Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
75 Reviews

Write A Review

Best B&B We've Seen

5 on October 13, 2014

We are a military couple, and have stayed in B&Bs throughout the world. The Stone-Yancey House is the best -- Steve and Carolyn are superb hosts, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. If you are in the Kansas City area, it is a destination in itself.


Wonderful time

5 on December 31, 2013

It was a wonderful time. My husband was apprehensive about Bed and Breakfast as he doesn't like staying in other people's homes. But he relaxed fairly quickly and enjoyed his time.


Stone Yancy House B&B Liberty, MO

5 on November 18, 2013

I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Stone-Yanc3y House. The owners are very cordial and personable folks. The home was immaculately clean. There have been several that I have stayed at that could have used a good dusting. That was not the case here. The room was very comfortable and the décor was beautiful and correct for the time period of the home. The first night when I came back in for the night, my bed had been turned down for me. The breakfasts were fit for a queen and presented beautifully. I definitely will return to this lovely B&B.


Perfect in every way!

5 on October 07, 2013

Our stay at the Stone-Yancy House B&B was beyond any of our expectations. Everything was perfect down to the smallest detail. It was obvious that much effort was made to insure our stay was enjoyable. The room was magnificent. The food was excellent and the hospitality was warm and welcoming. I plan on staying there every time I am in Liberty, Missouri.


Perfect in Every Way!!

5 on September 17, 2013

What an amazing Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I have stayed in Bed and Breakfast Inn's all over the country and the Stone Yancey House has to be one of the best. The home is beautiful and the rooms are large, comfortable and extremely clean. We had breakfast there two mornings and the food was phenomenal!! The owners of the home are very friendly and they pay extra close attention to detail. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be returning.


A Restored Treasure

4.8 on April 30, 2013

The Stone-Yancey House was a beautifully restored 1880s home in Liberty, MO. The hosts are engaging, friendly--without being intrusive, and helpful guides for the area. The comfort of the rooms, beauty of the furnishings and good food were beyond my expectations. If you go to Liberty, MO stay here.


WONDERFUL first time at B&B!

4.6 on April 08, 2013

Just a wonderful over all experience! Service and host attention was GREAT! Food was very delicious! Rooms just Beautiful! and the entire place was spotless! Lovely romantic get-away or solo relaxing retreat. Highly recommend it, I loved being pampered by Carolyn :) Will be stay there away on a future get away.


Exquisite Bed and Breakfast

5 on March 05, 2013

This was, quite simply, the best accommodation at which I've ever stayed. The owners are extremely hospitable. Every detail has been carefully considered. The breakfasts are out-of-this-world. I would most highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone travelling to Missouri. I am looking forward to returning.


Wonderful place

5 on December 25, 2012

Great place, comfortable beds, hot water or coffee in the hall an hour before breakfast. the owners are very friendly and know the area very well. Plan to stay there again.


Superb B & B

5 on November 19, 2012

This was, by far, the best B&B I have yet visited. All was absolutely flawless. I definitely hope to return.


Outstanding B & B

5 on October 18, 2012

Best B & B ever! The Stone-Yancey was even better than the pictures. Beyond clean exceptionaly beautiful rooms, superb breakfast, outstanding decor. Carolyn & Steve were the perfect host and historians. No doubt we will return! Kathy & Mike M


All around wonderful experience

5 on August 30, 2012

Both hosts gave great information on the home and on local eateries. The food was better than any other B&B I've been to and the room was very comfortable. Excellent purchase!


Outstanding!

5 on July 29, 2012

Carolyn and Steve are wonderful hosts. The house is beautiful and sparkling clean. Our breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit, muffins and ham and egg pie with hashbrown crust. Yum! We stayed in the Stone Room and were very happy with both the room and entire stay. Thank you Steve & Carolyn for your wonderful hospitality!


July 2012

5 on July 10, 2012

Hosts obviously enjoy what they are doing. Repeat visit by husband and first time for wife. NEVER been to a cleaner B&B, every nock and corner sparkled. Great food too. On permanent stay again list.


What a fantastic find!!

5 on February 26, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we've stayed at!! Kudo's to Carolyn & Steve for their outstanding hospitality, attention to detail, and the food is top notch. The house has great character, comfortable, to wake up Sunday morning to the aroma of cinnamon rolls....


A Great Get Away

5 on December 05, 2011

My husband and I very much enjoyed the inviting atmosphere and accomodations. Steve & Carolyn were wonderful hosts. They were so willing to answer all our questions about the area and nice places to dine. We'll be back again!!


my wedding night

4.4 on November 28, 2011

Carolyn was so warm and friendly, even though we checked in after 1030pm, she was there at the door to greet us, gracioulsy welcome us to her home and escorted us to our room. turned on the fire place and made us feel welcome. the entire facility is beautiful. i ate the best cranberry- orange scones EVER. if only the spa tub had been a tad larger. we can't wait to go back


A parent's pleasure

4.8 on November 26, 2011

We chose Stone-Yancey because of the convenience to our daughter's school (William Jewell). We continue to choose it because it is a beuatiful place, very relaxing, and is superbly managed. The atmostphere is all to be hoped for in the best of B&Bs, the breakfast is EXCELLENT, and all guest amenities are top notch. Wether you are in town for William Jewell, historic Liberty, or just traveling through, this is the place to stay in the greater Kansas City area.


My Review

4.8 on September 20, 2011

Enjoyed the stay. My wife absolutly loved everypart of it. I think I would of enjoyed it more if I was in another room and didn't have to walk through 3 doors to get to the restroom in the middle of the night. The innkeepers were extremely nice and caring. Even waited around all afternoon so we could come back and get my wifes roses we forgot. Carolyn went all out breakfast. It was a lot more fancy then me and my wife are used to. I was expecting like some cereal and toast and maybe a small omellette. Carolyn defintaly went beyond our expectations unfortunatly I don't like fruit and and every part of the meal had fruit... but my wife loved it. B&B's I found arn't quite my thing nothing to do with the Stone-Yancy house, all to do with my own preferences. My wife would definatly like to return. Thank you for all the courtesy, service, privacy and everything else that made it a great night.


Beautiful but noisy

3.8 on September 02, 2011

The innkeepers were accomodating, the house spotlessly clean, the room gorgeous, but wow, was it loud. I am not an early riser, and the hallway and dining room was exceedingly noisy. A rug or carpet in the hallway and a closed door on the dining room would solve this. I would go back, I really liked it, but I hope they make some changes.

Innkeeper Response
We’re pleased that you liked our B&B and that you would come back! We’re sorry that you felt it was noisy, however. We do have area rugs in all rooms and hallways and a carpet runner on the stairs, and yes, the dining room actually does have a door. We knew that you were not going to have breakfast, and we even offered you a discount for that, but we weren’t aware that you wanted to sleep through our breakfast serving time. Since we were full that night, we had other guests who were up and about and getting ready for breakfast at 9am, and since this is an historic home, the floors do creak a bit! And there was conversation during breakfast from 9am to 10am. The dining room is on a different floor and the opposite side of the house from the room you were in, so we’ve never had any issues with noise being a problem for guests in that room. But if you had let us know that you wanted to sleep late, we would have happily closed the door to the dining room in order to make the rest of the house as quiet as possible. Regarding your review, I'm wondering about your rating for dining - I'm not sure why you rated it low, as you did not eat any meals here at our inn.


A wonderful experience

5 on May 17, 2011

We stayed two nights and the B&B was exceptional. Our room was beautifully decorated and was warm and welcoming.The breakfasts were the best we have experienced at a B&B. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. We hope to return to the Stone-Yancy again!


Great breakfast and hospitality

4.6 on April 09, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in April 2008 while on vacation. Carolyn and Steve are great hosts. They are very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and helpful. Our original plan consisted of mostly visiting President Truman related sights but through conversation they brought up the WWI museum in Kansas City which we ended up visiting and thoroughly enjoying. Our room was good and the breakfast was top notch. I will return as a guest if I happen to be in the neighborhood again. I definitely recommend The Stone-Yancey House.


Great place to stay

4.8 on March 29, 2011

We've stayed at the Stone-Yancy three times and always found it enjoyable. John Cartwright


Fabulous Place

4.6 on February 12, 2011

This was my wife & I's 4th visit here. Since we found it, we have not gone to a differant B & B.


What a Wonderful Place

5 on January 12, 2011

We stayed at the Stone-Yancey House over Christmas. It was a wonderful experience. The room was huge and very comfortable. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up. Carolyn and Steve were so friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.


What a beautiful place to stay.

5 on November 15, 2010

Everything about this B&B was fascinating and classy. There were delicious and unique breakfasts served daily and the owners were very hospitable. Enough good things cannot be said about my stay- beautiful rooms, beautiful atmosphere, wonderful service.


Outstanding!!

5 on November 09, 2010

I LOVED LOVED LOVED this place!! Wonderful!! I woke up feeling like I was at my Grandmothers, the smell of breakfast wafting up the stairs. I will stay here again!!


Amazing

5 on October 21, 2010

From the moment my daughter and I arrived until we left we were treated with courtesy and kindness. The room was wonderful and the whole house just beautiful. If ever in the area again I would definitely stay here again.


Perfect

5 on August 20, 2010

The room was beautiful, quiet and sparkling clean, the hosts were gracious and friendly and the breakfast was out of this world.


Excellent

5 on July 19, 2010

The home was spotless, charming and furnished with great antiques. The hosts were both accomodating and axious to make our stay enjoyable.


Relaxing weekend in a Victorian Style setting--breathtaking.

4.6 on July 06, 2010

The cleanliness of this B & B was beyond belief. And the friendly customer service not to mention the breakfast that was served was beyond my expectations. We've stayed at 3 Bed & Breakfasts in the last three years and this one was by far the most clean and that rates very very high in my book.


Absolutely wonderful place to stay!

5 on June 10, 2010

Steve and Carolyn were the most gracious hosts. We arrived much, much later than we wanted due to traffic delays but they were right there at the door when we arrived. They were wonderful to visit with throughout our stay. The home was immaculate, and very tastefully decorated. Everything was wonderful and comfortable and our time there flew by way too fast! We wished we would have had more time there. Anyone who stays at the Stone-Yancy Home will not be dissappointed, doesn't matter if its for business or pleasure! We loved it and hope to be able to go back again sometime!


Outstanding B&B experience.

4.6 on May 19, 2010

Caroline and Steve were excellent hosts and their breakfast was truly exceptional.


Welcoming, Charmimng, Gourmet Custom Breakfast!

5 on May 16, 2010

Beautiful Inn, welcoming attentive service, custom made gourmet breakfast. Lovely and charming period decor with all the modern amenities you would ever want, including wireless internet and current movies, many TV channel choices and coffee outside my door. So close to William Jewell College that my daughter walked there to meet me and they gave me a discount because there was a college event. It was all marvelous!


A charming place to stay!

4.6 on February 17, 2010

This little bed and breakfast is a hidden gem in Liberty. It is charming and romantic, the owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, and the table was absolutely gorgeous with a Valentine's Day theme. We plan to return and spend our anniversary at the Stone-Yancey. (I can hardly wait!)


great stay

4.8 on January 25, 2010

Great food and great company. Room was very clean and appealing. Food was wonderfull and the cookies were awesome. Wonderful stay, I would go back again.


Great place to stay!!

5 on January 16, 2010

Very accomidating, the owners were very nice and welcomed my wife and I like we were part of their family. The room was very nice and extremly comfortable, and the breakfasts were fantastic. We will recommend the Stone-Yancey House to all family and friends.


One of the Best

4.2 on October 20, 2009

You won't find a better B&B . Carolyn and Steve know how to treat their guests. Carolyn is a great cook and she makes sure you do not go hungry. And this is one of the cleanest B&B you will find. You will be very pleased with your stay.


Enjoyable

4.6 on September 29, 2009

Lovely home and very nice stay.


A wonderful stay.

4.8 on September 22, 2009

My lady and I enjoyed the stay from the start. The hostess and host met us at the door, even when returning late. Breakfast was very good. The room we stayed in was clean and well decorated and we loved the tub! We will stay there again.


Outstanding!!!!

5 on August 18, 2009

The room we had was huge and had the nicest bed we had ever slept in. The homemade breakfast was amazing -- Carolyn really outdid herself -- SO much food! Will definitely stay there again.


Wonderful, Romantic, Perfect

5 on July 28, 2009

We have stayed at several bed and breakfasts and this was the best. We loved our room, the service was exceptional, the breakfast was outstanding, and we have no complaints at all. Carolyn and Steve were wonderful hosts! We would stay there again in a heartbeat!


Great host and hostess!

4.4 on June 19, 2009

I felt very at home, Carolyn and Steve were knowledgeable about the area and suggested several things to see and do in the Liberty/Kansas City area. The breakfast was great every morning!


Wonderful experience

4.6 on April 03, 2009

Beautiful home, full of history and quiet comfort. Great food and wonderful company provided by Steve and Carolyn. I will definetly come back again.


What a treat!

5 on February 17, 2009

This is a wonderful place! Very clean, the attention to detail is amazing! Even the night lights match the decor in the room. Breakfast was perfect. Loved the fruit mixture and the egg bake.


Wonderful

5 on February 06, 2009

Great place to stay. The house was very charming and wonderfully decorated. The hosts were very nice and the breakfasts were wonderful.


Beyond Expectations

4.0 on January 20, 2009

The hosts thought of and tended to every detail.


superb getaway

5 on January 13, 2009

If you want to stay somewhere that is cozy, clean, and the hospitality is top notch--stay at Stone-Yancey. This is one of many that we have stayed at, and so I can say that it is rated in the outstanding arena with all confidence. The food is wonderful, the attentiveness to the guests is superior and the beds are great!! We love it here and will continue to share this treasure and return ourselves!!


Wonderful B&B

5 on January 13, 2009

Stone-Yancey House is one of the very best of the b&b's that we have ever stayed. When looking on line to book a b&b I remembered noticing the house while driving by on a motorcycle ride thru Liberty, Missouri. I am letting my sister know about this b&b since she has stayed at a few that were not very good so that way she will have a great memory. We will returned to The Stone-Yancey House and Carolyn and Steve then will know how much we liked their b&b. Relaxed, Ed & Joni Cosgrove


Even Better Than the Lovely Website

5 on November 21, 2008

We had a wonderful two-night visit in Liberty, MO in the homey yet elegant Stone-Yancey House. Carolyn and Steve thought of everything to provide us with a comfortable stay. They are interested in genealogy and directed us to several local resources. Breakfast was hearty and scrumptous. Carolyn bakes delicious scones, cinnamon bread, and pumpkin bars. We really hated to leave,


Great Experience

5 on October 21, 2008

We have stayed in numerious Bed and Breakfast operations. The antiques, meticulous attention to detail and cleanliness was outstanding. The breakfast and snacks were Four Star. Pam and Dan


Enjoyable stay

5 on October 14, 2008

Steve & Carolyn were gracious hosts and they have done a great job with the renovation of the house.


A step back in time

5 on October 07, 2008

We loved the old house which was full of antiques. The rooms were romantique and clean. The breakfast was good & the setting was beautiful, it was a very clean place to stay


Treated Like Royalty in Liberty, MO

5 on September 03, 2008

The home has been thoroughly and impressively restored. It is impeccably maintained. The owners are unbelievably gracious, friendly and thoughtful. The food is very delicious and enjoyable and customized to each guest's tastes and dietary restrictions. The home is in an excellent location – a small town with easy access to the big city of Kansas City.


A moment in time...

5 on August 18, 2008

A fantastic property,lovingly restored and maintained. Much of the original woodwork and hardware remains, thoughtfully uncovered and preserved, the tiled fireplace in the parlor is spectacular. Period pieces abound that give the feel of visiting a close relatives home. The rooms and appointments are period correct with subtle modern conveniences. Very warm and friendly. The Hatchers are wonderful hosts and the food was excellent. A real treat and a great value. Highly recommended.


Pampered At The Stone-Yancey House

5 on July 22, 2008

We try to do something special for our anniversary on the 4th of July every year.We couldn't have picked a better place! It was lovely, and the owners were so nice--we felt more like we were staying with relatives or really good friends! The house was built in 1889, and they have decorated it beautifully. Our bedroom and bath was luxurious. We felt so pampered and spoiled! Not only did they fix us a feast for breakfast, but desert in the evening when we got back from dinner! If you ever have a chance to go through Kansas City, go visit the Stone-Yancey House. You won't be sorry.


What a find!

4.8 on July 07, 2008

Our stay at the Stone-Yancey was wonderful. The room we stayed in was huge. Steve and Carolyn have worked very hard and it showed in every detail of our stay. I highly recommend the Stone-Yancey Bed and Breakfast.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 06, 2008

Very clean, highly organized owners/hosts - everything done tastefully and perfectly.


Beautiful B and B

5 on June 25, 2008

Beautiful Victorian atmosphere! Steve and Carolyn did a wonderful job renovating this home! The pictures are great, but the real thing was awesome. Carolyn's breakfast was large and plentiful, with tastes to fit everyone. We would love to go back around the holidays!


A+-Stone-Yancey House

4.0 on June 18, 2008

Wonderful experience - wish I could have stayed longer. The house is gorgeous and the owners are terrific hosts. The hospitality was over-the-top, the food was delicious, and many extras were included in the price. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay at a B&B in Liberty MO.


Gracious Hospitality in a beautiful setting

4.0 on June 01, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Stone-Yancey House for a memorable weekend when my daughter was being honored with a prestigious scholarship at the neighboring college. Our experience at Stone Yancey was that it was us who were being "honored". We were treated like royalty immediately upon our arrival. Carolyn, the Inn Keeper, actually met us at the door, having heard us drive up the driveway. It was like a Mom greeting her kids as they arrived home for spring break. She was so warm and hospitable, it was impossible to feel like strangers. She invited us into the parlor, offered us cold beverages in crystal glasses and homemade cookies and then as we enjoyed the refreshments, she shared the story of her historic home and the renevations with much pride and animation. The house is lovingly restored with tasteful period furniture. Very beautiful and comfortable. We had the suite with a old fashioned claw footed bathtub that doubled as a jacuzzi. The next morning, we were served a lavous homecooked breakfast by both Carolym and her husband on the royal china that was so beautifully displayed in the 19th century dining room. We look forward to another excuse to enjoy the gracious hospitality and beautiful setting of the Stone- Yancey House.


will refer friends

4.0 on May 31, 2008

Loved the area Powell Gardens is as great as the botantical gardens here in St Louis.


The Best Ever

5 on May 06, 2008

My husband and I stay in B&B's all over the country. Without hesitation we would recommend this lovely home to all our friends and family. The attention to detail is off the charts and well researched. The food was the best. Carolyn and Steve are warm, interesting and fun to visit with. Will definitely return, hopefully many many times in the future.


Great Stay

4.8 on April 02, 2008

My wife and I went for a romantic evening and really enjoyed our stay. We will be returning.


Exceptional hospitality and becautiful house

5 on March 25, 2008

We have stayed in many B&B’s in MO and KS area, and The Stone-Yancey House is truly one of top choices we have ever been. We will definitely recommend the SYH to our friends and families. The house is beautiful, exquisite charming, and very European. We are impressed with the Withers Room – luxury decoration, spacious bath room and over size shower head. We enjoy the breakfast for just us, not to mention the gorgeous china set and table setting, and, of course, the desert was very delicious.


A Wonderful Inn

5 on March 12, 2008

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Stone-Yancey House while on a college visit. The innkeepers, Carolyn and Steve, could not have been nicer. The breakfast was outstanding. I was full all day. A nice touch was a homemade dessert in the evening. I would definately return.


Stone Yancy House is Excellent

4.6 on March 11, 2008

Wow! Carolyn and Steve are the most gracious and helpful hosts you could possibly imagine; help with heavy luggage, Carolyn's wonderful and plentiful food, directions, printing out boarding pases. . . you name it. Stone Yancy House is a beautifully restored Queen Anne home with huge, clean, comfortable period-decorated rooms with discreet modern amenities such as WiFi and jacuzzi claw-foot tubs and lots of TLC from the owners. This will be the only place I stay when coming back to this part of Missouri. Very much well worth the extra money and the small extra drive.


Top of the Line B & B

4.8 on February 21, 2008

We were welcomed with warmth by the hosts and hot cider. The extras, especially the food, were outstanding. The antique furnishings fit the house and rooms perfectly.


Exceptional stay!!

4.8 on February 11, 2008

The setting for this B&B is a beautiful Victorian house that has been seriously rennovated in recent years while maintaining the charm of yesteryear. My room was both comfortable and lovely, and Carolyn is an exceptional hostess who is also a great cook! I would return in a flash!!


Charming B & B

5 on February 05, 2008

Very hospitable innkeepers, went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Even got up in middle of night to help us out. Beautiful and well kept B & B.


New Years Stay

4.8 on January 05, 2008

Excellent, beautiful


Outstanding

5 on December 19, 2007

This was my first B & B experience and I can definitely say it was so much more than I expected! I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The inn was so warm, welcoming and absolutely beautiful we look forward to many more stays during our further visits to William Jewell College.


Beautiful and Friendly

4.2 on November 25, 2007

wonderful food friendly owners beautiful facility will return


Great B&B

4.0 on October 16, 2007

Very cute B&B. Very hospitable hosts. Strongly recommended.


Life, Liberty and the pursuit of happiness

5 on August 16, 2007

Gorgeous home - warm and friendly hosts- lovely rooms- one the best breaksfasts I've ever had - Location is excellent -you can walk downtown to shop and dine.


Stone-Yancey House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $149
  • Reviews (75) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8164150066

Visit Website »

View details

Top