Hotel Frederick Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
85 Reviews

Write A Review

Everything was great

5 on August 12, 2016

we have no complaints everything was as expected loved the original features and the staff was super friendly. We stay again and loved it was right downtown.


Biker Comments

3.6 on August 03, 2016

We arrived early but our room was available so we could shower and rest. Bike was stored in the basement. Next morning we were given coffee and breakfast items early so we could start our ride while the day was still relatively cool.


Enjoyed our stay. Would have liked to stay longer.

4.8 on August 02, 2016

Beautiful renovated older hotel with great rooms and outstanding service. We were riding the Katy Trail. Helped us stow our bikes in basement under lock and key. Onsight restaurant was empty, which concerned us. But tried it anyway and food was excellent. We will be back.


5 stars and then some

5 on August 01, 2016

We had an excellent time at the Fredrick Hotel. The rooms are one of a kind, from the decor to the etching on the bathroom glass, not to mention comfortable, clean and well kept. The in house restaurant, The Fred was delicious, with excellent, friendly waitstaff. Last but not least a special thanks to Lynn and Susan at the front desk. They were beyond helpful and the nicest people you could possibly ever meet. Anything we needed they were right there to get it. Lynn even scooped us tour reservations at Warm Springs Ranch and they were already booked for the entire week. Overall excellent experience and a stop we will make again in a heartbeat!


Great Place

4.0 on July 30, 2016

The rooms are great and staff friendly. The bar was fun! The restaurant is not as great. Service was slow and food just ok. We would return however. We meet a group and go to Arrowrock Lyceum. After many years the Frederick is our favorite place to stay!


weekend venture

4.0 on July 25, 2016

my wife and I spent a weekend in the Boonville area while staying at the Hotel bFrederick which was a very nice hotel. The room we stayed was a nice goodsized room with living room type area separate from the bedroom-bathroom area. Service was good although with a restaurant amd bar area available during hours there was no vending and/or refreshment area available during non-hours.A very nice place to stay to do visit historic sites and horses (clydesdales).


Weekend Getaway

4.8 on July 16, 2016

Great stay at the Frederick....front desk was excellent and food at the 'Fred' was also excellent.


Great stay at the Hotel Frederick!

4.2 on July 14, 2016

We will definitely stay here again :) We did not eat here, but the form made me fill out a review.


Great Stay

5 on July 09, 2016

Check into Hotel Frederick you'll be glad you did. The staff are great, awesome room, comfortable bed, nice continental breakfast included. We hope to be back and we will recommend to others.


Katy Trail Weekend

4.6 on July 06, 2016

Rooms was nice and the service was excellent. She got out bikes every time we were ready and the food at the 'Fred' was excellent. Our waitress, Megan was also professional and courteous. Great food!


historic stay

3.8 on July 06, 2016

Loved all the old furniture and accessories. Really liked the goat milk soap.


Boonville MO

4.4 on June 29, 2016

The best in Boonville, the owner's have done great job. I will stay there again.


Hotel Frederick not just any hotel but a great experience

3.8 on June 09, 2016

This a place I would consider as a vacation spot not just a hotel to use to see other sites. Great place and people.


nice place!

4.6 on June 08, 2016

Updated rooms with a classic feel. We spent the night to enjoy some time on the Katy Trail, which runs right next to the hotel. The bar is good and hit the spot after a long day of biking. Breakfast is nice and we were pleasantly surprised at the good strong coffee (contrast to the watered-down brew usually found at hotels...). They have covered bike storage, too, which meant that we didn't have to leave out bikes outside overnight.


Family time

4.6 on May 09, 2016

Did not use on site dinning except for breakfast. It was great-coffe cake fantastic.


Wonderful experience

4.6 on May 03, 2016

Fantastic staff members. A unique hotel to stay. A little noisy but this is an experience. Wonderfully restored hotel Only con would be that there are not a lot of things to do in town but beautiful area


Word

4.2 on May 02, 2016

Great rooms, great service, great food and drinks- I will be staying there again.


Love the Frederick!

4.8 on April 18, 2016

Our family stayed at the Frederick to celebrate our dad's 90th birthday. It couldn't have been a more ideal place for such a gathering with ample space to gather as family and not bother other guests. We loved the antiques and the staff were friendly. We already have plans to return!


Lovely and Historical Hotel!

3.8 on April 11, 2016

Spent the night of 4/4/2016 before a scheduled Budweiser Clydesdales tour at the Warm Springs Ranch. The Hotel Frederick is an AMAZING place! The modern décor and updated amenities combined with the historic architecture made for a very relaxing, fun and enjoyable stay. The hotel staff was very courteous and beyond pleasant! The continental breakfast was just icing on the cake!! The only disappointment we had was the restaurant and lounge are not open on Mondays, which happened to be the night of our stay. There were 5 of us in our party and for the price of our two rooms, we would have enjoyed being able to have cocktails and eat dinner in this charming place. The hotel sits in a beautiful location on the Missouri river and is within walking distance to everything we needed for our stay! We hope to make a return visit soon!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Hotel Frederick!


Excellent

5 on April 05, 2016

This was an excellent place to stay at! The customer service was outstanding!


Wonderful experience

4.6 on April 04, 2016

We stayed here for our anniversary and were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel was within walking distance of the downtown area if you want to check out the shops. Tv reception wasn't the greatest but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Our room was right at the top of the stairs so we could hear people coming and going, so I would recommend choosing a room away from the stairs. We visited the gift shop, bar and the restaurant. The food was amazing!


Hotel Frederick

4.2 on February 16, 2016

This is a unique place to stay. I'm glad we had the opportunity to stay there. Everyone was very helpful. The breakfast was great!


Outstanding service in a charming hotel

4.4 on February 08, 2016

Jeff B


Jan 2016

4.2 on January 30, 2016

Great service, everyone was very gracious and accommodating.


Great place to stay!!

4.6 on December 02, 2015

Loved everything about the hotel! Staff was amazing making a few "special arrangements" for me to make the stay extra special for my Gal! The rooms are the perfect mix of old and new and were very comfortable. Dinner at "The Fred" was top notch and the service was very good. We will definitely be back, sooner than later I might add!

Innkeeper Response
Glad you had a wonderful stay with us! Please come back again soon.


Outstanding service

3.4 on November 07, 2015

The hotel is nice. Very unexpected for such a little town. The gentleman at the front counter was outstanding. He helped me with my luggage and gave me exceptional service. Hotels need more people like him. Serve yourself breakfast, but tasty. The town is small. Most restaurants are closed on Monday's which left me eating at a café across the street which I would not recommend.


Always stay here when in the area (annually)

4.2 on November 04, 2015

We always enjoy the Frederick. Friendly staff, beautifully restored hotel. Wish our room had a fridge, but maybe some rooms have them.


Wonderful Katy Trail hotel!

4.0 on October 31, 2015

Great night at an wonderful, historic hotel on the Katy Trail in Booneville. Staff was very friendly, food was delicious in restaurant, and room was comfortable!


I'll go back, with reservations

3.6 on October 28, 2015

Our room had a view of a brick wall; make sure to ask for a room with a view if you want one. The been was a queen; small for couple used to king bed.


Frederick

3.8 on October 28, 2015

Lovely. Hotel.


Excellent historic hotel.

4.8 on October 23, 2015

I have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express and walked into the Isle of Capri to check out their rooms. The Hotel Frederick far exceeds either of these to hotels. Excellent on-site bar, restaurant. The morning free continental breakfast was the best I have ever had (for continental). The location is the best (in the historic downtown and on the Katy trail). Our room and bathroom was huge!!


Best place to stay in Boonville, MO

3.8 on October 22, 2015

The staff at the Frederick is wonderfully helpful and friendly. The rooms have a quaint charm to them and the beds are sumtously comfortable.


Wonderful hotel

3.6 on October 18, 2015

We've wanted to stay here since our son started college at Central Methodist University. Very nice, luxurious room. Breakfast was simple but nice -- felt European.


A Welcome Change of Pace

3.6 on October 05, 2015

Wonderful change of pace for a weekend night stay. We ususally stay in a chain hotel after the Mizzou football games but decided to try something different this time. The room was large and just fantastic. We enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful and historic and there was a nice continental breakfast in the morning. We will be going back.


Romantic, relaxing and great access to the Katy Trail

4.6 on September 30, 2015

Always great to stay at the Hotel Frederick. Holly, the hotel manager is fabulous - knows what you need before you even ask. The lovely historic building has such character, while the rooms have wonderful modern amenities - especially the air jetted tubs - and thick terry robes, ear plugs for light sleepers, candies. The lobby balcony is a great place to have drinks and food. The breakfast is very European - home baked breads and stollens, hard boiled eggs, great selection of upscale cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit. Hotel has basement storage area for bicycles - and the Katy Trial is literally right outside the door. A casino a couple of blocks away (yet not visible from the hotel) is convenient for those who wish to partake of the games and shows. The restaurant menu is always interesting and tasty - the only downside is the restaurant staff. They seem to have difficulty managing more than a few customers at a time. But they were all young and very nice - more a training issue.


Beautiful gem not far off I-70

5 on September 30, 2015

While planning out a cross country road trip we spotted this hotel just off of our drive along I-70. Everything about this hotel was wonderful. Super friendly and accommodating staff both at the front desk and the bar. We have been telling all of our friends how great our experience was and will look forward to visiting again.


What More Could You Ask

4.8 on September 04, 2015

This was not our first stay at the Frederick and it won't be our last, already planning an October stay. I almost hate to say to much about the Frederick, we would like to keep this gem to our selfves..... Frederick is one of those place that once you have been there for the first time the experience keeps calling you back....maybe it is just us be we love the hotel, staff and the town of Boonville. Another perfect stay, great staff, rooms wonderful and the foof perfect. Molly should be proud of her staff and the job that they do. To us going to the Frederick and Boonville is like coming home and we always hate to leave. Gary


Lovely hotel!

4.4 on August 31, 2015

Lovely hotel! The staff was super nice, friendly, and helpful! Would definitely recommend.


cool place

3.2 on August 28, 2015

great place to stay after ride on the Katy trail. rooms on the main street a little loud. veranda is nice for a drink. dinner in the restaurant was good ,but service was slow.


Great little gem

4.8 on August 22, 2015

Wonderful staff, restaurant at hotel was great, service was excellent! Really awesome rustic retrofitted rooms. This hotel would be a huge hit if it were in a big city.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your feedback. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay!


Great weekend away!

4.2 on August 20, 2015

This was our second stay at the Hotel Frederick and it did not disappoint. Great place to relax. Very welcoming staff and comfy beds. The restaurant serves excellent food as well.


Beautiful

3.8 on July 26, 2015

We loved the Hotel Frederick, we were sad that the 2 nights that we stayed there were the nights their restaurant was closed.


Great stay at the Hotel Fredrick!

5 on June 23, 2015

This was one of my favorite stays on our 6-night katy trail trip. The restaurant is fabulous!!! I highly recommend this hotel - friendly staff, clean accommodations, and loved the historic nature of it. I also loved the Zuma soaps!!

Innkeeper Response
Hope to see you again soon!


Loved Hotel Frederick

3.8 on June 07, 2015

Stayed for one night with two others on a Katy trail ride and had dinner in the bar area.


Great place to stay -- beautiful old building!

3.6 on June 04, 2015

Stayed for wedding anniversary trip. Actually our second time staying there. The restoration work has been done well and I like the way they have modernized the rooms. The continental breakfast was decent but a little picked over by the time we made to breakfast. Overall an excellent place!


By Blood Pressure dropped 10 points

5 on June 01, 2015

I almost felt guilty carrying my cell phone into The Frederick, it did not belong. We had time to talk, with each other, with other guests and with the incredibly friendly staff. Quiet places to sit and read...real books. The antique accents, the solid hardwoods, the attention to detail in the rooms work together to bring that blood pressure down. Haven't you earned a stay at The Frederick? We are coming back.


wonderful hotel

4.6 on May 30, 2015

beautiful hotel, clean rooms and very accommodating staff.


favorite stay off the Katy Trail!!!

4.4 on May 25, 2015

This was my favorite place to stay while doing a 5 day Katy Trail tour! Everyone very friendly, unique hotel, glad its been restored, decent price, great town.


Well worth the short trip off of I-70

5 on May 20, 2015

I booked this hotel for an overnight stop on a business trip to St. Louis. I liked this property, and the whole idea of the Katy Trail, that I am thinking about planning a whole vacation around it. The rooms are newly renovated with a combination of antiques and modern accents. The staff are all friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the drinks and food in the restaurant.

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you are able to visit us again soon!


Enjoyable stay!

5 on May 20, 2015

We stayed at Hotel Frederick because we were going to a wedding in Columbia and wanted to try something a little different. We really enjoyed the room and the amenities. The products in the bathroom were lovely and the staff was very helpful. We had an eventful weekend so unfortunately we did not get to spend much time in the hotel, but we will likely be back!

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon!


Fun place to stay in a very quaint location

4.0 on May 18, 2015

Wonderful getaway. Peaceful atmosphere. A step back in time.

Innkeeper Response
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you are able to visit again soon!


Anniversary weekend

2.8 on May 06, 2015

Really lliked our room, the jacuzzi tub was wonderful, but we thought it was slightly over priced with there not being any major attractions in the area. We also thought for the price that the continental breakfast would include at least a few hot items there was only a microwave for warming bagels or oatmeal.


Great Old Hotel Atmosphere

4.0 on March 13, 2015

Loved dining at the Fred restaurant and the morning continental breakfast. The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful.


Great little place off the beaten path!

5 on February 11, 2015

My fiance and I decided to take a short getaway and get out of town for a bit. The Hotel Frederick was a place we'd seen before but never been to. When we were told it was pet-friendly (a $25.00 fee applies but it's cheaper than boarding a pet!), we were sold. Service was friendly, the bar staff was spectacular, and the restaurant was not only reasonably priced, it was delicious and allergy-friendly. I think we liked it so much that we are coming back again in the fall for some post-wedding chill time.


Can't wait to go back to The FRED

4.2 on January 25, 2015

My husband and I went for our anniversary and had the best experience. Can't wait to go there again! The whole place is filled with gorgeous antiques and the atmosphere is just plain comfortable!


Great

5 on January 11, 2015

We always have a great time at the Hotel Fredrick. It is very comfortable and the staff is great


Anniversary Weekend was a Success

4.6 on December 15, 2014

We were very pleased with the comfort and atmosphere provided by the Hotel Frederick. The room was very cozy and and relaxing. We had a great time walking through downtown Boonville where we enjoyed antiquing and hobknobbing. We also enjoyed a meal at the restaurant. I would recommend the Hotel Frederick to anyone who needs a night away to enjoy the quiet atmosphere.


Unexpected and Unique

3.4 on December 02, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Frederick and loved the unique property!


Get away.

3.8 on November 25, 2014

This was a three day get-away for several couples. The service was great and highly personable. We enjoyed our time.


we are coming back

4.8 on November 11, 2014

wonderful place to stay, walk around downtown, hike the katy trail, relax and enjoy. we loved it.


one night stay

3.8 on November 06, 2014

Love the restoration


Autumn weekend getaway

4.2 on November 03, 2014

The room was very comfortable and quiet. The dining was truly spectacular. What a great weekend!


awesome!

5 on October 19, 2014

We were with a large party with multiple rooms. We were very well taken care of from the minute we got there till the time we left!


A Relaxing Fall Break!!!!

4.4 on October 13, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Frederick on a solo fall 2-day retreat. I felt very safe and comfortable throughout my stay. I felt like I was staying in a Bed and Breakfast, rather than a hotel. I stayed in room 3 which has a lovely sitting area and an amazing tub! The first night that I stayed it was a little noisy late in the evening. I could hear some of the bar conversations and heels clicking on the beautiful hardwood flooring. If noise bothers you, you might want to consider a room away from the staircase. They do supply earplugs. Another comment about room 3 is that it is near a meeting room. I stayed during the week. Apparently, early morning meetings occur in the the meeting room. Had I been aware of this meeting ahead of time, it would not have been such a jolt to me. However, room 3 is so great, I would stay in it again. The second night I was there was very quiet. The restaurant food and restaurant service were mediocre, especially for the price. The waitstaff was friendly, but service was slow. You might want to have some other options in mind ahead of time or go early with the intent of enjoying the sunset on the balcony with a glass of wine. The bar is amazing and you won't find a more friendly bartender than Jeremiah. He is a great asset to the hotel. The daytime desk staff was very friendly and had many suggestions for places to visit. My room was very clean. The cleaning staff did an outstanding job. Don't miss a walk across the bridge at sunset!


Should be labeled as B&B w/ Continental breakfast

2.2 on October 02, 2014

Upon an early arrival, receptionist was rude regarding time of check-in and recommendations regarding nearby eateries. At actual check-in, a different receptionist was very welcoming. Room was nice. Breakfast was lacking. One of our favorite parts of staying at a B&B is the breakfast. This was a below average continental breakfast, including the coffee. All for over $200/night! We will not be returning.


Interesting sdmall town hotel

3.2 on September 20, 2014

We stayed in room 20. Room was clean, interestingly appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint on the room was that the jet tub did not work. The hotel was quite cool too, but needs a good ghost story. Would stay again at the right rate.


Simply excellent!

4.8 on September 17, 2014

Perfect weekend escape. Lovely room, staff was very helpful, dining was very good!


Perfect B&B

5 on September 12, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Frederick was absolutely perfect! From providing a secure place to store our bicycles, to a clean room with amenities, to a comfortable bar with a very attentive bartender, to a wonderful, delicious dinner in the restaurant and breakfast in the morning, I cannot think of anything that wasn't outstanding! We will definitely book again when we're riding the Katy Trail!!!


Great getaway

4.8 on September 07, 2014

Hotel Frederick is a very pleasant ,welcoming hotel ! The architecture is amazing and the rooms are very relaxing and peaceful. We had a nice weekend stay here. The rain shower was wonderful and I wanted to take the antique furnishings home with me!! :-) The staff was very helpful and cheerful . Everything was clean and orderly , but also relaxing. I recommend The Fred and also spending a bit of quiet time with dessert in the lounge!! We will be coming back !


Pleasant Stay in Boonville

4.0 on September 06, 2014

My friend and I each had a comfortable, quiet, clean room at the Hotel Frederick in Boonville, MO. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. We chatted with some of the other guests at breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to staying at the Hotel Frederick on a future occasion.


Boonville Getaway

3.6 on August 25, 2014

Very charming historic hotel overlooking the Missouri River and downtown Boonville. Room was small but nice and comfortable. Hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful.


Wonderful place to stay.

5 on August 23, 2014

We love staying at the Frederick, as does our 4 year old. The staff are friendly. The bartender, Jeremiah, makes outstanding cocktails. The hotel strives to be environmentally friendly. It's a great overnight getaway. Can't say enough good things about it!!


Great place for a mini vacation!

4.8 on August 15, 2014

A trip to Mid Missouri to visit with our son in Columbia, included visits to Warm Springs Ranch and Missouri Penitentiary. Add biking on the Katy Trail and dinner at Les Bourgeious in Rocheport! Topping it all off was our stay at the Fred. Alas a history enthusiast and teacher, this hotel helped take me back in time! A highly enjoyable experience.


Weekend stay for Arrow Rock Lyceum theatre

4.0 on July 24, 2014

very nicely restored old hotel. Rooms were quaint, bar service was wonderful. Dining room service was great, and food was good.


Back In Time

5 on June 19, 2014

If you need to take a trip back in time and take a break from the crazy world around us Hotel Frederick is the place to go. Relaxing, great service, food very good and the staff over the top helpful.....Frederick is the kind of place you go and hate to leave......we will be back and planning our next trip now..... Great location to stay and then explore the other historic areas around Boonville...


Love this place

4.0 on June 16, 2014

We have stayed here multiple times and have injoyed it every time.


Superb Experience!!

4.6 on October 28, 2012

This was a return visit to the Frederick and we found everything still to be just superb! The rooms are terrific and our visit the bar and Glenn's Cafe were most enjoyable. We highly recommend the Frederick hotel, bar and Glenn's Cafe to anyone visiting in the Boonville area.


Great weekend at the Frederick

5 on September 21, 2012

I would rate the weekend at Hotel Frederick as Excellent- Lynn at front desk was extremely helpful and when I had questions on settings for my laptop someone immediately came to our room to explain - dinner at Glenn's Cafe was #1 in service and food


We almost liked it a lot

2.2 on September 15, 2012

We found this historic Hotel to be nicely restored. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We were in room 5 and were desperate for a simple shelf in the bathroom to put our stuff on. It had a beautiful pedistal sink, but I had to go back and forth from the bathroom to the bed area where all my cosmetics/toiletries were. I finally put a chair next to the sink to use as a shelf.The breakfast was......oh boy...um....are you kidding? I thought this was a bed and breakfast? You know those round 'danish' things with the blob of red or white stuff in the middle that are wrapped in plastic that you see at every single Comfort Inn or Budget Inn? Well they offered those for breakfast. They were all unwrapped though The coffee was very weak and the cream was the kind that doesn't need refrigeration and tastes artificial. I always look forward to the offerings for breakfast and the Hotel Frederick really really fell short. Nothing fresh or tasty. We drove to Columbia and went to a cafe to eat.


Hotel Frederick October 2011

4.8 on October 23, 2011

We arrived on Monday afternoon after an MU homecoming weekend when the place was entirely booked up. Monday in fall was a different story, however. Our only real complaint is that Glenn's Cafe is not open on Monday, but Maggie's is a great substitute. We look forward to returning to the Frederick as a destination! If you are a cyclist, the Katy Trail is accessible across the street. We would recommend this to anyone who wants something decidely different from chain hotels.


Lees Summit Bike Group stay

4.8 on October 12, 2011

We rode Saturday and Sunday on the Katy Trail and spent Saturday night at the Frederick. It was a great place to stay. There were 10 of us. We all very much enjoyed the stay. There are several areas for a group to sit together comfortably. We all loved our rooms. I would recommend and will be back.


enjoyable stay

3.4 on September 23, 2011

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The Hotel Frederick meet our expectations. We thought the breakfast would be more of a full menu instead continental. We enjoyed our stay.


Great Stay

4.4 on August 01, 2011

The staff at the Hotel Frederick were exceptional. They were the most helpful and friendliest staff that I have ever met. Our room was exceptional with a view of the Katy Trail and the Missouri River. Loved the antiques and the atmosphere of the Hotel. Will definitely stay at the Hotel Frederick the next time I am in Boonville MO.


Loved this experience!

4.6 on April 16, 2011

Wished we could have stayed longer. Everything about this B&B was such a great experience. The hospitality was so good, we didn't want to leave. Very warm and inviting old hotel. We were there on a Sunday/Monday so the quaint bar was closed and we're sorry we missed it. We'd love to return. One slight critique - the breakfast was disappointing. We were expecting a hot meal but was a continental offering. But we went to the local diner, had a great breakfast - and staff there too were so nice!


The Best Hotel for 500 Miles!

4.6 on December 31, 2010

I am in love with the Hotel Frederick. I recommend it to every one of my friends and family. It's a pleasure every time, from the elegant linens and towels to the heated floors, the Hotel Frederick is the best around. Charming, antique and modern all at the same time.


Hotel Frederick

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $225
  • Reviews (85) 4.3
  • Rooms 24

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6608822828
  • Toll free 1-8884373321

Visit Website »

View details

Top