James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Peaceful, fresh, and renewing

4.4 on June 04, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Art Deco Suite and were amazed at how beautiful, immaculate, and serene it was. We especially enjoyed the balcony with perfect view for watching birds. The voucher to eat breakfast at the Lowell Inn was a wonderful touch! The stately feel of that inn was a nice transition for our days out and about. My wife and I highly recommend this beautiful Stillwater B&B.


Beautiful peaceful stay

5 on May 18, 2014

This is a return visit to the Mulvey, now called the James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House. Same fantastic wooded setting, but they are renting only the Carriage House rooms, hence there is a change of address to 807 Harriet St S. The Carriage House rooms were always the best anyway- very architectural with lots of nice original art. So now they do an off site breakfast at the Lowell Inn which proved to be a plus for us because you can go at 10. But it is all a more private experience, for you and yours, in a couple of the best rooms in town. We like it.


Quaint and wonderful B&B experience

5 on May 22, 2012

The James Mulvey Inn Carriage House was a wonderful and relaxing experience. We stayed in the Bordeaux room and it was as if we stepped back in time to the south of France – my personal favorite. The décor was simple françaises (simple french) overlooking the grounds from our balcony. We were quite cozy sitting next to a warm fire with our wine and snacks we kept in the small refrigerator provided in the room. The breakfast at the Lowell Inn was delicious and afterwards we wondered the streets of historic downtown Stillwater which is always a treat. Our hosts, True and Jill, were delightful people and we hope to visit again very soon. Thank you for such a perfect weekend!


Such an intimate getaway place!

4.6 on May 21, 2012

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our one-year anniversary in Stillwater, which is just 45 minutes away from where we live. The stay at James Mulvey's house made us feel like we had traveled across the country for a two-day vacation! It was an adorable room with a jetted tub, great views of the garden, a romantic fireplace with wine and chocolates, and just an overall "quaint" feel to the room. We couldn't have asked for anything better! In fact, we may celebrate many more anniversaries at the James Mulvey home.


A Sophisticated Getaway!

5 on April 14, 2012

Staying in the Art Deco suite of the James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House is always a unique experience, and this was not our first stay at this favorite place of ours. True and Jill are art collectors and consummate decorators, and they’ve created an elegant retreat. Walking into the suite feels like stepping back into the 30’s as you are enveloped in the warm and sensuous art deco décor. Abundant wall art—some of which is absolutely stunning—fixtures, and many other little details create a perfect experience. Really, the attention to detail is amazing. We also love the unique hotel-like independence (no sense of stepping into someone else’s home) along with the Bed and Breakfast coziness and luxury. Breakfast at the Lowell Inn is a delightful variation on the usual B&B routine as well. Thanks True and Jill for creating the perfect place to enjoy the distinctive pleasures of old Stillwater! We’ll be back!


Just what the doctor ordered for busy lives!!

5 on April 12, 2012

The James Mulvey Inn is a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of our city life of raising children, jobs, and busy, busy busy calendars. Located in a residential area of Stillwater yet very close to all the wonderful restaurants and cozy shops, this 2 bedroom option Bed and Breakfast is exactly what we needed. The rooms are wonderful, quaint and very private. The fireplaces and views are spectacular. In addition, what we actually loved was that no breakfast is served on the premises. To some, this may seem like not desirable, but for my wife and I, getting a private breakfast at the wonderful and historic Lowell Inn (that was included in the price of our stay at The Mulvey Inn) was the perfect way to reignite our love and friendship in our get-away. We highly recommend this Inn! By the way, we think Marx is just a divine place to have dinner as well!


Lovely, private, European Style B&B

4.8 on March 17, 2012

Jill and Truett have done a fantastic job of making guests feel welcome in this lovely old but well maintained house. The room has an old fashioned feel to it, with tasteful, turn-of-the-century decorations and some lovely amenities and refreshments. Breakfast at the Lowell Inn completes the package nicely. While making you feel welcome, the setup also respects the privacy of couples looking for a romantic getaway. Will definitely come back.


Loved it!!

4.0 on February 28, 2012

It was our 1 year anninversary and it was perfect!! The room was beautiful and cozy. The bed was very comfy and we had a wonderful time. Joe and Tina :)


Quiet, Relaxing, and Fun!

4.8 on February 22, 2012

I surprised my wife with a night at the James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House to celebrate her birthday. We had a blast! It was really nice and a steal for the price. It was peaceful and quiet and we were able to really dial down and relax. We watched some movies that were available and spent quite a bit of time in the double whirlpool. It felt like we were the only ones there and it was great that when we got there we could just walk up to our room and get instructions instead of needing to make small talk with the owners. It really felt like it was all about us. Breakfast at the Lowell Inn was delicious too!! My wife LOVED spending the night here before her birthday and said it was a great surprise!


Beautiful Room and Relaxing Stay

5 on February 09, 2012

We were greeted by a private entrance to the room and were quickly able to settle into the relaxing atmosphere provided by the beauty of our suite. There were nuts and chocolate waiting for us along with wine which made it even easier to forget the worries of the week. Another amenity not often found in a B&B was the unlimited ice machine to keep things cool as well as a very nice coffee maker. These are just a couple details that some other places don't always consider as important things for guests. It's easy to tell the Inn keepers here have had years of experience in making guests comfortable and leaving happy. Fantastic country french decor with hand painting everywhere contributed to our escape. We never slept so good and when we woke up we had a fantastic breakfast at the historic Lowell restaurant that we had heard so much about. We loved the privacy of this Inn and the flexibility to have breakfast at 10 am...we like to sleep in. Give this Inn a try, you will not be dissappointed and we will return soon when we need another stress free getaway!


Bravo! Bordeaux Experience

4.0 on February 09, 2012

Loved the impeccable Country French flavor. Perfect setting for enjoying available DVD "Julie and Julia." Followed by perfect breakfast dining where--besides the ambiance--I enjoyed my Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise Sauce which also was a follow-up to the previous night's food flourishes of Julia Child. Add in the charm of Stillwater and its delightful places to walk, shop, dine...it doesn't get any better than this!


Great little place for a getaway

3.8 on February 07, 2012

The room we stayed in as a bit smaller but the space is well utilized. The Art Deco room is definitely bigger and a really great setup, we stayed in the other room. The service is very nice and friendly. It's worth noting that the owners live on the premises as well. They spent a lot of the night out so we could settle in with an empty house which was a really pleasant surprise. We enjoyed it and have recommended it to friends.


Accomodating

3.4 on November 16, 2011

The reviews for JM B&B were quite good so I choose it to celebrate my 17th anniversary in Stillwater. The room was smaller than I had thought from the web but met my expectations. There were refreshments, chocolate bars and nuts, even a small bottle of white wine for us with wine glasses. There was small fridge, microwave, Kresch Coffee maker and whirlpool, and we were pleasantly surprised to see that all of that. The room was tidy and clean for the most part, but we noticed the corners needed to be cleaned. Jill returned my calls and assistant Kim was very accomodating. As it says on the site, we just checked in where instructions were awaiting us. There were dvd movies available for a small flat screen, but no tv hookup or reception which I thought there would be as we like to watch some late night shows and the news (recommend a digital antennae for local stations). We had breakfast at the Lowell Inn with a voucher, and we enjoyed going there for breakfast and I appreciated the privacy. We didn't see any history about the property as we see in other B&Bs and we would have liked to learn about it. Overall it was a good experience.


B&B

4.2 on November 07, 2011

The room was very detailed in its decor and the meals at the local hotel was fantastic.


Mulvey

4.8 on October 03, 2011

The room was very nice and very tastfuly decorated. The surrounding grounds were very nice, but their wasn't a lot of room to park your car but it was ok. They took great care in planning our stay and every thing was very well thought out. Our breakfast was at a local hotel not more then a mile away and that was superb. Thank you for letting us share our experience with you. M & J


weekend getaway

4.0 on September 20, 2011

This was just the ticket for a relaxing night away and we surely got our relaxation in with the fireplace, whirlpool tub and restful sleep! The little coffee machine had a good selection of tasty brews. The wine selection was too sweet as we prefer a dry wine but we could always bring our own since a little fridge is provided. We did walk in the evening, but the sky threatened rain so we didn't walk all the way into downtown and in the morning we drove to the Lowell Inn for breakfast which was just fine..otherwise be prepared for a hike back uphill! I missed being greeted by the innkeepers but understand why it is presented in this fashion. It was just like finding a secret hideaway that was prepared just for you with every detail attended to. Our thanks for a welcome retreat!


Wonderful Stay!

4.6 on September 14, 2011

I booked a stay at the James Mulvey, because I wanted to be somewhat near downtown Stillwater, as my boyfriend and I wanted to spend the weekend there (now, he's my fiance! He proposed that day in Stillwater!). We stayed in The Bordeaux, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quaint the room was and was so impressed with how clean it was! I have stayed at B & B's a couple of times and I wasn't sure if I liked the idea of having to go off site for breakfast at the Lowell Inn, but it ended up being wonderful! The Lowell Inn had a nice selection for us, with quality food and large portions. Given the opportunity, I would definitly return.


James Mulvey is different

4.8 on September 02, 2011

My wife and I were married on Saturday and we wanted to spend our first night together in a B&B. The James Mulvey house was just right for us and it was a pleasant twist in that our breakfast was at a nearby restaurant vs the traditional meet and greet breakfast. We look forward to returning!!!


Exactly what was promised!

4.0 on August 23, 2011

We had a great evening as this Bed and breakfast. It was private, cozy and perfect. The pool was fun to splash around in and though we said hi to the owner, we felt as if we had the place to ourselves...perfect for an anniversary. Great location, beautiful surroundings and close to downtown. I also liked the fact that we had the option to go to breakfast on our own. We did and it was a nice breakfast. I strongly recommend this place.


Oh how WONDERFUL.........

5 on June 27, 2011

We spent our 35th wedding anniversary at the James Mulvey B&B, and it was wonderful. The B&B was so quiet and relaxing, they had a bottle of wine in the refrigerator with snacks available. The June evening was cool, so we flipped on the fireplace as we enjoyed the double tub. And, truthfully, having stayed at many, many bed and breakfast establishments, we loved the fact that breakfast was provided at the Lowell Inn in downtown Stillwater and not at the house. There was no need to rush to be ready at a certain time for breakfast, plus we were able to just enjoy each other at breakfast and not feel the need to make small talk with other guests. In the future we will definitely be back and thank you for the unique way you host your guests, it was very private and appreciated!! Scott and Joyce Rochester, MN


Birthday Suprise

4.0 on June 15, 2011

I booked this B and B for my wife's 30th birthday. We have never tried the B & B route but I thought it would be a nice relaxing weekend. It was in fact so relaxing that we never made it up in time to enjoy breakfast. The breakfast is offered at an offsite location, but I knew that prior to booking. Service was good. The whirlpool was huge, but does take a long time to fill completely. Very cozy, and relaxing. Strongly recommend.


Peaceful Retreat!

4.8 on June 15, 2011

It was a wonderful experience. The room was cozy & very intimate. Stillwater is also a wonderful city to get away too. I would recommend the Mulvey Inn to everyone.


Anniversary Wedding Stay

4.4 on June 12, 2011

Under new management the Carriage House was great.. We got to the "james mulvey inn" and she greeted us there and made sure we had everything we needed. The stay was great and everything was well takin care of. I definately miss Terry and his crew but they are no longer in business there. The food and beverages in the fridge was a nice suprise and great dvd selection. Great rate, room, and romance..


Best B&B ever

4.6 on May 26, 2011

Staying in the Carriage House Art Deco room was probably our best B&B experience ever. And we say this even though the off-site breakfast is not ideal, though at a lovely venue in and of itself. Roomy, gorgeous, comfortable and romantic.


An amazing Valentine's

5 on February 18, 2011

We shopped the Stillwater, MN area for a place to get away on Valentine's Day, and the James Mulvey really stuck out to us with it's unique rooms and reasonable pricing. The Hostess was incredibly friendly and knowedgable of the area, she was a great help in finding a wonderful place for dinner. The room was wonderful and I love the idea of having journals in the rooms to record a little something about your stay, and to read a little about the previous guests' experiences. I can't say enough good things, it was an amazing stay. :)


Mini Vacation

4.0 on February 16, 2011

We went to Stillwater for a mini vacation and our stay at the James Mulvey Inn really contributed to the relaxation we were hoping to achieve. The room was very nice and cozy-we enjoyed just sitting by the fireplace reading or taking a nice whirlpool after skiing. Everyone was very friendly and helpful which made our stay very enjoyable!


James Mulvey Inn stay on Dec 29, 2010

4.8 on January 13, 2011

Terry was WONDERFUL! He made sure that we made ourselves at home. The room was perfectly romantic. Also, Terry's morning breakfast and stories were a treat to experience! Thank you a hundred times over Terry!


James Mulvey Inn

4.8 on January 10, 2011

The most quaint and cozy home. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The inkeeper, Terry, was the most wonderful, outgoing and enjoyed ourselves very much and it was a very relaxing weekend. The food was delicious, a three course breakfast that left us satisfied, as well as enjoying great conversation with the other guests. Would highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast.


Evening in Stillwater

5 on January 03, 2011

The James Mulvey Inn was wonderful. Terry made our stay very enjoyable and the breakfast was divine. We loved the comfort, elegance and warmth of the Inn and it's staff. Can't wait to return again.


James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $139 - $219
  • Reviews (29) 4.5
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6514308008

Visit Website »

View details

Top