Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Wish we could have stayed longer

5 on May 11, 2014

Napoleon's Retreat is everything you want in a B and B and more. A lovely house in a gorgeous location with parking available right in front, a beautiful room with a very comfortable bed, a wonderful host who wants to make it easy for the guests to have a lovely stay, and finally the most delicious gourmet breakfasts. We enjoyed being treated like valued guests, and only wish we could have stayed longer!


New Owners - Premier Experience

5 on March 07, 2012

When I originally researched this B&B it was still under the previous ownership. After making reservations with the new owners, I was slightly hesitant as new owners generally have an adjustment period. If there was one, it was relatively short, as the experience was fantastic. Stacy is incredibly knowledgable of the surrounding neighborhoods and is always willing to give suggestions. They also have taken steps to alleviate some of the issues that arose from the prior owners such as after hours calls. Breakfast - All breakfasts had a French cooking style to them and were wonderful and very filling. Every morning started with a fruit-based first course, followed by the breakfast entree. The coffee ground fresh but was weak by our standards. This should not reflect poorly on the B&B as Stacy will make stronger coffee at the request of her guests. I think that weak coffee is a St. Louis trend as none of the coffee we consumed while in St. Louis was particularly strong. Room - We stayed in the Napoleon room. Very spacious and quiet as it encompasses the entire 3rd floor of the house. It has it's own bathroom and a single person jacuzzi tub. While I did not use it my wife did and she completely enjoyed it. The sleeping area is seperate from a sitting area and allows for space if needed. Overall - A very enjoyable stay. Will visit again the next time we are in St. Louis.


Amazing, delightful hosts

5 on August 12, 2010

This was our first stay at Napoleon's retreat, the hosts were delightful. The room was impeccable and incredibly comfortable. The neighborhood was beautiful and really enjoyed walking around the park. We will definitely return.


Great location, great service

4.2 on July 11, 2010

We recently stayed at Napoleon's Retreat for a long weekend in St. Louis. The house was beautiful and clean. The food was delicious. The innkeepers did a great job of making us feel comfortable. Plus, the house is centrally located and close to a lot of fun things. We really enjoyed our time there. Thanks!


A bit of a disappointment

2.6 on May 19, 2010

The Napoleon room that we stayed in was quite large and had a separate sitting area which was nice. However, the decor was rather dated and a hodge podge of furniture. It was not up to the standards that I would expect at a classy B&B. The public areas were nicer. The most disappointing thing was the innkeepers were not very welcoming and seemed to be in a bad mood for most of the weekend. The location is good with numerous restaurants in easy walking distance.


Worth a stay

4.0 on November 03, 2009

Beautiful B&B. Awesome room. Worth a stay. Nice helpful innkeeper. Beautiful location, near nice dinner/drink area. Great bed, slept very well. Recommended!


Great Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on August 02, 2009

Always our first choice when we stay in St. Louis. The bed & breakfast is located in a great little section of the city within walking distance of a few restaurants, wine bars, etc. and with easy access to the highway. The breakfast is great and Michael & Jeff are excellent hosts.


The perfect place to stay

4.8 on July 31, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay at Napoleon's Retreat while visiting St. Louis from California. What a contrast to west coast B & B's, the value you get at Napoleon's Retreat is outstanding! We stayed in the Burgundy Room which was huge and beautifully deocorated. The rest of the Inn is just as nice. It's beautiful but still comfortable. The bath attached to the room was spacious, well appointed and sparkling. it was everything we could ask for. The garden is charming. Jeff and Michael are great hosts, they gave us really great advice on where to eat and how to get around town and the neighborhood near the Inn had super dining opportunities.


delightful

4.4 on June 19, 2009

Absolutely wonderful location, perfect spot. Love the spacious Lafayette room. Bath a little small, but adequate. nice breakfast and hospitality. Great location for nearby restaurants.


Napoleon Dynomite!

3.6 on March 11, 2009

The inn was in a perfect, fun, and interesting area. Michael and Jeff were so knowledgeable about local attractions and providing directions. The thematic decor and accompanying artwork but to a lovely weekend getaway retreat.


Napoleon's Retreat Gets Our A+

4.2 on October 02, 2008

We stayed at Napoleaon's Retreat for 4 nights. The innkeepers treated us with great hospitality. The breakfast was great and we had a different menu each day. It was a great value, was located in a historic area of St. Louis, and was convenient to many site seeing areas. We would definitely return and highly recommend Napoleon's Retreat.


wish I had more time!

5 on July 01, 2007

Lovely interior and exterior surroundings. Our room was way up on the top floor, very roomy and great view. Location, awesome. Great park for the morning walk. Chocolate Bar around the block! Of course, great hosts! Wish I could have stayed longer!


Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $229
  • Reviews (12) 4.4
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3147726979

Visit Website »

View details

Top