Victorian Country Inn B&B LLC Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
110 Reviews

Write A Review

Traveler

4.8 on September 28, 2016

Barb Spencer provided outstanding accommodations and dinning for our 3 night stay. Barb made us feel like family- great food and company.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful review. I enjoyed your stay with us and being apart of the Victorian Country Inn, B&B experience. Look forward to your return. Ms.B


J&J

4.0 on September 26, 2016

Both my husband and I have severe food allergies. Barb made sure to have not only appropriate breakfast items for us, including farm fresh eggs that were delicious, but also a snack the first evening we arrived. The room was amazingly clean and the shower with three shower heads was awesome! We enjoyed a lovely Anniversary weekend.


Would return again

5 on July 25, 2016

Lovely hostess that is very familiar with the area and she went out of her way to find us other material about places to visit in the state. Great food and very fresh! Room worked out great! Would return again if in the area.


Our Visit

5 on July 15, 2016

We had a wonderful visit at your B & B this week! The accomodations were beautiful and very comfortable! The conversations with the hosts were very educational and humorous! The country breakfast was delicious and Harley, well, what can we say about Harley....he stole our hearts!! We will be back!!


Warm and considerate accomodations

5 on July 07, 2016

Barb, Buddy, and Harley offer a wonderful and relaxing B&B experience! The food is superb with many creative touches. The rooms are most comfortable. There is a wonderful nature walk to experience the flora and fauna and the the wonderful prairie horizon. Barb and Buddy & Harley are charming and thoughtful hosts. There are also many fun activities that are offered. An enriching and gratifying experience!!! Chris Delaney Mebane, NC

Innkeeper Response
We enjoyed your visit and awesome review. Ms.B , Buddy, and Harley


Warm friendly atmosphere, superb breakfasts, wonderful nature hikes, charming and funny hosts

5 on July 05, 2016

Chris Delaney

Innkeeper Response
Thanks Chris for the positive review.


Lovely Country Home

5 on May 08, 2016

Barbara Spencer is a gracious hostess. She is very attentive to our interests and helpful with suggestions and directions. We were not able to participate in the theater, but would have done so, if our schedule had permitted. I had some special dietary requests which were smartly accommodated. The property is very clean and well cared for. I'm sure we will stay with Barbara again because the location is very convenient for us and because she made us feel so comfortable.


Birthday Getaway

5 on April 24, 2016

We stayed the night for a birthday getaway and had a wonderful time! The murder mystery dinner was fun! The food for dinner and breakfast was amazing! We stayed in the Garden Spa room and loved it! We will definitely be back! Barb and Buddy are the most gracious hosts!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the awesome review. We love making it a VIP occasion for Birthdays and a great getaway with the dinner theater. You were so fun. Come back and we shall do another theme birthday. Thanks for coming to Victorian Country Inn, Hallsville,MO


Great B&B

4.0 on April 19, 2016

Very clean. Room was wonderful and the food was fantastic. The owners are very friendly, neat people. I highly recommend Victorian Country Inn. We will be back.


Anniversary Trip

3.4 on November 02, 2015

Excellent room with a very comfortable bed. The "secret" passage to the private movie theatre was a treat that my wife loved. Availability of tea service was a big plus, although filtered water would be a good thing in the future. Couldn't stay the next night for the chuck wagon cookout, but it looked like it would have been lots of fun. I recommend it and will stay here again. I would have given higher marks, but I had high expectations and they were what I expect from a B&B. If I had wanted just a room, I would have gone to a motel.


Great place to stay!

4.6 on October 19, 2015

Had a wonderful stay, breakfast was excellent! Relaxing time!


Perfect for our wedding

4.6 on September 23, 2015

We chose this lovely inn as our wedding venue because of its old-fashioned beauty and charm and its wonderful innkeepers. We couldn't have been happier. We booked all the rooms for our wedding party, so we got to experience the unique personality of each room. Ms. B and Ray have a way of making others feel comfortable and at home. The wedding was fantastic, in large part due to Ms. B, who acted almost as another mother, bustling about behind the scenes to help out and make sure everything was perfect. We forgot a few items, and she was generous enough to lend us what we needed to keep everything running smoothly. Several of my guests commented on how beautiful the property is, and my early-arrivals loved the tour Ms. B gave them. When she shows her rooms, it's obvious how much she has personally invested in each one by her passion and excitement as she reveals each of their stories. Downstairs the next morning, we were served a delicious breakfast (my husband requests that I put extra emphasis on how yummy the breakfast was) with our wedding party. It was so nice to walk out to the dock and enjoy the gorgeous property one last time before saying our goodbyes.


An OUTSTANDING B&B

5 on August 02, 2015

Ray and Barbara were outstanding hosts! We arrived on Friday and immediately knew we made the right choice for a "get away" weekend. You could not ask for more gracious hosts. We enjoyed the "tour" of the property in the off-road vehicle along with the history of the families. We felt extremely privileged to see and hear the restored Nova come to life. It was a great way to finish off the get away weekend. Breakfasts were fantastic! the Starlight room was the highlight of the trip. The private "hidden" video room was a relaxing way to unwind. Before our departure on Sunday morning Ray and Barbara saw us off after a relaxing conversation. This hidden gem is the perfect place to relax - not to far from Columbia but far enough to enjoy the simpler things in life. We definitely will be returning to enjoy the Inn and the company of Ray and Barbara.


Loved this place!

5 on July 31, 2015

I felt right at home as soon as I was greeted at the door by Ms Barb! From the tour of the fantastic Starlite Theater room to the amazing breakfast the next morning this B&B is truly a hidden jewel of Hallsville, MO. I do plan to make time to come stay at the VCI in the near future! My girlfriend weekend was so much fun because of our choice to stay here.


Outstanding visit

3.8 on May 28, 2015

Ms. "B" took care of us as if we were her own. The Cabin was exactly what we were looking for and was very clean and well kept. The service and cuisine were excellent. I will stay there every time I visit Columbia.


great place to stay

5 on March 22, 2015

We had a delightful stay at VCI. The room was beautiful, as was the house. Beautiful grounds out in the country. Barbara welcomed us with a snack and some Amish candy, as well as a cup of tea. Lovely hospitality. She gave us a tour, telling us about some of her antique pieces. Being antique hunters, we enjoyed this. A nice common area was available to us and breakfast was terrific.


Excellent Hospitality at Show Me State Inn

4.6 on January 28, 2015

Ray and Barbara Spencer graciously receive and serve guests in their well appointed country inn with Victorian touches. Gourmet breakfast is delicious. Everything you could imagine is furnished in this lovely accommodation. Great bargain, too!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your eloquent review. I feel privileged to serve folks like you. Come again to Victorian Country Inn, B&B,LLC and we will visit again. Thanks again for coming to our inn. Safe travels.


Victorian Country Inn - Ambience Plus

3.0 on January 12, 2015

THE STARLIGHT ROOM The bed was too firm and uncomfortable. If you like firm, you would be fine with it. My husband's back hurt after sleeping on bed. We just didn't find the room as comfortable as we would have liked. The Starlight Room, with its secret movie theater, was very cool. A lot of attention to detail. Better than expected. Really loved it! Barb gave us a tour of the room, pointing out all the extra touches that went into the design and decor of The Starlight Room. The secret room described in the online information delivered all the expectations we anticipated. DINING Breakfast was a beautiful presentation on fine dinnerware in elegant setting. The quality of food served was a bit of a disappointment. Eggs, one piece of toast, and yogurt that tasted like a store bought brand in a cup. To be fair, we were offered a lemon custard and homemade plum jelly for toast the first morning. The warm lemon custard was to die for! The second morning we were offered Amish pastries. We have been to other B&Bs that served outstanding food, as well as extra special treats available all the time. Breakfast was nothing special. VALUE Reasonable, although tips were encouraged. We had a jar in our room with sign "Tour Tips," which we thought was a bit much. Giving us a tour of the estalishment should be standard. Also in our room on desk was envelope labeled "Mrs.. B's Tips." We also booked for Mystery Murder Dinner (not part of review), and we were asked to tip for that, as well. We looked up etiquette for tipping at B&Bs, and read that tipping is not usual for owners of B&B, unless guests felt the service and quality was so exceptional that tipping would send a message of extra appreciation. We felt we received the quality and service we expected for the price we paid. All the tipping "suggestions" (notes, jars, etc.) were a bit of a put-off to us.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your input. The Starlite Bed is extra firm. We have other guests with that stated it helped their back. Since your visit and comment, my husband and I have added a new gel foam mattress topper to give an extra plus for the bed. It is hard to please everyone and will take your comments seriously.


Very Enjoyable!

5 on November 17, 2014

My wife and I attended a mystery dinner and nights stay at the Inn. Our hostess Barb or Miss B for short, was very nice and organized. The dinner was wonderful, room was nice, and breakfast filling. Couldn't ask for a nicer experience. We didn't know anyone else at the mystery dinner but we all got along very well and I think everyone had a nice time. We found out they do a chuck wagon cookout when the weather is nice and we will come back for that.


Mizzou Homecoming

4.8 on October 29, 2014

We stayed at the Victorian Country Inn 2 times this fall for football weekends at Mizzou. We have a wonderful time. Barb is very kind and accommodating to her guests. She was aware I had a food allergy and made me something different than everyone else and it was always delicious. We enjoyed are stay and definitely will return.


perfect getaway

5 on October 19, 2014

We needed a relaxing getaway just the two of us. We had a relaxing couples massage the first night. Then the second night a romantic dinner for two. Just what we needed to be ourselves again as a couple.


I stayed in the cabin.

3.0 on September 16, 2014

nice set-up, especially with the house rooms being all occupied, the cabin was very quiet. No sink in the bathroom, have to use the kitchen sink.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your input. The cozy cabin is not a modern cabin and yes the sink is outside the bathroom rather than in the bathroom. Any dishes in that area are sterilized in the B&B and that sink is dedicated only for your handwashing. Hope you had a good time at the Battle of Centralia and enjoyed our civil war reenactment portrait gallery and stories. Good luck with your historical research. Sincerely yours


Third Annual Stay

5 on September 01, 2014

My husband surprised me with this wonderful B&B for our wedding night and we have returned every year since to celebrate our anniversary. The hosts make you feel welcome and at home, the house and property are very clean, well kept and manicured. We plan to return here every year for our anniversary! We highly recommend staying here for many different occasions as they have many amenities to facilitate your occasions.

Innkeeper Response
We are so delighted to have u back as a tradition for your Anniversary. Hope u will enjoy the FREE Goblets as part of your celebration. Next time come for old time photo package for a great Christmas card. Love to see you in our October 18th wild West Show We also would love to have u act in our next chuckwagon Wild west show Sat October 18


Beautiful and relaxing!

5 on August 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Country Inn for a little weekend getaway and we had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Garden Spa Suite which was beautiful and very comfortable. The spa shower was amazing and the bed was very comfortable. Barbara is so very sweet and a great cook. We had amazing food both mornings and were taken care of very well. We can't wait to go back!


Had a very memorable weekend!

4.6 on August 04, 2014

Best hostess ever!


country living at it's best

5 on July 21, 2014

These folks make you part of the family .Would to recommend the Victorian.I feel like I made new friends.Will defibately visit again.Ken


A Wonderful Fun B&B

4.8 on July 03, 2014

The hostess was very helpful assisting us with our belongs upon our arrival. The home is simply beautiful and our room was magnificent. Ms. B is fun and really entertained my wife and I with some great local history. Breakfast was superb with fresh Amish pastry as an added treat. We had a great stay and highly recommend the Victorian Country Inn B&B.


wedding weekend

5 on June 18, 2014

Everything was perfect for my best friends wedding weekend! Couldn't have asked for better service!


A wonderful time at Victorian Country Inn B&B

4.8 on May 14, 2014

The check in was easy and inviting. We recieved cards to acknowledge it was our 35 wedding ann. The morning breakfast was Wow! we didn't have room to eat the pastries. The hot chocolate was really good. The outdoors was beautiful. It was fun to see chickens in the morning for us country folk. We had a nice time talking to everyone.


Feel like family, treated like guests

5 on May 06, 2014

Close to the clutter and excitement of Columbia yet located in a quiet setting where you can enjoy life at a relaxing pace. Wonderful hosts that make you feel very welcome.


Wonderful B & B

5 on May 05, 2014

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at a bed and breakfast. It was amazing. We stayed in the cozy cabin. I would definitely recommend the Victorian Country Inn. Barb and her husband are awesome!


Business stay

4.6 on April 21, 2014

I recently stayed here for business and left setting up my next months reservation without hesitation. I only gave 3 stars on food because I didn't get to eat but if the breakfast matches the coffee and snacks it will be a 5 as well. Couldn't ask for friendlier hosts. Country setting super quite good WiFi for my reports at night. Just a comfortable place to stay. That has personal touch to it instead of another hotel room.


Take a step back and see what you've been missing

5 on February 16, 2014

In a small Midwestern Missouri town, tucked away on back roads only known to long time inhabitants sits a quiet Victorian house bursting with charm and delight. Feel free to park up close to the house, for Barb, Ray, and Duke are looking forward to greeting you at the door. Before you get settled in, let Barb take you on a tour of your accommodations, and witness an outpouring of imagination and wonder from a woman who has squeezed her every drop of heart and soul into turning back the clock to decades past as you step into a room where ever detail has a significance, and a story. Secret passages and mystery abound in every nook and cranny, but that won't detract from your evenings of warmth, comfort, and serenity as you sleep nestled in the bosom of the beautiful Missouri countryside. Need a romantic dinner for two? Thinking of a murder mystery night? Have your own ideas of romance? Barb is an utterly hopeless romantic waiting to help you fill in the blanks to treat that special person in your life to an evening they'll revel about for years to come. Breakfast can be a fancy dining setting, or a family-style sit-n-chat. Either way, the incredible food is only half the experience, as Barb, Ray, and of course, Duke, are patiently and eagerly waiting for you to come and remember what home feels like.


Very Nice

4.0 on November 11, 2013

Very, nice house. Would highly recomend.


Our stay at the Victorian Country Inn

4.6 on October 07, 2013

We had a very nice weekend stay at this B&B. The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and quiet. Barbara and Ray were wonderful hosts. They welcomed us with warm home baked cookies and the breakfast was delicious both days! I highly recommend this place and it is only 15 minutes from Mizzou campus.


Great stay

4.6 on September 30, 2013

Great service, room, food, etc... Only suggestion for improvement - Need a place to put clothes both in drawers and hanging in the Starlite room. We will definitely be back and also recommend to our friends !


A relaxing stay 15 minutes from Columbia

5 on September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the inn on 9/20/2013. While we usually stay at our timeshare when we travel, we decided to go somewhere locally to unwind. This place was perfect. Barb and Ray are exceptional hosts. Their home is very comfy, and our room was exquisite ( the Garden Spa room) - clean, well decorated with a very good bed. We had dinner as well at breakfast and both meals were exceptional - both in taste and presentation. Our stay was very restful and pleasing. We will be back!


Seemed like the middle of nowhere

5 on September 05, 2013

For just being 15 minutes from Columbia, MO and I-70, their location makes you feel like you are the furthest from civilization as you can get. That was just what I was hoping for when I booked the B&B. The breakfast was wonderful it gave us a chance to try something that we had never had before. A very nice couple own this B&B, but I think that their cute little dog is more in charge. The owners were very hospitable. The room had a wonderful view to the east. The bed was very comfortable. Our room, the Dan & Diva, was their newest room. We had the luxury of a private bath. There is a small pond in the front of the house that has some very large catfish. A little chicken coop with chickens of course. A nice gazebo with a couple of rocking chairs. All in all, I would say that we had a wonderful time. Close enough to town, yet far enough away for peace and quiet.


A very good value and enjoyable stay

4.6 on September 05, 2013

A very good value and enjoyable stay


Amazing!

5 on September 03, 2013

Absolutely amazing! Buddy and Barb are amazing hosts and their place is beautiful. Delicious food and delightful conversations. Couldn't have been better. Thank you.


AWESOME EXPERIENCE

5 on August 19, 2013

Supper and breakfast was great. Left with some wonderful memories and pictures. Beautiful room and very relaxing.


Home away from home!

5 on August 15, 2013

This B&B is the best we have ever stayed at. So comfortable, food is excellent. We give it an A++ rating.


Home away from Home!

5 on August 15, 2013

Everything was as described. Barb and Buddy are great! The food was wonderful! The bed really comfy. What a beautiful home! Can't wait to go back for a visit.


Beautiful setting, wonderful staff!

5 on August 14, 2013

We enjoyed a friendly atmosphere, luxurious room, considerate and creative meals, wonderful stories about history and a special tour by Barb. Our local friends were welcomed and we entertained.


Love the Spencer's

4.8 on July 31, 2013

Awesome breakfast, teas. The Spencer's are the kindest and most accommodating couple we have stayed with in our B and B career. The walk past the chickens and goats in the Back 40 with Harley the Westie was great as was the nearby country restaurant Heuers. Also enjoyed the Mizzou campus and art gallery 12 miles away.


a great place to get away

4.6 on July 31, 2013

The food was great. Make sure you say hello to their dog, Harley, who does tricks for treats. The room was large and spacious. And I got to see the stars at night because you're far enough from the town's lights. Wonderful place.


This one's a keeper.

5 on July 29, 2013

Best B&B food we've ever had, truly thoughtful and attentive service. Wonderful people running an excellent place!


Great place to stay

5 on July 26, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Hallsville, MO to attend a 50th wedding anniversary celebration. We were delighted with the Victorian Country Inn information and called to talk about reservations. We explained that our visit was a surprise, and asked for discretion to ensure the party did not know we were invited. Our hosts kept our secret and the surprise went off without a hitch. The next evening the B&B allowed us to use the private room to have a second party with the family and provided an awesome tour of the B&B's secret -- we had to sign in "blood" that we wouldn't reveal the secret. Every day's meals featured something local - from home grown eggs to products from the nearby Amish country - and we were treated to great cuisine. We definitely recommend this B&B to anyone as a great place to stay! PS. We enjoyed our 3rd host, Harley the Westie, who always welcomed us when he was in the area.


Turtle Safari! :)

5 on July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Victorian Country Inn. We stayed in the room with the secret passageway to the vintage theater, and really loved all the attention to detail! They have lovely antiques, each with a story and something to tell. Barb and Ray were very generous and hospitable, and we had some great conversations! We had so much in common, and really hope that we'll be able to make it back soon for another visit (a longer stay next time, hopefully, so we can look for more critters and enjoy one of the other rooms as well!!). Ray was kind enough to take us on an improvised Turtle Safari and show us around the land so we could look for turtles and other wildlife! We really enjoyed it, and appreciated our time there. Thank you so much!!!!!!


Anniversary

4.6 on July 10, 2013

We decided for our anniversary that we wanted to do something special but not go very far away from our kids (we have an infant). Barb was so wonderful, are original check in time was 6pm., well with our small children we figure out very quickly we weren’t going to be making it. When we finally got to Victorian Country Inn, Barb was so wonderful and she didn’t mind one bit that we were later than our predicted time. She showed us our room, and the unique features it had to offer. She then asked us what time we might be down for breakfast and then she left us enjoy the rest of our evening. Breakfast was great and the property was really nice to go walk around then we were done with breakfast. I would love to come back and enjoy another room that she has to offer.


One of a kin!

4.8 on June 16, 2013

They had me at "room with a treasure map, secret passage, and private theater", but the service, grounds and food were truly exceptional. Amazing.


Fine Style and Graciousness

5 on June 14, 2013

The innkeepers clearly love what they do. They have appreciate the little touches that create not just lodging, but a story to remember. Stirs in the imagination.


A Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 14, 2013

The host and hostess were warm, gracious, thoughtful, helpful, wonderful cooking and accommodations! My best B&B experience ever


Pleasure

5 on June 10, 2013

Charming and delightful. Attention was paid to every detail.


Beyond Pleased!

5 on June 04, 2013

As a first-timer in the world of bnb's, I was slightly nervous on the prospect of more one-on-one interaction with our hosts. I held my breath and booked the Cozy Cabin at the Victorian Inn and I couldn't be happier that I did! Barb and Buddy were the most welcoming and kind folks- not to mention fantastic cooks! After our long weekend stay at the Inn, I left with a few extra lbs. on my waist and countless good memories.


home away from home

5 on May 30, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. The owners were friendly and hospitable. Lovely home. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast!!


Cozy Cabin

5 on May 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the quiet cozy cabin. Hospitality was wonderful and breakfast was delicious. The cozy cabin was a rustic retreat with a fun loft for our daughter. Definitely will stay here again!


Phenomenal Mother's Day Tea and Lunch!

5 on May 16, 2013

I would highly recommend tea and lunch or high tea. Barb went above and beyond to make our experience very special and her attention to detail is what makes this tea room wonderful. We were amazed at the variety of teas offered, the quality and amount of food provided, wonderful atmosphere, artistry, decor, and of course the beautiful hats! My mother has been to several tea rooms in other states and said this is the best tea room she has ever visited!!


Phenomenal!!

5 on May 08, 2013

This is a beautiful home on beautiful property! We enjoyed feeding the catfish and walking taking in the surroundings as well! The gazebo and deck were a wonderful touch! The rooms were clean, the decor was well put together. Service was top shelf! They made us feel comfortable and welcome. We will definitely be spreading the word about the Victorian country inn b&b.


Wonderful birthday weekend!

5 on May 02, 2013

My partner booked a two-night stay at the Victorian Country Inn along with a Murder Mystery Dinner package for my birthday last weekend. Barb and Buddy were WONDERFUL hosts, and we had a lovely time. The B&B was spotless, our room (the Starlight Theater) was really neat, and the food was amazing! We'll definitely be back the next time we're in Columbia!


Wonderful stay!

5 on April 30, 2013

Only my seond time staying in a B&B and it was a wonderful stay. It was a special occasion for me and my daughter. It is her senior year and it was our last year for a high school competition at MIZZOU. We both enjoyed the room, the owners were so friendly and the breakfast was incredible. We also really enjoyed the special touch of homemade cookies whe we arrived. Will highly recommend to others and would return for another visit if in the Columbia area.


Quick Get-A-Way

4.8 on April 23, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, but were limited to one free night. We thought we would try out the Victorian Country Inn and were pleasantly surprised. Wonderful experience!!! The hosts were extremely friendly, full of energy, and the atmosphere was nostalgic and relaxing. Whether a one night stay or an entire weekend, the Victorian Country Inn will exceed your expectations. The amenities include several "packages" to provide the atmosphere of your choice and give you an option to direct the goal of your stay. Full of history and fun, this place is worth a try for anyone who has not yet had the pleasure of doing so.


An Experience Like No Other Bed and Breakfast!

5 on March 19, 2013

My husband and I choose to stay at the Victorian Country B&B because we wanted to visit a city we have not visited before for our spring break. We found the online reviews and the inn's YouTube videos of each room to be extremely helpful in deciding where we wanted to stay. What we did not know until we arrived is that the innkeepers are truly one-of-a-kind! We stay at a bed and breakfast as least once a year and only know one other innkeeper that takes time to get to know each guest in the way Barb and Buddy do. We had such a memorable long weekend taking a secret passage to our own personal vintage movie theatre (complete with a wide variety of classic films!), being part of a fun and historical murder mystery (complete with costumes!), and enjoying home prepared hot breakfasts. For a relaxing, unique, and fun getaway, this B&B is for you!

Innkeeper Response
It was our privilege to have you and your husband here at Victorian Country Inn, B&B. We really feel you are part of our family. Both of you did an excellent job acting at the Historical Murder Mystery Dinner Theater. I would love for you two to come back and we will sit down with a cup of tea/coffee and visit about your careers and philosophy & theology. God bless you both as you travel through this life helping others.


Perfect

5 on March 17, 2013

Barb & Buddy made our stay just so enjoyable-they were so helpful and kind and gracious. The food was excellent, coffee and tea always available and the entire place was just spotless. The country setting is lovely even in the pre spring season..looking forward to going back later this year to see the place all greened up. Thanks B&B for spoiling Olivia and I and for sharing Harley with us-he's a charmer. Many, many thanks-Sandy S.


Very Romantic Getaway!

4.2 on March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary and LOVED it! Ray and Barb were SO warm and inviting and went out of their way to make sure that we had a relaxing, private getaway. The food was excellent and the room was comfortable and VERY clean. the Tocation was a nice distance away from the Columbia (about 12 miles) but close enough to travel if you wanted to do something. We would recommend this to anyone wanting a change of scenary!


cant wait to go again

4.6 on February 19, 2013

We loved our stay, It was like stepping into another time.


Wonderful B&B

5 on January 31, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B tucked away in the quiet coutryside north of Columbia, MO. The hosts are wonderful people who see to every need of their guests. Warm, freshly baked cookies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate greeted us upon arrival. The Garden Spa Suite was large and spacious with a fabulous shower! There were even chocolates for bedtime. An evening run on the property topped it off, and the trails were very scenic, winding through the woods. We highly recommend a stay at Victorian Country Inn!


Great place!

5 on January 19, 2013

Nice warm bed, lovely decor, great food & a great host! Thank you!


loved the Garden Spa room

5 on December 13, 2012

This is our second time staying in the Garden Spa room. The comfy bed and soothing green paint color is very relaxing, as well as the multi-head shower. Barbara is beyond kind and tries to accommodate guests' requests as much as possible. The breakfast was delicious and filling. I love the Keurig coffee maker!


LOVED my stay!!

5 on December 08, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at the Victorian Country Inn! Everything was OUTSTANDING!! The Inn is beautifully done, and each room has a fun theme. The bed was very comfortable, and I got some of the best sleep I've ever had. Ms. Bee and Buddy are wonderful hosts!! They make you feel right at home. I highly recommend the Victorian Country Inn to anyone needing a cozy getaway. Thank you Ms. Bee and Buddy!!


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on November 28, 2012

We stayed here for a girls reunion weekend. It was fantastic! Everything was spotless, the food was fantastic, and the owner was so accommodating in every way. We will definitely stay here in the future!


Wild West Shootout, Hayride and Chuck Wagon Dinner

5 on October 23, 2012

My friends and I had an awesome time this past weekend at the Victorian Country Inn. Ms. B and crew made this a wonderful experience we will remember forever. First, we donned bandanas and then began our journey with a hayride across the open prairie. After being held up by masked gunmen, we arrived at the campsite complete with chuckwagon, campfire and the smell of supper cooking. The cast iron cooking demonstration was very interesting and the food was delicious. The evening ended with a shootout and the masked gunmen were "laid to rest" in a pine box. We once again crossed the prairie...this time under a beautiful star-lit sky. I recommend this and the murder mystery dinner -- you will have an exciting adventure! Thank you Ms. B and Crew, Holly

Innkeeper Response
It was great seeing you again Holly! Thanks for coming out and having a "wild wild midwest" time with us.


Wild west

5 on October 22, 2012

I took 18 fun filled guest to the wild west show for my husbands birthday and it was AWESOME!!! We had a terrific time and could not stop complimenting all the actors!! You guys are 2 thumbs up in our book :) Would highly recommend for any parties or gatherings!!!! We will be returning!!

Innkeeper Response
We were so happy that we could help you surprise Tod for his birthday with something out of the ordinary!I am so glad that you all came and we had a blast as well. Come see us again soon for another party or event!


Quaint Country Charm

4.8 on October 22, 2012

This is a charming bed and breakfast in beautiful farming countryside with simply delicious food and lovely hospitality. Would recommend it and will stay there again if ever in the area.


Five Star PLUS !!!

5 on October 09, 2012

Took my wife there for her birthday. We were warmly greeted with a small birthday cake and cookies. The room was excellent and the breakfast the next morning was even better !! Barbra was so helpful with directions to places we wanted to go around Columbia. She also does "Old-time" Photos there and that was an absolute blast !! Friendliest atmosphere you could ask for. I would recommend everyone stay here !! And we'll be back !!! Jeff & Diana Kearney


Victorian Country Inn B&B LLC

4.6 on October 08, 2012

Barb & Buddy were very accommodating to our delayed arrival. The staff was very personable and generous with individual care and attention to us and other guests at the inn. Will tell all my friends!


Loved our stay

4.4 on September 19, 2012

What a lovely little gem of a B & B! Mrs. B's service was outstanding from the first moment we made our reservation. Her hospitality made us feel immediately at home (along with her well-behaved Westie)! We stayed in the Garden Spa Room and it felt very spa-like. From the luxurious 3 spiket massaging shower heads to the comfy white linens, the room makes you feel privately decadent. Mrs. B regularly checked to make sure our needs were met. She accommodated our early arrival and allowed us to check in the room earlier than planned. She inquired about when we would return in the evening, and asked us to call ahead so she would be sure to have the lights on welcoming us back. And the food for breakfast was delish - mexican soufflé, parsley skillet potatoes, amish apple bread, fresh fruit & yogurt! This place has all the right touches - we felt very at home, as if we were visiting a warm, welcoming relative.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your complimentary review We so enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again for quiet rest and relaxation here at Victorian Country Inn. Harley says Thanks for his treat too ! .


perfect in almost every detail

3.2 on September 19, 2012

Barbara and Buddy Spencer were incredible hosts. They were engaging, welcoming and informative. The decor in the house and cabin was impeccable with dramatic attention to detail. The fish pond and chicken coop were a delight. The breakfast had nice variety and was more than ample. We loved having coffee in our room before going to breakfast. There were handmade soaps and plenty of thick towels. 2 issues were of concern. The cabin which was removed from the house had bugs. Unfortunately, this is where we stayed. There were both the little gray roly poly bugs and big brown water bugs. There was also a spider web hanging from the light fixture with a bug trapped in it. Don't get me wrong. The room itself was clean. It was just the bugs. The second issue was the bedding. The old-time quilt was lovely but the sheets were thin and the pillows were flat and worn. In addition there was a plastic sheet directly under them so any perspiration clung uncomfortably. For a room decorated in such caring detail, the bedding should have been more a priority since sleeping is what you spend the majority of your time in a B&B doing. We would likely stay there again but not in the cozy cabin. Some people have a better tolerance for these things. I just don't like bugs.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments I'm sorry my housekeeper did not attend to the details mentioned. I have since corrected all aforementioned issues. I wish you could have talked to me personally so I could have ammended these issues right away and made the cabin as impecably clean and comfortable as the BnB Thanks again for the constructive criticism and the compliments as well.


The best wedding night (and morning) ever!

5 on September 11, 2012

Excellent rooms, service, and the best breakfast I've ever tasted! My new wife and I feel blessed that we could spend our wedding night here! Thank you Barb & Buddy!


Victorian Country Inn

5 on August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Country Inn B&B in the "Garden Spa" room. It was such a clean, relaxing room and the spa robes are soo comfortable! Our stay was restful, our hostess and host were charming (Barb & Buddy), and breakfast was amazing (the quiche was the best we've ever had... the stuffed Amish pastry was delicious... and the table setting was lovely). We loved all the little details including: visiting with Barb & Buddy, feeding fish, chatting with chickens, seeing the sunset and reviewing roses. We were intrigued as the inn is full of history and there is a "secret passageway." Next stay, we will make sure to order dinner in advance at the inn so we can spend more time at this lovely B&B.


So friendly & imaginative!!

4.0 on July 31, 2012

We loved the theme rooms! Mrs. B has quite an imagination & a big "yea!" for her using only local artists & companys! We stayed in the cozy cabin because of my food allergies, (they were having a dinner theatre that night & serving beef) & loved the privacy! Mrs. B made sure that I had food suited to my specifications, for which I'm thankful. But, the very small portions weren't filling enough & they were made the night before & put in the fridge in our room. I understand why this was done (because of my allergies) but wouldv'e been nice if my hubby had gotten a nice big fresh breakfast. All in all we enjoyed ourselves & are planning another stay in the fall.


GREAT STAY

3.4 on July 26, 2012

wonderful B&B. We will be back. great value. very friendly people.


B-Day Getaway

4.0 on July 24, 2012

Barb & Ray treated us like family! Loved the whole trip with my wife! Would be back if we can find another deal in the ad sheet!


A fun romantic time for our anniversary

5 on July 22, 2012

My husband set this up for our 16 anniversary. I wondered what he had got me into. I had a blast! It was so much fun!! Got to play dress up and have a wonderful time play acting. The food was fabulous the room was beyond fabulous. The people were outstanding. The only thing I wanted was more time to stay. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and fun. Loved everyone there. Thanks for a good fantasy before I went back to reality.


Our first B&B experience

4.6 on July 13, 2012

Our first experience with a B&B and we will be back! We were exhausted after a long drive from Chicago and a full day of student orientation and registration for our son at Mizzou. What a great way to end the day and relax in the Sarsaparilla room. Breakfast was great too!


Very pleased!

4.8 on May 28, 2012

This was our first stay in a B&B. Everything exceeded our expectations! The owners are outstanding, and I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone.


Fantastic B&B Only Surpassed by the Kindness of the Inn Keepers

5 on May 17, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Victorian Country Inn. If you ever find yourself in Central Missouri, it's a must-stay. The grounds are beautiful, and the inn is located out in the country.......no noise whatsoever, other than the soothing chirping of the birds. Barb and her team go above and beyond to make sure that you enjoy yourself. We stayed in the Cozy Cabin, and it was immaculate (and cute!), and breakfast is to die for.


Welcoming B&B

5 on April 16, 2012

This was our first stay in a B&B and we were thoroughly impressed. No details were missed in the decorating of each themed room. The Innkeeper welcomed us and made us feel so at home. We brought our 16 yr old and some of her friends, so we rented all the rooms and they had a really fun night dressing up in the old time clothes and watching a movie in the movie theater. Will for sure be returning to this B&B. Thanks Barbara!

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad that your daughter and her friends enjoyed their photo shoot and their overnight here at the B&B. They were extremely well behaved and I would welcome you all back any time for more photos and fun in the Starlite Theater! Look forward to seeing you all again soon.


Wonderful Experience

5 on March 04, 2012

Thanks so much Barb and Buddy for the wonderful weekend. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. The hospitality and food was incredible. We would recommend your place to everyone. We hope some day to return to enjoy more of the activities that you offer. Thanks again.


Relaxing, quiet get-away

4.8 on February 20, 2012

We loved our stay at the Inn. Barb was very friendly and welcoming, a wonderful hostess. The meals were delicious. We would highly recommend this to all of our friends!


Murder Myster Dinner for a group

5 on February 15, 2012

Please disregard the ratings for the room b/c we did not stay on site. We did bring a group of couples for the Murder Mystery Dinner and it was so much fun! The house is amazing, Ms. B was so welcoming and personable. Our group had an outstanding time and will definitely come back! The food was so good, and we loved dressing in costumes! Great value!


Peaceful Retreat

5 on January 20, 2012

Hope to return for an afternoon tea, mystery dinner, and another relaxing stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. Barbara and Buddy were so helpful with our plans to visit the Amish community to the north. They certainly do share the gift of hospitality.


In the Sarsaparilla

4.8 on December 26, 2011

I love staying in bed & breakfasts and was thrilled to find this country inn. Barb accepted my reservation at the last minute, even though I would not arrive until 11pm. I will try to stay here again whenever I travel through Missouri.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you enjoyed your stay the first time and returned a second time on the way back from your family holiday for more good food and hospitality here at Victorian Country Inn.


a very pleasant stay

4.4 on December 02, 2011

A comfortable, ornately decorated, and welcoming B&B. "Ms. B" (innkeeper) has a flair for drama and made us feel very much at home. The cinnamon rolls were beyond compare - wish I knew the secret ingredient.

Innkeeper Response
I love to give a tour through our secret passageways and B&B Many secrets exist and hope you come back for more cinammon rolls and drama or just R&R and good food! Thanks for the kind remarks Ms B


Victorian Country Inn

5 on November 21, 2011

I reserved the Starlite Theater to celebrate my significant other's birthday. We were greated as soon as we pulled up, and taken to our room. The night was so much fun, including a mystery dinner theater. The employees putting on the theater were having such a good time, that is was hard not to feel involved. It was very interactive, and exciting. The food was out of this world. Barb can cook! Dinner and breakfast was the best! The room was very comfortable, private, and beautiful. We also found the hidden passageway to the theater, and watched two movies in the evening after the dinner theater. There was popcorn, and wonderful seats as well as a day bed to lay on to watch the movies. The selection was perfect, and it felt like we had really gotten away for the night, even though we were just a few minutes from home. It was great to be able to give this experience as a birthday gift, and Barb even baked a delicious cake with candles. Couldn't have asked for more. The hosts are so sweet and fun! And the home is beautiful. Lots of hats to try on, which is something I love!

Innkeeper Response
we all had a blast with the mystery and history double murder dinner theater! It was a pleasure putting together a special Birthday Getaway Do come again! Ms B


peaceful place in country

5 on November 01, 2011

We found this place because all of the hotels were booked in Columbia for a Mizzou football game. So glad we did! It's a short drive from Columbia in the countryside - very peaceful setting. I enjoyed sitting by the pond and reading, listening to the fish jump. The stars were beautiful, and so was the sunrise. We liked the Garden Spa Suite - relaxing decor with sage green walls, king bed with soft sheets and real down comforter - amazing! Private bathroom. Shower has extra spa jets. Barbara and Buddy are extremely nice, friendly, and accommodating. Favorite part of breakfast was the fresh fruit compote with fresh pineapple and the Keurig coffee machine with many choices. Felt spoiled. My husband's highest compliment ... he wants to stay there again. They have a little Westie dog that they kept away from guests. They no longer have a cat. We will be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the ultimate compliment that your husband wants to stay here again! We look forward to your next visit and sporting event. Hope to attend next time. We got your sporting scores today and we were very proud of you both. Enjoyed our conversation with you two special people. Thanks for the book you gave us. Very inspirational! God bless you and yours. BnB


Average

3.0 on October 26, 2011

Stayed at the Victorian Country Inn. Owner LOVES what she does which is great! Room with secret passage to movie theater was fun but movie seating was uncomfortable. Bed linens were amazing! Breakfast was just ok, which was definitely a disappointment. Do not regret staying there but probably will not return.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you enjoyed the Secret Passage and "Amazing Bed Linens." The Vintage Theater Seats are vintage size but the new futon in the theater is for extra comfort while watching the big screen. Hope you enjoyed the Anniversary Juice Toast at breakfast.


Victorian Country Inn-Fantastic!!

5 on October 18, 2011

My wife and I, along with our good friends, had the great fortune to stay at Victorian Country Inn! It was nothing short of amazing. Barb has gone the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. The breakfast was spectacular and the rooms were very clean and well decorated. This is a very fun place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. We also loved the proximity to Columbia. Very centrally located.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your outstanding review of Victorian Country Inn. I look forward to you and your friends return visit


WONDERFUL STAY!!

5 on October 13, 2011

Thank you Ms. Bee and Buddy! This was my home away from home, and I loved every minute of my stay. The inn is absolutely charming, and Ms. Bee has thought of every detail. It was the perfect vacation and just what I needed.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for such kind words. It was a pleasure having you. Come visit us again soon.


A Piece of Nature Offering Peace for your soul

5 on October 11, 2011

Recently, my daughter and I visited the Victorian Country Inn in Hallsville, MO. for an extended stay. We arrived expecting shelter and breakfast. We left recipients of hospitality and refreshment not only for our outer needs but also for our inner souls. While there, we discovered a piece of nature forever etched in our memories and a peace of spirit and direction that accompanies us as we continue our lives' journeys. We can't wait to re-visit. Thank you Ms. Bee and Buddy!!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you two so much for coming to stay with us! We enjoy every minute of it and I hope you did as well. The Duke misses you both and can't wait for your next visit to VCI. God Bless


B&B TOPPED OFF BEAUTIFUL PARENT'S WEEKEND AT MU

5 on September 24, 2011

The B&B was our first. It was a wonderful place to retreat to in the evening after spending a busy day with our daughter visiting the campus and shopping. A great breakfast was awaiting us in the morning to help kick off our day. We highly recommend the Victorian Country Inn and will be staying in more B&Bs.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the wonderful review. I hope you all can come see us again next time you are visiting Mizzou.


What a wonderful place!

5 on September 10, 2011

Oh my goodness, what a great time I had. Mrs B was an amazing hostess, nothing was too much bother and she supplied some lovely surprise treats all through my stay. Her home baking was fantastic and I couldn't have wished for better and more varied breakfast food, she really set me up for the day. Mrs B has worked hard at providing accommodation that is steeped in mystic, tradition and interest. Each of her suites has a theme of its own with fantastic stories behind them. The detail is marvellous and I loved hearing about how each was developed. Mrs B has some amazing photographs, she takes many herself. Walking round the welcoming house is an inspiration. Really, you do not want to miss the chance of staying at this place. I simply can't find fault with anything at all. My biggest regret is that when people realise this little gem exists it may not be available when I want to visit again!!! Top class in every way. Thank you so much Mrs B!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for the positive compliments Hope to have you back soon. God Bless you.


June 3 Stay

5 on June 07, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Barbara did an exceptional job explaining everything and being a host.

Innkeeper Response
Hope you can come for our relaxing winter getaway or choose Valentine's Dinner Mystery Theater and suite of choice. We have added a new guestroom and Cozy Cabin with fireplace since your visit. Hope you had a good holiday and enjoy a return


every thing was wonderful

5 on May 19, 2011

we were in town for a banquet and stayed fridy an saturday an enjoyed every mnute recied a reflexoulagy treatment an before we left had old time pictures taken WHAT FUN

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your compliments. It was a pleasure having you two at our bed and breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.


B & B super

5 on April 27, 2011

The building and facilities were beautiful, and the accessories, draperies, etc fit perfectly with the Victorian theme. I loved the "hidden" bathroom! The secret passage, and room it led to, were delightful and surprising in a new buiiding! The food was amazing - such imagination and perfect touches! I have never before stayed at a B&B, so was particularly pleased with all the amenities that go so far beyond a typical hotel.

Innkeeper Response
In the last year we have added another guestroom and a country cozy cabin to emphasize the country inn part of our BnB. We are also booking a Valentines Mystert Dinner Theater in Roaring 2o's era. Call or email for more details. Look forward to your return. Thanks so much for your excellent review. Barb (Ms B)


Beautiful Bed & Breakfast with excellent service

4.8 on March 10, 2011

This was our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast stay. We were very impressed with the place in general and the wonderful service we received. Our only disappointment was that we felt we didn't have much time there to actually ENJOY the place with just a one night stay. I believe that a full weekend stay would have been more enjoyable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your kind review of our B&B. I am glad that you were pleased with your first experience and the service that you recieved. I look forward to your return for a longer and even more enjoyable visit at the Victorian Country Inn, B&B LLC.


Everything was wonderful!!!

5 on February 27, 2011

We stayed two nights and enjoyed every minute. The food was great, the room was beautiful and Barb was wonderful with all her stories!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. I truly enjoy providing a delicious Amish Baked Breakfast &/or Gourmet. Each guest deserves a memorable getaway. Hope to have you all return for more respite at Victorian Country Inn, B&B LLC.


a lovely weekend

4.8 on February 27, 2011

The Victorian Country Inn is a beautiful estate, even in snow covered February. We celebrated our anniversary here and will highly recommend it to all of our friends and family. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic weekend, look no further. The breakfast is served by Mrs. B and her lovely assistant Melody and for comfort and convenience, there is nothing, they forgot. But as Mrs. B will be glad to share with you, if you're looking for a great theme party, tea party, wedding or "whatever" getaway, Mrs. B has tons of ideas to accomodate you with that too. An overall, lovely experience, we plan to return!

Innkeeper Response
I appreciate your wonderful words of praise for our BnB, Tearoom with Theme Parties as well as DaySpa. I hope you will bring your parents here for their anniversary. I look forward to your next visit and weekend getaway,etc.


Wonderful weekend!

5 on February 13, 2011

Our expectations were far exceeded this past this weekend. We were so impressed with all of the attention to detail. It is a must if you are looking for a relaxing weekend.

Innkeeper Response
I appreciate your kind words about my attention to detail. It is part of my Victorian passion not forsaking modern amenities and splendor. I enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return to give you even more hospitality. Warm regards to a special couple that deserves the best from Victorian Country Inn, B&B LLC Come again soon.


Great place to stay if your student is in Columbia

5 on September 30, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Victorian Country Inn. It was newly remodeled, out in the country and very private, and extremely clean. The innkeeper had thought of everything you could possibly need and was very friendly and accommodating. My favorite thing about staying there was the unbelievable breakfast. GOURMET and delicious. The meat was from grass fed animals, produce from the local farmers, etc. My husband and I loved being out in the country where it was very quiet and you could take walks, feed the animals, etc. There was a large variety of free drinks that were provided, or individual coffee and tea pods in the dining room. The rooms each had a theme and were creatively decorated. The inn was not very far from Columbia, where our daughter goes to Mizzou, and an easy drive and easy to find. Lots of books to read, also, if you just wanted to relax indoors or out.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words of praise for my Bed and Breakfast. I truly enjoy making each and every stay a positive experience. Hope to see you again and your friends for the next parent's college weekend and/or Homecoming at Mizzou.


Victorian Country Inn B&B LLC

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $169
  • Reviews (110) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5738192000

Visit Website »

View details

Top