The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
64 Reviews

Write A Review

Romantic Get Away

5 on May 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Firelight Inn 4 times now, and we almost feel like family. Jim & Joy are such wonderful hosts and they really go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and special. It starts at the front door as they are both there to great us and then Jim carries our bags up to our room for us. We just love the fruit, cheese and cracker platter that we always have waiting upon our arrival. The food is so delicious, from the Chicken wild rice soup with warm bread to our gourmet breakfasts that words can hardly describe. It is such a wonderful relaxing and peaceful time when we get to visit the Firelight Inn. We enjoy the winter visits just as much as the summer. Especially nice is the Butler's pantry where you may treat your self to some homemade cookies and candies, or coffee and soda. I cannot forget the massage package that was a special treat to really feel pampered. Joy has such an eye for detail and nothing is overlooked. We cannot wait until our next visit. Many thanks and Blessings to Jim and Joy for they truly excel at their gift of hospitality.


We felt like royalty! A place for spiritual and relationship renewal!

4.6 on January 01, 2013

I surprised my husband this December with a two night stay in the Barnum Suite for our 24 year anniversary. I knew it was the right place after brousing for hours on the internet. Jim and Joy offer everthing I was looking for: jacuzzi for two, fireplace, private dining option, massages, and an intimate and personal atmosphere. We felt so pampered! Immediately upon arrival, the spiritual feel of the place was comforting. We are more of a traditional couple and I could feel peace in the air. We both agree this weekend for us ended up topping our honeymoon! We shared and cared, cleared up some misunderstandings, and are enjoying a new start again to our relationship (and we thought we were already happy)! If you are a believer, this is a place that will foster and support spiritual renewal! We both left a better person. The only thing that could have been improved upon for us would have been to get a chance to talk to Joy about our food preferences. Would have preferred less sweets/carbs and more proteins (prefer turkey vs. pork products). All in all, wonderful memories were made for us that will last us our lifetime! Thank you to the Fischers for running this superb B&B!


Another incredible experience!

5 on April 26, 2012

My wife & I spent 3 days at the Firelight a couple weeks ago and it was once again, incredible. We try to get up to the Firelight every year, usually for our anniversary, but we wanted to go earlier this year. It has become a tradition for us. We may go a second time this year! We stayed for the 2nd time in the Superior Suite which has become our favorite.. I think we have now stayed in 4 of the 5 suites and we don't have anything negative to say about any of them. We love the hot tub and the mattresses are extremely comfortable. My wife deals with chronic pain and we have only found a few places where she will have a comfortable sleep and this is on the top of the list. I think the highlight is the food that is delivered right to our door in the morning. We have never had this kind of service at another B&B. This year it was the Strawberry French Toast that blew us away! If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is the place. Jim & Joy are fantastic and their hospitality brings us back every time.


3rd Visit To Firelight...And ALWAYS AMAZING! :)

4.0 on January 21, 2012

This past December we returned to the Firelight Inn for our 3rd visit...each time we have stayed in a different suite...and every suite has it's own "uniqueness". (They are ALL wonderful) Jim and Joy greeted us at the door with a friendly, gracious, warm welcome...they truly know how to make you feel relaxed and welcome. What an amazing, special, romantic place...Jim and Joy have truly mastered the "attention to every special detail" from the beautifully furnished rooms to the absolutely wonderful breakfast in bed to the relaxing music and "toasty" fireplace lite when you enter your suite. When you arrive at the Firelight all of your stress and worries melt away. My husband and I return to the Firelight to reconnect from our busy lives, and just spend some quiet, relaxing time together....and The Firelight Inn is absolutely the perfect place to do just that. Thank You, Jim and Joy, for all you do to make The Firelight Inn what it is...AN AMAZING PLACE. We are looking forward to our 4th trip. Cliff & Amy


A wonderful 35th anniversary!

5 on December 19, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at the Firelight Inn to celebrate 35 years of marriage. It was the perfect place to get away from the busyness of our lives and just be together for a few days. The house & grounds are beautiful, in a quiet area on a dead-end street. The Brookside Suite was just what we had hoped for--a romantic, cozy atmosphere to relax & focus on each other. The breakfasts were unbelievable. Couldn't wait to see what was in that basket that smelled so good! Ate our breakfast & then sat together with coffee on the loveseat in front of the fire just to chat & plan our day. Jim & Joy's hospitallity & attention to detail is wonderful. Our stay was everything we hoped for & more.


Breakfast in bed? Yes, please!

4.8 on October 05, 2011

For our first trip to Duluth this was surely the most memorable part of the trip. This B&B is a 101 year-old historic home in the eastern part of town, just a few minutes from the interstate and also Duluth's main shopping/dining district. The building itself is impressive with the original woodwork, brick, and windows. The front porch and living rooms are spacious common areas for lounging and enjoying the view or the fireplace. Choices of coffee and tea are available at all times. We picked the Northwoods Room because of the rustic feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the jet tub fit two. Our eastern window had a view of the lake and binoculars were provided to look at the ships going by. Breakfast was a real treat, delivered in a picnic basket each morning at our choice of 9 or 9:30. The spread was quite impresive and every bite delicious. Jim and Joy were fun to chat with and were helpful with directions and informing us about points of interest. They know how to do things right.


Most relaxing-romantic getaway ever!!!!!!

5 on June 02, 2011

This was our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast and it couldn't have been more perfect! The atmosphere is so calm & relaxing! The breakfast brought to your suite each morning was amazing! The water in the jacuzzi tub actually held its temp very well! The beds were so comfy, I think more comfy then my own bed :) I felt so welcomed and relaxed during our weekend stay, I only wish it had been longer! I honestly cannot wait to go back for another stay!!! I absolutely loved hearing the water rushing through the creek outside our room!!! By far the best experience we have ever had for a romantic getaway!!!


John & Lynn's honeymoon stay

4.6 on April 06, 2011

My husband and I had the most awesome experience on our honeymoon at the Firelight Inn! I had not been to Duluth in over 20 years, and what a wonderful experience we had. The home is beautiful and cozy, the rooms are romantic and clean, and the breakfast (served at your room each morning) is fabulous! We enjoyed our stay thoroughly, and wish it could have been longer. We'll definitely be back for anniversaries thanks to Jim and Joy.


Romantic B & B

5 on September 07, 2010

This was hands down the best bed and breakfast we have stayed at!!! Jim and Joy were amazing and so nice. They met us at the door and while Joy gave us a tour, Jim took our bags to our room. What a surprise to walk into our room with romantic music playing on the stero. And the breakfast was wonderful!!! I will totally recommend the Firelight Inn to all of our friends and family!!!


EXCELLENCE IN ACCOMODATIONS

5 on September 04, 2010

It is like comming back to old friends and comfort that you would want for your best friends. The firelight is truly more than a bed and breakfast, it is the best in relaxation and accomodations. Truly Jim and Joy put their all into each day.


First time at bed and breakfast

4.4 on August 20, 2010

Jim and Joy were very welcoming. The house was beautiful and our room was very comfortable. We loved sitting in the big porch. It was a very pleasant experience for our first time at a Bed and Breakfast.


First bed and breakfast experience!

5 on August 16, 2010

My husband and I had a great time at the Firelight Inn for our 27th anniversary! This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we sure picked the right one! We loved breakfast delivered to our door--Jim and Joy even remembered my husband liked Mt. Dew instead of coffee and had a cold one tucked in the basket--that was above and beyond! Thanks for the extras!


Breakfast delivered to your room? PERFECT.

4.6 on August 16, 2010

We had the best experience at The Firelight Inn. Stayed in the Isle Royale Suite and were wowed with every breakfast that was delivered to our room in the morning! Petal soaps add a unique touch int he bathroom; jacuzzi with bubbles is relaxing and romantic. Clean, homey, and Joy and Jim are amazing hosts. We will be back!


Get that "Home Away from Home" feeling!

5 on August 03, 2010

This was our 5th visit to the Firelight Inn and we are beginning to feel like family with Joy & Jim. The home is impeccable and charming, yet casually comfortable. The grounds are very well maintained and tranquil and the food scrumptious and made from scratch. It's always a mouthwatering experience when we uncover the warm basket that arrives at our room each morning and we leisurely partake in our pajamas! How spoiled can one get? The host couple is very sincere and warm and can help answer any question or give recommendations for attractions or dining in the area and just carry on a wonderful chat if you're in the mood. We were always made so comfortable to come and go as one pleased or just hang out in the beautiful, historic home on a rainy day for some relaxing down time. We have been to quite a number of B & B's nationwide, but this is our all-time favorite!


Enchanting!

4.8 on June 17, 2010

I cannot think of even one suggestion to improve the Firelight Inn experience! I'll remember the lovely sound of Oregon Creek and the breeze coming in the window while we slept in the most lucious bed. And, of course, the gourmet breakfasts. Thank you so much for such a rejuvenating retreat. You are making a real difference in people's lives.


Outstanding!

5 on May 30, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from celebrating our anniversary at the Firelight Inn. It was our first B&B experience, and it was wonderful! Joy and Jim are the consummate innkeepers -- warm and friendly, but also sensitive to guests' need for privacy. Their attention to the smallest of details makes a stay at the Firelight Inn a luxurious experience. We felt totally pampered and very relaxed during our stay. Jim gave us a tour of all the rooms so I can say that they all were beautifully appointed. And the breakfasts are fabulous -- delivered right to your door in a picnic basket. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in the Duluth area!


Awsome!!!

4.8 on April 26, 2010

What a wounderfull weekend Thank-You SOOOOOOOO Much Jim & Joy are awsome Host's kind caring and vary welcoming we just had our 2nd stay, it was so restful We will be back !!! soon


Perfectly Wonderful !!!

5 on February 01, 2010

The Firelight Inn in Duluth is absolutely delightful. The Innkeepers go out and beyond to make their guests comfortable and feel welcomed ! No need to leave your room in the morning, they deliver a delicious breakfast to your door,then take a jacuzzi in your own room to top it off, how great is that !!! Recommend to all.


Superb

4.8 on December 08, 2009

"Every year my wife and I celebrate her birthday by staying at a B&B. This was the first time we stayed at a B&B in Duluth and The Firelight Inn was everything it was advertised to be and exceeded our expectations. The house was beautiful, the Brookside Suite spectacular and the breakfasts sumptuous. Jim and Joy were friendly and attentive, but never intrusive and genuinely happy to welcome us into their home. This visit to the Firelight Inn will not be our last and we are looking forward to celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Inn this summer."


Awesome Anniversary

4.8 on October 19, 2009

We had never been to a B&B before, and decided our 10 year anniversary would be a fun time to try one. We could not have been happier with our choice. Joy and Jim are gracious hosts, available but never intrusive, cheerful and welcoming. They have created a warm and luxurious atmosphere for their guests. We have already recommended The Firelight Inn to several friends, and hope to return again!


Another amazing anniversary!

5 on October 09, 2009

My wife & I stayed at the Firelight a few years ago and it has remained our favorite B&B. We have been to several B&B's in the Midwest and nothing has compared to the firelight. Here are the things that make it our favorite... 1) It feels like a warm comfortable home... not a stuffy antique museum. We have been to some that were hyped up because of the "fancy" factor… but they were not a comfortable stay. 2) Jim & Joy (the Innkeepers) are so hospitable! They greet you at the door and make you feel at home. We had great conversations with them throughout our stay as well. 3) The food... WOW! Joy makes an outstanding breakfast... homemade scones, muffins, Quiche, fruit pancakes etc!!! It is amazing! And their HUGE variety of coffee & tea is amazing, and it is accessible all day! 4) The rooms are very comfortable. We have stayed in the Barnum Suite... our fav. And most recently the Isle Royale Suite. Both were very roomy and the in-room Jacuzzi's are wonderful! They have the most comfortable featherbeds... they are so nice I purchased one from them after our 1st stay! And the Alarm clock with iPod dock is a very nice touch! I can't say enough about the Firelight! We are making this a fall tradition. Thanks Jim & Joy!


rekindle your spirit at Firelight

4.8 on August 13, 2009

From the moment you walk in the house is warm and luxurious. Every room outdoes the last in comfort and luxury. Each a private fireplace, jacuzzi, plush bed, and living space and an amazing gourmet breakfast delivered piping hot to your room. 24 hour luxury pantry for all your needs. Plus on site massage studio. You come to Duluth for the scenery- you come back for the Firelight!


Thank you to Jim & Joy

5 on August 03, 2009

Many thanks to Jim & Joy for an elegant stay at the Firelight Inn. Everything was beautiful! May God bless you!


Best night I've ever spent outside of my own bed

5 on July 19, 2009

I surprised my fiance with a quick trip from Mpls-St. Paul up the North Shore and a stay at the Firelight Inn. The history, architecture and decor of the house itself - built in 1910 - is magnificent. Over a dozen fireplaces! From the minute you enter the front porch, you are made to feel welcome by Jim and Joy, who basically open their wonderful historic home to you and then wait on you hand-and-foot. We stayed in the Barnum Suite, which was the master bedroom for the original owner, the brother of famed circus promotor PT Barnum. There are no words to describe the bed and the incredibly relaxing nights sleep we had. In the morning, Jim delivered a basket of Joy's scrumptious personally-prepared breakfast, including homemade rhubarb muffins, to our door and we enjoyed a glorious Sunday morning dining on the quaint deck just off our room. By the way, on Jim's recommendation we dined the night before at Pickwick's, a historic steakhouse in Duluth ... we had steak (grilled perfectly) and bacon wrapped shrimp and scallops (also excellent) with bacon wild rice. Great meal ... (but Joy's breakfast bake and muffins were better). We gladly recommend the Firelight Inn to anyone who wants a unique and refreshing stay - especially couples. (we travel a fair amount and this was by far the most romantic stay we've ever had. Jim and Joy and the Firelight made it special.)


splendor in teh hills of Duluth

5 on July 16, 2009

We so enjoyed our stay at the inn. Nestled by a wooded area, the creek can be heard through an open window. the birds chirping in song created a wonderful ambiance. The rooms are decorated beautifully. The breakfast presentation is not only delicious, the breakfast is artistically arranged!


A wonderful Duluth experience

5 on June 29, 2009

It was our first B&B experience and a wonderful one at that. An outstanding home with beautiful quiet rooms, and Jim and Joy were wonderful hosts (with attention to every detail). We would highly suggest the Firelight to anyone looking for a special Duluth experience.


Excellent! Must stay here!

4.8 on June 26, 2009

How could I not give five stars to the place where my husband and I had our honeymoon in 2002? The room we stayed in on our honeymoon night was the Northwoods Suite, which very cozy and Minnesota like. :) We adored the mansion itself, the house, the warmth and professionalism of Jim and Joy and most especially, the food! Since 2002, we've returned to The Inn about 7-10 times and have stayed in all five of the rooms. Each stay has been as good as the previous one! We plan to return either this fall or some time next year. Please don't pass up this gem in Duluth, Minnesota!


An Outstanding Experience

5 on June 16, 2009

Time away from our busy lives is very precious, and Jim and Joy made it an outstanding evening. From the refreshments at check-in, to wandering down the hall to a massage, desert in our room, to an absolutely fabulous breakfast in our room, nothing could have been better. Our stay totally exceeded all our expectations and we could not give the Firelight Inn any higher marks. We will be back and highly recommend the Firelight Inn to others!


Best birthday EVER

5 on June 08, 2009

Wonderful visit. We stayed in the Superior Suite which is magnificent. Very romantic, beautifully furnished. The hot tub and fireplace added greatly to our enjoyment. We are already booked for a return visit this fall.


Highly recommend it

5 on May 14, 2009

We enjoyed the excellent breakfast served in our room, the history of this beautiful home and the hospitality of the hosts. Couldn't have been better!


Romantic getaway

4.8 on April 23, 2009

We will remember our week end getaway at the Firelight Inn and will definetly make a return trip. The innkeeper's, Jim and Joy do an exceptional job with running their inn. So many little special touches that add to making the stay there so "unique." The hand delivered breakfast basket delivered to your inn door each morning was "scrumptious....and not too mention the sugar cookies." We would give it an outstanding rating.


peaceful, friendly, beautiful

4.4 on April 09, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Firelight for our honeymoon, and it was wonderful. Jim and Joy are the best of all possible hosts, the food was great, and the stay was perfect. Bravo!


Best weekend at a Bed and Breakfest

4.8 on March 15, 2009

Excellence started when we arrived as it was late, about 9:30 PM. We were met at the door by our hosts and assisted with our bags. After greetings we were given a short tour of the house and assited with our bags to our room and asked if we would like an upgrade of our room at no extra cost as there were two others available. We took the offer and the room was outstanding as was the service and room service breakfest. Last but not least we were sent information on the house after our stay as the original owner my be a relitive. We highly recommend this Bed ad Breakfest. Thank you Jim & Joy


WOW!

4.0 on March 05, 2009

We spent our 16th anniversary at Firelight Inn. What an absolutely wonderful weekend! Everything was perfect from the greeting at the door to the beautifully decorated room. The breakfast in our room was what really made it appealing to us. The food was just fabulous! The jacuzzi & fireplace were so soothing & relaxing. I couldn't imagine a more cozy & private get-away with such great hosts! Jim & Joy really made us feel welcome. It was really worth it. I have already recommended this B&B to everyone I've talked to.


An undeniable sense of belonging

5 on February 03, 2009

There are not very many sure things in this world or ironclad guarantees, but the Firelight Inn is as close as you get with Jim and Joy as your hosts. From the greeting at the door when we arrived, to help with dinner plans, to special arrangements for the massage, to chocolate strawberries for our evening delight, not to mention fabulous breakfasts and soup for dinner, you just can't ask for more. We were served well all weekend long. Staying at the Firelight gives you the same feeling you get when you return home from being gone for a long time. Ahhh yes, this is where I belong.


Perfect Getaway

4.2 on January 11, 2009

My husband and I were totally swept away by this awesome place. The woodwork, our room decor, hot tub, comfy bed and delectable breakfast were more than we good have asked for. Thank you for a wonderful weekend. We will be back.


O My

4.8 on January 02, 2009

This is the fourth time that we have stayed at the Firelight Inn and the first time in the winter. O My what a wonderful time. This is a wonderful old home with a great deal of character and warmth. The personal touch of Jim and Joy have made it an outstanding event for both of us. 1/2/09 Boyd and Barb McMurchie


Pick The Firelight Inn!

4.8 on December 15, 2008

The Firelight Inn is simply the best of the best. We have stayed at a lot of great B&Bs, but this one has it all! A beautiful location, a gorgeous home with spectacular rooms, yummy breakfasts delivered to your room, and inn keepers who are some of the most wonderful people we have met. Joy and Jim are always available should you need anything but at the same time leave you alone to enjoy your relaxing stay - it is an art, that of being there but not being in your space, and Jim and Joy have it down pat! We stayed in the Superior Suite and were wowed - the pictures are beautiful but do not do the suite justice by any means. The suite is HUGE and the amenities divine - we had a very hard time leaving. :) Choose The Firelight Inn - you simply can't go wrong.


Honeymoon

5 on December 11, 2008

Our stay was very pleasant. We had great food and friendly owners.


Wonderful experience!

5 on November 13, 2008

I have stayed at a few B&Bs in Duluth and this one was my favorite. The room and our breakfast were both wonderful and the innkeepers pay attention to the smallest of details. The price might seem a little bit higher than some of the other places in Duluth, but I feel that this is a better deal due to all of the amenities provided (such as complimentary beverages and cookies 24 hours a day, wonderful bathrobes provided for your stay, and the owners even checked with us a few times to make sure that everything was up to our expectations). I can't recommend this inn enough. My husband and I will definitely stay there again.


relaxing and comfortable

5 on November 03, 2008

This was one of the best Inn experiences I have had. I have stayed at several and rate the Firelight as one of the best I have stayed at. The beds and rooms were very comfortable and the inn was quiet and very private. The food outstanding and Jim and Joy friendly and available. I would recommend this Inn to everyone. Hope you enjoy your experience as much as we did.


Romantic Rendevous

3.8 on November 01, 2008

Wow! This was a great secluded rendevous. We enjoyed the whole 3:00 pm check in to 11:00 am check out in the room. Very romantic and secluded, yet pampered with the Wild Rice Soup dinner with a bottle of wine in the room. The balcony at night was great with the view of the stars!


Well worth every penny!

4.8 on October 17, 2008

We were told about this bed and breakfast through a friend. I love trying "different" places and do not like to return to the same place each time (that includes restaurants). We found the Firelight Inn to be warm, inviting, charming, immaculately decorated, and smelled amazing. Joy was making cookies when we returned from a day of hiking and shopping. I felt like a little kid again coming home to mom's house hardly able to wait to dig into the cookies! Jim and Joy were the perfect hosts. Joy and I discovered we both like to quilt and discussed possibly having a quilting weekend for the wives during the hunting opener. My husband doesn't hunt but I thought it would still be a great idea! :) The rooms were a little on the spendy side but for a special occasion it was well worth every penny! Thank you Jim and Joy for making our anniversary special. We will be returning again for sure!


Chocolate Strawberries!!!!!

4.0 on October 13, 2008

This was our first b&b that we've stayed at. I was very surprised at how welcome and relaxed the owners made us feel. Very helpful in finding anything that you might need. We ordered a side of strawberries and champagne that were outstanding!


What a Way To Get Away!

4.6 on September 29, 2008

We loved every second at the Firelight Inn. Jim and Joy were so friendly and gracious and have really done everything possible to make you feel welcome in their home. The rooms are beautiful and so comfortable. And you just can't beat their breakfast basket to your Suite door every morning. Their homemade food is just amazing. We can't wait to go back... we never wanted to leave.


Best B&B in Duluth

4.8 on September 21, 2008

Thank you for such a wonderful trip to Duluth! We are still amazed at how every little detail was carried out with sophistication and grace. Pulling into the Firelight Inn’s driveway, we could immediately tell that we would have a great experience—the house emanated warmth, elegance, and great care. We couldn’t be more happy with our room, the Brookside Suite. The beautifully restored bathroom, with modern updates like the whirlpool, was luxurious. The fireplace and loveseat allowed us to stay warm during the first hints of autumn in the North. And having the sumptuous, bountiful breakfast delivered every morning was a delight—it’s beyond words how delicious it was! You couldn’t ask for more of the house and grounds, either. The butler’s pantry, opening up to the expansive kitchen where you can often find Joy and Jim, was a welcome treat after hiking along the North Shore (when you visit, be sure to ask for the Firelight Inn sugar cookies!) Even nature knows how wonderful this house is—the Oregon Creek right outside our window greeted us every morning and night with gentle burbling. Our only regret is that we weren’t able to stay longer! Rest assured, we will be returning soon. I can only imagine how beautifully decorated it would be during the holiday season. This is by far the most elegant, luxurious, inviting bed and breakfast in Duluth. Congratulations, Joy and Jim, on owning such a beautiful home.


Incredible Inn

5 on September 12, 2008

We wish we lived closer to the Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek, so that we could make repeated visits. Amazingly hospitable innkeepers -Jim and Joy- offer magnificent breakfasts brought to your room and have created an inn with a very special ambience and beautiful rooms that are impecable. It is worth a trip just to stay here.


Really nice!

4.2 on September 02, 2008

Firelight Inn is a GREAT place for a weeked getaway. My husband and I had a great time. Joy and Jim are great hosts...it was fun to get to know them and share their lovely house! The breaksfast are to die for -- highly recommend it!


Loved It!

5 on August 19, 2008

Jim and Joy have done a wonderful job. We completely enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.


Greatest B&B in Duluth

5 on August 13, 2008

My wife and I have gone to the Firelight Inn in Duluth 4 times since our wedding in 2001. Anytime we are in Duluth we stay there. The rooms are awesome. Jim and Joy make your experience at the Firelight Inn and Duluth a memorable one. They know the city and where to go for a great time. And in the morning you wake up to a fabulous breakfast. Everyone should experiance the Firelight Inn in Duluth.


Relaxation Heaven

5 on August 05, 2008

A truly luxury experience, next to a wonderful creek in an elegant neighborhoood.


Best B and B

4.0 on July 24, 2008

This was our third time staying at the firelight and we will never get sick of it, the warmth and kindness of the owners Jim and Joy will melt your heart. and the food is great!! Great location, great rooms , great fun


Firelight Inn

4.4 on July 15, 2008

Simply Pleasure! Remarkable. We will be back.


Highly recommended.

5 on June 11, 2008

We stayed in the Superior Suite for our honeymoon. It was perfect! Great facilities, gorgeous room, beautiful home. Jim and Joyce were attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast was waiting at our door in a basket, and it was fantastic. Made my B&B-skeptical husband a fan of B&Bs again. You won't find a room with these amenities at a better price in Duluth. Truly a wonderful experience.


Rejuvenate at the Firelight Inn

4.8 on June 09, 2008

This was our second time staying at The Firelight Inn. It was our first choice for a last minute get-away and thankfully, Jim and Joy were able to accommodate us. The room was great, the full breakfast delicious, and the stay rejuvenating. Jim and Joy have a home which is a wonderful combination of elegance and casualness. And the feeling of peace radiates throughout. The Superior Suite is our favorite with its king-sized feather bed, jacuzzi tub, sitting room ready for a movie night, and fire escape view. We also had a late night raid on the cookie jar along with a cup of tea. We regretted that we did not have time during this stay to enjoy some time on the porch, or browsing the bookshelves. But, hopefully next time. We always look forward to it and are never disappointed.


Utter Relaxation at the Firelight Inn!

4.0 on June 08, 2008

John and I certainly enjoyed our stay at the Firelight Inn. We needed a weekend getaway and headed for this B&B to enjoy some time together. Jim and Joy are fabulous hosts and the preservation and restoration of this inn is fantastic! You definitely will enjoy yourself as much as John and I did!


Anniversary Getaway

5 on June 02, 2008

My wife and I spent 2 days and nights in the Superior Suite in celebration of our 35th anniversary. The accommodations were elegant with a large sleeping room, a jacuzzi, and a sitting room to read and watch television. The ambience is one of peace and solitude in a very quiet neighborhood. The owners Jim and Joy could not have better hosts. They answered questions, gave directions, and suggestions of things to do in the North Shore and Duluth vicinities. Best of all a fabulous breakfast was served in our room each morning at 9a.m.--a true feast. We highly recommend the experience as a 2 or 3 day getaway. Margie and Jerry Stempel


Always a great stay

5 on June 02, 2008

My husband and I have love staying at Jim and Joy's Inn when we visit Duluth. The inn is always immaculate and the breakfasts could not be topped. We are always greeted at the door for check in. We love the rooms, the views, and the privacy. Next time I’m going to splurge and go for the massage! Highly recommended…


First B&B experience

4.6 on May 26, 2008

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway and the Firelight Inn was the perfect setting. It was exactly what I needed, but what put it over the top were the little surprises; a massage, luxurious robes, a bottling of wine, followed up by a fruit & cheese tray. The Firelight is a charming place offering peace & quiet. Joy & Jim provide genuine hospitality,excellent food from presentation to taste, and cozy rooms with distinct character. This was our first B & B experience but certainly not our last. We will be back again soon.


Perfect Stay at the Perfect Inn

5 on May 21, 2008

My wife took me to the Firelight Inn for my birthday in May 2008. Jim and Joy were great. There were no complaints at all. We HIGHLY recommend staying here while in Duluth if you appreciate excellent service, great food and an absolutely beautiful home.


Perfect Honeymoom!

5 on April 30, 2008

My new husband surprised me with our destination for our honeymoon and I can't say enough about how pleased and happy I was with his choice. The Firelight Inn was relaxing which we both needed after planning our wedding! The rooms were gorgeous, quiet, spacious and cozy. Jim and Joy were friendly, gave great recommendations and let us have our privacy. Our breakfast was delivered very promptly and was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend staying at Firelight Inn. We will definitely be going back!


The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek

5 on April 21, 2008

Outstanding in all aspects a refreshing getaway and a chance to celebrate two birthdays in style.


Firelight Inn

5 on November 12, 2007

The Brookside Suite was stunning. The king-size cherry four-poster bed was so cozy and comfortable; it was out of this world. The loveseat positioned in front of the fireplace was the perfect destination for reading and relaxing. The food was spectacular; the breakfast smells had us waiting at the door to see what was coming and the wild rice soup was phenomenal!!!!!!! The snow and the Christmas decorations added such an amazing ambiance. We can’t stop talking about how much fun we had. Thank you so very much!


awesome home

5 on November 05, 2007

If you love old homes this one is gorgeous! We enjoyed every minute of our stay....lovely fireplace in our beautiful room. Cozy featherbed was sooooo comfy. The innkeepers have just the right touch of friendliness to make you feel welcomed and cared for(pampered)without intruding on your privacy. The breakfast was out of this world. What a treat!


The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (218) 724-0272

Visit Website »

View details

Top