you stayed in a five-star hotel. I felt very comfortable and at home my entire stay.


Wonderful time in Dancing Rabbit

5 on June 27, 2011

Our family rented two rooms for the weekend at this wonderful B&B. The weather alternated between sunshine and rain--which was perfect for our stay. It has been a long time since we sat and listened to the rain with a good book. If you are looking for a clean, well accomodated, committed green B&B for a relaxing weekend (with great food and wine too), this is your place.


Milkweed Mercantile

4.0 on June 16, 2011

The beds were more comfortable than we expected. We each had two big pillows, very comfy, good mattresses and linens. Our first experience of using a composting toilet and rain water! The shower and all facilities were great. Great water pressure in the shower. We were not roughing it at all. All meals and the dining experience was way beyond our expectations. Delicious food, beautifully served. Wonderful weekend and great value.


Wonderful companionship and accommodations

5 on May 30, 2011

Who knew that Northern Missouri is great weekend get-away? Our son encouraged us to visit and learn about two intentional communities 3 hours from St. Louis. We were delighted with the accommodations, which show that "sustainable" can also be incredibly comfortable. Kurt began our visit with a tour and history of Dancing Rabbit. Alline delighted us with her wonderful meals. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and helpful in answering even the difficult questions about life in an intentional community. We learned a great deal about how life can be different. Thank you for this inspiring visit.


Live Your Values on Your Vacation

5 on May 29, 2011

This was my second stay at the Milkweed Mercantile. My previous experience was so good, I tripled the length of my stay to 3 nights. I don't know of anywhere else that you can live your sustainability values on your vacation all while receiving all the comforts you would expect in a B&B and learning about one of the most inspiring experiments in sustainable community building in the world. Rooms were comfy and clean, the staff was friendly and attentive, and breakfasts were hearty, tasty, healthy, and locally or sustainably produced.


3 year anniversary at the Milkweed

5 on April 30, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 3 year anniversary dinner at the Milkweed Mercantile during our 3 week visit to Dancing Rabbit. They went above and beyond in making our date something truly special. We had a wonderful candlelit dinner upstairs and dined on our own special pizza with olives in the shape of a heart on top. We rounded the meal off with some of the bar's high quality brew and some music on the porch in the sun. Afterwards my wife told me she hadn't been that happy in a long, long time. Definitely the Milkweed gets my recommendation!


Beautiful location, beautiful people

5 on April 03, 2011

Alline and Kurt are very welcoming. They'll tell you some entertaining stories and they're great listeners. Alline is a fantastic chef: homemade jam, fresh eggs, amazing desserts! Kurt will take you on a guided tour of the Eco-Village. I highly recommend the trip.


Milkweed Mercantile a Great Stay!

4.6 on February 23, 2011

Lovely hosts and a great way to find out more about the Dancing Rabbit community. Beautiful building and food was great. I would highly recommend the Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn!


LOVED the Mercantile!

5 on February 20, 2011

My husband and I were traveling through Missouri when we came across the Milkweed Mercantile! We called last-minute, arrived late in the evening and brought our vivacious dog! (ideal guests, right?!?) None of that seemed to phase the innkeepers, Kurt and Alline! They were hospitable, sweet and friendly! Our room was super cozy! My husband swears the breakfast was the best he's ever had! Kurt and Alline are not only wonderful hosts, they are two people very passionate about life, community and our planet. As such, we had great conversations with them during our short stay. They are willing to teach what they know ~ they truly walk their talk, both in preserving the earth and building a community. They are a model for other intentional communities! As for the inn, it's a comfy spot to stay. The architecture is amazing. Quiet, off the beaten-path and unique! You will love making your way off the main roads to this home-away-from-home! We cannot wait to go back!


Best Sustainable B&B Ever and Great Coffee!

5 on November 23, 2010

It's not just an off-the-grid Bed & Breakfast. It is an environment that reflects new possibility and hope, new considerations for anywhere you live and breathe, incredible aromas and great food, unheralded landscape, hand-hewn walls, clean crisp sheets, provocative discussions, and the best coffee I've ever had in a B&B. Alline and Kurt and more than innkeepers. They are stewards of our rare earth. I can't stop thinking about the winebottled windows at Dancing Rabbit too.


Interesting experience

4.4 on November 14, 2010

The Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn is a really neat place. The Inn itself is very nice. Simple, but clean and comfortable. The community is fascinating. An eco village focused on being totally environmentally friendly. The community is growing, and since all structures are built with reused or environmentally friendly materials, you find lots of material piles around . . . until you understand what you are looking at they almost appear as trashy and cluttered. However, once you tour the community and see the structures it becomes clear. Everything from the structures to the gardens is eco friendly. Folks even complain they don't have a more eco friendly way to cook then propain. Solar and wind provide power; wood stoves provide the heat; several families share kitches. Very communal life style. Winter seems a little barren as the gardens are dead, but I immagine the Spring and Summer are lush and beautiful throughout the community. Definately worth a visit, even for city dwellers like me, if nothing more than to get a glimpse of a more simple life.


Unique, magical, life changing experience

4.6 on October 28, 2010

I knew this place would be special. I wanted a different experience. I wanted to see how other people live. I wanted to see what it's like to be off the grid. Our stay here was transforming. We took some of the magic with us, there is plenty to share. We felt like part of the family. The evening celebration was joyous. The food was amazing. We met some unforgettable people. We can't wait to go back!


delightful and unusual visit in northeast Missouri

4.8 on October 25, 2010

If you are looking for a very unusual, interesting and delightful place to stay in northeast Missouri, the Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn is for you. I loved my visit. Alline, the Innkeeper, and her husband Curt were gracious hosts who provided delicious breakfasts, as well as great scotch and unbelievable chocolate cookies, homemade bread and jam and lots of fun conversation. I am looking forward to my next stay at the Milkweed.


Sustainability at its best.....

4.0 on October 21, 2010

Beautiful straw bale inn accommodation. Met all our expectations with the addition of fun hosts with whom we shared lots of laughs, good food and great conversations. Milkweed Mercantile and Dancing Rabbit should be on everyone's list as a "must do" for those of us involved in walking the sustainability trail focussed, to encourage inquisitive ones interested in commencing the walk and to kick start those who need to be made aware of the need to get walking! It is the epitomy of reduction, restraint and resourcefulness. Kindred spirits who we hope to meet up with again on life's journey.


Friendly, Peaceful, and Enriching

5 on October 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We value and applaud the eco-friendly ways of this inn and its community. Our room was clean, inviting, and comfortable, with a beautiful view of a star-studded night sky. The guest lounge has plenty of reading materials, family games, and unique artwork. You do share a bathroom, but this wasn't a problem, as there is a separate room for showering and an extra sink area. The meals are delicious, organic (better tasting!), and locally grown. Alline kept our meals within our requested low-fat, low-sugar guidelines, even preparing jam made with freshly picked berries and 2/3 less sugar. Be sure to browse in the mercantile section for both unique and practical finds. We visit near-by family twice a year, and we will definitely be staying at the Eco Inn again. Jack and Emileah Jaworski, Toledo, Ohio


Excellent stay at the MIlkweed Mercantile Eco Inn

4.2 on October 09, 2010

Visited my son at Dancing Rabbit from October 1 to October 6, and had the good fortune to stay at the "Mercantile". My wife and I had visited there previously. Alline and Kurt are wonderful hosts who are willing to accomodate any need. They had coffee ready for me each morning, and prepared exellent breakfasts each day. My son and I also enjoyed dinners two of the evenings during my visit. I have a gluten intolerance, and each meal was prepared gluten-free. Alline even made a gluten-free chocolate cake for dessert. It was delicious! I stayed in the Wallace Stegner on the first floor. With an exterior door, it was convenient for easy ingress/egress with tools. I was there to help my son assemble a hoop house (greenhouse), and I apprecieated the convenience. The room was also near the bathroom and shower. When returning to DR, we will certainly stay at the Mercantile! Bill Durica


Great for any group of people!

5 on October 01, 2010

I went with girlfriends on a weekend trip to visit the EcoInn. While there, we attended a canning seminar, toured the Ecovillage, ate amazing food and had so much fun! The owners made us feel at home right from the start! I can't wait to go back! Next time I think I'll bring my kids and husband--I know they'll have a great time too! I recommend this EcoInn to everyone. I was such a great experience!


Food-Amazing pizzza!

4.0 on September 10, 2010

I was told when I arrived to the ecovillage that I should try pizza night at the Milkweed Mercantile, that it was better than NYC pizza (my home town) and I didn't believe it. I finally experienced it and it is seriously amazing pizza. I don't think I can find crust light this- thin and flaky. The toppings were also done to perfect proportion. This will go down as one of my top 5 lifetime pizza experiences.


Visit Dancing Rabbit, Change the World

5 on August 16, 2010

The Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn offers first class comfort while visiting the bold and successful Dancing Rabbit Eco Village. The DR residents have succeeded in tapping earth's bounty to capture and store all the electricity needed via solar and wind power sources. This is modern living at its best. The inn keepers are congenial, informed and gifted. The food offerings accommodate all dietary needs without compromising taste and flair. How can the Inn be so clean and still be on a farm?! Come and see for yourself. You will learn more than you spend, guaranteed!


Excellent choice for those interested in ecovillages

4.6 on August 04, 2010

Stayed at the Mercantile earlier this year in the spring with my father. I was well adjusted to life off the grid, he was not. Despite this, the Mercantile met both of our needs very well. All the amenities we were used to were readily available while still relying on only sustainable resources. Service was outstanding, with a personalized tour of first the inn and later the ecovillage. Food in the morning was delicious as well.


There were more than 10 kinds of frogs singing us to sleep!

4.4 on August 03, 2010

This comfortable, hospitable Inn would be competitive in a more densely populated area. Do expect the hosts to facilitate you in making healthy choices that are good for you and for the planet. Reusable towels; recycling; eating local foods are just some examples. The Inn is designed to operate without air conditioning. I was pleased that there was ample hot water for showers; my travel partner prefers cold showers. There was electricity for our laptop from the solar and wind power systems, and wireless internet access. The food here is excellent! Breakfast is made with guests' dietary choices in mind (omnivore, vegetarian, vegan, food allergies, etc.). The conversation at breakfast with the inn keepers and various guests ranged on many topics relevant to sustainability and sharing. Lunch and dinner are not always served at the Inn. No pool, but there are several ponds in the area.


Worth a special trip

5 on July 23, 2010

Staying at Milkweed Mercantile was such a fun and unique experience. We went to learn more about energy efficient living, but were bowled over by the hospitality. Kurt and Alline were incredibly friendly and very willing to tell us all about their successes and their difficulties. We booked dinner, and were served a wonderful home-cooked meal with pasture-raised ham, fresh vegetables and homemade biscuits. Breakfast was also a knockout. The experience was a fascinating lesson in green living, served up with great food, great coffee, and a lot of perspective and humor. My only regret is that we couldn’t stay an extra night. There’s a lot to be learned here.


What a pleasure

5 on July 09, 2010

The Milkweed Mercantile is such a joy. Everything here is made with such care -- for the earth, for the guests/friends who stay here, and for the artistry and value of beautiful spaces. The place is airy, clean, and bright. I particularly loved perusing the book collection, the laid-back company of the innkeepers and other guests, and the wonderfully-made breakfasts. I'm hoping to entice my mother to come for a visit -- she's rather suspicious that "eco-friendly" is another word for "dirty," and she's not much of an outdoorswoman. The Mercantile, I'm sure, will expand her idea of the possibilities and joys of living lightly on the earth. Thank you so much for the hospitality, Milkweed Mercantile!


Wonderful experience

5 on July 08, 2010

Milkweed is the perfect blend of sustainability and comfort. For some of us older folk, it adds a level of relaxation without feeling that the tenets of sustainable living are compromised. Alline and Kurt deserve the Best Innkeepers of the Year Award. Louise


Great place to stay

5 on July 02, 2010

A wonderful place to stay, especially if you are interested in learning about ways to live in a sustainable way. Great care is taken to make guests feel welcome and comfortable.


Off the Grid & Loving It

5 on June 21, 2010

It was a wonderful time – we went just for a bit of peace and found it. The food was great (we had dinner there one night as well as the full farm breakfasts made to order), the people were great and the concept of an eco B&B was the best! The stars! The Lightening Bugs! The mercantile…. Everyone who enjoys the ‘family’ environment of a B&B should go – you’ll have new friends to add to your Christmas card list.


Great place to stay! Very interesting environment!

4.2 on June 13, 2010

The Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn was very fascinating. They were super kind and welcoming, gave us a tour of the whole Eco village and were very quick to answer any and all questions we had. We felt like we were apart of the community for the time we were there. It was a great experience that I soon hope to repeat!


Spectacular Eco Oasis

5 on May 28, 2010

My expectatations were far exceeded by the beautiful and restful accommodations of the Milkweed Mecantile Eco Inn. The Inn owners offer outstanding customer service with their attention to everything I desired, and some things I didn't realize I desired. The food is varied, exceptional, and plentiful to say the least. For those who like myself don't always make the effort to be as conscious of the earth's resources, the Inn's sustainable practices make up for any guilt, without feeling comfort has been sacrificed. For those who embrace a sustainable lifestyle, visiting the Milkweed Mercantile is a must. Thank you for a great weekend!


A Great Getaway

5 on May 12, 2010

Last weekend I stayed at the Milkweed Mercantile and I am still talking about it! I have been wanting to visit the Dancing Rabbit community because I've been hearing about it for years. In addition to experiencing firsthand an exceptional intentional community, I was treated to a stay at an outstanding bed and breakfast! Kurt, Alline, and Amy do a fantastic job and it is inspiring to see how they have created such a warm and welcoming environment using sustainable practices. I had a great time meeting the other guests at the Mercantile and also some of the residents of Dancing Rabbit and within a short time I felt like I was among friends. Great conversations were had! One of the highlights of my stay was also the food that was lovingly prepared and cheerfully served to me throughout the weekend! Anthony, Brian, and Sparky (and Alline!) are amazing! From the cheesecake, to the tea, and the brunch on Sunday morning...I can't put into words how delicious it was! The eggs were from happy chickens on a local farm, the jam was homemade, as was the butter and the biscuits...truly one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten. I will look forward to visiting again! Sara in Kansas City, MO


A Wonderful and Unique "Eco" B&B Experience

5 on May 09, 2010

We stayed at the Milkweed Mercantile earlier this week, and we were blown away by the warmth of owners Kurt and Alline. We were also captivated by the charming design of the building's interior--the lobby is graced with a gorgeous mosaic laid into the plaster of the cob walls, and the upstairs is filled with incredible art (from a local artist) and furniture. Even the books on the bookshelves were color-coordinated! It's obvious that Kurt and Alline put a great deal of themselves into the making of the inn. Our bedroom, the large family room, was furnished with three luxurious beds and adorable handmade window curtains. I couldn't help running my hands over the curved white corners of the walls, which Kurt and Alline constructed and plastered themselves using natural materials. As soon as we put down our suitcases, Alline brought us an afternoon snack of freshly-baked chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. It was such a treat! And speaking of food, in the morning, Kurt brought us delicious coffee and a breakfast of biscuits with butter & organic jam and a cheesy asparagus scramble. Almost all of the food ingredients were locally produced--and if you are vegan, the chef can be more than accommodating. The Mercantile prides itself on environmentalism and sustainability, two of the cornerstones of the Dancing Rabbit Eco-village in which the Mercantile is located. For instance, the building--like most structures in the eco-village--is run on solar power. If you are interested in learning more about living sustainably and experiencing life in an intentional community while also resting in comfort and class, the Mercantile is the B&B for you! Don't forget to stay for a Saturday BBQ and then Sunday brunch...


Milkweed Mercantile Eco Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $115
  • Reviews (64) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6608835522

Visit Website »

View details

Top